Ignorer la navigation
Serbie

Amélioration de la transparence proactive - Livret d’informations (RS0019)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Deuxième plan d'action national pour la Serbie, 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action : 2016

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution principale : MPALSG ; Commissaire à l'Information d'Importance Publique et à la Protection des Données Personnelles

Institution(s) de soutien : Commissaire à l'information d'importance publique et à la protection des données personnelles ; CRTA – Centre pour la recherche, la transparence et la responsabilité, Belgrade Open School (BOS), PNUD

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, E-gouvernement, Législation et réglementation, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Serbie: Rapport de fin de cycle 2016 – 2018, Rapport à mi-parcours pour la Serbie 2016-2018

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement:

Description

THÈME: Amélioration de l’accès à l’information d’importance publique; ENGAGEMENT 6: Améliorer la transparence proactive - Livret d’information; Statu quo ou problème abordé dans l'engagement: La loi sur le libre accès aux informations d'intérêt public, entrée en vigueur dans 2004, prévoit que la transparence du travail des organes de l'administration publique peut être réalisée de deux manières: proactive et réactive. La transparence proactive implique la publication en temps voulu des documents et la disponibilité d'informations compréhensibles pour les citoyens. Les brochures d'information sur le travail des pouvoirs publics et leur contenu sont définies par la loi sur le libre accès aux informations d'intérêt public et incluent les informations utilisées ou générées par les organismes de l'administration publique dans leurs travaux. Les dispositions actuellement en vigueur concernant la publication des brochures d’information (au format Word / PDF) et le système de mise à jour aboutissent à des données insuffisantes, rendent toute tentative de contrôle difficile et offrent des possibilités limitées de comparaison des informations, ce qui réduit la prise de conscience globale des citoyens problèmes. Les résultats d'une enquête menée par l'école ouverte de Belgrade au niveau de l'unité autonome locale ont montré qu'il manquait généralement dans les brochures d'information les informations les plus sensibles, notamment les informations relatives au budget, qui ont été observées dans 69% des cas. Seules 16% de l’ensemble des municipalités ont publié des informations sur les marchés publics, tandis que 11% a publié des informations sur les aides d’État octroyées et diverses formes de soutien financier aux entreprises publiques et autres. Environ la moitié des brochures d’informations sur les LSGU en Serbie (47%) ne contiennent pas d’informations sur, par exemple, documents et conditions nécessaires à l'exercice d'un droit à la sécurité sociale ou à la délivrance d'un certificat d'immatriculation au registre des naissances. Objectif principal: améliorer l’accès à l’information grâce à la mise en œuvre intégrale du principe de transparence proactive grâce à l’introduction d’une seule application permettant de saisir des données dans des brochures d’information des administrations publiques. Les amendements envisagés à la loi sur le libre accès aux informations d’importance publique, à savoir ses articles 39 et 3, qui définissent la notion d’organe de l’autorité publique et la notion d’organe gouvernemental au sens de la présente loi, à laquelle appartient une catégorie d’autorités fait référence à l'obligation de publier le livret d'information, ainsi que les modifications apportées aux instructions pour la préparation des livrets d'information, verront les informations contenues dans ces brochures reformatées dans le but d'ouvrir les données qui y sont contenues et d'améliorer la transparence proactive. De plus, l'harmonisation de ces deux documents inciterait l'administration à tous les niveaux à ouvrir les données conformément à «Open Data Readiness Assessment» publié en décembre 2015. Brève description de l'engagement (limite de caractères 140): Les modifications envisagées de la loi sur le libre accès à l'information d'intérêt public, à savoir ses articles 39 et 3, qui définissent la notion d'organisme de l'autorité publique et celle d'un organisme gouvernemental le sens de cette loi, à laquelle une catégorie d'autorités fait référence à l'obligation de publier le livret d'information, ainsi que les modifications apportées aux instructions pour la préparation des livrets d'information, verra les informations contenues dans ces livrets d'information reformatées dans le but d'ouvrir les données la transparence proactive et l’élargissement du cercle des organes administratifs soumis à l’obligation légale de publier des brochures d’information. Cela nécessitera: 1) le développement d’un système informatique unique pour accéder, traiter et présenter le livret d’information; 2) Conception d’un segment d’une plate-forme en ligne qui servirait de brochure d’information, assortie d’une obligation pour les administrations publiques de publier des brochures d’information au format PDF. 3) Formation des employés des organismes publics à l’utilisation d’un système informatique unique 4) Pilotage de l’utilisation de l’application; 5) Promotion de l'application (système informatique unique) pour le public, le secteur civil, les entreprises et les médias. L'efficacité des amendements à l'article 39 de la loi sur le libre accès à l'information d'intérêt public serait différée jusqu'à la conception de la plate-forme en ligne. Défi du PGO abordé dans l’engagement: renforcer l’intégrité publique; Pertinence: le principe de transparence proactive est pleinement conforme aux principes de gouvernement ouvert, également proclamés par l’initiative OGP. La fourniture opportune d'informations dans un format ouvert améliorerait directement l'accessibilité des données, ce qui garantirait la transparence et la responsabilité dans le travail de l'administration publique et favoriserait la participation civique et son influence sur le travail de l'administration publique. La fourniture d'informations dans un format de données ouvert permettrait un traitement ultérieur de l'information et faciliterait le développement de services et de solutions numériques pour certains services sociaux ou changements sociaux (par exemple: développement d’une application Web ou mobile fournissant aux citoyens les informations nécessaires sur la documentation requise). Ambition: Afin d'accroître la participation civique, il faudra d'abord sensibiliser les citoyens, à la fois quantitativement et qualitativement. Dans ce contexte, le niveau de compréhensibilité des informations mises à la disposition des citoyens par l'administration publique devrait également être pris en compte. Ce n'est que si les citoyens comprennent pleinement les informations qui leur sont fournies de manière proactive que l'on peut considérer que les citoyens ont été correctement informés.
Si elle était adoptée, cette mesure garantirait les éléments suivants: - les administrations publiques pourraient saisir les données dans leurs brochures d'information de manière plus efficace et plus rapide; - le nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information serait réduit; - l'administration publique serait considérablement améliorée, car toutes les informations seraient disponibles dans une seule base de données centrale, à la fois pour les autres autorités et pour les citoyens; - Le système utilisé pour contrôler le respect de la loi sur le libre accès aux informations d’importance publique serait plus efficace si les procédures de contrôle étaient plus rapides et si les activités de contrôle étaient menées selon des normes de qualité plus élevées.- Les parties intéressées auraient un accès plus rapide aux informations requises, qu’ils pourraient télécharger en format ouvert, comparer, vérifier par recoupement et utiliser pour des analyses plus approfondies, la recherche et le développement de diverses applications. - La participation civique s'améliorerait sensiblement, de même que le rôle de gardien des médias et le contrôle exercé par les citoyens sur le travail des organes de l'administration publique.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Pour plus de détails sur l'engagement, veuillez consulter Serbie Rapport à mi-parcours 2016-2018 (Année 1).

