Ignorer la navigation
Paris, France

Augmentation de la mobilisation de la communauté dans la demande de nouveaux jeux de données (PAR0003)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Paris, France Plan d'action

Cycle du plan d'action: 2017

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution directrice: Secrétariat Général

Institution (s) de support: SG \ Jean-Philippe CLEMENT \ Responsable de la démarche data L'école des données (English version de L'école de données, projet de l'Open Knowledge Foundation http://ecoledesdonnees.org/) et CNAM (référentiel des métiers de la donnée et des données de référence),

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, E-gouvernement, Open Data, Participation du public, Sous-national

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport final IRM Paris 2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Problème couvert par l'engagement: Cet engagement consiste à s'assurer que la recherche, l'extraction et la publication d'ensembles de données répondent aux besoins des futurs utilisateurs en termes de transparence et de création de nouveaux services. La publication de nouveaux jeux de données nécessite généralement d'importantes recherches et la conviction des services en charge des données. Le fait de savoir que le jeu de données est attendu et qu’il sera utilisé par un réutilisateur permet de concentrer l’énergie sur des objectifs utiles; OBJECTIF PRINCIPAL: Permettre aux réutilisateurs d’obtenir la publication de jeux de données adaptés à leurs besoins en termes de transparence et de création de nouveaux services .; DESCRIPTION DE L’ENGAGEMENT: Créer un événement trimestriel pour mobiliser la communauté afin qu’elle se concentre sur les données nécessaires. Tous les trimestres, une rencontre et une mobilisation en ligne auront lieu. Ces événements seront partagés avec la communauté via nos médias sociaux et notre groupe de rencontres .; PERTINENCE: Cet engagement permettra à la communauté de participer au choix des futurs jeux de données en matière de transparence et de création de nouveaux services. Cela permet au gouvernement local de mieux comprendre les besoins des futurs utilisateurs et de concentrer ses efforts de manière transparente. AMBITION: Tous les trimestres, le gouvernement local ouvrira de nouveaux jeux de données via un processus clair d’aiguillage et de codécision des priorités d’ouverture. ÉTAPES DE LA MISE EN ŒUVRE: 1. APPEL A CONTRIBUTI SUR LES RESEAUX SOCIAUX 2. TRI DES PROPOSITIONS (PRÉSENT) ET ENQUÊTE DE PERTINENCE POSSIBLE 3. RECHERCHE ET PUBLICATION 1st 4. NOTE SUR LA PUBLICATION ET L’AMÉLIORATION DE 1. DÉBUT DU TRIMESTRE 2. DÉBUT SEMAINE 3 3. DÉBUT SEMAINE 5 4. DÉBUT SEMAINE 10 1. FIN SEMAINE 2 2. FIN SEMAINE 4 3. FIN SEMAINE 9 4. FIN SEMAINE 12

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

3. Augmenter la mobilisation de la communauté dans les nouvelles demandes de jeux de données

Texte d'engagement

Cet engagement consiste à s'assurer que la recherche, l'extraction et la publication d'ensembles de données répondent aux besoins des futurs utilisateurs en matière de transparence et de création de nouveaux services. La publication de nouveaux jeux de données nécessite généralement d'importantes recherches et la conviction des services en charge des données. Le fait de savoir que le jeu de données est attendu et sera utilisé par un réutilisateur permet de concentrer l’énergie sur des objectifs utiles.

Objectif principal: Permettre aux réutilisateurs d'obtenir la publication d'ensembles de données adaptés à leurs besoins en termes de transparence et de création de nouveaux services.

Pour atteindre cet objectif: Créez un événement trimestriel afin de mobiliser la communauté pour qu'elle concentre ses besoins sur les données nécessaires. Tous les trimestres, une rencontre et une mobilisation en ligne auront lieu. Ces événements seront partagés avec la communauté via nos médias sociaux et notre groupe de rencontres.

