Ignorer la navigation
Estonie

Augmentation de la capacité d'engagement des autorités de l'État et de la capacité de participation des organisations non gouvernementales à l'élaboration des politiques (EE0044)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Troisième plan d'action PGO de l'Estonie 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Bureau du gouvernement

Institution (s) de soutien: Ministères; Organisations non gouvernementales

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, Législation et réglementation, Législatives, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice estonien 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours de l'Estonie 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: non

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs du PGO: la participation citoyenne

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Description de la situation actuelle ou du problème résolu grâce à l'engagement Une bonne pratique en matière d'engagement a été mise au point pour soutenir l'engagement; L'importance de la transparence et de la prévisibilité de l'élaboration des lois est soulignée par les Règles de bonne pratique législative et de rédaction législative. Les pratiques d'engagement varient et doivent être renforcées pour garantir une plus grande transparence dans la formulation des politiques et la prise en compte équilibrée des intérêts des différentes parties. Objectif principal L’activité vise à améliorer la qualité de l’élaboration des politiques grâce au fait que l’engagement est devenu systématique parce que les conditions nécessaires ont été créées pour le réaliser. les organisations non gouvernementales ont amélioré leur capacité à participer à ce processus. Pour cela, des projets d'engagement sont entrepris pour contribuer à la réalisation de cet objectif. Brève description de l'engagement (max. 140 caractères) Améliorer la qualité de l'élaboration des politiques en soutenant l'augmentation de la capacité d'engagement des autorités de l'État et de la capacité de participation des partenaires non gouvernementaux à l'élaboration des politiques. Le test de nouvelles solutions liées à l'engagement, l'élaboration de la politique d'engagement de l'État et le développement de la capacité des organisations non gouvernementales à participer à l'élaboration des politiques sont soutenus.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Engagement 6: Augmentation de la capacité d'engagement des autorités de l'État et de la capacité de participation des organisations non gouvernementales à l'élaboration des politiques

Texte d'engagement:

Améliorer la qualité de l'élaboration des politiques en soutenant l'augmentation de la capacité d'engagement des autorités de l'État et de la capacité de participation des partenaires non gouvernementaux dans l'élaboration des politiques. Le test de nouvelles solutions liées à l'engagement, l'élaboration de la politique d'engagement de l'État et le développement de la capacité des organisations non gouvernementales à participer à l'élaboration des politiques sont soutenus.

Jalons:

6.1. Planification et mise en œuvre de projets

Institution responsable: Bureau du gouvernement

Institutions de soutien: Ministères, organisations non gouvernementales

Date d'entrée en vigeur: 1 Juillet 2016       

Date de fin: 30 juin 2018

But de l'engagement

Cet engagement visait à soutenir l'engagement des OSC dans le processus d'élaboration des politiques en finançant trois types de projets: 1) le test de nouvelles solutions d'engagement, 2) l'élaboration de la politique d'engagement de l'État et 3) le développement des OSC. capacité de participation. Les institutions gouvernementales et les organisations de la société civile civiles ont été invitées à proposer leurs idées de projet au bureau du gouvernement dans l'une des trois catégories.

Statut

À mi-parcours: limité

Au cours de la première année du plan d'action, le comité de sélection de projet du Bureau du gouvernement (composé lors du précédent plan d'action et réunissant un nombre égal d'experts gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux) a approuvé trois propositions de projet. UNE Le mécanisme de financement des Fonds structurels européens géré par le gouvernement a été utilisé pour financer les trois projets.

À mi-parcours, deux projets étaient terminés, l'un était en cours et quatre propositions étaient à l'examen. Les projets achevés comprenaient les développements techniques du système d'information sur les projets de loi (EIS), qui soutenait la mise en œuvre de l'engagement 4 dans le plan d'action actuel, et un projet du ministère de l'Environnement soutenant l'engagement du public dans l'élaboration d'une politique climatique. stratégie pour 2050. Le réseau estonien des organisations à but non lucratif (NENO) et Policy Center Praxis (un groupe de réflexion non gouvernemental) ont mis en œuvre le projet en cours «Programme de développement des OSC - Advocacy Lab» et ont pour objectif de former des dirigeants de la société civile et de conseiller les organisations de la société civile 25 de renforcer leur plaidoyer politique capacité.

