Ignorer la navigation
Liberia

Système de surveillance judiciaire du système judiciaire (LR0016)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Libéria, deuxième plan d'action national, 2015-2017

Cycle du plan d'action: 2015

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution principale: MOJ, Judiciary, JPC

Institution (s) de soutien: PUL, CEMESP CENTRAL, LMC, MINUL

Domaines politiques

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d'année du Liberia 2015-2017, Rapport d'avancement du Liberia 2015-2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable: non

Relatives aux valeurs OGP: Accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Publier une analyse trimestrielle des rapports judiciaires Indicateurs de performance: Nombre et fréquence de publication de l'analyse trimestrielle des déclarations judiciaires

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Pour plus de détails sur l'engagement, voir Rapport d'avancement du Liberia 2015-2017.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Cluster: Mise en œuvre de la nouvelle loi sur les jurés

2.1 Mise en œuvre de la nouvelle loi sur les jurés

(MICAT, LACC, GC, pouvoir judiciaire, MIA, MINISTÈRE DES FINANCES ET DE LA PLANIFICATION DU DÉVELOPPEMENT, avec le soutien de la MINUL, du PBF, de 15 juillet 2015 - 30 juin 2016).

Jalons:

· 2.1.1 approuver le budget du bureau de gestion des jurés

· 2.1.2 Mettre en place, recruter et former le personnel du bureau central de gestion des jurés

· 2.1.3 Sensibilisation sur le rôle des jurys

2.2 Améliorer le contrôle citoyen du système de justice

(MOJ, pouvoir judiciaire, JPC, avec le soutien de PUL, CENTRE, CEMESP, LMC, UNMIL, 10, octobre 2015 - 30, juin 2017).

Jalons:

· 2.2.1 Publish analyse trimestrielle des déclarations judiciaires

But de l'engagement:

Les lois du jury ont été modifiées dans 2013 afin de modifier le processus de sélection du jury. En vertu de ces engagements, un bureau de gestion du jury nouvellement créé supervisera la mise en œuvre de la loi mise à jour. Avant la période d'engagement, l'application de la loi modifiée sur les jurés avait stagné. Les jurys étaient souvent choisis au hasard et comprenaient des citoyens qui ne savaient pas que l'affaire était jugée. Ces engagements visent principalement à mettre en œuvre et à appliquer les lois modifiées et à garantir que les citoyens choisis pour siéger à des jurys soient bien informés du dossier afin que les procès se déroulent de manière équitable.

Engagement 2.1 se concentre sur les démarches administratives nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de la loi modifiée. Les activités comprennent l'approbation du budget pour la création d'un bureau central de gestion du jury, la création du bureau central à Monrovia et des bureaux régionaux dans les comtés, ainsi que le recrutement et la formation de personnel administratif. Le Bureau de gestion des jurés sera responsable de la sélection des jurés, de l’organisation du bassin central de jurés et de la détermination du nombre de jurés nécessaires au fonctionnement des cours de circuit. Il informera également les jurés potentiels / sélectionnés sur le droit et les processus juridiques et les aidera à comprendre leurs obligations civiques dans l'administration de la justice en tant que citoyens de la République du Libéria.

Engagement 2.2 cherche à renforcer le rôle des citoyens dans la surveillance du système judiciaire en publiant chaque trimestre les dates des procès-verbaux des tribunaux. La surveillance des citoyens pourrait rendre les fonctionnaires des tribunaux plus responsables envers le public. Comme indiqué, l'engagement manque toutefois de plans spécifiques et mesurables pour améliorer la participation des citoyens et la surveillance du système de justice; Par conséquent, l'impact attendu est mineur.

Statut

À mi-parcours:

Engagement 2.1: Complété

Le budget pour la création et la dotation en personnel du bureau central de gestion du jury a été approuvé et le bureau a été créé à Monrovia, au Temple de la justice. En outre, au-delà de la portée de l'engagement, des bureaux régionaux de gestion des jurés ont été établis dans huit comtés. Pour plus d'informations, consultez le rapport de mi-parcours IRM 2015 – 2016.

