Ignorer la navigation
Régence de Bojonegoro, Indonésie

Améliorer la qualité des services publics (BOJ0005)

Présentation

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: non joint

Cycle du plan d'action: 2017

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution principale: NA

Institution (s) de soutien: NA

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, Santé, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics, Sous-national

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport final IRM de Bojonegoro 2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: majeur Majeur

Conception i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs du PGO: la participation citoyenne

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Problèmes à résoudre: les services publics doivent encore être fournis de manière optimale, en particulier dans le secteur de la santé. Objectif principal: l’engagement vise à améliorer les normes de service public au moyen d’une évaluation périodique efficace et d’une participation accrue du public aux systèmes de prestation de services publics et au processus d’élaboration des politiques relatives aux services publics. Engagement Description: Nous nous sommes engagés à améliorer la qualité du service public en mettant en œuvre une évaluation de la norme de service et une norme de service public élaborée et approuvée conjointement par le gouvernement et la société locale dans deux centres de santé communautaires. OGP Défi: Renforcement de la prestation de services publics et de la responsabilisation des gouvernements Pertinence: Amélioration du processus de formulation des normes de services publics grâce à une approche collaborative, vise à améliorer la confiance du public et sa satisfaction à l’égard du gouvernement. favoriser la participation du public et une meilleure prestation de services publics

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

5. Améliorer la qualité des services publics

Texte d'engagement

Objectif: L’engagement vise à améliorer les normes de service public au moyen d’une évaluation périodique efficace et d’une participation accrue du public aux processus de prestation de services publics et d’élaboration des politiques de service public.

La description: Nous nous sommes engagés à améliorer la qualité du service public grâce à la mise en œuvre de l'évaluation des normes de service et d'une norme de service public élaborée et approuvée conjointement par le gouvernement et la société locale dans deux centres de santé communautaires.

Ambition: collaboration plus étroite entre les quatre parties prenantes de 4 de manière transparente et responsable, susceptible de favoriser la participation du public et une meilleure prestation de services publics

Milestones

Année 2016:

1. Mise en œuvre de l'évaluation des normes de service public (SPP)

2. Élaboration d'une norme de service public approuvée conjointement par l'administration locale et par le public dans les centres de santé communautaires 2 (deux) (Puskesmas)

Année 2017:

3. Mise en œuvre d'une norme de service public impliquant la participation active des citoyens locaux

4. Mise en œuvre des normes de service public qui ont été convenues conjointement par l'administration locale et le public dans des centres de santé communautaires 2 (deux) (Puskesmas)

Aperçu de l'engagement

But de l'engagement

Objectif général et pertinence

Cet engagement vise à relever l'un des grands défis de l'OGP, à savoir «Améliorer les services publics». En collaboration avec l'Institut de développement de la société (IDFoS), le gouvernement de Bojonegoro s'est engagé à améliorer la qualité de la prestation des services publics grâce à la co-création. normes de service public entre le gouvernement et les citoyens. Les «normes de service public» constituent un moyen novateur de consulter les citoyens sur leur satisfaction à l'égard des services publics fournis à la communauté. Ils sont destinés à être écrits par des citoyens avec des membres du gouvernement afin de diagnostiquer les pratiques actuelles dans des institutions publiques spécifiques (telles que des centres de santé ou des écoles publiques) et d'indiquer les besoins non couverts. Ces documents aboutiraient aux «normes de service» répondant aux besoins de la communauté. Le gouvernement a identifié le secteur de la santé comme un domaine initial à traiter en premier. Cibler deux centres de santé publics pilotes (puskesmas) de Pungpungan et Gayam, l'engagement vise à fournir une évaluation périodique efficace des établissements de santé publics en changer la méthode de collaboration société civile-gouvernement à travers le stimulation de la participation du public. Si la mise en œuvre de cet engagement s'avère fructueuse, l'objectif est d'appliquer ce cadre dans d'autres secteurs du gouvernement.

L’amélioration de la prestation des services de santé publique est l’un des objectifs à moyen terme du Gouvernement indonésien. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement national s'est engagé à appliquer une loi sur la fonction publique (n ° 25 / 2009), à améliorer l'innovation dans la prestation de services publics et à accroître la participation du public à la prestation de services en développant ses capacités et en les associant au suivi et à l'évaluation des services publics. . La qualité des services de santé est un problème majeur en Indonésie, notamment après la mise en place du nouveau système intégré de sécurité sanitaire nationale (JKN). Cette transition a entraîné de nombreux problèmes techniques dans la prestation de services dans les établissements de santé appartenant à l’État, en particulier au niveau primaire ou secondaire. puskemas.