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

6. Livret d'information sur l'ouverture

But de l'engagement:

Pour renforcer la transparence proactive, cet engagement visait à obliger les institutions publiques à publier des informations cohérentes, complètes et régulièrement mises à jour sur leurs travaux. Ces informations devaient figurer dans un document appelé livret d’information. Afin de normaliser la qualité des informations au sein de l'administration, le gouvernement s'est engagé à faire en sorte que les brochures soient disponibles dans des formats conviviaux et ouverts, facilitant leur recherche, leur traitement et leur réutilisation. En substance, l’engagement comprenait les étapes suivantes: 1) modifiant la loi sur le libre accès aux informations d’importance publique; 2) édictant des instructions pour le développement et la publication des brochures d’information; 3) développer une application en ligne permettant d’accéder, de traiter et de présenter les brochures; 4) formation des employés de l’État à l’utilisation de l’application; 5) pilotant l’application; 6) pour promouvoir l'application auprès du public, de la société civile, des entreprises et des médias.

Statut

À mi-parcours: limité

L’achèvement de cet engagement a été limité à mi-parcours, principalement en raison de l’absence de modification de la loi sur le libre accès aux informations d’importance publique dans les délais impartis. Le gouvernement préparait toujours les amendements à mi-parcours et la société civile était exclue du processus de rédaction. Le manque de progrès a nui au travail sur les instructions du gouvernement pour le développement et la publication des brochures d'information.

