Ignorer la navigation
Norvège

Examen public et consultation publique (NO0020)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action de la Norvège 2013-2015

Cycle du plan d'action : 2013

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution principale : FAD/JD/KUD

Institution(s) de soutien : NA

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, Participation du public, Gouvernance réglementaire

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin de période Norvège 2014-2015, Norvège: deuxième rapport d'étape sur l'IRM 2013-2014

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : marginaux

Design i

Vérifiable : Non

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Le système de consultation publique norvégien a un double objectif:
 Fournir la meilleure base possible pour prendre des décisions de politique publique (le
aspect qualité)
 veiller à ce que les parties concernées et les autres parties prenantes aient la possibilité de
exprimer leurs opinions (l'aspect démocratique)

De nouvelles instructions pour les études et rapports officiels doivent être rédigées. L’objectif est de
améliorer la base des décisions dans l'administration publique. L’objectif est d’améliorer la
base des décisions des autorités publiques. L’utilisation plus efficace des nouvelles technologies est l’un des principaux
moyens disponibles pour une meilleure implication des parties prenantes et du public.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

1. Examen public et consultation publique

Texte d'engagement:

[…] Le système de consultation publique norvégien a un double objectif:

-          • Fournir la meilleure base possible pour prendre des décisions de politique publique (l'aspect qualité)

-          • S'assurer que les parties concernées et les autres parties prenantes ont la possibilité d'exprimer leurs opinions (l'aspect démocratique)

Le processus de consultation norvégien comprend deux étapes:

1.       Les propositions sont formulées par des comités nommés par le gouvernement.

2.       Les propositions de ces comités sont soumises à consultation publique. […]

DESCRIPTION D'ENGAGEMENT

De nouvelles instructions pour les études et rapports officiels doivent être rédigées. L’objectif est d’améliorer la base des décisions de l’administration publique. L'objectif est de renforcer la base des décisions des autorités publiques. Une utilisation plus efficace des nouvelles technologies est l’un des moyens disponibles pour obtenir une meilleure implication des parties prenantes et du public.

RÉFÉRENCE D'IMPACT CLÉ
De nouvelles instructions pour les études et rapports officiels doivent être rédigées.

Institution responsable: ministère de l'Administration gouvernementale, de la Réforme et des Affaires religieuses

Institution (s) de soutien: Ministère de la justice; Ministère de la culture

Date de début: incertaine Date de fin: incertaine

Note éditoriale: Le texte des engagements a été abrégé pour des raisons de mise en forme. Pour le texte intégral de l'engagement, veuillez consulter http://bit.ly/1QlVIja.

Objectif politique

Le gouvernement norvégien a souligné que l'ouverture et la consultation publique constituaient un aspect fondamental du modèle de gouvernance norvégien. Ceci est représenté par une myriade de mécanismes politiques à travers différentes institutions et processus politiques norvégiens. Cet engagement concerne la révision des Instructions pour les études et rapports officiels, qui Ce sont des directives qui dictent la manière dont les fonctionnaires évaluent les impacts potentiels de la nouvelle politique. Ces directives ont été établies pour la première fois en 2000,[Note 1: «Instructions pour les études et rapports officiels», Ministère du gouvernement local et de la modernisation, consulté en septembre 4, 2016, https://www.regjeringen.no/en/dokumenter/instructions-for-official-studies-2/id419236/.] et les révisions à l’étude visaient à améliorer les normes applicables aux décisions politiques fondées sur des données factuelles.[Remarque 2: “Utredningsinstrukesn”, Ministère des collectivités locales et de la modernisation, dernière mise à jour en février 2, 2016, consulté en septembre 4, 2016, https://www.regjeringen.no/no/dokumenter/instruks-om-utredning-av-statlige-tiltak-utredningsinstruksen/id2476518/.] Les lignes directrices sont vastes et s’appliquent à toutes les initiatives des autorités publiques ayant un impact public. Elles comprennent des lignes directrices minimales pour la consultation publique et l’analyse de l’impact socio-économique. Les directives et orientations sur la manière dont elles doivent être appliquées sont gérées par le Agence gouvernementale norvégienne pour la gestion financière.[Note 3: Ibid.]

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité
Le manuel intitulé Instructions pour les études et rapports officiels a été examiné. Les travaux progressaient lentement à cause de vastes consultations internes du gouvernement, en particulier des ministères de la Culture, de l'Innovation et de l'Administration et du Ministère de la Justice. Le projet de documentation n'était pas disponible pour examen par le chercheur de l'IRM, qui n'a pas été en mesure d'identifier l'utilisation des technologies prioritaires dans l'examen lors d'entretiens avec les points focaux des gouvernements, comme spécifié dans la langue de l'engagement.