Pour associer les membres de la société civile au processus d’élaboration des normes de service public, le gouvernement de Bojonegoro, en alliance avec IDFoS, s’est attaché à faciliter la collaboration société civile-gouvernement dans le cadre de deux projets pilotes. puskesmas. Selon le texte de l'engagement, les normes devaient être approuvées conjointement par les fonctionnaires et les communautés locales vivant dans les zones de service de la population ciblée. puskesmas, et ces normes seraient spécifiques aux puskesmas en question. Ce faisant, le gouvernement aurait une connaissance plus précise des besoins de la communauté et il pourrait y avoir une amélioration de la confiance et de la satisfaction du public à l'égard des services publics fournis par le gouvernement local.

Spécificité et impact potentiel

La spécificité de l'engagement est considérée comme moyenne. Le libellé de l'engagement est clair, mais les résultats attendus ne sont pas assez spécifiques pour être mesurés et pourraient être interprétés par le lecteur. Par exemple, la différence entre les étapes clés 3 et 4 et la mesure dans laquelle leur mise en œuvre contribuerait à l'objectif de l'engagement ne sont pas claires. Néanmoins, si elle était mise en œuvre, cela pourrait avoir un impact significatif. Cet engagement propose un grand pas en avant dans l'évaluation de la prestation de services publics, compte tenu de la méthode novatrice de codéveloppement et de co-implémentation des normes de service public avec les citoyens. Cet engagement offre une approche alternative de la participation citoyenne qui, si elle aboutissait, servirait de modèle à reproduire dans d’autres secteurs et d’autres régions du pays. Bien que, comme prévu, cet engagement s’applique d’abord dans le secteur de la santé, il identifie de nombreuses autres institutions chargées de la mettre en œuvre (telles que les bureaux des travaux publics, de l’éducation et de la communication), qui pourraient faire avancer ce projet pilote.

Aboutissement
Substantiel

Cet engagement a été en grande partie réalisé. Deux jalons ont été atteints avec des retards, mais dans les délais impartis, alors que les deux autres ont connu des progrès limités.

Mpierre de taille 1 a été achevé à temps, bien que les changements transcrit au cours du processus de mise en œuvre. Le gouvernement de Bojonegoro a contracté le cabinet de conseil privé PT KOKEK Registre des contrats du gouvernement de Bojonegoro sous 2016, «Fourniture de services d'enquête sur la satisfaction de la communauté à l'agence de gestion des licences PT KOKEK», services obtenus en novembre de 2016, ligne 5820 / LS-BJ / 2016: http://www.bpkkdbojonegoro.com/sp2d/view/179/01-11-2016 concevoir et réaliser une satisfaction de la communauté enquête dans deux centres de santé communautaires (puskesmas) dans le but de comprendre comment les services étaient fournis. Ces enquêtes ont été menées en novembre 2016 et respectaient les exigences de la législation nationale et les directives du ministère de la Réforme administrative et bureaucratique. Description des services de PT KOKEK concernant les services de satisfaction de la communauté: http://www.kokek.com/services/survei-kepuasan-masyarakat/ PT KOKEK a mené l’enquête dans des puskesmas situés dans Kedungadem et MaloNéanmoins, la mise en œuvre des jalons 2 et 4 a eu lieu dans le installations of Gayam et Pungpungan. Selon le représentant de l'IDFOS, le lUn soutien financier suffisant a forcé les changements. Joko Hadi Purnomo, IDFOS, en discussion avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). Ces deux sous-districts ont ensuite été choisis pour tirer parti des plans de responsabilité sociale d'Exxon Mobile, qui devaient être ciblés dans ces deux communautés.

