Ignorer la navigation
Estonie

Plans d'action des gouvernements nationaux et locaux (EE0051)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action estonien 2018-2020

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : le ministère des Finances

Institution(s) de soutien : Municipalités, Association des villes et municipalités rurales estoniennes, Académie de gouvernance en ligne

Domaines politiques

Engagements locaux, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport sur les résultats de transition de l'Estonie 2018-2020, Rapport sur le design en Estonie 2018-2020

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : aucune donnée IRM

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Développer des plans d'action et des activités de gouvernement ouvert dans les gouvernements locaux
Date de début et de fin de l'engagement
Septembre 2018 - Décembre 2020
Agence d’exécution / acteur principal Ministère des finances
Autres acteurs impliqués Acteurs d’État impliqués Municipalités
OSC, secteur privé, organisations multilatérales, groupes de travail Association des villes et municipalités rurales estoniennes, e-Governance Academy
Description de l'engagement
Quel est le problème public que l'engagement traitera? À la suite de la réforme administrative-territoriale de 2017, il existe en Estonie des gouvernements locaux de type 79, qui adhèrent pour la plupart aux principes de gouvernement ouvert (par exemple, publication d'informations sur leur site Web, conseils de jeunes, retransmissions de séances du conseil sur VOLIS, budgétisation inclusive). pas toujours réfléchir à leurs activités et les mettre en œuvre systématiquement. Certaines administrations locales n'engagent pas le public et les organisations non gouvernementales, d'autres ne publient pas suffisamment leurs activités, ne notifient pas, etc.

Dans le cadre du plan d'action 2016 – 2018 OGP, l'e-Governance Academy a aidé à élaborer un plan d'action pour un gouvernement ouvert dans deux administrations locales, Elva et Lääneranna, et a formulé des recommandations générales pour un gouvernement ouvert dans toutes les administrations locales. D'autres activités sont nécessaires pour présenter ces recommandations aux dirigeants locaux ainsi qu'aux citoyens et pour passer à l'action.
Quel est l'engagement? Soutenu par le Fonds social européen, le ministère des Finances organise un appel à propositions visant à renforcer les capacités de coopération et de leadership des gouvernements locaux, permettant notamment de solliciter un soutien pour la promotion d'un gouvernement ouvert; Les demandes peuvent être soumises par tous les gouvernements locaux, leurs associations, les organisations engagées dans d'autres domaines et les associations non gouvernementales qui souhaitent contribuer à la sensibilisation aux activités du gouvernement ouvert ou à sa mise en œuvre au niveau local.
Comment l'engagement contribuera-t-il à résoudre le problème public? La sensibilisation aux principes de gouvernement ouvert est accrue et le respect de ces principes garantit une participation plus efficace des citoyens et une meilleure disponibilité des informations relatives à la prise de décision.
À quelles valeurs d'OGP cet engagement est-il pertinent? Transparence
Participation civique
Informations supplémentaires Le budget exact et le nombre de projets dépendent des demandes présentées aux autorités locales et des résultats de l'évaluation des projets par rapport à d'autres projets. L'activité est financée à partir des mesures de l'axe prioritaire de la capacité administrative.
Étape de début d'activité: Date de fin:
Discuter des conditions de l'appel à propositions avec les parties prenantes. Septembre 2018 Septembre 2018
Annonce de l'appel à propositions. Octobre 2018 Décembre 2018
Au moins cinq gouvernements locaux ont élaboré leurs plans d'action pour un gouvernement ouvert ou mis en œuvre des activités visant à mieux faire connaître les principes du gouvernement ouvert et leur mise en œuvre. Décembre 2018 Décembre 2020

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

4. Développer des plans d'action et des activités de gouvernement ouvert dans les gouvernements locaux

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action (44):

«Soutenu par le Fonds social européen, le ministère des Finances organise un appel à propositions pour renforcer les capacités de coopération et de leadership des gouvernements locaux, permettant notamment de solliciter un soutien pour la promotion d'un gouvernement ouvert. Les demandes peuvent être soumises par tous les gouvernements locaux, leurs associations, les organisations engagées dans d'autres domaines et les associations non gouvernementales qui souhaitent contribuer à la sensibilisation aux activités du gouvernement ouvert ou à sa mise en œuvre au niveau local. "