Engagement 2.2: limité

Cet engagement a eu des progrès limités au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre. Les données et informations sur les procès-verbaux des tribunaux ont été collectées, mais aucun rapport trimestriel judiciaire n'a été publié. Le point de contact OGP du gouvernement indique que les rapports doivent être publiés sur le portail de données ouvertes du Libéria, mais que le portail n'est pas encore en ligne, l'engagement est retardé. Pour plus d'informations, consultez le rapport de mi-parcours IRM 2015 – 2016.

Fin du mandat:

Engagement 2.1: Terminé

Le bureau de gestion des jurés est pleinement opérationnel et participe aux activités suivantes: a) la sélection des jurés; b) organiser le pool de jurés central et fixer le nombre de jurés nécessaires au fonctionnement des tribunaux de circuit et; c) informer les jurés potentiels / sélectionnés sur le droit et les processus juridiques afin de les aider à comprendre leurs obligations civiques dans l’administration de la justice. [Note37: Bureau de la gestion des jurés, Profil, http://judiciary.gov.lr/jury-management/]

Les bureaux auxiliaires de gestion du jury ont été installés dans huit des circuits judiciaires 16 à ce jour; à savoir: comté de Montserrado (premier circuit judiciaire), comté de Brand Bassa (deuxième circuit judiciaire), comté de Grand Gedeh (septième circuit judiciaire), comté de Nimba (huitième circuit judiciaire), comté de Bong (neuvième circuit judiciaire), comté de Lofa (dixième circuit judiciaire) ), Comté de Bomi (onzième circuit judiciaire) et comté de Margibi (treizième circuit judiciaire).

Engagement 2.2: Limité

Le rapport d’auto-évaluation indique que cet engagement a été rempli. Cependant, il n’existe pas de preuves suffisantes pour le confirmer. Le site web judiciaire (http://judiciary.gov.lr) ne fournit que des informations de base sur les processus et unités judiciaires au sein de la branche judiciaire. Aucune fonctionnalité ni aucun lien n'autorise le public à accéder aux dossiers des tribunaux et à l'analyse de leurs déclarations.

Un programme conjoint PNUD / MINUL intitulé «Renforcement de l'état de droit au Libéria: Justice et sécurité pour le peuple libérien (2016 – 2019)» [Note38: «Renforcement de l'État de droit au Libéria: Justice et sécurité pour le peuple libérien (2016- 2019) ”, http://www.lr.undp.org/content/dam/liberia/docs/docs/Procurement%20Notices/Guidance%20Note%20-%20Civil%20Society%20Roster%20(June%202017).pdf] a été mis au point en étroite concertation avec le pouvoir judiciaire, le ministère de la Justice et les principaux homologues institutionnels. Le programme vise, entre autres, renforcer les capacités et la confiance du public dans les différentes institutions chargées de la justice et de la sécurité, en renforçant l'accès à la justice, à la sécurité et aux services de protection, en particulier pour les femmes et les filles. Les interventions sont conçues de manière à assurer la durabilité et à relier les activités à l’élaboration de politiques «au niveau du système». L'un des résultats de ce projet est de renforcer la capacité des principaux acteurs et parties prenantes à surveiller les progrès et les résultats en matière de développement de l'état de droit.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Engagement 2.1

Accès à l'information: marginal

Participation civique: marginale

L'engagement a progressé sur les étapes administratives nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de la loi récemment modifiée. La mise en place du bureau de gestion des jurés, ainsi que des bureaux régionaux, constitue un premier pas énorme pour la formation et la sélection des jurés. Toutefois, selon les éléments de preuve existants, cet engagement n’a eu qu’un effet marginal sur l’ouverture des pratiques gouvernementales, car ces changements ne sont que les premières étapes administratives de la mise en œuvre de la loi sur le jury.

Engagement 2.2

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Le site Web de la magistrature offre peu d’informations sur le fonctionnement du système de justice ou sur l’accès aux archives judiciaires. Par conséquent, il n'y a pas de preuves suffisantes d'un changement dans la pratique du gouvernement.

Reportés?

