Ignorer la navigation
Régence de Bojonegoro, Indonésie

Renforcement de la responsabilisation des gouvernements de village (BOJ0002)

Vue d'ensemble

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport final IRM de Bojonegoro 2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs de l'OGP: accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Questions à traiter: le public manque de confiance envers le gouvernement du village en raison de l'absence de transparence. Objectif principal: administration de village ouverte et responsable et renforcement des capacités des communautés villageoises. Engagement Description: Renforcer la responsabilisation de l'administration du village et la capacité de la communauté en ouvrant des processus de planification et de budgétisation, des données sur les actifs du village et une participation active du public à chaque cycle de processus décisionnel conduisant à l'ouverture du gouvernement de village. OGP Défi: Accroître la responsabilité et la transparence de l’administration de village Pertinence: La responsabilisation et la transparence au niveau des villages renforcent le gouvernement de village ouvert. Ambition: Un gouvernement de village ouvert, transparent et responsable qui soutiendra les efforts de prévention de la corruption et augmentera la confiance du public envers le gouvernement du village.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

2. Renforcement de la responsabilité du gouvernement de village

Texte d'engagement

Objectif: administration de village ouverte et responsable et renforcement des capacités des communautés villageoises.

Description: Renforcer la responsabilisation de l'administration du village et la capacité de la communauté en ouvrant les processus de planification et de budgétisation, les données sur les actifs du village et la participation active du public à chaque cycle du processus décisionnel menant à l'ouverture du gouvernement du village.

Ambition: un gouvernement de village ouvert, transparent et responsable qui soutiendra les efforts de prévention de la corruption et renforcera la confiance du public envers le gouvernement du village.

Milestones

Année 2016:

1. Publication du budget et de la reddition de comptes de l'administration du village (APBDes), sous forme de panneaux d'affichage, sur la base des principes de divulgation d'informations publiques

2. Développement de l'indice de transparence de l'administration du village [proposé par les OSC]

Année 2017:

3. Publication du budget et de la reddition de comptes de l'administration du village (APBDes), sous forme de panneaux d'affichage (100%) et du site Web du village (70%), et publication des données relatives aux biens du village par le biais de panneaux d'affichage (70%)

4. Participation accrue de la communauté au processus de planification, de mise en œuvre et d'évaluation du programme au niveau du village dans les villages 30

5. Aide du gouvernement de régence pour la création d'un bureau de service d'information villageois (PPID Desa) dans les villages 30

Aperçu de l'engagement

But de l'engagement

Objectif général et pertinence

Le plan d'action de Bojonegoro souligne que le manque de transparence du processus budgétaire au niveau des villages a suscité la méfiance du public. Ceci est particulièrement important en Indonésie, compte tenu de la nouvelle loi sur les villages approuvée par 2014. Comme indiqué dans la section du présent rapport consacrée au contexte général, l’une des dispositions de la loi prévoyait une augmentation de leurs budgets à dix fois leur taille initiale. Salim, Bulan, Untung, Laksono & Brock, «La loi sur les villages indonésiens: un catalyseur ou une contrainte pour une gouvernance plus responsable?», Octobre 217, https://opendocs.ids.ac.uk/opendocs/bitstream/handle/123456789/13324/Village_law_Indonesia_Final.pdf Pour cette raison, le gouvernement de Bojonegoro, en collaboration avec IDFoS, a décidé d'inclure le deuxième engagement, dirigé par l'Agence pour l'autonomisation des communautés villageoises et de l'administration, dans le but de promouvoir la transparence et d'impliquer les citoyens dans le processus budgétaire au niveau du village.

Selon le rapport 2015 International Budget Partnership (IBP), en Indonésie, les institutions gouvernementales fournissent des informations budgétaires limitées au public. http://www.internationalbudget.org/wp-content/uploads/OBS2015-CS-Indonesia-English.pdf En outre, le même rapport de l'IBP indique que le gouvernement indonésien offre toujours au public peu d'occasions de participer au processus budgétaire. Par conséquent, en commençant par 2016, la régence de Bojonegoro a publié l'instruction n ° 2 / 2016 visant à encourager les gouvernements de village à mettre en œuvre l'engagement pris par OGP et à publier leur plan budgétaire (APBDes) et leurs rapports de responsabilisation. Instruksi Bupati Non 2 / 2016. Concrètement, cela pousse l'administration du village à fournir aux citoyens un budget sommaire sous forme de panneaux d'affichage, compte tenu de l'accès limité à Internet dans les zones rurales. En outre, à 2016, en collaboration avec l’Institut Bojonegoro et le Développement de la société (IDFoS), le gouvernement de Bojonegoro a décidé de mettre au point un indice de transparence de l’administration du village afin d’établir des normes pour les administrateurs de village.

