Skip Navigation

Participating Governments

Category: Basics | Back to Glossary

OGP participating countries and locals – often referred to as OGP members – are committed to working with civil society to strengthen their adherence to open government values. To join OGP as a participating country, countries must exhibit a demonstrated commitment to open government by meeting a set of minimum performance criteria and endorse the Open Government Declaration. Local jurisdictions from OGP participating countries are also eligible to apply to join OGP and are assessed based on a separate set of eligibility criteria.

Once recognized as an OGP participating country or local, governments regularly submit action plans co-created with civil society that outline concrete commitments to enhance transparency, accountability and public participation in government.

See also: Core Eligibility Criteria, Values Check, Open Government Declaration, Non-Universally Recognized State, Local Eligibility Criteria

Filed Under: Basics
Open Government Partnership