Ignorer la navigation
Tanzanie

Promulguer une loi sur la liberté d’information d’ici décembre 2014. (TZ0026)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: non joint

Cycle du plan d'action: 2014

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère des affaires constitutionnelles et juridiques (MOCLA)

Institution (s) de soutien: Bureau du Procureur général (AG), organisations de la société civile et du secteur privé non spécifiées

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, Législation et réglementation, Législatives, Droit à l'information

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Tanzanie Rapport de fin de semestre 2014-2016, Tanzanie: Mfumo Tathmini wa Taarifa pour OGP: Taarifa y Utekelezaji 2014 – 15

Étoilé: oui Suivis

Premiers résultats: majeur Majeur

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Relatives aux valeurs OGP: Accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

La législation sera établie conformément aux meilleures pratiques internationales et comprendra: -
i) Reconnaissance d'un droit humain à l'information, assortie d'une large présomption de transparence des informations détenues par des organismes publics, y compris des entreprises et organismes appartenant à l'État, et des organismes privés assumant des fonctions publiques ou fonctionnant avec un financement public;
ii) l’obligation de publier de manière proactive un large éventail d’informations;
(iii) Procédures robustes pour la création et le traitement de demandes simples, gratuites et rapides (avec un temps de réponse maximal clairement spécifié).
iv) Un régime d'exceptions limité, fondé sur la prévention des atteintes aux intérêts protégés et liés à la sécurité, une dérogation dans l'intérêt public et la divisibilité lorsqu'une partie d'un document est exemptée;
(v) Un droit d'appel.
vi) Protection contre les divulgations faites de bonne foi et sanctions en cas d'obstruction à l'accès; et
(vii) Obligations de faire rapport sur les demandes reçues accompagnées de sanctions pour refus de divulguer des informations sans motif raisonnable.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Engagement 3.1. Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Texte d'engagement: Promulguer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information d'ici décembre 2014

La législation sera établie conformément aux meilleures pratiques internationales et comprendra:

i) Reconnaissance d’un droit humain à l’information, assortie d’une large présomption de

la transparence des informations détenues par les organismes publics, y compris les entreprises publiques et

organismes publics et privés assumant des fonctions publiques ou fonctionnant avec des fonds publics;

ii) l’obligation de publier de manière proactive un large éventail d’informations;

(iii) Des procédures robustes pour la formulation et le traitement de demandes simples, libres et

rapide (avec un temps de réponse maximal clairement spécifié).

iv) Un régime d'exceptions limité fondé sur la prévention des atteintes à la sécurité et à la protection

des intérêts connexes, une dérogation à l’intérêt public et à la divisibilité dans le cas d’une partie d’un enregistrement.

exempter;

(v) Un droit d'appel.

vi) Protection contre les divulgations faites de bonne foi et sanctions en cas d'obstruction à l'accès; et

(vii) Obligation de faire rapport sur les demandes reçues accompagnées de sanctions pour refus de

divulguer des informations sans motif raisonnable.

Institution responsable: Ministère des affaires constitutionnelles et juridiques (MoCLA)

Institution (s) de soutien: Bureau du Procureur général (AG), organisations de la société civile (OSC) et organisations du secteur privé (OSP) non spécifiées

Date de début: 1 Juillet 2014 Date de fin: 31 Décembre 2014

But de l'engagement:

L'engagement vise à promulguer une loi sur l'accès à l'information (ATI), qui a évolué à partir d'un engagement précédemment décrit mais jamais mis en œuvre dans le premier plan d'action OGP de la Tanzanie (2012-2013). Le premier plan d'action de la Tanzanie concernant le plan d'action relatif aux OGP manquait de précisions sur le contenu de la législation sur l'accès à l'information. Le gouvernement a créé cet engagement en réponse aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport d'activité du premier plan d'action pour le PGO, y compris des consultations inclusives avec les parties prenantes et une échéance fixée pour l'adoption de la loi.

Avant de rédiger l'engagement dans le deuxième plan d'action du PGO, il était difficile d'accéder aux informations détenues par le gouvernement et le gouvernement n'était pas tenu juridiquement de divulguer des informations.[Note 1: Lillian Nalwoga, «L’accès à l’information en Tanzanie: lois, politiques et pratiques», ?? Collaboration sur les politiques internationales en matière de TIC en Afrique orientale et australe (CIPESA), 24 March 2015,

http://cipesa.org/2015/03/access-to-information-in-tanzania-laws-policies-and-practice/.] Les questions d'intérêt public n'étaient pas régulièrement divulguées et les fonctionnaires chargés de fournir ces informations appliquaient souvent une censure excessive. L’engagement vise donc à garantir que les informations détenues par le gouvernement sont accessible à tous, fourni dans des délais précis, et partagé entre les communautés, les médias et le grand public.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

Par 30 June 2015, le Ministère des affaires constitutionnelles et juridiques (MoCLA) fait des progrès limités sur l'engagement. Bien que le projet de loi sur l’accès à l’information ait été soumis aux première et deuxième lectures, il n’a pas été adopté par le Parlement en 2015. Le Parlement a rejeté le projet de loi car il manquait de vaste consultation des parties prenantes.[Remarque 2: Rapport d’avancement de la gestion intégrée du capital (IRM) 2014-2016: Tanzanie, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Tanzania_IRM_Progress_Report_2014-15_for_public_comment.pdf.] retarder le processus.[Note 3: Le Parlement tanzanien rejette le projet de loi sur la censure des médias, 21 November 2013, http://bit.ly/1VIUcG9.] Selon les acteurs de la société civile interrogés, le processus s'est encore ralenti en raison des élections générales tenues le 25 d'octobre 2015.

Pour adopter la loi sur l'accès à l'information, la MoCLA a dû reformuler le projet de loi, mener de larges consultations avec les parties prenantes et recevoir l'approbation du Parlement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter le rapport de progression IRM (2014-2016).

Fin du mandat: substantiel

L’engagement de promulguer une législation sur l’accès à l’information a été mené à bien au cours de la période de référence pour le rapport de fin de mandat IRM, mais il n’a pas respecté la date limite de 30 June 2016 pour la période d’engagement. Le projet de loi a été soumis au Parlement et a fait l'objet de deux lectures, délibérations et finalement approbation du 6 September 2016.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: majeur

En vertu de la loi sur l'accès à l'information, les citoyens tanzaniens ont le droit de demander et d'accéder aux informations détenues par le gouvernement. Dans le passé, il était impossible de citer un instrument juridique permettant d'accéder à des informations similaires, à l'exception de la clause 18 de la Constitution nationale (URT, 1977). La nouvelle législation sur l'accès à l'information augmente la quantité d'informations disponibles pour le grand public; toutefois, il contient une sous-catégorie d’exceptions définies qui pourraient entraver la divulgation complète de l’information.[Note 4: Entretien avec un acteur des médias, 29 September 2016, Dar es-Salaam.]

En avril, 2015, le Centre pour le droit et la démocratie a attribué la loi 91 sur l’accès à l’information sur un possible point 150 pour avoir fourni un droit à l’information. Le Centre s'est félicité de la portée relativement large, des catégories restreintes d'exceptions et du contrôle exercé par la Commission indépendante pour les droits de l'homme et la bonne gouvernance, en tant qu'étapes majeures dans la bonne direction. Cependant, le Centre s'est dit préoccupé par le manque de précision de la loi sur les procédures de recours, par le petit nombre de mesures promotionnelles visant à faire connaître la loi et par le fait que les personnes morales et les non-citoyens ne sont pas couverts par la loi.[Note 5: Centre pour le droit et la démocratie, Tanzanie: Note sur le projet de loi sur l'accès à l'information, 2015, May 2015, http://www.law-democracy.org/live/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/ATI-Law-analysis.rev_.pdf. ] Toutes ces lacunes sont encore évidentes dans la loi ATI promulguée en septembre 2016.

La loi sur l'accès à l'information a été adoptée à un moment où le gouvernement a mis en œuvre de nombreux changements juridiques susceptibles d'empêcher l'exercice effectif du droit à l'information accordé par la nouvelle loi.[Note 6: L’Assemblée de la Tanzanie soutient le projet de loi sur l’accès à l’information, Freedominfo.org, 8 September 2016, http://www.freedominfo.org/2016/09/tanzanian-assembly-hears-criticisms-of-pending-ati-bill/.] Un expert en accès à l'information d'une OSC tanzanienne[Note 7: Entretien avec un expert de la société civile ATI, 21 October 2016, Dar es-Salaam.] s'est inquiété du fait que la loi ne va pas assez loin pour limiter les échappatoires permettant de protéger des informations potentiellement confidentielles ou des données pouvant être considérées comme peu flatteuses ou de nature controversée par un examen public. Par exemple, la loi donne au gouvernement 30 jours pour répondre à une demande qui, selon le vice-président Deodatus Balile, du Forum des éditeurs de Tanzanie, est une période trop longue pour un journaliste qui attend des informations.[Note 8: http://www.freedominfo.org/2016/09/tanzanian-assembly-hears-criticisms-of-pending-ati-bill/.]

Bien que la loi sur l'accès à l'information représente un progrès important dans l'amélioration de l'accès légal à l'information en Tanzanie, il n'est pas clair si la loi est minée par la loi régressive et draconienne sur la cybercriminalité qui a également été adoptée dans 2015. Dans un rapport préparé par Privacy International, le Collaboration sur les politiques internationales relatives aux TIC en Afrique orientale et australe (CIPESA) et à la Coalition des défenseurs des droits de l'homme en Tanzanie (THRD),[Note 9: Extrait de https://www.privacyinternational.org/sites/default/files/privacy_tanzania.pdf.] Clauses 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 et 37 dans la loi sur la cybercriminalité[Note 10: Ibid.] «donner aux forces de l'ordre le pouvoir de rechercher et de saisir des systèmes informatiques, des données et des informations sans ordonnance du tribunal, de sorte que le droit à la vie privée peut être violé» ?? et la liberté d'information.[Note 11: Extrait de https://www.privacyinternational.org/sites/default/files/privacy_tanzania.pdf.] Ces raisons juridiques contradictoires d'accès et d'utilisation de l'information pourraient limiter la capacité des citoyens à utiliser librement l'information à des fins de la société civile.

Cet engagement représente une avancée majeure dans la mise en place de mécanismes juridiques pour établir le droit à l'information. Les parties prenantes[Note 12: Entretien avec une source anonyme, 29 September 2016, Dar es Salaam.] ont salué la promulgation de la législation sur l'accès à l'information, qui a ouvert davantage de portes, en particulier aux institutions de surveillance et aux parties prenantes telles que les OSC. La loi pourrait être importante pour les citoyens qui recherchent des informations auparavant indisponibles sur les politiques et programmes locaux qui affectent directement leurs communautés. Par exemple, les citoyens peuvent demander des rapports sur le budget et les dépenses aux conseils locaux lorsqu’ils réalisent des enquêtes de suivi des dépenses publiques (PET) et d’autres exercices similaires de suivi de la responsabilité sociale. L’établissement du droit juridique à l’information contribue à créer l’environnement nécessaire pour responsabiliser les agents publics.

Reportés?

Le troisième projet de plan d'action OGP[Note 13: Projet de troisième atelier de consultation multipartite organisé par la Tanzanie à la State House de Dar es Salaam, 6, septembre 2016.] comprend et renforce cet engagement, avec deux activités prévues dans le nouvel engagement consistant à promulguer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information d’ici décembre 2016. Une autre proposition dans le cadre de l'engagement préliminaire d'ATI consiste à élaborer les règlements de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information d'ici à juin 2017, en consultation avec la société civile et d'autres parties prenantes. Le projet de plan d'action a été publié en ligne.[Note 14: http://www.twaweza.org/uploads/files/FINAL%20OGP%20ACTION%20PLAN%20III%2030_8_2016.pdf. ]

 