Fin du mandat: Achevée

À la fin du plan d’action, le projet de laboratoire de plaidoyer des OSC était terminé et le Conseil national de la jeunesse d’Estonie et le Réseau d’entreprises sociales d’Estonie avaient pleinement mis en œuvre un autre projet: une analyse de l’impact social des organisations de jeunesse. Ce projet a évalué la capacité institutionnelle des organisations de jeunesse estoniennes à représenter les intérêts des jeunes et à participer aux processus décisionnels publics, a cartographié les besoins de ces organisations et a proposé un modèle pour une évaluation systématique du rôle et de l'influence des organisations de jeunesse.[Note 45: voir le rapport d’évaluation final: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/noorteuhenduste_moju_analuus_raport.pdf ] Au moment de la rédaction du rapport de fin de session, le ministère des Affaires rurales avait lancé un projet supplémentaire visant à associer les parties prenantes à l’élaboration d’une stratégie politique pour 2030 dans les domaines de l’agriculture et de la pêche. À cette fin, le ministère engage des intervenants et des experts par le biais du comité directeur de la stratégie, des groupes de travail thématiques et des événements d'information du public organisés tout au long de 2018 et 2019.[Remarque: 46: Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur le processus de stratégie et les possibilités de participation sur le site Web du ministère: https://www.agri.ee/et/eesmargid-tegevused/pollumajanduse-ja-kalanduse-valdkonna-arengukava-aastani-2030 ]. Enfin, le comité de sélection de projet a approuvé une autre idée de projet à financer. Le ministère de l'Intérieur a proposé ce projet qui vise à accroître la capacité de partenariat stratégique des organisations du secteur public et des partenaires non gouvernementaux. Le projet étant actuellement en préparation, les activités exactes du projet et les détails restent à préciser.

Au total, quatre projets soutenant l'engagement et la participation civiques ont été pleinement mis en œuvre au cours de la période du plan d'action.[Note 47: Une liste complète des projets financés et des rapports de projets est disponible sur le site Web du bureau du gouvernement: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/et/kaasamisprojektid-2015-2020 ] Étant donné que le texte de l'engagement n'incluait aucun indicateur quantitatif ou qualitatif vérifiable autre que l'objectif de financement et de mise en œuvre de projets, cet engagement peut être considéré comme achevé.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Participation civique: marginale

Cet engagement visait à remédier à l’écart existant entre les pratiques d’élaboration des politiques et les principes et directives existants concernant la participation du public aux processus d’élaboration des politiques spécifiés dans des documents, tels que Règles de bonne pratique législative et de rédaction législative et Bonne pratique de la participation. L'objectif du financement de projets dans le domaine de la participation publique était de faire de l'engagement et de la participation civiques un élément systématique des processus d'élaboration des politiques, améliorant ainsi la qualité des décisions publiques.

Selon les rapports de projet disponibles en ligne, le rapport d'auto-évaluation de fin de mandat du gouvernement, les points de vue des organisations impliquées dans la mise en œuvre des projets exprimés dans le rapport d'avancement de la GIR, ainsi que des entretiens réalisés pour le rapport de fin de période de la GIR, les projets ont eu des effets positifs sur la participation civique. Par exemple, le projet d’engagement du public dans la stratégie de politique climatique est considéré comme ayant clairement amélioré les pratiques d'engagement du public du ministère de l'Environnement.[Note 48: Ce point de vue a été exprimé par Kairi Toiger (ministère de l'Environnement) dans le rapport d'avancement de l'IRM] Le rapport de projet indique que l'initiative a impliqué des représentants de plus de groupes d'intérêt 80 élaborant la stratégie nationale de politique climatique de 2050 à travers les travaux de cinq groupes de travail thématiques, des réunions 22 et une communication active par courrier électronique.[Remarque 49: voir https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/kliimapoliitika_kaasamisprojekti_6ppetunnid.pdf ] Le ministère de l'Environnement n'avait pas encore mené de processus de participation des parties prenantes de cette ampleur.[Note 50: Compte rendu de la réunion du comité de sélection de projets, 11 March 2015: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/kaasamisprojektide_komisjoni_i_koosolek_11.03.2015_rk_kodulehele.pdf ] En plus d'organiser des activités d'engagement civique, le ministère a engagé un consultant en engagement civique pour former, conseiller et soutenir ses représentants dans la planification et la mise en œuvre d'activités d'engagement civique. Le projet a donc procuré au ministère une expérience importante de la mobilisation des intervenants et a contribué à sa capacité à entreprendre des initiatives similaires à l'avenir.