De plus, dans 2017, le gouvernement de Bojonegoro s'est engagé à créer un bureau de service d'information publique (PPID) au niveau de l'administration du village dans les villages sélectionnés de 30. PPID peut fournir des informations de base sur tous les services de l'administration publique lors de rencontres en face à face. Bien que ces informations soient disponibles en ligne sur le site Web du gouvernement, certains villages n’ont pas accès à Internet. Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe OGP de Bojonegoro, en discussion avec les membres de l'équipe OGP (August 10, 2017). En outre, tous les citoyens n’ont pas la capacité d’utiliser Internet à cette fin. Avec l'existence du PPID au niveau du village, le gouvernement s'attendrait à ce que les citoyens aient déjà une certaine connaissance des exigences de base et des procédures de l'administration particulière dont ils ont besoin. Ainsi, ils seraient prêts à préparer tous les documents avant de venir cibler les unités de travail du niveau de régence. Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe de Bojonegoro d'OGP, a déclaré que le PPID peut également servir de bureau d'accueil pour recueillir les commentaires du public sur l'amélioration des services publics. Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe OGP de Bojonegoro, en discussion avec les membres de l'équipe OGP (August 10, 2017).

Spécificité et impact potentiel

La spécificité de l'engagement est codée comme support. Il comprend des actions vérifiables avec des objectifs clairs et un calendrier précis. Cependant, il ne fournit pas suffisamment d'informations pour comprendre dans quelle mesure les étapes pourraient permettre d'atteindre l'objectif de l'engagement. Par exemple, il ne définit pas à quoi pourrait ressembler une «participation communautaire plus forte» et comment le mesurer.

Cependant, cet engagement pourrait changer le statu quo de manière significative. Considérant que les rapports APBD n’étaient pas publiés avant cet engagement et qu’il est important de promouvoir la transparence des villages hors ligne, le chercheur de l’IRM estime que cet engagement a un impact potentiellement transformateur. Tel qu'énoncé, il définit un objectif clair et propose de relever le standard par la création d'un indice de transparence des villages, ce qui obligerait le gouvernement, en étroite coopération avec deux organisations de la société civile, à évaluer le processus budgétaire des villages. L’impact potentiel de l’Indice de transparence des villages dépendra probablement du nombre de villages ayant atteint la capacité nécessaire pour publier les bonnes informations d’ici la fin de l’année de l’évaluation. L'accès à l'information pourrait être considérablement amélioré, notamment en ce qui concerne le budget et l'administration des villages. Pour le chercheur IRMvillageois pourriez avoir une meilleure connaissance des programmes de chefs de village et d'appareils. De plus, eLa mise en place de bureaux d’information (PPID) au niveau du village pourrait aider les citoyens à obtenir des informations de base et à fournir des services. Dans le contexte rural des villages javanais, les rencontres en face à face sont plus efficaces pour que les populations s'impliquent dans la gouvernance. Combinés, ces jalons pourraient représenter un pas en avant pour améliorer la confiance du public dans le gouvernement en modernisant l'administration du village ou «un avant-goût de la ville [moderne] du village», pour reprendre les termes du major de Bojonegoro Suyoto. http://blog.opengovindonesia.org/2016/10/25/pemerintahan-terbuka-di-hilir-bengawan-solo/

Aboutissement
limité

Le gouvernement a dirigé les efforts pour atteindre Milestone 2.1, qui visait à publier village APBDes et rapports de responsabilité, sous forme de panneaux d'affichage. Il devait être terminé par 2016, cependant, d'ici la fin de l'année, 2017, seulement 168 de tous les villages 430 (pourcentage 39,07) aurait posté leur bannières / affiches de la responsabilité budgétaire. Pour suivre cet effort, la régence a créé un référentiel Google pour les villages afin de télécharger des images des panneaux publicitaires créés et mis en place. Pour les données de tous les villages, voir: http://ppid.bojonegorokab.go.id/transparansi-desa/; pour récapitulation des données, voir: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ieQFn27yE9SzhSzvO8I5brOFjUstPpk2LTGNeV9kO7A/edit#gid=1868264710 Les informations ont été soumises volontairement par un agent de l'administration du village.

