Ignorer la navigation
Macédoine du Nord

Surveillance du statut des biens des responsables élus et nommés (MK0124)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action pour la Macédoine 2018-2020

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption

Institution(s) de soutien : Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption Misha Popovikj, IDSCS, misha@idscs.org MA Snezhana Kamilovska Trpovska, MCIC skt@mcms.mk et autres organisations de la société civile

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Institutions anti-corruption, Divulgation de l'actif, Vérifications, E-gouvernement, Droits fonciers et aménagement du territoire, Législation et réglementation, Intégrité politique, Prestation de services publics, Objectifs de développement durable

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception de la Macédoine du Nord 2018-2020

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : aucune donnée IRM

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Un mécanisme avancé pour surveiller le statut de propriété des représentants élus et nommés
Date de début et de fin de l'engagement: septembre 2018 - août 2020
Agence d'exécution principale
Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption
Description de l'engagement
Statu quo ou problème traité par l'engagement
L'un des moyens de réduire la richesse illégale des personnes élues et nommées en raison de leur fonction consiste à mettre en place un mécanisme fonctionnel permettant de surveiller ces conditions. En Macédoine, ce système est relativement inefficace, principalement pour des raisons techniques, ce qui laisse place à des opérations arbitraires des institutions compétentes. La SCPC surveille de façon limitée les sources des biens des représentants de l’État pendant leurs conditions de service. Dans le même temps, la SCPC ne sait pas exactement si toutes les personnes élues et nommées ont soumis des déclarations de patrimoine, car le registre des personnes nommées et élues n’a pas encore rempli sa fonction pour laquelle il a été créé. Indépendamment des institutions, les citoyens n’ont pas la possibilité de savoir qui sont les élus et les personnes nommées dans l’État, ni quel est l’état de la propriété et comment il change à la suite de la fonction publique.
Objectif principal
Mettre en place un système fonctionnel qui simplifiera la vérification du statut de propriété des personnes élues et nommées et fournira aux citoyens un aperçu adéquat à son sujet.
Brève description de l'engagement
Sur la base de l'analyse de la législation anticorruption et des informations déjà disponibles de la SCPC, mais également de la société civile, un audit sera effectué afin d'améliorer les fonctionnalités du registre. Ceci constituera une base pour un aperçu qualitatif des données complétées du Registre relevant de la compétence de la SCPC. Entre-temps, la SCPC mettra en œuvre le lien entre l'enregistrement électronique des déclarations de patrimoine, la publication de celle-ci et le registre. En outre, la SCPC créera une base juridique pour redéfinir le contenu et la manière de soumettre la déclaration de patrimoine avec les amendements à la loi sur la prévention de la corruption. La SCPC, ainsi que d’autres institutions compétentes telles que le Trésor public, l’Agence pour l’emploi, la Cadastre, le Registre central, la Commission des valeurs mobilières et des changes, le Ministère de l’intérieur, mettra en œuvre le système d’interopérabilité comme l’un des outils permettant de contrôler systématiquement propriété lors de l'exécution de la fonction.
Défi OGP abordé par l'engagement
Amélioration des services publics
Augmenter l'intégrité publique
Gestion plus efficace des ressources publiques
Informations complémentaires
Référence aux objectifs mondiaux de développement durable, référence à l'objectif 16, «Paix, justice et institutions fortes», cible 16.5: réduction significative de toutes les formes de corruption. Les mesures de cet engagement contribuent à la prévention et à la lutte contre la corruption et à la protection de l’intérêt général en renforçant la responsabilité des responsables élus et nommés à l’égard des citoyens.
étape importante
2.1.1 Révision du contenu de la déclaration de patrimoine
2.1.2 Analyse des défaillances fonctionnelles du Registre des personnes élues et nommées
2.1.3 Compléter le registre en fonction de l'analyse
2.1.4 Mise en service du dépôt électronique de la déclaration de patrimoine révisée
2.1.5 Mise en place d'un système de publication continue des déclarations de patrimoine, y compris des données d'arrière-plan dans un format ouvert et lisible par ordinateur
Coordonnées
Nom de la personne responsable de l'agence d'exécution
MA Nikolina Tarchugovska - Miloshevksa Adem Chuchulj
Titre, département
Secteur des programmes, de l'analyse, de la coopération internationale et des affaires administratives Secrétariat du SCPC
Téléphone et e-mail
+ 02 3248 942 nikolina@dksk.org.mk, 02 3248- 934 a.cucul@dksk.org.mk, 02 3215-377
Autres acteurs impliqués
Commission d'Etat pour la prévention de la corruption
Misha Popovikj, IDSCS, misha@idscs.org MA Snezhana Kamilovska Trpovska, MCIC skt@mcms.mk et d'autres organisations de la société civile

