Ignorer la navigation
au Sri Lanka

Conservation de la côte (LK0008)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national du Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère du développement et de l'environnement Mahaweli (MMDE)

Institution (s) de soutien: Autorité centrale de l'environnement (CEA) et Département de la conservation de la côte et de la gestion des ressources côtières (CCCRMD), Département de la conservation de la faune et de la flore (DWLC) et Autorité environnementale de la province du Nord-Ouest (NWPEA); (Sri Lanka et Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF) et d’autres ONG et OSC intéressées.

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, Environnement et climat, Législation & Régulation, Législatives, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice au Sri Lanka 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours sur le Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Le processus d'EEI en vertu de la Loi sur la conservation des côtes et la gestion des ressources côtières (CCCRMA) ne prévoit pas d'observations du public concernant les EEI. Une modification de la CCCRMA dans 2011 donne au directeur général de la CCCRM le pouvoir discrétionnaire de demander une EIE et / ou une EIE lors de la réception d'une demande de permis de développement pour une activité de développement dans la zone côtière. Le ministre est habilité à définir, par règlement, des catégories d'activités de développement pour lesquelles un EEI n'est pas nécessaire. Afin de veiller à ce que les impacts environnementaux soient correctement pris en compte lors de la mise en œuvre des projets, il est nécessaire que le processus EEI prévu par la CCCRMA soit également ouvert aux commentaires du public.
Il convient de souligner que, lorsque le droit public autorise les commentaires sur les évaluations d'impact sur l'environnement / les évaluations d'impact sur l'environnement, les organismes décisionnaires doivent être responsables des commentaires publics reçus. Afin de garantir la même chose, l'agence de décision doit répertorier les commentaires reçus sur les EEI et les EIE et indiquer si les commentaires ont été pris en compte ou non lors de la prise de décision d'approbation du projet.

Par conséquent, il est proposé que:
(a) Des modifications pertinentes sont apportées à (i) la NEA et ses règlements; et (ii) la CCCRMA, la CCCRMP et les règlements visant à rétablir / inclure le droit du public d'étudier et de commenter les rapports EIE avant l'approbation des projets; et
(b) Les modifications pertinentes sont apportées à (i) la NEA et ses règlements; (ii) la CCCRMA, le CCCRMP et les règlements (iii) la FFPO et ses règlements et (iv) le NWPES et ses règlements pour inclure des dispositions garantissant la responsabilité du gouvernement en ce qui concerne les commentaires du public sur les EEI et les EIE.
Modification de la loi sur la conservation des ressources côtières et la gestion des ressources côtières

1. Une ou deux réunions / discussions avec le MMDE et le CCCRMD pour plaider en faveur de la nécessité d'apporter les modifications pertinentes à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et aux règlements. Nouveau juillet 2016 sep 2016
2. Des modifications rédactionnelles à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et aux règlements afin d’inclure des dispositions relatives à la participation du public au processus d’EEI et d’assurer la responsabilité du gouvernement en ce qui concerne les commentaires du public sur les EEI et les EIE
Le PILF peut aider le CCCRMD dans cette entreprise. Nouveau Sep 2016 Nov 2016
3. Amendements à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et à la réglementation avec les dispositions susmentionnées adoptées par le Parlement Nouveau Nov 2016 Oct 2017
4. Application des modifications à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et aux règlements par le CCCRMD New Nov 2016
5. CCCRMD pour faciliter la mise en œuvre des amendements susmentionnés à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et aux règlements en renforçant son unité EIE avec le personnel adéquat, les allocations budgétaires nécessaires et les autres facilités requises Nouveau juillet 2017 juillet 2018
6. Environ. Ateliers 03 visant à sensibiliser les organismes gouvernementaux et les fonctionnaires publics sur: -
a) l'obligation d'ouvrir les EEI aux commentaires du public conformément à la modification de la CCCRMA, de la CCCRMP et des règlements; et
b) les dispositions du gouvernement en matière de responsabilité. Nouveau Jan 2018 Juillet 2018
7. A) Env. 04 programme chacun à la télévision et à la radio appartenant à l’État pour sensibiliser la société civile à:
i) l'introduction de dispositions sur la participation du public aux EEI conformément aux amendements à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et aux règlements, et la manière de formuler des commentaires efficaces et responsables à ce sujet; et
ii) dispositions du gouvernement en matière de responsabilité.
B) Diffusion des informations susmentionnées sur les sites Web du MMDE et du CCCRMD Nouveau janvier 2018 juillet 2018

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

8. Modification de la loi sur la conservation de la côte et la gestion des ressources côtières

Texte d'engagement:

Décisions environnementales transparentes: rétablir le droit du public de commenter l'examen environnemental initial et la responsabilité du gouvernement à cet égard

(B) - Amendements à la Loi sur la conservation des côtes et la gestion des ressources côtières (CCCRMA)

[...]