Jalons:

4.1 Discuter des conditions de l'appel à propositions avec les parties prenantes

4.2 Annonce de l'appel à propositions

4.3 Au moins cinq gouvernements locaux ont élaboré leurs plans d'action pour un gouvernement ouvert ou mis en œuvre des activités visant à sensibiliser davantage aux principes de gouvernement ouvert et à leur mise en œuvre

Date de début: Septembre 2018

Date de fin: Décembre 2020

Contexte et objectifs

Cet engagement poursuit le travail du précédent plan d'action visant à combler les lacunes dans la mise en œuvre des principes de gouvernement ouvert dans les municipalités locales estoniennes. Selon l'énoncé du problème figurant dans le plan d'action, la plupart des municipalités adhèrent aux valeurs du gouvernement ouvert, mais leur approche de la mise en œuvre des principes de gouvernement ouvert n'est pas systématique, en particulier en offrant des possibilités d'accès public à l'information et à la participation des citoyens. Certaines mesures ont déjà été prises. Dans 2014-2016, l’e-Governance Academy a réalisé le projet “Open Government Partnership dans les municipalités locales » (45) où huit municipalités locales ont adopté un plan local pour la mise en œuvre des principes de gouvernement ouvert. Dans 2017, le gouvernement a finalisé une vaste réforme administrative-territoriale qui a réduit le nombre de gouvernements locaux de 213 à 79 et a affecté le travail de la plupart des municipalités. Immédiatement après la réforme, l'e-Governance Academy a mis en œuvre le projet pilote «Gouvernement ouvert dans les municipalités en fusion». (46) dans deux municipalités locales (Elva et Lääneranna) récemment fusionnées. À la suite d'un processus de collaboration, l'Académie a élaboré des recommandations sur mesure pour la mise en œuvre des principes de gouvernement ouvert dans les deux municipalités et des recommandations génériques pour les autres administrations locales. (47)

Krista Habakukk du Mouvement des villages estoniens Kodukant reconnaît que les municipalités nouvellement fusionnées après la réforme doivent mettre en place de nouvelles structures d'interaction et de collaboration avec les communautés locales et que beaucoup ont besoin d'un soutien pour mettre en place des pratiques de gouvernement ouvert. (48) Selon Kodukant, les communautés perçoivent le besoin de renforcer la position des «anciens du village» et des leaders de la communauté locale en tant que médiateurs entre la communauté et le gouvernement local. Les responsables locaux et les organisations de la société civile ont également besoin d'une formation systématique pour développer les compétences nécessaires à la participation et à la participation démocratiques. Selon Ott Kasuri de l'Association des villes et municipalités rurales estoniennes (AECM), les municipalités pourraient bénéficier d'un renforcement des capacités en matière de compétences de gestion et de collaboration, ainsi que d'un engagement communautaire et d'une communication ouverte avec les citoyens. (49)

Cet engagement s'appuie sur les résultats des projets précédents pour encourager davantage de municipalités à adopter des plans d'action pour un gouvernement ouvert. Selon Kaie Küngas du ministère des Finances, le principal objectif du gouvernement est de sensibiliser davantage les municipalités locales au gouvernement ouvert. (50) À cette fin, le ministère des Finances prévoit de financer l'élaboration de plans d'action pour les gouvernements locaux ouverts par le biais d'un appel à propositions du Fonds social européen (FSE). Les gouvernements locaux étant libres de développer le contenu de ces projets, la pertinence de l’engagement vis-à-vis des valeurs OGP ne sera révélée que lorsque les projets auront été choisis. Cependant, sur la base de projets similaires dans le plan d’action précédent, cet engagement peut être considéré comme potentiellement pertinent pour l’accès à l’information et la participation citoyenne. Ott Kasuri (AECM) estime que le financement de tels projets est une mesure de soutien indispensable pour les gouvernements locaux, qui contribue à amplifier les résultats des projets précédents et à promouvoir une culture de gouvernance ouverte. (51)