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Thème II: Intégrité et bonne gouvernance

2.1 Un mécanisme avancé de suivi du statut de propriété des fonctionnaires élus et nommés

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action: (20)

Sur la base de l'analyse de la législation anticorruption et des informations déjà disponibles de la SCPC, mais également de la société civile, un audit sera effectué afin d'améliorer les fonctionnalités du registre. Ceci constituera une base pour un aperçu qualitatif des données complétées du Registre relevant de la compétence de la SCPC. Entre-temps, la SCPC mettra en œuvre le lien entre l'enregistrement électronique des déclarations de patrimoine, la publication de celle-ci et le registre. En outre, la SCPC créera une base juridique pour redéfinir le contenu et la manière de soumettre la déclaration de patrimoine avec les amendements à la loi sur la prévention de la corruption. La SCPC, ainsi que d’autres institutions compétentes telles que le Trésor public, l’Agence pour l’emploi, la Cadastre, le Registre central, la Commission des valeurs mobilières et des changes, le Ministère de l’intérieur, mettra en œuvre le système d’interopérabilité comme l’un des outils permettant de contrôler systématiquement propriété lors de l'exécution de la fonction.

Jalons:

2.1.1 Révision du contenu de la déclaration de patrimoine

2.1.2 Analyse des défaillances fonctionnelles du Registre des personnes élues et nommées

2.1.3 Compléter le registre en fonction de l'analyse

2.1.4 Mise en service du dépôt électronique de la déclaration de patrimoine révisée

2.1.5 Mise en place d'un système de publication continue des déclarations de patrimoine, y compris des données d'arrière-plan dans un format ouvert et lisible par ordinateur

Date de début: Septembre 2018

Date de fin: Août 2020

Contexte et objectifs

La loi de Macédoine du Nord sur la prévention de la corruption oblige les représentants élus et nommés à déclarer leurs avoirs et biens dans les 30 jours suivant l'élection, la résiliation et la modification de leurs avoirs. (21) La Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption (SCPC) reçoit et vérifie les déclarations de patrimoine et publie ces données sur son site Internet. (22) Lors du précédent plan d'action (2016-2018), le SCPC s'est engagé à publier en format ouvert un aperçu historique des déclarations de patrimoine des fonctionnaires pendant leur mandat. Bien que le logiciel permettant de publier ce document ait été mis au point, la déclaration en ligne obligatoire exigeait la modification de la loi sur la prévention de la corruption, ce qui ne s'était pas produit au moment du rapport de fin de mandat. (23)

L'engagement dans les plans d'action actuels étend cet engagement précédent en se concentrant sur la soumission électronique des déclarations de patrimoine à la SCPC. En 2019, le gouvernement a adopté une nouvelle loi sur la prévention de la corruption et des conflits d'intérêts, qui stipule que le SCPC met en place un nouveau formulaire électronique pour la soumission des déclarations de patrimoine et des déclarations d'intérêts. (24) Dans le cadre de cet engagement, SCPC vise à le mettre en place et à redéfinir le contenu des déclarations de patrimoine conformément à la loi modifiée sur la prévention de la corruption et des conflits d'intérêts. (25) En outre, le SCPC travaillera avec d'autres institutions pour simplifier l'évaluation du statut de propriété des élus et des personnes nommées. (26) L'engagement est clairement pertinent par rapport à la valeur OGP de l'accès à l'information, car les soumissions des déclarations de patrimoine des élus et des élus seront accessibles au public sur le registre SCPC. Les activités sont vérifiables, bien que la manière dont l'analyse des défaillances fonctionnelles du registre sera menée n'est pas claire (étape 2.1.2).