Cet engagement a été reporté dans le prochain plan d'action avec les livrables suivants définis comme étapes:

· Bureaux du jury établis dans tous les comtés 15;

· Formation des magistrats 300 dans tous les comtés 15;

· Sensibilisation sur les rôles des jurys;

· Suivre les affaires devant les tribunaux pour éviter les retards dans le jugement;

· Initiative Open Justice par laquelle les citoyens contrôlent les tribunaux locaux, suivent les affaires et assurent le suivi du remboursement des frais de caution


Engagements

  1. Base de données de surveillance législative

    LR0027, 2017, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Publication des documents budgétaires

    LR0028, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  3. Loi sur la liberté d'information

    LR0029, 2017, Accès à l'information

  4. Surveillance citoyenne pour le système de justice

    LR0030, 2017, Accès à la justice

  5. Mécanisme de rétroaction pour renforcer la responsabilisation de la TNL

    LR0031, 2017, Accès à l'information

  6. Renforcement des capacités pour l'intégrité du gouvernement

    LR0032, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  7. Transparence dans l'autorité foncière

    LR0033, 2017, Gouvernement électronique

  8. Responsabilité et optimisation des ressources par le biais de contrats ouverts

    LR0034, 2017, Accès à l'information

  9. Registre de la propriété bénéficiaire

    LR0035, 2017, Accès à l'information

  10. Portail de navigation Open Data / Citizen

    LR0036, 2017, Accès à l'information

  11. Engagement étoilé Information sur les droits commerciaux d'utilisation des terres

    LR0011, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  12. Portail d'aide ouvert et publication des données sur l'aide

    LR0012, 2015, Accès à l'information

  13. Lien système de gestion financière à la plate-forme de gestion de l'aide

    LR0013, 2015, Aide

  14. Faciliter le suivi des fonds EVD

    LR0014, 2015, Accès à l'information

  15. Engagement étoilé Mise en œuvre de la nouvelle loi sur les jurés

    LR0015, 2015,

  16. Citzen Surveillance du système de justice

    LR0016, 2015,

  17. Education civique et engagement citoyen autour des outils hors ligne

    LR0017, 2015,

  18. Initiative Connaissez vos droits

    LR0018, 2015, Justice

  19. Loi sur la protection des dénonciateurs

    LR0019, 2015,

  20. Hubs de transparence

    LR0020, 2015, Participation publique

  21. Intégrité de la fonction publique

    LR0021, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  22. Plate-forme de commentaires des citoyens.

    LR0022, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  23. Gouvernement électronique

    LR0023, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Systèmes de gestion des dépenses publiques

    LR0024, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  25. Sécurité publique / Réforme de la loi

    LR0025, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  26. Open Data Portal

    LR0026, 2015, Accès à l'information

  27. Nommer des officiers d'information publique (PIO)

    LR0007, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  28. Populariser la loi sur la liberté de l'information

    LR0008, 2015, Accès à l'information

  29. Élargir l'Initiative sur le budget ouvert

    LR0009, 2015, Accès à l'information

  30. Information du public sur la réforme des terres et des ressources naturelles

    LR0010, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  31. Augmenter l'accès à l'information publique

    LR0001, 2013, Accès à l'information

  32. Initiative de budget ouvert

    LR0002, 2013, Gouvernement électronique

  33. Transparence des industries extractives

    LR0003, 2013, Anti-Corruption

  34. Participation citoyenne et dialogue

    LR0004, 2013, Participation publique

  35. Engagement étoilé Responsabilité et intégrité

    LR0005, 2013, Anti-Corruption

  36. Technologie et Innovation

    LR0006, 2013, Accès à l'information

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Liberia

Citzen Monitoring of Justice System (LR0016)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Liberia, Second National Action Plan, 2015-17

Action Plan Cycle: 2015

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: MOJ, Judiciary, JPC

Support Institution(s): PUL, CENTAL CEMESP, LMC, UNMIL

Policy Areas

IRM Review

IRM Report: Liberia End-of-Term Report 2015-2017, Liberia Progress Report 2015-2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Publish quarterly analysis of court returns Performance Indicators: Number and frequency of publication of quarterly analysis of court returns

IRM Midterm Status Summary

For Commitment details, see Liberia Progress Report 2015-2017.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Cluster: Implementation of the new Jury Law

2.1 Implementation of the new Jury Law

(MICAT, LACC, GC, Judiciary, MIA, MINISTRY OF FINANCE AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING, with support of UNMIL, PBF, 15 July 2015 – 30 June 2016).

