Ignorer la navigation
France

Changement de culture (FR0024)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: France, Premier plan d'action, 2015-2017

Cycle du plan d'action: 2015

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère de la décentralisation et de la fonction publique; Ministère d'État pour la réforme de l'État et la simplification, rattaché au Premier ministre; Ecole Nationale d'Administration (ENA)

Institution (s) de soutien: NA

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin de période France 2015-2017, France Rapport d'avancement à mi-parcours 2015-2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable: non

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs du PGO: la participation citoyenne

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

ENJEUX Les agents publics doivent être les acteurs des changements rendus possibles par la révolution numérique, la politique d’open data et la politique de gouvernement ouvert.

CONTEXTE & OBJECTIF Actions visant à sensibiliser et à développer auprès des agents publics une initiation aux données et au numérique, telles que celles déjà mises en œuvre par Etalab (Vademecum sur l’ouverture et le partage de data32 publiques, des événements "Bonjour Data", des camps de données ouvertes…), par Le Secrétariat général à la modernisation de la gouvernance (SGMAP), par les ministères et par les autorités locales et régionales, doit être intensifié. Les écoles de la fonction publique se sont également engagées à promouvoir la diffusion de la culture d'ouverture, des données et de l'innovation en intégrant davantage de programmes de formation sur les questions et les données numériques.

ROADMAP
• Produire, conjointement avec la société civile, des modules de formation sur les données ouvertes, l'utilisation des données et le gouvernement ouvert, à l'intention des fonctionnaires
• Inclure davantage de modules sur l'utilisation des données et le gouvernement ouvert dans les programmes de formation initiale et continue proposés par les écoles de formation de la fonction publique nationales et régionales.
- Inclure ces modules dans les programmes de l'Ecole Nationale de l'Administration (ENA), de l'Ecole de la Modernisation de l'Etat (EME) et de toute autre école souhaitant soutenir ces programmes,
• Sensibiliser davantage les responsables de l’administration centrale aux questions numériques, et soutenir la mise en œuvre de projets de transformation numérique.
- Identifier les exigences, les pratiques, les difficultés et les désirs des responsables de l'administration centrale en ce qui concerne les enjeux de la transformation numérique pour la société et les politiques publiques dans leur champ d'action
- Organiser un premier séminaire à l’automne 2016, de sensibilisation, de formation et d’action sur les problèmes numériques qu’ils ont identifiés et qu’ils souhaitent aborder.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

21. Cultiver une culture d'ouverture, d'initiation aux données et aux technologies numériques

Texte d'engagement:

ROADMAP

1. Produire, conjointement avec la société civile, des modules de formation sur les données ouvertes, l'utilisation des données et le gouvernement ouvert, à l'intention des fonctionnaires

2. Inclure davantage de modules sur l'utilisation des données et le gouvernement ouvert dans les programmes de formation initiale et continue proposés par les écoles de formation de la fonction publique nationales et régionales

· Inclure ces modules dans les programmes de l'Ecole Nationale de l'Administration (ENA), de l'Ecole de la Modernisation de l'Etat (EME) et de toute autre école souhaitant soutenir ces programmes.

3. Sensibiliser davantage les responsables de l'administration centrale aux enjeux numériques et soutenir la mise en œuvre de projets de transformation numérique:

· Identifier les exigences, les pratiques, les difficultés et les désirs des responsables de l'administration centrale en ce qui concerne les enjeux de la transformation numérique pour la société et les politiques publiques dans leur champ d'action

· Mettre en place un premier séminaire à l’automne 2016, de sensibilisation, de formation et d’action sur les problèmes numériques qu’ils ont identifiés et qu’ils souhaitent aborder.

Note éditoriale: Ceci est une version partielle du texte d'engagement. Pour le texte de l'engagement complet, veuillez consulter le plan d'action national de la France: https://bit.ly/2MTYhsR.

