Ignorer la navigation
Ukraine

Conformité à l'ITIE (UA0040)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Deuxième plan d'action de l'Ukraine 2014-2015

Cycle du plan d'action : 2014

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Ministère de l'Énergie

Institution(s) de soutien : ministère du Développement économique, ministère des Finances, ministère de l'Écologie et des ressources naturelles, Fondation internationale de la Renaissance, ONG Dixie Group, ONG Kyiv International Energy Club Q-Club, ONG Centre analytique de coopération régionale, l'initiative internationale " Publiez ce que vous payez », d'autres ONG et organisations internationales non spécifiées

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Industries d'extraction, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice Ukraine 2014-2016, Rapport IRM de l'Ukraine 2014-2015

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : majeur Majeur

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique, responsabilité publique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Prendre des mesures concernant l'acquisition par l'Ukraine de l'état de conformité aux normes de l'Initiative de transparence des industries extractives

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

8. Conformité à l'ITIE

Texte d'engagement: 8. Prendre des mesures pour que l'Ukraine obtienne l'état de conformité aux normes de l'Initiative pour la transparence des industries extractives.

Résultat attendu: cadre juridique national mis en conformité avec la norme ITIE; un rapport en ukrainien et dans une langue étrangère préparé conformément à la norme susmentionnée.

Institution (s) principale (s): ministère de l'Énergie

Institution (s) de soutien: ministère du Développement économique, ministère des Finances, ministère de l'Écologie et des Ressources naturelles, Fondation Internationale Renaissance, ONG Dixie Group, ONG Kyiv International Energy Club Q-Club, Centre d'analyse des ONG de coopération régionale, initiative internationale « Publiez ce que vous payez », d'autres ONG et organisations internationales non spécifiées

Date de début: Non spécifié Date de fin: 31 décembre 2015

Objectif de l'engagement

En octobre 2013, avant la période d'engagement, l'Ukraine a été acceptée comme pays candidat à l'Initiative pour la transparence des industries extractives (ITIE). Cet engagement visait à faire progresser la conformité de l'Ukraine aux normes ITIE, ce qui était une étape importante pour garantir la transparence et empêcher le détournement de revenus provenant de l'industrie extractive. Si le titre de l'engagement («prendre des mesures») était trop large, les résultats attendus comprenaient la mise en conformité de la législation nationale avec les normes ITIE et la préparation d'un rapport conforme à ces normes. Un engagement similaire a été inclus dans le plan d'action précédent du PGO. Selon le Service national des statistiques, la contribution du secteur pétrolier et gazier au PIB ukrainien est d'environ 1.3%. Le rapport ITIE 2013 a documenté 3.3 milliards USD de paiements effectués par les sociétés pétrolières et gazières (y compris les sociétés de transport pétrolier et gazier).[Note 33: https://eiti.org/ukraine.]

Statut

Mi-parcours: substantiel

Le groupe multipartite national (MSG) a élaboré le mandat de l'administrateur indépendant du premier rapport ITIE de l'Ukraine. Le rapport devait inclure les secteurs du pétrole et du gaz. Le premier rapport ITIE par pays devait être préparé d'ici la fin de 2015.[Note 34: http://bit.ly/1ODYqyS. ] En août 2015, le MSG a choisi la société Ernst & Young pour développer de manière indépendante le rapport ITIE. Il a également sélectionné le secrétariat national du Groupe multipartite dans le cadre d'un concours ouvert.[Note 35: http://bit.ly/1jQx6jZ. ] Le rapport a finalement été retardé en raison de l'incapacité de la société Ukranafta (actionnaire majoritaire de l'État) et du service fiscal de l'État à fournir les informations requises pour le rapport.[Remarque 36: Rapport d’avancement du mécanisme de rapport indépendant (IRM) 2014-15: Ukraine, 42. ]

Par ailleurs, En juin 2015, le Parlement a adopté la loi portant modification de la législation visant à assurer la transparence des industries extractives. Le projet de loi a été préparé par des membres du MSG et des experts de la société civile. Dans son préambule, la loi fait directement référence au plan OGP. Il comprend des modifications importantes du code du sous-sol dans la loi sur le pétrole et le gaz. Il demande également au gouvernement de développer des procédures pour assurer la transparence dans les industries extractives et d'adopter les normes de reporting internationales par les utilisateurs des ressources du sous-sol. Les modifications de June 2015 ont été considérées comme une mesure provisoire. Le groupe multipartite a commencé à élaborer un nouveau projet de loi complet sur la transparence des industries extractives.[Remarque 37: Ibid, 42-43. ]

Fin du mandat: substantiel

Le premier rapport ITIE de l'Ukraine sur 2013 a été publié en novembre, 2015. La validation du pays par rapport à la norme ITIE débutera le 1 July 2017.[Note 38: https://eiti.org/ukraine. ] Selon le rapport d'autoévaluation du gouvernement, la préparation du deuxième rapport national a commencé; Sur la base de l'appel d'offres, le gouvernement a choisi un administrateur indépendant pour préparer le rapport, qui devait être présenté en décembre 2016.[Note 39: Texte du rapport disponible à l'adresse http://bit.ly/2nAPbaw.] Le deuxième rapport du pays inclura les secteurs du charbon et du minerai de fer. En décembre 2015, le gouvernement a adopté une réglementation visant à garantir la transparence dans les industries extractives conformément à la loi 2015. Il a également rendu compte d'un certain nombre d'activités de sensibilisation impliquant la société civile.

En juin, 2016, un groupe de députés a soumis au Parlement un projet de loi sur la divulgation d'informations dans les industries extractives. Le projet de loi s'appuie sur les amendements 2015 et suggère un cadre global pour la transparence dans le secteur. Il a été développé par le groupe multipartite ukrainien, avec des experts externes et des membres du Parlement, conformément aux recommandations du premier rapport ITIE. Il institutionnalise le mécanisme national de coordination et de compte rendu de l'ITIE, aligne la législation ukrainienne sur la législation européenne applicable et établit des exigences détaillées en matière de divulgation d'informations dans le secteur., y compris la propriété effective.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: majeur

Participation civique: majeure

Responsabilité publique: pas de changement

L'engagement visait à continuer à œuvrer pour le respect des normes internationales en matière de transparence dans les industries extractives. Si l'objectif global de l'engagement (atteindre le statut de conformité) est atteint, cela pourrait avoir un effet transformateur. Après un certain retard, le gouvernement a publié son premier rapport national sur l'ITIE, qui est devenu une étape importante. Le rapport divulgue des informations sur les principaux champs pétroliers et gaziers ukrainiens, les titulaires de licence, les volumes de production ainsi que sur les paiements versés par les entreprises aux budgets de tous les niveaux.

Le gouvernement a également commencé à préparer le deuxième rapport national. En outre, le Parlement a adopté d'importants amendements à la législation afin d'introduire des instruments de transparence dans les industries extractives et la politique gouvernementale. Une loi complète sur la transparence dans le secteur des industries extractives a été élaborée et est en attente de ratification par le Parlement. Le processus ITIE en Ukraine a été le premier à impliquer un véritable dialogue multipartite au sein du Groupe multipartite, y compris avec un certain nombre d'ONG et d'experts.

Le groupe multipartite est composé de six OSC (Fondation internationale de la renaissance; «Center of Globalistics Strategy I», DIXI Group, Sustainable Development Institute, Analytical Center of Regional Cooperation, Chapter in Donestk Oblast de l'ONG «All-Ukrainian People's Control»), six entreprises privées et six ministères. En tant que membres du Groupe multipartite, les groupes de la société civile jouent un rôle actif dans le suivi et l'évaluation de la conformité à l'ITIE. Le groupe multipartite supervise les rapports ITIE, y compris la sélection et la gestion de l'administrateur indépendant chargé de mener les évaluations. Les OSC partagent le même niveau de pouvoir décisionnel que tous les autres membres du Groupe multipartite, et influencent et décident directement les politiques liées aux activités de l'ITIE.[Remarque: 40: Plan de travail principal de l’UI sur l’UA, 2015-2016. https://eiti.org/sites/default/files/documents/2015_ukraine_work_plan.pdf.] Lors de sa réunion de novembre 2016, le Groupe multipartite a décidé de former les représentants des ONG locales sur la manière d'utiliser les données du rapport ITIE et de suivre la mise en œuvre des recommandations.[Note 41: Institut de recherche budgétaire et socio-économique, 16 November 2016, http://www.ibser.org.ua/en/news/msg-meeting-covering-operational-results-ukraines-extractive-industries-2014-2015.]

