Ignorer la navigation
Régence de Bojonegoro, Indonésie

Données de contrat d'approvisionnement ouvert améliorées (BOJ0004)

Vue d'ensemble

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport final IRM de Bojonegoro 2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs de l'OGP: accès à l'information, à la technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Questions à traiter: zone exposée à la corruption, manque de compétence des fournisseurs de biens et de services d'achat et manque de supervision publique tout au long des activités d'achat. Objectif principal: développer une application permettant d'ouvrir au public les données relatives aux marchés publics conformément à la loi n ° 14 / 2008; améliorer les compétences des fournisseurs de biens et services; et accroître la participation du public aux activités d'approvisionnement. Engagement Description: Nous nous sommes engagés à développer une application et un processus métier approprié qui permettraient un système de passation des marchés plus transparent. Les activités d'approvisionnement existantes sont très sujettes à la corruption; il y a un manque de transparence quant à la manière et aux raisons pour lesquelles certains biens et services sont achetés; si les achats sont effectués en fonction des besoins réels du gouvernement et de ses performances. Il convient de noter que les activités de nomination directe sont les activités les plus exposées à la corruption. Défi OGP: Renforcer la transparence, la participation et l'innovation Pertinence: Renforcer la réglementation pour promouvoir des politiques d'approvisionnement ouvertes. Ce dernier offrira plus d’espace au public pour surveiller, fournir des intrants et superviser. Ambition: l'innovation dans les politiques de contrats / achats ouverts contribue à accroître la transparence et la responsabilisation de l'ensemble des activités d'achat et sert donc également aux efforts de prévention de la corruption. Grâce à cette application, nous souhaitons renforcer la surveillance et la participation du public tout au long du cycle.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

4. Données de contrat d'approvisionnement ouvert améliorées

Texte d'engagement

Objectif: développer une application permettant d’ouvrir au public les données des marchés publics conformément à la loi n ° 14 / 2008; améliorer les compétences en matière d'approvisionnement en biens et services; et augmenter la participation du public aux activités d'approvisionnement

La description: Nous nous sommes engagés à développer une application et un processus commercial approprié qui permettraient un système de passation des marchés plus transparent. Les activités d'approvisionnement existantes sont très sujettes à la corruption; il y a un manque de transparence quant à la manière et aux raisons pour lesquelles certains biens et services sont achetés; si les achats sont effectués en fonction des besoins réels du gouvernement et de ses performances. Il convient de noter que les activités de nomination directe sont les activités les plus exposées à la corruption.

Ambition: l'innovation dans les politiques de contrats / achats ouverts contribue à accroître la transparence et la responsabilisation de l'ensemble des activités d'achat et sert donc également aux efforts de prévention de la corruption. Grâce à cette application, nous souhaitons accroître la surveillance et la participation du public tout au long du cycle.

Milestones

Année 2016:

1. Délivrance de la déclaration indiquant que Bojonegoro est prêt à s'engager dans un contrat ouvert

2. Publication du règlement Regent sur les contrats ouverts

3. Disponibilité du prototype d'application de contrat de données ouvert

Année 2017:

4. Mise en œuvre de l'application de contrat de données ouvertes

Aperçu de l'engagement

But de l'engagement

Objectif général et pertinence

Le gouvernement de Bojonegoro a identifié deux problèmes clés dans les activités de passation de marchés existantes, qui sont prédisposées à la corruption. Premièrement, il y a un manque de transparence dans le processus de planification et il est difficile de savoir si certains biens et services pouvant être achetés sont des achats fondés sur les besoins réels du gouvernement et sur ses performances. Deuxièmement, il y a un manque de supervision publique tout au long des activités d'achat.