L'engagement comporte trois étapes vérifiables, qui consistent à discuter de l'appel à propositions avec les parties prenantes concernées, à l'annoncer et à mettre en œuvre des projets de gouvernement ouvert dans au moins cinq gouvernements locaux. Malgré cet objectif quantitatif, le plan d'action indique que le nombre exact de projets financés dépend du nombre de demandes soumises et des limites budgétaires. Selon Kaie Küngas, du ministère des Finances, l'interprétation concrète de ce jalon par le ministère est flexible. Outre les projets financés au titre de l'appel du FSE, elles comptent également les initiatives des municipalités locales visant à élaborer des plans d'action pour un gouvernement ouvert, ainsi que les activités de soutien du ministère. vers la cible. (52) À titre d'exemple, le ministère prévoit d'organiser une journée d'information sur le gouvernement ouvert à l'intention des municipalités avec l'e-Governance Academy de 2019.

Malgré sa pertinence, l'engagement ne répond qu'à une partie des besoins des municipalités locales. Il le fait à petite échelle en mettant en œuvre cinq projets, dont l'un peut inclure l'organisation d'un événement d'information pour les municipalités. Lors de l'élaboration du plan d'action, l'e-Governance Academy a proposé de financer au moins les projets 20. Toutefois, en raison des limites budgétaires et de l’incertitude quant au nombre de municipalités souhaitant mettre en œuvre des projets de gouvernement ouvert, le ministère a ramené ce nombre à cinq. (53) Bien que cet objectif ne soit pas particulièrement ambitieux, le ministère a pris les moyens de promouvoir largement les possibilités de financement du FSE auprès des administrations locales et de partager les bonnes pratiques existantes au-delà des municipalités qui ont mis en œuvre des projets d'administration ouverte. (54) Cela permet d'évaluer l'impact potentiel de cet engagement comme modéré au cas où les plans existants seraient suivis. Tout en finançant des projets individuels et en menant des informations, les événements sont une étape importante dans la réalisation des objectifs du gouvernement, mais pour avoir un impact majeur, il faudrait tout de même un ensemble d’activités plus systématiques et plus diversifiées à une échelle beaucoup plus grande.

Prochaines étapes

Les besoins et les lacunes identifiés par les parties prenantes, ainsi que les résultats positifs des projets pilotes du plan d’action précédent, indiquent la valeur et l’importance des engagements du PGO ciblant les municipalités locales. Par conséquent, le chercheur de l'IRM recommande au gouvernement de poursuivre cet engagement dans le prochain plan d'action et de concevoir un ensemble plus systématique d'activités avec des objectifs plus ambitieux. Au lieu de financer quelques projets dans des municipalités individuelles, le ministère des Finances pourrait associer l'AECM et des organisations de la société civile, telles que l'e-Governance Academy, Kodukant et le réseau des organisations estoniennes à but non lucratif (NENO), afin de développer conjointement un programme complet de promotion de la transparence gouvernementale et de la participation. la démocratie dans les municipalités locales. Le programme pourrait inclure diverses mesures, telles que:

