Ignorer la navigation
Séoul, Corée du Sud

Renforcer la responsabilisation du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul en partageant l'information publique avec ses citoyens de manière rapide et rapide. (SEO0002)

Présentation

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action de Séoul, Corée

Cycle du plan d'action: 2017

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution principale: NA

Institution (s) de soutien: Tous les départements du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul; Open Net, INDILAB et CODE

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Transparence fiscale, Participation du public, Sous-national

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Examen IRM en attente

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: majeur Majeur

Conception i

Vérifiable: non

Pertinent avec les valeurs de l'OGP: accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Question à traiter: Des informations publiques comprenant les principaux index de politique et les progrès des projets de ville sont fournies aux citoyens partiellement et séparément, ce qui rend difficile une vision globale et diversifiée. Les informations sur les progrès des politiques sont accessibles aux citoyens par le biais de divers livres blancs et sites Web des villes, mais il est difficile de trouver les informations dont les citoyens ont besoin, ce qui a rendu nécessaire l'organisation et la visualisation des données. Actuellement, la forme de participation citoyenne se limite principalement à des plaintes civiles et à des suggestions. Afin d'encourager les citoyens à participer plus activement à l'élaboration de politiques basées sur l'information du public, le gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul doit fournir à ses citoyens une information publique structurée, transparente et accessible. Objectif principal: le gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul regroupe des données administratives dispersées de manière fragmentaire dans plusieurs départements, puis les structure et les visualise pour aider ses citoyens à mieux comprendre le travail du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul, augmentant ainsi sa transparence et sa responsabilité. Short Description: Convenez des types de jeux de données à ouvrir avec les OSC et des moyens de communiquer avec eux. Consultez les OSC au sujet des ensembles de données ouverts, des éléments, de la fréquence de mise à jour et convenez des moyens de communiquer avec eux afin de les améliorer. Convenez des types et des canaux de visualisation des données pour fournir aux citoyens des données transparentes et visualisées. Décidez si les données sélectionnées seront visualisées sous forme de graphique, carte, figure ou infographie, et trouvez un consensus sur la manière dont elles seront ouvertes et sur le canal par lequel elles seront ouvertes. Visualiser les données et les ouvrir aux citoyens. Développez le contenu sous la forme de formats de visualisation convenus et ouvrez-les aux citoyens via le canal convenu. Défi OGP: Structurer et visualiser les données nécessaires à la compréhension du travail du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul et les fournir à l'aide d'un tableau de bord. Augmenter la transparence et la responsabilité du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul en créant un système de retour d'information des citoyens.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

2. Renforcer la responsabilité du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul en partageant les informations publiques avec ses citoyens rapidement et rapidement.

Texte d'engagement

Le gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul regroupe des données administratives fragmentées par secteurs, puis les structure et les visualise pour aider ses citoyens à mieux comprendre le travail du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul, augmentant ainsi sa transparence et sa responsabilité.

  • Convenez des types de données à ouvrir avec les OSC et des moyens de communiquer avec elles.

- Consultez les OSC au sujet des ensembles de données ouverts, des éléments, de la fréquence de mise à jour et convenez des moyens de communiquer avec eux afin de les améliorer.

  • Convenez des types et des canaux de visualisation des données pour fournir aux citoyens des données transparentes et visualisées.

- Décidez si les données sélectionnées seront visualisées sous forme de graphique, carte, figure ou infographie, et trouvez un consensus sur la manière dont elles seront ouvertes et sur le canal par lequel elles seront ouvertes.

  • Visualiser les données et les ouvrir aux citoyens.

- Développez le contenu sous la forme de formats de visualisation convenus et ouvrez-les aux citoyens via le canal convenu.

Milestones

1. Convenez des types de données à ouvrir avec les OSC et des moyens de communiquer avec elles.

2. Convenez des types et des canaux de visualisation des données pour fournir aux citoyens les données visualisées et transparentes.