Objectif principal:

Assurer la participation du public et la transparence dans la prise de décision en matière d'environnement et la responsabilisation du gouvernement sur les commentaires du public sur les examens environnementaux initiaux.

Jalons:

  • 1 Une ou deux réunions / discussions avec le MMDE et le CCCRMD pour plaider en faveur de la nécessité d’apporter les modifications pertinentes à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et aux règlements.
  • 2 Amendements de rédaction de la CCCRMA, de la CCCRMP et de la réglementation pour inclure des dispositions sur la participation du public au processus d'EEI et pour assurer la responsabilité du gouvernement en ce qui concerne les commentaires du public sur les EEI et les EIE. Le PILF peut aider le CCCRMD dans cette entreprise.
  • 3 Amendements à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et à la réglementation avec les dispositions susmentionnées adoptées par le Parlement.
  • 4 Application des modifications à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et à la réglementation par la CCCRMD.
  • 5 CCCRMD doit faciliter l’application des modifications susmentionnées à la CCCRMA, à la CCCRMP et à la réglementation en renforçant son service d’EIE avec le personnel adéquat, les allocations budgétaires nécessaires et les autres installations nécessaires.
  • 6 Env. Ateliers 03 pour sensibiliser les agences gouvernementales et les fonctionnaires sur:

(A) l'obligation d'ouvrir les EEI aux commentaires du public conformément à la modification de la CCCRMA, de la CCCRMP et des règlements; et;

(B) les dispositions du gouvernement en matière de responsabilité.

  • 7
  • Les programmes 04 sont diffusés à la télévision et à la radio appartenant à l’État afin de sensibiliser la société civile à: (i) l’introduction de dispositions relatives à la participation du public aux EEI conformément aux amendements de la CCCRMA, de la CCCRMP et de la réglementation, ainsi que la manière de formuler des commentaires efficaces et responsables à cet égard; ; et (ii) les dispositions du gouvernement en matière de responsabilité.
  • Diffusion des informations susmentionnées sur les sites Web du MMDE et du CCCRMD.

Institution responsable: Ministère du développement et de l'environnement mahaweli (MMDE)

Institution de soutien: Département de la conservation du littoral et de la gestion des ressources côtières (CCCRMD)

Date de début: Juillet 2016 ............ Date de fin: juillet 2018

Note de la rédaction: Le texte de l'engagement a été abrégé pour des raisons de mise en forme. Pour le texte intégral de l'engagement, veuillez consulter le Plan d'action national du Sri Lanka, 2016 – 2018, à l'adresse suivante: http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR. Dans le plan d'action, cet engagement contient trois ensembles de jalons distincts relatifs à différents amendements environnementaux. Pour améliorer la lisibilité, le chercheur IRM évaluera les autres jalons dans le cadre de l'engagement 7 et de l'engagement 9.

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait à assurer la participation du public, la transparence et la responsabilité du gouvernement dans les projets de développement côtier. Pour ce faire, il a instauré le droit du public de formuler des commentaires sur les examens environnementaux initiaux (EEI) et a veillé à ce que le gouvernement rende compte de ses observations en répondant aux commentaires du public sur les EEI et les études d'impact sur l'environnement (EIE). Cela impliquerait principalement la modification des dispositions connexes de la loi sur la conservation de la côte et la gestion des ressources côtières (CCCRMA).

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

Cet engagement a été mené à bien à mi-parcours. Le ministère de l'Environnement avait organisé des réunions internes préliminaires avec le CCCRMD sur la modification de la CCCRMA et des règlements connexes (Milestone 8.1). Cela incluait des discussions sur l'inclusion de dispositions pour les commentaires du public sur les EEI et sur l'introduction d'une responsabilité du gouvernement dans la réponse aux commentaires reçus via les processus d'EEI ou d'EIE.