  • Mener des activités de sensibilisation pour diffuser des informations sur les valeurs du gouvernement ouvert et Open Government Partnership, exemples de réussite existants (par exemple, municipalité d'Elva) et lignes directrices (par exemple, instructions pour la mise en œuvre de la budgétisation participative au niveau local, élaborées dans le cadre du plan d'action précédent de l'OGP) (55)).
  • Fournir un soutien financier continu aux municipalités pour l’élaboration de plans d’action locaux pour le gouvernement ouvert. Le ministère des Finances pourrait soutenir ces efforts en diffusant des informations sur des projets similaires antérieurs, afin que les nouveaux candidats puissent tirer parti des résultats. Le processus de développement du plan d'action collaboratif appliqué par e-Governance Academy dans les projets précédents semble être un modèle potentiellement utile à reproduire.
  • Fournir des conseils réguliers aux municipalités qui souhaitent construire des structures et des processus pour soutenir les valeurs du gouvernement ouvert.
  • Concevoir un programme de formation sur la participation et l'engagement démocratiques à l'intention des responsables des municipalités locales et des parties prenantes des OSC. Bien que le programme de formation en cours destiné aux fonctionnaires (engagement 2 de ce plan d'action) vise également les fonctionnaires des administrations locales, le gouvernement pourrait envisager d'élaborer un programme de formation spécialisé adapté aux besoins et aux particularités des processus de prise de décision au niveau local. Selon Krista Habakukk (Kodukant, Le Mouvement des villages), l'un des domaines cruciaux dans lequel il conviendrait de travailler devrait être l'instauration d'un climat de confiance entre les décideurs locaux et les communautés locales. (56) Des formations conjointes et une plate-forme pour discuter de manière constructive des problèmes locaux pourraient constituer un moyen d'accroître la confiance mutuelle.
  • Selon Habakukk, les anciens du village ont également souligné la nécessité d'un éventuel amendement législatif dans la loi sur l'organisation des collectivités locales afin de soutenir l'utilisation par les citoyens du droit d'initiative législative. La loi en vigueur autorise les résidents d'une municipalité à faire des propositions législatives au gouvernement local s'ils sont signés par au moins 1 pour cent des résidents de la municipalité. (57) Cependant, dans les nouvelles et grandes municipalités, les communautés plus petites et plus éloignées au sein de la municipalité peuvent avoir plus de difficultés à recueillir les signatures d'au moins 1 pour cent des habitants et peuvent donc être dans une position inégale pour utiliser cet instrument de démocratie.
  • Enfin, Ott Kasuri (AECM) note que le ministère des Finances et les collectivités locales pourraient également envisager de développer davantage les systèmes d’information KOVTP et VOLIS utilisés par de nombreuses municipalités pour interagir avec les citoyens, retransmettre les séances des assemblées locales, mettre en œuvre des processus de budgétisation participative, etc. . (58) Selon Kasuri, cela nécessite de résoudre la question du financement et de la propriété de ces systèmes.
(47) Ce projet a été mis en œuvre dans le cadre du plan d'action OGP 2016-2018 de l'Estonie. Le rapport de fin d’exercice IRM contient une discussion plus détaillée des résultats, http://live-ogp.pantheonsite.io/sites/default/files/Estonia_End-of-Term_Report_2016-2018_EN.pdf
(48) Entretien d'un chercheur de l'IRM avec Krista Habakukk (Kodukant, le mouvement villageois), 29 March 2019.
(49) Communication par courrier électronique d'un chercheur de l'IRM avec Ott Kasuri (Association des villes et municipalités rurales estoniennes), 29 March 2019.
(50) Entretien d'un chercheur de l'IRM avec Kaie Küngas (ministère des Finances), 28 March 2019.
(51) Communication par courrier électronique d'un chercheur de l'IRM avec Ott Kasuri.
(52) Entretien du chercheur IRM avec Kaie Küngas.
(53) Entretien d'un chercheur de l'IRM avec Liia Hänni (Académie de la gouvernance électronique), 27 March 2019.
(54) Le chercheur de l'IRM a obtenu ces informations de Kaie Küngas (ministère des Finances) lors de l'examen préalable à la publication de ce rapport.
(56) Entretien de Krista Habakukk avec un chercheur de l'IRM.
(57) Chapitre 4 de la loi sur l'organisation des collectivités locales, https://www.riigiteataja.ee/en/eli/ee/506112013013/consolide/current
(58) Communication par courrier électronique d'un chercheur de l'IRM avec Ott Kasuri.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

4. Plans d'action et activités de gouvernement ouvert dans les gouvernements locaux

Achèvement : terminé:

Pendant la période du plan d'action, le ministère des Finances a financé le développement de projets de gouvernement ouvert dans trois municipalités locales (Põlva, Valga et Rakvere vald) par le biais d'un appel à propositions ouvert financé par le Fonds social européen. (54) Huit propositions n'ont pas reçu de financement en raison d'une forte concurrence (seulement environ la moitié des propositions des municipalités ont été retenues). (55) Cela n'a pas atteint l'objectif du plan d'action de mettre en œuvre des projets liés au gouvernement ouvert dans au moins cinq municipalités. (56)

Pour atteindre l'objectif de cet engagement d'améliorer la sensibilisation des autorités locales au gouvernement ouvert, le ministère des Finances a organisé un séminaire pour les municipalités locales en juin 2019, partageant les informations et les meilleures pratiques des plans d'action OGP précédents. Des fonctionnaires de 20 municipalités ont participé au séminaire. (57)

