Ignorer la navigation
au Sri Lanka

Plan de travail annuel du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant prévoyant l’inclusion d’un processus transparent et responsable pour l’application de la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW). Observations finales. (LK0012)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national du Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère des affaires féminines et de l'enfance

Institution (s) de soutien: Comité national sur les femmes, ministère du Land, ministère de la Justice; OSC liées aux groupes d'intérêt

Domaines politiques

Genre, Judiciaire, Justice, Législation & Régulation, Législatives, Communautés marginalisées, Parlements ouverts, Participation à l'élaboration des lois, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice au Sri Lanka 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours sur le Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Sri Lanka a ratifié la CEDAW en 1981. Lors de la ratification, le Sri Lanka est tenu de faire rapport au CEDAW tous les 4 ans. Lors du dernier examen périodique de l'état dans 2011, où Sri Lanka avait été examiné, le CEDAW a adressé de nombreuses observations finales au gouvernement du Sri Lanka. En tant qu'État partie, le gouvernement du Sri Lanka est obligé de donner suite aux observations finales. Dans le cadre de cet engagement, le Ministère des affaires des femmes et des enfants donnera suite à des observations finales spécifiques sur des domaines sélectionnés; Réformes du droit des personnes, égalité des sexes dans la répartition des terres domaniales, non-discrimination dans les secteurs d'emploi formel et informel. Les consultations avec la communauté augmenteront la responsabilité du ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant vis-à-vis du public et permettront aux réseaux de femmes de participer directement à l'amélioration des services publics et au renforcement de l'intégrité publique. En fin de compte, le gouvernement doit prendre des mesures concrètes en matière de responsabilité afin de mettre en œuvre les observations finales en incluant un processus transparent et une participation civile. Les progrès réalisés grâce à une telle mise en œuvre pourraient être rapportés comme les progrès de notre gouvernement lors du prochain examen de l'État. Questions à traiter: Peu de suites ont été données aux Observations finales du CEDAW 2011 après l'examen étatique. L'intégration de la mise en œuvre des observations finales sélectionnées dans le plan de travail annuel du ministère assurera un processus de suivi transparent et systématique associant les organisations de la société civile intéressées. Cela garantira également une meilleure coordination entre les différents ministères pour la mise en œuvre des observations finales. Les différents ministères seront tenus responsables de la mise en œuvre de l'observation finale. Objectif principal: Accroître le niveau de responsabilité du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant dans les réformes du droit des personnes, l’égalité des sexes dans la répartition des terres dans l’État, la non-discrimination dans les secteurs de l’emploi formel et informelRéformes du droit personnel
1. Rapport sur les consultations au niveau du secrétariat divisionnaire avec la communauté musulmane et tamoule pour obtenir leur avis. Nouveau sept 2016 déc 2016
2. Rapport sur les consultations avec les avocats, les juges et les chefs religieux afin de recueillir leurs points de vue rendus publics. En cours sept. 2016 déc. 2016
3. Adoption de la loi sur le certificat d'absence Nouveau août 2016 nov 2016
4. Envoyer le document du Cabinet sur les conclusions des rapports # 1 et # 2 au Cabinet pour suivi de la mise en œuvre par le Ministère. Nouveau jan 2017 fév 2017
5. Réunions trimestrielles du comité comprenant des représentants du ministère et des OSC pour suivre les progrès et promouvoir la transparence dans le processus par le ministère fournissant une mise à jour sur l'état des modifications proposées Nouveau sept. 2016 août 2017
6. Amendements aux lois personnelles au Parlement Nouveau mars 2018 août 2018
Égalité des sexes dans la distribution des terres par l'État

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

12. Réformes du droit personnel

Texte d'engagement:

Plan de travail annuel du Ministère des affaires féminines et infantiles comprenant un processus transparent et responsable pour la mise en œuvre de la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes (CEDAW) - Observations finales (A) - Réformes du droit de la personne

Sri Lanka a ratifié la CEDAW en 1981. Lors de la ratification, le Sri Lanka est tenu de faire rapport au CEDAW tous les 4 ans. Lors du dernier examen périodique de l'état dans 2011, où Sri Lanka avait été examiné, le CEDAW a adressé de nombreuses observations finales au gouvernement du Sri Lanka. En tant qu'État partie, le gouvernement du Sri Lanka est obligé de donner suite aux observations finales.