3. Visualiser les données et les ouvrir aux citoyens.

Aperçu de l'engagement

But de l'engagement

Objectif général et pertinence

Ce deuxième engagement du plan d'action de Séoul répond à la nécessité d'accroître la publication des données gouvernementales pertinentes pour les OSC et de faciliter leur accès aux citoyens. Selon le plan d'action, les informations publiques sur les différents index et projets politiques du SMG ont été fournies de manière désordonnée et non systématique. Le gouvernement estime que cela limite la participation des citoyens aux processus d’élaboration des politiques, étant donné qu’ils ne peuvent faire que passivement des plaintes ou des suggestions.

Par conséquent, l'objectif de cet engagement est de consulter et de convenir avec les OSC sur la manière d'agréger, de structurer et de visualiser les données administratives afin d'aider leurs citoyens à comprendre le travail du groupe de soutien stratégique, augmentant ainsi la transparence et la responsabilité. Le SMG a planifié une série d’activités pour atteindre cet objectif, notamment parvenir à un consensus avec les OSC sur (1) sur les types d’ensembles de données à divulguer (2) comment procéder et (3) sur la manière d’améliorer les types et les canaux de visualisation des données avant. les partager avec les citoyens.

Cet engagement concerne trois des valeurs OGP, l'accès à l'information, la participation citoyenne, la technologie et l'innovation pour la transparence. Cela signifie accroître et améliorer l'accès aux données gouvernementales par le biais d'un mécanisme permettant une meilleure visualisation et structure. De plus, il offre aux OSC l'occasion de dialoguer avec les gouvernements dans le but de convenir de données qui devraient être rendues publiques, en fonction de leurs besoins. Bien que le SMG affirme que l'engagement augmentera la responsabilité des agents publics, comme indiqué par le MII, le seul fait de divulguer des informations aux citoyens sans mécanisme de retour d'informations en place, invitant les gouvernements à justifier leurs actions à la suite de critiques ou de demandes des citoyens, n'est pas pertinent pour Responsabilité publique. Enfin, sur cinq grands défis OGP, cet engagement répond au défi n ° 1 «Améliorer les services publics».

Spécificité et impact potentiel

Le chercheur en IRM évalue cet engagement comme étant peu spécifique. L'objectif de fournir des données structurées et de promouvoir la collaboration avec les OSC dans la prise de décision est extrêmement ambitieux, mais il ne fournit pas clairement de feuille de route spécifique pour y parvenir. Il indique également que tous les départements de SMG seront impliqués dans cette entreprise; toutefois, des détails plus explicites devraient être ajoutés, tels qu'une division spécifique des travaux et un plan de travail clair. En outre, il est difficile de dire que les activités sont mesurables de manière claire et objective pour suivre les progrès réalisés au cours de l’année de mise en œuvre. L'engagement n'indique pas clairement quel type de données devrait être publié, quel format prendront les discussions avec les OSC, quelles organisations seraient invitées à participer, entre autres détails clés.