Le gouvernement continuera de promouvoir les principes de gouvernement ouvert au niveau local dans le prochain plan d'action OGP. Le ministère des Finances organisera régulièrement des ateliers de gouvernement ouvert pour les municipalités locales (Engagement 3), tandis que le ministère de l'Intérieur proposera un programme de développement sur la co-création de politiques pour cinq municipalités locales dans le but de co-créer un modèle de travail pour les collectivités locales. engagement communautaire avec les citoyens (Engagement 4). (58)

(54) Informations sur le dispositif de financement et les projets financés en 2019 : https://www.rtk.ee/kohalik-ja-regionaalne-arendusvoimekus - koostoo-ja-teenuste-osutamine-2019 (les informations sur le concours 2018 ne sont plus disponibles en raison du transfert du Centre de services partagés de l'État sur un nouveau site Internet).
(55) Entretien avec Kaie Küngas (ministère des Finances), 20 avril 2021.
(57) Entretien avec Kaie Küngas (ministère des Finances), 20 avril 2021.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Estonia

National and Local Government Action Plans (EE0051)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Estonia Action Plan 2018-2020

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: The Ministry of Finance

Support Institution(s): Municipalities, The Association of Estonian Cities and Rural Municipalities, e-Governance Academy

Policy Areas

Public Service Delivery, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Estonia Design Report 2018-2020

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Developing open government action plans and activities in local governments
Commitment Start and End Date
September 2018 – December 2020
Lead implementing agency/actor The Ministry of Finance
Other Actors Involved State actors involved Municipalities
CSOs, private sector, multilaterals, working groups The Association of Estonian Cities and Rural Municipalities, e-Governance Academy
Commitment description
What is the public problem that the commitment will address? Following the 2017 administrative-territorial reform, there are 79 local governments in Estonia, most of which adhere to the principles of open government (e.g. publishing information on their web site, youth councils, broadcasts of council sittings on VOLIS, inclusive budgeting) but do not always comprehensively think through their activities and implement them systematically. Some local governments lack engagement of the public and non-governmental organisations, others do not publish their activities sufficiently, do not notify, etc.

In the framework of the 2016–2018 OGP Action Plan, the e-Governance Academy helped to develop an action plan for an open government in two joined local governments, Elva and Lääneranna, and prepared general recommendations for an open government in all local governments . Further activities are required to introduce these recommendations to local leaders as well as citizens and take action.
What is the commitment? Supported by the European Social Fund, the Ministry of Finance is organising a call for proposals to increase the cooperation and leadership capabilities of local governments, enabling, among other things, application for support for promoting an open government; applications can be submitted by all local governments, their associations, organisations engaged in other areas, and non-governmental associations that wish to contribute to raising awareness on activities of open government or its implementation on the local level.
How will the commitment contribute to solve the public problem? Awareness on the principles of open government is increased and following these principles ensures more efficient participation of citizens and better availability of information related to decision-forming.
Which OGP values is this commitment relevant to? Transparency
Civic participation
Additional information The exact budget and number of projects depends on the applications submitted to local government and outcomes of assessing the projects in comparison to other projects. The activity is funded from the administrative capacity priority axis measures.
Milestone Activity Start Date: End Date:
Discussing the conditions of the call for proposals with stakeholders. September 2018 September 2018
Announcing the call for proposal. October 2018 December 2018
At least five local governments have developed their open government action plans or implemented activities that increase awareness on the open government principles and their implementation. December 2018 December 2020

IRM Midterm Status Summary

4. Developing open government action plans and activities in local governments

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan [44]:

“Supported by the European Social Fund, the Ministry of Finance is organising a call for proposals to increase the cooperation and leadership capabilities of local governments, enabling, among other things, application for support for promoting an open government; applications can be submitted by all local governments, their associations, organisations engaged in other areas, and non-governmental associations that wish to contribute to raising awareness on activities of open government or its implementation on the local level.”