Le système Indice de développement de village (Milestone 2.2), était terminé dans le temps, pourtant, l’indice est en cours d’amélioration. L'indice comprend quatre variables: la transparence, la responsabilité, la participation et l'innovation. Il a été mis en œuvre pour sélectionner les cinq villages les plus ouverts de Bojonegoro dans 2016. Les cinq villages sont Pejambon, Kapas, Sukoharjo, Ngasem et Kedungsumber.

Milestone 2.3, édition Les APBDes, rapports de responsabilisation et données sur les biens du village, n'étaient pas terminés. By Novembre 2017, le chercheur IRM a trouvé des données disponibles pour 2016, mais aucune mise à jour pour 2017 afin d’évaluer l’achèvement des travaux. le jalon. Le secrétaire de l'équipe de Bojonegoro OGP, Alit Purnayoga, a déclaré que pour 2017, le rapport du village serait publié sur le site Web de chaque village, Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe OGP de Bojonegoro, en discussion avec les membres de l'équipe OGP (August 10, 2017). ce qui était très difficile d'accès pour les gens (ou du moins de connaître le nom de tous les villages 430 dans toute la régence).

Til chercheur IRM reçoitd ambiguë informations permettant de prendre en compte les progrès des jalons 2.4 et 2.5. Le chercheur n'a pas reçu la liste des villages 30 ciblés pour le renforcement de la participation communautaire et la création de guichets d'information sur les villages. À la demande d'informations aux représentants du gouvernement, Alit Purnayoga a signalé le développement de le atelier “Sekolah Desa” (école de village) animé par IDFoS et tenue en février 2017, preuve de progrès pour atteindre le jalon 2.4. Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe OGP de Bojonegoro, en discussion avec les membres de l'équipe OGP (August 10, 2017). Toutefois, cet atelier ne faisait pas partie de la mise en œuvre des engagements, étant donné que l'atelier 2017 de février était la troisième itération de l'initiative lancée sous 2014. IDFoS des joué un rôle important dans l'organisation d'ateliers de renforcement des capacitéss dans les villages cibles as partie intégrante du programme RSE de l’EMCL. «IDfoS gelar sekolah desa angkatan III», https://www.idfos.or.id/idfos-gelar-sekolah-desa-angkatan-iii/ Quatre villages participants de Bojonegoro et six les villages de Tuban étaient a partie du programme. On ignore comment les villages ont été ciblés, bien qu’unde Joko Hadi Purnomo de IDFoS, les villages cibles de son organisation ont été aligné avec La RSE d’EMCL cible les villages où se trouve le puits de la société et a le tuyau a été planté. Discussions de groupe avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). Par conséquent, le chercheur de l'IRM considère que le jalon 2.4 n'a ​​pas été achevé.

Pour le Milestone 2.5, le gouvernement a déclaré avoir dépassé le plan initial des villages 30. Les données officielles recueillies par le chercheur de l'IRM ont indiqué qu'il y avait des villages 50 dans cinq districts dotés de leur propre bureau d'information villageois (PPID)., Tandis te plan initial était seulement 30 selected villages. Cependant, le chercheur de l'IRM n'ayant pas reçu la liste des noms de villages ou toute autre preuve à évaluer l'état d'avancement du jalon.

Premiers résultats: a-t-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal
Participation civique: pas de changement

L’engagement a été très prometteur pour un gouvernement ouvert en termes d’augmentation de la participation civique (2.4) et fournir des informations plus accessibles (2.1, 2.3 2.5) en ce qui concerne le cycle budgétaire et l'administration publique au niveau du village. Bien que l’engagement n’ait été mené à bonne fin que dans une mesure limitée, la manière dont le gouvernement aborde la publication du APBDes et rapports de responsabilité. Avant cet engagement, les villages ne publiaient pas ces informations et étaient disponibles à la demande des citoyens, ce qui se fait progressivement dans différents villages.