Fin de terme: Terminé
Un nouveau manuel intitulé Instructions pour les études et rapports officiels a été publié en février 2016,[Note 4: Ibid.] et s'applique à tous les organes administratifs, y compris les agences municipales. Les nouvelles directives mettent l’accent sur l’engagement précoce et les consultations publiques avec les communautés et les citoyens touchés, mais ne contiennent aucune référence à la technologie telle que spécifiée dans l’engagement. Dans le même temps, des progrès importants ont été réalisés au niveau national et le site Web du gouvernement (http://regjering.no) a été «modernisé» pour inclure les consultations électroniques et pour archiver et centraliser les archives produites par tous les ministères sur un site Web unique.[Remarque 5: “Oversyn over høyringssaker”, Organisation de sécurité et de services du gouvernement norvégien, consulté en septembre 4, 2016, https://www.regjeringen.no/no/dokument/hoyringar/oversyn-over-hoyringssaker/id546535/. ]

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal

Participation civique: n'a pas changé

La portée large des nouvelles instructions visant à inclure toutes les décisions prises par toutes les agences gouvernementales constituera un pas positif vers l'amélioration de la participation citoyenne si elle conduit à des consultations menées par plusieurs types d'agences gouvernementales. L'inclusion d'exigences minimales strictes en matière de consultations publiques et d'évaluation du risque avant la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle politique est également une étape positive. De manière générale, le chercheur de l'IRM estime que les nouvelles instructions augmenteront probablement le potentiel de participation citoyenne à la formation des politiques publiques, bien que les résultats réels en termes de formation des politiques soient déterminés dans des cas spécifiques. Le chercheur de l'IRM suppose que les instructions sont déjà utilisées, étant donné que l'Agence gouvernementale norvégienne pour la gestion financière propose un certain nombre de cours et répond aux questions des agences gouvernementales sur la manière de les mettre en œuvre.[Remarque 6: «Utrednings instruksen», agence gouvernementale norvégienne pour la gestion financière, consulté en octobre 29, 2016, https://dfo.no/fagomrader/utredningsinstruksen/.] Cependant, aucune information n'est disponible, les agences gouvernementales n'étant pas tenues de faire rapport sur l'application des instructions, et aucune agence gouvernementale n'a le mandat de collecter des expériences pertinentes. Ainsi, le chercheur en IRM n'est pas en mesure d'évaluer si et comment les instructions sont mises en œuvre, et si elles ont eu un impact sur l'accès à l'information ou la participation citoyenne. La manière dont les directives sont mises en œuvre et utilisées dépendra de facteurs politiques et contextuels au cas par cas.

L'ajout des consultations électroniques sur le site Web du gouvernement constitue également un développement positif. Les représentants du ministère des Gouvernements locaux et de la Modernisation interrogés aux fins du présent rapport ont indiqué que les consultations électroniques étaient en principe plus inclusives que les pratiques de consultation formelles puisqu'elles étaient affichées ouvertement sur Internet, au lieu que les notifications ne soient envoyées qu'à une liste discrète d'acteurs connus.[Note 7: Tom Arne Nygaard et Terie Drystad, entretien avec Christopher Wilson, entretien en personne, Bureaux du Ministère des collectivités locales et de la modernisation, septembre 31, 2016.] La centralisation des dossiers de consultation, y compris la documentation des soumissions lors de consultations précédentes (depuis 1997),[Note 8: Ibid.] constitue également un pas important vers un meilleur accès à l’information grâce à l’utilisation de la technologie. Les représentants gouvernementaux notent que ces développements sont étroitement liés à cet engagement,[Note 9: Ibid.] et comme ils ont rendu l'information plus facilement accessible au public, le chercheur en IRM estime qu'ils ont eu un impact marginal sur l'ouverture de la pratique gouvernementale.

Reportés?

Cet engagement n'a pas été repris dans le troisième plan d'action national du gouvernement norvégien, disponible sur le site Web de l'OGP.[Note 10: ”Troisième plan d'action de la Norvège Open Government Partnership Ministère des collectivités locales et de la modernisation, consulté en septembre 4, 2016, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Norway_2016-17_NAP.pdf.]


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Norway

Public Review and Public Consultation (NO0020)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Norway Action Plan 2013-2015

Action Plan Cycle: 2013

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: FAD/JD/KUD

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Public Participation, Regulatory Governance

IRM Review

IRM Report: Norway End-of-Term Report 2014-2015, Norway Second IRM Progress Report 2013-2014

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

The purpose of the Norwegian public consultation system is twofold:
 To provide the best possible basis for making public policy decisions (the
quality aspect)
 To ensure that affected parties and other stakeholders have the opportunity to
express their opinions (the democratic aspect)

New Instructions for Official Studies and Reports are to be drafted. The objective is to
improve the basis for decisions in the public administration. The objective is to enhance the
basis for public authority decisions. More efficient use of new technology is one of the
means available to achieve better involvement of stakeholders and the public.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

1. Public review and public consultation

Commitment Text:

[…] The purpose of the Norwegian public consultation system is twofold:

-          • To provide the best possible basis for making public policy decisions (the quality aspect)

-          • To ensure that affected parties and other stakeholders have the opportunity to express their opinions (the democratic aspect)

The Norwegian consultation process has two stages:

1.       Proposals are made by government-appointed committees.

2.       The proposals from such committees are submitted for public consultation. […]

COMMITMENT DESCRIPTION

New Instructions for Official Studies and Reports are to be drafted. The objective is to improve the basis for decisions in the public administration. The objective is to enhance the basis for public authority decisions. More efficient use of new technology is one of the means available to achieve better involvement of stakeholders and the public.