Milestones:

4.1 Discussing the conditions of the call for proposals with stakeholders

4.2 Announcing the call for proposal

4.3 At least five local governments have developed their open government action plans or implemented activities that increase awareness on the open government principles and their implementation

Start Date: September 2018

End Date: December 2020

Context and Objectives

This commitment carries on the previous action plan’s work in addressing the gaps in implementing open government principles in Estonian local municipalities. According to the problem statement in the action plan, most municipalities adhere to open government values but their approach to implementing open government principles is not systematic, in particular in providing opportunities for public access to information and citizen participation. Some steps have already been taken. In 2014-2016 the e-Governance Academy carried out the project “Open Government Partnership in Local Municipalities” [45] where eight local municipalities adopted a local plan for implementing open government principles. In 2017, the government finalized a large-scale administrative-territorial reform which reduced the number of local governments from 213 to 79 and affected the work of most municipalities. Immediately after the reform, the e-Governance Academy implemented the test project “Open Government in Merging Municipalities” [46] in two local municipalities (Elva and Lääneranna) that had recently gone through mergers. As a result of a collaborative process, the Academy developed tailored recommendations for implementing open government principles in the two municipalities and generic recommendations for other local governments. [47]

Krista Habakukk from the Estonian Village Movement Kodukant agrees that the newly-merged post-reform municipalities need to build new structures for interaction and collaboration with local communities and many need support in developing open government practices. [48] According to Kodukant, communities perceive a need for strengthening the position of “village elders” and local community leaders as mediators between the community and the local government. Both local officials and CSOs also need systematic training to develop skills for democratic involvement and participation. According to Ott Kasuri from the Association of Estonian Cities and Rural Municipalities (AECM), municipalities could benefit from capacity building in management and collaboration skills as well as community involvement and open communication with citizens. [49]

This commitment builds on the results of the previous projects to encourage more municipalities to adopt open government action plans. According to Kaie Küngas from the Ministry of Finance, the government’s main aim is to increase local municipalities’ awareness of open government. [50] To this end, the Ministry of Finance plans to fund the development of local open government action plans through a European Social Fund’s (ESF) call for proposals. As the local governments are free to develop the content of these projects, the relevance of the commitment to OGP values will only be revealed once the projects have been chosen. However, based on the focus of similar projects in the previous action plan, this commitment can be assessed as potentially relevant to access to information and civic participation. Ott Kasuri (AECM) believes that funding such projects is a much-needed support measure for local governments that helps scale up the results of previous projects and foster an open governance culture. [51]

The commitment has three verifiable milestones, which involve discussing the call for proposals with relevant stakeholders, announcing the call, and implementing open government projects in at least five local governments. Despite this quantitative target, the action plan states that the exact number of funded projects depends on the number of applications submitted and the budget limitations. According to Kaie Küngas from the Ministry of Finance, the ministry’s actual interpretation of this milestone is flexible – besides the projects funded under the ESF call, they also count local municipalities’ own initiatives of developing open government action plans as well as the ministry’s support activities towards the target. [52] As an example of the latter, the ministry plans to conduct an open government information day for municipalities with the e-Governance Academy in 2019.

Despite its relevance, the commitment only addresses part of local municipalities’ needs. It does so at a small scale by implementing five projects, out of which one may include carrying out an information event for municipalities. During the action plan development, the e-Governance Academy proposed to fund at least 20 projects. However, due to budget limitations and the uncertainty about the number of municipalities that would want to implement open government projects, the ministry reduced this to five. [53] Although this is not a particularly ambitious goal, the ministry has taken means to widely promote the ESF funding opportunity among local governments and share the existing good practices beyond the municipalities that have implemented open government projects. [54] This allows the potential impact of this commitment to be assessed as moderate in case the existing plans are followed through. While funding individual projects and conducting information, events are an important step towards the government’s objectives, achieving a major impact would still require a more systematic and diverse set of activities on a much larger scale.