D'autres activités se sont déplacées plus loin. L'application a été conçue et pilotée et les fonctionnaires ont été formés. En collaboration avec le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD), le MPALSG a testé l'application dans dix unités d'administration locale, contribuant ainsi à sensibiliser et à renforcer les capacités des fonctionnaires au niveau local. Les projets pilotes ont également permis d’identifier les problèmes potentiels liés à l’application et d’apporter des ajustements. Les représentants du gouvernement et de la société civile ont estimé que les progrès du processus pilote étaient lisses, même si les autorités de deux grandes villes, Novi Sad et Niá¡, ont refusé de participer.

Fin du mandat: limité

La mise en œuvre de cet engagement est restée limitée en fin de mandat car l'étape cruciale, à savoir la modification de la loi sur le libre accès à l'information, n'avait pas été complétée. Les amendements étaient censés créer un portail Web unique pour les brochures électroniques, obliger les organismes publics à publier des données dans des formats ouverts et mettre à jour les jeux de données au plus tard 15 en cas de modification. Cela a rendu la production des livrets électroniques subordonnée à l'adoption des modifications. Selon le plan d'action et le chapitre 2016 des négociations d'adhésion à l'Union européenne, le délai d'adoption de la législation devait être le dernier trimestre de 23, ce qui signifie que le processus a été retardé de près de deux ans.

La raison du retard est en partie liée à la réaction négative du public à l’égard des modifications proposées. Le Commissaire à l'information d'intérêt public et les diverses organisations de la société civile ont exprimé leur ferme opposition à certains des changements proposés, affirmant qu'ils réduiraient les droits d'accès à l'information. (Les détails de la polémique sont expliqués en détail dans l'analyse de l'engagement 7, qui couvre notamment l'amendement de la loi.) Pour cette raison, le groupe de travail, dirigé par le MPALSG, a l'intention de reporter les amendements à un consensus entre le les parties prenantes ont été négociées. [Note32: Ivan Kovacevic, entretien avec un chercheur IRM, 13 September 2018.] Un représentant du PNUD et un représentant de Belgrade Open School, tous deux impliqués dans cet engagement, ont déclaré que la société civile n’avait aucune remarque à faire concernant les brochures d’information. Cependant, d'autres propositions d'amendements restant en litige, ils ne s'attendaient pas à ce que la nouvelle loi soit adoptée d'ici la fin de 2018. [Note33: Sanja Nasevski, PNUD, entretien avec un chercheur IRM, 7 September 2018; Vanja Dolapcev, école ouverte de Belgrade, entretien avec 24 August 2018, chercheur à l'IRM.] Le MPALSG a confirmé qu'il n'avait pas reçu de commentaires sur les mesures relatives aux brochures, mais qu'il pensait en revanche que le gouvernement approuverait le projet avant la fin de 2018. [Note34: Ivan Kovacevic, Entretien avec un chercheur IRM, 13 September 2018.]

La conception et le développement du logiciel pour les livrets électroniques font partie d'un projet séparé dirigé par le PNUD, en plus du processus OGP. Le projet reste en cours et le PNUD a son propre calendrier, indicateurs et ressources. L'application fonctionne comme un sous-domaine du site Web du commissaire; [Note35: accessible au public à https://informator.poverenik.rs/naslovna ] il est disponible en ligne, mais n'est pas encore utilisé officiellement. Les représentants du bureau du commissaire ont déclaré que leurs "mains sont liées" jusqu'à l'adoption de la loi, car ils ne peuvent pas effectuer de tâches qui ne leur sont pas légalement mandatées. [Note36: Stanojla Mandic et Slavoljupka Pavlovic, Commissariat à l'information du public et à la protection des données à caractère personnel, entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 19 September 2018.] Par ailleurs, ils ont exprimé leur ferme soutien au projet.