Actuellement, les agents publics de Macédoine du Nord soumettent des déclarations de patrimoine en remplissant un questionnaire sur papier, et les employés du SCPC saisissent manuellement les données des questionnaires dans la base de données électronique, après quoi les données sont publiées sur le site Web du SCPC. Ce questionnaire existant contient des données insuffisantes sur les biens et avoirs des fonctionnaires ainsi que des membres de leur famille, et selon un représentant du SCPC, les déclarants fournissent parfois des informations incomplètes. (27) Selon le SCPC, le nouveau système fournira non seulement une soumission électronique de la déclaration de patrimoine, mais également un registre intégré des fonctionnaires élus et nommés. Le nouveau système permettra également au SCPC d'effectuer des recherches approfondies dans les actifs des agents publics dans les 17 institutions auxquelles le SCPC a accès. (28) En outre, SCPC publiera sur son site Internet un historique détaillé des postes occupés par le fonctionnaire et des changements dans le statut de propriété et les intérêts de chaque fonctionnaire élu et nommé.

Dans l'ensemble, cet engagement pourrait considérablement améliorer la pratique actuelle du SCPC de recevoir des soumissions de déclarations de patrimoine en passant des soumissions sur papier à un formulaire électronique normalisé. Selon le Groupe d'Etats contre la corruption (GRECO) du Conseil de l'Europe, le remplacement des déclarations sur papier et des déclarations de patrimoine par un formulaire électronique unique pourrait potentiellement rendre la gestion des conflits d'intérêts plus fiable et transparente. (29) En outre, la loi modifiée sur la prévention de la corruption et des conflits d'intérêts élargira l'éventail des agents publics tenus de soumettre des déclarations de patrimoine et inclura (entre autres) le public, les agents d'exécution, les agents administratifs et les personnes employées dans les bureaux de la Président de la République de Macédoine du Nord. (30)

Prochaines étapes

Lors de la mise en œuvre de cet engagement, le MII recommande de veiller à ce que le dépôt électronique à jour des déclarations de patrimoine soit en place à la fin du plan d'action. L'IRM recommande également de rendre les données interrogeables selon plusieurs critères clés, tels que le nom de l'agent public, le nom de l'entité où il est employé ou le nom de l'actif. Enfin, l'IRM recommande que le SCPC mette en place un mécanisme de vérification fonctionnel pour garantir l'exactitude des données, comme en Géorgie et en Ukraine. (31)

2.2 Collaboration avec le secteur civil pour l'évaluation de la législation anti-corruption

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action: (32)

Le SCPC et les organisations de la société civile développeront un mécanisme de collaboration dans les processus consultatifs lors de l'adoption de la loi, ainsi que dans le processus de sélection et de hiérarchisation des lois qui ont déjà été adoptées, et seront soumis à une évaluation anti-corruption des législation. Conformément à la méthodologie de la législation anti-corruption, le SCPC sélectionnera et hiérarchisera les lois qui seront soumises à une évaluation sur la base de critères communs ou de cas séparés. Des affaires distinctes concernent les rapports de constatations et les indications de la société civile, concernant les risques de corruption et de conflit d'intérêts possibles dans certaines dispositions légales ou dans un domaine juridique particulier, des informations sur un projet de loi qui a été exposé à un lobbying important de la part de groupes d'intérêt, etc. Les OSC et leurs réseaux doivent être proactifs et plus actifs à ce stade - en participant à des groupes de travail, puis au niveau des consultations, lorsqu'ils peuvent envoyer des commentaires au nom des groupes qu'ils représentent, mais aussi en fournissant des indications au SCPC et donner des recommandations d'amendements à la législation.

Meules:

2.2.1 Mise en place d'un mécanisme de consultation lors de l'adoption de la loi et priorisation des lois qui feront l'objet d'une évaluation anticorruption de la législation

Date de début: Septembre 2018

Date de fin: Août 2020

Contexte et objectifs

Dans le cadre du programme d'État 2016-2019, la Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption (SCPC) a introduit un processus d'examen de la lutte contre la corruption de la législation nord-macédonienne. (33) Cela couvre la législation qui est en cours de rédaction ou qui a été adoptée et qui vise à détecter, prévenir ou minimiser le risque de corruption et de conflit d'intérêts pouvant résulter de la mise en œuvre de nouvelles lois. Cet engagement appelle le SCPC et les OSC à créer conjointement un mécanisme de consultation pour la société civile afin de contribuer aux examens de la législation anti-corruption. Plus précisément, le mécanisme de consultation offrira à la société civile la possibilité d'examiner les projets de loi et de participer à la sélection et à la hiérarchisation des lois qui ont déjà été adoptées et feront l'objet d'un examen anticorruption. Selon le plan d'action, la société civile pourra participer à des groupes de travail, au niveau des consultations, et où les organisations pourront envoyer des commentaires et des recommandations au SCPC sur les modifications législatives.