Il n'est pas clair si cet engagement "" tel qu'énoncé dans le projet de plan d'action "" sera maintenu, car le Parlement a déjà promulgué la législation sur l'accès à l'information avant la finalisation du troisième plan d'action OGP. Lors d'un atelier consultatif national tenu en septembre 2016 pour examiner le projet de plan d'action, les parties prenantes de la société civile ont estimé que l'engagement pouvait être totalement annulé en raison de son état de mise en œuvre actuel. Certains ont fait valoir qu’il était important d’avoir moins d’engagements dans le document final du plan d’action. Ils[Note 15: Entretien avec une source anonyme, 24 September 2016, Dar es Salaam.] ont estimé que cet engagement devrait être omis du prochain plan d’action étant donné que la partie la plus importante de cet engagement (la mise en place de la loi sur l’AI) a déjà été réalisée avant la mise en œuvre du troisième plan d’action OGP (juillet 2016). June 2018). Ils demandent plutôt qu'un nouvel engagement soit incorporé pour la divulgation des actifs et des passifs des hauts responsables politiques et des fonctionnaires.


Engagements

  1. Engagement étoilé Promulguer une loi sur la liberté d’information d’ici décembre 2014.

    TZ0026, 2014, Accès à l'information

  2. Établir un système de données ouvert d’ici décembre 2016.

    TZ0027, 2014, Accès à l'information

  3. Rendre les données budgétaires (huit rapports budgétaires clés), les rapports du comité d'audit et les exonérations fiscales accessibles au public d'ici décembre 2014.

    TZ0028, 2014, Accès à l'information

  4. Rendre le plan d'utilisation des terres, la propriété et les zones délimitées pour les transactions foncières à grande échelle accessibles en ligne pour une utilisation publique par June 2016.

    TZ0029, 2014, Droits fonciers et aménagement du territoire

  5. La Tanzanie respecte ses engagements dans le cadre de l'ITIE d'ici à juin 2016

    TZ0030, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  6. Tableau de bord des progrès de l'OGP

    TZ0001, 2012,

  7. Données sur l'eau et cartographie

    TZ0002, 2012, eau et assainissement

  8. Site des citoyens

    TZ0003, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  9. Site Web du Bureau national d'audit

    TZ0004, 2012, Accès à l'information

  10. Chartes de service à la clientèle

    TZ0005, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  11. Participation par courrier électronique et par téléphone portable

    TZ0006, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  12. Rapport sur les commandes de fournitures médicales

    TZ0007, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  13. Engagement étoilé Accès aux données sur la santé, l'éducation et l'eau

    TZ0008, 2012, Accès à l'information

  14. Sites Web du gouvernement

    TZ0009, 2012, Accès à l'information

  15. Forum ouvert sur les engagements du PGO

    TZ0010, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  16. Registre des plaintes

    TZ0011, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  17. Engagement étoilé Le site Web des citoyens «Comment je fais?»

    TZ0012, 2012, Prestation de services publics

  18. Commissions et services municipaux

    TZ0013, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  19. Document sur le budget des citoyens

    TZ0014, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  20. Point de contact pour la communication OGP

    TZ0015, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  21. Pratique mondiale sur la divulgation des données

    TZ0016, 2012, Accès à l'information

  22. Financement des donateurs

    TZ0017, 2012, Aide

  23. Innovation de gouvernement ouvert par les entrepreneurs locaux

    TZ0018, 2012, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Divulgation de l'actif des agents publics

    TZ0019, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  25. Allocation de subventions aux gouvernements locaux

    TZ0020, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  26. Rapports d'exécution budgétaire

    TZ0021, 2012, Accès à l'information

  27. Transparence du gouvernement local

    TZ0022, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  28. Rapports sur les exonérations fiscales

    TZ0023, 2012, Accès à l'information

  29. Meilleures pratiques pour les lois sur la liberté de l'information

    TZ0024, 2012, Accès à l'information

  30. Organisations paraétatiques

    TZ0025, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Tanzania

To Enact a Freedom of Information Act by December 2014. (TZ0026)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Not Attached

Action Plan Cycle: 2014

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Constitutional and Legal Affairs (MOCLA)

Support Institution(s): Attorney General's (AG) Office, unspecified civil society and private sector organizations

Policy Areas

Legislation & Regulation, Right to Information

IRM Review

IRM Report: Tanzania End of Term Report 2014-2016

Starred: No

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

The legislation will be established in line with international best practice and shall include:-
(i) Recognition of a human right to information, along with a broad presumption of openness of information held by public bodies, including state-owned enterprises and bodies, and private bodies undertaking public functions or operating under public funding;
(ii) An obligation to publish a wide range of information on a proactive basis;
(iii) Robust procedures for making and processing requests which are simple, free and quick (with a clearly specified maximum response time).
(iv) A limited regime of exceptions based on preventing harm to protected and security related interests, a public interest override and severability where part of a record is exempt;
(v) A right of appeal.
(vi) Protection for good faith disclosures and sanctions for obstruction of access; and
(vii) Obligations to report on requests received backed up by sanctions for refusal to disclose information without reasonable cause.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Commitment 3.1. Access to Information Act

Commitment Text: To enact Access to Information Act by December 2014

The legislation will be established in line with international best practice and shall include:

(i) Recognition of a human right to information, along with a broad presumption of

openness of information held by public bodies, including state-owned enterprises and

bodies, and private bodies undertaking public functions or operating under public funding;

(ii) An obligation to publish a wide range of information on a proactive basis;

(iii) Robust procedures for making and processing requests which are simple, free and

quick (with a clearly specified maximum response time).

(iv) A limited regime of exceptions based on preventing harm to protected and security

related interests, a public interest override and severability where part of a record is

exempt;

(v) A right of appeal.

(vi) Protection for good faith disclosures and sanctions for obstruction of access; and

(vii) Obligations to report on requests received backed up by sanctions for refusal to

disclose information without reasonable cause.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Constitutional and Legal Affairs (MoCLA)

Supporting institution(s): Attorney General's (AG) Office, unspecified Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) and Private Sector Organisations (PSOs)

Start date: 1 July 2014 End date: 31 December 2014

Commitment Aim:

The commitment aims to enact an Access to Information (ATI) law, and it evolved from a commitment previously outlined but never implemented in Tanzania's first OGP action plan (2012-2013). Tanzania's first OGP action plan lacked specific details on the contents of the access to information legislation. The government created this commitment in response to recommendations made in the IRM progress report for the first OGP action plan, including inclusive consultations with stakeholders and a set deadline for enacting the law.

Prior to drafting the commitment in the second OGP action plan, accessing government-held information was difficult, and there was no legal requirement for the government to disclose information.[Note 1: Lillian Nalwoga, 'Access to Information in Tanzania: Laws, Policies, and Practice,' Collaboration on International ICT Policy in East and Southern Africa (CIPESA), 24 March 2015,

http://cipesa.org/2015/03/access-to-information-in-tanzania-laws-policies-and-practice/.] Issues of public interest were not regularly disclosed, and civil servants responsible for providing such information often applied excessive censorship. The commitment thus seeks to ensure that information held by the government is accessible to all, provided within specified time limits, and shared among communities, media, and the general public.

Status

Midterm: Limited

By 30 June 2015, the Ministry of Constitutional and Legal Affairs (MoCLA) had made limited progress on the commitment. Although the Access to Information bill went through the first and second readings, it was not passed by the Parliament in 2015. Parliament rejected the bill because it lacked wide stakeholder consultation,[Note 2: IRM Progress Report 2014-2016: Tanzania, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Tanzania_IRM_Progress_Report_2014-15_for_public_comment.pdf.] delaying the process.[Note 3: Tanzania's Parliament Rejects Media Censorship Bill, 21 November 2013, http://bit.ly/1VIUcG9.] According to civil society stakeholders interviewed, the process further stalled due to the general elections held on 25 October 2015.

To pass the ATI law, MoCLA had to redraft the bill, conduct broad stakeholder consultations, and receive approval from the Parliament. For more details, please see the IRM progress report (2014-2016).

End of term: Substantial

The commitment to enact legislation on access to information was completed during the reporting period for the IRM end-of-term report but missed the commitment period deadline of 30 June 2016. The bill was submitted to Parliament and went through two readings, deliberations, and finally approval on 6 September 2016.

Did it open government?

Access to information: Major

As a result of the ATI law, Tanzanian citizens have a legal right to request and access government-held information. In the past, one could not cite any legal instrument for accessing similar information, save for under Clause 18 of the National Constitution (URT, 1977). The new access to information legislation increases the amount of information available to the general public; however, it contains a subcategory of defined exceptions that could hinder full information disclosure.[Note 4: Interview with media stakeholder, 29 September 2016, Dar es Salaam.]

In April 2015, the Centre for Law and Democracy awarded the Access to Informtion Act 91 out of a possible 150 points for providing a right to information. The Centre applauded the relatively broad scope, narrow categories of exceptions, and oversight by the independent Commission for Human Rights and Good Governmance as major steps in the right direction. However, the Centre expressed concern over the law's lack of detail on requesting appeals procedures, the small number of promotional measures to publicise the law, and the exclusion of legal entitities and non-citizens from being covered by the law.[Note 5: Centre for Law and Democracy, Tanzania: Note on the Draft Access to Information Act, 2015, May 2015, http://www.law-democracy.org/live/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/ATI-Law-analysis.rev_.pdf. ] All these gaps are still evident in the ATI law enacted in September 2016.

The ATI law was passed at a time when the government implemented many legal changes that may hinder the effective exercise of the right to information granted by the new law.[Note 6: Tanzania Assembly Backs Information Access Bill, Freedominfo.org, 8 September 2016, http://www.freedominfo.org/2016/09/tanzanian-assembly-hears-criticisms-of-pending-ati-bill/.] An access to information expert from a Tanzanian CSO[Note 7: Interview with civil society ATI expert, 21 October 2016, Dar es Salaam.] expressed concern that the law does not go far enough to limit loopholes for shielding potentially confidential information or data that may be considered unflattering or controversial in nature from public scrutiny. For example, the law gives the government 30 days to respond to a request, which according to Deputy Chairman Deodatus Balile of the Tanzania Editors Forum is too long a period for a journalist to wait for information.[Note 8: http://www.freedominfo.org/2016/09/tanzanian-assembly-hears-criticisms-of-pending-ati-bill/.]

While the ATI law represents important progress in improving legal access to information in Tanzania, it is unclear whether or not the law is undermined by the regressive and draconian Cybercrimes Act that also passed in 2015. In a report prepared by Privacy International, the Collaboration on International ICT Policy in East and Southern Africa (CIPESA), and Tanzania Human Rights Defenders (THRD) Coalition,[Note 9: Excerpt from https://www.privacyinternational.org/sites/default/files/privacy_tanzania.pdf.] Clauses 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, and 37 in the Cybercrimes Act[Note 10: Ibid.] 'give powers to law enforcers to search and seize computer systems, data and information without court order thus can infringe right to privacy' and freedom of information.[Note 11: Excerpt from https://www.privacyinternational.org/sites/default/files/privacy_tanzania.pdf.] These contradictory legal grounds for accessing and using information could limit the ability of citizens to freely use information for civil society purposes.

This commitment represents a major achievement in providing legal mechanisms to establish the right to information. Stakeholders[Note 12: Interview with an anonymous source, 29 September 2016, Dar es Salaam.] have hailed the enactment of the ATI legislation as opening more doors, especially for oversight institutions and stakeholders such as CSOs. The law could be important for citizens seeking previously unavailable information on local policies and programs that directly affect their communities. For example, citizens can request budget and expenditure reports from local councils when conducting public expenditure tracking surveys (PETs) and other similar social accountability monitoring exercises. Establishing the legal right to information helps create the necessary environment for holding public officials accountable.

Carried forward?

The third OGP action plan draft[Note 13: Tanzania's third OGP action plan draft, multi-stakeholder consultation workshop at the State House in Dar es Salaam, 6 September 2016.] includes and builds upon this commitment, with two planned activities under the new commitment to enact the Access to Information Act by December 2016. Another proposal under the draft ATI commitment is to develop the Access to Information Act's regulations by June 2017 in consultation with civil society and other stakeholders. The draft action plan has been published online.[Note 14: http://www.twaweza.org/uploads/files/FINAL%20OGP%20ACTION%20PLAN%20III%2030_8_2016.pdf. ]

 

It is not clear whether this commitment'”as written in the draft action plan'”will be maintained given that Parliament already has enacted the ATI legislation before the third OGP action plan has been finalised. During a national consultative workshop in September 2016 to review the draft action plan, civil society stakeholders thought that the commitment may be removed altogether because of its current implementation status. Some argued that it is important to have fewer commitments in the final action plan document. They[Note 15: Interview with an anonymous source, 24 September 2016, Dar es Salaam.] were of the opinion that this commitment should be omitted from the forthcoming action plan given that the most important part of the commitment (having the ATI Act in place) has already been accomplished prior to the implementation of the third OGP action plan (July 2016-June 2018). They instead call for a new commitment to be incorporated for disclosure of assets and liabilities of senior politicians and civil servants.


Commitments

  1. Starred commitment To Enact a Freedom of Information Act by December 2014.

    TZ0026, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  2. To Establish an Open Data System by December 2016.

    TZ0027, 2014, Capacity Building

  3. To Make Budget Data (Eight Key Budget Reports), Audit Committee Reports and Tax Exemptions Publicly Available by December 2014.

    TZ0028, 2014, E-Government

  4. Make Land Use Plan, Ownership and Demarcated Areas for Large Scale Land Deals Accessible Online for Public Use by June 2016.

    TZ0029, 2014, Land & Spatial Planning

  5. Tanzania to Fulfill Its EITI Commitments by June 2016

    TZ0030, 2014, Extractive Industries

  6. Dashboard of OGP Progress

    TZ0001, 2012, OGP

  7. Water Data and Mapping

    TZ0002, 2012, Water and Sanitation

  8. Citizens’ Website

    TZ0003, 2012, E-Government

  9. National Audit Office Website

    TZ0004, 2012, E-Government

  10. Client Service Charters

    TZ0005, 2012, E-Government

  11. Participation by Email and Mobile Phones

    TZ0006, 2012, E-Government

  12. Reporting on Medical Supply Orders

    TZ0007, 2012, E-Government

  13. Starred commitment Access to Health, Education, and Water Data

    TZ0008, 2012, Open Data

  14. Government Websites

    TZ0009, 2012, Open Data

  15. Open Forum on OGP Commitments

    TZ0010, 2012, E-Government

  16. Complaints Register

    TZ0011, 2012, E-Government

  17. Starred commitment Citizens’ “How Do I?” Website

    TZ0012, 2012, Public Service Delivery

  18. Local Government Service Boards and Committees

    TZ0013, 2012, E-Government

  19. Citizens' Budget Document

    TZ0014, 2012, E-Government

  20. Contact Point for OGP Communication

    TZ0015, 2012, E-Government

  21. Global Practice on Data Disclosure

    TZ0016, 2012, E-Government

  22. Donor Funding

    TZ0017, 2012, Aid

  23. Open Government Innovation by Local Entrepreneurs

    TZ0018, 2012, Capacity Building

  24. Disclosure of Public Officials’ Assets

    TZ0019, 2012, Asset Disclosure

  25. Allocation of Grants to Local Governments

    TZ0020, 2012, E-Government

  26. Budget Execution Reports

    TZ0021, 2012, E-Government

  27. Local Government Transparency

    TZ0022, 2012, E-Government

  28. Reports on Tax Exemptions

    TZ0023, 2012, E-Government

  29. Best Practices for Freedom of Information Laws

    TZ0024, 2012, Right to Information

  30. Parastatal Organisations

    TZ0025, 2012, E-Government