Ignorer la navigation
France

Mécanismes de consultation publique Imrove (FR0044)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d’Action France 2018-2020

Cycle du plan d'action: 2018

Statut: actif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: ministre d'État chargée du secteur numérique, adjoint au premier ministre

Institution (s) de soutien: Ministère de l'action publique et de la comptabilité, Ministère de l'enseignement supérieur, de la recherche et de l'innovation

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Règlements ouverts, Participation du public, Technologie scientifique

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: France Design Report 2018-2020

En vedette: en attente de révision IRM

Premiers résultats: examen IRM en attente

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs de l'OGP: participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement: examen IRM en attente

Description

Fournir aux administrations les outils pour associer les citoyens à la prise de décision publique
Institution (s) principale (s):
Ministre délégué chargé du secteur numérique, adjoint au Premier ministre
Autres parties prenantes:
Ministère de l'action publique et des comptes, Ministère de l'enseignement supérieur, de la recherche et de l'innovation
Engagement fondé sur: engagement no. 13 «tire parti des consultations précédentes et des mécanismes participatifs de réforme» et no. 22 “diffuse l'innovation publique et développe la recherche sur le gouvernement ouvert” du PAN pour 2015-2017
Principes OGP auxquels l'engagement est associé:
Participation civique, innovation et technologie pour l'ouverture
Défis
Les administrations ont organisé de nombreuses consultations ces dernières années sur des décisions publiques importantes, des réformes majeures et des projets de lois: consultation en ligne sur le numérique dans les écoles (contributions 50,000) et dans les académies (manifestations 150); consultation en ligne sur le projet de loi pour une république numérique (participants 20,000, contributions 8,000, votes 150,000), etc. De nouvelles approches consultatives ont été lancées: telles que Action Publique 2022 (Programme d'action publique 2022), Assises de la mobilité , Assises de l'alimentation, etc.
Parmi les nombreuses formes d'approches participatives (atelier citoyen, forum, hackathon, réunion publique, etc.), les consultations ouvertes sur Internet prennent de plus en plus d'importance. Ces consultations sont l’un des instruments de la consultation publique. Une consultation peut être plus ou moins large mais les outils utilisés sur Internet permettent souvent à tout le monde de participer. Cette consultation peut prendre plusieurs formes: enquête publique au moyen d’un registre et d’un rapport d’enquête, procédures de consultation, consultation formelle des électeurs, réunions publiques ou consultations sur Internet, ces différents outils de participation pouvant être combinés.
Comme indiqué par la COEPIA dans son rapport de novembre 2016 sur les consultations ouvertes sur Internet organisées par les administrations, celles-ci ont des fonctions 3:
Informatif: enrichir l'expertise des décideurs publics, mais aussi mieux comprendre les obstacles et les points de discorde;
Démocratique: permettre à tous de participer à ces débats et à l’élaboration de la décision publique. La consultation est une relation directe entre les autorités publiques et les citoyens;
Axé sur les processus: informer le public sur une question et favoriser un consensus.
Toutefois, le rapport souligne également que ces consultations ne sont utiles que si elles sont organisées selon certaines règles "de base" et qu'elles nécessitent une forte implication des organisateurs. Les articles L. 131-1 et L. 132-1 du code des relations entre le public et l'administration (CRPA) énoncent les principes suivants: assurer une certaine publicité à la consultation, rendre publiques les modalités de la procédure, assurer l'information des participants, le conduisant au moins pendant les jours 15 et effectuant une synthèse des observations à la fin, qui est rendue publique, afin d’annoncer à terme le suivi envisagé.
Au fur et à mesure que ces pratiques se répandent, les administrations peuvent être confrontées à des contraintes en termes de calendrier et de budget, et interroger légitimement les outils à utiliser et les bonnes pratiques à mettre en œuvre. Le partage d'expérience et le soutien s'avèrent donc utiles pour accroître l'impact de ces consultations, en assurer la loyauté et la transparence, et pour mobiliser efficacement les contributeurs.
Ambitions
Proposer des ressources, des outils et des méthodes pour faciliter l'utilisation de consultations en ligne ouvertes et impliquer les utilisateurs et les citoyens dans la prise de décision publique.
Depuis 2016, Etalab a réuni des acteurs de la technologie civique, des experts en matière de consultation et des administrations pour établir un ensemble commun de principes et de pratiques autour des consultations publiques en ligne. Une plate-forme - actuellement en version bêta sur http://www.consultation.etalab.gouv.fr - a donc été développé dans une approche de co-construction avec l'écosystème afin de:
Des outils de référence pouvant être utilisés par les administrations et fournissant un certain nombre de facilités et de garanties aux acteurs publics, notamment en termes de transparence, de dialogue entre les citoyens et les administrations et de gestion des données à caractère personnel;
Partager les bonnes pratiques en matière de consultation en ligne ouverte au gouvernement, fondées sur le respect du public et l'intérêt public8.
Etalab s’engage à poursuivre le développement de cette plate-forme en collaboration avec les administrations qui maîtrisent la consultation ou qui collaborent avec les parties prenantes de l’écosystème de la technologie civique et les fournisseurs de solutions, la communauté des chercheurs et des experts et la société civile.
Etalab s’engage également à continuer à développer et à tester de nouveaux formats d’ateliers, forums, hackathons et autres formats innovants, et à les documenter afin de partager cette expérience et ce savoir-faire avec tous les acteurs publics.
La carte routière en détail

Améliorer et enrichir la plateforme
consultation.etalab.gouv.fr (offre d'outils, bonnes pratiques) afin de couvrir une pluralité de besoins et de permettre aux administrations d'être de plus en plus autonomes dans l'organisation de consultations S1 2018
Développer une plate-forme unique pour les consultations publiques en ligne S2 2019
Continuer à organiser des événements ouverts (hackathon, datacamp, barcamp, forum, ministère ouvert, etc.) avec les administrations et les acteurs de l'écosystème pour documenter ces événements et partager leurs réactions avec tous les acteurs publics S1 et S2 2018

Outre ces actions transversales, les ministères suivants ont pris des engagements spécifiques:
LE MINISTERE DE L’ACTION PUBLIQUE ET DES COMPTES ENGAGE
Soutenir les grands projets de transformation et de réforme du public dans leurs initiatives de participation citoyenne.
LE MINISTÈRE DE L’ENSEIGNEMENT SUPÉRIEUR, DE LA RECHERCHE ET DE L’INNOVATION ENGAGE
Mettre en place un service de crowdsourcing permettant d'identifier et d'améliorer la visibilité des initiatives innovantes ayant des résultats positifs au sein des institutions où elles sont mises en œuvre, afin d'encourager les initiatives locales et de développer des contacts directs entre acteurs de terrain (utilisation de la OGPToolbox développée par Etalab, 2018).

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

15. Fournir aux administrations les outils pour associer les citoyens à la prise de décision publique

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

Proposer des ressources, des outils et des méthodes pour faciliter l'utilisation de consultations en ligne ouvertes et impliquer les utilisateurs et les citoyens dans la prise de décision publique.

Depuis 2016, Etalab a réuni des acteurs de la technologie civique, des experts en matière de consultation et des administrations pour établir un ensemble commun de principes et de pratiques autour des consultations publiques en ligne. Une plate-forme - actuellement en version bêta sur http://www.consultation.etalab.gouv.fr - a donc été développé dans une approche de co-construction avec l'écosystème afin de:

  • Des outils de référence pouvant être utilisés par les administrations et fournissant un certain nombre de facilités et de garanties aux acteurs publics, notamment en termes de transparence, de dialogue entre les citoyens et les administrations et de gestion des données à caractère personnel;
  • Partager les bonnes pratiques en matière de consultation en ligne ouverte au sein du gouvernement, basées sur le respect du public et l'intérêt public.

Etalab s’engage à poursuivre le développement de cette plate-forme en collaboration avec les administrations qui maîtrisent la consultation ou qui collaborent avec les parties prenantes de l’écosystème de la technologie civique et les fournisseurs de solutions, la communauté des chercheurs et des experts et la société civile.

Etalab s’engage également à continuer à développer et à tester de nouveaux formats d’ateliers, forums, hackathons et autres formats innovants, et à les documenter afin de partager cette expérience et ce savoir-faire avec tous les acteurs publics.