Toutefois, selon la Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF), ces discussions préliminaires n’avaient pas progressé davantage dans l’élaboration des modifications correspondantes (Jalons 8.2 – 8.7). Au moment de la rédaction du présent document, le CCCRMD était en train de compiler un certain nombre de questions devant être examinées et intégrées dans la modification envisagée. De ce fait, toutes les autres activités relevant de cet engagement sont restées incomplètes à mi-parcours.

Fin du mandat: Limité

Semblable à l’engagement 7, cet engagement n’a connu aucun progrès depuis le milieu de l’année.

Jalons 8.1 – 8.7: Les discussions préliminaires visant à inclure des dispositions pour les commentaires du public et la responsabilité du gouvernement n'ont pas abouti. Selon la société civile, le CCCRMD a décidé de supprimer les dispositions correspondantes du projet d'amendement, bloquant ainsi tout développement ultérieur. Le ministère ou le CCCRMD n’a pas consulté ni informé la société civile avant de supprimer ces dispositions. La société civile a attribué le renversement de la dynamique de ces amendements à la conviction du gouvernement que la mise en œuvre de cet engagement entraverait un développement rapide du littoral.

Le ministère de l'Environnement ou le CCCRMD n'ont pas pu être contactés pour commenter.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Participation civique: n'a pas changé

Cet engagement reflète l'engagement 7, qui visait à modifier la loi nationale sur l'environnement afin de faciliter les commentaires du public et la responsabilisation du gouvernement dans la prise de décision en matière d'environnement.

Au moment où cet engagement a été adopté, la société civile avait exprimé sa grande préoccupation que la prolifération rapide des projets de développement et l'intensification de l'activité économique sur les côtes du Sri Lanka et autour de celles-ci avaient entraîné une modification de la nature physique des zones côtières et une dégradation progressive de l'environnement côtier naturel. Selon les parties prenantes, cet engagement atténuerait ces préoccupations en facilitant un plaidoyer public opportun et informé en faveur ou pour les projets de développement côtier.

Au début du plan d'action, les décisions environnementales liées aux examens environnementaux initiaux (EEI) ne prévoyaient pas de commentaires du public ni de responsabilité du gouvernement. Bien que le processus d’évaluation de l’impact sur l’environnement (EIE) comprenne des dispositions adéquates pour les commentaires du public, il ne prévoit pas la responsabilité du gouvernement pour y répondre. En outre, une distinction mal définie entre une EEI et une EIE signifiait que les projets de développement pouvaient être approuvés à la suite d'une EEI avec peu ou pas d'informations partagées avec le public. Cet engagement visait à remédier à cette lacune en modifiant le CCCRMA, le CCCRMP et les règlements afin d'inclure des dispositions obligeant les commentaires du public et la responsabilité du gouvernement.

Cependant, l'engagement n'a pas été pleinement mis en œuvre et aucune amélioration notable de l'accès à l'information n'a été constatée. Les parties prenantes du gouvernement et de la société civile ont confirmé que le ministère de l'Environnement et le CCRMD avaient engagé des discussions préliminaires afin d'inclure des dispositions pour les commentaires du public et la responsabilité du gouvernement dans la législation en vigueur. Toutefois, en supprimant par la suite ces dispositions essentielles du projet d’amendements, les pouvoirs publics n’avaient pas changé pour améliorer l’accès public à l’information.

Dans ce contexte, l'espace pour la participation civique n'a pas non plus changé: la suppression par le ministère des dispositions proposées pour les commentaires du public et la responsabilisation du gouvernement montrent un intérêt déclinant pour faciliter une participation significative du public dans la prise de décision environnementale.

Reportés?

Le deuxième plan d'action du Sri Lanka n'a pas été publié au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport. Comme pour l'engagement 7, l'engagement 8 n'a ​​pas été mené à bien, avec un déclin notable de l'intérêt des principales parties prenantes d'ici la fin du mandat. Par conséquent, le chercheur IRM recommande de reconsidérer l'approche de cet engagement et suggère que cet engagement ne soit pas reporté dans sa forme actuelle.

Cependant, comme pour l'engagement 7, le chercheur propose que le ministère de l'Environnement et le CCCRMD organisent des consultations multipartites afin de réexaminer l'importance des commentaires publics et de la responsabilité des gouvernements dans la prise de décisions en matière d'environnement, et de travailler ensemble pour élaborer des directives claires permettant de distinguer les EEI. et les EIE.

