Ignorer la navigation
États-Unis

Stratégie de données fédérale (US0105)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action des États-Unis 2019-2021

Cycle du plan d'action : 2019

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : NA

Institution(s) de soutien : NA

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception des États-Unis 2019-2021

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Détails

Exploitez les données en tant qu'atout stratégique: publiez une stratégie fédérale globale en matière de données. Les données fédérales sont à la fois un atout stratégique et une ressource nationale précieuse. qualité de vie globale pour tous les citoyens. En fournissant un accès approprié aux données fédérales, nous améliorons considérablement le retour sur investissement de la nation dans leur création. Les États-Unis vont mettre en place une stratégie fédérale complète en matière de données, qui comprend des données relatives aux programmes, aux statistiques et au soutien des missions parrainées par le gouvernement fédéral. Cette stratégie comprendra des concepts inclus dans les principes existants, tels que la protection des informations personnelles identifiables et le développement des données en tant qu'outil de gestion, tout en guidant le développement de nouvelles pratiques et actions tout au long du cycle de vie des données. La stratégie fédérale en matière de données reposera sur les principes de gouvernance éthique, de transparence, de conception consciente et d'amélioration continue.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

1. Exploiter les données en tant qu'actif stratégique : publier une stratégie fédérale globale en matière de données

Objectif principal

« Délivrer une stratégie de données fédérale complète qui englobe les données de programme, de statistiques et de soutien à la mission du gouvernement fédéral et parrainé par le gouvernement fédéral. »

Milestones

Aucun fourni.

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, veuillez consulter le plan d'action des États-Unis à l'adresse : https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf.

Évaluation du rapport de conception de l'IRM

Vérifiable:

Oui

Pertinent:

Oui

Accès à l'information; technologie et innovation pour la transparence et la responsabilité

Impact potentiel:

Mineur

Analyse des engagements
Cet engagement permettra d'élaborer une stratégie fédérale de données complète couvrant les programmes fédéraux et parrainés par le gouvernement fédéral, les statistiques et les données de soutien à la mission. La stratégie permettra au gouvernement de tirer parti des données tout en exécutant les missions du gouvernement de manière responsable et efficace, de favoriser la croissance économique et d'améliorer la qualité de vie des citoyens. Selon le site Web officiel de la stratégie fédérale des données des États-Unis, (1) la stratégie « tirera pleinement parti de la valeur des données fédérales pour les missions, les services et le bien public en guidant le gouvernement dans la pratique d'une gouvernance éthique, d'une conception consciente et d'une culture d'apprentissage ». (2)

L'engagement provient du programme de gestion du président de mars 2018, environ un an avant le NAP4. (3) L'un des objectifs du programme est de « exploiter les données en tant qu'actif stratégique », ce qui permettrait d'élaborer une stratégie fédérale en matière de données. (4) Le plan d'action de cet objectif comprend quatre sous-objectifs : (5)

  1. Gouvernance des données d'entreprise (« gérer les données gouvernementales en tant qu'actif stratégique » ); (6)
  2. Accès, utilisation et augmentation (facilitant un meilleur accès et utilisation des données détenues par le gouvernement fédéral) ;
  3. Prise de décision et responsabilité (faciliter l'utilisation des données pour soutenir la prise de décision à la fois interne et externe au gouvernement); et
  4. Commercialisation, innovation et utilisation publique (faciliter l'utilisation des données par les entreprises publiques et commerciales).

La valeur et la portée de l'exploitation des données détenues par le gouvernement fédéral ne sont pas négligeables. Nick Hart, PDG de la Data Coalition (une association américaine de commerce de données) et ancien directeur des politiques et de la recherche pour la Commission américaine sur l'élaboration de politiques fondées sur des preuves, a estimé la valeur des données fournies by le public à le gouvernement américain à 143 milliards de dollars par an. (7) William Brantley, administrateur de formation pour l'Académie mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle de l'Office des brevets et des marques des États-Unis, note que le gouvernement fédéral américain est peut-être le plus grand producteur de données au monde, et que les données détenues par le gouvernement fédéral sont « un moteur majeur de l'économie américaine, car les entreprises utilisent les données. pour prendre des décisions ou intégrer les données gouvernementales dans les produits et services vendus aux consommateurs. (8) La valeur de l'engagement concernant à la fois la portée des données détenues par le gouvernement fédéral et la valeur commerciale de ces données est évidente.