Institutions responsables: Ministère de la décentralisation et de la fonction publique; Ministère d'État pour la réforme de l'État et la simplification, rattaché au Premier ministre; Ecole Nationale d'Administration (ENA)

Institution (s) de soutien: N/A

Date de début: Non Précisé 

Date de fin: Non Précisé

But de l'engagement

Cet engagement visait à accroître l'alphabétisation numérique des fonctionnaires, ainsi que des étudiants de la fonction publique qui sont des fonctionnaires potentiels. La culture numérique, définie comme un ensemble de compétences requises pour une pleine participation à la société numérique, est devenue une compétence essentielle du marché du travail et des citoyens en général. Il a été avancé que le secteur public et les élus en France avaient des lacunes importantes dans les connaissances en matière de culture numérique. Un article de Laure Belot, journaliste à Le Monde, a affirmé que même les élites politiques et sociales en France sont submergées par le numérique.[Note153: Laure Belot, «Les élites debordées par le numérique» (Le Monde, 6 avr. 2016). http://www.lemonde.fr/technologies/article/2013/12/26/les-elites-debordees-par-le-numerique_4340397_651865.html (accédé à 6 Oct. 2017).]Cet engagement visait à remédier à cette insuffisance en produisant des modules de formation sur les données ouvertes et le gouvernement ouvert pour les fonctionnaires et les fonctionnaires actuels, ainsi que des modules sur ces questions dans la formation initiale des futurs fonctionnaires et fonctionnaires.

Dans l’ensemble, les activités d’engagement se concentrent sur l’évolution des pratiques internes du gouvernement et sur le renforcement des attitudes positives à l’égard de la transparence des données et de l’information numérique, sans divulguer une quantité importante de nouvelles informations ni améliorer la qualité de ces informations. L’une des activités d’engagement comprend la participation de la société civile à la formation des fonctionnaires, ce qui est la participation. Cependant, il n'y a pas de description spécifique de ce que cela impliquerait. Ces activités constituent un premier pas essentiel vers l’amélioration de la culture d’accès à l’information, mais ne sont pas en elles-mêmes pertinentes pour l’accès à l’information car elles ne comprennent pas la publication de ressources ou de données.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

La réalisation de cet engagement a été limitée à mi-parcours. Au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre, plusieurs modules de formation ont été développés:

· le Conservatoire national des arts et métiers de Paris et de Bretagne a lancé un certificat de formation professionnelle d'un an, intitulé «Innovation nationale et données numériques», destiné aux fonctionnaires;

· Open Data France a lancé une formation avec Datactiv.ist[Note154: Disclaimer: Datactivi.st, l'organisation impliquée dans la formation des fonctionnaires locaux aux outils d'analyse statistique, a embauché la chercheuse IRM, Cecile LeGuen, chargée d'évaluer la mise en œuvre de la première année du plan d'action OGP. Cependant, alors que le chercheur suivait le module de formation, il n'était pas impliqué dans la conception de ce programme de formation.] appelé «Introduction à la science de la recherche et aux données» pour les fonctionnaires locaux; et

· La FING (Next-Internet Internet Foundation) a conçu le programme Infolab pour les secteurs public et privé.

La plupart de ces formations ont été développées par la société civile en partenariat avec des institutions publiques et ont attiré peu de fonctionnaires. Le gouvernement français n'a pas été le moteur des formations et n'a pas suffisamment annoncé les programmes. En outre, l'évaluation à mi-parcours a révélé que les formations étaient trop techniques et ciblaient des fonctionnaires qui possédaient déjà un bon sens des connaissances en matière de données plutôt qu'un public plus vaste et moins technique. Les formations destinées aux écoles de la fonction publique ont connu un plus grand succès. L'École nationale d'administration (ENA) a lancé un programme de formation continue intitulé «Ouvrir et partager des données publiques». À Sciences Po Paris, deux cours proposent aux étudiants de la fonction publique de se familiariser avec l'utilisation des données et le gouvernement ouvert.