Les efforts pour sécuriser les ressources causé des retards importants dans l'achèvement de l'étape 2. L'élaboration des normes de service public aurait dû être terminé en décembre 2016. Au lieu de cela, le jalon était achevé en août 2017. Afin de recueillir les commentaires des différents acteurs de Gayam et de Pungpungan, IDFOS a organisé une série d’événements à Gayam et Pungungan dans le cadre de 2017 dans le cadre du programme Mama Asih, financé par Exon Mobile pour améliorer les services de santé publique. Le programme Mama Asih (une contraction de Maklumat Bersama Pelayanan Bersih, Déclaration commune pour un service propre) a été construit sur un forum existant que le bureau de santé de Bojonegoro a utilisé pour diffuser les résultats cadres de la santé dans la région. L'IDSOF a changé le format et introduit réunion mensuelles in puskesmas aiguiller itératif dialogue entre les citoyens et le gouvernement. Joko Hadi Purnomo, IDFOS, en discussion avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). Dans ces réunions, puskesmas ' les bénéficiaires pourraient s’associer et exprimer leurs opinions, leurs intérêts, leurs espoirs et leurs solutions en vue d’améliorer la qualité des services de prestation de soins de santé dans le pays. puskesmas. Entretiens séparés avec Syaifuddin, membres du forum Mama Asih de Gayam (octobre 27, 2017) et Bakri, membres du forum Mama Asih de Pungpungan (octobre 27, 2017). Ces réunions ont servi d’événements de sensibilisation 'Coordination de l'annonce du service par le centre de santé Pungpungan-IDFoS', site Web d'IDFoS, (9 January 2017), https://www.idfos.or.id/puskesmas-pungpungan-gelar-fgd-maklumat-pelayanan/ et des groupes de discussion avec des fournisseurs de services et des utilisateurs. Le centre de santé de Pungpungan tient des discussions de groupe sur l'annonce du service », site Web d'IDFoS, (22 June 2017), https://www.idfos.or.id/puskesmas-pungpungan-gelar-fgd-maklumat-pelayanan/ En collaboration avec les gestionnaires de particulier puskesmas, les citoyens ont co-créé des normes de prestation de services publics en fonction des contextes géographiques, sociaux et culturels de la région.

Les deux dernières normes de service public créées pour les puskesmas de Gayam et de Pungpungan ont été signées le 14 août 30 par quatre représentants des différents groupes de parties prenantes: chef du département des services de santé et du médiateur de Java oriental. Ils incluent des normes minimales de fonctionnement (définition des heures de service, mécanismes de plainte, sanctions, etc.). https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UV0hxRGY7YdesNyUy1W4Zdwwmp0ugTmB/view?usp=sharing et https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzR3djR2dIaHhhZlU/view?usp=sharing

En octobre 2017, les normes ont été appliquées dans les deux puskesmas, pendant la période d'élaboration du plan d'action, bien qu'avec des retards. Le mois d'octobre de 25 2017, avec des représentants de haut niveau de la Régence de Bojonegoro et des sous-districts et des représentants d'Exon Mobile, IDFoS a dirigé la «Formation des services de santé transparents et participatifs», une formation de deux jours visant à renforcer les capacités sur les nouvelles normes. Dix membres des deux centres de santé et des représentants 12 des forums communautaires de Gayam et de Pungpungan étaient présents pour en apprendre davantage sur la transparence, les mécanismes participatifs, le traitement des plaintes, la création de normes de service public et d'autres informations utiles, telles que les polices d'assurance maladie. «Importante transparence pour les services de santé», IDFoS, (25 October 2017), https://www.idfos.or.id/transparansi-penting-untuk-pelayanan-kesehatan/ Ces efforts ont été pris en compte dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la norme convenue; par conséquent, l'étape clé 4 est considérée comme terminée.

En ce qui concerne le jalon 3, on ne sait pas exactement en quoi il diffère du jalon 4 et aucun élément de preuve n’a été fourni pour évaluer son achèvement.

Premiers résultats: a-t-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: pas de changement
Participation civique: majeure
Responsabilité publique: marginale

L'engagement cible un grand défi OGP (Améliorer la fonction publique) en augmentant la participation civique et la participation du public à la prestation des services de santé. Il y avait important participation civique au cours de l'élaboration de normes de service public à deux endroits: Pungpungan et Gayam. Ce faisant, plus de gens a acquise connaissances sur la façon dont le facilitateur de santés et un systèmes ont travaillé pour qu'ils puissent contribuer à l'amélioration du système lui-même.