Milestones

1. Appel à contribution via les réseaux sociaux

2. Tri des propositions (présent) et enquête de pertinence éventuelle

3. Recherche et première publication

4. Note sur la publication et l'amélioration

Aperçu de l'engagement

Avertissement: afin de garantir l'indépendance de l'évaluation, cet engagement a été examiné avec le soutien de Timothée Gidion en raison de l'affiliation de Samuel Goeta à la Open Government Foundation, une organisation impliquée dans le développement de cet engagement.

But de l'engagement

Objectif général et pertinence

Depuis 2011, la ville de Paris publie des données via son programme de données ouvertes. Dans 2016, la loi pour une République numérique (Digital Digital Act) a chargé les collectivités locales d’ouvrir leurs jeux de données. La loi numérique française peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante: https://www.economie.gouv.fr/republique-numerique Selon le plan d'action, l'offre et la demande d'open data ne correspondent pas. L'offre étant limitée par la capacité du fonctionnaire à convertir les informations en données ouvertes, la Ville de Paris s'engage à dialoguer avec les utilisateurs et à répondre aux besoins de la demande, renforçant ainsi l'efficacité de la chaîne de valeur de la demande, de l'utilisation et de l'impact Les données. Du point de vue de l'utilisateur, certains jeux de données manquent encore ou manquent de granularité temporelle ou spatiale. Par exemple, dans 2016, une pétition dirigée par la start-up du secteur des transports, Citymapper, a demandé à l'Office des transports de Paris (RATP) d'ouvrir des informations en temps réel sur l'emplacement du métro et des bus. Afin d’obtenir ces informations, la startup a dû recueillir le soutien de citoyens 18,000 «La RATP ouvre (enfin) ses données« temps réel »»

http://abonnes.lemonde.fr/economie/article/2017/01/05/la-ratp-ouvre-enfin-ses-donnees-temps-reel_5057926_3234.html .

Cet engagement propose de créer une réunion trimestrielle pour mobiliser la communauté et ses demandes de données. Selon le plan d'action, deux réunions auront lieu tous les trimestres, une en personne et une en ligne, afin de permettre aux participants de sélectionner les futurs jeux de données à publier et de s'assurer que les autorités municipales tiennent compte de leurs demandes. Divers canaux tels que le groupe «Open Innovation Paris» et les réseaux sociaux seront utilisés pour organiser et assurer la médiation de ces réunions et rassembler les demandes des participants pour des ensembles de données ouverts.

Cet engagement est pertinent pour la valeur de l'accès à l'information, étant donné qu'il propose une nouvelle méthode pour diffuser les données détenues par le gouvernement dans une demande accrue. Plus précisément, elle vise à garantir que les données publiées sont en rapport avec les intérêts de ses utilisateurs et que le gouvernement publie des données à la demande des utilisateurs. Comme expliqué dans le plan d'action, le gouvernement estime que ces ensembles de données devraient répondre aux besoins de ré-utilisateurs en matière de transparence et de création de nouveaux services. En outre, il est pertinent pour la participation citoyenne, considérant qu'il propose d'améliorer les informations publiées grâce à un engagement actif des utilisateurs de données afin d'identifier les priorités du public.

Spécificité et impact potentiel

La spécificité de cet engagement est codée comme support. Les deux premiers jalons de l'engagement (l'appel à contributions via les réseaux sociaux et l'organisation de réunions trimestrielles) pourraient être considérés comme objectivement vérifiables. Cependant, tels qu'ils sont rédigés, ils ne précisent pas comment le gouvernement prévoit de mener à bien les activités, ni comment ils vont gérer, traiter et décider de la publication des jeux de données après avoir reçu des demandes de citoyens ou d'OSC.

S'il est pleinement mis en œuvre tel qu'il est rédigé, cet engagement pourrait améliorer l'efficacité de la publication des jeux de données, en répondant aux besoins des utilisateurs en adaptant l'offre. En outre, si pleinement mis en œuvre, cela pourrait permettre aux citoyens d'obtenir rapidement des jeux de données dans des champs où des données étaient manquantes. En outre, une clarification des demandes des citoyens pourrait aider les gestionnaires de projets de données ouvertes dans leurs demandes, car ils pourraient bénéficier du soutien du public dans leurs demandes d'ensembles de données. Cependant, la portée de l'engagement est limitée car ça n'explique pas comment les commentaires du public seront pris en compte, si la sélection des demandes sera rendue publique ou comment le sondage sera présenté. En outre, le chercheur de l'IRM exprime des réserves quant à l'ampleur de l'engagement. Bien qu'il appelle à la mise en place d'un événement trimestriel trimestriel, il n'indique pas spécifiquement s'il s'agira d'un mécanisme permanent au-delà de la période du plan d'action. De plus, cet engagement pourrait ajouter de la redondance au contexte juridique actuel de la liberté d'information (loi CADA), qui permet déjà aux citoyens de demander l'accès à tout ensemble de données public. Pour ces raisons, cet engagement est considéré comme ayant un impact potentiel modéré.

Aboutissement
limité

Le premier jalon - l'appel à contribution via les réseaux sociaux - a été en partie achevé puisque deux appels seulement ont été annoncés, via Twitter sur 19, avril https://twitter.com/opendataParis/status/854621726109569024 et 11 October 2017 https://twitter.com/opendataParis/status/918050814043869185 , et à travers un article sur le site de Paris https://www.paris.fr/actualites/paris-data-les-appels-a-contribution-sont-ouverts-4665 . En outre, contrairement à ce qui est écrit dans le plan d'action, la Ville de Paris n'a pas lancé d'appel à contributions par le biais du Meetup Open Innovation Paris, ni par le biais d'une rencontre en personne. Le responsable concerné par cet engagement a expliqué que, sur la base de discussions avec les utilisateurs actuels du portail de données de Paris, il n'aurait pas été pertinent d'organiser des réunions en personne puisqu'il était plus simple d'exprimer des suggestions directement en ligne. Awa Ndiyae, (Open Innovation and Project Manager), correspondance par courrier électronique avec le chercheur IRM, 24 November 2017.

La deuxième étape a été supprimée: le gouvernement n’a pas procédé au tri des propositions ni à une éventuelle enquête de pertinence en raison du manque de contributions reçues. En effet, sur presque un an, la Ville de Paris a reçu un total de propositions 14 (dont trois n'étaient pas directement liées à des données ouvertes), en plus de quatre demandes qui n'étaient pas du tout liées à des problèmes de données ouvertes (telles que comme plaintes concernant le comportement des voisins). Le gouvernement en a fourni la preuve au chercheur de l'IRM, qui a vérifié les informations. Néanmoins, le gouvernement déclare avoir réorienté les gens vers d'autres plateformes lorsque leurs propositions ne traitaient pas de sujets relevant des compétences de la Ville de Paris.

La troisième étape concernant la recherche et la première publication a été complétée. Le gouvernement a effectué une évaluation interne de la possibilité de publication des ensembles de données demandés par les utilisateurs. Selon le responsable de l’engagement, la Ville de Paris a répondu personnellement à tous les enquêteurs en leur indiquant une date de publication prévue ou des explications lorsque la publication d’un certain ensemble de données n’était pas possible. Cependant, l'un des enquêteurs 14 contacté par les chercheurs de l'IRM a déclaré qu'il n'était pas au courant de la publication de l'ensemble de données qu'il avait demandé car la ville de Paris n'avait pas donné suite à sa demande.

La quatrième étape a été reportée au premier trimestre de 2018. À l'origine, la note sur la publication et les améliorations devait être publiée tous les semestres, mais en raison du faible nombre de demandes, la Ville de Paris a décidé de ne rédiger qu'une note couvrant l'ensemble des demandes de jeu de données et de la publier au terme de l'année d'implémentation.

Premiers résultats: a-t-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal
Participation civique: marginale

Cet engagement visait à faire en sorte que les ensembles de données publiés sur la plate-forme open data répondent aux besoins réels des ré-utilisateurs en optimisant les efforts internes déployés par les fonctionnaires de la Ville de Paris pour la publication de nouveaux ensembles de données. L'impact potentiel devrait être modéré comme l'engagement proposait d'améliorer à la fois l'accès à l'information en donnant aux citoyens la possibilité d'exprimer leurs besoins en termes de données publiques et la participation citoyenne en incluant les utilisateurs de données dans le processus de prise de décision.