[…] Les consultations avec la communauté augmenteront la responsabilité du ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant vis-à-vis du public et permettront aux réseaux de femmes de participer directement à l'amélioration des services publics et au renforcement de l'intégrité publique. En fin de compte, le gouvernement doit prendre des mesures concrètes et responsables pour mettre en œuvre les observations finales en incluant un processus transparent et une participation civile. Les progrès réalisés grâce à une telle mise en œuvre pourraient être rapportés comme les progrès de notre gouvernement lors du prochain examen d'État.

Objectif principal:

Mettre en œuvre les observations finales de la CEDAW sur les réformes du droit de la personne

Jalons:

  • Rapport 1 sur les consultations au niveau des secrétariats des divisions avec les communautés musulmanes et tamoules pour obtenir leurs points de vue.
  • 2 Rapport sur les consultations avec les avocats, les juges et les chefs religieux afin de recueillir leurs points de vue rendus publics.
  • 3 Loi sur le certificat d'absence adoptée.
  • 4 Envoyez au Cabinet une note sur les conclusions des rapports #1 et #2 (12.1 et 12.2) au Cabinet pour qu’il en assure le suivi.
  • 5 Réunions trimestrielles du comité, composé de représentants du ministère et d'OSC, chargé de suivre les progrès et de promouvoir la transparence du processus, en fournissant au ministère une mise à jour de l'état des modifications suggérées.
  • 6 Amendements à la législation personnelle au Parlement

Institution responsable: Ministère des affaires féminines et infantiles (MWCA)

Institutions d'appui: Comité national sur les femmes (NCW); Centre pour l'égalité et la justice (anciennement FOKUS Women)

Date de début: Juillet 2016 ............ Date de fin: Août 2018

Note de la rédaction: Le texte de l'engagement a été abrégé pour des raisons de mise en forme. Pour le texte intégral des engagements, voir le Plan d’action national du Sri Lanka, 2016 – 2018, à http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR.

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait à soutenir la mise en œuvre des Observations finales du Comité pour l'élimination de la discrimination à l'égard des femmes (CEDAW) par le biais d'activités renforçant la transparence et la responsabilisation. Cet engagement appuyait les observations sur la réforme des «lois sur la personne» au Sri Lanka.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

L’engagement a été mené à bien à mi-parcours. Le Comité national sur les femmes (NCW) du ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant (MWCA) a mené des consultations d'experts sur la réforme du droit de la personne (Milestone 12.2). Les discussions ont rassemblé un large éventail de parties prenantes, notamment des responsables gouvernementaux, des représentants de la société civile, des conférenciers universitaires et des avocats.

Cependant, le NCW / MWCA n’avait pas mené de consultations communautaires - bien que celles-ci aient été programmées pour 2017 plus tard, après la période d’évaluation à mi-parcours (Milestone 12.1). Les consultations n’ayant pas abouti, le NCW / MWCA n’a pas non plus élaboré ni publié les rapports correspondants. Par conséquent, les activités liées à la mise en œuvre des résultats ne pouvaient pas commencer (Jalons 12.4 – 12.5).

Aucun amendement concernant les lois personnelles n'a été soumis au Parlement (Milestone 12.6). Compte tenu des sensibilités en jeu, la société civile a exprimé son scepticisme quant à la possibilité d'atteindre concrètement cet objectif ambitieux dans un délai de deux ans. La délivrance de certificats d'absence a toutefois été incluse en tant que modification de la loi sur l'enregistrement des décès en septembre 2016 (Milestone 12.3).

Fin du mandat: substantiel d

Les jalons 12.1 – 12.5 étant en grande partie terminés, l'engagement a été pratiquement achevé à la fin du mandat.

Jalons 12.1 – 12.2: Selon le président du NCW, le ministère a organisé trois consultations communautaires dans les districts de Colombo, Jaffna et Puttalam en novembre, 2017. La société civile a vérifié les consultations et NCW ont partagé un registre de présence. Les consultations visaient à obtenir des points de vue sur les lois personnelles des Tesawalamai et des musulmans. Le NCW a également facilité davantage de consultations d’experts en décembre 2017, avec la participation d’éminents experts en droits des femmes et d’autres représentants de la société civile.

Jalon 12.3: terminé.

