Ignorer la navigation
Géorgie

Sensibiliser le public à la démocratie parlementaire (GE0093)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action : Non attaché

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Parlement de Géorgie

Institution(s) de soutien : Initiateur : GIZ Eastern Partnership Parliamentary Project ; GYLA ; IDFI ; PNUD ; Amiran Janjghava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Parlements ouverts, Participation à l'élaboration des lois, Participation du public, Gouvernance réglementaire, Objectifs de développement durable

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport sur les résultats de la transition de la Géorgie 2018-2019

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : aucune donnée IRM

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

5. Sensibilisation du public à la démocratie parlementaire
Agence chef de file Parlement de Géorgie

Partenaires Institution publique Initiateur: Parlement de Géorgie
Initiateur du secteur civil / international / privé: projet parlementaire du partenariat oriental de la GIZ; GYLA; IDFI; PNUD; Amiran Janjghava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi
Situation actuelle et défis Une grande partie de la population géorgienne n'est pas pleinement informée des activités du Parlement et de ses réformes systémiques. Cela entrave considérablement la mise en place d'une gouvernance démocratique et inclusive. Pour résoudre ce problème, le Parlement géorgien doit élaborer une stratégie de communication impliquant l'organisation de divers événements, tels que des campagnes d'information et des réunions publiques, l'utilisation de réseaux sociaux (par exemple Facebook) et la production de supports d'information. Une campagne de sensibilisation aux activités parlementaires encouragera la formation d'une société informée et un engagement plus actif des citoyens dans le processus législatif. Cela augmentera également considérablement la confiance du public envers l'autorité législative.

Objectif principal

Sensibiliser le public au Parlement et à son ouverture et promouvoir la participation des citoyens aux activités parlementaires.
OGP Challenge Améliorer l'engagement des citoyens

Principes OGP Accès à l'information
Responsabilité
Engagement citoyen
Technologie et Innovation

ü ü ü ü
Objectif de développement durable (ODD) l'engagement indique les objectifs 16 et 17

Jalons Nouvel / Ancien Engagement Date de début Date de fin
1. Élaboration et approbation de la stratégie de communication et du plan d'action du Conseil de gouvernance ouverte permanente du Parlement (GYLA) 08 / 2018 12 / 2018
2. Détermination de la fréquence des émissions télévisées et radiophoniques directes pour les commissions parlementaires et les séances plénières (Parlement de la Géorgie) 10 / 2018 06 / 2019
3. Diffusion d'informations sur les services parlementaires proposés aux citoyens, y compris des services adaptés aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux (Parlement de Géorgie, PNUD, IDFI) 09 / 2018 Exécuté systématiquement
4. Développement d'un concept de communication de réseau social du Parlement de Géorgie (IDFI) 09 / 2018 11 / 2018
5. Production et diffusion de matériels d'information (bandes dessinées, flyers, clips vidéo), y compris de matériels adaptés aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux sur le Parlement et ses activités (Parlement de la Géorgie, Projet parlementaire du partenariat oriental de la GIZ) 09 / 2018 12 / 2019
6. Organisation de réunions d'information avec des étudiants et des organisations de jeunesse - Journée du Parlement dans les universités (Parlement de Géorgie) 10 / 2018 systématiquement mises en œuvre
7. Tenir des statistiques sur les commentaires et les pétitions des citoyens. Octroi de points aux citoyens actifs (par exemple, point 1 par commentaire) et publication d'une note des citoyens les plus actifs sur le site Web du Parlement (Amiran Janjghava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi) 10 / 2018 12 / 2019
8. Création du prix du «citoyen actif» aux citoyens qui participent activement aux activités du Parlement au moyen de divers instruments: commentaires, pétitions électroniques, participation aux audiences d'un comité (Amiran Janjghava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi) 10 / 2018 12 / 2019
Indicateurs
Activité 1 (GYLA) • La stratégie de communication et le plan d'action du Conseil de gouvernance ouverte pour les parlementaires permanents définissent les priorités de communication et les activités principales pour au moins les années 2.
Activité 2 (Parlement de Géorgie) • La loi a été modifiée pour déterminer la fréquence de diffusion directe à la télévision et à la radio de séances de commissions parlementaires et de séances plénières.
Activité 3 (Parlement de Géorgie, PNUD, IDFI) • Des informations sur les services parlementaires adaptés ont été préparées et diffusées.
• Des réunions d’information ont été organisées avec les parties prenantes sur l’accès aux services parlementaires.
Activité 4 (IDFI) • Le concept de communication par réseau social a été élaboré.
Activité 5 (Parlement de Géorgie, projet parlementaire du Partenariat oriental de la GIZ) • Des supports d’information sur le Parlement et ses activités ont été produits et diffusés par le biais du site Web du Parlement, des médias sociaux et de diverses institutions (halls de services publics, écoles, etc.).
Activité 6 (Parlement de Géorgie) • Au moins des réunions 5 ont eu lieu à Tbilissi et dans les régions.
Activité 7 (Amiran Janjgava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi) • Une évaluation de l'activité des citoyens a été créée et publiée sur le site Web du Parlement.
Activité 8 (Amiran Janjgava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi) • Le Prix du citoyen actif a été créé par ordre du président du Parlement.
• Au moins 1 citoyen a été attribué.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Engagement 28: Sensibiliser le public à la démocratie parlementaire

