Ignorer la navigation
Irlande

Élaborer et diffuser un module de formation pour les agents publics sur l'information environnementale (AIE) (IE0017)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Irlande, Premier plan d'action, 2014-16

Cycle du plan d'action: 2014

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution principale: ministère de l'Environnement, des Gouvernements communautaires et locaux (DEC & LG)

Institution (s) de soutien: Pilier de l'environnement, Groupe de mise en œuvre du droit de l'environnement (ELIG)

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, Capacité? bâtiment, Environnement et climat, Droit à l'information

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Irlande Rapport de fin de trimestre 2014-2016, Irlande 2014-2015 Rapport d'étape sur la GIR (final)

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: majeur Majeur

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, responsabilité publique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Renforcement de la capacité des organismes publics à fournir un accès à l’information sur l’environnement dans le cadre de la Convention d’Aarhus - Élaboration et diffusion d’un module de formation destiné à former le personnel des organismes publics sur l’accès à l’information sur l’environnement, comme le prévoit la Convention d’Aarhus. Ce module couvrira à la fois la réponse aux demandes de l’AIE et la diffusion proactive de l’information environnementale. Il fournira également des informations sur les exigences de la législation de mise en œuvre européenne et nationale et sur la jurisprudence. Parallèlement, il est proposé de créer une base de données dans laquelle seront enregistrées les demandes d'informations en vertu de la réglementation de l'AIE, y compris des statistiques sur le nombre de demandes acceptées, refusées ou partiellement refusées. Cette base de données fournira une base pour l’analyse des demandes similaire à celle qui est en place pour FoI;

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Cluster 2: Participation citoyenne (2.2.1, 2.2.2, 2.3)

2.2.1 - Engager le public dès le début du processus législatif

2.2.2 - (A) et (B) Renforcer les capacités des organismes publics en matière d'accès à l'information sur l'environnement en vertu de la Convention d'Aarhus

2.3 - Organiser des référendums découlant de la recommandation de la Convention constitutionnelle

Texte d'engagement:

Action 2.2.1 - Engager le public dès le début du processus législatif: accroître la participation des citoyens au niveau des comités au processus législatif en: examen pré-législatif systématique des projets de loi offrira de plus grandes possibilités d’implication du public dans l’élaboration des lois. Au stade pré-législatif, le Comité peut consulter des citoyens, des groupes de la société civile et d’autres groupes intéressés;

Action 2.2.2 (A) et (B) - Renforcer la capacité des organismes publics à fournir un accès à l’information sur l’environnement dans le cadre de la Convention d’Aarhus - Développement et livraison d'un module de formation former le personnel à organismes publics on accès à l'information environnementale conformément à la convention d’Aarhus. Ce module couvrira à la fois la réponse aux demandes de l’AIE et la diffusion proactive de l’information environnementale. Il fournira également des informations sur les exigences de la législation de mise en œuvre européenne et nationale et sur la jurisprudence. Parallèlement, il est proposé de créer une base de données dans laquelle seront enregistrées les demandes d'informations en vertu de la réglementation de l'AIE, y compris des statistiques sur le nombre de demandes acceptées, refusées ou partiellement refusées. Cette base de données fournira une base pour l’analyse des demandes similaire à celle qui est en place pour FoI;

Action 2.3 - Référendums découlant de la recommandation de la Convention constitutionnelle: le gouvernement s'est engagé jusqu'à présent à donner suite aux recommandations de la Convention constitutionnelle tenue de trois référendums en 2015 en ce qui concerne: la réduction de l'âge de candidature aux élections présidentielles, la réduction de l'âge de voter, le mariage entre personnes de même sexe.

Institution responsable:

Action 2.2.1: Maisons de l'Oireachtas

Action 2.2.2: DEC & LG Ministère de l'environnement, des collectivités et des gouvernements locaux (DEC & LG)

Action 2.3: ministère de l'Environnement, des Gouvernements locaux et locaux (DEC & LG) et DJ & E, ministère de la Justice et de l'Égalité (DJ & E)

Institution (s) de soutien: Action 2.2.2: Pilier de l'environnement, Groupe de mise en œuvre du droit de l'environnement (ELIG)

Date de début: 1 Juillet 2014 Date de fin: Décembre 2015

Note éditoriale: Engagement 2.3 est clairement en rapport avec les valeurs OGP telles qu’elles ont été écrites, a un impact potentiel de transformation et est mis en œuvre de manière substantielle ou complète. Il s’agit donc d’un engagement marqué.