Cependant, en raison de la petite taille des projets financés et réalisés dans le cadre de l'engagement 6, l'impact global de cet engagement sur les pratiques d'engagement du public du gouvernement reste limité. Par exemple, sur la base de l'évaluation de l'engagement 4 ci-dessus (élaboration de politiques plus inclusive au niveau du gouvernement central), la mise à niveau du système d'information sur les projets de loi (EIS) n'a probablement eu aucun effet en termes d'ouverture du gouvernement. Dans le même temps, Alari Rammo de NENO estime que le projet de laboratoire de plaidoyer des OSC a légèrement accru la capacité de plaidoyer des organisations non gouvernementales en matière de politique.[Note 51: Alari Rammo (Réseau d’organisations estoniennes à but non lucratif), interview du chercheur IRM, 7 November 2018] Le rapport final du projet indique que les résultats quantitatifs et qualitatifs attendus du projet ont été atteints et que les organisations de la société civile participantes ont déclaré améliorer leurs connaissances et leurs compétences en matière de plaidoyer politique et de participation aux processus décisionnels publics.[Note 52: Voir le rapport final du projet: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/huvikaitselabori_koondaruanne.pdf ] Bien que sceptique quant à la possibilité de modifier radicalement les pratiques d'élaboration des politiques d'ici deux ans, Rammo souligne toutefois l'importance d'une expérience de collaboration positive et d'expériences de partenariat pour faire évoluer les pratiques de participation civique à long terme. Cela met en évidence la valeur des projets de financement tels que ceux mis en œuvre dans le domaine de la politique climatique, de l'agriculture et de la pêche, dans lesquels les organisations du secteur public conçoivent et mettent en œuvre des processus de participation des parties prenantes à grande échelle pour acquérir une expérience pratique et en tirer des enseignements. Selon le bureau du gouvernement, le gouvernement prévoit de prendre en compte les résultats et les suggestions développés dans ces projets dans ses activités futures. [Note 53: Le MRI a reçu cette information du bureau du gouvernement pendant la période d'examen de la publication préalable. Le commentaire a été reçu par courrier électronique sur 25 February 2019.] Par conséquent, l'impact réel de cet engagement ne sera probablement visible que dans les années à venir.

Reportés?

Cet engagement a été reporté dans le quatrième plan d'action de l'Estonie (engagement 2 - «Définir un processus d'élaboration des politiques inclusif, axé sur les connaissances, axé sur le citoyen et le développement des compétences». Dans le prochain plan d'action, la participation des citoyens et leur engagement dans les processus décisionnels seront soutenus par un module spécifique d'un programme de formation de la fonction publique destiné aux fonctionnaires, y compris les cadres supérieurs et les coordinateurs de l'engagement du public dans les ministères, ainsi que les OSC. Les formations visent à accroître les compétences des agents publics en matière de participation des citoyens, de conception de politiques centrées sur les citoyens et d'évaluation de l'impact social de ces politiques. Cet engagement vise à renforcer l’engagement et la capacité de participation des responsables de 700 et des activistes de la société civile d’ici la fin de la période du plan d’action.


Engagements

  1. Élaboration de politiques transparente et inclusive

    EE0048, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Élaboration de politiques inclusives

    EE0049, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  3. Transparence du Riigikogu

    EE0050, 2018, Accès à l'information

  4. Plans d'action des gouvernements nationaux et locaux

    EE0051, 2018, Prestation de services publics

  5. Présentation des services publics locaux

    EE0052, 2018, Accès à l'information

  6. Renforcement des capacités de la démocratie participative

    EE0053, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  7. e-Tax and Customs Board 2020

    EE0039, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  8. Réduire la bureaucratie et un État plus simple - le projet Zéro bureaucratie

    EE0040, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  9. Mise en œuvre des principes de la gouvernance ouverte au niveau local à la suite de la réforme administrative

    EE0041, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Élaboration de politiques plus inclusives au niveau du gouvernement central

    EE0042, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  11. Une législation plus ouverte et transparente