Toutes ces activités ont fortement amélioré les progrès vers la pleine conformité à l'ITIE comme l'envisage l'engagement. Le processus de coopération a également considérablement amélioré l'accès à l'information et à la participation civique. 

Reportés?

L'engagement a été reporté dans le nouveau plan d'action. Il prévoit l'adoption de la loi sur la divulgation d'informations dans les industries extractives et la publication des deuxième et troisième rapports nationaux (respectivement en décembre 2016 et en décembre 2017). L'engagement ne vise plus à faire en sorte que l'Ukraine se conforme à la norme ITIE, un facteur qui diminue l'ambition de l'engagement.

Thème III. Prévenir et combattre la corruption


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Ukraine

Compliance with EITI (UA0040)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Ukraine Second Action Plan 2014-2015

Action Plan Cycle: 2014

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Energy

Support Institution(s): Ministry of Economic Development, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources, International Renaissance Foundation, NGO Dixie Group, NGO Kyiv International Energy Club Q-Club, NGO Analytical Centre of Regional Cooperation, the international initiative “Publish What You Pay,” other unspecified NGOs and international organisations

Policy Areas

Anti-Corruption, Extractive Industries, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Ukraine End-of-Term Report 2014-2016, Ukraine IRM Report 2014 – 2015

Starred: No

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation , Public Accountability

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Taking measures concerning the acquisition by Ukraine of the status of compliance with the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative standards

IRM End of Term Status Summary

8. EITI Compliance

Commitment Text: 8. Taking measures for Ukraine to obtain the status of compliance with the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative standards.

Expected result: national legal framework brought into conformity with the EITI standard; a report in Ukrainian and in a foreign language prepared according to the above-mentioned standard.

Lead institution(s): Ministry of Energy

Supporting institution(s): Ministry of Economic Development, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources, International Renaissance Foundation, NGO Dixie Group, NGO Kyiv International Energy Club Q-Club, NGO Analytical Centre of Regional Cooperation, the international initiative “Publish What You Pay,” other unspecified NGOs and international organisations

Start Date: Not specified                                                        End Date: 31 December 2015

Commitment aim

In October 2013, prior to the commitment period, Ukraine was accepted as an Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) candidate country. This commitment aimed to advance Ukraine’s compliance with EITI standards, which was an important step for ensuring transparency and preventing embezzlement of revenues received from the extractive industry. While the title of the commitment (“taking measures”) was too broad, the expected outputs included bringing national law into compliance with EITI standards, and preparing a report in line with those standards. A similar commitment was included in the previous OGP action plan. According to the State Statistics Service, the oil and gas sector’s contribution to Ukraine’s GDP is about 1.3%. The 2013 EITI report documented USD 3.3 billion of payments by oil and gas companies (including oil and gas transportation companies).[Note 33: https://eiti.org/ukraine.]

Status

Midterm: Substantial

The national multi-stakeholder group (MSG) developed the terms of reference for the independent administrator for Ukraine’s first EITI report. The report was to include the oil and gas sectors. The first country EITI report was scheduled to be prepared by the end of 2015.[Note 34: http://bit.ly/1ODYqyS. ] In August 2015, the MSG selected the company, Ernst & Young, to independently develop the EITI report. It also selected the national secretariat for the MSG through an open competition.[Note 35: http://bit.ly/1jQx6jZ. ] The report was eventually delayed due to the failure of the Ukranafta company (majority stake owned by the state) and the State Fiscal Service to provide information required for the report.[Note 36: Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM) Progress Report 2014-15: Ukraine, 42. ]

