Eligibility Criteria


To see a complete list of eligibility scores please click here to view a google document that is updated on a rolling basis.  


Fiscal Transparency

The timely publication of essential budget documents forms the basic building blocks of budget accountability and an open budget system.

Measurement: Two points awarded for publication of each of two essential documents (Executive’s Budget Proposal and Audit Report) for open budgets, using a sub-set indicators from the 2015 Open Budget Index, conducted by the International Budget Partnership.  

Open Budget Survey 2015 (in English).


Access to Information

An access to information law that guarantees the public’s right to information and access to government data is essential to the spirit and practice of open government.

Measurement:  4 points awarded to countries with access to information laws in place, 3 points if a country has a constitutional provision guaranteeing access to information, and 1 point if a country has a draft access to information law under consideration. Countries with both a constitutional provision and a draft law under consideration will only be awarded the 3 points for the constitutional provision. Information taken from an ongoing survey by Right2Info.org (a collaboration of the Open Society Institute Justice Initiative and Access Info Europe). 

Access to Information Laws.


Public Officials Asset Disclosure

Rules that require public disclosure of income and assets for elected and senior public officials are essential to anti-corruption and open, accountable government. It is also important to make the data publicly available.

Measurement: 4 points awarded to countries with a law requiring disclosure, and has any requirement that the information should be accessible to the public, 2 points awarded to countries with a law requiring asset disclosures, 0 points for no law on asset disclosure.

The source for the information on asset disclosures is the World Bank’s Public Officials Financial Disclosure database, which is updated on a rolling basis. The database is supplemented by a published survey the World Bank conducts every two years.

World Bank "Public Officials Financial Disclosure"


Citizen Engagement

Open Government requires openness to citizen participation and engagement in policymaking and governance, including basic protections for civil liberties.  

Measurement: Using the 2014 EIU Democracy Index’s Civil Liberties sub-indicator where 10 is the highest and 0 is the lowest score, 4 points for countries scoring above 7.5, 3 points for countries scoring above 5, 2 points for countries scoring above 2.5, and 0 points otherwise. 

Economist Intelligence Unit "Democracy Index 2014"


Overall Scoring

Eligibility to join OGP is determined by evaluations of countries’ performance in these four critical areas of open government. Countries can earn a total of 16 points for their performance in these four metrics, or 12 points if they are not measured in one of the metrics. Countries that earn 75% of the applicable points (either 12 out of 16 or 9 out of 12) or more are eligible to join. As some of the indices OGP uses do not cover all countries, some countries are only measured on three criteria (and can earn up to 12 points).


Countries not assessed in a database for any of the metrics or those with recent updates are encouraged to provide additional information to the Support Unit and any information will be assessed independently by subject matter experts.  This independent group of experts will evaluate the submitted documents and evidence for participation to ensure that all OGP participating countries remain in good standing and that the performance measures are up to date. The OGP Support Unit works with this independent group of experts to review countries scores each year and posts the updated results to the OGP website.  The Support Unit will inform the Steering Committee if a participating country falls below the minimum eligibility criteria at any point.


For any questions, or for governments wishing to provide OGP with additional information regarding their performance on the eligibility criteria, please contact the OGP Support Unit at info@opengovpartnership.org



Countries Eligible to Participate in the Open Government Partnership

In order to participate in OGP, governments must exhibit a demonstrated commitment to open government in four key areas, as measured by objective indicators and validated by independent experts. As of December 31, 2015 99 countries are eligible to join in OGP (two others are below the threshold but already participating and therefore must take action to maintain their eligibility in 2016).  Any government can join OGP at any time once they have demonstrated that they meet these minimum criteria, and can contact OGP at info@opengovpartnership.org for more information.


Non-Participating Countries Eligible to Join OGP

  • Angola
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bhutan
  • Ethiopia
  • Guyana
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Uganda
  • Zambia


Expressions of interest from non-eligible governments