Des ONG comme Open Net Korea, qui travaillent au niveau national sur la liberté d'expression, le gouvernement ouvert et d'autres problèmes, ont signalé les effets néfastes des données non divulguées sur la vie des citoyens. Par exemple, dans 2014, le centre des services d’information sur les opérations de transport de Séoul a cessé de partager les heures d’arrivée des trains. De nombreuses applications fournissant des données en temps réel aux citoyens ont été incapables de continuer à fonctionner. Cette décision a ensuite été annulée en raison de l'insistance du public. «L’information sur l’heure d’arrivée du train de métro de Séoul est une donnée publique qui ne lui appartient pas!» Open Net Korea, 18 March 2014, http://opennetkorea.org/en/wp/856 Cet article de M. Park Jihwan est un exemple tiré de 2014, lorsque le groupe de sécurité a interdit l’utilisation de données en temps réel sur les arrivées de trains et a annulé sa décision. Des problèmes de ce type pourraient être évités si le gouvernement offrait aux OSC un siège à la table pour décider quels ensembles de données devraient être accessibles et sous quel format. Si cet engagement était pleinement mis en œuvre, Les citoyens de Séoul pourraient disposer d'un mécanisme leur permettant d'influencer les décisions relatives à la publication des données. De plus, l'engagement pourrait permettre aux citoyens de comprendre plus facilement les ensembles de données et les informations, non pas à travers des rapports et des documents, mais à travers un format visualisé, leur permettant de participer plus activement et de se faire entendre dans les processus de prise de décision. Pour cette raison, le chercheur de l'IRM considère que cet engagement a un impact potentiel modéré, car il pourrait changer de manière significative la manière dont les citoyens s'engagent sur cette question. Cependant, faute de précision, il est difficile de savoir si cela pourrait transformer le statu quo.

Aboutissement
Substantiel

L'état d'avancement pour l'engagement #2 est globalement substantiel.

Jalon #1, “Convenez des types de données à ouvrir avec les OSC et des moyens de communiquer avec elles », a été achevé à temps. La preuve est enregistrée sur le 2nd réunion du groupe consultatif sur 22 Mars 2017 où les types de données et les moyens de communication sont définis et convenus. Les progrès sont consignés sur le site Web OGP de Séoul. http://ogp.seoul.go.kr/sub03-1#list/2 Par exemple….

Jalon #2, “Convenez des types et des canaux de visualisation des données afin de fournir aux citoyens des données transparentes et visualisées », a été complété. Les éléments de preuve sont à nouveau consignés dans le compte rendu de la réunion du sous-groupe sur l’engagement qui a eu lieu le 1 de novembre 2017, où les types et les canaux de visualisation des données ont été choisis. Ibid. Par exemple… Son achèvement a été retardé par rapport à la date initialement prévue de juillet à novembre 2017. Il a été retardé en raison des besoins croissants en analyses de données supplémentaires telles que les données d'état et les données d'analyse telles que la sécurité en cas de catastrophe. La raison du retard inclut également des demandes supplémentaires de commentaires des citoyens sur les contenus partagés sur le tableau de bord, ce qui a conduit à une prolongation de la durée du projet au cours de laquelle les départements concernés ont dû se consulter et travailler à la mise au point du tableau de bord.

Jalon #3, “Visualiser les données et les ouvrir aux citoyens », a vu des progrès substantiels. Cette étape était encore en cours à la fin de la période de mise en œuvre. Le tableau de bord fonctionnait et était opérationnel pour visualiser les ensembles de données sur des questions relatives à divers domaines de la vie quotidienne des citoyens, du trafic aux informations d'urgence. Le chercheur de l'IRM a confirmé qu'en décembre 2017, le site Web de données du SMG avait créé un espace permettant aux parties prenantes de télécharger des données afin qu'elles soient traitées pour une meilleure visualisation. Le site est actuellement actif et dispose de plusieurs ensembles de données. Site Web SMG Data avec plateforme de visualisation de données: https://data.seoul.go.kr/visual/

Premiers résultats: a-t-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: majeur

Participation civique: marginale

Dans le but de collaborer avec les OSC afin de fournir des informations faciles à visualiser, trois jalons devaient être terminés d’ici avril, juillet et décembre 2017. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, dans la section des impacts potentiels, l’engagement visant à Les citoyens de Séoul doivent être en mesure de comprendre plus facilement diverses données et informations, non pas à travers des rapports et des documents, mais à travers un format visualisé, leur permettant de vérifier des données pertinentes en temps réel. La mise en œuvre de cet engagement a entraîné un changement important dans la pratique du gouvernement. Le nouveau système est opérationnel et partage des données en temps réel qui, avant le plan d'action, n'étaient disponibles que pour le maire. Le gouvernement a ouvert des données confidentielles, détenues par le gouvernement, qui ont été rapportées exclusivement au maire et sont maintenant accessibles aux citoyens.

SMG divulgue maintenant plus d'informations et améliore la manière dont les données pertinentes sont présentées aux citoyens avec visualisation de données. Le chercheur de l'IRM considère que l'utilisation de la technologie et de l'innovation pour améliorer l'accès à l'information est visible et efficace.

Les premiers résultats de cet engagement ont également fait l’objet d’une revue très positive de la part des médias. Susan Crawford, de la faculté de droit de Harvard, a visité le «Bureau numérique pour les citoyens et le maire» de la ville de Séoul et a déclaré: «La nouveauté est que Séoul mesure et rend également compte, en temps réel, d’un large éventail d’autres indicateurs de la santé et du bien-être de la ville. » En se référant au tableau de bord, elle a ajouté:Il a été ouvert pour le maire en mai 2017. Une grande partie de cette information sera également mise à la disposition des citoyens d’ici la fin de l’année. Le gouvernement s'est engagé à ouvrir ses données. » «Comment Séoul se réinvente en tant que techno-utopie», Wired, 6 September 2017, https://www.wired.com/story/how-seoul-is-reinventing-itself-as-a-techno-utopia/

L'engagement du maire Park Won-Soon à l'égard de cette initiative est également souligné:Il veut montrer aux citoyens que leur gouvernement local fait tout son possible pour comprendre et améliorer leur qualité de vie. Ce tableau de bord semblait être une pépite verte potentielle de la démocratie - une ville faisant tout son possible pour montrer aux citoyens pourquoi on devrait faire confiance au gouvernement et que leur qualité de vie, y compris la qualité de l'air qu'ils respirent, le prix des pommes qu'ils consomment, et les embouteillages auxquels ils sont confrontés quotidiennement, est important. » Ibid. Cet examen résume l'objectif principal de cet engagement et fait la promotion de ses résultats et de l'initiative numérique de Séoul auprès du public international.

Recommandations

Bien que cet engagement ait été en grande partie complété avec des résultats substantiels en matière de gouvernement ouvert, deux recommandations pourraient être reportées.:

1. Rédigez un texte de plan d'action aussi précis et détaillé que possible. Le plan d'action indique que tous les départements de SMG seront impliqués dans cette entreprise; Cependant, des engagements futurs pourraient fournir des détails plus explicites en ajoutant des informations telles que les institutions spécifiques et fournir un plan de travail clair. Il semble également que la compréhension intuitive de l'engagement pourrait être difficile pour les citoyens ordinaires à la lecture du texte du plan d'action et qu'il devrait être rédigé dans un langage plus clair.

2. Promouvoir la plate-forme de bureau numérique pour les citoyens et de maires au profit du plus grand nombre de citoyens possible. Parallèlement à l'ouverture future du Digital Office, le gouvernement devrait en promouvoir le travail en tant que moyen efficace de toucher le plus grand nombre de citoyens possible. SMG a investi une quantité considérable de budget et de main-d'œuvre dans cette entreprise. Par conséquent, ils pourraient envisager d'établir une stratégie de diffusion pour sa promotion auprès des citoyens.


Engagements

  1. Accessibilité du transport

    SEO0005, 2018, gouvernement électronique

  2. Alphabétisation numérique

    SEO0006, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  3. Smart Cities Youth Start Ups

    SEO0007, 2018, gouvernement électronique

  4. Analyser les données pour résoudre les problèmes urbains à Séoul grâce à une gouvernance coopérative avec la société civile

    SEO0001, 2017, Open Data

  5. Renforcer la responsabilisation du gouvernement métropolitain de Séoul en partageant l'information publique avec ses citoyens de manière rapide et rapide.

    SEO0002, 2017, gouvernement électronique

  6. Promouvoir la création de cartes d'externalisation ouverte en facilitant l'environnement pour permettre aux citoyens de créer leurs propres cartes de vie urbaine.

    SEO0003, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  7. Fournissez des informations et des comptes rendus de réunion plus transparents.

    SEO0004, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Seoul, South Korea

Strengthen the Accountability of the Seoul Metropolitan Government by Sharing Public Information with Its Citizens in a Timely and Swift Manner. (SEO0002)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Seoul, Korea Action Plan

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: NA

Support Institution(s): All departments within the Seoul Metropolitan Government; Open Net, INDILAB and C.O.D.E

Policy Areas

E-Government, Fiscal Transparency, Public Participation, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Pending IRM Review

Starred: No

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Issue to be Addressed: Public information which includes main policy indexes and progress on city projects is provided to citizens partially and separately, making it difficult to see from a comprehensive and diverse perspective. Policy progress information is open to citizens through various white papers and city websites, but finding proper information which citizens need is difficult, thus the need for organizing and visualizing data has emerged. Currently, the form of citizen participation is mostly limited to making civil complaints and suggestions. In order to encourage the citizens to more actively participate in policy-making based on public information, the Seoul Metropolitan Government needs to provide structuralized, seamless and accessible public information to its citizens. Primary Objective: The Seoul Metropolitan Government aggregates administrative data that is fragmentarily scattered across departments, and then it structuralizes and visualizes the data to help its citizens to understand the work of the Seoul Metropolitan Government better, thus increasing its transparency and accountability. Short Description: Agree on what types of data set to open with CSOs and ways of communicating with them. Consult with CSOs about open data sets, items, update frequency and agree on ways of communicating with them for further improvement. Agree on data visualization types and channels to provide the seamless and visualized data to citizens. Decide whether selected data will be visualized as chart, map, figure or infographic, and find consensus on how they will be opened and which channel they will be opened through. Visualizing data and open it to citizens. Develop content in the form of agreed visualization formats and open them to citizens through agreed channel. OGP Challenge: Structuralize and visualize the data which is necessary to understand the work of the Seoul Metropolitan Government and provide the data through a dashboard. Increase the transparency and accountability of the Seoul Metropolitan Government by making a citizen feedback system.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

2. Strengthen the accountability of the Seoul Metropolitan Government by sharing public information with its citizens in a timely and swift manner.

Commitment Text

The Seoul Metropolitan Government aggregates administrative data that is fragmentarily scattered across departments, and then it structuralizes and visualizes the data to help its citizens to understand the work of the Seoul Metropolitan Government better, thus increasing its transparency and accountability.

  • Agree on what types of data set to open with CSOs and ways of communicating with them.

- Consult with CSOs about open data sets, items, update frequency and agree on ways of communicating with them for further improvement.

  • Agree on data visualization types and channels to provide the seamless and visualized data to citizens.

- Decide whether selected data will be visualized as chart, map, figure or infographic, and find consensus on how they will be opened and which channel they will be opened through.

  • Visualizing data and open it to citizens.

- Develop content in the form of agreed visualization formats and open them to citizens through agreed channel.

Milestones

1. Agree on what types of data set to open with CSOs and ways of communicating with them.

2. Agree on data visualization types and channels to provide the visualized and seamless data to citizens.

3. Visualizing data and opening it to citizens.

Commitment Overview

Commitment Aim

Overall Objective & Relevance

This second commitment of Seoul’s action plan, addresses the need to increase the publication of government data relevant for CSOs and to ease its access for citizens. According to the action plan, public information on the SMG’s various policy indexes and projects has been provided in a disorderly and unsystematic manner. The Government believes that this limits citizen participation in policy-making processes, considering that they are only able to passively make complaints or suggestions.

Therefore, the objective of this commitment is to consult and agree with CSOs on how to aggregate, structuralize and visualize administrative data to help its citizens to understand the work of the SMG, thus increasing transparency and accountability. The SMG has planned a series of activities to reach this goal, including reaching consensus with CSOs on (1) what types of data sets to disclose (2) how to do so and (3) how to improve data visualization types and channels prior to sharing them with citizens.

This commitment is relevant to three of the OGP values, access to information, civic participation and technology and innovation for transparency. It means to increase and improve access to government data through a mechanism that can allow better visualization and structure. Additionally, it provides CSOs an opportunity to engage with governments with the aim of agreeing upon data that should be made public, according to their needs. While the SMG claims that the commitment will increase public officials’ accountability, as stated defined by the IRM, only releasing information to citizens with no explicit feedback mechanism in place calling upon governments to justify their actions upon citizen criticism or request, is not relevant to public accountability. Finally, out of five OGP Grand Challenges, this commitment addresses the challenge No. 1 “Improving Public Services”.

Specificity and Potential Impact

The IRM researcher evaluates this commitment to be of low specificity. The objective of providing structuralized data and promoting collaboration with CSOs in decision making is greatly ambitious, however it does not clearly provide a specific roadmap to achieve it. It also says that all departments across SMG will be involved in this endeavor; however, more explicit details should be added, such as specific division of works and clear work plan. In addition, it is hard to say that the activities are measurable in a clear and objective way to track progress during the year of implementation. The commitment does not provide clear expectations of what type of data should be published, what format will the discussions with CSOs take, which organizations would be invited to participate, among other key details.

NGOs like Open Net Korea, working at the national level on free speech, open government and other issues, have reported the adverse effect of undisclosed data on citizens’ lives. For instance, in 2014, the Seoul’s Transport Operation and Information Service Center stopped sharing train arrival times. Numerous apps that provided citizens real-time data were unable to continue operating. This decision was later reversed due to insistence from the public. “Seoul Subway Train Arrival Time Info is Public Data, not Owned by Anyone!” Open Net Korea, 18 March 2014, http://opennetkorea.org/en/wp/856 This article by Mr. Park Jihwan is an example from 2014 when the SMG put a ban to the use of real-time train arrival data for public and revoked its decision. Issues like these could be prevented if the government offered CSOs a seat at the table to decide which data sets should be accessible and in what format. If this commitment was fully implemented, Seoul citizens could have a mechanism to influence decisions on the publication of data. Additionally, the commitment could allow citizens to more easily understand data sets and information, not through reports and papers, but through a visualized format, enabling them to more actively participate and raise their voice in the decision-making processes. For this reason, the IRM researcher considers this commitment to have a moderate potential impact, because it could significantly change the way citizens engage on this issue. However, because of the lack of specificity, it is difficult to read whether it could transform the status quo.

Completion
Substantial

The status of completion for commitment #2 is overall substantial.

Milestone #1, “Agree on what types of data set to open with CSOs and ways of communicating with them,” was completed on time. The evidence is recorded on the 2nd consultative group meeting on 22 March 2017 where the types of data and ways of communication are agreed on and decided. The progress is recorded on the Seoul’s OGP website. http://ogp.seoul.go.kr/sub03-1#list/2 For example….

Milestone #2, “Agree on data visualization types and channels to provide the seamless and visualized data to citizens,” was completed. The evidence is again recorded on the commitment sub-group’s meeting minutes which took place on 1 November 2017 where data visualization types and channels were decided upon. Ibid. For example… Its completion was delayed from its original expected date of July to November 2017. It was delayed due to the increasing needs for additional data analysis such as status data and analysis data such as disaster safety. The reason for delay also includes additional requests for citizen feedback on the shared contents on the dashboard that led to the extension of project period in which the relevant departments had to consult with each other and work on the further development of the dashboard.

Milestone #3, “Visualizing data and open it to citizens,” saw substantial progress. This milestone was still underway by the time the implementation period ended. The dashboard was functioning and operational to visualize the data sets on issues pertaining to various areas of citizens’ daily lives from traffic to emergency information. The IRM researcher confirmed that by December 2017, the SMG data website had created a space for stakeholders to upload data for it to be processed for better visualization. The site is currently active and has multiple data sets available. SMG Data website with data visualization platform: https://data.seoul.go.kr/visual/

Early results: did it open government?

Access to information: Major

Civic Participation: Marginal

With the goal of working together with CSOs to provide information in an easy-to-visualize way, three milestones were to be finished by April, July and December 2017. As mentioned above, in the potential impact section, the commitment aimed for Seoul citizens to be able to more easily understand various data and information, not through reports and papers, but through a visualized format, enabling them to check on relevant real-time data. The implementation of this commitment led to a significant change in government practice. The new system is up and shares real-time data that, prior to the action plan, was only available to the mayor. The government has opened government-held, confidential data that was exclusively reported to the mayor and made now available to citizens.

SMG now discloses more information and improved the way the relevant data is being shown to the citizens with data visualization. The IRM researcher considers that use of technology and innovation to improve access to information is visible and effective.

The early outcome of this commitment also received a very positive media review. Susan Crawford from the Harvard Law School visited the Seoul City’s “Digital Office for Citizens and Mayor Platform” and stated that: “What’s new is that Seoul is also measuring and reporting on—in real time—a wide range of other indicators of the city’s health and well-being.” Referring to the dashboard, she further noted, “It was opened for the mayor to view in May 2017, and much of this information will be also made available to citizens by the end of the year. The government is committed to opening up its data. “How Seoul is Reinventing Itself as a Techno-Utopia,” Wired, 6 September 2017, https://www.wired.com/story/how-seoul-is-reinventing-itself-as-a-techno-utopia/

Mayor Park Won-Soon’s commitment to this initiative is also highlighted, “He wants to show citizens that their local government is doing all it can to understand and improve their quality of life. This dashboard seemed like a potential green shoot of democracy—a city doing what it can to show citizens why government should be trusted and that their quality of life, including the quality of the air they breathe, the prices of the apples they eat, and the traffic jams they face daily, is important.” Ibid. This review sums up the main goal of this commitment and promotes its outcome and Seoul’s digital initiative to the international audience.

Recommendations

While this commitment was mostly completed with substantial results on open government, there are two recommendations that could be carried forward:

1. Make action plan text as specific and detailed as possible. The action plan states that all departments across SMG will be involved in this endeavor; however, furture commitments could provide more explicit details by adding information such as the specific institutions and provide a clear work plan. It also seems that intuitive understanding of the commitment might be difficult for ordinary citizens upon reading the action plan text and it should be written in a plainer language.

2. Promote the Digital Office for Citizens and Mayor Platform to benefit as many citizens as possible. Along with the future opening of the Digital Office, the government should promote the work of the office as an effective way to reach as many citizens as possible. SMG has invested a considerable amount of budget and workforce to this endeavor, therefore, they could consider establishing a dissemination strategy for its promotion among citizens.


Seoul, South Korea's Commitments

  1. Transporation Accessibility

    SEO0005, 2018, E-Government

  2. Digital Literacy

    SEO0006, 2018, Capacity Building

  3. Smart Cities Youth Start Ups

    SEO0007, 2018, E-Government

  4. Analyze Data to Resolve Urban Problems in Seoul Through Cooperative Governance with Civil Society

    SEO0001, 2017, Open Data

  5. Strengthen the Accountability of the Seoul Metropolitan Government by Sharing Public Information with Its Citizens in a Timely and Swift Manner.

    SEO0002, 2017, E-Government

  6. Promote Crowdsourcing Map-Making by Facilitating the Environment for Citizens to Make Their Own Urban-Life Maps.

    SEO0003, 2017, Capacity Building

  7. Provide More Transparent Meeting Information and Minutes.

    SEO0004, 2017, Capacity Building