Enfin, à l’Institut régional d’administration (IRA), les étudiants ont organisé un séminaire de deux jours sur la manière dont les technologies numériques peuvent transformer l’administration publique. Selon l'auto-évaluation, le gouvernement a organisé un séminaire 2016 à l'intention des directeurs des administrations centrales; le séminaire a discuté de l'innovation numérique et du gouvernement électronique, mais aucune information publique sur les décisions prises au cours de ce séminaire n'était disponible.

Fin de terme limitée

La réalisation de cet engagement est toujours considérée comme limitée en fin de mandat. Le gouvernement a lancé des initiatives de formation et de sensibilisation, mais celles-ci ont été entravées par un manque de soutien et de ressources de haut niveau.

Etalab travaille avec un réseau de correspondants de données ouvertes (et non de gouvernement ouvert) dans chaque ministère et organise des réunions mensuelles pour faciliter la communication et la collaboration au sein de ce groupe. Il existe également un réseau d’administrateurs de données ministériels pour les hauts fonctionnaires. Les parties prenantes notent que la sensibilisation et l'intérêt pour l'open data et le gouvernement ouvert ne sont pas égaux entre les ministères.[Note155: membre de Open Source Politics, communication personnelle avec le chercheur IRM, 31 oct. 2017; Ancien membre du cabinet du Premier ministre, communication personnelle avec le chercheur IRM, 6 Nov. 2017.] Etalab n'a toujours pas suffisamment de poids pour centraliser et diffuser efficacement les informations.[Note156: équipe Etalab, communication personnelle avec le chercheur IRM, 23 Oct. 2017.] et les parties prenantes ont reconnu que, malgré les efforts de l’équipe d’Etalab, la prise de conscience et la participation restent anecdotiques. L'un des problèmes identifiés par les parties prenantes est le manque général de soutien de haut niveau pour le sujet dans son ensemble ainsi que pour les activités des correspondants de données ouvertes dans chaque ministère.[Note157: Ancien membre du cabinet du Premier ministre, communication personnelle avec le chercheur IRM, 6 Nov. 2017.] L'équipe Etalab travaille actuellement sur un guide de données ouvertes destiné à former les administrateurs et à sensibiliser le public aux avantages de l'open data.

Etalab travaille avec des intermédiaires, tels que OpenData France, pour le compte de gouvernements locaux. OpenDataFrance a organisé une formation de formateurs à l'open data et à l'initiation aux données à Aix-en-Provence en septembre 2017 et à Valence en juillet 2017. Dix personnes sont devenues des formateurs après ces sessions. Des sessions supplémentaires seront organisées à Paris en octobre 2017.[Note158: OpenData France, OpenDataLocal: 1e promotion de formateurs (OpenData France, 27 Sept. 2017), http://www.opendatafrance.net/2017/09/27/opendatalocale-1ere-promotion-de-formateurs/ (accédé à 6 Oct. 2017).]

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Participation civique: n'a pas changé

Tel qu'écrit, cet engagement n'a pas été jugé en grande partie pertinent par rapport aux valeurs de l'OGP, dans la mesure où les activités ont été limitées à la réforme des procédures internes du gouvernement. Étant donné le manque de culture numérique et de sensibilisation au sein de l'administration, les activités liées à cet engagement ne sont pas totalement dénuées de pertinence.[Note159: Ancien membre du cabinet du Premier ministre, communication personnelle avec le chercheur IRM, 6 Nov. 2017.] Cependant, ils ne sont pas conformes aux normes OGP en ce qui concerne l'impact sur le gouvernement au-delà des activités internes. Le manque d'informations du public concernant les activités de haut niveau concernant les connaissances et la formation numériques rend difficile pour le chercheur en IRM de jauger l'achèvement de cette activité.