Next steps

The needs and gaps that stakeholders identified and the positive results of the test projects of the previous action plan indicate the value and importance of OGP commitments targeted to local municipalities. Therefore, the IRM researcher recommends the government carry this commitment forward to the next action plan and design a more systematic set of activities with more ambitious goals. Instead of funding a few projects in individual municipalities, the Ministry of Finance could involve AECM and CSOs such as the e-Governance Academy, Kodukant and the Network of Estonian Nonprofit Organizations (NENO) to jointly develop a comprehensive program for advancing open government and participatory democracy in local municipalities. The program could include diverse measures, such as:

  • Conduct awareness-raising activities to disseminate information on open government values and Open Government Partnership, existing success stories (e.g. Elva municipality) and guidelines (e.g. instructions for implementing participatory budgeting at the local level developed as part of the previous OGP action plan [55]).
  • Provide continued financial support to municipalities for developing local open government action plans. The Ministry of Finance could support these efforts by disseminating information on previous similar projects, so that new applicants can learn from the results. The collaborative action plan development process that the e-Governance Academy applied in previous projects appears to be a potentially useful model to replicate.
  • Provide regular counselling to municipalities that are interested in building structures and processes to support open government values.
  • Design a training program on democratic participation and engagement targeted to local municipalities’ officials and CSO stakeholders. Although the ongoing training program for officials (Commitment 2 of this action plan) also targets local government officials, the government could consider developing a specialized training program that is tailored to the needs and particularities of decision-making processes at the local level. In the view of Krista Habakukk (Kodukant, The Village Movement), one of the crucial areas to work in should be trust-building between local-level decision-makers and local communities. [56] Joint trainings and a platform for constructively discussing local issues could be one way of helping increase mutual trust.
  • According to Habakukk, village elders have also raised the need for a potential legislative amendment in the Local Government Organization Act to support citizens’ use of the right to initiate legislation. The current law allows the residents of a municipality to make legislative proposals to the local government if signed by at least 1 percent of the municipality’s residents. [57] However, in the new and large municipalities, smaller and more remote communities within the municipality may find it more difficult to collect the signatures of at least 1 percent of residents and may thus be in an unequal position to use this democracy instrument.
  • Finally, Ott Kasuri (AECM) notes that the Ministry of Finance and local governments could also consider further developing the KOVTP and VOLIS information systems that many municipalities use to interact with citizens, broadcast local assemblies’ sittings, implement participatory budgeting processes, and so on. [58] According to Kasuri, this requires solving the question of funding and ownership of these systems.
[47] This project was implemented as part of Estonia’s OGP action plan 2016-2018. The IRM end-of-term report contains a more detailed discussion of the results, http://live-ogp.pantheonsite.io/sites/default/files/Estonia_End-of-Term_Report_2016-2018_EN.pdf
[48] IRM researcher’s interview with Krista Habakukk (Kodukant, the Village Movement), 29 March 2019.
[49] IRM researcher’s email communication with Ott Kasuri (Association of Estonian Cities and Rural Municipalities), 29 March 2019.
[50] IRM researcher’s interview with Kaie Küngas (Ministry of Finance), 28 March 2019.
[51] IRM researcher’s email communication with Ott Kasuri.
[52] IRM researcher’s interview with Kaie Küngas.
[53] IRM researcher’s interview with Liia Hänni (e-Governance Academy), 27 March 2019.
[54] The IRM researcher obtained this information from Kaie Küngas (Ministry of Finance) during the pre-publication review of this report.
[56] IRM researcher’s interview with Krista Habakukk.
[57] Chapter 4 of the Local Government Organization Act, https://www.riigiteataja.ee/en/eli/ee/506112013013/consolide/current
[58] IRM researcher’s email communication with Ott Kasuri.

Commitments

  1. Transparent and Inclusive Policy Making

    EE0048, 2018, E-Government

  2. Inclusive Policy-Making

    EE0049, 2018, Capacity Building

  3. Riigikogu Transparency

    EE0050, 2018, E-Government

  4. National and Local Government Action Plans

    EE0051, 2018, Public Service Delivery

  5. Presentation of Local Public Services

    EE0052, 2018, E-Government

  6. Participatiory Democracy Capacity-Building

    EE0053, 2018, Capacity Building

  7. e-Tax and Customs Board 2020

    EE0039, 2016, E-Government

  8. Reducing Bureaucracy and a Simpler State – the Zero Bureaucracy Project

    EE0040, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Implementation of the Principles of Open Governance at Local Level as a Result of the Administrative Reform