Cet engagement vise à accroître la transparence des processus de passation des marchés publics en publiant un règlement sur les contrats ouverts et en créant une application de données ouverte permettant de publier des informations sur les processus de passation des marchés. Cet engagement est étroitement lié à l'engagement 3 (Améliorer la transparence du budget local). Le règlement proposé vise à donner plus d'espace au public pour surveiller, donner son avis et superviser les processus d'approvisionnement. En outre, le gouvernement, en collaboration avec l'Institut Bojonegoro, a cherché à développer une application pour la publication des données du contrat. L'application associe un processus métier approprié à un système d'approvisionnement plus transparent.

S'il est mis en œuvre tel quel, cet engagement pourrait améliorer l'accès à l'information grâce à la publication des contrats du gouvernement via une application. Cependant, bien que cela demande l'inclusion des citoyens dans le cycle de passation des marchés, il n'est pas clair comment cette application intégrera des fonctionnalités pour inclure le public dans les processus de prise de décision ou lui permettre de fournir des contributions de toutes sortes. Il n’explique pas non plus si la demande servirait de mécanisme pour demander au gouvernement de justifier ses actions ou de répondre aux préoccupations et critiques des citoyens, ce qui explique pourquoi elle n’est pas considérée comme pertinente pour la responsabilité publique.

Spécificité et impact potentiel

L'engagement est considéré de spécificité moyenne. Les quatre étapes sont objectivement vérifiables, cependant, il est difficile de savoir comment le chercheur pourrait évaluer dans quelle mesure la mise en œuvre des activités pourrait contribuer à l'objectif global. Le plan d'action manque de détails sur le contenu du règlement, le fonctionnement de l'application de données ouvertes, son utilisation par les agences gouvernementales, la publication d'informations sur l'ensemble du processus de passation de marché, son format, etc. n'explique pas non plus quelles fonctionnalités innovantes permettraient la participation et la surveillance du public. En raison de ce manque de spécificité, l'engagement est considéré comme ayant un impact potentiel modéré. L’application peut garantir la transparence des prestataires de services d’achat et permettre aux citoyens de surveiller les processus d’achat et leurs résultats. Toutefois, on ne sait pas dans quelle mesure. De plus, l'application ne pourrait être fonctionnelle que pour un groupe restreint de personnes ayant un bon accès à ces technologies et la capacité de les utiliser. Cela pourrait s'avérer peu pratique pour ceux qui ont un accès limité à Internet ou une alphabétisation technologique.

Aboutissement
Substantiel

La régence a complété les trois premiers jalons (4.1, 4.2 4.3). Le 11 d’octobre de 2016 comportait une déclaration de contrat à document ouvert, qui a été signée par Personnes 32, membres du gouvernement local, conseil local, police, secteur privé et les principaux représentants locaux des OSC. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzY3VxR3hEMmhmX1E/view?usp=sharing Plus tard, le 5 de janvier 2017, le régent a publié un règlement (n ° 1 sur 2017) en ce qui concerne ostylo ddocument contracting à Bojonegoro. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzZ2djaGVMSjVNSVE/view?usp=sharing

À notre humble avis, Ce règlement vise à fournir des normes et des orientations aux services gouvernementaux de Bojonegoro (appelés unités de travail ou SKPD) en ce qui concerne les contrats ouverts. Il couvre l’ensemble du processus de passation de marché, du planification d'activités, budgeting, achat de biens et services, rapports et la fourniture accès public à participer. Résumé du règlement: https://peraturan.bpk.go.id/Home/Details/57177 Tous les marchés publics seraient publiés selon ces critères. Comme l'a déclaré le régent Suyoto et enregistré par Publiez ce que vous payez en Indonésie, gLes marchés d’achats de biens et services se composent de termes de référence, Prix ​​auto-estimé (HPS), sélection processus, raisons des gagnants (minutes), contrats commerciaux, surveillance SKPD, communauté participation, Paiement processus et enregistrement d'actifs. Plus précisément, le règlement demande aux ministères d'inclure les raisons pour lesquelles ils ont choisi un contractant plutôt qu'un autre et de permettre aux commentaires du public d'être formulés en ligne au cours du processus. «Recette d'ouverture à la Bojonegoro», publiez ce que vous payez en Indonésie, https://pwyp-indonesia.org/id/247299/resep-keterbukaan-ala-bojonegoro/