Cet engagement est pertinent pour la participation civique car il vise à donner à la société civile la possibilité de revoir et de soumettre des commentaires sur la législation. L'activité principale est vérifiable, à savoir la mise en place du mécanisme de consultation. Cependant, le plan d'action ne fournit pas de détails supplémentaires sur les opérations possibles du mécanisme au-delà de la participation de la société civile à travers des groupes de travail.

L'impact potentiel de cet engagement dépendra en grande partie de la manière dont le mécanisme de consultation est mis en place et fonctionne, ainsi que du nombre de projets de lois qu'il est en mesure d'évaluer et de la manière dont les lois sont classées par ordre de priorité pour l'évaluation. En tant que tel, l'impact potentiel est marqué comme mineur.

Prochaines étapes

À l'avenir, le SCPC pourrait envisager les recommandations suivantes:

  • Assurer un processus ouvert et transparent de sélection des OSC pour le mécanisme de consultation.
  • Définir le nombre et la nature escomptés des projets de loi dès le début afin que le fardeau de la participation au mécanisme soit clair pour les membres de la société civile.
  • Fournir une formation selon les besoins aux OSC participantes pour assurer le fonctionnement efficace du mécanisme de consultation.
  • Tenir des consultations au stade des scénarios (livre vert) avant le début de la rédaction des lois.

(20) Les textes de tous les engagements sont une version abrégée des textes d'engagement. Pour les textes d'engagement complets, voir le plan d'action national 2018-2020 de la République de Macédoine du Nord, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Macedonia_Action-Plan_2018-2020_EN.pdf

(21) Loi sur la prévention de la corruption, Journal officiel, [en anglais], https://bit.ly/337w4H6

(22) Registre des personnes élues / nommées, Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption, https://register.dksk.org.mk/Public/Submissions#/SubmissionList

(23) IRM, République de Macédoine, rapport de fin de mandat 2016-2018, p 31, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/Macedonia_End-of-Term_Report_2016-2018_EN.pdf

(24) Commission européenne, https://ec.europa.eu/neighbourhood-enlargement/sites/near/files/20190529-north-macedonia-report.pdf

(25) SCPC déterminera le contenu du nouveau formulaire de soumission, qui sera opérationnel après le développement d'une nouvelle solution logicielle.

(26) Selon le plan d'action, les autres institutions comprennent l'Office des recettes publiques, l'Agence pour l'emploi de la RM, le cadastre, le registre central de la RM, la Commission des valeurs et des changes, le ministère de l'Intérieur.

(27) Adem Cucul, SCPC, 4 décembre 2019.

(28) Informations fournies à l'IRM par le SPCP pendant la période d'examen préalable à la publication de ce rapport, le 6 avril 2020.

(29) Cinquième cycle d'évaluation, Macédoine du Nord, https://rm.coe.int/fifth-evaluation-round-preventing-corruption-and-promoting-integrity-i/168095378c

(30) Adem Cucul, SCPC. Les autres agents publics qui seront tenus de soumettre des déclarations de patrimoine comprendront: les notaires, les agents d'exécution, les agents administratifs de la catégorie A déterminée par la loi, les personnes employées dans le cabinet du président de la République de Macédoine du Nord, le président et les vice-présidents. du Parlement, du Président du Gouvernement, des Vice-Premiers Ministres du Gouvernement, des Ministres et du Secrétaire Général du Gouvernement

(31) Engagement 14 dans le plan d'action 2014-2015 du PGO de Géorgie, p. 25, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/OGP-AP-GEORGIA.pdf, et l'engagement 12 dans le plan d'action 2014-2016 du PGO de l'Ukraine, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/members/ukraine/commitments/UA0044/

(32) Les textes de tous les engagements sont une version abrégée des textes d'engagement. Pour les textes d'engagement complets, voir le plan d'action national 2018-2020 de la République de Macédoine du Nord, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Macedonia_Action-Plan_2018-2020_EN.pdf

(33) République de Macédoine, Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption, http://www.dksk.org.mk/en/images/stories/PDF/stateprograme-eng-final.pdf


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
North Macedonia

Monitoring Property Status of Elected and Appointed Officials (MK0124)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Macedonia Action Plan 2018-2020

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: State Commission for Prevention of Corruption

Support Institution(s): State commission for prevention of corruption Misha Popovikj, IDSCS, misha@idscs.org M.A. Snezhana Kamilovska Trpovska, MCIC skt@mcms.mk and other civil society organizations