    EE0043, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  12. Augmentation de la capacité d'engagement des autorités de l'État et de la capacité de participation des organisations non gouvernementales dans l'élaboration des politiques

    EE0044, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Intensifier la budgétisation participative au niveau local

    EE0045, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Accroître la transparence du financement des organisations non gouvernementales

    EE0046, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  15. Définir la démocratie participative et développer les compétences numériques dans l'éducation scolaire

    EE0047, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  16. Visualisation du processus d'élaboration des politiques

    EE0016, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  17. Mise à niveau des canaux de participation

    EE0017, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  18. Amélioration du site Web du gouvernement

    EE0018, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  19. Norme pour les demandes d'informations

    EE0019, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  20. Avis préalable sur les processus d'élaboration des politiques

    EE0020, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  21. Participation à la prise de décision à un stade précoce

    EE0021, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  22. Accès anticipé aux décisions de politique fiscale

    EE0022, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  23. Meilleur mécanisme de rétroaction

    EE0023, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  24. Sélection et financement des projets de participation

    EE0024, 2014, Espace civique

  25. Outil Web pour la soumission des mémoires collectifs

    EE0025, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  26. Directives pour la participation des fonctionnaires

    EE0026, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  27. Formation des organisations de la société civile (OSC)

    EE0027, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  28. Transactions du gouvernement central

    EE0028, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  29. Transactions des autorités locales avec des entités privées

    EE0029, 2014, Espace civique

  30. Dépenses publiques à but non lucratif

    EE0030, 2014, Espace civique

  31. Lignes directrices pour la budgétisation des citoyens

    EE0031, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  32. Lignes directrices pour la refonte des services publics

    EE0032, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  33. Registre des services publics

    EE0033, 2014, Accès à l'information

  34. Services publics centrés sur l'utilisateur

    EE0034, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  35. Accès aux services électroniques pour les non-résidents

    EE0035, 2014, Citoyenneté et Immigration

  36. Open Data Portal

    EE0036, 2014, Accès à l'information

  37. Données d'ouverture

    EE0037, 2014, Accès à l'information

  38. Soutenir l'utilisation de données ouvertes non gouvernementales

    EE0038, 2014, Accès à l'information

  39. Rédaction d'un livre vert sur l'organisation des services publics

    EE0001, 2012, Prestation de services publics

  40. Mise en œuvre du plan d'action Eesti.Ee

    EE0002, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  41. Rédaction d'un livre vert sur la mise à disposition de données publiques sous une forme lisible par machine

    EE0003, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  42. Création d'un référentiel de données publiques

    EE0004, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  43. Lancement de projets pilotes de services de données publiques basés sur la technologie Cloud

    EE0005, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  44. Directives interactives et formation à la mise en œuvre des bonnes pratiques d'engagement du public

    EE0006, 2012,

  45. Lancement du système d'évaluation d'impact

    EE0007, 2012, Législation et réglementation

  46. Aperçu des processus de travail des ministères

    EE0008, 2012, Renforcement des capacités

  47. Intégration de l'évaluation d'impact dans le processus de participation du public

    EE0009, 2012, Législation et réglementation

  48. Création d'une base de données de déclarations d'intérêts économiques

    EE0010, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  49. Ajustement du système de financement des associations à but non lucratif et mise en place d'un système de divulgation

    EE0011, 2012, secteur privé

  50. Engagement étoilé Élaboration d'une proposition pour l'élaboration d'une stratégie anti-corruption

    EE0012, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  51. Projet de loi anti-corruption

    EE0013, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  52. Création du conseil d'éthique publique

    EE0014, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  53. Organisation de la formation en éthique pour les employés de diverses organisations du secteur public (y compris les fonctionnaires)

    EE0015, 2012, Renforcement des capacités

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Estonia

Increase of the Engagement Capacity of State Authorities and Participation Capacity of Nongovernmental Organisations in Policy-Making (EE0044)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Estonia’s Third OGP Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Government Office