étape importante 4.3 était finalement achevé en décembre 2017 avec le lancement d’une nouvelle application (bos.bojonegorokab.go.id) devant fonctionner pour l’exercice financier 2018. Communication par courrier électronique avec Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe OGP de Bojonegoro (novembre 28, 2017). Cependant, tLe chercheur de l'IRM a constaté des incohérences entre les explications fournies par les représentants du gouvernement et les OSC en ce qui concerne comment cette étape a été accomplie. Erdyn Sucahyono, du département de développement local de Bojonegoro, a affirmé qu’il existait un prototype d’application développé par le Bureau des travaux publics (simpen.bojonegorokab.net). Erdyn Sucahyono (Département du développement local de Bojonegoro) en discussion avec les membres de l'équipe OGP (August 10, 2017). Cette application était limitée aux processus d'approvisionnement de ce bureau particulier. Cependant, Syaiful Huda de l’Institut Bojonegoro a fait valoir que le Bureau des travaux publics l'application ne faisait pas partie de cet engagement. Au lieu de cela, he a affirmé que son organisation développé une application plus complexe avec un financement de donateurs internationaux comme HIVOS. L'application a été conçu basé sur les normes OCDS (Open Contracting Data Standards), ce qui facilite l’interopérabilité pour les utilisateurs multiples. La nouvelle application is capable de faciliter plusieurs unités de travail au sein du gouvernement local au cours des différentes phases du cycle contractuel: planification, budgétisation, la mise en oeuvre et évaluation. L'autre Cette demande s’appliquait uniquement au Bureau des travaux publics et ne s’appliquait pas aux autres unités de travail. Le régent de Bojonegoro, Suyoto, a publié le nouvelle application appelé le système ouvert de Bojonegoro (bos.bojonegoro.go.id) créé par l'Institut Bojonegoro, en partenariat avec Hivos, en Décembre 2017en l'annonçant serait prêt pour utiliser pendant le Année fiscale 2018. Communiqué de presse 12 Desember 2017.

L'achèvement cette étape a vu des retards importants en raison de contraintes budgétaires. Bien que le règlement sur le contrat ouvert (4.2) ait été publié en janvier 2017, l’application n'était pas prêt avant 2017 décembre, un an après, il était censé être prêt. Syaiful Huda de l'Institut Bojonegoro déclaré que «Nous n'avons pas reçu d'argent du gouvernement local pour soutenir la mise en œuvre de l'engagement. Nous avons cherché des fonds auprès de nos donateurs, de HIVOS, de la Fondation Ford, et aussi du CSR d'Exxon ”.

Ainsi, Milestone 4.4 ne pourrait pas être mis en œuvre d'ici la fin de 2017, depuis le début du nouveau cycle d’achatan avec l'ouverture du nouvel exercice sur 2018, au-delà de la période de mise en œuvre du plan d’action. Par conséquent, cet engagement était en grande partie achevé à la fin du cycle de rapport.

Premiers résultats: a-t-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal
Participation civique: marginale
Responsabilité publique: pas de changement

Bojonegoro visant à appliquer un nouveau règlement sur les contrats ouverts et à un marché ouvert basé sur la technologie application pour l'année fiscale 2018, dans le but de minimisering la corruption pendant le processus de passation des marchés publics. Le règlement a été annoncé et rendu public à temps. Son contenu fournit aux directions de la Régence des instructions spécifiques sur le processus de passation de marché ouverte suivant la norme de passation de marché ouverte. Il remplace numéro de réglementation regent 33 de 2016, Ouverture du contrat Dles objets dans le gouvernement Ppassation des marchés / Services. En substance, le nouveau règlement vise à inclure le public à toutes les étapes du processus d'approvisionnement: planification, mise en œuvre et évaluation; tandis que le règlement 2016 seulement inclus le processus d'acquisition ou d'appel d'offres. Le nouveau règlement définit les types de contrats et inclut «pcontrat olitiques 'ou des engagements de la régence aux citoyens de Bojonegorogouvernement plans stratégiques, les plans de travail des gouvernements locaux (RKPD), KUA-PPAS, projet de réglementation régionale sur l’APBD et réglementation régente concernanttraduction du APBD et ses reportages); contrat professionnels avec les départements ou sous-unités régionales de Bojonegoro (SKPD) qui comprend SKPD stratégique plans, travail SKPD plans, RKA-SKPD et DPA-SKPD; et contrat d'entreprises entre SKPD et entreprises (fournisseur / entrepreneur / entité commerciale) dans le pprocessus d’achat de biens et services. Bojonegoro News, septembre 2017: https://kumparan.com/beritabojonegoro/tim-provinsi-jawa-timur-lakukan-evaluasi-sakip-di-pemkab-bojonegoro

L'application n'a été terminée qu'à la fin de 2017 et n'a donc pas été utilisée pendant la période d'implémentation. Ainsi, les données sont insuffisantes pour affirmer que le gouvernement a de façon significative amélioration de la qualité des informations divulguéesed au public. Ces limitations étaient principalement dues au manque de ressources financières pour appliquer la contrat ouvert réglementation. Syaiful Huda de l'Institut Bojonegoro et Joko Hadi Purnomo de l'IDFOS reconnaître que le régent a priorisé le émission du nouvelle réglementation locale innovante, crucial pour concrétiser l'engagement. Discussions de groupe de discussion distinctes avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017) et l'Institut Bojonegoro (octobre 26, 2017). Cependant, Joko a noté que pour qu'un tel programme obtienne un financement, cela dépendrait de l'approbation du conseil local. Discussions de groupe avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). «Le régent est une bonne personne et il a une bonne volonté politique. Mais la politique budgétaire a besoin de plus de négociations avec les autres partis », a déclaré Joko Hadi.

Cependant, le gouvernement et les principales organisations ont déployé des efforts considérables pour mettre en œuvre l'engagement qui n'augmentait que marginalement la participation aux processus gouvernementaux. Pour remplir le jalon 4.1, en ce qui concerne la publication de la déclaration de contrat ouvert, tle gouvernement a mené un effort de mobilisation pour inclure la représentation de diverses institutions gouvernementales, du secteur privé et des organisations de la société civile. C’était une étape importante qui définissait la manière dont le reste de l’engagement était exécuté. Malgré les retards, le gouvernement et l'Institut Bojonegoro (BI) ont collaboré étroitement à la mise au point de l'application. BI s'est associé à Hivos pour diriger le processus et veiller à ce que le nouveau système respecte la norme de sous-traitance ouverte. En outre, bien qu’il soit en dehors des étapes, l’Institut Bojonegoro a activement formé les parties prenantes au nouveau système ouvert de Bojonegoro, ce qui témoigne des effets positifs de la collaboration entre le gouvernement et la société civile sur le gouvernement ouvert.

Recommandations

Le succès de la mise en œuvre de cet engagement constituerait une structure solide pour d'autres engagements de gouvernement ouvert dans la régence. À réussir développer et lancer le intégré et application conviviale qui répond aux besoins de chaque intervenant it a besoin meilleure planification et croissant aide financière. Un autre obstacle la régence sera confronté est de savoir comment changer le fonctionnaire actuel culture s'adapter à l'évolution de la technologie. Élargi et régulier des ateliers sont nécessaires pour renforcer la capacité d'adaptation des personnes à différentes technologies, ainsi que pour intégrer la pratique de systématiquement publicaShing information. Le gouvernement devrait être plus cohérent dans le financement d'ateliers et de formations pour ses citoyens afin d'accroître la capacité d'utilisation de cette technologie. Sans engagement dans le développement humain, les nouvelles technologies caccroîtrait le fossé culturel entre le gouvernement et ses citoyens.


NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Bojonegoro Regency, Indonesia

Enhanced Open Procurement Contract Data (BOJ0004)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Bojonegoro First Action Plan

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: NA

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Fiscal Transparency, Legislation & Regulation, Open Contracting and Procurement, Records Management, Right to Information, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Bojonegoro Final IRM Report 2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Issues to be addressed: Prone area to corruption, lack of competency of goods and services procurement providers and lack of public oversight throughout procurement activities. Primary objective: To develop an application that would allow procurement contract data to be opened to public in accordance to the Law No 14/ 2008; improve competency of goods and services procurement providers; and increase public participation in procurement activities. Commitment Description: We are committed to develop an application and appropriate business process that would allow a more transparent procurement system. Existing procurement activities are very prone to corruption; there is lack of transparency as to how and why certain goods and services being procured; whether or not things being procured are based on actual needs of the government and their work performance. Worth to note that direct appointment activities is the most prone activities to corruption. OGP Challenge: Strengthening transparency, participation and innovation Relevance: Stronger regulation to promote open procurement policies. The latter will provide more space for public to monitor, provide inputs, and oversee. Ambition: Innovation in open contract/ procurement policies helps to increase transparency and accountability of the overall procurement activities and thus also serves as corruption prevention efforts. Through this application we wish to increase public oversight and public participation throughout the cycle.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

4. Enhanced Open Procurement Contract Data

Commitment text

Objective: To develop an application what would allow procurement contract data to be opened to public in accordance to the Law No. 14/2008; improve competency of goods and services procurement provides; and increase public participation in procurement activities

Description: We are committed to develop an application and appropriate business process that would allow a more transparent procurement system. Existing procurement activities are very prone to corruption; there is lack of transparency as to how and why certain goods and services being procured; whether things being procured are based on actual needs of the government and their work performance. Worth to note that direct appointment activities are the most prone activities to corruption.

Ambition: Innovation in open contract/ procurement policies helps to increase transparency and accountability of the overall procurement activities and thus also serves as corruption prevention efforts. Through this application, we wish to increase public oversight and public participation throughout the cycle.

Milestones

Year 2016:

1. Issuance of declaration of Bojonegoro’s readiness to embark on open contract

2. Issuance of Regent Regulation on Open Contract

3. Availability of open data contract application prototype

Year 2017:

4. Implementation of the open data contract application

Commitment Overview

 

Commitment Aim

Overall Objective & Relevance

The Government of Bojonegoro identified two key problems in existing procurement activities, which have been prone to corruption. First, there is a lack of transparency in the planning process and it is unclear whether certain procurable goods and services are purchases based on actual needs of the government and their work performance. Second, there is lack of public oversight throughout procurement activities.

This commitment aims to increase transparency in public procurement processes by issuing a regulation on open contracts and creating an open data application to publish information on procurement processes. This commitment is closely related to Commitment 3 (Improving Local Budget Transparency). The proposed regulation is meant to provide more space for the public to monitor, give inputs, and oversee the procurement processes. Additionally, the government, in collaboration with Bojonegoro Institute, sought to develop an application for the publication of the contract data. The application combines an appropriate business process with a more transparent procurement system.

If implemented as written, this commitment could improve access to information with the publication of government contracts through an application. However, although it calls for the inclusion of citizens in the procurement cycle, it is not clear how this application will integrate features to include the public in decision-making processes or allow them to provide input of any kind. It also does not explain whether the application would serve as a mechanism to call upon the government to justify its actions or respond to citizen concerns and criticisms, reason why it is not considered relevant to public accountability.