KEY IMPACT BENCHMARK
New Instructions for Official Studies and Reports are to be drafted.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Government Administration, Reform and Church Affairs

Supporting institution(s): Ministry of Justice; Ministry of Culture

Start date: Unclear               End date: Unclear

Editorial note: The text of the commitments was abridged for formatting reasons. For full text of the commitment, please see http://bit.ly/1QlVIja.

Policy Aim

The Norwegian government has emphasized that openness and public consultation are a core aspect of the Norwegian model of governance. This is represented by a myriad of policy mechanisms across different Norwegian institutions and policy processes. This commitment concerns revisions to the Instructions for Official Studies and Reports, which are guidelines that dictate how government officials assess the potential impacts of new policy. These guidelines were first established in 2000,[Note 1: “Instructions for Official Studies and Reports,” Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation, accessed September 4, 2016, https://www.regjeringen.no/en/dokumenter/instructions-for-official-studies-2/id419236/.] and the revisions under consideration were intended to improve standards for the evidence-based policy decisions.[Note 2: ”Utredningsinstrukesn,” Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation, last updated February 2, 2016, accessed September 4, 2016, https://www.regjeringen.no/no/dokumenter/instruks-om-utredning-av-statlige-tiltak-utredningsinstruksen/id2476518/.] The guidelines are broad, applying to all public authority initiatives with public impact, and include minimum guidelines for public consultation and socio-economic impact analysis. The guidelines and guidance on how they are to be applied are maintained by the Norwegian Government Agency for Financial Management.[Note 3: Ibid.]

Status

Midterm: Limited
The Instructions for Official Studies and Reports manual was reviewed. Work was proceeding slowly due to extensive internal government consultation, particularly in the Ministry of Culture, Innovation and Administration, and the Ministry of Justice. No draft materials were available for review by the IRM researcher, who was unable to identify any use of technology prioritized in the review in interviews with government focal points, as specified in the language of the commitment.

End-of-term: Complete
A new Instructions for Official Studies and Reports manual was published in February 2016,[Note 4: Ibid.] and applies to all administrative bodies, including municipal agencies. The new guidelines include a focus on early engagement and public consultations with affected communities and citizens, but contain no reference to technology as specified in the commitment. At the same time, there has been significant progress made at the national level, and the government website (http://regjering.no) has been “modernized” to include electronic consultations and to archive and centralize records produced by all government ministries in a single web location.[Note 5: “Oversyn over høyringssaker,” Norwegian Government Security and Service Organisation, accessed September 4, 2016, https://www.regjeringen.no/no/dokument/hoyringar/oversyn-over-hoyringssaker/id546535/. ]

Did it open government?

Access to information: Marginal

Civic participation: Did not change

The broad scope of the new instructions to include all decisions made by all government agencies will be a positive step towards improving civic participation if it leads to consultations conducted by more types of government agencies. The inclusion of strong minimum requirements for public consultations and risk assessments before implementing new policy is also a positive step. Generally, the IRM researcher believes the new instructions are likely to increase the potential for civic participation in public policy formation, though the actual outputs in terms of policy formation will be determined in specific instances. The IRM researcher assumes that the instructions are already being used, given that the Norwegian Government Agency for Financial Management offers a number of courses and answers government agencies’ questions on how to implement the instructions.[Note 6: ”Utrednings instruksen,” Norwegian Government Agency for Financial Management, accessed October 29, 2016, https://dfo.no/fagomrader/utredningsinstruksen/.] However, there is no information available, as government agencies are not required to report on how the instructions are applied, and no government agency has a mandate for collecting relevant experiences. Thus, the IRM researcher is unable to assess whether and how the instructions are implemented, and whether they have had an impact on access to information or civic participation. How the guidelines are implemented and used will rely on political and contextual factors on a case-by-case basis.

The addition of electronic consultations to the government website is also a positive development. Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation representatives interviewed for this report noted that electronic consultations are, in principle, more inclusive than formal consultative practices since they are openly posted on the internet, instead of notifications only being sent to a discrete list of known actors.[Note 7: Tom Arne Nygaard and Terie Drystad, interview by Christopher Wilson, in-person interview, Offices of the Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation, September 31, 2016.] The centralization of consultation records, including documentation of submissions to previous consultations (dating back to 1997),[Note 8: Ibid.] is also an important step towards improved access to information through the use of technology. Government representatives note that these developments are substantively linked to this commitment,[Note 9: Ibid.] and given the fact that they made information more easily accessible to the public, the IRM researcher considers that they have had a marginal impact in opening government practice.

Carried forward?

This commitment has not been carried forward in the Norwegian government’s third national action plan, which is available on the OGP website.[Note 10: ”Norway’s third action plan Open Government Partnership (OGP),” Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation, accessed September 4, 2016, http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Norway_2016-17_NAP.pdf.]


Commitments

Open Government Partnership