Ignorer la navigation
Sri Lanka

CEDAW - Inclusion (LK0014)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national du Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère des affaires féminines et de l'enfance

Institution (s) de soutien: Comité national sur les femmes, ministère du Land, ministère de la Justice; OSC liées aux groupes d'intérêt

Domaines politiques

Sexe, Travail, Législation & Régulation, Législatives, Corps législatif, Communautés marginalisées, Participation à l'élaboration des lois, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice au Sri Lanka 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours sur le Sri Lanka 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: non

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Sri Lanka a ratifié la CEDAW en 1981. Lors de la ratification, le Sri Lanka est tenu de faire rapport au CEDAW tous les 4 ans. Lors du dernier examen périodique de l'état dans 2011, où Sri Lanka avait été examiné, le CEDAW a adressé de nombreuses observations finales au gouvernement du Sri Lanka. En tant qu'État partie, le gouvernement du Sri Lanka est obligé de donner suite aux observations finales.

Dans le cadre de cet engagement, le Ministère des affaires des femmes et des enfants donnera suite à des observations finales spécifiques sur des domaines sélectionnés; Réformes du droit des personnes, égalité des sexes dans la répartition des terres domaniales, non-discrimination dans les secteurs d'emploi formel et informel. Les consultations avec la communauté augmenteront la responsabilité du ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant vis-à-vis du public et permettront aux réseaux de femmes de participer directement à l'amélioration des services publics et au renforcement de l'intégrité publique.

En fin de compte, le gouvernement doit prendre des mesures concrètes en matière de responsabilité afin de mettre en œuvre les observations finales en incluant un processus transparent et une participation civile. Les progrès réalisés grâce à une telle mise en œuvre pourraient être rapportés comme les progrès de notre gouvernement lors du prochain examen de l'État.

Organisme responsable: Ministère des affaires féminines et de l'enfance et des organisations de la société civile
Chronologie: Juillet 2016 - Août 2018
Plan de travail annuel du Ministère des affaires des femmes et des enfants comprenant un processus transparent et responsable pour la mise en œuvre de certaines observations finales de la CEDAW.
Agence chef de file du Ministère de la femme et de l'enfant
Autres acteurs

Comité national gouvernemental pour les femmes, ministère du Territoire, ministère de la Justice
Société civile, organisations de la société civile liées au groupe d'intérêt
Questions à traiter Peu de suivi des observations finales du CEDAW 2011 après l'examen étatique. L'intégration de la mise en œuvre des observations finales sélectionnées dans le plan de travail annuel du ministère assurera un processus de suivi transparent et systématique associant les organisations de la société civile intéressées. Cela garantira également une meilleure coordination entre les différents ministères pour la mise en œuvre des observations finales. Les différents ministères seront tenus responsables de la mise en œuvre de l'observation finale.
Objectif principal Accroître le niveau de responsabilité du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant dans les réformes du droit des personnes, l’égalité des sexes dans la distribution des terres par l’État, la non-discrimination dans les secteurs de l’emploi formel et informel
OGP Challenge Améliorer les services publics, accroître l'intégrité du public
Principes OGP Transparence Responsabilité Participation du public
Jalons pour remplir l'engagement Nouvel ou en cours: Date de début: Date de fin: Non-discrimination dans les secteurs de l'emploi formel et informel
1. Donner la priorité aux domaines thématiques issus des observations finales du CEDAW sur l'emploi. Nouveau oct. 2016 Nov 2016
2. Publier des informations sur la discrimination fondée sur le sexe dans certains domaines thématiques de l'emploi dans les secteurs formel et informel pour une plus grande transparence et communication de données sous forme de données ouvertes New Dec 2016 May 2017
3. Consultation publique avec la société civile pour proposer des lignes directrices sur la protection des femmes dans le secteur de l'emploi formel et informel Nouveau juin 2017 août 2018
4. Réunions trimestrielles du Comité, composé de représentants des ministères et des organisations de la société civile, chargé de suivre les progrès de #3 Nouveau décembre 2016 août 2018
5. Partager les progrès de l'engagement du PGO sur les observations finales avec les OSC et les autres parties prenantes concernées. Nouveau June 2018 June 2018

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

14. Non-discrimination dans l'emploi

Texte d'engagement:

Plan de travail annuel du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant comprenant un processus transparent et responsable pour la mise en œuvre de la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW) - Observations finales (C) - Non-discrimination dans les secteurs de l’emploi formel et informel

Sri Lanka a ratifié la CEDAW en 1981. Lors de la ratification, le Sri Lanka est tenu de faire rapport au CEDAW tous les 4 ans. Lors du dernier examen périodique de l'état dans 2011, où Sri Lanka avait été examiné, le CEDAW a adressé de nombreuses observations finales au gouvernement du Sri Lanka. En tant qu'État partie, le gouvernement du Sri Lanka est obligé de donner suite aux observations finales.

Dans le cadre de cet engagement, le Ministère des affaires des femmes et des enfants donnera suite à des observations finales spécifiques sur des domaines sélectionnés; Réformes du droit des personnes, égalité des sexes dans la répartition des terres domaniales, non-discrimination dans les secteurs d'emploi formel et informel. Les consultations avec la communauté augmenteront la responsabilité du ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant vis-à-vis du public et permettront aux réseaux de femmes de participer directement à l'amélioration des services publics et au renforcement de l'intégrité publique.

En fin de compte, le gouvernement doit prendre des mesures concrètes en matière de responsabilité afin de mettre en œuvre les observations finales en incluant un processus transparent et une participation civile. Les progrès réalisés grâce à une telle mise en œuvre pourraient être rapportés comme les progrès de notre gouvernement lors du prochain examen de l'État.

Objectif principal:

Mettre en œuvre les observations finales de la CEDAW sur la non-discrimination dans l'emploi formel et informel.

Jalons:

  • 1 Donner la priorité aux domaines thématiques issus des observations finales du CEDAW sur l’emploi
  • 2 Publier des informations sur la discrimination fondée sur le sexe dans certains domaines thématiques de l'emploi dans les secteurs formel et informel pour une plus grande transparence et communication des données sous forme de données ouvertes.
  • 3 Consultation publique avec la société civile pour proposer des lignes directrices sur la protection des femmes dans le secteur de l'emploi formel et informel.
  • 4 Réunions trimestrielles du comité, composé de représentants du ministère et d'OSC, chargé de suivre les progrès accomplis sur #3 (14.3).
  • 5 Partage des progrès de l'engagement OGP sur les observations finales avec les OSC et les autres parties prenantes concernées.

Institution responsable: Ministère des affaires féminines et infantiles (MWCA)

Institutions de soutien: Comité national sur les femmes (NCW); Centre pour l'égalité et la justice (anciennement FOKUS Women)

Date de début: Octobre 2016 ...... Date de fin: Juin 2018

Note éditoriale: Le texte de l'engagement a été abrégé pour des raisons de mise en forme. Pour le texte intégral des engagements, voir le Plan d’action national du Sri Lanka, 2016 – 2018, à http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR.

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait en gros à soutenir la mise en œuvre des Observations finales du Comité pour l'élimination de la discrimination à l'égard des femmes (CEDAW), par le biais d'activités renforçant la transparence et la responsabilisation. Cet engagement appuyait spécifiquement les observations sur la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans le secteur de l'emploi formel et informel.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

L’engagement a été mené à bien à mi-parcours. Le chercheur de l'IRM n'a trouvé aucune preuve que le Comité national sur les femmes (NCW), relevant du Ministère des affaires de la femme et de l'enfant (MWCA), ait mené un exercice pour hiérarchiser les domaines thématiques à partir d'observations de la CEDAW sur l'emploi (Milestone 14.1). Au lieu de cela, le NCW avait entrepris une série de mesures ad hoc, notamment des efforts pour modifier les lois relatives au travail, et la diffusion d'affiches pour sensibiliser le public à la prévalence du harcèlement sexuel.

Le NCW / MWCA n’a pas non plus publié d’informations sur la discrimination fondée sur le sexe dans l’emploi, ni collecté de données à cette fin (Milestone 14.2). De même, le président du NCW a noté que le ministère n'avait pas mené de consultation publique pour délibérer ou proposer des lignes directrices en vue de la protection des femmes dans l'emploi (Milestone 14.3). Par conséquent, le ministère n'a pas mis en place ni convoqué de comité multipartite chargé de surveiller l'élaboration de telles lignes directrices (Milestone 14.4). Le NCW a toutefois confirmé l'organisation d'une consultation multipartite afin de partager les progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre des observations de la CEDAW (Milestone 14.5). Un représentant de la société civile du Centre pour l'égalité et la justice (CEJ, anciennement FOKUS Women) a confirmé cette consultation.

Fin du mandat: Limité

La mise en œuvre de cet engagement est restée limitée à la fin du mandat.

Jalon 14.1: Le NCW / MWCA a confirmé que le ministère n’avait pas explicitement donné la priorité aux observations de la CEDAW sur l’emploi formel et informel. Le NCW a toutefois noté l'achèvement d'un certain nombre d'activités visant à améliorer l'expérience des femmes en matière d'emploi. Celles-ci comprennent la réalisation d’une enquête sur les salaires dans le secteur informel; mise en place de crèches; élaborer une politique de garde d'enfants; et introduire des horaires flexibles dans le secteur privé. Le CEJ a confirmé ces développements.

Cependant, le NCW a précisé que les plans d'action qui guident le travail du NCW / MWCA étaient largement basés sur les observations de la CEDAW et le plan d'action national des droits de l'homme, qui incluent des dispositions sur la discrimination à l'encontre des femmes dans l'emploi. Les plans du NCW / MWCA ont été préparés en consultation avec les OSC, et les parties prenantes impliquées dans la mise en œuvre ont régulièrement partagé les développements clés et les mises à jour des progrès.

Jalon 14.2: Le NCW a également noté qu'il avait pris des mesures, y compris des enquêtes, pour collecter des données sur la participation des femmes et la discrimination dans les activités professionnelles. Ces informations ont été publiées dans le magazine trimestriel du ministère et distribuées aux responsables de développement des femmes des secrétariats de division à travers le Sri Lanka. La société civile a vérifié l'existence d'un magazine interne, mais n'a pas pu confirmer que de telles informations y étaient incluses. Le but de la diffusion de l'information était de faire en sorte que les officiers soient sensibilisés à la discrimination à laquelle les femmes sont confrontées dans les emplois formels et informels. Le NCW n'a pas mis ces informations à disposition en ligne ou en format de données ouvert.

Jalons 14.3 – 14.5: Le NCW et le CEJ n'ont noté aucun progrès supplémentaire par rapport à ces jalons depuis le milieu de l'année. Le ministère n'a pas mené de consultation publique pour proposer des lignes directrices sur la protection des femmes dans l'emploi, ni mis en place un comité multipartite pour surveiller un tel processus. Le NCW n'a pas non plus démontré qu'il avait convoqué de nouvelles consultations multipartites pour partager les progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre des observations de la CEDAW.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Participation civique: marginale

Au début du plan d'action, les femmes travaillant dans le secteur informel et informel à Sri Lanka étaient confrontées à toute une gamme de problèmes. Les observations de la CEDAW ont mis en évidence ces problèmes et identifié des domaines qui nécessitaient une attention particulière. Celles-ci incluent le taux élevé de chômage des femmes; le faible taux de femmes occupant des emplois qualifiés; l'absence de législation sur le harcèlement sexuel; et l'inégalité de rémunération entre hommes et femmes.

S'il était mis en œuvre tel quel, l'engagement aurait amélioré l'accès à l'information en publiant des informations sur la discrimination fondée sur le sexe en matière d'emploi. Toutefois, cette activité n’a pas été achevée et l’accès à l’information n’a donc pas changé. Inversement, bien que les consultations publiques et les réunions trimestrielles multipartites (Jalons 14.3 et 14.4) ne se soient pas déroulées comme proposé, le forum multipartite pour partager les progrès réalisés sur les observations de la CEDAW constituait une amélioration très marginale de la participation civique.

Reportés?

Le deuxième plan d'action du Sri Lanka n'était pas encore publié au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport. Dans son rapport d’avancement à mi-parcours, le chercheur en IRM a noté dans son rapport d’avancement à mi-parcours que l’engagement comprenait une vaste liste d’activités visant à éliminer la discrimination à l’égard des femmes dans l’emploi formel et informel. Toutefois, vu sa spécificité limitée et son impact potentiel mineur, il a recommandé que cet engagement ne soit pas reporté au prochain plan d'action.

Dans le plan d'action, les jalons relatifs à la réforme du droit des personnes (engagement 12), à l'égalité des sexes dans la répartition des terres domaniales (engagement 13) et à la non-discrimination dans l'emploi formel et informel (engagement 14) sont énumérés dans un engagement unique. Pour plus de clarté, ces jalons ont été divisés en trois engagements différents dans le présent rapport.

Swarna Sumanasekera (Ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant), interview réalisée par 13 October 2017, chercheur à l'IRM.

Id.

Id.

Id.

Shyamala Gomez (Centre pour l'égalité et la justice), interview réalisée par 27 October 2017, chercheur à l'IRM.

Swarna Sumanasekera (Ministère des Affaires de la femme et de l'enfant), interview réalisée par 20 September 2018, chercheuse à l'IRM.

Id.

Shyamala Gomez (Centre pour l'égalité et la justice), interview réalisée par 29 September 2018, chercheur à l'IRM.

Sumanasekera, interview.

Id.

Id.

Gomez, interview.

Sumanasekera, entretien; Gomez, interview.

Sumanasekera, entretien; Gomez, interview.

«CEDAW / C / LKA / CO / 7» (Organes de défense des droits de l'homme, Droits de l'homme des Nations Unies, 8 April 2011) http://bit.ly/2EUSlvS.


Engagements

  1. Les agents de l'intégrité vont réduire la corruption et la corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  2. Système de déclaration d'actif

    LK0025, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  3. Augmenter l'utilisation de RTI

    LK0026, 2019, Accès à l'information

  4. Participation citoyenne en santé

    LK0027, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  5. Campagne contre la consommation de drogue par les jeunes

    LK0028, 2019, Éducation

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, Accès à l'information

  7. Politique de soutien à l'agriculture

    LK0030, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Participation des personnes handicapées

    LK0031, 2019, aménagement du territoire et aménagement du territoire

  9. Projet de loi sur les droits des personnes handicapées

    LK0032, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  10. Planification de la gestion des catastrophes

    LK0033, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  11. Politique environnementale nationale

    LK0034, 2019, Environnement et climat

  12. Mise en oeuvre de la CEDAW

    LK0035, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Livraison de service locale

    LK0036, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Commentaires sur le bus public

    LK0037, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  15. Mise en œuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant de manière participative

    LK0038, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  16. Améliorer l'accès du public aux stratégies préventives et curatives de lutte contre l'insuffisance rénale chronique

    LK0001, 2016, Santé

  17. Politique transparente visant à fournir des médicaments sûrs et abordables pour tous

    LK0002, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  18. Performance sanitaire nationale

    LK0003, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  19. Assurer la transparence et l'impartialité de la politique et du processus de recrutement des enseignants au Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Accès à l'information

  20. Améliorer les services du centre d'information gouvernemental (GIC-1919) pour une gouvernance inclusive, transparente, responsable et efficace, en utilisant les TIC comme catalyseur

    LK0005, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  21. Promouvoir le concept de données ouvertes et apporter les avantages aux citoyens grâce aux TIC

    LK0006, 2016, Accès à l'information

  22. Amendements de la loi nationale sur l'environnement (NEA)

    LK0007, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  23. Conservation de la côte

    LK0008, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Protection de la flore et de la faune

    LK0009, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  25. Système de passation des marchés transparent et responsable pour les autorités locales au Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  26. Mise en œuvre du système d'approvisionnement des autorités locales

    LK0011, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  27. Plan de travail annuel du Ministère de la condition de la femme et de l’enfant prévoyant l’inclusion d’un processus transparent et responsable pour l’application de la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW). Observations finales.

    LK0012, 2016, Sexe

  28. Mise en œuvre de la CEDAW - Responsabilité

    LK0013, 2016, Sexe

  29. CEDAW - Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Sexe

  30. Renforcer la participation des femmes au processus de prise de décision politique au niveau local

    LK0015, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  31. Renforcer le cadre anticorruption pour accroître la participation constructive du public

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  32. Mettre en œuvre la CNUCC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  33. Coordination entre les agences anti-corruption

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  34. La corruption et le blanchiment d'argent

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  35. Campagne de financement

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  36. Diffuser la déclaration d'actif

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  37. Engagement étoilé La promulgation et la mise en œuvre de la loi RTI

    LK0022, 2016, Accès à l'information

  38. Divulgation Proactive

    LK0023, 2016, Accès à l'information

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Sri Lanka

CEDAW – Inclusion (LK0014)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Women and Child Affairs

Support Institution(s): National Committee on Women, Ministry of Land, Ministry of Justice; Interest group related CSOs

Policy Areas

Gender, Labor, Legislation & Regulation, Legislature, Marginalized Communities, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Sri Lanka End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Sri Lanka Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Sri Lanka ratified CEDAW in 1981. Upon ratification, Sri Lanka has an obligation to report to CEDAW every 4 years. At the last periodic state review in 2011, where Sri Lanka was reviewed, CEDAW issued numerous concluding observations to Sri Lankan government. As a state party, Sri Lankan government is obliged to follow up on the concluding observations.