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

«Une grande partie du public géorgien n'est pas pleinement informée des activités du Parlement et de ses réformes systémiques. Cela entrave grandement la mise en place d'une gouvernance démocratique et inclusive. Pour résoudre ce problème, le Parlement géorgien doit développer une stratégie de communication impliquant l'organisation de divers événements, tels que des campagnes d'information et des réunions publiques, l'utilisation des réseaux sociaux (par exemple Facebook) et la production de matériels d'information. Une campagne de sensibilisation sur les activités parlementaires favorisera la formation d'une société informée et un engagement plus actif des citoyens dans le processus législatif. Cela augmentera également considérablement la confiance du public envers l'autorité législative.

Jalons: 

  1. Élaboration et approbation de la stratégie de communication et du plan d'action du Conseil parlementaire permanent de gouvernance ouverte (GYLA)
  2. Détermination de la fréquence des émissions télévisées et radiophoniques directes pour les sessions des commissions parlementaires et des sessions plénières (Parlement de Géorgie)
  3. Diffusion d'informations sur les services parlementaires disponibles aux citoyens, y compris les services adaptés aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux (Parlement de Géorgie, PNUD, IDFI)
  4. Développement d'un concept de communication sur les réseaux sociaux du Parlement de Géorgie (IDFI)
  5. Production et diffusion de matériel d'information (bandes dessinées, prospectus, clips vidéo), y compris du matériel adapté aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux sur le Parlement et ses activités (Parlement de Géorgie, Projet parlementaire du Partenariat oriental de la GIZ)
  6. Organisation de réunions d'information avec des étudiants et des organisations de jeunesse - Journée du Parlement dans les universités (Parlement de Géorgie)
  7. Tenir des statistiques sur les commentaires et pétitions des citoyens. Accorder des points aux citoyens actifs (par exemple 1 point par commentaire) et publier une note des citoyens les plus actifs sur le site Internet du Parlement (Amiran Janjghava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi)
  8. Création du prix `` Citoyen actif '' pour les citoyens qui participent activement aux activités du Parlement à travers divers instruments: commentaires, pétitions électroniques, participation aux auditions des commissions (Amiran Janjghava, membre du conseil municipal de Rustavi)

Date de début: Août 2018

Date de fin: Décembre 2019

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte intégral de cet engagement, veuillez consulter https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/georgia-action-plan-2018-2019/.