Jalon 12.4: Le NCW / MWCA a préparé un rapport sur les consultations avec la communauté et les experts et l’a soumis au ministère de la Justice pour suite à donner. Bien que le ministère n'ait pas publié le rapport, le Centre pour l'égalité et la justice (CEJ) a confirmé les consultations.

Jalon 12.5: Le NCW a convoqué un comité multipartite composé de membres du 14 et composé de fonctionnaires, d’experts juridiques et de membres de la société civile. Le Centre pour l'égalité de la justice (CEJ) était également représenté à ce forum. Le comité s'est réuni tous les mois. Bien que le comité n'ait pas suivi de manière formelle les progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre des résultats, il constituait une plate-forme utile pour les parties prenantes afin de discuter et de délibérer des développements clés relatifs à la modification de lois personnelles.

Jalon 12.6: Le NCW a noté que le MJ avait pour tâche de donner suite à cet engagement: donner suite au rapport, préparer un document pour le Cabinet et appliquer les conclusions relatives à la modification des lois personnelles. En l'absence de telles mesures, cet engagement est resté incomplet.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Participation civique: marginale

Au début du plan d'action, les lois sur les personnes au Sri Lanka contenaient des dispositions désuètes qui étaient en grande partie détachées de la culture moderne. En particulier, le traitement réservé aux femmes en vertu de ces lois était dépassé, trop conservateur et souvent discriminatoire. Dans le cadre de ses observations finales, le Comité pour l'élimination de la discrimination à l'égard des femmes a recommandé au gouvernement de Sri Lanka de poursuivre la réforme de sa législation et d'accélérer la modification des dispositions discriminatoires dans les lois sur la personne. Cet engagement visait à introduire la transparence et la responsabilité dans le processus de réforme juridique et d'amendement des lois personnelles.

Bien que cet engagement ait été pratiquement achevé à la fin de son mandat, il n’a ouvert que marginalement le gouvernement. Le NCW / MWCA a organisé des consultations auprès de la communauté et d’experts afin de recueillir les points de vue d’un groupe inclusif de parties prenantes. Compte tenu de leur faible engagement antérieur, les experts de la société civile ont estimé qu'il s'agissait d'un résultat positif dans les efforts visant à favoriser la participation de la population à la prise de décisions. Cependant, ces consultations, bien qu'inclusives, ne représentaient pas un grand pas en avant dans le domaine politique concerné. Cela a été confirmé par le CEJ, qui a noté qu'une plus grande transparence et une plus grande responsabilisation pourraient contribuer à la réforme du droit des personnes à Sri Lanka.

Le NCW n'a pas non plus publié les résultats de la consultation. La publication de ces résultats était la seule activité qui aurait directement amélioré l'accès à l'information. Par conséquent, cet engagement n’a pas modifié l’accès à l’information.

Reportés?

Le deuxième plan d'action du Sri Lanka n'était pas encore publié au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport.

Dans son rapport d’avancement à mi-parcours, le chercheur du groupe de travail IRM soulignait dans le rapport de suivi à mi-parcours 2016-IRM l’intérêt de mettre à profit les principes de la transparence gouvernementale pour faire adopter une réforme législative contestée. Dans ce contexte, le chercheur IRM continue de recommander le maintien de cet engagement. L'engagement peut être complété par d'autres interventions spécifiques. Il s’agit notamment: d’utiliser les rapports de consultation pour mener des programmes de sensibilisation et des campagnes de publicité; et en collaborant avec les chefs religieux progressistes pour élaborer et diffuser de solides oppositions au maintien des dispositions discriminatoires dans les lois personnelles.

Dans le plan d'action, les jalons relatifs à la réforme du droit des personnes (engagement 12), à l'égalité des sexes dans la répartition des terres domaniales (engagement 13) et à la non-discrimination dans l'emploi formel et informel (engagement 14) sont énumérés dans un engagement unique. Pour plus de clarté, ces jalons sont séparés en trois engagements différents dans le présent rapport.

Swarna Sumanasekera (Comité national sur les femmes), interview du chercheur IRM, 13 October 2017.

Dr Ramani Jayasundere (The Asia Foundation), entretien réalisé par 17 October 2017, chercheur à l'IRM; Shyamala Gomez (Centre pour l'égalité et la justice), interview réalisée par 27 October 2017, chercheur à l'IRM.

Loi n ° 16 sur 2016 relative à l’enregistrement des décès (dispositions temporaires) (modification) http://bit.ly/2DujucL.