MGWMWT B Dissanayake, interview réalisée par 23 October 2017, chercheur à l'IRM.

Id.

Mihiri Gunawardena (Fondation du droit de l'intérêt public), interview du chercheur IRM, 9 October 2017.

Mihiri Gunawardena (Fondation du droit de l'intérêt public), interview du chercheur IRM, 20 September 2018.

Id.

K. Kumarasignhe, «Projet de ville portuaire: développement ou catastrophe» (The Daily Mirror, 5 décembre 2016) http://www.dailymirror.lk/article/Port-City-Project-Development-or-disaSter-120208.html.

“About Us” (Aperçu, Département de la conservation de la côte et de la gestion des ressources côtières, 2015) http://www.coastal.gov.lk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=109&Itemid=57&lang=en.

Gunawardena, interview, 9 octobre 2017; Dissanayake, interview.

Gunawardena, interview, 20 septembre 2018.

Id.


Engagements

  1. Les agents de l'intégrité vont réduire la corruption et la corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  2. Système de déclaration d'actif

    LK0025, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  3. Augmenter l'utilisation de RTI

    LK0026, 2019, Accès à l'information

  4. Participation citoyenne en santé

    LK0027, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  5. Campagne contre la consommation de drogue par les jeunes

    LK0028, 2019, Éducation

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, Accès à l'information

  7. Politique de soutien à l'agriculture

    LK0030, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Participation des personnes handicapées

    LK0031, 2019, aménagement du territoire et aménagement du territoire

  9. Projet de loi sur les droits des personnes handicapées

    LK0032, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  10. Planification de la gestion des catastrophes

    LK0033, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  11. Politique environnementale nationale

    LK0034, 2019, Environnement et climat

  12. Mise en oeuvre de la CEDAW

    LK0035, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Livraison de service locale

    LK0036, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Commentaires sur le bus public

    LK0037, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  15. Mise en œuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant de manière participative

    LK0038, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  16. Améliorer l'accès du public aux stratégies préventives et curatives de lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique

    LK0001, 2016, Santé

  17. Politique transparente visant à fournir des médicaments sûrs et abordables pour tous

    LK0002, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  18. Performance sanitaire nationale

    LK0003, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  19. Assurer la transparence et l'impartialité de la politique et du processus de recrutement des enseignants au Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Accès à l'information

  20. Améliorer les services du centre d'information gouvernemental (GIC-1919) pour une gouvernance inclusive, transparente, responsable et efficace, en utilisant les TIC comme catalyseur

    LK0005, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  21. Promouvoir le concept de données ouvertes et apporter les avantages aux citoyens grâce aux TIC

    LK0006, 2016, Accès à l'information

  22. Amendements de la loi nationale sur l'environnement (NEA)

    LK0007, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  23. Conservation de la côte

    LK0008, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Protection de la flore et de la faune

    LK0009, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  25. Système de passation des marchés transparent et responsable pour les autorités locales au Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  26. Mise en œuvre du système d'approvisionnement des autorités locales

    LK0011, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  27. Plan de travail annuel du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant prévoyant l’inclusion d’un processus transparent et responsable pour l’application de la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW). Observations finales.

    LK0012, 2016, Sexe

  28. Mise en œuvre de la CEDAW - Responsabilité

    LK0013, 2016, Sexe

  29. CEDAW - Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Sexe

  30. Renforcer la participation des femmes au processus de prise de décision politique au niveau local

    LK0015, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  31. Renforcer le cadre anticorruption pour accroître la participation constructive du public

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  32. Mettre en œuvre la CNUCC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  33. Coordination entre les agences anti-corruption

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  34. La corruption et le blanchiment d'argent

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  35. Campagne de financement

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  36. Diffuser la déclaration d'actif

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  37. Engagement étoilé La promulgation et la mise en œuvre de la loi RTI

    LK0022, 2016, Accès à l'information

  38. Divulgation Proactive

    LK0023, 2016, Accès à l'information

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Sri Lanka

Coast Conservation (LK0008)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment (MMDE)

Support Institution(s): Central Environmental Authority (CEA) and Coast Conservation and Coastal Resource Management Department (CCCRMD), the Department of Wildlife Conservation (DWLC) and the North Western Province Environmental Authority (NWPEA); (Sri Lanka and Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF) and other interested NGOs and CSOs.

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Environment and Climate, Legislation & Regulation, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery

IRM Review

IRM Report: Sri Lanka End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Sri Lanka Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

The IEE process under the Coast Conservation and Coastal Resources Management Act (CCCRMA) does not provide for public comments in respect of IEEs. An amendment to the CCCRMA in 2011 gives the Director General of CCCRM the discretion to call for an IEE and/or an EIA upon receipt of an application for a development permit for a development activity within the Coastal Zone. The Minister is empowered to prescribe by regulation categories of development activities for which an IEE is not necessary. In order to ensure that environmental impacts are adequately addressed when implementing projects, it is necessary that the IEE process under the CCCRMA is also open for public comments.
It needs to be stressed that where public law allows comments on IEEs/EIAs, the decision making agencies need to be accountable for the public comments received. In order to ensure the same, the decision-making agency must list the comments received on IEEs and EIAs and indicate whether the comments were addressed or not when arriving at the project approval decision.

Therefore, it is proposed that:
(a) Relevant amendments are made to (i) the NEA and its regulations; and (ii) the CCCRMA, the CCCRMP and regulations to restore/include the public’s right to study and comment on IEE Reports before projects are approved; and
(b) Relevant amendments are made to (i) the NEA and its regulations; (ii) the CCCRMA, the CCCRMP and regulations (iii) the FFPO and its regulations and (iv) the NWPES and its regulations to include provisions ensuring government accountability on public comments on IEEs and EIAs.
Coast Conservation and Coastal Resources Management Act (CCCRMA) Amendments

1. One or two meetings/discussions with the MMDE and CCCRMD to advocate the need for the relevant amendments to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations New July 2016 Sep 2016
2. Drafting amendments to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations to include provisions on public participation in the IEE process and to ensure government accountability on public comments received on IEEs and EIAs.
PILF can assist the CCCRMD in this endeavour. New Sep 2016 Nov 2016
3. Amendments to CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations with aforesaid provisions passed by Parliament New Nov 2016 Oct 2017
4. Enforcement of the amendments to CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations by the CCCRMD New Nov 2016
5. CCCRMD to facilitate the enforcement of the aforesaid amendments to CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations by strengthening its EIA unit with adequate staff, necessary budgetary allocations and other required facilities New July 2017 July 2018
6. Approx. 03 workshops to creating awareness amongst respective government agencies and public officers on:-
a) the requirement of opening up IEEs for public comments as per the amendment to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations; and
b) the government accountability provisions. New Jan 2018 July 2018
7. A) Approx. 04 programmes each on State owned television and radio to create awareness amongst the civil society on:
i) the introduction of public participation provisions on IEEs as per amendments to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations and how to make effective and responsible comments on the same; and
ii) government accountability provisions.
B) Dissemination of aforesaid information through the websites of the MMDE and CCCRMD New Jan 2018 July 2018

IRM End of Term Status Summary

8. Coast Conservation and Coastal Resources Management Act Amendments

Commitment Text:

Transparent Environmental Decisions: Restoring the Public’s Right to Comment on Initial Environmental Examination and Government Accountability on Public Comments

(B) - Coast Conservation and Coastal Resources Management Act (CCCRMA) Amendments

[…]

Main Objective:

Ensure public participation and transparency in environmental decision making and government accountability on public comments on Initial Environmental Examinations (IEEs).

Milestones:

  • 1 One or two meetings/discussions with the MMDE and CCCRMD to advocate the need for the relevant amendments to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations.
  • 2 Drafting amendments to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations to include provisions on public participation in the IEE process and to ensure government accountability on public comments received on IEEs and EIAs. PILF can assist the CCCRMD in this endeavour.
  • 3 Amendments to CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations with aforesaid provisions passed by Parliament.
  • 4 Enforcement of the amendments to CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations by the CCCRMD.
  • 5 CCCRMD to facilitate the enforcement of the aforesaid amendments to CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations by strengthening its EIA unit with adequate staff, necessary budgetary allocations and other required facilities.
  • 6 Approx. 03 workshops to creating awareness amongst respective government agencies and public officers on:

(A) the requirement of opening up IEEs for public comments as per the amendment to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations; and;

(B) the government accountability provisions.

