Skip Navigation

Open Gov Week 2021

Online

A global call to action to transform the way governments serve their citizens

 

For one week in May, open government doers, leaders, and thinkers from around the world will come together to share ideas, discuss solutions, and commit to new levels of citizen participation in government to respond to and recover from the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year’s Open Gov Week theme will focus on how we renew or build again governments, institutions and societies that are transparent, accountable, participatory, and inclusive. Get resources and tips for your planning in English, Spanish and French.

Add your event, find others and learn more at opengovweek.org.


 

OGP Events

You are invited! OGP will host a series of events during Open Gov Week to bring open government champions together to find solutions to the biggest challenges we face today.

 

Recovering from COVID-19 and Renewing Democratic Values

17 May 2021 | 12:00 PM GMT / 08:00 AM EDT / 21:00 Seoul

The response to and recovery from COVID-19 continues, and persistent, systemic challenges laid to bare by COVID-19 remain. Join this high level plenary session hosted by the Chairs of OGP aims to showcase concrete ways to use open government approaches to tackle some of the biggest challenges we face – from the catastrophic health crisis brought by the COVID-19 pandemic, to the global economic recession, an accelerating climate crisis, and systemic inequalities of income, gender and race. All of these are further exacerbated by challenges to democracy witnessed globally.

OGP’s Open Renewal campaign is about thinking anew on how these challenges can be solved. Learn how governments and civil society from across OGP’s membership are using open government approaches to tackle these challenges, and how reforms on civic space, anticorruption and digital governance can help ensure we: 

  • Drive a transparent and accountable recovery from the pandemic
  • Tackle systematic inequalities of income, gender and race
  • Address threats to democracy and civic space
  • Enhance public participation to reinvigorate democracy

What does Open Renewal mean to you?

English, French, Korean, and Spanish interpretation will be provided for this 75-minute session. 

Register here.

 

High-Level Discussion on Beneficial Ownership Transparency in Africa 

19 May 2021 | 12:00 Abidjan / 14:00 Johannesburg / 15:00 Nairobi /  8:00 AM EDT

During Open Gov Week, Open Government Partnership (OGP) and the Extractives Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) will convene leaders from government, civil society, public and private sectors for a high-level engagement on advancing beneficial ownership transparency in Africa. These leaders will  share best practice guidance on instituting beneficial ownership reform infrastructure to enhance its effectiveness and impact and ultimately mitigate corruption and mismanagement in the natural resource sector and beyond, as well as supporting governments in adapting to new challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

English and French interpretation will be provided for this 90-minute webinar.

Register here

 

Beneficial Ownership Transparency in Africa Technical Roundtable 

20 May 2021 | 10:00 Abidjan / 12:00 Johannesburg / 13:00 Nairobi / Oslo 12.00 / 6:00 AM EDT

Open Government Partnership (OGP), Extractives Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI)  and Open Ownership will host a technical roundtable on beneficial ownership transparency in Africa. 

The technical roundtable aims to bring together technical officials from government agencies working on beneficial ownership transparency, business representatives, civil society and media representatives, members of EITI national multi-stakeholder groups (MGS), national secretariats and OGP multi-stakeholder forums (MSFs). Participants of the session will build their technical capacity by sharing best practices and accessing practical tools to support implementation, address legal barriers, improve quality data collection and enhance options of data usage by stakeholders. English<>French interpretation will be provided for this 2-hour workshop.

If you are a practitioner working on beneficial ownership in Africa and would like to receive further information about this roundtable, please fill in this form to register your interest.

 

Escazu Agreement: Opportunities for an Environmental Open Government*

May 20 | 14:00 EDT/Santiago | 15:00 Buenos Aires/Montevideo | 13:00 Quito/Mexico City

The Escazu Agreement entered into force on April 22, 2021. This regional instrument embodies a paradigm of environmental democracy based on transparency, participation and inclusion as the basis for social and ecological transformations in the region. The synergy with the platform offered by the Open Government Partnership (OGP), as a transparent and inclusive public governance model, allows coordinating and promoting the implementation routes of the Agreement while expanding its scope.

Be part of this discussion with environmental and open government reformers to discuss strategies to advance the implementation of the Escazu Agreement and identify opportunities, allies, and institutional resources through open government action plans.

Register here

*This event is in Spanish only. 

Open Government Partnership