Contexte et objectifs

De grandes quantités d'informations sont publiées sur la page Web parlementaire géorgienne et sur les réseaux sociaux, mais la manière dont les informations sont présentées et diffusées n'est pas toujours utile ou intéressante pour les citoyens. En conséquence, cet engagement comprend huit jalons dont l'objectif collectif est de sensibiliser le public au Parlement en tant qu'institution, à ses activités et aux récentes réformes du gouvernement ouvert.

Selon un représentant de la Georgian Young Lawyers 'Association (GYLA) interrogé, (148) Le Parlement a déjà institutionnalisé plusieurs mécanismes qui permettent aux citoyens de devenir plus informés et de participer à la prise de décision. (149) Cependant, il était nécessaire de sensibiliser le public aux possibilités offertes par le Parlement dans le cadre du PGO. Par conséquent, dans le cadre des efforts lancés par GYLA et soutenus par l'Institut pour le développement de la liberté de l'information, le Parlement s'est engagé à élaborer une stratégie de communication du Conseil parlementaire permanent sur la gouvernance ouverte et un plan d'action. Le plan fournira un cadre pour institutionnaliser une approche de communication ainsi que des étapes particulières pour 2019-2020.

Parallèlement à la stratégie de communication, le Parlement prévoit également d'élaborer plusieurs documents conceptuels et matériels d'information afin de maximiser l'utilisation des canaux de communication. Ces canaux incluent la diffusion directe à la télévision et à la radio pour les audiences et séances plénières des commissions, les réseaux sociaux, les brochures d'information, les dépliants et les courtes vidéos. L'engagement prévoit également des réunions d'information ciblées avec les étudiants et les organisations de jeunesse, ainsi que la diffusion d'informations sur les services parlementaires disponibles. Ces services comprennent ceux adaptés aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux. Enfin, le Parlement prévoit d'instaurer un prix du citoyen actif pour ceux qui participent le plus activement aux activités parlementaires, notamment la participation aux auditions des commissions, les commentaires en ligne, les pétitions, etc. Pour ce faire, le Parlement collectera des données statistiques relatives à la participation des citoyens et publiera de manière proactive la notation des citoyens les plus actifs du pays.

Les activités de l'engagement visent généralement à rendre l'information sur le Parlement plus accessible et à sensibiliser le public au Parlement. Ainsi, il est pertinent pour la valeur OGP de l'accès à l'information. En outre, le prix du citoyen actif vise à promouvoir un plus grand engagement du public auprès du Parlement, ce qui rend l'engagement également pertinent pour la participation civique. Dans l'ensemble, l'impact potentiel de cet engagement pourrait être mineur. Chaque activité pourrait être un pas en avant positif pour améliorer les différents canaux de communication du Parlement. Selon les parties prenantes, (150) en général, la mise en œuvre de cet engagement pourrait accroître la sensibilisation du public aux activités et opportunités parlementaires, et pourrait également stimuler une plus grande participation aux activités liées au PGO, telles que l'élaboration de plans d'action. Il pourrait également améliorer l'engagement global dans les processus parlementaires en utilisant divers mécanismes créés dans le cadre du PGO. (151)

Prochaines étapes

Le chercheur IRM recommande ce qui suit:

  • Élaborer un mécanisme d'évaluation qui évaluera l'efficacité et l'impact global de l'engagement. Cela pourrait inclure le développement d'une méthodologie qui permettra l'analyse des données agrégées collectées par le biais de diverses sources, telles que la participation en ligne, l'application mobile, (152) le Civic Engagement Center, (153) et d'autres canaux de participation.
  • Le Parlement devrait étendre ses canaux de communication aux régions du pays par le biais de communications directes et de diverses campagnes de sensibilisation du public.

Rendez l'engagement plus ambitieux et complet. Élaborer la politique et la stratégie de communication du Parlement, en définissant le cadre institutionnel général de la communication externe et en définissant les buts, objectifs et canaux de communication spécifiques du Parlement en tant qu'institution. Les jalons de cet engagement représenteraient une partie de la politique et de la stratégie de communication institutionnelle du Parlement. En outre, les jalons contribueraient à la mise en œuvre de l'objectif stratégique du Parlement visant à sensibiliser le public et à participer à la prise de décision.