Dans le domaine de la participation citoyenne, le public avait une nouvelle occasion d’influencer la décisions services de santé locaux par le biais d’un nouveau forum «Mama Asih» (une contraction de la Maklumat Bersama Pelayanan Bersih, Déclaration commune pour un service propre) dans les sous-districts de Pungpungan et Gayam. Le forum était une optimisation d’une réunion mensuelle à puskesmas initié par IDFoS. Auparavant, les réunions consistaient en une communication dans un sens de la diffusion d’informations sur la santé par des représentants de l’Office de la santé aux cadres de la santé de la région., selon un membre du forum de Pungpungan. Avec un financement complet d'Exxon Mobile Cepu Ltd (EMCL), IDFoS facilite la transformation des réunions en dialogue entre les citoyens et le gouvernement. Joko Hadi Purnomo, IDFOS, en discussion avec IDFOS (octobre 26, 2017). Dans ces réunions, puskesmas ' les bénéficiaires pourraient s’associer et exprimer leurs opinions, leurs intérêts, leurs espoirs et leurs solutions en vue d’améliorer la qualité des services de prestation de soins de santé dans le pays. puskesmas. Entretiens séparés avec Syaifuddin, membres du forum Mama Asih de Gayam (octobre 27, 2017) et Bakri, membres du forum Mama Asih de Pungpungan (octobre 27, 2017). En collaboration avec les gestionnaires de particulier puskesmas, les citoyens ont co-créé des normes de prestation de services publics en fonction du contexte géographique, social et culturel de la région. Les normes créé pour chaque établissement est conçu sur mesure, en tenant compte des différences régionales, des besoins de la communauté, entre autres facteurs. Par conséquent, les deux normes de service public créées diffèrent l'une de l'autre en raison de la nature inclusive du mécanisme. Le forum a également permis aux fonctionnaires d’expliquer leurs responsabilités et leurs limites, ce qui est unn important étape vers responsabilité publique à Bojonegoro. En ce sens, une série de dialogues mensuels fructueux ont eu lieu entre les citoyens et les fonctionnaires pour trouver des solutions et des solutions de rechange visant à améliorer la prestation des services de santé publique dans des établissements de santé particuliers. Les résultats sont ensuite exposés dans une déclaration commune en deux puskemas de Pungpungan et Gayam. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UV0hxRGY7YdesNyUy1W4Zdwwmp0ugTmB/view?usp=sharing et https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzR3djR2dIaHhhZlU/view?usp=sharing

Des efforts ont été déployés pour mettre en place un forum similaire au niveau de la régence afin de contrôler et de surveiller les services de santé publique à Bojonegoro, en particulier dans les hôpitaux publics. Cependant, le financement du secteur privé est fortement dépendant de la production d’évaluations collaboratives des normes de la fonction publique. Cela se présente comme une limitation de l’extensibilité du programme et de sa portée vers d’autres centres, de nouvelles communautés et des secteurs autres que celui de la santé.

À la suite de Milestone 5.3, le gouvernement a déclaré que ses programmes habituels, tels que LAPOR, Friday Dialogue ou un programme de radio, avaient été clarifiés en novembre. Communication par courrier électronique avec Alit Purnayoga, secrétaire de l'équipe OGP (novembre 23, 2017). Cela diffère des informations recueillies lors de la visite du chercheur IRM en août, au cours de laquelle le gouvernement aomis d'utiliser une technique similaire de co-élaborer des normes de service public (5.2) à d’autres secteurs des services publics, à savoir les bureaux de l’éducation et de l’état civil. Eliza Zuraida Zen, Division de l'organisation et de la gouvernance, en discussion avec les membres de l'équipe OGP (August 10, 2017). Cependant, il n'y a pas eu suffisamment de preuves d'un quelconque effort pour initier la co-création de la norme dans ces secteurs, tant du côté gouvernemental que des organisations de la société civile.

Recommandations

Le chercheur IRM recommande tle gouvernement poursuivre leurs travaux sur l'évaluation des normes de service public en tant que méthode de collaboration avec les citoyens pour l'amélioration des services publics. Même s’il s’est avéré une méthode utile, la question de la durabilité du programme demeure. Le gouvernement pourrait:

1. Concentrez-vous sur le renforcement de la participation civique et le maintien des normes élaborées conjointement par les deux centres de santé avec lesquels ils travaillent actuellement.

2. Élaborer une stratégie pour la durabilité du programme et son extension possible à d’autres secteurs et communautés; Accroître l'appropriation de l'activité par le gouvernement et financer des espaces de dialogue.


NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Bojonegoro Regency, Indonesia

Improving Quality of Public Services (BOJ0005)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Not Attached

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: NA

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Health, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Bojonegoro Final IRM Report 2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Issues to be addressed: Public service is yet to be delivered optimally especially in the health sector. Primary objective: The commitment seeks to improve public service standards through an effective periodical evaluation and increased public participation in the public service delivery schemes/ public service policy making process. Commitment Description: We are committed to improve the quality of public service through the implementation of Service Standard Evaluation and a public service standard that is jointly developed and agreed both by the government and local society in two community health centers. OGP Challenge: Strengthening public service delivery and government accountability Relevance: Improved public service standards formulation process through collaborative approach, aims to improve public trust and satisfaction towards the government Ambition: Stronger collaboration between the 4 (four) stakeholders with transparent and accountable manner that can foster public participation and better public service delivery

IRM End of Term Status Summary

5. Improving Quality of Public Services

Commitment text

Objective: The commitment seeks to improve public services standards through an effective periodical evaluation and increased public participation in the public service delivery schemes/public service policymaking process.

Description: We are committed to improve the quality of public service through the implementation of Service Standard Evaluation and a public service standard that is jointly developed and agreed both by the government and local society in two community health centers.

Ambition: Stronger collaboration between the 4 (four) stakeholders with transparent and accountable manner that can foster public participation and better public service delivery

Milestones

Year 2016:

1. Implementation of Public Service Standard Evaluation (SPP)

2. Development of public service standard as jointly agreed by local government administration and by the public in 2 (two) community health centers (Puskesmas)

Year 2017:

3. Implementation of Public Service Standard that involves active participation from local citizens

4. Implementation of Public Service Standards that have been jointly agreed by local government administration and by the public in 2 (two) community health centers (Puskesmas)

Commitment Overview
 

Commitment Aim

Overall Objective & Relevance

This commitment aims to fulfill one of OGP Grand Challenges, i.e., “Improving Public Services.” In collaboration with the Institute Development of Society (IDFoS), the Government of Bojonegoro is committed to improve the quality of public service delivery through the co-creation of public service standards between the government and citizens. The ‘public service standards’ are an innovative way to consult with citizens about their satisfaction with public services being delivered to the community. They are meant to be written by citizens with government members to diagnose current practices in specific public institutions (like health centers or public schools) and outline which needs are not being covered. These documents would result in the ‘service standards’, responding to community needs. The government identified the health sector as an initial area to tackle first. Targeting two pilot public health centers (puskesmas) of Pungpungan and Gayam, the commitment seeks to provide effective periodical evaluation of public health facilities by changing the method of civil society-government collaboration through the stimulation of public participation. If the implementation of this commitment proves successful, the intention is to carry out this framework in other areas of government.

Improving the delivery of public health services is one midterm goal of the Government of Indonesia. To achieve this, the national government has committed to implement a Public Service Law (No. 25/2009), improve innovation in public service delivery, and increase public participation in service delivery by developing their capacity and involving them in public service monitoring and evaluation. The quality of health service is a major issue in Indonesia, especially following the establishment of the new, integrated system of national health security (JKN). This transition has caused many technical problems in delivering services in state-owned health facilities, especially at the primary level or puskemas.

To include civil society members in the process of developing public services standards, the Government of Bojonegoro, in alliance with IDFoS, aimed to facilitate civil society-government collaboration in two pilot puskesmas. According to the commitment text, the standards were to be jointly agreed by the public officials and local communities living in the service areas of the targeted puskesmas, and these standards would be specific to the puskesmas in question. In so doing, the government would have more accurate knowledge on community needs and there could be an improvement in public trust and satisfaction towards public services performed by the local government.

Specificity and Potential Impact

The specificity of the commitment is considered medium. The commitment’s language is clear, but the deliverables are not specific enough to measure and could be open to interpretation from the reader. For instance, it is not clear what the difference is between milestone 3 and 4 and to what extent their implementation would contribute to the objective of the commitment. Nevertheless, if implemented, it could have a significant impact. This commitment proposes a major step forward in the evaluation of public service delivery, considering the innovative method of co-developing and co-implementing public service standards with citizens. The commitment offers an alternative approach of civic participation that, if successful, would serve as a model to be replicated in other sectors and other regions of the country. Although, as planned, this commitment will first be applied in the health sector, it identifies multiple other co-implementing institutions (such as the Public Works, Education and Communication Offices), that could carry this pilot forward.

Completion
Substantial

This commitment was substantially completed. Two milestones were carried out with delays, but within the timeframe, while other two saw limited progress.

Milestone 1 was completed in time, albeit the changes that transcribed during the implementation process. The Government of Bojonegoro contracted the private consultancy PT KOKEK Government of Bojonegoro registry of contracts in 2016, ‘Procurement of Community Satisfaction Survey Services to the Licensing Agency PT KOKEK’, services procured in November of 2016, Line 5820/LS-BJ/2016: http://www.bpkkdbojonegoro.com/sp2d/view/179/01-11-2016 to design and conduct a community satisfaction survey in two community health facilities (puskesmas) with the aim of understanding how services were being delivered. These surveys were conducted in November 2016 and followed the national legislation requirements and guidelines stipulated by the Ministry of Administrative and Bureaucratic Reform. Description of PT KOKEK services regarding the Community Satisfaction Services: http://www.kokek.com/services/survei-kepuasan-masyarakat/ PT KOKEK carried out the survey in puskesmas located in Kedungadem and Malo, nevertheless, the implementation of milestones 2 and 4 took place in the facilities of Gayam and Pungpungan. According to the IDFOS representative, the lack of sufficient financial support forced the changes. Joko Hadi Purnomo, IDFOS, in focus discussion with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). These two sub districts were later chosen to take advantage of Exxon Mobile’s social responsibility plans, which were to be focused in these two communities.

The efforts to secure resources caused significant delays in the completion of milestone 2. The development of the public service standards should have been completed by December 2016. Instead, the milestone was completed in August 2017. To gather input from different stakeholders in Gayam and Pungpungan, IDFOS organized a series of events in Gayam and Pungungan throughout 2017 as part of the Mama Asih program, financed by Exon Mobile to improve public health services. The Mama Asih program (a contraction of Maklumat Bersama Pelayanan Bersih, Joint Declaration for Clean Service) was built upon an existing forum that Bojonegoro’s Health Office used to disseminate findings to health cadres in the region. The IDSoF changed the format and introduced monthly meetings in puskesmas to spur iterative dialogue between citizens and the government. Joko Hadi Purnomo, IDFOS, in focus discussion with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). In those meetings, puskesmas’ beneficiaries could join and express their opinions, interests, hopes, and solutions in regards to increase the quality of health delivery service in the puskesmas. Separate interviews with Syaifuddin, members of Gayam’s Mama Asih forum, (October 27, 2017) and Bakri, members of Pungpungan’s Mama Asih forum (October 27, 2017). These meetings served as awareness raising events ‘Pungpungan-IDFoS health center coordination of service announcement’, IDFoS website, (9 January 2017), https://www.idfos.or.id/puskesmas-pungpungan-gelar-fgd-maklumat-pelayanan/ and focus groups with service providers and users. Pungpungan health center holds focus group discussions on service announcement’, IDFoS website, (22 June 2017), https://www.idfos.or.id/puskesmas-pungpungan-gelar-fgd-maklumat-pelayanan/ Together with the managers of particular puskesmas, citizens co-created public service delivery standards according to geographical, social and cultural contexts of the region.

The final two public service standards created for the puskesmas in Gayam and Pungpungan were signed on 30 August 2017 by four representatives of the different stakeholder groups: the community leader from the Pungpungan Forum of the Mama Asih Program, the head of the Pungpungan puskesma, the head of the Health Service Department and the ombudsman of East Java. They include minimum standards of operation (defining service hours, complaint mechanisms, sanctions, and other issues). https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UV0hxRGY7YdesNyUy1W4Zdwwmp0ugTmB/view?usp=sharing and https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzR3djR2dIaHhhZlU/view?usp=sharing

In October 2017, the standards were made effective in both puskesmas, within the action plan development period, although with delays. On 25 October 2017, with high level representation from the Regency of Bojonegoro and from the sub districts and Exon Mobile representatives, IDFoS led the ‘Transparent and Participatory Health Service Training’, a two-day training for capacity building on the new standards. Ten members of the two health centers and 12 representatives of community forums in Gayam and Pungpungan attended to learn about openness, participatory mechanisms, handling complaints, the creation of public service standards and other useful information, such as health insurance policies. ‘Important transparency for health services’, IDFoS, (25 October 2017), https://www.idfos.or.id/transparansi-penting-untuk-pelayanan-kesehatan/ These efforts were considered as part of the implementation of the agreed upon standard, therefore, milestone 4 is considered complete.