La mise à l'essai de l'application dans les administrations locales 10 est terminée, tandis que le PNUD travaille continuellement à son optimisation à mesure que de nouvelles données provenant de la pratique des autorités locales arrivent. Un représentant du PNUD a déclaré que la qualité des informations téléchargées variait et que le PNUD avait passé un accord avec le Commissaire à l’information d’intérêt public en vue de lancer le processus de pilotage avec cinq organes de l’administration centrale. [Note37: Sanja Nasevski, PNUD, entretien avec un chercheur IRM, 7 September 2018.] Au moment de la rédaction du présent document, le portail contenait des brochures électroniques de sept villes et municipalités présentant des informations pertinentes telles que leur structure organisationnelle, ainsi que des données sur le personnel, les revenus, les dépenses, les aides d'État et les marchés publics. En août, 2018, le bureau du commissaire a organisé deux sessions de formation à l’intention des agents publics, consacrées au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information et à la rédaction de brochures [Note38: les faits saillants sont disponibles à https://bit.ly/2Qn2bgm ] et l'introduction de l'application. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de base légale pour obliger les organismes publics à utiliser l'application, un représentant du MPALSG a mentionné des projets de promotion et invite les autorités à le faire volontairement. [Note39: Dragana Brajovic, MPALS, Entretien avec un chercheur IRM, 13 September 2018.]

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

En raison de la mise en œuvre limitée de cet engagement, la pratique gouvernementale visant à accroître l'accès à l'information est restée inchangée. L’ouverture du gouvernement à cet engagement dépend essentiellement de l’adoption de la loi sur le libre accès aux informations d’importance publique. Sans une approche cohérente et une technologie de soutien, les organismes publics continuent de publier des brochures qui ne sont pas conviviales et qui sont difficiles à rechercher et à réutiliser, car elles sont principalement publiées en format Word ou PDF. Jusqu'à présent, seuls sept organismes publics locaux ont publié leurs informations par le biais de l'application, un nombre trivial compte tenu du fait qu'il existe presque des organismes publics 3,802 obligés de publier des brochures d'information. [Note40: catalogue des organismes publics, commissaire à l’information d’importance publique, disponible en format ouvert à http://data.poverenik.rs/dataset/katalog ]

Reportés?

Les intervenants interrogés ont confirmé que cet engagement serait presque intégralement mis en œuvre, avec des activités modifiées et de nouveaux délais. [Note41: Dragana Brajovic et Ivan KovaceviÄ ‡, MPALSG, Entretien avec un chercheur d’IRM, 13, septembre 2018; Entretien de Sanja Nasevski, PNUD, avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 7 September 2018.]


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Serbia

Improving Proactive Transparency – Information Booklet (RS0019)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Serbia Second National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: MPALSG; Commissioner for Information of Public Importance and Personal Data Protection

Support Institution(s): Commissioner for Information of Public Importance and Personal Data Protection; CRTA – Centre for Research, Transparency and Accountability, Belgrade Open School (BOS), UNDP

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, E-Government, Legislation & Regulation, Public Participation, Records Management

IRM Review

IRM Report: Serbia End-of-Term Report 2016–2018, Serbia Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