Cependant, les premiers résultats ont une portée limitée. En ce qui concerne l'accès à l'information, le gouvernement a mis à jour les ensembles de données en réponse aux demandes du public, mais n'a publié aucun nouvel ensemble de données. En fait, selon les informations du gouvernement, la plupart des jeux de données demandés par les pétitionnaires 14 étaient en cours de publication. Le chercheur de l'IRM a reçu la liste des jeux de données demandés, ainsi que les réponses du gouvernement, et a pu vérifier l'état des demandes en consultant les données disponibles sur le portail des données ouvertes de Paris. Il est également important de souligner que la liste des modifications demandées par les citoyens - avec la réponse correspondante du gouvernement - n'est pas disponible en ligne. Néanmoins, le gouvernement a mis à jour les données accessibles au public en réponse aux demandes des citoyens. Pour cette raison, l'IRM considère qu'il y a eu une amélioration marginale dans le domaine de l'accès à l'information.

S'agissant de la participation citoyenne, le gouvernement n'a pas déployé des efforts importants pour amener le public à demander des ensembles de données particuliers. Comme expliqué dans la section Statut ci-dessus, la sensibilisation a consisté en deux appels annoncés via Twitter et un article sur le site Web du gouvernement, qui ont abouti à un total de demandes 14 soumises via le formulaire en ligne et Twitter au cours des dix premiers mois. Parmi eux, onze demandaient réellement de nouveaux jeux de données et 3 des propositions pertinentes restantes traitait du même jeu de données: menu de la cantine scolaire - qui semble finalement sortir du cadre des compétences de la Ville de Paris. Ce manque d'intégration de la société civile est confirmé par les membres de la School of Data Quatre d'entre eux - régulièrement en contact avec des responsables de la Ville de Paris - ont été contactés par courrier électronique et un interviewé par le chercheur de l'IRM. , une ONG mentionnée comme partie prenante dans le plan d’action, mais qui n’a pas été informée de cette initiative participative et ne savait pas que cela était mentionné dans l’engagement. Compte tenu du manque d'implication concrète de la société civile dans le processus de prise de décision relatif à la publication des ensembles de données prioritaires (le public n'a été impliqué que dans la première étape du processus de formulation des propositions, mais n'a pas été impliqué dans la détermination des nouveaux ensembles de données à publié), l’IRM considère qu’il n’ya eu qu’une amélioration marginale de la participation civique.

Recommandations

Un résultat notable est que la plupart des demandes du public (12 sur 14) sont intervenues peu de temps après les deux appels à contribution sur les médias sociaux. Cela montre la pertinence de la communication pour une initiative de ce type, qui a besoin de visibilité pour réussir. En conséquence, les chercheurs de l'IRM recommandent de mettre plus fréquemment en évidence les appels à contributions sur les réseaux sociaux et, si possible, de diversifier les canaux utilisés (pas uniquement Twitter). En outre, la ville de Paris pourrait tirer avantage de l'organisation de réunions ou d'ateliers en personne au cours desquels les réutilisateurs pourraient exprimer leurs besoins devant un fonctionnaire chargé de la gestion des données ouvertes, qui pourrait leur expliquer si certaines demandes sont hors de portée, réalisables ou déjà. en cours. Ces réunions et ateliers en personne pourraient augmenter le nombre de propositions et améliorer leur pertinence globale.