Specificity and Potential Impact

The commitment is considered of medium specificity. The four milestones are objectively verifiable, however, it is not clear how the researcher could measure to what degree the implementation of the activities could contribute to the overall objective. The action plan lacks detail on what the regulation will contain, how the open data application will run, how it will be used by government agencies, whether it will be used to publish information on the full contracting process and in what format, etc. It also does not explain what innovative features would allow public participation and oversight. Because of this lack in specificity, the commitment is considered to have a moderate potential impact. The application may guarantee openness for procurement service providers and allow citizens to monitor the procurement processes and their results, however, it is not clear to what degree. Additionally, the application could only be functional for a limited group people with good access to these technologies and the capacity to use them. It could prove to be impractical for those who have limited Internet access or technologically literacy.

Completion
Substantial

The regency completed the first three milestones (4.1, 4.2, and 4.3). On 11 October 2016, there was a declaration of Open Document Contract, which was signed by 32 people, members of the local government, local council, police force, private sector and major local CSO representatives. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzY3VxR3hEMmhmX1E/view?usp=sharing Later, on 5 January 2017, the regent issued a Regent Regulation (No 1 of 2017) regarding open document contracting in Bojonegoro. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzZ2djaGVMSjVNSVE/view?usp=sharing

The purpose of this regulation is to provide standards and guidance to Bojonegoro’s government departments (referred to as working units or SKPD) regarding open contracting. It covers the full contracting process, from activity planning, budgeting, procurement of goods & services, reporting and providing public access to participate. Regulation abstract: https://peraturan.bpk.go.id/Home/Details/57177 All government contracts would be published under these criteria. As stated by the Regent Suyoto and recorded by Publish What You Pay Indonesia, goods and services procurement contracts consist of terms of reference, Self Estimated Prices (HPS), selection process, reasons for winners (minutes), business contracts, SKPD monitoring, community participation, payment process and asset recording. Specifically, the Regulation calls on government departments to include the reasons why they have chosen one contractor over another and allow public comments to be made online during the process. “Openness recipe in Bojonegoro Style”, Publish What You Pay Indonesia, https://pwyp-indonesia.org/id/247299/resep-keterbukaan-ala-bojonegoro/

Milestone 4.3 was eventually completed in December 2017 with the launch of a new application (bos.bojonegorokab.go.id) set to function for the 2018 fiscal year. Email communication with Alit Purnayoga, secretary of Bojonegoro’s OGP team (November 28, 2017). However, the IRM researcher found inconsistencies between government officials and CSOs’ explanations in regards to how this milestone was completed. Erdyn Sucahyono, from the Local Development Department of Bojonegoro, claimed that there was a prototype application, which was developed by the Office of Public Works (simpen.bojonegorokab.net). Erdyn Sucahyono (Local Development Department of Bojonegoro) in focus discussion with OGP team’s members (August 10, 2017). This application was limited to procurement processes of that particular office. However, Syaiful Huda from the Bojonegoro Institute argued that the Office of Public Work’s application was not part of this commitment. Instead, he claimed that his organization developed a more complex application with funding from international donors like HIVOS. The application was designed based on the Open Contracting Data Standards (OCDS), which facilitates interoperability for multiusers. The new application is able to facilitate multiple work units within the local government during the different phases of the contracting cycle: planning, budgeting, implementation and evaluation. The other application only applied for the Office of Public Works and was not applicable for the other working units. The Regent of Bojonegoro, Suyoto, released the new application called the Bojonegoro Open System (bos.bojonegoro.go.id) created by the Bojonegoro Institute, in partnership with Hivos, in December 2017, announcing it would be ready for use during the 2018 fiscal year. Press Release 12 Desember 2017.

The completion of this milestone saw significant delays due to budgetary constraints. Although the regulation on open contract (4.2) was issued in January 2017, the application was not ready until December 2017, a year after it was supposed to be ready. Syaiful Huda from the Bojonegoro Institute stated that “We did not receive money from the local government to support the implementation of the commitment. We searched fund from our donors, from HIVOS, from Ford Foundation, and also from Exxon’s CSR”.