THEME: Improving Access to Information of Public Importance; COMMITMENT 6: Improving proactive transparency – Information Booklet; Status quo or problem addressed by the commitment: The Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance, which came into force in 2004, provides that transparency in the work of public administration bodies can be achieved in two ways: proactively and reactively. Proactive transparency implies timely publishing of documents and availability of understandable information for citizens. Information booklets on the work of public authorities and their content are defined by the by the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance and they include information used or generated by public administration bodies in their work. The currently applicable arrangement for publishing the Information Booklets (in Word/PDF formats) and the updating system lead to insufficient data, make any attempt at oversight an arduous task and provide limited possibilities for comparison of information, which reduces citizens’ overall awareness of the issues. The results of a survey carried out by the Belgrade Open School at the local self-government unit level showed that information booklets generally tend to lack the most sensitive information, especially information about the budget, which was observed in 69% of all cases. Only 16% of all municipalities published information about public procurement, while 11% published information about awarded state aid and various forms of financial support to public and other enterprises. About a half of all information booklets of LSGUs in Serbia (47%) do not contain information about e.g. documents and requirements necessary to exercise a social security entitlement or about the issuance of a certificate of registration with the register of births. Main objective: Improved access to information with full implementation of the proactive transparency principle through introduction of a single application to enter data in Information Booklets of public administration bodies. The planned amendments to the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance, namely its Article 39 and Article 3 that defines the concept of a public authority body and the concept of a government body within the meaning of this Law, to which category of authorities refers obligation to publish the Information Booklet, as well as amendments to the Instructions on Preparation of Information Booklets, will see the information contained in those Information Booklets reformatted with the aim of opening the data contained therein and improving proactive transparency. In addition, harmonisation of these two documents would encourage the administration at all levels to open data in accordance with the “Open Data Readiness Assessment” published in December 2015. Brief description of commitment (140-character limit): The planned amendments to the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance, namely its Article 39 and Article 3 that defines the concept of a public authority body and the concept of a government body within the meaning of this Law, to which category of authorities refers obligation to publish the Information Booklet, as well as amendments to the Instructions on Preparation of Information Booklets, will see the information contained in those Information Booklets reformatted with the aim of opening the data contained therein, improving proactive transparency and expanding the circle of administration bodies subject to the legal requirement of publishing Information Booklets. This will entail: 1) Development of a single IT system to access, process and present the Information Booklet; 2) Designing a segment of an online platform that would serve as an Information Booklet, coupled with an obligation for public administration bodies to publish information booklets in PDF format. 3) Training of employees in government bodies for the use of a single IT system 4) Piloting the use of the application; 5) Promotion of the application (single IT system) for the public, civil sector, business sector and the media. Effectiveness of the amendments to Article 39 of the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance would be delayed until the online platform is designed. OGP challenge addressed by the commitment: Strengthening public integrity; Relevance: The proactive transparency principle is fully compliant with the open government principles, which are also proclaimed by the OGP initiative. Timely provision of information in an open format would directly improve data accessibility, which will ensure transparency and accountability in the work of public administration and foster civic participation and influence on the work of public administration. Provision of information in an open data format would enable subsequent processing of information and easier development of services and digital solutions for certain social services or social changes (e.g. development of a web or mobile application which would provide necessary information on required documentation to citizens). Ambition: In order to increase civic participation, it will first be necessary to raise citizens’ awareness, both in quantitative and in qualitative terms. In this context, the level of comprehensibility of information made available to citizens by the public administration should also be taken into account. Only if citizens fully comprehend information that is provided to them proactively can it be considered that citizens have been properly informed. Reformatting of the information booklets would entail changes in the data entry and updating arrangements, which in turn would have direct effects on citizens’ awareness and facilitate the work of civil servants and oversight of compliance with the Law.
If adopted, this measure would ensure the following: - Public administration bodies would be able to enter data in their Information Booklets in a more efficient and faster manner; - The number of freedom of information requests would be reduced; - Public administration would be significantly improved because all pieces of information would be available in a single central database, both for other authorities and for citizens; - The system used for overseeing compliance with the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance would be more efficient if the oversight procedures were more expedient and if the oversight activities were conducted to a higher standard of quality.- Interested parties would have easier and faster access to the required information, which they would be able to download in an open format, compare, cross-check and use for further analysis, research and development of various applications. - Civic participation would improve significantly, as would the watchdog role of the media and citizens’ oversight of the work of public administration bodies.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

For Commitment details, please see Serbia Mid-Term Report 2016-2018 (Year 1).

IRM End of Term Status Summary

6. Opening Information Booklet Data

Commitment Aim:

To strengthen proactive transparency, this commitment aimed to obligate public institutions to publish consistent, complete, and regularly updated information about their work. This information was to be contained in a document called the Information Booklet. To standardize the quality of information across the administration, the Government committed to ensuring the booklets were made available in user friendly, open formats that made them easier to search, process, and reuse. In essence, the commitment included the following milestones: 1) amending the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance; 2) enacting Instructions for Developing and Publishing the Information Booklets; 3) developing an online application for accessing, processing, and presenting the booklets; 4) training state employees to use the application; 5) piloting the application; 6) promoting the application to the public, civil society, businesses, and the media.