L’implication de la société civile dans la production de modules de formation aux données ouvertes a été un moyen possible de renforcer la participation civique. Cependant, comme indiqué dans le rapport IRM à mi-parcours, ces formations développées par la société civile ont attiré peu de fonctionnaires (le public cible) et, sur la base d'informations publiques, rien n'indique clairement que les formations ont conduit à un changement significatif des pratiques gouvernementales. En tant que tel, cet engagement n'a pas contribué à ouvrir le gouvernement en ce qui concerne la participation civique. Il convient de noter que le besoin de formation et de sensibilisation a été considéré comme central par un grand nombre de parties prenantes. Sarah Labelle, chercheuse au sein de l'équipe Etalab de 2016, a identifié le manque de connaissances sur les données ouvertes comme un obstacle important à l'ouverture du gouvernement en France.[Note160: Sarah Labelle, communication personnelle avec le chercheur IRM, 2 Nov. 2017.] OpenData France est arrivé à la même conclusion en ce qui concerne les gouvernements locaux.[Note161: OpenData France, Rapport sur les dispositifs d’accompagnement des collectivités locales et sur l’ouverture des données publiques (OpenData France, oct. 2016), https://cdn2.nextinpact.com/medias/rapport-odf-ct.pdf.]

Comme indiqué dans le rapport de mi-parcours, au début de cette période de mise en œuvre des engagements, la culture de l'ouverture, de la maîtrise des données ou du gouvernement ouvert n'était pas de notoriété publique pour la majorité des étudiants en affaires publiques. De tels modules de formation n'existaient tout simplement pas dans le programme des écoles d'administration de haut niveau et la création et la mise en œuvre d'une telle culture étaient considérées comme très bénéfiques et auraient un impact sur tous les niveaux de gouvernement. Cet engagement constitue une étape vers la maîtrise des données dans la fonction publique, qui à son tour est une condition préalable pour contribuer à un meilleur accès à l'information et à un gouvernement plus ouvert en général.

Reportés?

Cet engagement a été reporté dans le prochain plan d'action, mettant l'accent sur la désignation d'administrateurs de données dans tous les ministères et sur la création d'incubateurs de services numériques dans tous les ministères.


Engagements

  1. Transparence des services publics

    FR0030, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Transparence des marchés publics

    FR0031, 2018, Accès à l'information

  3. Transparence de l'aide au développement

    FR0032, 2018, Accès à l'information

  4. Développer les données ouvertes

    FR0033, 2018, Accès à l'information

  5. Politiques et administration améliorées des données

    FR0034, 2018, Accès à l'information

  6. Transparence des algorithmes publics

    FR0035, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  7. Open Data au niveau sous-national

    FR0036, 2018, Accès à l'information

  8. State AI Lab

    FR0037, 2018, Prise de décision automatisée

  9. Renforcement des capacités administratives

    FR0038, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Incubateurs de service public

    FR0039, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  11. Rationaliser les flux de données

    FR0040, 2018, Accès à l'information

  12. Open Etat Forum

    FR0041, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  13. Tableau de bord des procédures en ligne

    FR0042, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Sommet Govtech

    FR0043, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  15. Améliorer les mécanismes de consultation publique

    FR0044, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  16. Transparence internationale et participation citoyenne

    FR0045, 2018, Aide

  17. Participation publique au développement durable

    FR0046, 2018, Accès à l'information

  18. Science ouverte

    FR0047, 2018, Accès à l'information

  19. Participation citoyenne à la Cour des comptes

    FR0048, 2018, Accès à l'information

  20. Transparence des représentants d'intérêts

    FR0049, 2018, Accès à l'information

  21. Accès à l'information sur les agents publics

    FR0050, 2018, Accès à l'information

  22. Données ouvertes sur les autorités régionales et locales

    FR0001, 2015, Accès à l'information

  23. Publication en ligne des décisions et des rapports du conseil municipal

    FR0002, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  24. Publier des permis de construire en format Open Data

    FR0003, 2015, Accès à l'information

  25. Engagement étoilé Augmenter la transparence des marchés publics

    FR0004, 2015, Accès à l'information

  26. Améliorer la transparence de l'aide internationale au développement

    FR0005, 2015, Accès à l'information

  27. Accès ouvert aux évaluations des politiques publiques

    FR0006, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  28. Impliquer les citoyens dans les travaux des comptes