In addition, in June 2015, Parliament adopted the Law on Amendments in the Legislation to Ensure Transparency in the Extractive Industries. The draft law was prepared by MSG members and civil society experts. In its preamble, the law directly refers to the OGP plan. It includes important changes in the Subsoil Code within the Law on Oil and Gas. It also instructs the government to develop procedures for ensuring transparency in the extractive industries, and to adopt the international reporting standards by users of subsoil resources. The amendments of June 2015 were seen as an interim measure. The MSG started working on a new comprehensive draft law on the transparency of extractive industries.[Note 37: Ibid, 42-43. ]

End of term: Substantial

Ukraine’s first EITI report for 2013 was published in November 2015. The country’s validation against the EITI Standard will commence on 1 July 2017.[Note 38: https://eiti.org/ukraine. ] According to the government’s self-assessment report, the preparation of the second national report has begun; based on the tender, the government selected an independent administrator to prepare the report, which was due in December 2016.[Note 39: Text of the report available at http://bit.ly/2nAPbaw.] The country’s second report will include the coal and iron ore sectors. In December 2015, the government adopted regulations on ensuring transparency in the extractive industries in accordance with the 2015 law. It also reported on a number of awareness-raising activities with civil society involvement.

In June 2016, a group of MPs submitted to Parliament a draft law on the disclosure of information in extractive industries. The draft law builds on the 2015 amendments, and suggests a comprehensive framework for transparency in the sector. It was developed by the Ukrainian multi-stakeholder group, together with external experts and Members of Parliament, in line with recommendations from the first EITI Report. It institutionalises the EITI national coordination and reporting mechanism, aligns Ukrainian legislation with the relevant EU law, and establishes detailed requirements on disclosure of information in the sector, including beneficial ownership.

Did it open government?

Access to information: Major

Civic Participation: Major

Public accountability: No change

The commitment sought to continue working toward compliance with international standards on transparency in extractive industries. If the overall goal of the commitment (i.e., obtain status of compliance) is achieved, it could have a transformative effect. Following a delay, the government published its first national EITI report, which has become an important milestone. The report discloses information about key Ukrainian oil and gas fields, license holders, production volumes, as well as the payments companies made to budgets of all levels.

The government also began preparing the second national report. Additionally, Parliament passed important amendments in the legislation to introduce transparency instruments in the extractive industries and government policy. A comprehensive law on transparency in the extractives sector has been developed, and is pending in Parliament. The EITI process in Ukraine was the first to involve genuine multi-stakeholder dialogue within the MSG, including with a number of NGOs and experts.

The Multi-Stakeholder Group is composed of six CSOs (International Renaissance Foundation; “Centre of Globalistics Strategy I,” DIXI Group, Sustainable Development Institute, Analytical Centre of Regional Cooperation, Chapter in Donestk Oblast of the NGO “All-Ukrainian People’s Control”), six private enterprises, and six government ministries. As members of the MSG, civil society groups play an active role in monitoring and evaluating EITI compliance. The MSG oversees EITI reporting, including selecting and managing the Independent Administrator in charge of carrying out evaluations. CSOs share an equal level of decsion-making power as all other MSG members, and directly influence and decide policies related to EITI activities.[Note 40: Main UA EITI Work Plan 2015-2016 https://eiti.org/sites/default/files/documents/2015_ukraine_work_plan.pdf.] During its meeting in November 2016, the MSG decided to train local NGO representatives on how to use the EITI report data and monitor implementation of recommendations.[Note 41: Institute for Budgetary and Socio-economic Research, 16 November 2016, http://www.ibser.org.ua/en/news/msg-meeting-covering-operational-results-ukraines-extractive-industries-2014-2015.]

All these activities have strongly improved progress toward full EITI compliance as envisioned by the commitment. The cooperative process has also increased access to information and civic participation in a major way. 

Carried forward?

The commitment was carried over to the new action plan. It provides for the adoption of the law on the disclosure of information in extractive industries, and publication of the second and third national reports (in December 2016 and December 2017, respectively). The commitment no longer aims to achieve Ukraine’s compliance with the EITI Standard, a factor that diminishes the commitment’s ambition.

Theme III. Prevent and combat corruption


Commitments

Open Government Partnership