Status

Midterm: Limited

The completion of this commitment was limited by midterm, predominantly due to the failure to amend the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance within the set timeline. The Government was still drafting the amendments at the midterm and civil society was excluded from the drafting process. The lack of progress hindered work on the Government's Instructions for Developing and Publishing the Information Booklets.

Other activities did move further. The application was designed and piloted and civil servants were provided with training. Together with the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the MPALSG piloted the application in ten local government units, helping to raise awareness and build the capacity of civil servants at the local level. The pilots also helped to identify potential issues in the application and make adjustments. Government and civil society representatives both assessed progress in the piloting process as smooth, although authorities of two big cities, Novi Sad and Niš, refused to participate.

End-of-Term: Limited

Implementation of this commitment remained limited at the end of term because the crucial milestone, namely the amendment of the Law on Free Access to Information, had not been completed. Amendments were supposed to introduce a single web portal for e-booklets, oblige public bodies to publish data in open formats, and update datasets within 15 days of any change. This made producing the e-booklets contingent on passing the amendments. The Government deadline for passing the legislation was meant to be the last quarter of 2016, according to both the Action Plan as well as Chapter 23 in the European Union accession negotiations, meaning it has been delayed by almost two years.

Part of the reason for delay relates to a negative public reaction on the proposed amendments. The Commissioner for Information of Public Importance and the various CSOs voiced their strong opposition to some of the proposed changes, arguing that they would reduce access to information rights. (Details of the polemic are thoroughly explained in the analysis of the commitment 7, which covers the amendment of the Law in particular.) For this reason, the working group, led by the MPALSG, intends to postpone the amendments until a consensus between the stakeholders has been brokered. [Note32: Ivan Kovacevic, interview with IRM Researcher, 13 September 2018.] A UNDP representative and a representative of Belgrade Open School, both involved in this commitment, stated that civil society has no remarks on the part related to the Information Booklets. However, as other proposals for amendments remain in dispute, they did not expect that the new law would be adopted by the end of 2018. [Note33: Sanja Nasevski, UNDP, interview with IRM Researcher, 7 September 2018; Vanja Dolapcev, Belgrade Open School, interview with IRM Researcher, 24 August 2018.] MPALSG confirmed that they had not received comments on the measures related to the Booklets, and that they, on the other hand, believed that the Government would approve the draft by the end of 2018. [Note34: Ivan Kovacevic, Interview with IRM Researcher, 13 September 2018.]

Designing and developing of the software for e-Booklets has been part of a separate project led by the UNDP, in addition to the OGP process. The project remains ongoing and the UNDP has its own timeframe, indicators, and resources. The application functions as a sub-domain of the Commissioner's website; [Note35: Publicly accessible at https://informator.poverenik.rs/naslovna ] it is available online, but still not officially in use. Representatives of the office of the Commissioner stated that their 'hands are tied' until the law is adopted, because they cannot perform tasks which are not legally mandated to them. [Note36: Stanojla Mandic and Slavoljupka Pavlovic, Office of the Commissioner for Information of Public Importance and Personal Data Protection, Interview with IRM Researcher, 19 September 2018.] On the other hand, they expressed their strong support for the project.

The piloting of the application in 10 local governments is complete, while the UNDP is continuously working on its optimization as new inputs from the practice of local authorities arrive. A UNDP representative stated that the quality of the uploaded information varies, and that UNDP had made an agreement with the Commissioner for Information of Public Importance to start the piloting process with five central administration bodies. [Note37: Sanja Nasevski, UNDP, interview with IRM Researcher, 7 September 2018.] At the time of writing, the portal contained e-Booklets from seven cities and municipalities, presenting relevant information such as their organizational structure, as well as data on staff, income, expenditures, state aid, and public procurement. In August 2018, the Commissioner's office organized two training sessions for public officials, focusing on processing freedom of information requests, developing Information Booklets, [Note38: Highlights are available at https://bit.ly/2Qn2bgm ] and introducing the application. While there are no legal grounds for obligating public bodies to use the application, a MPALSG representative mentioned plans to promote and invite authorities to do so voluntarily. [Note39: Dragana Brajovic, MPALS, Interview with IRM Researcher, 13 September 2018.]

Did It Open Government?