  • 7
  • 04 programs each on State owned television and radio to create awareness amongst the civil society on: (i) the introduction of public participation provisions on IEEs as per amendments to the CCCRMA, CCCRMP and regulations and how to make effective and responsible comments on the same; and (ii) government accountability provisions.
  • Dissemination of aforesaid information through the websites of the MMDE and CCCRMD.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment (MMDE)

Supporting institution: Coast Conservation and Coastal Resource Management Department (CCCRMD)

Start date: July 2016............ End date: July 2018

Editorial Note: The text of the commitment was abridged for formatting reasons. For full text of the commitment, please see the Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016–2018 at http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR. In the action plan, this commitment contains three distinct sets of milestones around different environmental amendments. To improve readability, the IRM researcher will evaluate the other milestones as part of Commitment 7 and Commitment 9.

Commitment Aim:

This commitment aimed to ensure public participation, transparency, and government accountability in coastal development projects. It sought to do this by introducing the public right to comment on Initial Environmental Examinations (IEEs), and ensuring government accountability in responding to public comments on both IEEs and Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs). This would primarily entail the amendment of related provisions under the Coast Conservation and Coastal Resources Management Act (CCCRMA).

Status

Midterm: Limited

This commitment achieved limited completion by the midterm. The Ministry of Environment had initiated preliminary, internal meetings with the CCCRMD on the amendment of the CCCRMA and related regulations (Milestone 8.1). [115] This included discussions on including provisions for public commenting on IEEs and on introducing government accountability in responding to comments received through IEE or EIA processes. [116]

However, according to the Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF), these preliminary discussions had not progressed further to draft the relevant amendments (Milestones 8.2–8.7). At the time of writing, the CCCRMD was compiling a number of different issues to be deliberated upon and incorporated into the anticipated amendment. [117] As a result, all the other activities under this commitment remained incomplete at the midterm.

End of term: Limited

Similar to Commitment 7, this commitment has experienced no progress since the midterm.

Milestones 8.1–8.7: Preliminary discussions to include provisions for public comments and government accountability did not come to fruition. According to civil society, the CCCRMD decided to remove related provisions from the draft amendment, thereby, stalling any further developments. The ministry or CCCRMD did not consult, or inform, civil society prior to removing these provisions. [118] Civil society attributed the reversal of impetus on these amendments to a belief on the part of the government that implementing this commitment would hinder expeditious coastal development. [119]

The Ministry of Environment or the CCCRMD could not be reached for comment.

Did It Open Government?

Access to Information: Did Not Change

Civic Participation: Did Not Change

This commitment reflects Commitment 7 which aimed to amend the National Environmental Act to facilitate public comments and government accountability in environmental decision making.

At the time this commitment was adopted, civil society had expressed much concern [120] that the rapid proliferation of development projects and the intensification of economic activity on, and around, the coasts of Sri Lanka had resulted in the modification of the physical nature of coastal zones and the gradual degradation of the natural coastal environment. [121] According to stakeholders, this commitment would ameliorate such concerns by facilitating timely and informed public advocacy against, or for, coastal development projects.

At the outset of the action plan, environmental decisions linked to Initial Environmental Examinations (IEEs) had no provision for public comments or government accountability. Although the process of Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs) included adequate provision for public comments, it did not provide for government accountability in responding to them. Compounding matters further, an ill-defined distinction between an IEE and EIA meant that development projects could be approved following an IEE, with little or no information shared with the public. This commitment aimed to address this loophole by amending the CCCRMA, CCCRMP, and regulations to include provisions mandating public comments and government accountability.

However, the commitment was not fully implemented and there was no observable improvement in access to information. Government and civil society stakeholders confirmed that the Ministry of Environment and the CCRMD had engaged in preliminary discussions to include provisions for public comment and government accountability in governing legislation. [122]  However, subsequently removing these key provisions from the draft amendments meant that there was no change in government practice toward improving public access to information.

In this context, the space for civic participation has also not changed: the ministry’s removal of proposed provisions for public comment and government accountability demonstrates waning interest in facilitating meaningful public participation in environmental decision making. [123]

Carried Forward?

Sri Lanka’s second action plan was not released at the time of this report. As with Commitment 7, Commitment 8 achieved limited completion with notable waning of interest among key stakeholders by the end of term. Therefore, the IRM researcher recommends reconsidering the approach to this commitment and suggests that this commitment is not carried forward in its current form.

However, as with Commitment 7, the researcher proposes that the Ministry of Environment and the CCCRMD convene multistakeholder consultations to re-examine the importance of public comments and government accountability in environmental decision making, and also work together to develop clear guidelines to distinguish between IEEs and EIAs. [124]

[115] M. G. W. M. W. T. B Dissanayake, interview by IRM researcher, 23 October 2017.

[116] Id.

[117] Mihiri Gunawardena (Public Interest Law Foundation), interview by IRM researcher, 9 October 2017.

[118] Mihiri Gunawardena (Public Interest Law Foundation), interview by IRM researcher, 20 September 2018.

[119] Id.

[120] K. Kumarasignhe, “Port City Project: Development or Disaster” (The Daily Mirror, 5 December 2016) http://www.dailymirror.lk/article/Port-City-Project-Development-or-disaSter-120208.html.

[121] “About Us” (Overview, Coast Conservation and Coastal Resource Management Department, 2015) http://www.coastal.gov.lk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=109&Itemid=57&lang=en.

[122] Gunawardena, interview, 9 October 2017; Dissanayake, interview.

[123] Gunawardena, interview, 20 September 2018.

[124] Id.


Commitments

  1. Integrity Officers to Decrease Bribery and Corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Capacity Building

  2. Asset Declaration System

    LK0025, 2019, Asset Disclosure

  3. Increase Use of RTI

    LK0026, 2019, E-Government

  4. Citizen Participation in Health

    LK0027, 2019, E-Government

  5. Campaign Against Youth Drug Use

    LK0028, 2019, Education

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, E-Government

  7. Agriculture Support Policy

    LK0030, 2019, Capacity Building

  8. Participation for Persons with Disabilities

    LK0031, 2019, Land & Spatial Planning

  9. Disability Rights Bill

    LK0032, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  10. Disaster Management Planning

    LK0033, 2019, Capacity Building

  11. Nationak Environmental Policy

    LK0034, 2019, Environment and Climate

  12. CEDAW Implementation

    LK0035, 2019, Capacity Building

  13. Local Service Delivery

    LK0036, 2019, E-Government

  14. Feedback on Public Bus

    LK0037, 2019, E-Government

  15. Implementing UN Convention on the Rights of the Child in a Participatory Manner

    LK0038, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  16. Improving Public Access to Preventive and Curative Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease

    LK0001, 2016, Health

  17. Transparent Policy to Provide Safe and Affordable Medicines for All

    LK0002, 2016, Capacity Building

  18. National Health Performance

    LK0003, 2016, Capacity Building

  19. Ensuring Transparency and Impartiality in Teacher Recruitment Policy and Process in Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Capacity Building

  20. Enhance the Services of Government Information Center (GIC- 1919) for Inclusive, Transparent, Accountable and Efficient Governance, Using ICT As Enabler

    LK0005, 2016, Capacity Building

  21. Promote the Open Data Concept and Delivering the Benefits to Citizens Through ICT

    LK0006, 2016, Capacity Building

  22. National Environmental Act (NEA) Amendments

    LK0007, 2016, Capacity Building

  23. Coast Conservation

    LK0008, 2016, Capacity Building

  24. Flora and Fauna Protection

    LK0009, 2016, Capacity Building

  25. Transparent and Accountable Procurement System for Local Authorities in Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Capacity Building

  26. Local Authority Procurement System Implementation

    LK0011, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  27. Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to Include a Transparent and Accountable Process to Implement Selected Convention on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations.

    LK0012, 2016, Gender

  28. CEDAW Implementation – Accountability

    LK0013, 2016, Gender

  29. CEDAW – Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Gender

  30. Strengthening Women Participation in the Political Decision Making Process at the Local Level

    LK0015, 2016, Capacity Building

  31. Strengthen the Anti-Corruption Framework to Increase Constructive Public Participation

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  32. Implement UNCAC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  33. Coordination Among Anti-Corruption Agencies

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  34. Corruption and Money Laundering

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  35. Campaign Finance

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  36. Disseminate Asset Declaration

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  37. Starred commitment The Enactment and Implementation of the RTI Act

    LK0022, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  38. Proactive Disclosure

    LK0023, 2016, Legislation & Regulation