Une autre recommandation consiste à améliorer la transparence et la communication du processus interne de diffusion des jeux de données. Par exemple, la Ville de Paris pourrait publier un tableau de bord mis à jour sur la plate-forme Paris Data, qui affiche toutes les demandes préexistantes, avec un rapport d’état pour chacune d’elles. Cela permettrait aux enquêteurs de connaître le niveau actuel du processus et de ne soumettre que de nouvelles propositions. Ce tableau de bord pourrait être complété par des réunions au cours desquelles les utilisateurs de données ouvertes pourraient être impliqués dans le processus de décision de publication des jeux de données, par exemple en hiérarchisant les demandes, en établissant la granularité spatiale ou géographique pertinente des jeux de données ou en expliquant aux fonctionnaires comment ils seraient utilisés. les données demandées si elles sont publiées. À terme, la Ville de Paris pourrait envisager de diffuser une partie de l’ensemble de données des demandes soumises sur la plate-forme Paris Data avec le type d’ensemble de données, la date de soumission, le rapport de situation et les réponses officielles.


NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Paris, France

Increasing Community Mobilization in New Datasets Request (PAR0003)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Paris, France Action Plan

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Secrétariat Général

Support Institution(s): SG \ Jean-Philippe CLEMENT \ Responsable de la démarche data L’école des données (Version française de The School of data, projet de l’Open Knowledge Foundation http://ecoledesdonnees.org/) et CNAM (référentiel des métiers de la donnée et des données de référence),

Policy Areas

Access to Information, E-Government, Open Data, Public Participation, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Paris Final IRM Report 2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

PROBLEM COVERED BY THE COMMITMENT: This engagement is about making sure that the research, extraction and publishing of datasets match the needs of future reusers in regard to transparency and creation of new services. The publishing of new datasets usually requires important research and conviction of the services in charge of the data. Knowing that the dataset is awaited et will be used by a reuser allows to focus energy on useful objectives; PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: Allow reusers to obtain the publishing of datasets adapted to their needs in terms of transparency and creation of new services.; DESCRIPTION OF THE COMMITMENT: Create a trimestrial event to mobilize the community to focus its needs towards the data needed. Every trimester, a meetup et an online mobilization will take place. Those events will be shared to the community through our social media and meetup group.; RELEVANCE: This engagement will allow the participation of the community in the choosing of future datasets in regard to transparency and creation of new services. It allows the local government to better understand the needs of future reusers and focus its efforts transparently.; AMBITION: Every trimester the local government will open new datasets via a clear process of referral and codecision of opening priorities.; STEPS IN IMPLEMENTATION: 1. CALL FOR CONTRIBUTI ON THROUGH SOCIAL NETWORKS 2. SORTING OF PROPOSALS (PRESENT ) AND POSSIBLE RELEVANCE SURVEY 3. RESEARCH AND 1st PUBLICATION 4. NOTE ON PUBLICATION AND IMPROVEMEN T 1. DÉBUT DU TRIMESTRE 2. DÉBUT SEMAINE 3 3. DÉBUT SEMAINE 5 4. DÉBUT SEMAINE 10 1. FIN SEMAINE 2 2. FIN SEMAINE 4 3. FIN SEMAINE 9 4. FIN SEMAINE 12

IRM End of Term Status Summary

3. Increasing community mobilization in new dataset requests

Commitment text

This engagement is about making sure that the research, extraction and publishing of datasets match the needs of future reusers in regard to transparency and creation of new services. The publishing of new datasets usually requires important research and conviction of the services in charge of the data. Knowing that the dataset is awaited et will be used by a reuser allows to focus energy on useful objectives.

Primary objective: Allow reusers to obtain the publishing of datasets adapted to their needs in terms of transparency and creation of new services

To meet this objective: Create a trimestrial event to mobilize the community to focus its needs towards the data needed. Every trimester, a meetup et an online mobilization will take place. Those events will be shared to the community through our social media and meetup group.

Milestones

1. Call for contribution through social networks

2. Sorting of proposals (present) and possible relevance survey

3. Research and first publication

4. Note on publication and improvement

Commitment Overview
 

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: To ensure the independence of the assessment, this commitment was reviewed with the support of Timothée Gidion due to Samuel Goeta’s affiliation to the Open Government Foundation, an organization involved in the development of this commitment.

Commitment Aim

Overall Objective & Relevance

Since 2011, the city of Paris has published data through its open data programme. In 2016, the French Digital Act (loi pour une République numérique) mandated local authorities to open their datasets. The French Digital Act can be found at: https://www.economie.gouv.fr/republique-numerique According to the action plan, supply and demand of open data does not match. Supply is limited by the civil servant's capacity to convert information into open data and, therefore, the City of Paris commits to engage with users and meet the needs of the demand, ultimately enhancing the efficiency of the demand-use-impact value chain for open data. From the point of view of the user, some datasets are still missing or lack temporal or spatial granularity. For example, in 2016, a petition led by the transportation startup Citymapper asked the Paris Transportation Agency (RATP) to open real time information on the location of metro and buses. In order to get the information, the startup had to gather support from 18,000 citizens “ La RATP ouvre (enfin) ses données « temps réel »”

http://abonnes.lemonde.fr/economie/article/2017/01/05/la-ratp-ouvre-enfin-ses-donnees-temps-reel_5057926_3234.html .

This commitment proposes to create a quarterly meetup to mobilize the community and its requests for data. According to the action plan, two meetups will occur every trimester, one in-person and one online, to enable participants to select future datasets to be released, and ensure the city government takes their requests into account. Various channels such as the “Open Innovation Paris” Meetup and social networks will be used to organize and mediate these meetings and gather participant requests for open datasets.

This commitment is relevant to the value of access to information, considering it proposes a new method to release government-held data in higher demand. Specifically, it seeks to ensure that published data are relevant to the interests of its users, and that the government publishes data upon request from the users. As explained in the action plan, the government considers that these datasets should meet the needs of re-users for transparency and the creation of new services. Additionally, it is relevant to civic participation, considering it proposes to improve the information being published through active engagement of data users to identify the public’s priorities.

Specificity and Potential Impact

The specificity of this commitment is coded as medium. The first two milestones in the commitment (the call for contributions through social networks and for the setup of quarterly meetings) could be considered objectively verifiable. However, as written, they do not specify how the government plans to carry-out the activities nor how they will manage, process and decide upon the publication of datasets after receiving requests by citizens or CSOs.

If fully implemented as written, this commitment could enhance the efficiency of publication of datasets, meeting the needs of users by tailoring the supply. Additionally, if implemented fully, it could allow citizens to quickly get datasets in fields where data was missing. Besides, having a clarity about citizen’s demands could help open data project managers in their requests, as they could benefit from the support of the public in their requests of datasets. However, the commitment is limited in scope because it does not explain how public input will be considered, whether the selection of requests will be made public, or how the survey will be outlined. Moreover, the IRM researcher expresses reservations about the scale of the commitment. Although it calls for the setup of a trimestral quarterly event, it does not specifically establish whether it will be a permanent mechanism beyond the period of the action plan. Additionally, this commitment might add redundancy to the existing freedom of information (loi CADA) legal context, which already allows citizens to request access to any public dataset. Because of these reasons, this commitment is considered to have a moderate potential impact.

Completion
Limited

The first milestone—the call for contribution through social networks—was partly completed since only two calls were announced, through Twitter on 19 April https://twitter.com/opendataParis/status/854621726109569024 and 11 October 2017 https://twitter.com/opendataParis/status/918050814043869185 , and through an article on Paris’ website https://www.paris.fr/actualites/paris-data-les-appels-a-contribution-sont-ouverts-4665 . Also, unlike what is written in the action plan, the City of Paris did not make a call for contributions through the Meetup Open Innovation Paris, nor through an in-person meetup. The relevant official for this commitment explained that, based on discussions with current users of the Paris data portal, it would not have been relevant to organize in-person meetups since it was simpler to express suggestions directly online. Awa Ndiyae, (Open Innovation and Project Manager), e-mail correspondence with the IRM researcher, 24 November 2017.

The second milestone was withdrawn: the government did not carry out the sorting of proposals and possible relevance survey due to the lack of contributions received. Indeed, over almost a one-year period, the City of Paris received a total of 14 proposals (three of which were not directly related to open data), in addition to four claims that were not at all linked with open data issues (such as complaints regarding neighbors’ behaviors). The government provided evidence of this to the IRM researcher, who verified the information. Nevertheless, the government states that they reoriented people to other platforms when their proposals did not deal with topics within the competencies of the City of Paris.

The third milestone about research and first publication was completed. The government carried out an internal assessment regarding the possibility of releasing datasets requested by users. According to the official in charge of the commitment, the City of Paris replied personally to all inquirers by giving them an expected date of publication or explanations when the release of a certain dataset was not possible. However, one of the 14 inquirers whom the IRM researchers contacted stated that he was not aware of the publication of the dataset he requested because the City of Paris did not follow up on his request.

The fourth milestone was delayed to the first trimester of 2018. Originally the note on publication and improvement was supposed to be published every semester but due to the low number of requests, the City of Paris decided to write only one note covering all of the dataset requests and to publish it after the full year of implementation.

Early results: did it open government?

Access to Information: Marginal
Civic Participation: Marginal

This commitment aimed to ensure that datasets published on the open data platform matched the real needs of re-users by optimizing the internal efforts made by City of Paris’ civil servants to release new datasets. The potential impact was expected to be moderate as the commitment proposed enhancing both access to information by giving citizens the opportunity to express their needs in terms of public data and civic participation by including data users in the process of decision making.

However, the early results are limited in scope. As it relates to access to information, the government updated datasets in response to the public requests, but did not publish any new datasets. In fact, most of the datasets requested by the 14 petitioners remained in the process of release, according to government information. The IRM researcher received the list of datasets requested, along with the government responses, and was able to verify the state of the requests by consulting the data available on the Paris open data portal. It is also important to point out that the list of changes requested by citizens—with the corresponding government response—is not available online. Still, the government did update publicly available data in response to citizen requests. For this reason, the IRM considers that there was a marginal improvement in the area of access to information.

In terms of civic participation, the government did not carry out extensive outreach to involve the public in requesting particular datasets. As explained in the Status section above, the outreach consisted of two calls announced via twitter, and an article on the government’s website, which led to a total of 14 requests submitted through the online form and Twitter in the first ten months. Among them, eleven were really asking for new datasets and 3 of the remaining relevant proposals dealt with the same dataset: school canteen menu - which finally appears to be out of scope of City of Paris competencies This lack of integration of civil society is confirmed by members of School of Data Four of them - regularly in contact with City of Paris officials - were reached by email and one interviewed by the IRM researcher. , an NGO that is mentioned as a stakeholder in the action plan, but which was not informed of this crowdsourced initiative and did not know it was mentioned in the commitment. Given the lack of substantive involvement of civil society in the decision-making process around the release of priority datasets (i.e. the public was only involved in the first step of the process in making proposals, but was not involved in determining the new datasets to be released), the IRM considers that there was only a marginal improvement in civic participation.

Recommendations

One noticeable result is that most of the public requests (12 out of 14) came shortly after the two calls for contribution on social media. It shows the relevance of communication for such a crowdsourced initiative that needs visibility to be successful. As a result, the IRM researchers recommend highlighting calls for contributions more frequently on social media and, if possible, diversifying the channels used (not only Twitter). Besides, the City of Paris could benefit from hosting in-person meetings or workshops at which re-users could express their needs to a civil servant in charge of open data who could explain to them whether some requests are out of scope, feasible or already in progress. These in-person meetings and workshops could increase the number of proposals and improve their overall relevance.

Another recommendation is to improve the transparency and the communication of the internal process of releasing datasets. For instance, the City of Paris could publish an updated dashboard on the Paris Data platform that displays all preexisting requests, with a status report for each. It would allow inquirers to be aware of current level of process and to submit only new proposals. This dashboard could be completed through meetings at which open data users could be involved in the decision-making process of releasing datasets by, for example, prioritizing requests, establishing the relevant spatial or geographical granularity of datasets or explain to public officials how they would use the requested data if released. Ultimately, the City of Paris could envisage releasing part of the dataset of submitted requests on the Paris Data platform with the type of dataset, date of submission, status report, and official answers.

 


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!