    EE0041, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. More Inclusive Policy-Making on a Central Government Level

    EE0042, 2016, E-Government

  11. More Open and Transparent Law-Making

    EE0043, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  12. Increase of the Engagement Capacity of State Authorities and Participation Capacity of Nongovernmental Organisations in Policy-Making

    EE0044, 2016, Capacity Building

  13. Intensify Participatory Budgeting on a Local Level

    EE0045, 2016, E-Government

  14. Increasing the Transparency of the Funding of Non-Governmental Organisations

    EE0046, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  15. Defining Participatory Democracy and Development of Digital Competence in School Education

    EE0047, 2016, Capacity Building

  16. Visualisation of the Policy Making Process

    EE0016, 2014, Public Participation

  17. Upgrading Participation Channels

    EE0017, 2014, E-Government

  18. Improving Government Website

    EE0018, 2014, E-Government

  19. Standard for Information Requests

    EE0019, 2014, E-Government

  20. Early Notice on Policy-Making Processes

    EE0020, 2014, Public Participation

  21. Participation in Early Stage Policy-Making

    EE0021, 2014, Public Participation

  22. Early Access to Tax Policy Decisions

    EE0022, 2014, Public Participation

  23. Better Feedback Mechanism

    EE0023, 2014, Public Participation

  24. Selecting and Funding Participation Projects

    EE0024, 2014, Civic Space

  25. Web Tool

    EE0025, 2014, E-Government

  26. Civil Servant Guidelines for Participation

    EE0026, 2014, Capacity Building

  27. Training Civil Society Organizations (CSOs)

    EE0027, 2014, Capacity Building

  28. Central Government Transactions

    EE0028, 2014, E-Government

  29. Local Authorities' Transactions with Private Entities

    EE0029, 2014, Civic Space

  30. Public Spending for Non-Profits

    EE0030, 2014, Civic Space

  31. Guidelines for Citizen Budgeting

    EE0031, 2014, Capacity Building

  32. Guidelines for Redesigning Public Services

    EE0032, 2014, E-Government

  33. Registry of Public Services

    EE0033, 2014, Open Data

  34. User-Centric Public Services

    EE0034, 2014, E-Government

  35. Access to e-Services for Non-Residents

    EE0035, 2014, Citizenship and Immigration

  36. Open Data Portal

    EE0036, 2014, E-Government

  37. Opening Data

    EE0037, 2014, Capacity Building

  38. Supporting Nongovernmental Open Data Use

    EE0038, 2014, Capacity Building

  39. Drawing up a Green Paper on Organisation of Public Services

    EE0001, 2012, Public Service Delivery

  40. Implementation of the Eesti.Ee Action Plan

    EE0002, 2012, E-Government

  41. Drawing up a Green Paper on Making Public Data Available in a Machine-Readable Form

    EE0003, 2012, E-Government

  42. Creating a Repository of Public Data

    EE0004, 2012, E-Government

  43. Launching Pilot Projects of Public Data Services Based on the Cloud Technology

    EE0005, 2012, E-Government

  44. Interactive Guidelines and Training in Implementation of the Good Practice of Public Engagement

    EE0006, 2012, Open Contracting and Procurement

  45. Launch of the Impact Assessment System

    EE0007, 2012, Legislation & Regulation

  46. Overview of Ministries’ Work Processes

    EE0008, 2012, Capacity Building

  47. Integration of Impact Assessment Into the Process of Public Engagement

    EE0009, 2012, Legislation & Regulation

  48. Creation of a Database of Declarations of Economic Interests

    EE0010, 2012, Conflicts of Interest

  49. Adjustment of the System of Funding Non-Profit Associations and Establishment of a Disclosure System

    EE0011, 2012, Private Sector

  50. Starred commitment Drawing up a Proposal for Drawing up an Anti-Corruption Strategy

    EE0012, 2012, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  51. Draft Anti-Corruption Act

    EE0013, 2012, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  52. Establishment of the Public Ethics Council

    EE0014, 2012, Conflicts of Interest

  53. Organisation of Ethics Training for Employees of Various Public Sector Organisations (Incl. Public Servants)

    EE0015, 2012, Capacity Building