L'engagement est pertinent pour les valeurs de l'OGP d'accès à l'information (car il donnera accès aux données fédérales, présumé par le chercheur de l'IRM pour impliquer public l'accès) et la technologie et l'innovation pour la transparence et la responsabilité (car elle tirera parti des données pour les activités gouvernementales et de meilleurs résultats pour les citoyens, c'est-à-dire la croissance économique et la qualité de vie). Avant le programme de gestion du président susmentionné, qui sous-tend cet engagement, le gouvernement américain n'avait pas de stratégie fédérale officielle en matière de données. Cela représente donc une ouverture du gouvernement par rapport au statu quo, avec un accent particulier sur les quatre sous-objectifs énumérés ci-dessus.

En ce qui concerne l'impact potentiel, 80 participants gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux se sont réunis en mai 2018 pour discuter de l'objectif du président « Optimiser les données » figurant dans son programme. Ils ont identifié quatre grands défis que la stratégie proposée aborderait : (1) les obstacles à la collaboration interagences tels que les accords complexes de partage de données et l'incertitude entourant la propriété des données ; (2) restrictions sur l'utilisation des données en raison de l'absence de norme nationale sur la rédaction des informations d'identification personnelle (PII) et d'autres problèmes juridiques ; (3) la confusion entourant le cadre juridique plus large de l'utilisation des données fédérales ; et (4) un manque d'interopérabilité et de normes de données, en particulier concernant les métadonnées et les informations sensibles. (9) Ces défis entravent une utilisation efficace, large et responsable des données fédérales.

Cependant, ni cet engagement, ni son pendant présidentiel, ne précisent clairement quelles données sont couvertes ni n'indiquent s'il s'applique à toutes les données fédérales ou à une partie seulement. Ils ne précisent pas non plus comment le gouvernement tirera parti des données fédérales pour améliorer la qualité de vie ou rendre les données fédérales plus efficaces et responsables. Par conséquent, l'impact potentiel de l'engagement sur l'accès à l'information ne peut être évalué comme plus que mineur. Pour ces motifs, le chercheur de l'IRM a également évalué l'impact potentiel de l'engagement sur la technologie et l'innovation pour la transparence et la responsabilité.

Compte tenu des quatre défis identifiés en mai 2018, de la capacité de l'engagement à les relever et de la valeur monétaire potentielle des données en jeu, le chercheur de l'IRM évalue que l'engagement a un impact potentiel mineur sur l'ouverture du gouvernement. L'engagement aurait un impact potentiellement modéré ou transformateur s'il fournissait des mesures plus claires concernant sa portée, la manière dont les données seront exploitées et la gamme de données couvertes par la stratégie.

Si cet engagement est reporté au prochain plan d'action, le chercheur de l'IRM conseille de mettre davantage l'accent sur des résultats bien définis et mesurables.

(1) Le site Web de la stratégie fédérale des données est géré par GSA Technology Transformation Services et est dirigé par l'équipe de développement de la stratégie fédérale des données, composée de représentants de l'OMB (Executive Office of President Co-Lead), du Office of Science and Technology Policy (Executive Office of President Co-Lead), le Dept. of Commerce (Agence Co-Lead) et le Small Business Admin. (co-responsable de l'agence). Stratégie fédérale de données, « À propos : équipe » (GSA Technology Transformation Services, consulté le 8 mars 2020), https://strategy.data.gov/team/. Voir également Performance.gov, « Leverage des données en tant qu'actif stratégique » (consulté le 8 mars 2020), https://www.performance.gov/CAP/action_plans/FY2018_Q1_Data_Accountability_Transparency.pdf.
(2) Stratégie fédérale de données, « About : Historique » (GSA Technology Transformation Services, consulté le 8 mars 2020), https://strategy.data.gov/background/.
(3) NAP4 est daté de février 2019. Gouvernement des États-Unis, Le Open Government Partnership: Quatrième plan d'action national de gouvernement ouvert pour les États-Unis d'Amérique (OGP, février 2019), https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf. Le programme de gestion du président est une vision à long terme pour moderniser et améliorer le gouvernement fédéral. L'Agenda utilise les objectifs prioritaires inter-agences (CAP) pour coordonner et suivre publiquement la mise en œuvre dans les agences fédérales. Découvrir l' Bureau exécutif du président, « Président's Management Agenda » (GSA et OMB, consulté le 8 mars 2020), https://www.performance.gov/PMA/PMA.html.
(4) Pratiquement identique à l'Engagement 4 de NAP1, cet objectif « tirera parti des données comme un atout stratégique pour faire croître l'économie, augmenter l'efficacité du gouvernement fédéral, faciliter la surveillance et promouvoir la transparence ». Performance.gov, « Leaving Data as a Strategic Asset » (consulté le 8 mars 2020), 2, https://www.performance.gov/CAP/action_plans/FY2018_Q1_Data_Accountability_Transparency.pdf.
(5) Id. Voir également Performance.gov, « Présentation de l'objectif du CAP : exploiter les données en tant qu'actif stratégique » (GSA et OMB, consulté le 8 mars 2020), https://www.performance.gov/CAP/leveragingdata/.
(6) Performance.gov, « Optimiser les données en tant qu'actif stratégique » à 7.
(7) Nick Hart, « La stratégie fédérale des données est un plan Trump que nous devrions tous soutenir » (NextGov, 2 juillet 2019), https://www.nextgov.com/ideas/2019/07/federal-data-strategy-trump-plan-we-should-all-support/158153/.
(8) William Brantley, « La valeur des données du gouvernement fédéral » (Digital.gov, 14 mars 2018), https://digital.gov/2018/03/14/data-briefing-value-federal-government-data/.
(9) The Center for Open Data Enterprise, « Table ronde sur l'exploitation des données en tant qu'actif stratégique : éléments clés à retenir » (mai 2018), 3 http://reports.opendataenterprise.org/OMB-Key-Takeaways-Report.pdf.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
United States

