Skip Navigation

2018 Civil Society Steering Committee Selection

The 2018 civil society selection process has now completed. We are thrilled to welcome Danny Sriskandarajah (Civicus) and Delia Ferreira Rubio (Transparency International) as our new Civil Society Steering Committee members. Danny and Delia will take up their seats in October.

For the first time, the Civil Society Steering Committee will have two ‘additional members’ who will support the work of the group as a whole: Lucy McTernan (Scotland) and Scott Miller (Volunteer New Zealand). Since they serve as additional members, they will not have voting rights.

This page captures each stage of the selection process as outlined in the Civil Society Mandate and Selection. The Selection Committee consisted of two volunteers from the community, two current members of the Steering Committee, and a representative of the Support Unit, as per the Civil Society Mandate and Selection policy. Undral Gombodorj (Democracy Education Center, Mongolia), Ziya Guliyev (Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum, Azerbaijan), Maria Baron (OGP Steering Committee), Aidan Eyakuze (OGP Steering Committee) and Paul Maassen (OGP Support Unit) constituted the 2018 selection committee.

Below, you will find the full list of candidates who submitted complete applications, along with the CV, cover letter and writing sample they shared. You will also find the initial scores awarded to them by the Selection Committee. For a full list of the criteria used to assign these scores, we again refer you to the Civil Society Mandate and Selection:

For more information on the rotation process and the role of the Steering Committee, please refer to the Steering Committee Selection tab.

Click arrows below to scroll the table.

First name Last name Organization Based in Application Documents Shortlisted? Initial Scoring
Larissa Galdino de Magalhães Santos Institute of Philosophy and Human Science University City Zeferino Vaz, Campinas – Brazil Brazil CV | Letter | Sample No 7-22
Laila Chiadmi Faculty of Sciences, Granada, Spain Spain Letter No 7-22
Auwal Musa Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Centre Nigeria CV | Letter | Sample Yes 23
Moses Thabang Modisane Tsholetsang Foundation, South Africa CV | Letter | Sample No 7-22
Bakytbek Satybekov Public Union Alliance on Citizens Initiatives Promotion Kyrgyzstan CV | Letter | Sample No 7-22
Aisha Khan Mountain and Glacier Protection Organization and Civil Society Coalition for Climate Change (CSCCC) Pakistan CV | Letter | Sample No 7-22
Danny Sriskandarajah Civicus South Africa / UK CV | Letter | Sample Yes 33
Scott Miller Volunteering New Zealand New Zealand CV | Letter | Sample Yes 23.4
Juan Manuel Roa Asociación Transparencia Pública Spain CV | Letter No 7-22
Lucy McTernan Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO) Scotland CV | Letter | Sample Yes 27.8
Delia Ferreira Rubio Transparency International Argentina CV | Letter | Sample Yes 31.4
Emmanuel Saffa Abdulai Society for Democratic Initiatives Sierra Leone CV | Letter No 7-22
Lindsey Marchessault Open Contracting Partnership Canada CV | Letter | Sample Yes 23.2

The six shortlisted candidates each had a one hour interview with the Selection Committee. They were also invited to participate in a public webinar, which took place on 16 May. A recording of that webinar is available here.

The Selection Committee came to a final decision on May 17, and their decision was endorsed by the current Civil Society Steering Committee members. Mukelani Dimba, Civil Society Co-Chair, informed the Steering Committee on June 5th, bringing this process to a close.

We thank the Selection Committee members for their time and dedication and once again welcome the new members to OGP’s Steering Committee. For questions or comments, please contact

Open Government Partnership