Sumanasekera, entretien; Shyamala Gomez, interview.

Shyamala Gomez (Centre pour l'égalité et la justice), interview réalisée par 29 September 2018, chercheur à l'IRM.

Swarna Sumanasekera (Comité national sur les femmes), interview réalisée par 20 September 2018, chercheuse à l'IRM.

Id.; Gomez, interview.

Sumanasekera, interview.

Gomez, interview.

Id.

Sumanasekera, interview.

Id.

Z. Imtiaz, «La CEDAW demande au Sri Lanka de modifier ses lois personnelles» (Daily News, 8 March 2017) http://bit.ly/2DqcP34.

«CEDAW / C / LKA / CO / 7», Organismes de défense des droits de l'homme, Droits de l'homme des Nations Unies, § 44 (a), 8 April 2011, http://bit.ly/2EUSlvS.

Id.

Gomez, interview.


Engagements

  1. Les agents de l'intégrité vont réduire la corruption et la corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  2. Système de déclaration d'actif

    LK0025, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  3. Augmenter l'utilisation de RTI

    LK0026, 2019, Accès à l'information

  4. Participation citoyenne en santé

    LK0027, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  5. Campagne contre la consommation de drogue par les jeunes

    LK0028, 2019, Éducation

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, Accès à l'information

  7. Politique de soutien à l'agriculture

    LK0030, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Participation des personnes handicapées

    LK0031, 2019, aménagement du territoire et aménagement du territoire

  9. Projet de loi sur les droits des personnes handicapées

    LK0032, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  10. Planification de la gestion des catastrophes

    LK0033, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  11. Politique environnementale nationale

    LK0034, 2019, Environnement et climat

  12. Mise en oeuvre de la CEDAW

    LK0035, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Livraison de service locale

    LK0036, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Commentaires sur le bus public

    LK0037, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  15. Mise en œuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant de manière participative

    LK0038, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  16. Améliorer l'accès du public aux stratégies préventives et curatives de lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique

    LK0001, 2016, Santé

  17. Politique transparente visant à fournir des médicaments sûrs et abordables pour tous

    LK0002, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  18. Performance sanitaire nationale

    LK0003, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  19. Assurer la transparence et l'impartialité de la politique et du processus de recrutement des enseignants au Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Accès à l'information

  20. Améliorer les services du centre d'information gouvernemental (GIC-1919) pour une gouvernance inclusive, transparente, responsable et efficace, en utilisant les TIC comme catalyseur

    LK0005, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  21. Promouvoir le concept de données ouvertes et apporter les avantages aux citoyens grâce aux TIC

    LK0006, 2016, Accès à l'information

  22. Amendements de la loi nationale sur l'environnement (NEA)

    LK0007, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  23. Conservation de la côte

    LK0008, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Protection de la flore et de la faune

    LK0009, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  25. Système de passation des marchés transparent et responsable pour les autorités locales au Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  26. Mise en œuvre du système d'approvisionnement des autorités locales

    LK0011, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  27. Plan de travail annuel du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant prévoyant l’inclusion d’un processus transparent et responsable pour l’application de la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW). Observations finales.

    LK0012, 2016, Sexe

  28. Mise en œuvre de la CEDAW - Responsabilité

    LK0013, 2016, Sexe

  29. CEDAW - Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Sexe

  30. Renforcer la participation des femmes au processus de prise de décision politique au niveau local

    LK0015, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  31. Renforcer le cadre anticorruption pour accroître la participation constructive du public

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  32. Mettre en œuvre la CNUCC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  33. Coordination entre les agences anti-corruption

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  34. La corruption et le blanchiment d'argent

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  35. Campagne de financement

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  36. Diffuser la déclaration d'actif

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  37. Engagement étoilé La promulgation et la mise en œuvre de la loi RTI

    LK0022, 2016, Accès à l'information

  38. Divulgation Proactive

    LK0023, 2016, Accès à l'information

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Sri Lanka

Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to Include a Transparent and Accountable Process to Implement Selected Convention on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations. (LK0012)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Women and Child Affairs

Support Institution(s): National Committee on Women, Ministry of Land, Ministry of Justice; Interest group related CSOs