Milestones:

· 2.1.1 Approve budget for the jury management office

· 2.1.2 Set up, recruit and train staff of the jury management central office

· 2.1.3 Awareness raising around the role of juries

2.2 Enhance Citizen monitoring of the justice system

(MOJ, Judiciary, JPC, with support of PUL, CENTAL, CEMESP, LMC, UNMIL, 10 October 2015 – 30 June 2017).

Milestones:

· 2.2.1 Publish quarterly analysis of court returns

Commitment Aim:

The Jury Laws were amended in 2013 to modify the process of jury selection. Under these commitments, a newly established Jury Management Office will oversee implementation of the updated law. Prior to the commitment period, implementation of the amended jury laws had stalled. Juries were often randomly selected and comprised citizens with no knowledge of the case being tried. These commitments primarily aim to implement and enforce the amended laws, and to ensure citizens selected to serve on juries are well informed about the case so that trials are conducted fairly.

Commitment 2.1 focuses on the administrative steps needed to implement the amended law. Activities include approving the budget to establish a central Jury Management Office, setting up the central office in Monrovia and regional offices in the counties, and recruiting and training administrative staff. The Jury Management Office will be responsible for jury selection, organizing the central jury pool, and ordering the number of jurors necessary for the functioning of Circuit Courts. It will also educate prospective/selected jurors on the law and legal processes and help them understand their civic duties in the administration of justice as citizens of the Republic of Liberia.

Commitment 2.2 seeks to increase the role of citizens in monitoring the justice system by publishing court returns dates each quarter. Citizen monitoring could make court officials more accountable to the public. As written, though, the commitment lacks specific, measurable plans to improve citizens’ involvement and oversight of the justice system; therefore, the expected impact is minor.

Status

Midterm:

Commitment 2.1: Completed

The budget for creating and staffing the central Jury Management Office has been approved and the office established in Monrovia at the Temple of Justice. In addition, beyond the scope of the commitment, regional jury management offices have been established in eight counties. For more information, please see the 2015–2016 IRM midterm report.

Commitment 2.2: Limited

This commitment had limited progress in the first year of implementation. Data and information on court returns have been collected but judiciary quarterly reports have not been forthcoming. The government’s OGP point of contact states that reports are to be published on the Liberia Open Data Portal, but as the portal is not yet online, the commitment is delayed. For more information, please see the 2015–2016 IRM midterm report.

End-of-Term:

Commitment 2.1: Completed

The Jury Management Office has been fully operational and engaged in a) jury selection; b) organizing the central jury pool and ordering the number of jurors necessary for the functioning of Circuit Courts and; c) providing education to prospective/selected jurors on the law and legal processes to help them understand their civic duties in the administration of justice.[Note37: Office of the Jury Management, Profile, http://judiciary.gov.lr/jury-management/%5D

The Jury Management sub-offices have been established in eight of the 16 judicial circuits to date; namely: Montserrado County (first Judicial Circuit), Brand Bassa County (second Judicial Circuit), Grand Gedeh County (seventh Judicial Circuit), Nimba County (eighth Judicial Circuit), Bong County (ninth Judicial Circuit), Lofa County (tenth Judicial Circuit), Bomi county (eleventh Judicial Circuit), and Margibi County (thirteenth Judicial Circuit).

Commitment 2.2: Limited

The self-assessment report indicates this commitment has been completed, however, there is no sufficient evidence to confirm it. The judiciary website (http://judiciary.gov.lr) only provides basic information about judiciary processes and units in the judiciary branch. There is no feature or link that allows the public to access court records and analysis of court returns.

A UNDP/UNMIL joint program “Strengthening the Rule of Law in Liberia: Justice and Security for the Liberian People (2016–2019)”[Note38: “Strengthening the Rule of Law in Liberia: Justice and Security for the Liberian People (2016-2019)”, http://www.lr.undp.org/content/dam/liberia/docs/docs/Procurement%20Notices/Guidance%20Note%20-%20Civil%20Society%20Roster%20(June%202017).pdf] has been developed in close consultation with the Judiciary, the Ministry of Justice and other principal institutional counterparts. The program aims, inter alia, to enhance the capacities of, and public confidence in, the different justice and security institutions, strengthening access to justice, security and protection services, especially for women and girls. Interventions are designed with a view to ensuring sustainability and linking activities to 'system-level' policy development. One of the outcomes of this project is building the capacity of key actors and stakeholders to monitor progress and results in the rule of law developments.

