Ignorer la navigation

Créer un centre de contact pour répondre aux besoins des spécialistes nationaux (locaux et internationaux) de Trinité-et-Tobago (TT0005)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action : Non attaché

Cycle du plan d'action : 2014

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Ministère de l'administration publique

Institution(s) de soutien : iGovTT/Société de services en ressources humaines du gouvernement (GHRS), Panels d'utilisateurs/citoyens

Domaines politiques

Éducation, Prestation de services publics

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Trinité-et-Tobago - Rapport de fin de trimestre 2014-2016, Rapport d'étape de la GIR de Trinité-et-Tobago 2014-2015

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : n'a pas changé

Site Web i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement:

Description

Fournir un centre d’appel virtuel pour la fourniture de services aux chercheurs nationaux et à leurs associés.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

1.5 met en place un centre de contact pour répondre aux besoins des universitaires nationaux

Texte d'engagement: Fournir un centre d’appel virtuel pour la fourniture de services aux chercheurs nationaux et à leurs associés.

Jalons:

1. Élaboration de politiques et de processus de centre d'appels virtuel

2. Élaboration de la proposition

3. Livraison des termes de référence pour la mise en place d'un centre d'appels virtuel

4. Création d'un comité de pilotage du projet

1.     Approvisionnement de la solution TIC / sélection du fournisseur

2.     Recrutement du personnel (ASC, administrateurs, superviseurs, gestionnaires)

3.     Mise en place de solution

4.     Centre d'appels

5.     Lancement du site Web de la Division des bourses et de la formation avancée

Institution responsable: Ministère de l'administration publique et des communications (MPAC)

Institutions de soutien: Société nationale des technologies de l'information et de la communication (iGovTT), société de services gouvernementaux en ressources humaines (GHRS), panels d'utilisateurs et de citoyens

Date de début: août 2014 ............. Date de fin: juillet 2015

But de l'engagement

Cet engagement vise à accroître l'accès à l'information des boursiers nationaux au moyen d'une plateforme en ligne et d'un centre d'appels virtuel. Les boursiers rencontrent des difficultés majeures pour accéder à des informations sur l'état de leurs bourses et sur des questions connexes, en particulier à l'étranger. Cette initiative de gouvernement électronique s'inscrit dans le cadre plus large du TTDS. La Division des bourses et de la formation avancée (SATD) a obtenu la certification TTDS en 2014.

Statut

Mi-parcours: pas clair

Des responsables publics ont indiqué que le gouvernement de Trinité-et-Tobago avait approuvé le financement d'un centre d'appels virtuel.

Le gouvernement n'a pas fourni de documents de vérification concernant l'élaboration de politiques et de processus de centres d'appels, ni l'attribution d'un contrat. Cependant, une recherche en ligne a révélé un portail virtuel pour le centre de contact.[Remarque 12: Division des bourses et de la formation avancée, «Contactez-nous» http://www.scholarships.gov.tt/home/index.php/contact-us. Ce site a été mis à niveau pour inclure un lien de contact.] Les fonctionnaires interrogés ont déclaré que le centre de contact servira d'abord les chercheurs par téléphone et par courrier électronique, et le chercheur de l'IRM a vérifié cette affirmation.[Note 13: Division des bourses et de la formation supérieure, «Charte du service», Ministère de l’administration publique et des communications, février 2014, http://www.scholarships.gov.tt/home/images/docs/resources/Service_CharterSATD_March_2014.pdf. ]

Cependant, l’avancement des efforts en matière de téléphone et de courrier électronique n’a pas pu être vérifié; par conséquent, la réalisation de cet engagement n'était pas claire. Aucune autre preuve n'a été fournie concernant la création de groupes d'utilisateurs,[Note 14: Fonction publique de Trinité-et-Tobago, Comment produire et utiliser des chartes pour les services publics: manuel pratique à l'intention des ministères et des agences (projet de rapport, 18 May 2012), 16, http://www.mpac.gov.tt/diamond/content/service-improvement] Le chercheur de l'IRM pense que cela pourrait améliorer la validation citoyenne de cet engagement. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez vous reporter au rapport d'évaluation à mi-parcours de la GRI.[Note 15: Open Government Partnerships, Mécanisme d’établissement de rapports indépendant (IRM): rapport d’activité de Trinité-et-Tobago, 2014 – 2015, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/TrinidadTobago_14-15_Final_0.pdf. ]

Fin du mandat: Limité

Selon les fonctionnaires interrogés,[Note 16: Des entretiens ont été menés avec deux fonctionnaires du ministère de l'Administration publique et des Communications.] la mise en œuvre de cet engagement a stagné. Il n’ya pas eu de progrès depuis le rapport d’avancement à mi-parcours de la GIR. Le gouvernement a indiqué que les jalons 1 à 5 avaient été mis en œuvre, mais il n'a fourni aucun document de vérification. Par conséquent, la progression est codée comme limitée. Le SATD a demandé la certification TTDS. Il n'a pas obtenu la certification, mais il a été hautement recommandé (ce qui est un niveau en dessous de la certification). Les fonctionnaires n’ont fourni aucune raison supplémentaire pour expliquer la non-certification.

Les entrevues ont révélé que la dotation en personnel pour cet engagement est à l'étude. Toutefois, les efforts ont subi un revers important après le changement de ministère responsable de cet engagement. La MPAC détenait initialement le portefeuille de SATD. Un changement d’administration gouvernementale a transféré cette division au ministère de l’Éducation. Les responsables publics ont déclaré qu'un fournisseur potentiel est prêt à exploiter le centre d'appels, mais aucune décision n'a encore été prise concernant son exploitation.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Dans 2015, des bourses 443 ont été attribuées, mais les citoyens et les universitaires nationaux potentiels ont du mal à accéder à leurs informations.[Remarque 17: “Les lauréats des bourses d’études nationales 443,” Trinidad et Tobago Newsday, 17 octobre 2015, http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,218603.html. ] Cet engagement vise à accroître l'accès des citoyens aux informations relatives aux bourses via le site Web de SATD en incluant un portail interactif pour les citoyens. Le rapport d'avancement de la GIR a estimé que cet engagement avait un impact potentiel mineur. Il fournira une plate-forme initiale pour le partage d'informations, ce qui peut à son tour accroître la transparence, mais des problèmes plus profonds et plus urgents se posent dans le manque de transparence dans l'attribution des bourses. (Voir le rapport de mi-parcours de l'IRM.[Note 18: Open Government Partnerships, Mécanisme d’établissement de rapports indépendant (IRM): rapport d’activité de Trinité-et-Tobago, 2014 – 2015, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/TrinidadTobago_14-15_Final_0.pdf. ]) Bien que cet engagement ait le potentiel d’accroître le partage d’informations, il n’a pas réussi à le réaliser en raison d’une mise en œuvre limitée. Le chercheur de l'IRM a conclu que cet engagement ne modifiait pas l'ouverture du gouvernement et n'améliorait pas non plus les mécanismes d'accès à l'information ni la qualité des données gouvernementales communiquées aux citoyens.

Au cours des entretiens, les OSC ont exprimé le besoin d'une plus grande transparence dans l'attribution de bourses, mais n'ont donné aucun retour d'information spécifique sur la mise en œuvre de cet engagement.[Note 19: Des entretiens ont été menés avec diverses organisations de la société civile de 15 September à 24 September 2016.] Il est également important de noter que, même si les OSC s'intéressent à cet engagement et à d'autres engagements d'amélioration de la fonction publique, elles n'ont pas la capacité de bien comprendre cet engagement sans la participation du gouvernement.

Reportés?

Lors de la rédaction de ce rapport, le gouvernement n'a pas entamé de consultation pour élaborer le prochain plan d'action.

Cet engagement devrait être maintenu, compte tenu de l'importance que les citoyens et les boursiers ont accordée à l'accès à des informations pertinentes et actualisées. De plus, cet engagement devrait être modifié pour inclure un mécanisme de retour d'information public - comme les panels d'utilisateurs dans le processus de certification TTDS - et un mécanisme qui augmentera la transparence du gouvernement dans l'attribution de bourses. Par exemple, le gouvernement pourrait publier des données sur les scores des boursiers ou des critères de notation permettant de qualifier pour des bourses.

Pour mener à bien cet engagement, le gouvernement doit investir dans les ressources humaines nécessaires pour doter le centre en personnel et lancer le site Web. Le chercheur de l'IRM note que Trinité-et-Tobago est actuellement en récession et que cela a un impact négatif sur le recrutement du personnel.


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Trinidad and Tobago

To Establish a Contact Centre to Address the Needs of National Scholars (Local and International) of Trinidad and Tobago (TT0005)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Not Attached

Action Plan Cycle: 2014

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Public Administration

Support Institution(s): iGovTT / Government Human Resource Services Company (GHRS), User / Citizens Panels

Policy Areas

Education

IRM Review

IRM Report: Trinidad and Tobago End-of-Term Report 2014-2016

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Provide a virtual call centre for delivery of services to national scholars and their associates.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

1.5 Establish a Contact Centre to Address needs of National Scholars

Commitment Text: Provide a virtual call centre for delivery of services to national scholars and their associates.

Milestones:

1.   Development of virtual call centre policies and processes

2.   Development of proposal

3.   Delivery of terms of reference for the establishment of a virtual call centre

4.   Establishment of a project steering committee

1.     Procurement of ICT solution/selection of vendor

2.     Recruitment of staff (CSAs, administrators, supervisors, managers)

3.     Implementation of solution

4.     Outfitting of call centre

5.     Launch of Scholarships and Advanced Training Division website

Responsible Institution: Ministry of Public Administration and Communications (MPAC)

Supporting Institutions: The National Information and Communication Technology Company (iGovTT), Government Human Resource Services Company (GHRS), user and citizen panels

Start Date: August 2014                                                                     .............  End Date: July 2015

Commitment Aim

This commitment seeks to increase access to information for national scholarship awardees using an online platform and virtual call centre. Scholarship awardees face major challenges accessing information on the status of their scholarships and related matters, especially while abroad. This e-government initiative fits into the broader framework of the TTDS. The Scholarships and Advanced Training Division (SATD) achieved TTDS certification in 2014.

Status

Midterm: Unclear

Public officials report that the Trinidad and Tobago cabinet approved funding for a virtual call centre.

The government did not provide verification documents regarding development of call centre policies and processes, or the award of a contract. However, an online search revealed a virtual portal for the contact centre.[Note 12: Scholarship and Advanced Training Division, “Contact us,” http://www.scholarships.gov.tt/home/index.php/contact-us. This site has been upgraded to include a contact link.] Interviewed public officials stated that the contact centre will initially serve scholars via phone and email, and the IRM researcher verified this claim.[Note 13: Scholarship and Advanced Training Division, “Service Charter,” Ministry of Public Administration and Communications, February 2014, http://www.scholarships.gov.tt/home/images/docs/resources/Service_CharterSATD_March_2014.pdf. ]

However, the progress of the phone and email effort could not be verified; therefore, the completion of this commitment was unclear. No further evidence was provided on the establishment of user panels,[Note 14: Public Service of Trinidad and Tobago, How to Produce and Use Charters for Public Services: A Practical Handbook for Ministries and Agencies (draft report, 18 May 2012), 16, http://www.mpac.gov.tt/diamond/content/service-improvement] which the IRM researcher believes could improve citizen validation of this commitment. For further information, please see the midterm IRM evaluation report.[Note 15: Open Government Partnerships, Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM): Trinidad and Tobago progress report 2014­–2015, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/TrinidadTobago_14-15_Final_0.pdf. ]

End of term: Limited

According to the public officials interviewed,[Note 16: Interviews were conducted with two public officials at the Ministry of Public Administration and Communications.] this commitment’s implementation has stalled. There has been no further progress since the midterm IRM progress report. The government reported that Milestones 1 to 5 were implemented, but it provided no verification documents. Therefore, the progress is coded as limited. The SATD applied for TTDS certification. It did not achieve certification, but it was highly commended (which is one tier down from certification). Public officials did not provide any further reason for why it did not achieve certification.

Interviews revealed that staffing for this commitment is being explored. However, the effort suffered a major setback after the ministry responsible for this commitment changed. The MPAC initially held the portfolio for SATD. A change in government administration shifted this division to the Ministry of Education. Public officials stated that a prospective vendor is willing to operate the call centre, but no decision has been made regarding operation.

Did it open government?

Access to information: Did not change

In 2015, 443 scholarships were awarded, but citizens and potential national scholars have challenges accessing scholarship information.[Note 17: “443 National Scholarships Winners Announced,” Trinidad and Tobago Newsday, 17 October 2015, http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,218603.html. ] This commitment seeks to increase citizen access to scholarship-related information through the SATD website by including an interactive portal for citizens. The IRM progress report deemed this commitment as having a minor potential impact. It will provide an initial platform for information-sharing, which in turn can increase transparency, but deeper and more pressing issues present themselves in the lack of transparency in the scholarship awarding. (See the IRM midterm report.[Note 18: Open Government Partnerships, Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM): Trinidad and Tobago progress report 2014­–2015, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/TrinidadTobago_14-15_Final_0.pdf. ]) While this commitment has the potential to increase information-sharing, it failed to achieve this due to limited implementation. The IRM researcher concluded that this commitment did not change government openness, nor did it enhance access to information mechanisms or the quality of government data communicated to citizens.

During interviews, CSOs expressed the need for greater transparency in awarding scholarships but gave no specific feedback on the implementation of this commitment.[Note 19: Interviews were conducted with various civil society organisations from 15 September to 24 September 2016.] It is also important to note that while CSOs are interested in this and other public service improvement commitments, they lack the capacity to fully understand this commitment without government engagement.

Carried forward?

At the writing of this report, the government did not begin consultation to develop the next action plan.

This commitment should be retained, given the level of importance citizens and scholarship awardees have placed on access to relevant and timely information. In addition, this commitment should be modified to include a public feedback mechanism—like the user panels in the TTDS certification process—and a mechanism that will increase government transparency in the awarding of scholarships. For example, the government could release data on the scores of awardees or criteria for scoring to qualify for scholarships.

To complete this commitment, the government must invest in the necessary human resources to staff the centre and launch the website. The IRM researcher notes that Trinidad and Tobago is currently in a recession and that this negatively impacts staff recruitment.


Commitments

  1. To Certify Public Agencies’ Service Quality

    TT0001, 2014, Capacity Building

  2. To Develop Human Resources Management Capacity in the Public Service

    TT0002, 2014, Capacity Building

  3. To Conduct a Pilot Project for the Development and Introduction of a “Easier Life for Citizens” Index

    TT0003, 2014, Public Service Delivery

  4. To Develop Interactive Media on Government Business Processes and Programs to Better Access Government Services

    TT0004, 2014, Public Service Delivery

  5. To Establish a Contact Centre to Address the Needs of National Scholars (Local and International) of Trinidad and Tobago

    TT0005, 2014, Education

  6. To Adopt a Policy on Data Standards and Classification Frameworks

    TT0006, 2014, Open Data

  7. To Increase the Number of Publicly Accessible Government Datasets in Open Formats

    TT0007, 2014, Open Data

  8. To Conduct a Diagnostic Review of Public Information Needs

    TT0008, 2014, Open Data

  9. To Create an Easily Accessible Open Government Portal , with a Platform/Repository for Open Data, as Well as an Interface to Allow for Feedback from the Public

    TT0009, 2014, Open Data

  10. To Create a Civil Society Board

    TT0010, 2014, Public Participation

  11. To Audit the Accounts of the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs to International Standards

    TT0011, 2014, Audits and Controls

  12. To Make Publicly Available the Cadastre of Licenses and Contracts for the Exploration and Production of Oil and Gas in Trinidad and Tobago

    TT0012, 2014, E-Government

  13. To Include the Mineral Sector (Starting with National Quarries Company Ltd) in the TTEITI Reporting Mechanism

    TT0013, 2014, E-Government