Milestones

15.1 Améliorer et enrichir la plateforme consultation.etalab.gouv.fr (offre d'outils, bonnes pratiques) afin de couvrir une pluralité de besoins et permettre aux administrations d'être de plus en plus autonomes dans l'organisation de consultations

15.2 Développer une plate-forme unique pour les consultations publiques en ligne

15.3 Continuer à organiser des événements ouverts (hackathon, datacamp, barcamp, forum, ministère ouvert ...) avec les administrations et les parties prenantes de l'écosystème pour documenter ces événements et partager leurs réactions avec tous les acteurs publics.

Date de début: 2018

Date de fin: 2019

Contexte et objectifs

Le gouvernement cherche à améliorer sa capacité à consulter les citoyens et à les impliquer dans la prise de décision publique. Un rapport du Conseil d'administration de l'édition publique et de l'information administrative a formulé plusieurs recommandations sur la manière de rendre efficace la consultation publique en ligne. Cet engagement vise à intégrer ces recommandations dans le développement de nouveaux outils permettant aux agences gouvernementales d'associer les citoyens à leurs travaux. La plateforme consultation.etalab.gouv.fr a été créée en 2016. Il est basé sur le travail effectué pour la boîte à outils OGP présentée lors du sommet OGP à Paris et sur des travaux réalisés avec des entreprises de technologie civique («techniciens civiques»).

La plate-forme propose déjà divers outils pour faciliter les consultations (par exemple, des boîtes de commentaires, des plates-formes de débat, la budgétisation participative, la co-rédaction de textes, le vote et les enquêtes). Toutes les consultations publiques doivent suivre les principes énumérés aux articles L. 131-1 et L.132-1 du Code sur les relations entre le public et l'administration. (C’est-à-dire qu’ils doivent garantir une certaine publicité, partager les détails de la procédure, tenir les participants informés, etc.) Depuis le lancement de la plate-forme, Etalab a reçu des informations sur les sollicitations de 70 concernant les différentes consultations 25. Il a également créé des consultations sur les prototypes 35 et organisé huit consultations sur la plate-forme.

Les plateformes en ligne sont au cœur de cet engagement. Premièrement, l'engagement vise à améliorer la plateforme lancée lors de la période de mise en œuvre du dernier plan d'action (consultation.etalab.gouv.fr). Deuxièmement, il faut développer une plate-forme permettant d'accéder à toutes les consultations publiques. Enfin, il est prévu d'organiser des hackathons et des camps de bar, des conférences générées par les utilisateurs et axées principalement sur la technologie, afin d'impliquer des experts, des responsables et des utilisateurs dans l'amélioration des plateformes.

L’engagement, s’il est mis en œuvre, pourrait fournir aux citoyens un nouveau moyen de participer à la prise de décision publique. Ainsi, le chercheur de l'IRM considère que l'engagement est pertinent par rapport à la valeur de la participation civique du PGO. Cet engagement concerne également la technologie et l'innovation. Cela nécessite l'amélioration et l'enrichissement de la plateforme consultation.etalab.gouv.fr ainsi que l'organisation de bar-camps et de hackathons pour favoriser l'innovation.

Comme écrit, l'engagement est suffisamment spécifique pour être vérifié. Cependant, le texte manque de spécificité. Il ne fournit pas suffisamment de détails sur les activités qui mèneront à l'enrichissement et à l'amélioration de la plateforme consultation.etalab.gouv.fr. En outre, il ne donne aucune information sur la plate-forme sur laquelle les consultations devraient être centralisées ni sur le but des hackathons, des camps de bar et des forums.

Le chercheur de l'IRM estime que cette initiative a un effet potentiel mineur. L'engagement n'engage les autorités à aucune consultation publique effective. La centralisation des consultations publiques pourrait toutefois faciliter l'accès des citoyens à ces processus.

Prochaines étapes

Le chercheur de l'IRM suggère au gouvernement de prendre en compte les éléments suivants dans la mise en œuvre de cet engagement:

  • Veiller à ce que les consultations publiques soient obligatoires pour les processus publics pertinents, tels que la rédaction de lois et de règlements.
Pour un gouvernement transparent et collaboratif: Plan d'action national français 2018 – 2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/France-Action-Plan-2018-2020-English.pdf (consulté sur 10 Janvier 2019).
Etalab, responsable de la communication par e-mail avec le chercheur IRM, 26 February 2019.

Engagements

  1. Transparence des services publics

    FR0030, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Transparence des marchés publics

    FR0031, 2018, Accès à l'information

  3. Transparence de l'aide au développement

    FR0032, 2018, Accès à l'information

  4. Développer les données ouvertes

    FR0033, 2018, Accès à l'information

  5. Politiques et administration améliorées des données

    FR0034, 2018, Accès à l'information

  6. Transparence des algorithmes publics

    FR0035, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  7. Open Data au niveau sous-national

    FR0036, 2018, Accès à l'information

  8. State AI Lab

    FR0037, 2018, Prise de décision automatisée

  9. Renforcement des capacités administratives

    FR0038, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Incubateurs de service public

    FR0039, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  11. Rationaliser les flux de données

    FR0040, 2018, Accès à l'information

  12. Open Etat Forum

    FR0041, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  13. Tableau de bord des procédures en ligne

    FR0042, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Sommet Govtech

    FR0043, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  15. Mécanismes de consultation publique imrove

    FR0044, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  16. Transparence internationale et participation citoyenne

    FR0045, 2018, Aide

  17. Participation publique au développement durable

    FR0046, 2018, Accès à l'information

  18. Science ouverte

    FR0047, 2018, Accès à l'information

  19. Participation citoyenne à la Cour des comptes

    FR0048, 2018, Accès à l'information

  20. Transparence des représentants d'intérêts

    FR0049, 2018, Accès à l'information

  21. Accès à l'information sur les agents publics

    FR0050, 2018, Accès à l'information

  22. Données ouvertes sur les autorités régionales et locales

    FR0001, 2015, Accès à l'information

  23. Publication en ligne des décisions et des rapports du conseil municipal

    FR0002, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  24. Publier des permis de construire en format Open Data

    FR0003, 2015, Accès à l'information

  25. Engagement étoilé Augmenter la transparence des marchés publics

    FR0004, 2015, Accès à l'information

  26. Améliorer la transparence de l'aide internationale au développement

    FR0005, 2015, Accès à l'information

  27. Accès ouvert aux évaluations des politiques publiques

    FR0006, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  28. Impliquer les citoyens dans les travaux des comptes

    FR0007, 2015, Accès à l'information

  29. Accès aux obligations de transparence des agents publics

    FR0008, 2015, Accès à l'information

  30. Engagement étoilé Beneficial ownership

    FR0009, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  31. Transparence dans les industries extractives

    FR0010, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  32. Transparence dans les négociations commerciales internationales

    FR0011, 2015, Accès à l'information

  33. Réparer mon quartier

    FR0012, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  34. Fix-It numérique

    FR0013, 2015, Accès à l'information

  35. Coproduire l'infrastructure de données avec la société civile

    FR0014, 2015, Accès à l'information

  36. Engagement étoilé Ressources juridiques ouvertes

    FR0015, 2015, Accès à l'information

  37. Mécanismes participatifs de réforme

    FR0016, 2015, Règlement ouvert

  38. Médiation et justice

    FR0017, 2015, Accès à la justice

  39. Engagement étoilé Ouvrir et diffuser des données

    FR0018, 2015, Accès à l'information

  40. Modèles de calcul ouverts et simulateurs

    FR0019, 2015, Accès à l'information

  41. Plateforme ouverte pour les ressources gouvernementales

    FR0020, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  42. Améliorer les services publics grâce au e-gouvernement et à l'interaction des utilisateurs

    FR0021, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  43. Habiliter la société civile à soutenir les écoles

    FR0022, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  44. Diversifier les recrutements au sein des institutions publiques

    FR0023, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  45. Changement de culture

    FR0024, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  46. Diffuser l'innovation publique

    FR0025, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  47. Engagement étoilé Protéger contre les conflits d'intérêts

    FR0026, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  48. Société civile et transparence dans la planification des conférences COP21

    FR0027, 2015, Environnement et climat

  49. Données ouvertes et climat / développement durable

    FR0028, 2015, Accès à l'information

  50. Collaborer avec la société civile sur le climat et le développement durable

    FR0029, 2015, Environnement et climat

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
France

Imrove Public Consultation Mechanisms (FR0044)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: France Action Plan 2018-2020

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Minister of State for the Digital Sector, attached to the Prime Minister

Support Institution(s): Ministry of Public Action and Accounts, Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation

Policy Areas

E-Government, Open Regulations, Public Participation, Science & Technology

IRM Review

IRM Report: France Design Report 2018-2020

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

Provide the administrations with the tools to associate citizens to public decision-making
Lead institution(s):
Minister of State for the Digital Sector, attached to the Prime Minister
Other stakeholders:
Ministry of Public Action and Accounts, Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
Commitment building on: commitment no. 13 “leverage previous consultations & reform participatory mechanisms” and no. 22 “spread public innovation, and develop research on open government” of the NAP for 2015-2017
OGP principles with which the commitment is associated:
Civic participation, Innovation and technology for openness
Challenges
Numerous consultations have been organized in recent years by administrations on important public decisions, major reforms and draft laws: online consultation on the digital in schools (50,000 contributions) and in academies (150 events); online consultation on the draft law for a digital republic (20,000 participants, 8,000 contributions, 150,000 votes) etc. New consultative approaches have been launched: such as Action Publique 2022 (Public Action Programme 2022), Assises de la mobilité (the Mobility encounters), Assises de l'alimentation (the Alimentation encounters), etc.
Among the many forms of participatory approaches (citizen workshop, forum, hackathon, public meeting, etc.), open consultations on the Internet are becoming increasingly important. Such consultations are one of the instruments of public consultation. A consultation can be more or less broad but the tools used on the Internet often allow everyone to participate. This consultation can take several forms: public inquiry by means of a register and an inquiry report, consultation procedures, formal consultation of voters, public meetings or consultations on the Internet, these different participation tools can be combined.
As indicated by the COEPIA in its November 2016 report on open internet consultations organized by administrations, these have 3 functions:
Informative: to enrich the expertise of public decision-makers, but also to better understand the obstacles and points of discord;
Democratic: to allow everyone to participate in these debates and in the elaboration of the public decision. Consultation is a direct relationship between public authorities and citizens;
Process-oriented: to inform the public on an issue and to foster consensus.
However, the report also stresses that these consultations are only useful if they are organized according to certain "basic" rules and that they require a strong involvement of the organizers. Articles L. 131-1 and L. 132-1 of the code of relations between the public and the administration (CRPA) set the following principles: ensuring a certain publicity to the consultation, making public the modalities of the procedure, ensuring the information of the participants, conducting it during at least 15 days and carrying out a synthesis of the observations at the end, which is made public, in order to eventually announce the considered follow-up.
As these practices spread, administrations may be confronted with constraints in terms of timetable and budget, and legitimately question the tools to be used and the good practices to be implemented. Experience sharing and support thus prove to be useful in increasing the impact of these consultations, ensuring their loyalty and transparency, and effectively mobilizing contributors.
Ambitions
Propose resources, tools and methods to facilitate the use of open online consultations and involve users and citizens in public decision-making.
Since 2016, Etalab has brought together civic tech actors, consultation experts and administrations to establish a common set of principles and practices around online public consultations. A platform - currently in beta version on http://www.consultation.etalab.gouv.fr - has thus been developed in a co-construction approach with the ecosystem in order to:
Reference tools that can be used by administrations and provide a number of facilities and guarantees to public actors, particularly in terms of transparency, dialogue between citizens and administrations, and management of personal data;
Share good practices in open online consultation in government, based on respect for the public and the public interest8.
Etalab is committed to continue the development of this platform in conjunction with administrations mastering consultation or that are collaborating civic tech ecosystem stakeholders and solution providers, the research and expert community and civil society.
Etalab is also committed to continuing to develop and test new formats for contributing workshops, forums, hackathons and other innovative formats, and to document them in order to share this experience and know-how with all public stakeholders.
The road map in detail

Improve and enrich the platform
consultation.etalab.gouv.fr (offer of tools, good practices) in order to cover a plurality of needs and enable administrations to be more and more autonomous in the organisation of consultations S1 2018
Develop a single platform for online public consultations S2 2019
Continue organizing open events (hackathon, datacamp, barcamp, forum, open ministry...) with administrations and ecosystem stakeholders document these events and share feedback with all public stakeholders S1 et S2 2018

In addition to these cross-cutting actions, the following ministries have made specific commitments:
THE MINISTRY OF PUBLIC ACTION AND ACCOUNTS UNDERTAKES TO
Support the major public transformation and reform projects in their citizen participation initiatives.
THE MINISTRY OF HIGHER EDUCATION, RESEARCH AND INNOVATION UNDERTAKES TO
Set up a crowdsourcing service that will allow the identification and improve the visibility of innovative initiatives that have positive results within the institutions where they are implemented in order to encourage local initiatives and develop direct contacts between field actors (use of the OGPToolbox developed by Etalab, 2018).

IRM Midterm Status Summary

15. Provide the administrations with the tools to associate citizens to public decision-making

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

Propose resources, tools and methods to facilitate the use of open online consultations and involve users and citizens in public decision-making.

Since 2016, Etalab has brought together civic tech actors, consultation experts and administrations to establish a common set of principles and practices around online public consultations. A platform - currently in beta version on http://www.consultation.etalab.gouv.fr - has thus been developed in a co-construction approach with the ecosystem in order to:

  • Reference tools that can be used by administrations and provide a number of facilities and guarantees to public actors, particularly in terms of transparency, dialogue between citizens and administrations, and management of personal data;
  • Share good practices in open online consultation in government, based on respect for the public and the public interest.

Etalab is committed to continue the development of this platform in conjunction with administrations mastering consultation or that are collaborating civic tech ecosystem stakeholders and solution providers, the research and expert community and civil society.

Etalab is also committed to continuing to develop and test new formats for contributing workshops, forums, hackathons and other innovative formats, and to document them in order to share this experience and know-how with all public stakeholders. [59]

Milestones

15.1 Improve and enrich the platform consultation.etalab.gouv.fr (offer of tools, good practices) in order to cover a plurality of needs and enable administrations to be more and more autonomous in the organisation of consultations

15.2 Develop a single platform for online public consultations

15.3 Continue organizing open events (hackathon, datacamp, barcamp, forum, open ministry...) with administrations and ecosystem stakeholders document these events and share feedback with all public stakeholders

Start Date: 2018

End Date: 2019

Context and Objectives

The government aims to improve its ability to consult citizens and involve them in public decision making. A report from the Conseil d’Orientation de l’Edition Publique et de l’Information Administrative provided several recommendations on how to make public online consultation efficient. This commitment aims to integrate those recommendations into the development of new tools for government agencies to involve citizens in their work. The platform, consultation.etalab.gouv.fr, was created in 2016. It is based on the work done for the OGP Toolbox that was presented at the OGP Summit in Paris and work done with civic technology companies (“civic techs”).

The platform already offers various tools to facilitate consultations (e.g., comment boxes, debate platforms, participatory budgeting, co-drafting of texts, voting, and surveys). All public consultations must follow the principles listed in Articles L. 131-1 and L.132-1 of the Code on Relations between the Public and the Administration. [60] (That is, they must guarantee a certain publicity, share details about the procedure, keep participants informed, etc.) Since the platform was launched, Etalab has received about 70 solicitations concerning 25 different consultations. It has also created 35 prototype consultations and hosted eight consultations on the platform. [61]

Online platforms lie at the heart of this commitment. Firstly, the commitment aims to improve the platform that was launched during the last action plan’s implementation period (consultation.etalab.gouv.fr). Secondly, it requires the development of a platform through which all public consultations could be accessed. Lastly, it plans to organize hackathons and bar camps - user-generated conferences primarily focused around technology – to involve experts, officials, and users in the improvement of the platforms.

The commitment, if implemented, could provide a new means for citizens to participate in public decision making. Thus, the IRM researcher considers the commitment to be relevant to the OGP value of civic participation. The commitment is also relevant to technology and innovation. It requires the improvement and enrichment of the consultation.etalab.gouv.fr platform and the organization of bar camps and hackathons to foster innovation.

As written, the commitment is specific enough to be verified. However, the text lacks specificity. It does not provide sufficient details about the activities that will lead to the enrichment and improvement of the consultation.etalab.gouv.fr platform. It also does not give any information about the platform on which the consultations should be centralized or about the purpose of the hackathons, bar camps, and forums.

The IRM researcher deems this initiative to have a minor potential effect. The commitment does not commit authorities to any actual public consultations. The centralization of public consultations could, however, facilitate citizens’ access to these processes.

Next steps

The IRM researcher suggests the government consider the following in the implementation of this commitment:

  • Ensure that public consultations are a requirement for relevant public processes, such as the drafting of laws and regulations.
[59] For a Transparent and Collaborative Government: France National Action Plan 2018–2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/France-Action-Plan-2018-2020-English.pdf (accessed on 10 January 2019).
[61] Etalab official, email communication with IRM researcher, 26 February 2019.

Commitments

  1. Transparency of Public Services

    FR0030, 2018, E-Government

  2. Transparency of Public Procurement

    FR0031, 2018, Access to Information

  3. Transparency of Development Aid

    FR0032, 2018, Access to Information

  4. Expand Open Data

    FR0033, 2018, Access to Information

  5. Improved Data Policies and Administration

    FR0034, 2018, Access to Information

  6. Transparency of Public Algorithms

    FR0035, 2018, E-Government

  7. Open Data at Sub-National Level

    FR0036, 2018, Access to Information

  8. State AI Lab

    FR0037, 2018, Automated Decision-Making

  9. Administrative Capacity-Building

    FR0038, 2018, Capacity Building

  10. Public Service Incubators

    FR0039, 2018, Capacity Building

  11. Streamline Data Flows

    FR0040, 2018, Access to Information

  12. Open Etat Forum

    FR0041, 2018, E-Government

  13. Online Procedures Dashboard

    FR0042, 2018, E-Government

  14. Govtech Summit

    FR0043, 2018, Capacity Building

  15. Imrove Public Consultation Mechanisms

    FR0044, 2018, E-Government

  16. International Transparency and Citizen Participation

    FR0045, 2018, Aid

  17. Public Pariticipation in Sustainable Development

    FR0046, 2018, Access to Information

  18. Open Science

    FR0047, 2018, Access to Information

  19. Citizen Involvement in Cour Des Comptes

    FR0048, 2018, Access to Information

  20. Transparency of Interest Representatives

    FR0049, 2018, Access to Information

  21. Access to Information on Public Officials

    FR0050, 2018, Access to Information

  22. Open Regional and Local Authorities' Data

    FR0001, 2015, Access to Information

  23. Publish Municipal Council Decisions and Reports Online

    FR0002, 2015, E-Government

  24. Publish Building Permits in Open Data Format

    FR0003, 2015, Access to Information

  25. Starred commitment Increase Transparency in Public Procurement

    FR0004, 2015, Access to Information

  26. Improve Transparency in International Development Aid

    FR0005, 2015, Access to Information

  27. Open Access to Public Policy Evaluations

    FR0006, 2015, E-Government

  28. Involve Citizens in Cour Des Comptes Work

    FR0007, 2015, Access to Information

  29. Access to Public Officials Transparency Obligations

    FR0008, 2015, Access to Information

  30. Starred commitment Beneficial Ownership

    FR0009, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  31. Transparency in Extractive Industries

    FR0010, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  32. Transparency in International Trade Commercial Negotiations

    FR0011, 2015, Access to Information

  33. Fix My Neighborhood

    FR0012, 2015, E-Government

  34. Digital Fix-It

    FR0013, 2015, Access to Information

  35. Co-Produce Data Infrastructure with Civil Society

    FR0014, 2015, Access to Information

  36. Starred commitment Open Legal Resources

    FR0015, 2015, Access to Information

  37. Reform Participatory Mechanisms

    FR0016, 2015, Open Regulations

  38. Mediation and Justice

    FR0017, 2015, Access to Justice

  39. Starred commitment Open and Circulate Data

    FR0018, 2015, Access to Information

  40. Open Calculation Models and Simulators

    FR0019, 2015, Access to Information

  41. Open Platform for Government Resources

    FR0020, 2015, E-Government

  42. Improve Public Services Through E-Government and User Interaction

    FR0021, 2015, E-Government

  43. Empower Civil Society to Support Schools

    FR0022, 2015, E-Government

  44. Diversify Recruitment Within Public Institutions

    FR0023, 2015, Capacity Building

  45. Culture Change

    FR0024, 2015, Capacity Building

  46. Spread Public Innovation

    FR0025, 2015, Capacity Building

  47. Starred commitment Protect Against Conflicts of Interest

    FR0026, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  48. Civil Society & Transparency in COP21 Conference Planning

    FR0027, 2015, Environment and Climate

  49. Open Data and Climate/Sustainable Development

    FR0028, 2015, Access to Information

  50. Collaborate with Civil Society on Climate and Sustainable Development

    FR0029, 2015, Environment and Climate

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!