Federal Data Strategy (US0105)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: United States Action Plan 2019-2021

Action Plan Cycle: 2019

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: NA

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

E-Government

IRM Review

IRM Report: United States Design Report 2019-2021

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

Leverage Data as a Strategic Asset: Publish a Comprehensive Federal Data Strategy Federal data is both a strategic asset and valuable national resource, which enables the Federal Government to effectively execute its missions, ensure accountability, better manage operations, foster economic growth, and improve the overall quality of life for all citizens. By providing appropriate access to Federal data, we significantly enhance the return on the Nation’s investment in their creation. The United States will deliver a comprehensive Federal Data Strategy that encompasses Federal and Federally-sponsored program, statistical, and mission-support data. This strategy will include concepts included in existing principles, such as the protection of personally identifiable information and the expansion of data as a management tool while also informing the development of new practices and action items throughout the data lifecycle. The Federal Data Strategy will be based upon the principles of ethical governance, transparency, conscious design, and continuous improvement.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

1. Leverage Data as a Strategic Asset: Publish a Comprehensive Federal Data Strategy

Main Objective

“To deliver a comprehensive Federal Data Strategy that encompasses Federal and Federally-sponsored program, statistical, and mission-support data.”

Milestones

None provided.

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, please see the United States’ action plan at: https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf.

IRM Design Report Assessment

Verifiable:

Yes

Relevant:

Yes

Access to information; technology and innovation for transparency and accountability

Potential impact:

Minor

Commitment analysis
This commitment will develop a comprehensive Federal Data Strategy covering federal and federally-sponsored program, statistical, and mission-support data. The strategy will enable the government to leverage data while executing government missions in an accountable and efficient manner, foster economic growth, and improve citizens’ quality of life. Per the official U.S. Federal Data Strategy website, [1] the strategy will “fully leverage the value of federal data for missions, service, and the public good by guiding the government in practicing ethical governance, conscious design, and a learning culture.” [2]

The commitment comes from the President’s Management Agenda of March 2018, roughly a year prior to NAP4. [3] One of the agenda’s goals is “Leveraging Data as a Strategic Asset,” which would develop a Federal Data Strategy. [4] This goal’s action plan includes four sub-goals: [5]

  1. Enterprise Data Governance (“managing government data as a strategic asset”); [6]
  2. Access, Use, and Augmentation (facilitating better access to and use of federally held data);
  3. Decision-Making and Accountability (facilitating the use of data to support decision-making both internal and external to government); and
  4. Commercialization, Innovation and Public Use (facilitating data usage by public and commercial ventures).

The value and scope of leveraging federally-held data is not trivial. Nick Hart, CEO of the Data Coalition (a U.S. data trade association) and former director of policy and research for the U.S. Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking, estimated the value of data provided by the public to the U.S. government at $143 billion annually. [7] William Brantley, Training Administrator for the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office’s Global Intellectual Property Academy notes that the U.S. federal government is perhaps the largest data producer worldwide, and federally-held data is a “a major driver of the American economy as businesses use the data to make decisions or blend the government data into products and services sold to consumers.” [8] The commitment’s value regarding both the scope of federally-held data and that data’s commercial value is evident.

The commitment is relevant to the OGP values of access to information (as it will provide access to federal data, presumed by the IRM researcher to imply public access), and technology and innovation for transparency and accountability (as it will leverage data for government activities and better citizen outcomes, i.e., economic growth and quality of life). Prior to the aforementioned President’s Management Agenda, which informs this commitment, the U.S. government did not have a formal federal data strategy. This therefore represents an opening of government relative to the status quo, with particular emphasis on the four sub-goals listed above.

Regarding potential impact, 80 government and nongovernment participants met in May 2018 to discuss the President’s “Leveraging Data” goal from his agenda. They identified four broad challenges the proposed strategy would address: (1) barriers to interagency collaboration such as complex data-sharing agreements and uncertainty surrounding data ownership; (2) restrictions on data use due to no national standard on redacting personally identifying information (PII) and other legal concerns; (3) confusion surrounding the broader legal framework for using federal data; and (4) a lack of interoperability and data standards, specifically surrounding metadata and sensitive information. [9] These challenges obstruct efficient, broad, and accountable use of federal data.

However, neither this commitment, nor its presidential counterpart, clearly specify what data is covered or state whether it applies to all federal data or just a portion. Neither do they specify how the government will leverage federal data to improve quality of life or make federal data more efficient and accountable. Therefore, the commitment’s potential impact on access to information cannot be assessed as more than minor. On these grounds, the IRM researcher similarly assessed the commitment’s potential impact on technology and innovation for transparency and accountability.

Given the four challenges identified in May 2018, the commitment’s ability to address them, and the potential monetary value of the data at stake, the IRM researcher assesses that the commitment has a minor potential impact on opening government. The commitment would have a potentially moderate or transformative impact if it provided clearer metrics surrounding its scope, how data will be leveraged, and the range of data covered by the strategy.

If this commitment is carried over to the next action plan, the IRM researcher advises greater emphasis on well-defined, measurable outputs.

[1] The Federal Data Strategy website is managed by GSA Technology Transformation Services and is led by the Federal Data Strategy Development Team, comprised of representatives from OMB (Executive Office of President Co-Lead), the Office of Science and Technology Policy (Executive Office of President Co-Lead), the Dept. of Commerce (Agency Co-Lead), and the Small Business Admin. (Agency Co-Lead). Federal Data Strategy, “About: Team” (GSA Technology Transformation Services, accessed 8 Mar. 2020), https://strategy.data.gov/team/. See also Performance.gov, “Leveraging Data as a Strategic Asset” (accessed 8 Mar. 2020), https://www.performance.gov/CAP/action_plans/FY2018_Q1_Data_Accountability_Transparency.pdf.
[2] Federal Data Strategy, “About: Background” (GSA Technology Transformation Services, accessed 8 Mar. 2020), https://strategy.data.gov/background/.
[3] NAP4 is dated February 2019. Government of the United States, The Open Government Partnership: Fourth Open Government National Action Plan for the United States of America (OGP, Feb. 2019), https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf. The President's Management Agenda is a long-term vision for modernizing and improving the federal government. The Agenda uses Cross-Agency Priority (CAP) Goals to coordinate and publicly track implementation across Federal agencies. See Executive Office of the President, “President’s Management Agenda” (GSA and OMB, accessed 8 Mar. 2020), https://www.performance.gov/PMA/PMA.html.
[4] Virtually identical to NAP4’s Commitment 1, this goal will “leverage data as a strategic asset to grow the economy, increase the effectiveness of the Federal Government, facilitate oversight, and promote transparency.” Performance.gov, “Leveraging Data as a Strategic Asset” (accessed 8 Mar. 2020), 2, https://www.performance.gov/CAP/action_plans/FY2018_Q1_Data_Accountability_Transparency.pdf.
[5] Id. See also Performance.gov, “CAP Goal Overview: Leveraging Data as a Strategic Asset” (GSA and OMB, accessed 8 Mar. 2020), https://www.performance.gov/CAP/leveragingdata/.
[6] Performance.gov, “Leveraging Data as a Strategic Asset” at 7.
[7] Nick Hart, “The Federal Data Strategy is a Trump Plan We Should All Support” (NextGov, 2 Jul. 2019), https://www.nextgov.com/ideas/2019/07/federal-data-strategy-trump-plan-we-should-all-support/158153/.
[8] William Brantley, “The Value of Federal Government Data” (Digital.gov, 14 Mar.2018), https://digital.gov/2018/03/14/data-briefing-value-federal-government-data/.
[9] The Center for Open Data Enterprise, “Roundtable on Leveraging Data as a Strategic Asset: Key Takeaways” (May 2018), 3 http://reports.opendataenterprise.org/OMB-Key-Takeaways-Report.pdf.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership