Ignorer la navigation
Sri Lanka

Améliorer l'accès du public aux stratégies préventives et curatives de lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique (LK0001)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national du Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action : 2016

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : unité MNT du ministère de la Santé et Bureau de l'éducation sanitaire, groupe de travail présidentiel pour la CKDu.

Institution(s) de soutien : Sarvodaya, Mouvement pour les droits des patients, Mouvement populaire pour la santé (société civile), Collège des médecins communautaires du Sri Lanka

Domaines politiques

Santé, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics, Eau et assainissement

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice au Sri Lanka 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours sur le Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : marginaux

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Une mystérieuse maladie rénale chronique (MRC) a tué des milliers de Sri Lankais. Au cours des années 20, la maladie a laissé plus de morts que 20,000 et a touché plus de 400,000; certains villages signalent que cela cause autant de décès par mois que 10. Pour ceux qui sont déjà affectés par cette maladie, les soins sont souvent inadéquats. Le pays ne dispose que de machines de dialyse 183, obligeant la plupart des villageois à recevoir moins que les trois traitements hebdomadaires recommandés. En l'absence d'informations fiables, la peur et les rumeurs poussent des milliers de personnes à rechercher des mesures désespérées, y compris de nombreuses mesures non scientifiques et fallacieuses. L'IRC devrait être considérée comme un problème de santé publique auquel s'appliqueraient les principes de la promotion de la santé, de la prévention, du dépistage précoce, du traitement et de la réadaptation. Le choix de la stratégie appropriée dépend de la base scientifique, de l'épidémiologie actuelle et de la plausibilité du changement de comportement, le cas échéant, de la faisabilité économique et de l'intérêt politique. Bien que le ministère de la santé, en sa qualité d’organisme en charge de la santé publique, puisse définir le plan stratégique de prévention, sa mise en œuvre dépendrait d’une meilleure compréhension du public et des efforts des autres secteurs pertinents non liés à la santé. Un plan stratégique de prévention n'a pas encore été élaboré, bien que certaines mesures aient été prises en fonction des points forts du plaidoyer individuel. Ces interventions ont été menées sous forme d'approches intersectorielles liées à la réglementation des pesticides, des engrais et à la fourniture d'eau salubre. Faire participer le public aiderait les décideurs à consolider et à mettre en œuvre des stratégies de prévention plus efficaces pour réduire l’apparition de MRC. L’autre préoccupation pressante du ministère de la Santé a été d’élargir les services de dialyse aux personnes atteintes de MRC. Il n'y a aucune information fiable disponible pour les personnes touchées et les citoyens en général sur la disponibilité des appareils de dialyse et des médicaments dans les hôpitaux publics. Questions à traiter: À l'heure actuelle, le public n'est pas au courant des stratégies de prévention, d'atténuation et de traitement de la MRC, y compris de l'accès aux informations sur les interventions médicales critiques. Objectif principal: Augmenter le niveau de compréhension du public en matière de prévention, d’atténuation et de lutte contre les maladies coronariennes et associer la société civile à l’élaboration du plan de prévention.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

1. Accès du public aux stratégies de lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique

Texte d'engagement:

Améliorer l'accès du public aux stratégies préventives et curatives de lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique (IRC)

[...]

Objectif principal:

Accroître la compréhension du public en matière de prévention, d’atténuation des effets et de lutte contre la maladie rénale chronique, et associer la société civile à l’élaboration du plan stratégique de prévention.

Jalons:

  • 1 Établir un forum multipartite pour élaborer un plan stratégique de prévention et recommander des modifications à la politique de santé.
  • 2 Publier des informations clés sur les mesures prises par le gouvernement pour lutter contre la MRC, y compris la liste des installations et des services médicaux offerts, le budget alloué à la MRC et les politiques clés sur le site Web du ministère et dans les médias.
  • 3 Mener des consultations publiques et des campagnes sur l’ensemble de l’île pour diffuser les informations clés (1.2 ci-dessus).
  • 4 Institutionnalisez les mécanismes de retour d’information dans les établissements médicaux proposant un traitement de la MRC pour obtenir des réponses sur l’accès, la qualité et la fiabilité des installations et des services.
  • 5 Publier des rapports semestriels sur les réactions des citoyens / utilisateurs sur l’accès, la qualité et la fiabilité des installations et des services offerts sur CKD.

Institution responsable: Ministère de la santé, de la nutrition et de la médecine indigène

Institutions de soutien: Unité de la maladie rénale chronique; Bureau d'éducation pour la santé; Groupe de travail présidentiel sur la CKDu

Date de début: Juillet 2016 ............   Date de fin: Juillet 2018

Note de la rédaction: Le texte de l'engagement a été abrégé pour des raisons de mise en forme. Pour le texte intégral de l'engagement, voir le Plan d'action national du Sri Lanka 2016 – 2018 à l'adresse http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR.

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait à sensibiliser davantage le public aux stratégies et aux installations préventives et curatives formelles relatives aux maladies rénales chroniques. (1) Le ministère de la Santé et les parties prenantes concernées ont estimé que cet engagement encouragerait le public à a) éviter les méthodes fictives ou non scientifiques de traitement de la MRC, b) adopter des mesures préventives appropriées et opportunes, et c) se présenter à un dépistage clinique régulier. À leur tour, les parties prenantes espéraient que cela réduirait la morbidité ou la mortalité associées.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

Cet engagement a été mené à bien à mi-parcours. De nombreuses parties prenantes ont pris des mesures pour publier des informations sur la lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique (MRC) (Milestone 1.2). Par exemple, le groupe de travail présidentiel sur la MRC a publié sur son site Web des informations limitées sur la prévention de la MK. (2)

Parallèlement, le ministère de la Santé a pris des mesures pour améliorer la transmission des messages de santé publique, y compris des informations sur les MRC (Milestone 1.3). Ces mesures, encouragées par l'engagement de l'OGP de diffuser des informations clés sur les MRC, comprenaient des références à la MRC dans les rapports épidémiologiques, (3) des séminaires pour les médias et une formation sur la communication pour la modification du comportement des médecins agréés. (4)

Le ministère de la Santé n'avait toutefois pas mis en place de forum multipartite (Milestone 1.1) pour élaborer le plan stratégique de prévention de la MRC, publié un budget et un inventaire concernant les services et installations CKD, ni de mécanismes institutionnels de retour d'information (Milestone 1.4) dans les établissements médicaux. offrant un traitement CKD.

Fin du mandat: Limité

La mise en œuvre des engagements a continué d'être limitée en fin de mandat.

Jalon 1.1: Selon le ministère de la Santé, un forum multipartite composé de représentants du gouvernement, de la société civile et d'instituts de recherche a été créé. (5) Comme l'a confirmé la société civile, ce forum s'est réuni à deux reprises lors de discussions principalement axées sur une meilleure compréhension de la question de la MRC. (6) Bien qu'aucun consensus n'ait été atteint sur la cause directe de l'IRC ou une action préventive unique, tant la société civile que le gouvernement ont noté que les parties prenantes participant au forum étaient convenues de la nécessité de mener davantage de recherches sur les causes induites par l'alimentation. (7) La société civile a toutefois constaté que les discussions n’avaient pas abouti à l’élaboration d’un plan stratégique de prévention. (8)

Jalon 1.2: le ministère de la Santé n'a publié aucune autre information sur la maladie rénale chronique jusqu'à la fin du mandat. Le ministère a toutefois pris quelques initiatives connexes, notamment la participation à des entrevues télévisées et l'organisation d'un événement destiné à diffuser des informations sur CKD en juin 2018. (9) Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport, les comptes nationaux de la santé de 2013 étaient le seul rapport sur le budget disponible sur le site Web du ministère. (10)

Jalon 1.3: Sarvodaya, homologue de la société civile du ministère de la Santé qui plaide pour plus d'informations sur CKD, a indiqué que le ministère avait mené certaines campagnes dans les médias et les médias sociaux, mais ne publiait pas régulièrement d'informations clés sur CKD. (11) Ces informations incluent les mesures prises par les gouvernements pour lutter contre les maladies coronariennes, telles que les listes d’installations et de services médicaux offerts, le budget alloué à ces maladies et les politiques clés. Le ministère a également admis qu'il n'avait mené aucune consultation publique. (12)