But de l'engagement

Le thème général de ces actions portait sur la promotion de la participation des citoyens à la prise de décision législative, l’augmentation de l’intégrité publique et la promotion de la culture de la transparence et de la responsabilité. Ces objectifs devaient être atteints de trois manières. Premièrement, l’action 2.2.1 a introduit la procédure de contrôle pré-législatif, qui permet aux particuliers, aux OSC et aux groupes d’intérêts de participer à la prise de décision au début du processus législatif, ce qui n’était pas possible avant le plan d’action. Deuxièmement, dans le cadre de la Convention d’Aarhus, Action 2.2.2 met en œuvre une base de données pour enregistrer les demandes d’informations sur l’environnement. Cet engagement représente une nouvelle étape fondamentale vers l'accès à l'information des citoyens, des groupes d'intérêt et des organismes publics à tous les niveaux de gouvernement. Troisièmement, Action 2.3 s'est engagée à organiser des référendums sur les recommandations de la Convention constitutionnelle. Conformément aux recommandations de la Convention, le gouvernement s’est engagé à tenir trois référendums dans 2015 sur l’égalité des mariages, la réduction de l’âge de la candidature aux élections présidentielles et la réduction de l’âge du vote.

Statut

Mi-parcours

2.2.1: complète

2.2.2 (A & B): substantiel

2.3 (): Substantielle

Comme indiqué dans le rapport à mi-parcours du MRI, avant le plan d’action, ces actions étaient des politiques préexistantes inscrites au programme du gouvernement. Par exemple, le Parlement a élargi et officialisé la phase de consultation pré-législative de la législation en novembre 2013. Une fois le plan d’action adopté, il a ouvert le débat sur la citoyenneté active. Depuis l'élaboration du plan d'action dans 2014, plusieurs objectifs ont été atteints au cours de la première année du plan d'action, notamment, comme indiqué dans le rapport à mi-parcours, disponible en ligne.

  • Au total, quarante-huit projets de loi ont été examinés dans le cadre de la consultation pré-législative, ce qui a abouti à des rapports de comités 43. Dans le cadre de cette forme de consultation, les ministres peuvent faire examiner le projet de loi (le contour du projet de loi) par le comité Oireachtas (c'est-à-dire parlementaire) compétent avant la fin du processus de rédaction et la publication du projet de loi. Le processus d'examen au sein du comité peut impliquer des auditions avec les parties prenantes ou des invitations à envoyer des observations. Le recours au contrôle pré-législatif via les comités devrait se poursuivre de manière continue.
  • Collaboration avec les OSC (p. Ex., Pilier de l'environnement, groupe de mise en œuvre du droit de l'environnement) lors de réunions bilatérales pour discuter de la mise en œuvre de la politique d'accès à l'information sur l'environnement (AIE). Il y avait également une collecte de données environnementales pour 2013. En juillet 2015, des sessions de formation sur l'utilisation et la pertinence des données environnementales ont été organisées pour les plus de fonctionnaires 120 dans des organismes publics aux niveaux local et national du gouvernement.
  • L’organisation de deux référendums a eu lieu en mai 2015. L’action 2.3 a été saluée pour son caractère délibératif, en particulier le référendum sur l’égalité des mariages, qui a acquis une visibilité dans les médias internationaux.

En tant que tel, l’action 2.2.1 a été considérée comme terminée après le semestre.

Fin du mandat

2.2.1: complète

2.2.2 (A & B): substantiel

2.3 (): Substantielle

L'action 2.2.1 (mise en place d'une procédure d'examen pré-législatif systématique des projets de loi) achevée à la fin de la première année, l'attention est maintenant concentrée sur les deux autres actions restantes. En ce qui concerne la formation sur l'accès à l'information environnementale, une mise en œuvre incomplète peut être due en partie aux retards de formation du gouvernement après les élections de février 2016. Par exemple, comme indiqué dans le rapport d'auto-évaluation de fin de mandat du gouvernement, les statistiques 2015 sur les demandes d'informations AEI sont toujours en cours de compilation et seront bientôt publiées, et un troisième événement de formation est prévu pour Q4 (c'est-à-dire à la fin de) 2016 . En ce qui concerne l’action 2.3, au début de la deuxième année, seuls deux des trois référendums décrits dans le plan d’action initial ont été organisés. Sur la base du rapport d'auto-évaluation de fin de mandat du gouvernement, ainsi que de la recherche documentaire, c'est toujours le cas à la fin de la deuxième année. Compte tenu de ces observations, les progrès réalisés par 2.2.2 et 2.3 Actions peuvent être considérés comme substantiels, mais non complets.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: Majeur (2.2.1 & 2.2.2)

Participation civique: marginal (2.2.1), majeur (2.3)

Responsabilité publique: n'a pas changé (2.2.2)

En ce qui concerne l'ouverture du gouvernement:

  1. En ce qui concerne l'action 2.2.1, la procédure de contrôle pré-législatif devrait avoir des effets importants sur l'utilisation de formes de démocratie participative. Bien qu'il soit difficile de savoir si cela continuera d'être mené de la même manière que depuis le changement de gouvernement, le statu quo initial (en l'absence de contrôle pré-législatif) a changé sur 48, les projets de loi ont été examinés lors de consultations pré-législatives. Si cette tendance se poursuit, cela pourrait ouvrir la voie à une participation accrue du public au processus législatif si tous les projets de loi étaient soumis à un examen pré-législatif.
  2. En ce qui concerne Action 2.2.2, le module de formation AIE est en cours et il reste difficile d'évaluer les effets de la politique sur la responsabilité publique, un responsable de la société civile ayant déclaré que les sessions de formation des organismes publics auraient pu être davantage promues pour inclure un public plus large. des fonctionnaires. Toutefois, le registre des demandes d’information a été mis à jour chaque année et est disponible en ligne.[Note 13: http://www.housing.gov.ie/search/archived/current/sub-type/aie-logs/type/statistics?query=]
  3. Enfin, sur Action 2.3, l’effet de cette action a été transformateur. En tant que forme de démocratie délibérative, la Convention constitutionnelle et les référendums ont encouragé la participation des citoyens aux questions constitutionnelles. Bien qu'aucun autre référendum n'ait eu lieu, cette pratique a fondamentalement changé le précédent de la participation des citoyens aux débats nationaux.

Reportés?

Ces actions n'ont pas été reportées dans le prochain plan d'action. Le chercheur de l'IRM conclut que le principal défi de ce groupe est de mener à bien l'achèvement des modules de formation de l'AIE et de la base de données des demandes d'informations. Il est recommandé que l'état s'assure de la disponibilité des ressources (personnel et financement) pour l'exécution de ces tâches.

En outre, le chercheur de l'IRM recommande au gouvernement de tenir le référendum restant décrit dans le plan d'action et de déterminer quelles autres questions pourraient être ouvertes pour un référendum à l'avenir.


Engagements

  1. Promouvoir le développement d'une politique climatique transparente

    IE0031, 2016, Environnement et climat

  2. Soutenir les réseaux de participation publique

    IE0032, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  3. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: réduire les coûts

    IE0033, 2016, Accès à la justice

  4. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: cadre d'aide aux personnes vulnérables

    IE0034, 2016, Accès à la justice

  5. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: surveillance des praticiens du droit

    IE0035, 2016, Accès à la justice

  6. Améliorer l'engagement des citoyens dans l'élaboration des politiques: généralités

    IE0036, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  7. Améliorer l'engagement des citoyens dans l'élaboration des politiques: les jeunes

    IE0037, 2016, Communautés marginalisées

  8. Améliorer l'engagement des clients

    IE0038, 2016, Accès à l'information

  9. Améliorer l'accès aux services gouvernementaux grâce à la technologie

    IE0039, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  10. Budgets participatifs

    IE0040, 2016, Ouverture fiscale

  11. Améliorer la transparence des fournisseurs de services gouvernementaux

    IE0041, 2016, Accès à l'information

  12. Améliorer la transparence fiscale

    IE0042, 2016, Ouverture fiscale

  13. Introduire des procédures modernes de gestion de documents

    IE0043, 2016, Accès à l'information

  14. Développer une stratégie Open Data 2017-2020

    IE0044, 2016, Accès à l'information

  15. Investissez dans une infrastructure de données qui améliorera les données ouvertes

    IE0045, 2016, Accès à l'information

  16. Engagement étoilé Élaborer un code de pratique pour la gouvernance des organismes de bienfaisance

    IE0046, 2016,

  17. Engagement étoilé Projet de loi sur les normes du secteur public

    IE0047, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  18. Etablir un registre de propriété effective

    IE0048, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  19. Établissement de normes de meilleures pratiques pour les données ouvertes

    IE0001, 2014, Accès à l'information

  20. Création de la plateforme de données ouvertes d'Irlande

    IE0002, 2014, Accès à l'information

  21. Réaliser un audit des ensembles de données clés pour publication

    IE0003, 2014, Accès à l'information

  22. Établir une feuille de route pour les données ouvertes et un cadre d'évaluation permettant d'évaluer les données ouvertes en cours

    IE0004, 2014, Accès à l'information

  23. Création d'un conseil de gouvernance Open Data Ireland (ODIGB) et d'un groupe de pilotage et de mise en œuvre (SIG) pour Open Data Ireland

    IE0005, 2014, Accès à l'information

  24. Inscription à la charte G8 Open Data

    IE0006, 2014, Accès à l'information

  25. Mise en œuvre des données ouvertes

    IE0007, 2014, Accès à l'information

  26. Améliorer les connaissances en informatique grâce à la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle stratégie numérique proposée pour les écoles

    IE0008, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  27. Examiner les pratiques nationales et internationales en vue de l’élaboration de principes / code révisés pour la participation du public / la consultation des citoyens, de la société civile et d’autres par les organismes publics.