Policy Areas

Gender, Judiciary, Justice, Legislation & Regulation, Legislature, Marginalized Communities, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Sri Lanka End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Sri Lanka Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Sri Lanka ratified CEDAW in 1981. Upon ratification, Sri Lanka has an obligation to report to CEDAW every 4 years. At the last periodic state review in 2011, where Sri Lanka was reviewed, CEDAW issued numerous concluding observations to Sri Lankan government. As a state party, Sri Lankan government is obliged to follow up on the concluding observations. In the framework of this commitment, the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs will follow upon specific concluding observations on selected areas; Personal Law reforms, gender equality in state land distribution, non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sector. Consultations with community will increase accountability of the ministry of Women and Child Affairs to the public and will allow women’s networks to directly participate in improving public services and increasing public integrity. As an end result the government is to take concrete actions with the accountability to implement concluding observations with the inclusion of a transparent process and civilian participation. The progress made by such an implementation could be reported as our government’s progress at the next state review. Issues to be Addressed: There has been little follow up on the CEDAW 2011 Concluding Observations after the state review. Incorporating the implementation of selected concluding observations into the annual work plan of the Ministry will ensure a transparent and a systematic process of follow up which involves interested civil society organizations. This will also ensure better coordination between different Ministries to implement the concluding observations. The different Ministries will be held accountable to ensure the operationalization of the concluding observation. Main Objective: Increase the level of accountability of Ministry of Women and Child Affairs in Personal Law reforms, gender equality in state land distribution, non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sectorPersonal Law Reforms
1. Report on divisional secretariat level consultations with Muslim and Tamil community to elicit their views. New Sep 2016 Dec 2016
2. Report on consultations with lawyers, judges, religious leaders to elicit their views made available to the public. Ongoing Sep 2016 Dec 2016
3. Law on certificate of absence passed New Aug 2016 Nov 2016
4. Send the Cabinet paper on the findings of # 1 and # 2 reports to the Cabinet for follow up implementation by the Ministry. New Jan 2017 Feb 2017
5. Quarterly meetings of the Committee comprising of Ministry reps and CSOs to monitor progress and to promote transparency in the process by the Ministry providing an update on the status of the suggested amendments New Sep 2016 Aug 2017
6. Amendments to Personal Laws in Parliament New Mar 2018 Aug 2018
Gender equality in state land distribution

IRM End of Term Status Summary

12. Personal Law Reforms

Commitment Text:

Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to include a transparent and accountable process to implement selected Convention on Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations (A) – Personal Law Reforms

Sri Lanka ratified CEDAW in 1981. Upon ratification, Sri Lanka has an obligation to report to CEDAW every 4 years. At the last periodic state review in 2011, where Sri Lanka was reviewed, CEDAW issued numerous concluding observations to Sri Lankan government. As a state party, Sri Lankan government is obliged to follow up on the concluding observations.

[…] Consultations with community will increase accountability of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to the public and will allow women’s networks to directly participate in improving public services and increasing public integrity. As an end result the government is to take concrete actions with accountability to implement concluding observations with the inclusion of a transparent process and civilian participation. The progress made by such an implementation could be reported as our government’s progress at the next state review.

Main Objective:

Implement CEDAW Concluding Observations on Personal Law Reforms

Milestones:

  • 1 Report on divisional secretariat level consultations with Muslim and Tamil community to elicit their views.
  • 2 Report on consultations with lawyers, judges, religious leaders to elicit their views made available to the public.
  • 3 Law on certificate of absence passed.
  • 4 Send the Cabinet paper on the findings of #1 and #2 (12.1 and 12.2) reports to the Cabinet for follow up implementation by the Ministry.
  • 5 Quarterly meetings of the Committee comprising of Ministry reps and CSOs to monitor progress and to promote transparency in the process by the Ministry providing an update on the status of the suggested amendments.
  • 6 Amendments to Personal Laws in Parliament

Responsible institution: Ministry of Women and Child Affairs (MWCA)

Supporting institutions: National Committee on Women (NCW); Centre for Equality and Justice (formerly FOKUS Women)

Start date: July 2016............   End date: August 2018

Editorial Note: The text of the commitment was abridged for formatting reasons. For full text of the commitments, see the Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016–2018 at http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR. [146]

Commitment Aim:

This commitment aimed to support the implementation of the Concluding Observations of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) through activities that enhance transparency and accountability. This commitment supported observations on the reform of “personal laws” in Sri Lanka.

Status

Midterm: Limited

The commitment achieved limited completion by the midterm. The National Committee on Women (NCW) under the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs (MWCA) conducted expert consultations on personal law reform (Milestone 12.2). [147] The discussions included a wide range of stakeholders, including key government officers, representatives from civil society, senior university lecturers, and lawyers.

However, the NCW/MWCA had not conducted community consultations—although these were scheduled for later in 2017, after the midterm assessment period (Milestone 12.1). As consultations had not concluded, the NCW/MWCA had also not developed and published the related reports. As a result, activities relating to the implementation of the findings could not begin (Milestones 12.4–12.5).

No amendments on any of the personal laws were submitted to Parliament (Milestone 12.6). Given the sensitivities involved, civil society expressed scepticism about whether this ambitious goal could be realistically achieved within a two-year period. [148] Issuance of certificates of absence, however, was included as an amendment to the Registration of Deaths Act [149] in September 2016 (Milestone 12.3). [150]

End of term: Substantial d

As Milestones 12.1–12.5 were largely completed, the commitment was substantially completed by the end of term.

Milestones 12.1–12.2: According to the chairperson of the NCW, the ministry conducted three community consultations in the districts of Colombo, Jaffna, and Puttalam in November 2017. Civil society verified the consultations [151] and NCW shared an attendance register. The consultations aimed to elicit views on Tesawalamai and Muslim personal laws. [152] The NCW also facilitated more expert consultations in December 2017, with participation by leading women’s rights experts and other civil society representatives. [153]

Milestone 12.3: Completed.

Milestone 12.4: The NCW / MWCA prepared a report on the consultations with the community and experts and submitted it to the Ministry of Justice (MOJ) for further action. [154] Although the ministry has not published the report, the Centre for Equality and Justice (CEJ) confirmed the consultations. [155]

Milestone 12.5: The NCW convened a 14-member, multistakeholder committee comprising government officers, legal experts, and other members of civil society. The Centre for Equality of Justice (CEJ) was also represented on this forum. [156] The committee met on a monthly basis. Although the committee fell short of formally monitoring progress on implementing the findings, it was a useful platform for stakeholders to discuss and deliberate key developments pertaining to amendment of personal laws. [157]

Milestone 12.6: The NCW noted it is the task of the MOJ to take this commitment forward—act on the report, prepare a cabinet paper, and implement findings toward the amendment of the personal laws. [158] As such steps have not taken place, this commitment remained incomplete.

Did It Open Government?

Access to Information: Did Not Change

Civic Participation: Marginal

At the outset of the action plan, personal laws in Sri Lanka contained antiquated provisions that were largely detached from modern culture. In particular, treatment of women under these laws was outdated, overly conservative, and often discriminatory. [159] As part of its Concluding Observations, the CEDAW recommended that the government of Sri Lanka pursue legal reform and accelerate the amendment of discriminatory provisions in the personal laws. [160] This commitment aimed to introduce transparency and accountability in the process of legal reform and amendment of the personal laws.

Although this commitment was substantially completed by the end of term, the commitment only marginally opened government. The NCW/MWCA held community and expert consultations in order to elicit the views of an inclusive group of stakeholders. Given previous limited engagement, civil society experts noted that this was a positive achievement in efforts to foster civic participation in decision-making processes. [161] However, these consultations, while inclusive, did not represent a major step forward in the relevant policy area. This was confirmed by CEJ who noted that more transparency and accountability could contribute to the reform of personal laws in Sri Lanka. [162]

The NCW also did not publish the consultation findings. Publication of these findings was the only activity that would have directly improved access to information. Therefore, there was no change in access to information as a result of this commitment.

Carried Forward?

Sri Lanka’s second action plan was not released by the time of this report.

In the 2016–2017 IRM midterm progress report, the IRM researcher noted the value and importance of leveraging the principles of open government to pass contested legislative reform. In this context, the IRM researcher continues to recommend that this commitment be carried forward. The commitment may be supplemented with other specific interventions. These include: drawing on the consultation reports to conduct awareness programs and publicity campaigns; and collaborating with progressive religious leaders to construct and disseminate strong counternarratives to the preservation of discriminatory provisions in the personal laws.

[146] In the action plan, milestones pertaining to personal law reform (Commitment 12), gender equality in state land distribution (Commitment 13), and nondiscrimination in formal and informal employment (Commitment 14) are listed under a single commitment. For clarity, these milestones are separated into three different commitments in this report.

[147] Swarna Sumanasekera (National Committee on Women), interview by IRM researcher, 13 October 2017.

[148] Dr Ramani Jayasundere (The Asia Foundation), interview by IRM researcher, 17 October 2017; Shyamala Gomez (Centre for Equality and Justice), interview by IRM researcher, 27 October 2017.

[149] Registration of Deaths (Temporary Provisions) (Amendment) Act, No. 16 of 2016, http://bit.ly/2DujucL.

[150] Sumanasekera, interview; Shyamala Gomez, interview.

[151] Shyamala Gomez (Centre for Equality and Justice), interview by IRM researcher, 29 September 2018.

[152] Swarna Sumanasekera (National Committee on Women), interview by IRM researcher, 20 September 2018.

[153] Id.; Gomez, interview.

[154] Sumanasekera, interview.

[155] Gomez, interview.

[156] Id.

[157] Sumanasekera, interview.

[158] Id.

[159] Z. Imtiaz, “CEDAW Asks Sri Lanka to Amend Personal Laws” (Daily News, 8 March 2017) http://bit.ly/2DqcP34.

[160] “CEDAW/C/LKA/CO/7,” Human Rights Bodies, United Nations Human Rights, § 44(a), 8 April 2011, http://bit.ly/2EUSlvS.

[161] Id.

[162] Gomez, interview.


Sri Lanka's Commitments

  1. Integrity Officers to Decrease Bribery and Corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Capacity Building

  2. Asset Declaration System

    LK0025, 2019, Asset Disclosure

  3. Increase Use of RTI

    LK0026, 2019, E-Government

  4. Citizen Participation in Health

    LK0027, 2019, E-Government

  5. Campaign Against Youth Drug Use

    LK0028, 2019, Education

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, E-Government

  7. Agriculture Support Policy

    LK0030, 2019, Capacity Building

  8. Participation for Persons with Disabilities

    LK0031, 2019, Land & Spatial Planning

  9. Disability Rights Bill

    LK0032, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  10. Disaster Management Planning

    LK0033, 2019, Capacity Building

  11. Nationak Environmental Policy

    LK0034, 2019, Environment and Climate

  12. CEDAW Implementation

    LK0035, 2019, Capacity Building

  13. Local Service Delivery

    LK0036, 2019, E-Government

  14. Feedback on Public Bus

    LK0037, 2019, E-Government

  15. Implementing UN Convention on the Rights of the Child in a Participatory Manner

    LK0038, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  16. Improving Public Access to Preventive and Curative Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease

    LK0001, 2016, Health

  17. Transparent Policy to Provide Safe and Affordable Medicines for All

    LK0002, 2016, Capacity Building

  18. National Health Performance

    LK0003, 2016, Capacity Building

  19. Ensuring Transparency and Impartiality in Teacher Recruitment Policy and Process in Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Capacity Building

  20. Enhance the Services of Government Information Center (GIC- 1919) for Inclusive, Transparent, Accountable and Efficient Governance, Using ICT As Enabler

    LK0005, 2016, Capacity Building

  21. Promote the Open Data Concept and Delivering the Benefits to Citizens Through ICT

    LK0006, 2016, Capacity Building

  22. National Environmental Act (NEA) Amendments

    LK0007, 2016, Capacity Building

  23. Coast Conservation

    LK0008, 2016, Capacity Building

  24. Flora and Fauna Protection

    LK0009, 2016, Capacity Building

  25. Transparent and Accountable Procurement System for Local Authorities in Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Capacity Building

  26. Local Authority Procurement System Implementation

    LK0011, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  27. Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to Include a Transparent and Accountable Process to Implement Selected Convention on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations.

    LK0012, 2016, Gender

  28. CEDAW Implementation – Accountability

    LK0013, 2016, Gender

  29. CEDAW – Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Gender

  30. Strengthening Women Participation in the Political Decision Making Process at the Local Level

    LK0015, 2016, Capacity Building

  31. Strengthen the Anti-Corruption Framework to Increase Constructive Public Participation

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  32. Implement UNCAC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  33. Coordination Among Anti-Corruption Agencies

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  34. Corruption and Money Laundering

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  35. Campaign Finance

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  36. Disseminate Asset Declaration

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  37. Starred commitment The Enactment and Implementation of the RTI Act

    LK0022, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  38. Proactive Disclosure

    LK0023, 2016, Legislation & Regulation