Jalons 1.4 – 1.5: Selon le ministère, des mécanismes de retour d’information étaient opérationnels par l’intermédiaire du réseau hospitalier et des comités de développement hospitalier (CDH). Cependant, Sarvodaya a noté que ces mécanismes n'étaient pas explicitement liés à la MRC. (13) Le ministère a ajouté que, bien que les utilisateurs de services aient eu la possibilité de faire des commentaires, ils n’étaient peut-être pas suffisamment dotés des moyens nécessaires. (14) Par conséquent, le ministère n'a pas publié de rapports sur les commentaires des utilisateurs sur l'accès, la qualité et la fiabilité des services et installations CKD.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal

Participation civique: marginale

Cet engagement a eu un effet limité sur l'accès à l'information et la participation civique et n'a donc conduit qu'à une amélioration marginale du gouvernement ouvert.

Au début du plan d'action, l'IRC était un grave problème de santé publique au Sri Lanka. Depuis 2010, un nombre croissant de cas n’avaient aucune cause identifiable. Ainsi, le public n’avait guère accès à des informations concluantes sur les mesures préventives ou curatives ou sur la disponibilité d’interventions médicales critiques. (15) À son tour, le manque d’informations cohérentes et accessibles a semé la confusion et a conduit beaucoup à rechercher des mesures extrêmes. (16) Il y avait aussi un nombre disproportionné d'établissements offrant un traitement adéquat ou efficace, et les efforts étaient sérieusement entravés par un manque de coordination entre les différentes parties prenantes. (17)

Les principaux acteurs du gouvernement et de la société civile ont noté que la mise en œuvre de cet engagement était limitée. (18) Le ministère et les parties prenantes, telles que le groupe de travail présidentiel sur la MRC, ont publié et diffusé des informations détenues par le gouvernement sur la MRC sur des sites Web, des dépliants et des affiches (voir Milestone 1.2). Toutefois, cette divulgation ne contenait que peu de détails concluants, voire aucun, et n’informait pas les solutions durables. (19) Par conséquent, ces initiatives n’ont pas contribué à une amélioration significative de l’accès à l’information. De même, bien qu’il ait été mis en place, le forum multipartite n’a pas contribué à la préparation du plan de prévention stratégique anticipé par les parties prenantes, ni n’a abouti à ce dernier. (20) Cela signifiait que le forum multipartite était incapable de recommander des modifications à la politique de santé. Cependant, le ministère de la Santé a reconnu que des parties auparavant en conflit se réunissaient maintenant pour débattre de la question, ce qui représentait en soi une amélioration notable, bien que marginale. (21)

Reportés?

Le deuxième plan d'action du Sri Lanka n'était pas encore publié au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport. Cependant, étant donné l’importance de sensibiliser les citoyens aux stratégies et aux installations de prévention de la MRC, le chercheur de l’IRM recommande que cet engagement soit reporté dans le prochain plan d’action.

Dans le rapport d’avancement à mi-parcours du rapport IRM 2016 – 2017, le chercheur du programme IRM a recommandé quelques mesures supplémentaires qui pourraient être prises pour renforcer davantage l’impact de cet engagement. Celles-ci incluent la publication de rapports semestriels sur les initiatives de recherche sur la CKD; désigner un point focal pour coordonner les initiatives visant à améliorer l'accès du public aux stratégies de prévention; utiliser divers portails de communication pour partager des informations authentiques sur la MRC; et suivi des rapports sur les commentaires des utilisateurs sur l'accès, la qualité et la fiabilité des installations et services CKD.

(1) La communauté médicale a souvent présenté l'IRC comme une complication du diabète ou de l'hypertension. Cependant, depuis 2010, un nombre croissant de cas signalés n’ont pas de cause identifiable (c.-à-d. Une maladie rénale chronique dont l’étiologie est inconnue, CKDu). On parle aussi parfois de maladie rénale chronique de causes non traditionnelles (CKDnT).

(2) «Groupe de travail présidentiel sur la prévention de la néphropathie chronique» (Groupe de travail présidentiel, 2017) http://www.kidney.presidentialtaskforce.gov.lk/?lang=en.