En outre, l’indice de transparence des villages sert un nouveau mécanisme qui permet le grand public à comprendre ouverture financière et gouvernance au niveau du village. Cependant, il y en a préoccupations soulevées des OSC concernant la méthodologie utilisé pour créer l'index. La première, choisir les villages qui allaient être indexés pour la première fois était problématique. IC’était une instruction descendante du régent à la tête des districts de soumettre un village chacun un candidat à être inclus et évalué. Discussions de groupe avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). Avec une telle méthode, l'index eévaluation processus n'était pas ouvert pour tous les villages. Deuxièmement, il y avait des différences de compréhension de la part des jurés concernant les variables et les indicateurs de l’indice, ce qui a entraîné une dispersion des résultats. eévaluation et a donc soulevé une question de subjectivité personnelle au cours du jugement. Joko Hadi Purnomo, groupe de discussion avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). Des discussions sont toujours en cours concernant la ré-implémentation de l'indice et de la méthode d'évaluation de 2017. En octobre 2017, une consultation multipartite a eu lieu pour discuter de l'expérience passée d'utilisation de l'indice et de l'amélioration de l'utilisation future.

Recommandations

• Garantie Satisfait ou Satisfait Pour faciliter l'accès aux informations sur les villages, le chercheur IRM recommande d'inclure tous les hyperliens vers les sites Web des villages dans un seul portail de navigation. Il pourrait être géographique ou basé sur le district et devrait être lié au portail officiel de la régence. Le gouvernement au niveau de la régence pourrait mettre à la disposition des responsables de village des plates-formes basées sur Internet pour leur permettre de rendre compte de leurs activités.

• Garantie Satisfait ou Satisfait La mise en place de PPID dans chaque village est la première étape pour améliorer l'accès des citoyens à la gouvernance du village. Bojonegoro devrait envisager d'élaborer une stratégie à long terme pour les maintenir en activité. Les agents du PPID dans chaque village devraient avoir la capacité d'agir en tant que mécanisme de compte rendu à l'intérieur des villages. Les ateliers ultérieurs sur le renforcement des capacités des citoyens ainsi que des responsables du PPID devraient être organisés par le gouvernement.


NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Bojonegoro Regency, Indonesia

Enhancing Village Government Accountability (BOJ0002)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Bojonegoro First Action Plan

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: NA

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Asset Disclosure, E-Government, Fiscal Transparency, Participation in Budget Processes, Public Participation, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Bojonegoro Final IRM Report 2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Issues to be addressed: There is lack of public trust to the village government due to the absence of transparency. Primary objective: Open, accountable and transparent village administration and village community capacity building. Commitment Description: To enhance village administration accountability and community capacity, by opening up planning and budgeting processes, village assets data and active public participation in every cycle of decision making process which will lead to open village government. OGP Challenge: To increase village administration accountability and transparency Relevance: Village level accountability and transparency strengthens open village government Ambition: A village government that is open, transparent and accountable which will support corruption prevention efforts and increase public trust to the village government.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

2. Enhancing Village Government Accountability

Commitment text

Objective: Open, accountable and transparent village administration and village community capacity building.

Description: To enhance village administration accountability and community capacity, by opening up planning and budgeting processes, village assets data and active public participation in every cycle of decision making process which will lead to open village government.

Ambition: A village government that is open, transparent and accountable which will support corruption prevention efforts and increase public trust to the village government.

Milestones

Year 2016:

1. Publication of the village administration’s budget (APBDes) and accountability report, in the form of billboards, based on public information disclosure principles

2. Development of Village Administration Transparency Index [proposed by CSOs]

Year 2017:

3. Publication of the village administration’s budget (APBDes) and accountability report, in the form of billboards (100%) and village website (70%), and publication of village asset data through billboards (70%)

4. Stronger community participation in the village level planning, program implementation and evaluation process in 30 villages

5. Regency government assistance for the creation of Village Information Service Desk (PPID Desa) in 30 villages

Commitment Overview
 

Commitment Aim

Overall Objective & Relevance

Bojonegoro’s action plan highlights that the lack of transparency at the village level in their budgetary process has led to public distrust. This is particularly important in Indonesia, considering the new village law approved in 2014. As mentioned in the General Context section of this report, one of the provisions of the law meant an increase of their budgets to ten times their original size. Salim, Bulan, Untung, Laksono & Brock, “Indonesia’s Village Law: enabler or constraint for more accountable governance?”, October 217, https://opendocs.ids.ac.uk/opendocs/bitstream/handle/123456789/13324/Village_law_Indonesia_Final.pdf For this reason, the Government of Bojonegoro, in collaboration with the IDFoS, decides to include commitment two, led by the Agency of Village Community and Administration Empowerment, with the aim to promote transparency and engage citizens in the budgetary process at the village level.

According to the 2015 International Budget Partnership (IBP) report, in Indonesia, government institutions provide limited budgetary information to the public. http://www.internationalbudget.org/wp-content/uploads/OBS2015-CS-Indonesia-English.pdf In addition, the same IBP report points out that the Government of Indonesia still provides the public with few opportunities to engage in the budgetary process. Therefore, starting in 2016, the Regency of Bojonegoro issued instruction No 2/2016 to encourage village governments to implement the OGP commitment and publish their budget plan (APBDes) and accountability reports. Instruksi Bupati No 2/2016. Specifically, it pushes village administration to provide citizens with a budget summary in the form of billboards, considering the limited Internet access in rural areas. Additionally, in 2016, in collaboration with Bojonegoro Institute and Institute Development of Society (IDFoS), the Government of Bojonegoro decided to develop the Village Administration Transparency Index to set standards for village administrators.

Moreover, in 2017, the Government of Bojonegoro committed to establish a Public Information Service Desk (PPID) at the village administration level in 30 select villages. PPID can provide basic information of every public administration services through face-to-face encounters. Although such information is available online on the government’s website, some villages do not have Internet access. Alit Purnayoga, secretary of Bojonegoro’s OGP team, in focus discussion with OGP team’s members (August 10, 2017). In addition, not every citizen has the capacity to use the Internet for such purpose. With the existence of PPID in the village level, the government would expect that citizens would already get some knowledge about basic requirements and procedures of particular administration they need. Thus, they would be ready to prepare all the documents before coming to target work units in the regency level. Alit Purnayoga, the secretary of OGP’s team of Bojonegoro, claimed that PPID can also function as a front desk to collect public input related to the improvement of public services. Alit Purnayoga, secretary of Bojonegoro’s OGP team, in focus discussion with OGP team’s members (August 10, 2017).

Specificity and Potential Impact

The commitment’s specificity is coded as medium. It includes verifiable actions with clear goals and a distinct timeframe. However, it does not provide enough information to understand to what extend the milestones could achieve the objective of the commitment. For instance, it does not define what ‘stronger community participation’ could look like and how it could be measured.

However, this commitment could change the status quo significantly. Considering the APBD reports were not published prior to this commitment, and the importance of promoting off-line village level transparency, the IRM researcher considers this commitment to have a potentially transformative impact. As written, it sets a clear goal and proposes to raise the standard through the creation of a Village Transparency Index, which would require the Government, in close cooperation with two civil society organizations, to assess the village budgetary process. The potential impact of the Village Transparency Index would likely depend on how many villages reach the necessary capacity to publish the right information by the end of the year of assessment. There could be a major improvement of access to information, especially of villages’ budget and administration. For the IRM researcher, villagers could have better knowledge of their village’ head and apparatuses programs. Moreover, establishing information desks (PPID) at the village level could help citizens to get basic information and service delivery. In the rural context of Javanese villages, face-to-face encounters are more effective for the people to get involved in governance. Combined, these milestones could represent a transformative step forward to improving public trust in the government by modernizing of village administration or “a taste of [modern] city in the village” in the words of the Major of Bojonegoro Suyoto. http://blog.opengovindonesia.org/2016/10/25/pemerintahan-terbuka-di-hilir-bengawan-solo/

Completion
Limited

The Government led efforts to achieve Milestone 2.1, which aimed to publish village APBDes and accountability reports, in the form of billboards. It was scheduled to be completed by 2016, however, by the end of the year 2017, only 168 of all 430 villages (39,07 percent) had reportedly posted their banners/posters of budget accountability. To track this effort, the Regency created a google repository for villages to upload pictures of the billboards that were created and put in place. For data of all villages, see: http://ppid.bojonegorokab.go.id/transparansi-desa/; for data recapitulation, see: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ieQFn27yE9SzhSzvO8I5brOFjUstPpk2LTGNeV9kO7A/edit#gid=1868264710 The information was submitted voluntarily by a village administration officer.

The Village Development index (Milestone 2.2), was completed in time, yet the index is being evaluated for improvement. The index includes four variables: transparency, accountability, participation, and innovation. It was implemented to select the five most open villages in Bojonegoro in 2016. The five villages are Pejambon, Kapas, Sukoharjo, Ngasem, and Kedungsumber.

Milestone 2.3, publishing APBDes, accountability reports and village asset data, was not completed. By November 2017, the IRM researcher found data available for 2016 but no updates for 2017 in order to assess the completion of the milestone. Bojonegoro OGP team’s secretary, Alit Purnayoga said that for 2017 the village report would be published in every village website, Alit Purnayoga, secretary of Bojonegoro’s OGP team, in focus discussion with OGP team’s members (August 10, 2017). which was very difficult for people to access (or at least to know all 430 villages’ name in the entire regency).

The IRM researcher received ambiguous information to account for progress of Milestones 2.4 and 2.5. The researcher did not receive the list of 30 villages targeted for the strengthening of community participation and creation of Village Information Service Desks. Upon request of information to the government representatives, Alit Purnayoga reported the development of the workshop “Sekolah Desa” (village school) facilitated by IDFoS and held in February 2017, as evidence of progress to achieve Milestone 2.4. Alit purnayoga, secretary of Bojonegoro’s OGP team, in focus discussion with OGP team’s members (August 10, 2017). However, this workshop did not form part of commitment implementation, considering that the February 2017 workshop was the third iteration of the initiative that started in 2014. IDFoS has played a significant role in organizing capacity building workshops in target villages as part of EMCL's CSR program. “IDfoS gelar sekolah desa angkatan III,” https://www.idfos.or.id/idfos-gelar-sekolah-desa-angkatan-iii/ Four participating villages from Bojonegoro and six villages from Tuban were a part of the program. It is unclear how the villages were targeted, although, according to Joko Hadi Purnomo from IDFoS, his organization’s target villages were aligned with EMCL’s CSR target villages where the company’s well is located and a pipe has been planted. Focus group discussions with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). Therefore, the IRM researcher considers that milestone 2.4 has limited completion.

For Milestone 2.5, the Government reported to have exceeded the initial plan of 30 villages. The official data gathered by the IRM researcher indicated that there were 50 villages in five districts with their own Village Information Desk (PPID), while the initial plan was only 30 selected villages. However, as the IRM researcher has not received the village name’s list or any further evidence to assess the completion status of the milestone.

Early results: did it open government?

Access to Information: Marginal
Civic participation: No change

The commitment has been very promising for open government in terms of increasing civic participation (2.4) and providing more accessible information (2.1, 2.3, and 2.5) regarding budgetary cycle and public administration in village level. Although the commitment had only seen limited completion, there has been a change in the way government approaches the publication of APBDes and accountability reports. Prior to this commitment, villages did not publish this information and was available upon citizen requests, which is now progressively being done in different villages.

Additionally, the Village Transparency Index serves as a new mechanism that allows the broader public to understand financial and governance openness at the village level. However, there are some concerns raised from CSOs regarding the methodology used to create the index. First, choosing the villages that were going to be indexed for the first time was problematic. It was a top-down instruction from the regent to the districts’ head to submit one village each as a candidate to be included and evaluated. Focus group discussions with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). With such method, the index evaluation process was not open for all villages. Secondly, there were differences of understanding from the jurors regarding the index’s variables and indicators which resulted in a disperse evaluation and therefore raised an issue of personal subjectivity in the course of the judging. Joko Hadi Purnomo, in focus group discussions with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). There is still an ongoing discussion regarding the re-implementation of the index and method for the 2017 valuation. In October 2017, there was a multi-stakeholder consultation to discuss past experience using the index and the improvement for the future use.

Recommendations

 For easier access to the villages’ information, the IRM researcher recommends to include all hyperlinks to the village’s websites in a single navigation portal. It could be geographically-based or district-based, and should be linked to the regency’s official portal. The government at the regency level could provide Internet-based platform(s) for village officials to report their activities.

 Establishing PPID in every village is the first step for improving citizen access to village governance. Bojonegoro should consider developing a long-term strategy to keep them functioning. The PPID officers in each village should have the capacity to act as the reporting mechanism inside the villages. Subsequent workshops for building capacity of citizens as well as PPID officers should be carried out by the government.