    FR0007, 2015, Accès à l'information

  29. Accès aux obligations de transparence des agents publics

    FR0008, 2015, Accès à l'information

  30. Engagement étoilé Beneficial ownership

    FR0009, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  31. Transparence dans les industries extractives

    FR0010, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  32. Transparence dans les négociations commerciales internationales

    FR0011, 2015, Accès à l'information

  33. Réparer mon quartier

    FR0012, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  34. Fix-It numérique

    FR0013, 2015, Accès à l'information

  35. Coproduire l'infrastructure de données avec la société civile

    FR0014, 2015, Accès à l'information

  36. Engagement étoilé Ressources juridiques ouvertes

    FR0015, 2015, Accès à l'information

  37. Mécanismes participatifs de réforme

    FR0016, 2015, Règlement ouvert

  38. Médiation et justice

    FR0017, 2015, Accès à la justice

  39. Engagement étoilé Ouvrir et diffuser des données

    FR0018, 2015, Accès à l'information

  40. Modèles de calcul ouverts et simulateurs

    FR0019, 2015, Accès à l'information

  41. Plateforme ouverte pour les ressources gouvernementales

    FR0020, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  42. Améliorer les services publics grâce au e-gouvernement et à l'interaction des utilisateurs

    FR0021, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  43. Habiliter la société civile à soutenir les écoles

    FR0022, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  44. Diversifier les recrutements au sein des institutions publiques

    FR0023, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  45. Changement de culture

    FR0024, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  46. Diffuser l'innovation publique

    FR0025, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  47. Engagement étoilé Protéger contre les conflits d'intérêts

    FR0026, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  48. Société civile et transparence dans la planification des conférences COP21

    FR0027, 2015, Environnement et climat

  49. Données ouvertes et climat / développement durable

    FR0028, 2015, Accès à l'information

  50. Collaborer avec la société civile sur le climat et le développement durable

    FR0029, 2015, Environnement et climat

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
France

Culture Change (FR0024)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: France, First Action Plan, 2015-17

Action Plan Cycle: 2015

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry for Decentralization and the Civil Service; Ministry of State for State Reform and Simplification, attached to the Prime Minister; Ecole Nationale d’Administration (ENA)

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Capacity Building

IRM Review

IRM Report: France End-of-Term Report 2015-2017, France Mid-Term Progress Report 2015-2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

STAKES Public agents must be the actors of the changes enabled by the digital revolution, the open data policy and the open government policy.

CONTEXT & AIM Actions to raise awareness and develop among public officials a data and digital literacy, such as those already implemented by Etalab (Vademecum on the opening and sharing of public data32, "Bonjour Data" events, open data camps…), by the Secretariat-General for Government Modernization (SGMAP), by ministries and by local and regional authorities, must be intensified. The civil service schools are also committed to promoting the spread of culture of openness, data and innovation, by incorporating more training programs on digital matters and data.

ROADMAP
• Produce, jointly with civil society, training modules on open data, the use of data and open government, targeting public officials
• Include more modules on the use of data and open government in initial and continuing training programs provided by national and regional civil service training schools
- Include these modules in the curricula of the Ecole Nationale de l’Administration (ENA), of the Ecole de la Modernisation de l’Etat (EME) and in any other schools that wish to support these programs,
• Increase awareness on digital issues for central administration managers and support the implementation of digital transformation projects
- Identify requirements, practices, difficulties and desires of central administration managers concerning digital transformation issues for society and public policies within their scope of action
- Set up a first seminar in Autumn 2016, for awareness-raising, training and action on digital issues they have identified and wish to address

IRM End of Term Status Summary

21. Grow a culture of openness, data literacy and digital technologies

Commitment Text:

ROADMAP

1. Produce, jointly with civil society, training modules on open data, the use of data and open government, targeting public officials