Access to Information: Did Not Change

Due to the limited implementation of this commitment, government practice around increasing access to information has remained unchanged. Government openness in this commitment primarily depends on the adoption of the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance. Without a coherent approach and supporting technology, public bodies continue to publish booklets which are not user friendly and are difficult to search and reuse, as they are mainly published in Word or PDF format. Only seven local public bodies have published their information through the application so far, a trivial number considering that there are almost 3,802 public bodies obliged to issue information booklets. [Note40: Catalogue of public bodies, Commissioner for Information of Public Importance, available in open format at http://data.poverenik.rs/dataset/katalog ]

Carried Forward?

Interviewed stakeholders confirmed that this commitment would be carried forward almost completely, with modified activities and new deadlines. [Note41: Dragana Brajovic and Ivan Kovacević, MPALSG, Interview with IRM Researcher, 13 September 2018; Sanja Nasevski, UNDP, interview with IRM Researcher, 7 September 2018.]


Serbia's Commitments

  1. Develop a Model of Job Description or Part of Job Description of an Officer Responsible for Cooperation with Civil Society in Local Administration

    RS0014, 2016, Capacity Building

  2. Organise Trainings for Public Administration Officers in Connection with the Application of the Guidelines on Inclusion of Civil Society Organisations in the Process of Passing Regulations

    RS0015, 2016, Capacity Building

  3. Organise Trainings for CSO in Connection with Application of the Guidelines on Inclusion of Civil Society Organisations in the Process of Passing Regulations

    RS0016, 2016, Capacity Building

  4. Improve the System for Collecting Initiatives from Citizens and Businesses

    RS0017, 2016, Capacity Building

  5. Introducing Standards for Civic Participation in the Public Policy Management System

    RS0018, 2016, Capacity Building

  6. Improving Proactive Transparency – Information Booklet

    RS0019, 2016, Capacity Building

  7. Amendments to the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance

    RS0020, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  8. Development of an Open Data Portal

    RS0021, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Draft a Bylaw Based on the Guidelines for Evaluation of Websites

    RS0022, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. Improve the Institute of Public Hearing in the Drafting of Laws

    RS0023, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  11. Development of a Uniform Methodology for Planning, Monitoring and Performance Evaluation of Programmes and Projects Implemented by Civil Society Organisations and Monitoring the Spending of Allocated Funds

    RS0024, 2016, Capacity Building

  12. Amend the Regulation on Funds to Support Programmes or Missing Amount of Funds for Programmes of Public Interest Implemented by Associations

    RS0025, 2016, Capacity Building

  13. Enactment of a Law on Electronic Documents, Electronic Identification and Trusted Services in Electronic Business

    RS0026, 2016, Capacity Building

  14. Establish a Single Public Register of Administrative Procedures and Other Conditions for Pursuing a Business Activity

    RS0027, 2016, Capacity Building

  15. Transparency in Monitoring Budget Expenditures

    RS0001, 2014, Capacity Building

  16. Law on Financing Political Activities

    RS0002, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  17. Transparent Public Procurement Procedures

    RS0003, 2014, Open Contracting and Procurement

  18. Transparent Financing of Civil Society Organizations

    RS0004, 2014, Civic Space

  19. Extending and Clarifying Responsibilities of the Anti-Corruption Agency

    RS0005, 2014, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  20. Whistleblower Protection Trainings and Campaigns

    RS0006, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  21. Draft Law Regulating Inspections in Public Administration

    RS0007, 2014, Audits and Controls

  22. e-Governmental Portal Awareness and Mobile Application

    RS0008, 2014, E-Government

  23. Starred commitment Public Administration Website Harmonization and Amendments to the Law on Free Access to Information of Public Importance

    RS0009, 2014, E-Government

  24. New Technologies to Improve Citizen Services

    RS0010, 2014, E-Government

  25. Cooperation with Civil Society Organizations in Public Policymaking

    RS0011, 2014, Civic Space

  26. Citizen Participation in Local Government Affairs

    RS0012, 2014, Public Participation

  27. Civil Society Participation in Monitoring the Public Administration (PAR) Strategy

    RS0013, 2014, Audits and Controls