(3) Ministère de la Santé, de la Nutrition et de la Médecine autochtone, Rapport épidémiologique hebdomadaire, 11-17 February 2017, https://bit.ly/2GoboBc

(4) Susie Perera (Ministère de la santé, de la nutrition et de la médecine autochtone), Amila Chandrasiri (Ministère de la santé, de la nutrition et de la médecine autochtone), et Vinya Ariyaratne (Sarvodaya), interview accordée par 26 October 2017, chercheuse à IRM.

(5) Dr. Susie Perera (ministère de la Santé, de la Nutrition et de la Médecine autochtone), interview du chercheur IRM, 28 September 2018; Dr. Amila Chandrasiri (ministère de la Santé, de la Nutrition et de la Médecine autochtone), interview du chercheur IRM, 14 September 2018.

(6) Dr. Vinya Ariyaratne (Sarvodaya), interview du chercheur IRM, 27 September 2018.

(7) Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018; Ariyaratne, interview 27 septembre 2018.

(8) Ariyaratne, interview, 27 septembre 2018.

(9) Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018.

(10) Ministère de la santé, de la nutrition et de la médecine indigène, Sri Lanka National Health Accounts 2013 (2018) https://bit.ly/2QA9r8e.

(11) Ariyaratne, interview, 27 septembre 2018.

(12) Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; et Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018.

(13) Ariyaratne, interview, 27 septembre 2018.

(14) Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018.

(15) «Mystère médical: maladies rénales tuant des ouvriers agricoles au Sri Lanka» (CBS News, 19, janvier 2015) https://www.cbsnews.com/news/medical-mystery-rare-kidney-disease-killing-sri-lanka-farmers/.

(16) Par exemple, au début d’un symptôme d’une maladie élémentaire, les habitants des zones touchées craignent la contraction de la MRC et comptent sur des informations non étayées pour boire le moins d’eau possible dans leurs puits. Cette action conduit ensuite à une déshydratation chronique et à une nouvelle détérioration de leur état de santé - «Mystère médical: les travailleurs de la ferme tueurs de maladies rénales au Sri Lanka», CBS News, 19, janvier 2015, https://www.cbsnews.com/news/medical-mystery-rare-kidney-disease-killing-sri-lanka-farmers/.

(17) Ariyaratne, interview, 26 octobre 2017.

(18) Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018; Ariyaratne, interview, 27 septembre 2018.

(19) Dr Susie Perera et Dr Amila Chandrasiri, entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM.

(20) Ariyaratne, interview, 27 septembre 2018.

(21) Perera, interview, 28 September 2018.


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Sri Lanka

Improving Public Access to Preventive and Curative Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease (LK0001)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Health NCD unit and Health Education Bureau, Presidential Task force for CKDu.

Support Institution(s): Sarvodaya, Patient’s Rights Movement, People’s Health Movement (Civil Society), College of Community Physicians of Sri Lanka

Policy Areas

Health, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery, Records Management, Water and Sanitation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Sri Lanka End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Sri Lanka Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

A mysterious chronic kidney disease (CKD) has been killing thousands of Sri Lankans. In 20 years the disease has left more than 20,000 people dead and affected more than 400,000; some villages report it causes as many as 10 deaths a month. For those already affected by this disease, care is often inadequate. The country has just 183 dialysis machines, forcing most villagers to receive less than the three recommended weekly treatments. In the absence of reliable information, fear and rumors are driving thousands to seek desperate measures, including many which are unscientific and spurious. CKD should be viewed like any public health issue where health promotion, prevention, early detection, treatment and rehabilitation principles would apply. The selection of the appropriate strategy depends on the scientific basis, current epidemiology, and plausibility of behavior change where it applies, economic feasibility and political interest. Whilst the Ministry of health being the agency to take lead on Public health can identify the prevention strategic plan, its implementation would depend on greater understanding of the public and the efforts of other relevant non health sectors. A prevention strategic plan has not been developed although some measures have been taken based on strengths of individual advocacy. These interventions have been carried out as inter-sectoral approaches related to pesticide, fertilizer regulation and provision of safe water. Engaging the public would help decision makers to consolidate and implement more effective prevention strategies to reduce occurrence of CKD. The other pressing concern of the ministry of health has been to expand services for dialysis for those affected with CKD. There is no reliable information available to those affected and citizens at large on availability of dialysis machines and medicines in public hospitals. Issues to be Addressed: At the present the public is not aware of prevention, mitigation and coping strategies on CKD, including accessing information on critical medical interventions. Main Objective: Increase the level of understanding of public regarding prevention, mitigation and coping with CKD and engage civil society in developing the prevention plan

IRM End of Term Status Summary

1. Public Access to Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease

Commitment Text:

Improving Public Access to Preventive and Curative Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)

[…]

Main Objective:

Increase public understanding on prevention, mitigation and coping with CKD, and engage civil society in developing the prevention strategic plan.