As to milestone 3, it remains unclear how it differs from milestone 4 and no evidence was provided to assess its completion.

Early results: did it open government?

Access to information: No change
Civic Participation: Major
Public Accountability: Marginal

The commitment targets one OGP Grand Challenge (Improving Public Service) by increasing civic participation and public participation in health service delivery. There was significant civic participation in the course of developing public service standards in two locations: Pungpungan and Gayam. In so doing, more people acquired knowledge in how the health facilities and systems have been working so that they could contribute in improving the system itself.

In the area of civic participation, there was a new opportunity for the public to influence decisions in local health service delivery through a new-established forum of “Mama Asih” (a contraction of Maklumat Bersama Pelayanan Bersih, Joint Declaration for Clean Service) in the subdistricts of Pungpungan and Gayam. The forum was an optimization of a monthly meeting in puskesmas initiated by IDFoS. Before that, the meetings were a one-direction communication of health information dissemination from representatives of the Office of Health to health cadres in the region, according to a member of the forum in Pungpungan. With a full funding from Exxon Mobile Cepu Ltd (EMCL), IDFoS facilitates the transformation of the meetings into dialogue between citizens and the government. Joko Hadi Purnomo, IDFOS, in focus discussion with IDFOS (October 26, 2017). In those meetings, puskesmas’ beneficiaries could join and express their opinions, interests, hopes, and solutions in regards to increase the quality of health delivery service in the puskesmas. Separate interviews with Syaifuddin, members of Gayam’s Mama Asih forum, (October 27, 2017) and Bakri, members of Pungpungan’s Mama Asih forum (October 27, 2017). Together with the managers of particular puskesmas, citizens co-created public service delivery standards according to geographical, social and cultural contexts of the region. The standards created for each facility is tailored made, considering regional differences, community needs among other factors. Therefore, the two public service standards created differ from each other due to the inclusive nature of the mechanism. The forum has also been functioning as a medium for public officials to explain their responsibilities and limitations, which is an important step towards public accountability in Bojonegoro. In that sense, there have been a series of productive monthly dialogues between citizens and public officials in finding solutions and alternatives to improve public health service delivery in particular health facilities. The results are then set forth in joint declaration in two puskemas of Pungpungan and Gayam. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UV0hxRGY7YdesNyUy1W4Zdwwmp0ugTmB/view?usp=sharing and https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By7NDz0CM7jzR3djR2dIaHhhZlU/view?usp=sharing

There has been an effort to establish a similar forum at the regency level in order to control and monitor public health delivery service in Bojonegoro, especially in the public hospitals. However, there is a strong dependence on private sector funding to carry out the practice of producing collaborative public service standard evaluations. This presents itself as a limitation to the scalability of the program and its reach to other centers, new communities and sectors beyond health.

In their November clarification, the government claimed its routine programs, such as LAPOR, Friday Dialogue, or radio talk show as the result of Milestone 5.3. Email communication with Alit Purnayoga, OGP team’s secretary (November 23, 2017). This differs from the information collected in the course of a visit from the IRM researcher in August, where the government promised to employ similar technique of co-developing public service standards (5.2) to other public service sectors, i.e. education affairs and civil registration offices. Eliza Zuraida Zen, Division of Organization and Governance, in focus discussion with OGP team’s members (August 10, 2017). However, there has been not enough evidence of any effort to initiate the co-creation of the standard in those sectors from both the government and CSO sides.

Recommendations

The IRM researcher recommends the government to continue their work on the Public Service Standard Evaluation as a method to collaborate with citizens in the improvement of public services. Although it has proven to be a useful method, there are still questions of the sustainability of the program. The government could:

1. Focus on deepening civic participation and sustaining the co-developed standards in the two heath centers they are currently engaged with.

2. Develop a strategy for sustainability of the program and its possible expansion to other sectors and communities; increase government ownership of the activity and provide funding of spaces for dialogue.