2. Include more modules on the use of data and open government in initial and continuing training programs provided by national and regional civil service training schools

· Include these modules in the curricula of the Ecole Nationale de l'Administration (ENA), of the Ecole de la Modernisation de l'Etat (EME) and in any other schools that wish to support these programs

3. Increase awareness on digital issues for central administration managers and support the implementation of digital transformation projects:

· Identify requirements, practices, difficulties and desires of central administration managers concerning digital transformation issues for society and public policies within their scope of action

· Set up a first seminar in Autumn 2016, for awareness-raising, training and action on digital issues they have identified and wish to address

Editorial Note: This is a partial version of the commitment text. For the full commitment text please see France's national action plan: https://bit.ly/2MTYhsR.

Responsible Institutions: Ministry for Decentralization and the Civil Service; Ministry of State for State Reform and Simplification, attached to the Prime Minister; Ecole Nationale d'Administration (ENA)

Supporting Institution(s): N/A

Start Date: Not Specified 

End Date: Not Specified

Commitment Aim

This commitment aimed to increase the digital literacy of public officials, as well as civil service students who are prospective public officials. Digital literacy, defined as a set of competencies required for full participation in the digital society, has become a core skill for the workforce and citizens in general. It has been argued that the public sector and elected officials in France have significant knowledge gaps in digital literacy. An article by Laure Belot, a journalist at Le Monde, claimed that even the political and social elite in France are overwhelmed by digital technology.[Note153: Laure Belot, “Les elites debordees par le numerique” (Le Monde, 6 Apr. 2016). http://www.lemonde.fr/technologies/article/2013/12/26/les-elites-debordees-par-le-numerique_4340397_651865.html (accessed 6 Oct. 2017).]This commitment aimed to address this insufficiency by producing training modules on open data and open government for current public officials and civil servants, as well as including modules on these issues in the initial training of future public officials and civil servants.

Overall, the commitment activities focus on changing internal government practices and reinforcing affirmative attitudes toward openness in data and digital information, and do not disclose a significant amount of new information or improve the quality of disclosed information. One of the commitment activities does include engaging civil society to train public officials, which is participation. However, there is no specific description of what this would entail. These activities are a critical first step toward improving the culture of access to information, but by itself they are not relevant to access to information because the activities do not include publishing resources or data.

Status

Midterm: Limited

Completion of this commitment was limited at the midterm. During the first year of implementation, several training modules were developed:

· the National Conservatory for Arts and Crafts in Paris and Bretagne launched a one-year vocational certificate, “National innovation and digital data,” for civil servants;

· Open Data France launched a training with Datactiv.ist[Note154: Disclaimer: Datactivi.st, the organization involved in training local civil servants on statistical analysis tools, hired the IRM researcher, Cecile LeGuen, responsible for assessing implementation of the first year of the OGP Action Plan. However, while the researcher attended the training module, the researcher was not involved in the design of this training program.] called “Introduction to R and Data Science” for local civil servants; and

· the Next-Generation Internet Foundation (FING) designed the Infolab program for the public and private sectors.

Most of these trainings were developed by civil society in partnership with public institutions and attracted few civil servants. The French government was not the driving force behind the trainings and did not sufficiently advertise the programs. In addition, the midterm assessment noted that the trainings were too technical and targeted civil servants who already had a good sense of data literacy rather than a broader, less technical audience. Trainings for civil service schools were more successful, with the National School of Administration (ENA) launching a continuing training program entitled “Ouvrir et partager des données publiques” (opening and sharing public goods). At Sciences Po Paris, two classes provide training to civil service students on the use of data and open government.

Lastly, at the Regional Institute of Administration (IRA), students organised a two-day seminar on how digital technologies can transform government administration. According to the self-assessment, the government held a 2016 seminar for directors of central administrations; the seminar discussed digital innovation and e-government but no public information on decisions made during this seminar was available.

End of Term Limited

Completion of this commitment is still considered limited at the end of term. The government began training and awareness-raising initiatives but these were hindered by a lack of high-level support and resources.