Milestones:

  • 1 Establish a multi-stakeholder forum to draft prevention strategic plan and recommend changes to health policy.
  • 2 Publish key information related to government’s measures to combat CKD, including list of medical facilities and services being offered, budget allocated for CKD and key policies in ministry website and through media.
  • 3 Conduct island wide public consultations and campaigns to disseminate key information (1.2 above).
  • 4 Institutionalize feedback mechanisms in medical facilities offering treatment for CKD to elicit responses on access to, quality of and reliability of facilities and services.
  • 5 Publish semi-annual reports of citizen/user feedback on access, quality and reliability of facilities and services offered on CKD.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine

Supporting institutions: Chronic Kidney Disease Unit; Health Education Bureau; Presidential Task Force on CKDu

Start date: July 2016............   End date: July 2018

Editorial Note: The text of the commitment was abridged for formatting reasons. For full text of the commitment, see the Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016–2018 at http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR.

Commitment Aim:

This commitment aimed to increase public awareness of, and access to, formal preventive and curative strategies, and facilities, relating to chronic kidney disease (CKD). [1] The Ministry of Health and related stakeholders envisioned that the commitment would encourage the public to a) avoid spurious or unscientific methods of dealing with CKD, b) adopt timely and appropriate preventive measures, and c) present themselves for regular clinical screening. In turn, stakeholders hoped that this would reduce related morbidity or mortality.

Status

Midterm: Limited

This commitment achieved limited completion by the midterm. Many stakeholders took steps toward publishing information on combating chronic kidney disease (CKD) (Milestone 1.2). The Presidential Task Force on CKD, for instance, published limited information on the prevention of CKD on its website. [2]

Concurrently, the Ministry of Health took measures to improve transmission of public health messages, including information on CKD (Milestone 1.3). These measures, encouraged by the OGP commitment to disseminate key information on CKD, included references to CKD in epidemiological reports, [3] media seminars, and training on communication for behavioural modification for medical officers. [4]

The Ministry of Health had not, however, established a multistakeholder forum (Milestone 1.1) to draft the strategic plan for CKD prevention, published a budget and inventory pertaining to CKD services and facilities, or institutionalised public feedback mechanisms (Milestone 1.4) at medical facilities offering CKD treatment.

End of term: Limited

Commitment implementation continued to be limited at the end of term.

Milestone 1.1: According to the Ministry of Health, a multistakeholder forum was established comprising representatives from government, civil society, and research institutes. [5] As confirmed by civil society, this forum met twice with discussions primarily focusing on better understanding the issue of CKD. [6] Although no consensus was reached on the direct cause of CKD or a single, preventative course of action, both civil society and government noted that stakeholders participating in the forum agreed on the need for more research on diet-induced causes. [7] Civil society noticed, however, that the discussions did not lead to the development of a strategic prevention plan. [8]

Milestone 1.2: The Ministry of Health published no further information on CKD by the end of term. The ministry did, however, pursue a few related initiatives, including participation in television interviews and hosting an event to disseminate information on CKD in June 2018. [9] At the time of this report, the National Health Accounts of 2013 was the only budget report found on the ministry website. [10]

Milestone 1.3: Sarvodaya, the Ministry of Health’s civil society counterpart advocating for more information on CKD, noted that the ministry conducted some media and social media campaigns, but did not regularly publish key information on CKD. [11] This information includes government measures to combat CKD, such as lists of medical facilities and services being offered, budget allocated for CKD, and key policies. The ministry also conceded that it had not conducted any public consultations. [12]

Milestones 1.4–1.5: According to the ministry, feedback mechanisms were operational through the hospital network and hospital development committees (HDCs). However, Sarvodaya noted that these mechanisms were not explicitly linked to CKD. [13] The ministry added that although service users had the opportunity to provide feedback, they may not have been sufficiently empowered to do so. [14] The ministry did not, therefore, publish reports of user-feedback on access, quality, and reliability of CKD services and facilities.

Did It Open Government?

Access to Information: Marginal

Civic Participation: Marginal

This commitment had limited effect on access to information and civic participation, and thus only led to a marginal improvement in open government.

At the outset of the action plan, CKD was a serious public health issue in Sri Lanka. Since 2010, an increasing number of cases had no identifiable cause. Thus, the public was left with little access to conclusive information on preventive or curative measures, or on the availability of critical medical interventions. [15] In turn, the lack of coherent, accessible information fuelled confusion and led many to seek extreme measures. [16] There was also a disproportionate number of facilities to provide adequate or effective treatment, and efforts were severely hampered by a lack of coordination among the different stakeholders. [17]

Key government and civil society stakeholders noted that the implementation of this commitment was limited. [18] The ministry and related stakeholders, such as the Presidential Task Force on CKD, published and disseminated some government-held information pertaining to CKD through websites, leaflets, and wallcharts (see Milestone 1.2). However, this disclosure contained few, if any, conclusive details and did not inform sustainable solutions. [19] Therefore, these initiatives did not contribute to a significant improvement in access to information. Similarly, although established, the multistakeholder forum did not work toward, or result in, the preparation of the strategic prevention plan anticipated by stakeholders. [20] This meant that multistakeholder forum was unable to recommend changes to health policy. However, the Ministry of Health recognized that previously conflicting parties were now coming together to discuss the issue, and this represented a notable, albeit marginal, improvement in itself. [21]

Carried Forward?

Sri Lanka’s second action plan was not released by the time of this report. However, given the importance of citizens being made aware of preventive strategies and facilities on CKD, the IRM researcher recommends this commitment be carried forward to the next action plan.

In the 2016–2017 IRM midterm progress report, the IRM researcher recommended a few additional measures that could be taken to further enhance the impact of this commitment. These include publishing bi-annual reports on CKD research initiatives; appointing a focal point to coordinate initiatives to improve public access to preventive strategies; using diverse communication portals to share authentic information on CKD; and following-up on reports of user-feedback on access to, and the quality and reliability of, CKD facilities and services.

[1] The medical community has often presented CKD as a complication of diabetes or hypertension. However, since 2010, an increasing number of reported cases have had no identifiable cause (i.e., chronic kidney disease of unknown aetiology, CKDu). This is also sometimes referred to as Chronic Kidney Disease of non-Traditional causes (CKDnT).

[2] “Presidential Task Force on Chronic Kidney Disease Prevention” (Presidential Task Force, 2017) http://www.kidney.presidentialtaskforce.gov.lk/?lang=en.

[3] Ministry of Health, Nutrition, and Indigenous Medicine, Weekly Epidemiological Report, 11-17 February 2017, https://bit.ly/2GoboBc

[4] Dr. Susie Perera (Ministry of Health, Nutrition, and Indigenous Medicine), Dr. Amila Chandrasiri (Ministry of Health, Nutrition, and Indigenous Medicine), and Dr. Vinya Ariyaratne (Sarvodaya), interview by IRM researcher, 26 October 2017.

[5] Dr. Susie Perera (Ministry of Health, Nutrition, and Indigenous Medicine), interview by IRM researcher, 28 September 2018; Dr. Amila Chandrasiri (Ministry of Health, Nutrition, and Indigenous Medicine), interview by IRM researcher, 14 September 2018.

[6] Dr. Vinya Ariyaratne (Sarvodaya), interview by IRM researcher, 27 September 2018.

[7] Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018; Ariyaratne, interview 27 September 2018.

[8] Ariyaratne, interview, 27 September 2018.

[9] Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018.

[10] Ministry of Health, Nutrition & Indigenous Medicine, Sri Lanka National Health Accounts 2013 (2018) https://bit.ly/2QA9r8e.

[11] Ariyaratne, interview, 27 September 2018.

[12] Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; and Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018.