Thus, Milestone 4.4 could not be implemented by the end of 2017, since the new procurement cycle began with the opening of the new financial year on 2018, beyond the action plan implementation period. Therefore, this commitment was substantially completed by the end of the reporting cycle.

Early results: did it open government?

Access to information: Marginal
Civic participation: Marginal
Public Accountability: No change

Bojonegoro aimed to enforce a new regulation on open contracting and build a technology-based open procurement application for the 2018 fiscal year, with the aim of minimizing corruption during the public contracting process. The Regulation was announced and made public in time. Its content provides specific guidance to the Regency’s departments on the process of open contracting following the Open Contracting Data Standard. It replaces regent regulation number 33 from 2016, Openness of Contract Documents in Government Procurement / Services. In essence, the new regulation aims to include the public in all stages of the procurement process: planning, implementation and evaluation; while the 2016 regulation only included the acquisition or bidding process. The new regulation defines the types of contracts and includes ‘political contracts’ or commitments from the Regency to citizens of Bojonegoro (regional government strategic plans, the local government work plans (RKPD), KUA-PPAS, regional regulation draft on APBD and regent regulations concerning translation of the APBD and its reporting); professional contracts with Bojonegoro’s regional departments or sub-units (SKPD) which includes SKPD strategic plans, SKPD work plans, RKA-SKPD and DPA-SKPD; and business contracts between SKPD with businesses (provider / entrepreneur / business entity) in the process of procurement of goods & services. Bojonegoro News, September 2017: https://kumparan.com/beritabojonegoro/tim-provinsi-jawa-timur-lakukan-evaluasi-sakip-di-pemkab-bojonegoro

The application was not finished until the end of 2017, and therefore, not in use during implementing period. Thus, there is insufficient data to state that the government has significantly improved the quality of information disclosed to the public. These limitations were mainly due to the lack of financial resources for enforcing the open contract regulation. Syaiful Huda from Bojonegoro Institute and Joko Hadi Purnomo from IDFOS acknowledge that the Regent has prioritized the issuance of the new, innovative local regulation, crucial to put the commitment in motion. Separate focus group discussions with IDFOS (October 26, 2017) and Bojonegoro Institute (October 26, 2017). However, Joko noted that for such program to get funding it would depend on the approval from the local council. Focus group discussions with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). “The Regent is good person, and he has a good political will. But budget politics needs more negotiation with other parties,” said Joko Hadi.

However, the government and leading organizations carried out great efforts to implement the commitment which marginally increased participation in government processes. To fulfil milestone 4.1, regarding the issuance of the open contract declaration, the government led a mobilization effort to include the representation of various government institutions, the private sector and CSOs. This was an important step that defined the way the rest of the commitment was carried out. Despite the delays, there was strong collaboration between the government and the Bojonegoro Institute (BI) to develop the application. BI partnered with Hivos and led the process and to ensure that the new system followed the Open Contracting Data Standard. Additionally, although outside the scope of the milestones, the Bojonegoro Institute has been actively training stakeholders on the new Bojonegoro Open System, which speaks to the positive effect the collaboration between government and civil society has had on open government.

Recommendations

The success of this commitment’s implementation would be a strong structure for other open government commitments in the regency. To successfully develop and launch the integrated and user-friendly application that fulfills the need of every stakeholder it requires better planning and increasing financial support. Another obstacle the Regency will face is how to change the current civil servant culture to adapt to changing technology. Extended and regular workshops are needed to build people’s capacity to adapt to different technologies as well as to embed the practice of systematically publishing information. The government should be more consistent in financing workshops and trainings for its citizens in order to increase the capacity of using this technology. Without commitment in human development, new technology could increase the cultural gap between the government and its citizens.