Etalab works with a network of open data (not open government) correspondents in each ministry and organises monthly meetings to facilitate communication and collaboration within this group. There is also a network of ministerial data administrators for higher level civil servants. Stakeholders note that the awareness and interest for open data and open government is not equal across ministries.[Note155: Member of Open Source Politics, personal communication with the IRM researcher, 31 Oct. 2017; Former member of the Prime Minister's cabinet, personal communication with the IRM researcher, 6 Nov. 2017.] Etalab still lacks sufficient leverage to centralise and spread information in an efficient manner[Note156: Etalab team, personal communication with the IRM researcher, 23 Oct. 2017.] and stakeholders recognised that despite the efforts of the Etalab team, awareness and uptake remain anecdotal. One of the problems identified by stakeholders is the general lack of high-level support for the topic overall as well as for the activities of the open data correspondents in each ministry.[Note157: Former member of the Prime Minister's cabinet, personal communication with the IRM researcher, 6 Nov. 2017.] The Etalab team is currently working on an open data guide to train administrators and raise awareness about the benefits of open data.

On the issue of data literacy, Etalab works with intermediaries, such as OpenData France, for local governments. OpenDataFrance organised a training of trainers on open data and data literacy in Aix-en-Provence in September 2017 and in Valence in July 2017. Ten people became trainers after these sessions. Additional sessions will be organised in Paris in October 2017.[Note158: OpenData France, OpenDataLocal: 1e promotion de formateurs (OpenData France, 27 Sept. 2017), http://www.opendatafrance.net/2017/09/27/opendatalocale-1ere-promotion-de-formateurs/ (accessed 6 Oct. 2017).]

Did It Open Government?

Civic Participation: Did Not Change

As written, this commitment was found not largely relevant to OGP values, since the activities were restricted to reforming internal government procedures. Given the lack of a digital culture and awareness within the administration, the activities of this commitment are not completely irrelevant.[Note159: Former member of the Prime Minister's cabinet, personal communication with the IRM researcher, 6 Nov. 2017.] However, they do not fit OGP standards for impacting government beyond internally-focused activities. The lack of public information regarding high-level activities concerning digital knowledge and training makes it difficult for the IRM researcher to gauge completion of this activity.

One potential avenue for increased civic participation was the involvement of civil society in producing open data training modules. However, as indicated in the midterm IRM report, these trainings developed by civil society attracted few civil servants (the target audience) and based on public information, there is no clear evidence of the trainings leading to any significant change in government practices. As such, this commitment did not contribute to opening government with respect to civic participation. It should be noted that the need for training and awareness-raising was seen as central by a large number of stakeholders. Sarah Labelle, a scholar on the Etalab team in 2016, identified insufficient knowledge about open data as an important obstacle to opening government in France.[Note160: Sarah Labelle, personal communication with the IRM researcher, 2 Nov. 2017.] OpenData France came to the same conclusion regarding local governments.[Note161: OpenData France, Rapport sur les dispositifs d'accompagnement des collectivites locales a l'ouverture des donnees publiques (OpenData France, Oct. 2016), https://cdn2.nextinpact.com/medias/rapport-odf-ct.pdf.]

As noted in the midterm report, at the start of this commitment implementation period, the culture of openness, data literacy, or open government was not common knowledge for the majority of students of public affairs. Such training modules simply did not exist in the curriculum of high-ranking administration schools and the creation and implementation of such a culture was seen as highly beneficial and would impact all levels of government. This commitment constitutes a step towards data literacy in the civil service, which in turn is a pre-requisite for contributing to better access to information and a more open government in general.

Carried Forward?

This commitment was carried over to the next action plan, with a focus on the designation of data administrators in all ministries and on the creation of digital service incubators in all ministries.


France's Commitments

  1. Transparency of Public Services

    FR0030, 2018, E-Government

  2. Transparency of Public Procurement

    FR0031, 2018, E-Government

  3. Transparency of Development Aid

    FR0032, 2018, Aid

  4. Expand open data

    FR0033, 2018, E-Government

  5. Improved data policies and administration

    FR0034, 2018, Capacity Building

  6. Transparency of Public Algorithms

    FR0035, 2018, E-Government

  7. Open data at sub-national level

    FR0036, 2018, Capacity Building

  8. State AI lab

    FR0037, 2018, Capacity Building

  9. Administrative capacity-building

    FR0038, 2018, Capacity Building

  10. Public Service Incubators

    FR0039, 2018, Capacity Building

  11. Streamline data flows

    FR0040, 2018, E-Government

  12. Open Etat forum

    FR0041, 2018, E-Government

  13. Online procedures dashboard

    FR0042, 2018, E-Government

  14. GovTech summit

    FR0043, 2018, Capacity Building

  15. Imrove public consultation mechanisms

    FR0044, 2018, E-Government

  16. International transparency and citizen participation

    FR0045, 2018, Aid

  17. Public pariticipation in sustainable development

    FR0046, 2018, Capacity Building

  18. Open Science

    FR0047, 2018, E-Government

  19. Citizen involvement in Cour des Comptes

    FR0048, 2018, Capacity Building

  20. Private sector transparency

    FR0049, 2018, Asset Disclosure

  21. Access to information on public officials

    FR0050, 2018, Asset Disclosure

  22. Open Regional and Local Authorities' Data

    FR0001, 2015, Fiscal Transparency

  23. Publish municipal council decisions and reports online

    FR0002, 2015, E-Government

  24. Publish building permits in open data format

    FR0003, 2015, Open Data

  25. Starred commitment Increase Transparency in Public Procurement

    FR0004, 2015, Open Contracting and Procurement

  26. Improve Transparency in International Development Aid

    FR0005, 2015, Aid

  27. Open Access to Public Policy Evaluations

    FR0006, 2015, E-Government

  28. Involve Citizens in Cour des Comptes Work

    FR0007, 2015, Fiscal Transparency

  29. Access to Public Officials Transparency Obligations

    FR0008, 2015, E-Government

  30. Starred commitment Beneficial Ownership

    FR0009, 2015, Beneficial Ownership

  31. Transparency in Extractive Industries

    FR0010, 2015, Extractive Industries

  32. Transparency in International Trade Commercial Negotiations

    FR0011, 2015, Labor

  33. Fix My Neighborhood

    FR0012, 2015, E-Government

  34. Digital Fix-it

    FR0013, 2015, Open Data

  35. Co-produce Data Infrastructure with Civil Society

    FR0014, 2015, Open Data

  36. Starred commitment Open Legal Resources

    FR0015, 2015, Legislation & Regulation

  37. Reform Participatory Mechanisms

    FR0016, 2015, Public Participation

  38. Mediation and Justice

    FR0017, 2015, Judiciary

  39. Starred commitment Open and Circulate Data

    FR0018, 2015, Land & Spatial Planning

  40. Open Calculation Models and Simulators

    FR0019, 2015, Open Data

  41. Open Platform for Government Resources

    FR0020, 2015, E-Government

  42. Improve Public Services through E-Government and User Interaction

    FR0021, 2015, E-Government

  43. Empower Civil Society to Support Schools

    FR0022, 2015, E-Government

  44. Diversify Recruitment within Public Institutions

    FR0023, 2015, Capacity Building

  45. Culture Change

    FR0024, 2015, Capacity Building

  46. Spread Public Innovation

    FR0025, 2015, Capacity Building

  47. Starred commitment Protect Against Conflicts of Interest

    FR0026, 2015, Conflicts of Interest

  48. Civil Society & Transparency in COP21 Conference Planning

    FR0027, 2015, Environment and Climate

  49. Open data and Climate/Sustainable Development

    FR0028, 2015, Open Data

  50. Collaborate with Civil Society on Climate and Sustainable Development

    FR0029, 2015, Environment and Climate