Support Institution(s): Ministries; Non-governmental organisations

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Legislation & Regulation, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Estonia End-of-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Description of the current situation or problem resolved through the commitment Good practice of engagement has been developed to support engagement; the importance of transparency and predictability of law-making is emphasised by the Rules for Good Legislative Practice and Legislative Drafting. Engagement practice varies and it needs strengthening to ensure that policy-making is more transparent and that the interests of various parties are taken into account in a balanced manner. Main aim The aim of the activity is to improve the quality of policy-making by way of the fact that engagement has become systematic because the necessary conditions have been created for it; non-governmental organisations have improved capacity to participate in this process. For this, engagement projects are undertaken that will assist in the achievement of this aim. Short description of the commitment (max 140 characters) Improve the quality of policy-making by supporting the increase in the engagement capacity of state authorities and participation capacity of nongovernmental partners in policy-making. The testing of new engagementrelated solutions, the development of the state’s engagement policy, and the development of the capacity of non-governmental organisations to participate in policy-making are supported.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Commitment 6: Increase of the engagement capacity of state authorities and participation capacity of non-governmental organizations in policy-making

Commitment Text:

Improve the quality of policy-making by supporting the increase in the engagement capacity of state authorities and participation capacity of non-governmental partners in policy-making. The testing of new engagement-related solutions, the development of the state’s engagement policy, and the development of the capacity of non-governmental organizations to participate in policy-making are supported.

Milestones:

6.1. Planning and implementing projects

Responsible Institution: Government Office

Supporting Institutions: Ministries, non-governmental organizations

Start Date: 1 July 2016       

End Date: 30 June 2018

Commitment Aim

This commitment sought to support the engagement of CSOs in the policy-making process by providing funding to three types of projects: 1) the testing of new engagement solutions, 2) the development of the state’s engagement policy, and 3) the development of CSO participation capacity. Government institutions and civil CSOs were invited to propose their project ideas to the Government Office in any of the three categories.

Status

Midterm: Limited

During the first year of the action plan, the project selection committee at the Government Office (composed during the previous action plan and involving an equal number of governmental and non-governmental experts) approved three project proposals. A European Structural Funds financing scheme managed by the Government Office was used for funding the three projects.

By the midterm, two projects had been completed, one was ongoing, and four proposals were under consideration. The completed projects included the technical developments of the Information System of Draft Acts (EIS), which supported the implementation of Commitment 4 in the current action plan, and a project of the Ministry of the Environment supporting public engagement in the development of a climate policy strategy for 2050. The Estonian Network of Nonprofit Organizations (NENO) and Policy Centre Praxis (a non-governmental think tank) had implemented the ongoing project “CSO Development Program – Advocacy Lab” and aimed to train civil society leaders and counsel 25 CSOs to increase their policy advocacy capacity.

End of Term: Complete

By the end of the action plan, the CSO advocacy lab project had been completed, and the Estonian National Youth Council and the Estonian Social Enterprise Network had fully implemented one more project – an analysis of the social impact of youth organizations. This project evaluated the institutional capacity of Estonian youth organizations to represent the interests of youth and to participate in public decision-making processes, mapped these organizations’ needs, and proposed a model for a systematic evaluation of the role and influence of youth organizations.[Note 45: See the final evaluation report: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/noorteuhenduste_moju_analuus_raport.pdf ] At the time of the writing of the end-of-term report, the Ministry of Rural Affairs had started an additional project that aims to engage stakeholders in the development of a policy strategy for 2030 in the field of agriculture and fisheries. To this end, the ministry is engaging stakeholders and experts through the strategy steering committee, thematic working groups, and public information events throughout 2018 and 2019[Note 46: More information on the strategy process and participation opportunities can be found on the ministry’s website: https://www.agri.ee/et/eesmargid-tegevused/pollumajanduse-ja-kalanduse-valdkonna-arengukava-aastani-2030 ]. Finally, the project selection committee has approved one more project idea for funding. The Ministry of Internal Affairs proposed this project, which aims to increase the strategic partnership capacity of public sector organizations and non-governmental partners. As the project is currently in preparation, the project’s exact activities and details are yet to be specified.

Altogether, four projects supporting civic engagement and participation were fully implemented during the action plan period.[Note 47: A full list of the funded projects and project reports are available on the Government Office’s website: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/et/kaasamisprojektid-2015-2020 ] As the commitment text included no verifiable quantitative or qualitative indicators other than the goal of funding and implementing projects, the commitment can be considered completed.

Did It Open Government?

Civic Participation: Marginal

This commitment aimed to address the discrepancy between actual policy-making practices and the existing principles and guidelines for public participation in policy-making processes specified in documents, such as the Rules for Good Legislative Practice and Legislative Drafting and the Good Practice of Involvement. The objective of funding projects in the area of public participation was to make civic engagement and participation a systematic part of policy-making processes, thereby increasing the quality of public decisions.

According to the project reports available online, the government’s end-of-term self-assessment report, the views of the organizations involved in implementing the projects expressed in the IRM Progress Report, and interviews conducted for the IRM end-of-term report, the projects have had some positive effects on civic participation. For example, the public engagement project in the climate policy strategy is viewed as clearly having improved the public engagement practices of the Ministry of Environment.[Note 48: This view was expressed by Kairi Toiger (Ministry of Environment) in the IRM Progress Report] The project report states that the initiative involved representatives of more than 80 interest groups designing the national climate policy strategy for 2050 through the work of five thematic working groups, 22 meetings, and active email communication.[Note 49: See https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/kliimapoliitika_kaasamisprojekti_6ppetunnid.pdf ] The Ministry of Environment had not previously conducted stakeholder involvement processes of that scale.[Note 50: Minutes of the project selection committee meeting, 11 March 2015: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/kaasamisprojektide_komisjoni_i_koosolek_11.03.2015_rk_kodulehele.pdf ] In addition to holding civic engagement activities, the ministry hired a civic engagement consultant to train, advise, and support the ministry’s officials in the planning and implementation of civic engagement activities. The project thus gave the ministry an important experience in stakeholder engagement and contributed to the ministry’s capacity to undertake similar initiatives in the future.

However, due to the small scale of the projects funded and completed under Commitment 6, the overall impact of this commitment on the government’s public engagement practices remains limited. For example, based on the assessment of Commitment 4 above (more inclusive policy-making on a central government level), the upgrading of the Information System of Draft Acts (EIS) has likely had no effect in terms of opening government. At the same time, Alari Rammo from NENO sees the CSO advocacy lab project as having slightly increased the non-governmental organizations’ policy advocacy capacity.[Note 51: Alari Rammo (Network of Estonian Nonprofit Organizations), interview by IRM researcher, 7 November 2018] The project’s final report states that the project’s expected quantitative and qualitative results were achieved and the CSOs that participated reported improving their knowledge and skills of policy advocacy and participation in public decision-making processes.[Note 52: See the final report of the project: https://www.riigikantselei.ee/sites/default/files/content-editors/Failid/AVP/huvikaitselabori_koondaruanne.pdf ] Although Rammo is skeptical about the possibility to substantially change policy-making practices within a two-year period, he does highlight the importance of positive collaboration and partnership experiences in changing civic participation practices in the long term. This points to the value of funding projects such as those implemented in the field of climate policy and agriculture and fisheries wherein public sector organizations design and implement large-scale stakeholder engagement processes to gain hands-on experience and learn from the process. According to the Government Office, the government plans to take the outcomes and suggestions developed in these projects into account in future activities. [Note 53: The IRM received this information from the Government Office during the pre-publication review period. The comment was received by email on 25 February 2019.] Hence, the actual impact of this commitment will likely only be seen in the coming years.

Carried Forward?

This commitment has been carried forward to Estonia’s fourth action plan (Commitment 2 – “Shaping a policy-making process that is inclusive, knowledge-based, and citizen-centred, and developing skills”). In the next action plan, citizen participation and engagement in policy-making processes will be supported through a dedicated module in a civil service training program that is targeted to public officials, including top managers and public engagement coordinators in ministries, along with CSOs. The trainings aim to increase public officials’ skills in engaging citizens, designing citizen-centric policies, and assessing the social impact of policies. The commitment seeks to enhance the engagement and participation skills of 700 officials and civil society activists by the end of the action plan period.


Estonia's Commitments

  1. Transparent and Inclusive Policy Making

    EE0048, 2018, E-Government

  2. Inclusive Policy-Making

    EE0049, 2018, Capacity Building

  3. Riigikogu Transparency

    EE0050, 2018, E-Government

  4. National and Local Government Action Plans

    EE0051, 2018, Public Service Delivery

  5. Presentation of Local Public Services

    EE0052, 2018, E-Government

  6. Participatiory Democracy Capacity-Building

    EE0053, 2018, Capacity Building

  7. e-Tax and Customs Board 2020

    EE0039, 2016, E-Government

  8. Reducing Bureaucracy and a Simpler State – the Zero Bureaucracy Project

    EE0040, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Implementation of the Principles of Open Governance at Local Level as a Result of the Administrative Reform

    EE0041, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. More Inclusive Policy-Making on a Central Government Level

    EE0042, 2016, E-Government

  11. More Open and Transparent Law-Making

    EE0043, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  12. Increase of the Engagement Capacity of State Authorities and Participation Capacity of Nongovernmental Organisations in Policy-Making

    EE0044, 2016, Capacity Building

  13. Intensify Participatory Budgeting on a Local Level

    EE0045, 2016, E-Government

  14. Increasing the Transparency of the Funding of Non-Governmental Organisations

    EE0046, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  15. Defining Participatory Democracy and Development of Digital Competence in School Education

    EE0047, 2016, Capacity Building

  16. Visualisation of the Policy Making Process

    EE0016, 2014, Public Participation

  17. Upgrading Participation Channels

    EE0017, 2014, E-Government

  18. Improving Government Website

    EE0018, 2014, E-Government

  19. Standard for Information Requests

    EE0019, 2014, E-Government

  20. Early Notice on Policy-Making Processes

    EE0020, 2014, Public Participation

  21. Participation in Early Stage Policy-Making

    EE0021, 2014, Public Participation

  22. Early Access to Tax Policy Decisions

    EE0022, 2014, Public Participation

  23. Better Feedback Mechanism

    EE0023, 2014, Public Participation

  24. Selecting and Funding Participation Projects

    EE0024, 2014, Civic Space

  25. Web Tool

    EE0025, 2014, E-Government

  26. Civil Servant Guidelines for Participation

    EE0026, 2014, Capacity Building

  27. Training Civil Society Organizations (CSOs)

    EE0027, 2014, Capacity Building

  28. Central Government Transactions

    EE0028, 2014, E-Government

  29. Local Authorities' Transactions with Private Entities

    EE0029, 2014, Civic Space

  30. Public Spending for Non-Profits

    EE0030, 2014, Civic Space

  31. Guidelines for Citizen Budgeting

    EE0031, 2014, Capacity Building

  32. Guidelines for Redesigning Public Services

    EE0032, 2014, E-Government

  33. Registry of Public Services

    EE0033, 2014, Open Data

  34. User-Centric Public Services

    EE0034, 2014, E-Government

  35. Access to e-Services for Non-Residents

    EE0035, 2014, Citizenship and Immigration

  36. Open Data Portal

    EE0036, 2014, E-Government

  37. Opening Data

    EE0037, 2014, Capacity Building

  38. Supporting Nongovernmental Open Data Use

    EE0038, 2014, Capacity Building

  39. Drawing up a Green Paper on Organisation of Public Services

    EE0001, 2012, Public Service Delivery

  40. Implementation of the Eesti.Ee Action Plan

    EE0002, 2012, E-Government

  41. Drawing up a Green Paper on Making Public Data Available in a Machine-Readable Form

    EE0003, 2012, E-Government

  42. Creating a Repository of Public Data

    EE0004, 2012, E-Government

  43. Launching Pilot Projects of Public Data Services Based on the Cloud Technology

    EE0005, 2012, E-Government

  44. Interactive Guidelines and Training in Implementation of the Good Practice of Public Engagement

    EE0006, 2012, Open Contracting and Procurement

  45. Launch of the Impact Assessment System

    EE0007, 2012, Legislation & Regulation

  46. Overview of Ministries’ Work Processes

    EE0008, 2012, Capacity Building

  47. Integration of Impact Assessment Into the Process of Public Engagement

    EE0009, 2012, Legislation & Regulation

  48. Creation of a Database of Declarations of Economic Interests

    EE0010, 2012, Conflicts of Interest

  49. Adjustment of the System of Funding Non-Profit Associations and Establishment of a Disclosure System

    EE0011, 2012, Private Sector

  50. Starred commitment Drawing up a Proposal for Drawing up an Anti-Corruption Strategy

    EE0012, 2012, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  51. Draft Anti-Corruption Act

    EE0013, 2012, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  52. Establishment of the Public Ethics Council

    EE0014, 2012, Conflicts of Interest

  53. Organisation of Ethics Training for Employees of Various Public Sector Organisations (Incl. Public Servants)

    EE0015, 2012, Capacity Building