Skip Navigation

WEBINAR ON CITIZEN ENGAGEMENT ON LAW MAKING

Speakers
Andrew G. Mandelbaum, Senior Program Officer, National Democratic Institute (NDI) Cristiano Ferri Faria, Manager, Legislative e-Democracy Program, Brazilian House of Representatives
 
Description
That laws are made by the citizens who must live by them is a fundamental tenet of democracy. As noted in the recently launched Declaration on Parliamentary Openness, the right of citizens to participate in governance, including in lawmaking has been enshrined in international treaties and standards frameworks for democratic parliaments, as well as in many national constitutions. Through the Open Government Partnership, many government institutions have signaled a renewed commitment to engaging citizens in lawmaking and ensuring that laws enacted are reflective of citizens’ interests. While increased citizen engagement has potential to result in better laws that meet citizens’ needs, it may also invigorate citizens’ relationships with government and build confidence in democratic processes.
 
This webinar explores online and offline approaches to enhancing citizen participation in lawmaking processes by both government institutions and civic organizations. It also discusses lessons learned with respect to citizen engagement and prospects for increasing collaboration between government and civic groups to meet common goals.
 
Date & Time
Thursday, April 25, 2013 
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM EST | 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Brazil | 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM Morocco (14:00 GMT)

 

The Open Government Partnership Webinars is an initiative of the OGP Networking Mechanism to encourage peer learning and knowledge sharing on critical open government issues among civil society, government, and private sector participants.  

Filed Under: Webinar
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!