(148) Nino Tsukhishvili, secrétaire parlementaire, Georgian Young Lawyers 'Association, entretien téléphonique avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 5 juillet 2019.

(149) Entretien téléphonique avec Tsukhishvili, juillet 2019.

(150) Entretien téléphonique avec Tsukhishvili, juillet 2019.

(151) Entretien téléphonique avec Tsukhishvili, juillet 2019.

(152) Engagement 26, plan d'action national de la Géorgie 2018-2019, https://bit.ly/2XLXiju.

(153) Engagement 27, plan d'action national de la Géorgie 2018-2019, https://bit.ly/2XLXiju.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

28. Sensibiliser le public à la démocratie parlementaire

Parlement ouvert

limité

Avec le soutien de l'UE et du PNUD et en coopération avec l'Institut pour le développement de la liberté de l'information (IDFI), le Parlement a élaboré la stratégie de communication et le plan d'action du Conseil parlementaire permanent pour une gouvernance ouverte pour 2019-2020, ainsi qu'une « stratégie de communication sur les médias sociaux » . (103) Ces documents ont été approuvés en 2019. (104)

Le Parlement a tenu cinq réunions d'information avec des étudiants et des organisations de jeunesse, mais la fréquence de diffusion à la télévision et à la radio des auditions des commissions n'a pas été déterminée et les informations sur les services parlementaires disponibles (y compris le matériel adapté aux personnes ayant des besoins particuliers) étaient encore au stade de la planification en 2019. Le Parlement a indiqué qu'en 2020, il avait mené des actions de sensibilisation en préparant des brochures contenant des informations sur le Centre d'accueil des citoyens, les services en ligne du Parlement, le « Parlement accessible à tous » (y compris pour les personnes ayant des besoins particuliers) et les visites du Parlement. (105)

Alors que le parlement a collecté des données statistiques pour identifier les citoyens les plus actifs du pays, il n'a pas publié ces informations. En outre, le parlement n'a pas encore introduit le prix du citoyen actif prévu pour les citoyens les plus activement impliqués dans les activités parlementaires. (106)

(103) Parlement de Géorgie, Stratégie de communication et plan d'action du Conseil permanent du Parlement pour une gouvernance ouverte pour 2019-2020 ; 2019, https://bit.ly/3eqGjNM
(104) Parlement de Géorgie, Stratégie de communication sur les réseaux sociaux, 2019, https://bit.ly/3erSZUq       
(105) Découvrir l' https://web-api.parliament.ge/storage/files/shares/OGP/ogp-angarishebi/2020-ogp-sabchos-saqmianobis-SHUALEDURI-angarishi.pdf#page=15&zoom=100,86,680. En outre, avec le soutien de l'UE et du PNUD et en coopération avec l'IDFI, un guide de l'engagement des citoyens et 10 dépliants différents ont été produits. Ils ont fourni des informations sur les outils d'engagement disponibles pour que les citoyens puissent s'impliquer dans les processus parlementaires, y compris les pétitions électroniques, les initiatives législatives, les différences entre les pétitions et les propositions législatives, et les enquêtes thématiques. (Informations fournies à l'IRM par Sophie Guruli (PNUD) pendant la période de pré-publication de ce rapport, 5 mai 2021.
(106) Parlement de Géorgie, Rapport de mise en œuvre du plan d'action pour un parlement ouvert 2018-2019, 2020, disponible ici


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Georgia

Raising Public Awareness About Parliamentary Democracy (GE0093)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Not Attached

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Parliament of Georgia

Support Institution(s): Initiator: GIZ Eastern Partnership Parliamentary Project; GYLA; IDFI; UNDP; Amiran Janjghava, Rustavi City Council Member

Policy Areas

E-Government, Open Parliaments, Participation in Lawmaking, Public Participation, Regulatory Governance, Sustainable Development Goals

IRM Review

IRM Report: Georgia Transitional Results Report 2018-2019

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: No IRM Data

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

5. Raising Public Awareness about Parliamentary Democracy
Lead Agency Parliament of Georgia

Partners Public Institution Initiator: Parliament of Georgia
Civil/International/Private Sector Initiator: GIZ Eastern Partnership Parliamentary Project; GYLA; IDFI; UNDP; Amiran Janjghava, Rustavi City Council Member
Current Situation and Challenges A large part of the public in Georgia is not fully informed about the activities of the Parliament and its systemic reforms. This greatly impedes the establishment of democratic and inclusive governance. To solve this problem, the Parliament of Georgia must develop a communication strategy involving the organization of various events, such as information campaigns and public meetings, use of social networks (e.g. Facebook) and production of informational materials. An awareness raising campaign on parliamentary activities will promote the formation of an informed society and more active citizen engagement in the lawmaking process. This will also significantly increase public trust towards the legislative authority.

Main Objective

Raising public awareness about the Parliament and its openness and promoting citizen engagement in parliamentary activities.
OGP Challenge Improving Citizen Engagement

OGP Principles Access to Information
Accountability
Citizen Engagement
Technology and Innovation

ü ü ü ü
Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) the Commitment addresses Goal 16 and Goal 17

Milestones New/Old Commitment Start Date End Date
1. Development and approval of the communications strategy and action plan of the Permanent Parliamentary Open Governance Council (GYLA) 08/2018 12/2018
2. Determining the frequency of direct TV and Radio broadcasting for Parliamentary Committee and Plenary Sessions (Parliament of Georgia) 10/2018 06/2019
3. Dissemination of information about parliamentary services available to citizens, including services adapted to people with special needs (Parliament of Georgia, UNDP, IDFI) 09/2018 Carried out Systematically
4. Development of a concept for social network communication of the Parliament of Georgia (IDFI) 09/2018 11/2018
5. Production and dissemination of informational materials (comics, flyers, video clips), including materials adapted to people with special needs about the Parliament and its activities (Parliament of Georgia, GIZ Eastern Partnership Parliamentary Project) 09/2018 12/2019
6. Organizing informational meetings with students and youth organizations – Day of the Parliament in Universities (Parliament of Georgia) 10/2018 Carried out Systematically
7. Keeping statistics on citizen comments and petitions. Granting points to active citizens (e.g. 1 point per comment) and publishing a rating of most active citizens on the Parliament website (Amiran Janjghava, Rustavi City Council member) 10/2018 12/2019
8. Establishing the ‘Active Citizen’ award for citizens who are actively involved in the activities of the Parliament through various instruments: comments, electronic petitions, attendance at committee hearings (Amiran Janjghava, Rustavi City Council member) 10/2018 12/2019
Indicators
Activity 1 (GYLA) • The Communications Strategy and Action Plan of the Permanent Parliamentary Open Governance Council define communication priorities and main activities for at least 2 years.
Activity 2 (Parliament of Georgia) • The law has been amended to determine the frequency of direct TV and radio broadcasting of Parliamentary Committee and Plenary Sessions.
Activity 3 (Parliament of Georgia, UNDP, IDFI) • Information about adapted parliamentary services has been prepared and disseminated.
• Information meetings have been held with stakeholders about access to parliamentary services.
Activity 4 (IDFI) • The concept for social network communication has been elaborated.
Activity 5 (Parliament of Georgia, GIZ Eastern Partnership Parliamentary Project) • Information materials about the Parliament and its activities have been produced and disseminated through the Parliament website, social media and various institutions (Public Service Halls, Schools, etc.).
Activity 6 (Parliament of Georgia) • At least 5 meetings have been held in Tbilisi and the regions.
Activity 7 (Amiran Janjgava, Rustavi City Council Member) • A rating of citizen activity has been created and published on the Parliament website.
Activity 8 (Amiran Janjgava, Rustavi City Council Member) • The Active Citizen Award has been established by the Order of the Parliamentary Speaker.
• At least 1 citizen has been awarded.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

Commitment 28: Raising Public Awareness about Parliamentary Democracy

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

“A large part of the public in Georgia is not fully informed about the activities of the Parliament and its systemic reforms. This greatly impedes the establishment of democratic and inclusive governance. To solve this problem, the Parliament of Georgia must develop a communication strategy involving the organization of various events, such as information campaigns and public meetings, use of social networks (e.g. Facebook) and production of informational materials. An awareness raising campaign on parliamentary activities will promote the formation of an informed society and more active citizen engagement in the lawmaking process. This will also significantly increase public trust towards the legislative authority.”

Milestones: 

  1. Development and approval of the communications strategy and action plan of the Permanent Parliamentary Open Governance Council (GYLA)
  2. Determining the frequency of direct TV and Radio broadcasting for Parliamentary Committee and Plenary Sessions (Parliament of Georgia)
  3. Dissemination of information about parliamentary services available to citizens, including services adapted to people with special needs (Parliament of Georgia, UNDP, IDFI)
  4. Development of a concept for social network communication of the Parliament of Georgia (IDFI)
  5. Production and dissemination of informational materials (comics, flyers, video clips), including materials adapted to people with special needs about the Parliament and its activities (Parliament of Georgia, GIZ Eastern Partnership Parliamentary Project)
  6. Organizing informational meetings with students and youth organizations – Day of the Parliament in Universities (Parliament of Georgia)
  7. Keeping statistics on citizen comments and petitions. Granting points to active citizens (e.g. 1 point per comment) and publishing a rating of most active citizens on the Parliament website (Amiran Janjghava, Rustavi City Council member)
  8. Establishing the ‘Active Citizen’ award for citizens who are actively involved in the activities of the Parliament through various instruments: comments, electronic petitions, attendance at committee hearings (Amiran Janjghava, Rustavi City Council member)

Start Date: August 2018

End Date: December 2019

Editorial note: For the full text of this commitment, please see https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/georgia-action-plan-2018-2019/.

Context and Objectives

Large amounts of information are published on Georgia’s parliamentary webpage and social media channels, but the way information is framed and delivered is not always useful or engaging for citizens. Accordingly, this commitment comprises eight milestones with a collective goal of raising public awareness about Parliament as an institution, its activities, and recent open government reforms.

According to an interviewed Georgian Young Lawyers’ Association (GYLA) representative, [148] Parliament has already institutionalized several mechanisms that provide opportunities for citizens to become more informed and engaged in decision making. [149] However, there was a need to increase public awareness about the opportunities that Parliament provides under the OGP framework. Hence, in efforts initiated by GYLA and supported by the Institute for Development of Freedom of Information, Parliament has committed to develop an Open Governance Permanent Parliamentary Council communication strategy and an action plan. The plan will provide a framework for institutionalizing a communication approach as well as particular steps for 2019–2020.

Along with the communication strategy, Parliament also plans to develop several conceptual documents and informational materials to maximize utilization of communication channels. These channels include direct TV and radio broadcasting for committee hearings and plenaries, social networking, information booklets, flyers, and short videos. The commitment also envisions targeted informational meetings with students and youth organizations, as well as dissemination of information about the available parliamentary services. Such services include those adapted to people with special needs. Finally, Parliament plans to introduce an Active Citizen award for those who are most actively involved in parliamentary activities, including attendance at committee hearings, online comments, petitions, and more. To do this, Parliament will collect statistical data relevant to citizen participation and proactively publish the rating of the most active citizens in the country.

The commitment’s activities generally aim to make information on Parliament more accessible and raise public awareness about Parliament. Thus, it is relevant to the OGP value of access to information. Additionally, the Active Citizen award seeks to promote greater public engagement with Parliament, making the commitment also relevant to civic participation. Overall, the potential impact of this commitment could be minor. Each activity could be a positive step forward to improve the various communication channels of Parliament. According to the stakeholders, [150] in general, the implementation of this commitment could increase public awareness about parliamentary activities and opportunities, and it might also stimulate higher participation in OGP-related activities, such as action plan elaboration. It could also improve overall engagement in the parliamentary processes through the utilization of various mechanisms that have been created under the OGP framework. [151]

Next steps

The IRM researcher recommends the following:

  • Elaborate an evaluation mechanism that will assess the effectiveness and overall impact of the commitment. This could include developing a methodology that will enable analysis of aggregate data collected through various sources, such as online participation, mobile application, [152] the Civic Engagement Center, [153] and other participation channels.
  • Parliament should expand its communication channels to the regions nationwide through direct communication and various public outreach campaigns.

Make the commitment more ambitious and comprehensive. Elaborate the communication policy and strategy of the Parliament, setting the general institutional framework for external communication and defining specific goals, objectives, and communication channels of Parliament as an institution. The milestones under this commitment would represent a part of the Parliament’s institutional communication policy and strategy. Further, the milestones would contribute to the implementation of the Parliament’s strategic goal to raise public awareness of and participation in the decision making.

[148] Nino Tsukhishvili, Parliamentary Secretary, Georgian Young Lawyers’ Association, phone interview with IRM researcher, 5 July 2019.

[149] Tsukhishvili phone interview, July 2019.

[150] Tsukhishvili phone interview, July 2019.

[151] Tsukhishvili phone interview, July 2019.

[152] Commitment 26, Georgia national action plan 2018–2019, https://bit.ly/2XLXiju.

[153] Commitment 27, Georgia national action plan 2018–2019, https://bit.ly/2XLXiju.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

28. Raise public awareness about parliamentary democracy

Open Parliament

Limited

With support from the EU and UNDP and in cooperation with the Institute for Development of Freedom of Information (IDFI), Parliament developed the Open Governance Permanent Parliamentary Council Communication strategy and Action Plan for 2019-2020, along with a "Social Media Communication Strategy”. [103] These documents were approved in 2019. [104]

Parliament held five informational meetings with students and youth organizations, but the frequency of TV and radio broadcasting for committee hearings was not determined and information on available parliamentary services (including materials adapted to people with special needs) was still in the planning stage in 2019. Parliament reported that, in 2020, it carried out awareness raising by preparing booklets with information on the Citizens Reception Center, online services of parliament, “parliament available for all” (including for people with special needs), and tours of parliament. [105]

While parliament collected statistical data to identify the most active citizens in the country, it has not published this information. Furthermore, parliament has not yet introduced the planned Active Citizen Award for the most actively involved citizens in parliamentary activities. [106]

[103] Parliament of Georgia, Open Governance Permanent Parliament Council Communication strategy and Action Plan for 2019-2020; 2019, https://bit.ly/3eqGjNM
[104] Parliament of Georgia, Social Network Communication Strategy, 2019, https://bit.ly/3erSZUq       
[105] See https://web-api.parliament.ge/storage/files/shares/OGP/ogp-angarishebi/2020-ogp-sabchos-saqmianobis-SHUALEDURI-angarishi.pdf#page=15&zoom=100,86,680. In addition, with support from the EU and UNDP and in cooperation with IDFI, a Guide to Citizen Engagement and 10 different leaflets were produced. They provided information on engagement tools available for citizens to get involved in parliamentary processes, including e-petitions, legislative initiatives, differences between petitions and legislative proposals, and thematic inquiries. (Information provided to the IRM by Sophie Guruli (UNDP) during the pre-publication period of this report, 5 May 2021.
[106] Parliament of Georgia, Implementation report of Open Parliament Action Plan 2018-2019, 2020, available here


Commitments

Open Government Partnership