Ignorer la navigation
Danemark

Portails de dénonciation anonymes pour les employés du système de justice (DK0070)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action du Danemark 2019-2021

Cycle du plan d'action : 2019

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : le ministère danois de la Justice

Institution(s) de soutien : L'unité responsable des différents dispositifs de dénonciation dépend de l'autorité. - Le ministère danois de la justice : l'unité de numérisation de l'affaire - le procureur général : le procureur général danois, l'unité de protection des données - la police : la police nationale du Danemark, l'unité d'inspections et de contrôles - le service danois de sécurité et de renseignement : Section Juridique - Le Service Pénitentiaire : La Gestion et la Communication de l'Inquiétude – à partir du 1er janvier 2020 La Section Juridique de l'Inquiétude

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, E-gouvernement, Justice, Justice ouverte, Police et correction, Prestation de services publics, Protections des dénonciateurs

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception du Danemark 2019-2021

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, responsabilité publique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Détails

Quel est le problème social que l'engagement traitera?
Un certain nombre de cas, comme celui du Tibet, ont conduit à réfléchir aux outils qui pourraient être déployés pour aider à mettre en lumière des informations sur les situations critiques au sein des autorités afin qu'elles puissent être traitées de manière appropriée. La mise en place de systèmes de dénonciation au sein du ministère danois de la justice augmentera la probabilité que des informations de cette nature soient rendues publiques, contribuant ainsi à une culture d'ouverture.

Qu'est-ce que l'engagement implique?
L'engagement implique la mise en place de dispositifs de dénonciation au sein du parquet, de la police, du service danois de sécurité et de renseignement (PET), du service pénitentiaire et du ministère de la justice. Les employés des autorités concernées peuvent utiliser les régimes. Le dispositif peut également être utilisé par les partenaires avec lesquels les autorités sont engagées dans une collaboration plus permanente ou formalisée, et leurs employés. Des informations peuvent être communiquées sur des problèmes graves qui sont importants pour la manière dont les autorités s'acquittent de leurs tâches. En règle générale, les informations peuvent être signalées via un portail électronique de dénonciation, où il sera également possible de communiquer avec les dénonciateurs qui ne souhaitent pas révéler leur identité.

Comment l'engagement contribuera-t-il à résoudre le problème social?
La mise en place de systèmes de dénonciation, dans lesquels des informations peuvent être rapportées sans révéler votre identité et où les autorités peuvent également communiquer avec des dénonciateurs anonymes pour faire la lumière sur l'affaire, rendra plus probable que les employés ou les partenaires exprimeront leur inquiétude concernant les comportements critiquables au sein des autorités, sans craindre de conséquences négatives en ce qui concerne leur emploi. Cela rendra plus probable la découverte d'erreurs et d'omissions de la part des autorités, augmentant ainsi le niveau des services fournis par les autorités.

Pourquoi cet engagement est-il pertinent pour les valeurs OGP?
Les systèmes de dénonciation rendront plus probable que les employés et les partenaires puissent communiquer des informations sur les situations critiques au sein des autorités, contribuant ainsi à une culture caractérisée par la transparence et l'ouverture. L'engagement contribue à accroître la responsabilité publique. La mise en place des systèmes de dénonciation ouvrira une voie permettant de communiquer des informations sur les situations critiques au sein des autorités. Cela augmentera la probabilité de découverte d'erreurs et d'omissions, augmentant ainsi le niveau des services fournis par les autorités.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

7. Programmes d'alerte au sein du Ministère danois de la justice

Objectif principal

<< L'engagement implique la mise en place de systèmes de dénonciation dans le ministère public, la police, le service danois de sécurité et de renseignement (PET), le service pénitentiaire et le ministère de la Justice. Les employés des autorités concernées peuvent utiliser ces programmes. Le programme peut également être utilisées par les partenaires avec lesquels les autorités sont engagées dans une collaboration plus continue ou formalisée, et leurs employés. Des informations peuvent être signalées sur des problèmes graves qui sont importants pour la manière dont les autorités exécutent leurs tâches. En règle générale, les informations peuvent être communiquées via un portail électronique des lanceurs d'alerte, où il sera également possible de communiquer avec les lanceurs d'alerte qui ne souhaitent pas révéler leur identité. " (26)

Milestones

  • Rapports en cours concernant les programmes d'alerte au sein du ministère danois de la Justice

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, veuillez consulter le plan d'action du Danemark à l'adresse https://digst.dk/media/21659/ogp-nap-2019-2021-english.pdf, Pp 23-25.

Évaluation du rapport de conception de l'IRM

Vérifiable:

Oui

Pertinent:

Accès à l'information, responsabilité publique

Impact potentiel:

Moderate

Analyse des engagements
Cet engagement vise à introduire des mécanismes de protection des lanceurs d'alerte au sein du ministère danois de la Justice. Les objectifs de l'engagement incluent la protection des employés contre les conséquences négatives lorsqu'ils soulèvent des préoccupations légitimes de mauvaise gestion au sein des autorités ciblées, grâce à l'utilisation de canaux de signalement anonymes. Par conséquent, cela devrait conduire à une augmentation du signalement de ces cas et ainsi améliorer les services des autorités publiques. Cet engagement précède la directive de l'UE sur la dénonciation, qui est entrée en vigueur le 16 décembre 2019 et oblige tous les États membres de l'UE, y compris le Danemark, à transposer ses dispositions dans leurs systèmes juridiques et institutionnels nationaux d'ici décembre 2021. (27) Cela comprendra la protection obligatoire des lanceurs d'alerte pour les entreprises privées et les institutions publiques, et exigera des employeurs qu'ils informent les employés de la fonction et de l'objectif des mécanismes de dénonciation. (28) Cet engagement répond à une recommandation du rapport de conception de l'IRM pour le plan d'action 2017-2019. (29) Cependant, il convient de noter que cet engagement en particulier ne s'applique qu'aux autorités au sein du ministère de la Justice et ne constitue pas une introduction générale de systèmes de dénonciation ou de législation au Danemark, qui se déroule actuellement en dehors du cadre de l'OGP.

L'engagement est pertinent par rapport à la valeur OGP de la responsabilité publique car il fournit aux employés du ministère de la Justice, y compris les parties externes, des canaux anonymisés pour signaler les fautes ou la corruption sans subir aucune forme de répercussion. Ces canaux seront principalement composés de portails en ligne au sein des autorités responsables qui protègent l'identité des personnes qui souhaitent faire part de leurs préoccupations. Cette agence entreprendra ensuite une analyse initiale conformément aux directives officielles et évaluera si une affaire relève ou non du mécanisme de dénonciation avant qu'une enquête effective puisse avoir lieu. (30) En outre, l'engagement appelle à un rapport annuel en ce qui concerne les dispositifs de dénonciation, ce qui est pertinent pour la valeur OGP de l'accès à l'information.

Avant cet engagement, la protection des lanceurs d'alerte n'était obligatoire que dans certains secteurs, par exemple le secteur financier. L'introduction de systèmes de protection des lanceurs d'alerte (c'est-à-dire des systèmes tangibles et des lignes directrices permettant aux lanceurs d'alerte de signaler les abus) dans la sphère du ministère de la Justice est une réponse directe aux cas antérieurs de faute au sein des autorités publiques chargées de l'application des lois. Plus particulièrement, le soi-disant «cas du Tibet» en 2012 a été témoin de l'obstruction à une manifestation de citoyens devant des responsables chinois sur la base d'ordres illégitimes de la police. Bien qu'ils aient connaissance d'une telle inconduite, de nombreux policiers ont hésité à faire part de leurs observations à la direction jusqu'à plusieurs années après l'incident. (31) En outre, la culture de travail danoise se caractérise par un niveau élevé de confidentialité et le principe du devoir de loyauté des employés. Cependant, les employés du secteur public ont dû subir de longues procédures judiciaires dans les cas où ils ont violé la confidentialité dans le but de signaler des pratiques inacceptables. (32)

L'introduction de programmes d'alerte au sein du ministère de la Justice est un ajout remarquable à la culture du travail public au Danemark. Le développement d'une culture de dénonciation appropriée au sein du ministère de la Justice pourrait contribuer à réduire les cas de corruption tout en contribuant à la sécurité juridique et au bien-être des travailleurs. La société civile danoise a salué l'introduction de systèmes de dénonciation comme moyen de mieux garantir la sécurité et les droits fondamentaux des employés grâce à des canaux d'enquête sécurisés et anonymisés. Il existe cependant des inquiétudes concernant le manque de participation des employés à la conception des programmes, ainsi que la mesure dans laquelle les enquêtes potentielles seront menées par des acteurs indépendants. (33) En outre, selon un représentant de la société civile interrogé, l'ambition de l'engagement est limitée si l'on considère que le Danemark est déjà tenu de mettre en œuvre la directive de l'UE susmentionnée sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte. Le représentant a également souligné qu'il était important de faire connaître les programmes d'alerte par des efforts de diffusion et des séminaires pour illustrer leur légitimité en tant qu'outil de responsabilisation. (34)

Sur la base des discussions susmentionnées sur la mise en œuvre des dispositifs de dénonciation, le chercheur de l'IRM recommande au ministère de la Justice:

  • Donner à la société civile l'accès aux rapports annuels et la possibilité de les commenter;
  • Entreprendre des campagnes de sensibilisation plus larges pour les employés dans le but de garantir une perception constructive des dispositifs de dénonciation.
(26) Agence danoise pour la numérisation, «The Danish OGP National Action Plan 2019–2021», https://digst.dk/media/21659/ogp-nap-2019-2021-english.pdf
(27) Transparency International, Une chance vitale pour la protection des lanceurs d'alerte, https://www.transparency.org/en/blog/a-vital-chance-for-whistleblower-protection
(28) La directive s'applique aux entreprises de plus de 50 salariés et aux communes de plus de 10.000 2021 habitants. Conseil de l'Union européenne, "Bedre beskyttelse af whistleblowere: Nye EU-regler træder i kraft i XNUMX", https://www.consilium.europa.eu/da/press/press-releases/2019/10/07/better-protection-of-whistle-blowers-new-eu-wide-rules-to-kick-in-in-2021/
(29) Agence danoise pour la numérisation, «The Danish OGP National Action Plan 2019–2021», https://digst.dk/media/21659/ogp-nap-2019-2021-english.pdf
(30) Ministère de la justice, «Fælles retningslinjer for whistleblowerordningerne på Justitsministeriets område, 3 août 2020.
(31) «Rigspolitichef Åbner Whistleblowerordning til betjenet efter Tibet sag», 15 juin 2018, https://www.dr.dk/nyheder/politik/rigspolitichef-aabner-whistleblower-ordning-til-betjente-efter-tibet-sag
(32) Changement de direction, «Protection des lanceurs d'alerte au Danemark», 2018, https://www.changeofdirection.eu/assets/briefings/EU%20briefing%20paper%20-%20Denmark%20-%20english.pdf
(33) Association danoise des avocats et économistes, "Whistleblowerordninger på vej i hele staten", https://www.djoefbladet.dk/artikler/2019/2/whistleblowerordninger-p-aa--vej-i-hele-staten.aspx
(34) Entretien avec Marina Buch Kristensen, Transparency International Danemark, 24 avril 2020.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Denmark

Anonymous Whistleblower Portals for Justice System Employees (DK0070)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Denmark Action Plan 2019-2021

Action Plan Cycle:

Status:

Institutions

Lead Institution: The Danish Ministry of Justice

Support Institution(s): The unit responsible for the various whistle-blower schemes depends on the authority. - The Danish Ministry of Justice: The Digitisation Unit of the Concern - The State Prosecutor: The Danish Attorney General, the Data Pro-tection Unit - The Police: National Police of Denmark, Inspections and Controls Unit - The Danish Security and Intelligence Service: Legal Section - The prison service: The Management and Communication of the Concern – from the 1st of January 2020 The Legal Section of the Con-cern

Policy Areas

Anti Corruption and Integrity, Justice, Open Justice, Policing & Corrections, Whistleblower Protections

IRM Review

IRM Report: Denmark Results Report 2019-2022, Denmark Design Report 2019-2021

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Yes

Ambition (see definition): High

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

What is the social problem that the commitment will address?
A number of cases, such as the Tibet case, have led to considerations of what tools could be deployed to help bring to light information about criticisable situations within the authorities so they can be dealt with in an appropriate manner. Setting up whistle-blower schemes within the sphere of the Danish Ministry of Justice will increase the likelihood that information of this nature will be made public, thus contributing to-wards a culture of openness.

What does the commitment entail?
The commitment involves setting up whistle-blower schemes in the prosecutions service, the police, the Danish Security and Intelligence Service (PET), the prison service and the Ministry of Justice depart-ment. Employees of the authorities involved can use the schemes. The scheme can also be used by partners with whom the authorities are engaged in a more ongoing or formalised collaboration, and their employees. Information can be reported about serious issues that are of importance to how the authorities perform their tasks. As a rule, in-formation can be reported via an electronic whistle-blower portal, where it will also be possible to communicate with whistle-blowers who do not wish to reveal their identity.

How will the commitment contrib-ute towards solving the social problem?
The establishment of whistle-blower schemes, in which information can be reported without revealing your identity and where the authori-ties are also able to communicate with anonymous whistle-blowers to shed further light on the case, will make it more likely that employees or partners will express their concern about criticisable conduct within the authorities, without fearing negative consequences with regard to their employment. This will make it more likely that errors and omis-sions by the authorities will be discovered, thus raising standards in the services that the authorities provide.

Why is this commitment relevant to OGP values?
The whistle-blower schemes will make it more likely that employees and partners can report information about criticisable situations within the authorities, thus contributing to a culture characterised by trans-parency and openness. The commitment contributes towards increased public responsibility. Setting up the whistle-blower schemes will open a route whereby in-formation about criticisable situations within the authorities can be re-ported. It will increase the likelihood that errors and omissions will be discovered, thus raising standards in the services provided by the au-thorities.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

7. Whistleblower schemes within the Danish Ministry of Justice

Main Objective

"The commitment involves setting up whistleblower schemes in the prosecutions service, the police, the Danish Security and Intelligence Service (PET), the prison service and the Ministry of Justice department. Employees of the authorities involved can use the schemes. The scheme can also be used by partners with whom the authorities are engaged in a more ongoing or formalised collaboration, and their employees. Information can be reported about serious issues that are of importance to how the authorities perform their tasks. As a rule, information can be reported via an electronic whistleblower portal, where it will also be possible to communicate with whistleblowers who do not wish to reveal their identity." [26]

Milestones

  • Ongoing reporting with regard to the whistleblower schemes within the sphere of the Danish Ministry of Justice

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, please see Denmark's action plan at https://digst.dk/media/21659/ogp-nap-2019-2021-english.pdf, pp. 23-25.

IRM Design Report Assessment

Verifiable:

Yes

Relevant:

Access to Information, Public Accountability

Potential impact:

Moderate

Commitment Analysis
This commitment seeks to introduce whistleblower protection mechanisms within the sphere of the Danish Ministry of Justice. The commitment's objectives include protecting employees against negative consequences when raising legitimate concerns of mismanagement within the targeted authorities, through the use of anonymised reporting channels. Consequently, this is expected to lead to an increase in reporting of such cases and thus improve the services of public authorities. The commitment precedes EU's Directive on Whistleblowing, which entered into force on 16 December 2019 requiring all EU Member States, including Denmark, to transpose its provisions into their national legal and institutional systems by December 2021. [27] This will include mandatory whistleblower protection for private companies and public institutions, and will require employers to inform employees of the function and purpose of whistleblower mechanisms. [28] This commitment responds to a recommendation from the IRM Design Report for the 2017-2019 action plan. [29] However, it should be noted that this commitment in particular, only applies to authorities within the Ministry of Justice, and is not a general introduction of whistleblower schemes or legislation in Denmark, which is currently taking place outside the OGP framework.

The commitment is relevant to the OGP value of public accountability as it provides employees within the Ministry of Justice, including external parties, with anonymised channels to report on misconduct or corruption without facing any form of repercussion. Such channels will primarily be comprised of online portals within the responsible authorities that protect the identity of individuals who want to raise concerns. That agency will then undertake an initial analysis in accordance with the official guidelines and assess whether or not a case falls under the application of the whistleblower mechanism before an actual investigation can take place. [30] Furthermore, the commitment calls for annual reporting with regards to whistleblower schemes, which is relevant to the OGP value of access to information.

Prior to this commitment, whistleblower protection has only been mandatory in certain sectors, e.g. the financial sector. The introduction of whistleblower protection schemes (i.e. tangible systems and guidelines for whistleblowers to report abuse) within the sphere of the Ministry of Justice is a direct response to previous cases of misconduct within public law enforcement agencies. Most notably, the so-called 'Tibet case' in 2012 witnessed the obstruction of a citizen demonstration in front of Chinese officials based on illegitimate orders from the police. Despite knowing of such misconduct, many police officers were reluctant to report their observations to management until several years after the incident. [31] Additionally, Danish work culture is characterised by a high level of confidentiality and the principle of employees' duty of loyalty. However, employees in the public sector have had to undergo long court processes in cases where they have violated confidentiality for the sake of reporting unacceptable practice. [32]

The introduction of whistleblower schemes within the sphere of the Ministry of Justice is a noteworthy addition to the public work culture in Denmark. Developing a proper whistleblowing culture in the Ministry of Justice could help reduce cases of corruption while contributing to workers' legal safety and well-being. Danish civil society has welcomed the introduction of whistleblower schemes as a means to better ensure the safety and basic rights of employees through secure and anonymised investigation channels. There are concerns, however, around the lack of participation of employees in designing the schemes, as well as the extent to which potential investigations will be conducted by independent actors. [33] Furthermore, according to an interviewed civil society representative, the ambition of the commitment is limited when taking into consideration that Denmark is already required to implement the above-mentioned EU directive on whistleblower protection. The representative also emphasised that it is important to raise awareness of the whistleblowing schemes through dissemination efforts and seminars to illustrate their legitimacy as a tool for accountability. [34]

Based on the above-mentioned discussions on the implementation of whistleblower schemes, the IRM researcher recommends that the Ministry of Justice:

  • Give civil society access to annual reports and the opportunity to comment on them;
  • Undertake broader awareness-raising campaigns for employees with the purpose of ensuring constructive perceptions of whistleblower schemes.
[26] Danish Agency for Digitisation, "The Danish OGP National Action Plan 2019–2021," https://digst.dk/media/21659/ogp-nap-2019-2021-english.pdf
[27] Transparency International, A Vital Chance for Whistleblower Protection, https://www.transparency.org/en/blog/a-vital-chance-for-whistleblower-protection
[28] The Directive is applicable for companies with more than 50 staff members and municipalities with more than 10.000 inhabitants. Council of the European Union, "Bedre beskyttelse af whistleblowere: Nye EU-regler træder i kraft i 2021", https://www.consilium.europa.eu/da/press/press-releases/2019/10/07/better-protection-of-whistle-blowers-new-eu-wide-rules-to-kick-in-in-2021/
[29] Danish Agency for Digitisation, "The Danish OGP National Action Plan 2019–2021," https://digst.dk/media/21659/ogp-nap-2019-2021-english.pdf
[30] Ministry of Justice, "Fælles retningslinjer for whistleblowerordningerne på Justitsministeriets område, 3 August 2020.
[31] "Rigspolitichef Åbner Whistleblowerordning til betjenet efter Tibet sag", 15 June 2018, https://www.dr.dk/nyheder/politik/rigspolitichef-aabner-whistleblower-ordning-til-betjente-efter-tibet-sag
[33] Danish Association of Lawyers and Economists, "Whistleblowerordninger på vej i hele staten", https://www.djoefbladet.dk/artikler/2019/2/whistleblowerordninger-p-aa--vej-i-hele-staten.aspx
[34] Interview with Marina Buch Kristensen, Transparency International Denmark, 24 April 2020.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership