Skip Navigation

WEBINAR ON CODES OF PRACTICE ON CONSULTATIONS

Speakers
Edward Andersson, Involve
Urmo Kübar, Network of Estonian-Non Profit organizations
Paul Maasen, Independent Civil Society Coordinator, Open Government Partnership
 
Webinar Description
Consultations are key mechanism for involving citizens and stakeholders in policies and services. They are an important part of democratic governance and are in use in many countries around the world. The reasons for conducting consultations vary; for some it is about access to information and power, for some it is about improving the evidence base for policy and for yet others it is about increasing public trust in the decision making process. The way that Consultations are run in many cases fail to achieve these goals,  often being counter-productive. 
 
The session will look at how to design consultations in a way which empowers participants, captures valuable new data and increases public trust. This webinar session will look at best practice from the UK, Estonia and elsewhere. Also shared will be best practices on conducting consultations in the context of the Open Government Partnership. Robust consultations with citizens and civil society is a key requirement for creating OGP national action plans. 
 
Date & Time
Tuesday, January 22, 2013
10:00 – 11:30 AM Washington DC | 3:00 – 4:30 PM London, UK | 5:00 – 6:30 PM Tallinn, Estonia
 
 
Filed Under: Webinar
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!