In the framework of this commitment, the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs will follow upon specific concluding observations on selected areas; Personal Law reforms, gender equality in state land distribution, non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sector. Consultations with community will increase accountability of the ministry of Women and Child Affairs to the public and will allow women’s networks to directly participate in improving public services and increasing public integrity.

As an end result the government is to take concrete actions with the accountability to implement concluding observations with the inclusion of a transparent process and civilian participation. The progress made by such an implementation could be reported as our government’s progress at the next state review.

Responsible Agency: Ministry of Women and Child Affairs and Civil Society Organizations
Timeline: July 2016- August 2018
Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to include a transparent and accountable process to implement selected CEDAW Concluding Observations.
Lead Agency Ministry of Women and Child Affairs
Other Actors

Government National Committee on Women, Ministry of Land, Ministry of Justice
Civil Society, Private Sector Interest group related CSOs
Issues to be Addressed There has been little follow up on the CEDAW 2011 Concluding Observations after the state review. Incorporating the implementation of selected concluding observations into the annual work plan of the Ministry will ensure a transparent and a systematic process of follow up which involves interested civil society organizations. This will also ensure better coordination between different Ministries to implement the concluding observations. The different Ministries will be held accountable to ensure the operationalization of the concluding observation.
Main Objective Increase the level of accountability of Ministry of Women and Child Affairs in Personal Law reforms, gender equality in state land distribution, non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sector
OGP Challenge Improving Public Services, Increasing Public Integrity
OGP Principles Transparency Accountability Public Participation
Milestones to Fulfill the Commitment New or ongoing: Start Date: End Date:Non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sector
1. Prioritize thematic areas from CEDAW concluding observations on employment New Oct 2016 Nov 2016
2. Publishing information on gender discrimination in selected thematic areas in formal and informal sector employment for greater transparency and reporting data in open data format New Dec 2016 May 2017
3. Public consultation with civil society to Propose guidelines on protection of women in the formal and informal employment sector New June 2017 Aug 2018
4. Quarterly meetings of the Committee comprising of Ministry reps and CSOs to monitor progress on #3 New Dec 2016 Aug 2018
5. Sharing progress of the OGP commitment on Concluding Observations with CSOs and other relevant stakeholders. New June 2018 June 2018

IRM End of Term Status Summary

14. Non-Discrimination in Employment

Commitment Text:

Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to include a transparent and accountable process to implement selected Convention on Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations (C) – Non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sector

Sri Lanka ratified CEDAW in 1981. Upon ratification, Sri Lanka has an obligation to report to CEDAW every 4 years. At the last periodic state review in 2011, where Sri Lanka was reviewed, CEDAW issued numerous concluding observations to Sri Lankan government. As a state party, Sri Lankan government is obliged to follow up on the concluding observations.

In the framework of this commitment, the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs will follow upon specific concluding observations on selected areas; Personal Law reforms, gender equality in state land distribution, non-discrimination in formal and informal employment sector. Consultations with community will increase accountability of the ministry of Women and Child Affairs to the public and will allow women’s networks to directly participate in improving public services and increasing public integrity.

As an end result the government is to take concrete actions with the accountability to implement concluding observations with the inclusion of a transparent process and civilian participation. The progress made by such an implementation could be reported as our government’s progress at the next state review.

Main Objective:

Implement CEDAW Concluding Observations on non-discrimination in formal and informal employment.

Milestones:

  • 1 Prioritize thematic areas from CEDAW concluding observations on employment
  • 2 Publishing information on gender discrimination in selected thematic areas in formal and informal sector employment for greater transparency and reporting data in open data format.
  • 3 Public consultation with civil society to propose guidelines on protection of women in the formal and informal employment sector.
  • 4 Quarterly meetings of the Committee comprising of Ministry reps and CSOs to monitor progress on #3 (14.3).
  • 5 Sharing progress of the OGP commitment on Concluding Observations with CSOs and other relevant stakeholders.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Women and Child Affairs (MWCA)

Supporting institutions: National Committee on Women (NCW); Centre for Equality and Justice (formerly FOKUS Women)

Start date: October 2016...... End date: June 2018

Editorial Note: The text of the commitment was abridged for formatting reasons. For full text of the commitments, see the Sri Lanka National Action Plan 2016–2018 at http://bit.ly/2wv3jXR. [177]

Commitment Aim:

This commitment broadly aimed to support the implementation of the Concluding Observations of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), through activities that enhance transparency and accountability. This commitment specifically supported observations about discrimination against women in the sphere of formal and informal employment.

Status

Midterm: Limited

The commitment achieved limited completion by the midterm. The IRM researcher found no evidence that the National Committee on Women (NCW), under the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs (MWCA), had conducted any exercise to prioritise thematic areas from CEDAW observations on employment (Milestone 14.1). Instead, the NCW had undertaken a series of ad hoc measures, including efforts to amend labour-related laws, and the dissemination of posters to raise awareness on the prevalence of sexual harassment. [178]

The NCW/MWCA had also not published any information on gender discrimination in employment, nor collected data for this purpose (Milestone 14.2). [179] Similarly, the chairperson of the NCW noted that the ministry had not conducted a public consultation to deliberate or propose guidelines toward the protection of women in employment (Milestone 14.3). [180] The ministry did not, therefore, establish and convene a multistakeholder committee to monitor the development of such guidelines (Milestone 14.4). The NCW did, however, confirm convening one multistakeholder consultation to share progress on the implementation of CEDAW observations generally (Milestone 14.5). [181] A civil society representative from the Centre for Equality and Justice (CEJ, formerly FOKUS women) confirmed this consultation. [182]

End of term: Limited

Implementation of this commitment remained limited by the end of term.

Milestone 14.1: The NCW/MWCA confirmed that the ministry had not explicitly prioritised CEDAW observations on formal and informal employment. [183] The NCW did, however, note the completion of a number of activities to help improve the experiences of women in employment. These include conducting a survey of pay in the informal sector; setting up creches; developing a day-care policy; and introducing flexible hours in the private sector. [184] The CEJ confirmed these developments. [185]

However, the NCW clarified that the action plans that guide the work of the NCW/MWCA were based largely on the CEDAW observations and the National Human Rights action plan—both of which include provisions on discrimination faced by women in employment. [186] The plans of the NCW/MWCA were prepared in consultation with CSOs, and stakeholders involved in implementation regularly shared key developments and progress updates. [187]

Milestone 14.2: The NCW also noted that it had taken steps, including surveys, to collect data on women’s participation and discrimination in vocational activities. This information was published in the ministry’s quarterly magazine and distributed among women development officers at divisional secretariats across Sri Lanka. [188] Civil society verified that an internal magazine did exist, but could not confirm that such information was included in it. [189] The purpose of disseminating the information was to ensure that officers were sensitised about the discrimination women face in formal and informal employment. The NCW did not make this information available online or in open data format.

Milestones 14.3–14.5: The NCW and CEJ noted no further progress in relation to these milestones since the midterm. [190] The ministry did not conduct a public consultation to propose guidelines on the protection of women in employment, or establish a multistakeholder committee to monitor such a process. [191] The NCW also did not provide evidence of convening any further multistakeholder consultations to share progress on the implementation of CEDAW observations.

Did It Open Government?

Access to Information: Did Not Change

Civic Participation: Marginal

At the outset of the action plan, women in both formal and informal employment in Sri Lanka faced a range of issues. The CEDAW observations highlighted these issues and identified areas that required special attention. These included the high rate of female unemployment; the low rate of women in skilled jobs; the lack of legislation on sexual harassment; and unequal remuneration between men and women. [192]

If implemented as written, the commitment would have improved access to information by publishing information on gender discrimination in employment. However, this activity was not completed and thus, access to information did not change. Conversely, while the public consultations and quarterly multistakeholder meeting (Milestones 14.3 and 14.4) did not occur as proposed, the multistakeholder forum to share progress on CEDAW observations did constitute a very marginal improvement in civic participation.

Carried Forward?

Sri Lanka’s second action plan was not released by the time of this report. In the 2016–2017 IRM midterm progress report, the IRM researcher noted that the commitment comprised a broad list of activities that intended to eliminate discrimination of women in formal and informal employment but, given limited specificity and minor potential impact, the IRM researcher recommended that this commitment not be carried forward to the next action plan.

[177] In the action plan, milestones pertaining to personal law reform (Commitment 12), gender equality in state land distribution (Commitment 13), and nondiscrimination in formal and informal employment (Commitment 14) are listed under a single commitment. For clarity, these milestones were separated into three different commitments in this report.

[178] Swarna Sumanasekera (Ministry of Women and Child Affairs), interview by IRM researcher, 13 October 2017.

[179] Id.

[180] Id.

[181] Id.

[182] Shyamala Gomez (Centre for Equality and Justice), interview by IRM researcher, 27 October 2017.

[183] Swarna Sumanasekera (Ministry of Women and Child Affairs), interview by IRM researcher, 20 September 2018.

[184] Id.

[185] Shyamala Gomez (Centre for Equality and Justice), interview by IRM researcher, 29 September 2018.

[186] Sumanasekera, interview.

[187] Id.

[188] Id.

[189] Gomez, interview.

[190] Sumanasekera, interview; Gomez, interview.

[191] Sumanasekera, interview; Gomez, interview.

[192] “CEDAW/C/LKA/CO/7” (Human Rights Bodies, United Nations Human Rights, 8 April 2011) http://bit.ly/2EUSlvS.


Sri Lanka's Commitments

  1. Integrity Officers to Decrease Bribery and Corruption

    LK0024, 2019, Capacity Building

  2. Asset Declaration System

    LK0025, 2019, Asset Disclosure

  3. Increase Use of RTI

    LK0026, 2019, E-Government

  4. Citizen Participation in Health

    LK0027, 2019, E-Government

  5. Campaign Against Youth Drug Use

    LK0028, 2019, Education

  6. Open Data

    LK0029, 2019, E-Government

  7. Agriculture Support Policy

    LK0030, 2019, Capacity Building

  8. Participation for Persons with Disabilities

    LK0031, 2019, Land & Spatial Planning

  9. Disability Rights Bill

    LK0032, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  10. Disaster Management Planning

    LK0033, 2019, Capacity Building

  11. Nationak Environmental Policy

    LK0034, 2019, Environment and Climate

  12. CEDAW Implementation

    LK0035, 2019, Capacity Building

  13. Local Service Delivery

    LK0036, 2019, E-Government

  14. Feedback on Public Bus

    LK0037, 2019, E-Government

  15. Implementing UN Convention on the Rights of the Child in a Participatory Manner

    LK0038, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  16. Improving Public Access to Preventive and Curative Strategies to Combat Chronic Kidney Disease

    LK0001, 2016, Health

  17. Transparent Policy to Provide Safe and Affordable Medicines for All

    LK0002, 2016, Capacity Building

  18. National Health Performance

    LK0003, 2016, Capacity Building

  19. Ensuring Transparency and Impartiality in Teacher Recruitment Policy and Process in Sri Lanka

    LK0004, 2016, Capacity Building

  20. Enhance the Services of Government Information Center (GIC- 1919) for Inclusive, Transparent, Accountable and Efficient Governance, Using ICT As Enabler

    LK0005, 2016, Capacity Building

  21. Promote the Open Data Concept and Delivering the Benefits to Citizens Through ICT

    LK0006, 2016, Capacity Building

  22. National Environmental Act (NEA) Amendments

    LK0007, 2016, Capacity Building

  23. Coast Conservation

    LK0008, 2016, Capacity Building

  24. Flora and Fauna Protection

    LK0009, 2016, Capacity Building

  25. Transparent and Accountable Procurement System for Local Authorities in Sri Lanka

    LK0010, 2016, Capacity Building

  26. Local Authority Procurement System Implementation

    LK0011, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  27. Annual Work Plan of the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs to Include a Transparent and Accountable Process to Implement Selected Convention on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Concluding Observations.

    LK0012, 2016, Gender

  28. CEDAW Implementation – Accountability

    LK0013, 2016, Gender

  29. CEDAW – Inclusion

    LK0014, 2016, Gender

  30. Strengthening Women Participation in the Political Decision Making Process at the Local Level

    LK0015, 2016, Capacity Building

  31. Strengthen the Anti-Corruption Framework to Increase Constructive Public Participation

    LK0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  32. Implement UNCAC

    LK0017, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  33. Coordination Among Anti-Corruption Agencies

    LK0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  34. Corruption and Money Laundering

    LK0019, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  35. Campaign Finance

    LK0020, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  36. Disseminate Asset Declaration

    LK0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  37. Starred commitment The Enactment and Implementation of the RTI Act

    LK0022, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  38. Proactive Disclosure

    LK0023, 2016, Legislation & Regulation