Policy Areas

Anti-Corruption, Anti-Corruption Institutions, Asset Disclosure, Audits, E-Government, Land Rights & Spatial Planning, Legislation & Regulation, Political Integrity, Public Service Delivery, Sustainable Development Goals

IRM Review

IRM Report: North Macedonia Design Report 2018-2020

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: No IRM Data

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

An advanced mechanism for monitoring the property status of the elected and appointed officials
Start and end date of the commitment: September 2018 – August 2020
Lead implementing agency
State Commission for Prevention of Corruption
Description of commitment
Status quo or problem addressed by the commitment
One of the ways to reduce the illegal wealth of the elected and appointed persons as a result of their function is a functional mechanism that will monitor these conditions. In Macedonia, this system is relatively inefficient, primarily due to technical reasons, which leaves room for arbitrary operations of the competent institutions. The SCPC monitors the sources of the property of state officials during their terms of service in a limited manner. At the same time, the SCPC does not have complete insight whether all elected and appointed persons have submitted asset declarations because the register of appointed and elected persons has not yet met its function for which the same was established. Namely, apart from the institutions, the citizens are denied the opportunity to have full insight into who are the elected and appointed persons in the state, and what is the property state and how it changes as a result of the public function.
Main objective
Establishing a functional system that will simplify the checking of the property status of the elected and appointed persons and will provide the citizens with adequate insight into it.
Brief description of the commitment
Based on the analysis of the anti-corruption legislation, and by virtue of the already existing information of the SCPC, but also of the civil society, an audit will be conducted in order to upgrade the functionality of the registry. This will be a basis for qualitative overview of the filled-in data of the Register under SCPC’s competence. In the meantime, the SCPC will put into effect the connection between the electronic registration of asset declarations, the publication of the same and the register. In addition, the SCPC will create a legal basis for redefining the content and the manner of submitting the asset declaration with the amendments to the Law on prevention of corruption. SCPC, along with other competent institutions such as Public Revenue Office, Employment Agency of RM, Cadastre, Central Register of RM, Securities and Exchange Commission, Ministry of Interior, will put into operation the interoperability system as one of the tools for systematic monitoring of property during the performance of the function.
OGP challenge addressed by the commitment
Public services improvement
Incresing the public integrity
More effective public resource management
Additional information
Reference to the Global Sustainable Development Goals, reference to Goal 16, “Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions”, Target 16.5: Significant reduction of all forms of corruption and bribery. The measures of this commitment contribute to prevention and fight against corruption and the protection of public interest by increasing the accountability and responsibility of the elected and appointed officers towards the citizens.
Milestone
2.1.1 Revision of the asset declaration’s content
2.1.2 Analysis of the functional failures of the Register of elected and appointed persons
2.1.3 Completing the registry according to the analysis
2.1.4 Putting into operation the electronic filing of the revised asset declaration
2.1.5 Establishing a system for continuous publication of asset declarations, including background data in an open and computer readable format
Contact information
Name of responsible person from implementing agency
M.A. Nikolina Tarchugovska – Miloshevksa Adem Chuchulj
Title, Department
Sector for Programs, Analytics, International Cooperation and Administrative Affairs Secretariat for SCPC
Phone and e-mail
02 3248-942 nikolina@dksk.org.mk, 02 3248- 934 a.cucul@dksk.org.mk, 02 3215-377
Other actors involved
State commission for prevention of corruption
Misha Popovikj, IDSCS, misha@idscs.org M.A. Snezhana Kamilovska Trpovska, MCIC skt@mcms.mk and other civil society organizations

IRM Midterm Status Summary

Theme II: Integrity and Good Governance

2.1 An advanced mechanism for monitoring the property status of the elected and appointed officials

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan: [20]

Based on the analysis of the anti-corruption legislation, and by virtue of the already existing information of the SCPC, but also of the civil society, an audit will be conducted in order to upgrade the functionality of the registry. This will be a basis for qualitative overview of the filled-in data of the Register under SCPC’s competence. In the meantime, the SCPC will put into effect the connection between the electronic registration of asset declarations, the publication of the same and the register. In addition, the SCPC will create a legal basis for redefining the content and the manner of submitting the asset declaration with the amendments to the Law on prevention of corruption. SCPC, along with other competent institutions such as Public Revenue Office, Employment Agency of RM, Cadastre, Central Register of RM, Securities and Exchange Commission, Ministry of Interior, will put into operation the interoperability system as one of the tools for systematic monitoring of property during the performance of the function.

Milestones:

2.1.1 Revision of the asset declaration’s content

2.1.2 Analysis of the functional failures of the Register of elected and appointed persons

2.1.3 Completing the registry according to the analysis

2.1.4 Putting into operation the electronic filing of the revised asset declaration

2.1.5 Establishing a system for continuous publication of asset declarations, including background data in an open and computer readable format

Start Date: September 2018

End Date: August 2020

Context and Objectives

North Macedonia’s Law on Prevention of Corruption requires elected and appointed officials to declare their assets and property within 30 days of election, termination, and change in their assets. [21] The State Commission for Prevention of Corruption (SCPC) receives and verifies asset declarations and publishes this data on its website. [22] During the previous action plan (2016-2018), SCPC committed to publish in open format a historical overview of officials’ asset declarations during their time in office. While the software to publish this was developed, mandatory online reporting required amending the Law for Prevention of Corruption, which did not occur by the time of the End-of-Term Report. [23]

The commitment in the current action plans expands on this previous commitment by focusing on electronic submissions of asset declarations to SCPC. In 2019, the government adopted a new Law on Prevention of Corruption and Conflict of Interests, which stipulates the SCPC establish a new electronic form for submitting declarations of assets and statement of interests. [24] Under this commitment, SCPC aims to put this into place and redefine the content of asset declarations in accordance with the amended Law on Prevention of Corruption and Conflict of Interests. [25] In addition, SCPC will work with other institutions to simplify the assessment of elected and appointed persons’ property status. [26] The commitment is clearly relevant to the OGP value of access to information, because the submissions of elected and appointed officials’ asset declarations will be publicly available on the SCPC register. The activities are verifiable, though it is not clear how analysis of the functional failures of the register will be conducted (Milestone 2.1.2).

Currently, public officials in North Macedonia submit asset declarations by completing a questionnaire in hard copy, and SCPC employees enter the data from the questionnaires into the electronic database manually, whereupon the data is published on SCPC’s website. This existing questionnaire contains insufficient data on the property and assets of officials as well as the members of their families, and according an a SCPC representative, declarants sometimes provide incomplete information. [27] According to SCPC, the new system will provide not only an electronic submission of the declaration of assets, but also an integrated register of elected and appointed officials. The new system will also allow SCPC to thoroughly search the assets of public officials in the 17 institutions whose databases SCPC has access to. [28] Furthermore, SCPC will publish on its website a detailed history of the positions occupied by the official and changes in the property status and interests of each elected and appointed official.

Overall, this commitment could significantly improve SCPC’s existing practice of receiving submissions of asset declarations by shifting from paper-based submissions to a standardized electronic form. According to the Council of Europe’s Group of States Against Corruption (GRECO), the replacement of the paper-based statements and asset declarations with a single electronic form could potentially make the management of conflicts of interest more reliable and transparent. [29] In addition, the amended Law on Prevention of Corruption and Conflict of Interests will expand the range of public officials required to submit asset declarations, and will include (among others) public, enforcement agents, administrative officers, and persons employed in the offices of the President of the Republic of North Macedonia. [30]

Next steps

While implementing this commitment, the IRM recommends ensuring that the updated electronic filing of asset declarations is in place by the end of the action plan. The IRM also recommends making the data searchable according to several key criteria, such as the name of the public official, by the name of the entity where they are employed, or by the name of the asset. Lastly, the IRM recommends that SCPC puts in place a functional verification mechanism to ensure the accuracy of the data, such as in Georgia and Ukraine. [31]

2.2 Collaboration with the civil sector for anti-corruption assessment of legislation

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan: [32]

SCPC and civil society organizations will develop a mechanism for collaboration in the consultative processes during the law adoption, as well as in the process of selection and prioritization of the laws that have already been adopted, and will be subject to anti-corruption assessment of the legislation. In accordance with the Anti-Corruption Legislation Methodology, the SCPC will select and prioritize laws that will be subject to assessment on the grounds of common criteria or separate cases. Separate cases relate to findings reporting and indications by civil society, concerning the risks of possible corruption and conflict of interests in certain legal provisions or in a particular legal area, information on a draft-law that has been exposed to strong lobbying by interest groups, etc. CSOs and their networks should be proactive and more active at this stage - by participating in working groups, then at the level of consultations, when they can send comments on behalf of the groups they represent, but also by providing indications to the SCPC and giving recommendations legislation amendments.

Millstones:

2.2.1 Established consultation mechanism during the law adoption and prioritizing the laws that will be subject to anticorruption assessment of legislation

Start Date: September 2018

End Date: August 2020

Context and Objectives

As part of the 2016-2019 State Programme, the State Commission for the Prevention of Corruption (SCPC) introduced a process of carrying out anti-corruption reviews for North Macedonian legislation. [33] This covers legislation that is being drafted or has been adopted and seeks to detect, prevent, or minimize the risk of corruption and conflict of interests that may emerge from the implementation of new laws. This commitment calls for SCPC and CSOs to jointly create a consultation mechanism for civil society to contribute to anti-corruption reviews of legislation. Specifically, the consultation mechanism will provide civil society with the opportunity to review draft legislation and to be involved in the selection and prioritization of laws that have already been adopted and will be subject to anti-corruption review. According to the action plan, civil society will be able to participate in working groups, at the level of consultations, and where organizations can send comments and recommendations to SCPC on legislation amendments.

This commitment is relevant to civic participation because it aims to provide civil society with the opportunity to review and submit feedback on legislation. The main activity is verifiable, namely the establishment of the consultation mechanism. However, the action plan does not provide additional details on the possible operations of the mechanism beyond civil society involvement through working groups.

The potential impact of this commitment will largely depend on how the consultation mechanism is set up and functions, as well as how many draft laws it is able to assess and how the laws are prioritized for assessment. As such, the potential impact is marked as minor.

Next steps

Moving forward, the SCPC could consider the following recommendations:

  • Ensure open and transparent process for selecting CSOs for the consultation mechanism.
  • Define expected number and nature of draft laws from the beginning so that the burden of participation in the mechanism is clear to the civil society members.
  • Provide training as needed for the participating CSOs to ensure effective functioning of the consultation mechanism.
  • Hold consultations at the scenarios (green paper) stage before the drafting of laws begins.

[20] The texts for all the commitments are an abridged version of the commitment texts. For the full commitment texts, see the Republic of North Macedonia 2018-2020 National Action Plan, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Macedonia_Action-Plan_2018-2020_EN.pdf

[21] Law on Prevention of Corruption, Official Gazette, [in English], https://bit.ly/337w4H6

[22] Register of Elected/Appointed Persons, State Commission for the Prevention of Corruption, https://register.dksk.org.mk/Public/Submissions#/SubmissionList

[23] IRM, Republic of Macedonia, End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, p 31, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/Macedonia_End-of-Term_Report_2016-2018_EN.pdf

[24] European Commission, https://ec.europa.eu/neighbourhood-enlargement/sites/near/files/20190529-north-macedonia-report.pdf

[25] SCPC will determinate the content of the new submissions form, which will be operational after developing a new software solution.

[26] According to the action plan, the other institutions include Public Revenue Office, Employment Agency of RM, Cadastre, Central Register of RM, Securities and Exchange Commission, Ministry of Interior

[27] Adem Cucul, SCPC, 4 December 2019.

[28] Information provided to the IRM by SPCP during the pre-publication review period of this report, 6 April 2020.

[29] Fifth Evaluation Round, North Macedonia, https://rm.coe.int/fifth-evaluation-round-preventing-corruption-and-promoting-integrity-i/168095378c

[30] Adem Cucul, SCPC. Other public officials who will be required to submit asset declarations will include: notaries, enforcement agents, administrative officers of category A determined by law, persons employed in the cabinet of the President of the Republic of North Macedonia, the President and the Vice-Presidents of the Parliament, the President of the Government, the Deputy Prime Ministers of the Government, the Ministers and the Secretary General of the Government

[31] Commitment 14 in Georgia’s 2014-2015 OGP action plan, p 25, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/OGP-AP-GEORGIA.pdf, and Commitment 12 in Ukraine’s 2014-2016 OGP action plan, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/members/ukraine/commitments/UA0044/

[32] The texts for all the commitments are an abridged version of the commitment texts. For the full commitment texts, see the Republic of North Macedonia 2018-2020 National Action Plan, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Macedonia_Action-Plan_2018-2020_EN.pdf

[33] Republic of Macedonia, State Commission for Prevention of Corruption, http://www.dksk.org.mk/en/images/stories/PDF/stateprograme-eng-final.pdf


Commitments

Open Government Partnership