[13] Ariyaratne, interview, 27 September 2018.

[14] Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018.

[15] “Medical Mystery: Kidney Disease Killing Farm Workers in Sri Lanka” (CBS News, 19 January 2015) https://www.cbsnews.com/news/medical-mystery-rare-kidney-disease-killing-sri-lanka-farmers/.

[16] For instance, upon the onset of a symptom of any basic illness, people in affected areas fear the contraction of CKD and rely on unsubstantiated information to drink as little water from their wells as possible. This action then leads to chronic dehydration and further deterioration of their health condition — “Medical Mystery: Kidney Disease Killing Farm Workers in Sri Lanka,” CBS News, 19 January 2015, https://www.cbsnews.com/news/medical-mystery-rare-kidney-disease-killing-sri-lanka-farmers/.

[17] Ariyaratne, interview, 26 October 2017.

[18] Perera, interview, 28 September 2018; Chandrasiri, interview, 14 September 2018; Ariyaratne, interview, 27 September 2018.

[19] Dr. Susie Perera and Dr. Amila Chandrasiri, interview by IRM researcher.

[20] Ariyaratne, interview, 27 September 2018.

[21] Perera, interview, 28 September 2018.


Commitments

  1. Integrity Officers to Decrease Bribery and Corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Capacity Building

  2. Asset Declaration System

    LK0025, 2019, Asset Disclosure

  3. Increase Use of RTI

    LK0026, 2019, E-Government

  4. Citizen Participation in Health

    LK0027, 2019, E-Government

  5. Campaign Against Youth Drug Use

    LK0028, 2019, Education

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, E-Government

  7. Agriculture Support Policy

    LK0030, 2019, Capacity Building

  8. Participation for Persons with Disabilities

    LK0031, 2019, Land & Spatial Planning

  9. Disability Rights Bill

    LK0032, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  10. Disaster Management Planning

    LK0033, 2019, Capacity Building

  11. Nationak Environmental Policy

    LK0034, 2019, Environment and Climate

  12. CEDAW Implementation

    LK0035, 2019, Capacity Building

  13. Local Service Delivery

    LK0036, 2019, E-Government

  14. Feedback on Public Bus

    LK0037, 2019, E-Government

  15. Implementing UN Convention on the Rights of the Child in a Participatory Manner

    LK0038, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  16. Improving Public Access to Preventive and Curative Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease

    LK0001, 2016, Health

  17. Transparent Policy to Provide Safe and Affordable Medicines for All

    LK0002, 2016, Capacity Building

  18. National Health Performance

    LK0003, 2016, Capacity Building

  19. Ensuring Transparency and Impartiality in Teacher Recruitment Policy and Process in Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Capacity Building

  20. Enhance the Services of Government Information Center (GIC- 1919) for Inclusive, Transparent, Accountable and Efficient Governance, Using ICT As Enabler

    LK0005, 2016, Capacity Building

  21. Promote the Open Data Concept and Delivering the Benefits to Citizens Through ICT

    LK0006, 2016, Capacity Building

  22. National Environmental Act (NEA) Amendments

    LK0007, 2016, Capacity Building

  23. Coast Conservation

    LK0008, 2016, Capacity Building

  24. Flora and Fauna Protection

    LK0009, 2016, Capacity Building

  25. Transparent and Accountable Procurement System for Local Authorities in Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Capacity Building

  26. Local Authority Procurement System Implementation

    LK0011, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  27. Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to Include a Transparent and Accountable Process to Implement Selected Convention on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations.

    LK0012, 2016, Gender

  28. CEDAW Implementation – Accountability

    LK0013, 2016, Gender

  29. CEDAW – Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Gender

  30. Strengthening Women Participation in the Political Decision Making Process at the Local Level

    LK0015, 2016, Capacity Building

  31. Strengthen the Anti-Corruption Framework to Increase Constructive Public Participation

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  32. Implement UNCAC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  33. Coordination Among Anti-Corruption Agencies

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  34. Corruption and Money Laundering

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  35. Campaign Finance

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  36. Disseminate Asset Declaration

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  37. Starred commitment The Enactment and Implementation of the RTI Act

    LK0022, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  38. Proactive Disclosure

    LK0023, 2016, Legislation & Regulation