Did It Open Government?

Commitment 2.1

Access to Information: Marginal

Civic Participation: Marginal

The commitment has advanced on the administrative steps needed to implement the recently amended law. The establishment of the Jury Management Office, as well as regional offices, is a huge first step to train and select jurors. However, according to the existing evidence, this commitment had only a marginal effect on opening government practices, as these changes are only the first administrative steps in the implementation of the jury law.

Commitment 2.2

Access to Information: Did Not Change

The judiciary website offers little information about the workings of the justice system or any access to court records. Therefore, there is not sufficient evidence of any change in government practice.

Carried forward?

This commitment was carried forward into the next action plan with the following deliverables set as milestones:

· Jury offices established in all 15 counties;

· Training of 300 magistrates across all 15 counties;

· Awareness raising around the roles of juries;

· Track cases in courts to prevent delays in judication;

· Open Justice initiative through which citizens monitor local courts, track cases and follow-up on the return of bond fees


Liberia's Commitments

  1. Legislative Monitoring Database

    LR0027, 2017, E-Government

  2. Publication of Budget Documents

    LR0028, 2017, Audits and Controls

  3. Freedom of Information (FoI) Act

    LR0029, 2017, Capacity Building

  4. Citizen Monitoring for the Justice System

    LR0030, 2017, Capacity Building

  5. Feedback Mechanism to Build Accountability of the LNP

    LR0031, 2017, E-Government

  6. Capacity Building for Integrity in Government

    LR0032, 2017, Capacity Building

  7. Transparency in the Land Authority

    LR0033, 2017, E-Government

  8. Accountability and Value for Money through Open Contracting

    LR0034, 2017, E-Government

  9. Beneficial Ownership Registry

    LR0035, 2017, Beneficial Ownership

  10. Open Data/citizen Navigation Portal

    LR0036, 2017, Audits and Controls

  11. Starred commitment Commercial Land Use Rights Information

    LR0011, 2015, Capacity Building

  12. Open Aid Portal and Publication of Aid Data

    LR0012, 2015, Aid

  13. Link Financial Management System to Aid Management Platform

    LR0013, 2015, Aid

  14. Facilitate tracking of EVD funds

    LR0014, 2015, Aid

  15. Starred commitment Implementation of the new jury law

    LR0015, 2015,

  16. Citzen Monitoring of Justice System

    LR0016, 2015,

  17. Civic education and citizen engagement around offline tools

    LR0017, 2015,

  18. Know Your Rights' Initiative

    LR0018, 2015,

  19. Passage of Whistleblower Protection Act

    LR0019, 2015,

  20. Transparency hubs

    LR0020, 2015, Public Participation

  21. Public service integrity

    LR0021, 2015, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  22. Citizen feedback platform.

    LR0022, 2015, E-Government

  23. e-Government

    LR0023, 2015, Capacity Building

  24. Public expenditure management systems

    LR0024, 2015, Capacity Building

  25. Public safety/ Law enforecement reform

    LR0025, 2015, E-Government

  26. Open data portal

    LR0026, 2015, Open Data

  27. Appoint Public Information Officers (PIOs)

    LR0007, 2015, Capacity Building

  28. Popularize Freedom of Information (FoI) Law

    LR0008, 2015, Capacity Building

  29. Expand Open Budget Initiative

    LR0009, 2015, Capacity Building

  30. Public Information on Land and Natural Resource Reform

    LR0010, 2015, Extractive Industries

  31. Increase Access to Public Information

    LR0001, 2013, Capacity Building

  32. Open Budget Initiative

    LR0002, 2013, E-Government

  33. Extractive Industries Transparency

    LR0003, 2013, Audits and Controls

  34. Citizens’ Participation and Dialogue

    LR0004, 2013, Public Participation

  35. Starred commitment Accountability and Integrity

    LR0005, 2013, Conflicts of Interest

  36. Technology and Innovation

    LR0006, 2013, E-Government