    IE0009, 2014, Participation publique

  28. Engagement étoilé Référendums découlant des recommandations de la Convention constitutionnelle

    IE0010, 2014, genre

  29. Engagement étoilé Réforme de l'éthique

    IE0011, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  30. Renforcement de la liberté d’information - Mettre en œuvre le Code de pratique pour la liberté d’information (FOI).

    IE0012, 2014, Accès à l'information

  31. Réforme de la liberté d'information

    IE0013, 2014, Accès à l'information

  32. Engagement étoilé Réglementation du lobbying

    IE0014, 2014, Législation et Réglementation

  33. Engagement étoilé Encourager, protéger et sensibiliser sur les devoirs et les protections des dénonciateurs

    IE0015, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  34. Mesures visant à accroître la participation des citoyens à la prise de décision concernant les propositions politiques et législatives. Examen pré-législatif systémique des projets de loi

    IE0016, 2014, Législation et Réglementation

  35. Élaborer et diffuser un module de formation sur l'accès à l'information environnementale (AIE) à l'intention des fonctionnaires

    IE0017, 2014, Accès à l'information

  36. Augmenter la participation des citoyens au niveau local. Approche pilote pour la mise en place de réseaux de participation publique

    IE0018, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  37. Fournir une base légale pour le cadre de participation du public au gouvernement local

    IE0019, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  38. Entreprendre une étude de faisabilité sur les moyens possibles de renforcer l'engagement des citoyens dans les processus budgétaires des autorités locales

    IE0020, 2014, Ouverture fiscale

  39. Soutenez les enfants et les jeunes en tant que citoyens. Élaborer, finaliser et publier la première stratégie gouvernementale sur la participation des enfants et des jeunes à la prise de décision.

    IE0021, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  40. Maximiser la participation et la compréhension des jeunes dans la vie civique

    IE0022, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  41. Développement d'une stratégie TIC

    IE0023, 2014, Prestation de services publics

  42. Projet de loi sur le partage de données et la gouvernance

    IE0024, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  43. Carte de services publics

    IE0025, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  44. Vue client unique

    IE0026, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  45. Portail des gouvernements locaux

    IE0027, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  46. Nouveaux bureaux d'entreprise locaux

    IE0028, 2014, Prestation de services publics

  47. Examen et amélioration des procédures de traitement des plaintes et utilisation des commentaires pour améliorer les services dans la fonction publique; un examen des procédures de plainte des citoyens sera entrepris.

    IE0029, 2014, Participation publique

  48. Améliorer l'engagement des clients

    IE0030, 2014, Participation publique

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Ireland

Develop and Deliver Access to Environmental Information (AIE) Training Module for Public Officials (IE0017)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Ireland, First Action Plan, 2014-16

Action Plan Cycle: 2014

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government (DEC&LG)

Support Institution(s): Environment Pillar, Environmental Law Implementation Group (ELIG)

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Environment and Climate, Records Management, Right to Information

IRM Review

IRM Report: Ireland End-of-Term Report 2014-2016

Starred: No

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Public Accountability , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Build capacity of public bodies to provide Access to Information on the Environment under the Aarhus Convention – Development and delivery of a training module to train staff in public bodies on access to environmental information as provided for in the Aarhus Convention. This module will cover both responding to AIE requests and proactive dissemination of environmental information. It will also provide information on the requirements of both European and national implementing legislation and on case law. In parallel it is proposed to create a database which will record requests for information under AIE regulations, including statistics on number of requests granted, refused or partially refused. This database will provide a basis for analysis of requests similar to that which is in place for FoI;

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Cluster 2: Citizen Participation (2.2.1, 2.2.2, ✪2.3)

2.2.1 – Undertake public engagement early in the legislative process

2.2.2 – (A) and (B) Build capacity of public bodies to provide Access to Information on the Environment under the Aarhus Convention

2.3 – Hold Referenda arising from the recommendation of the Constitutional Convention

Commitment Text:

Action 2.2.1 – Undertake public engagement early in the legislative process: For increased citizen participation at Committee level in the legislative process through systematic pre-legislative scrutiny of draft Bills will provide greater opportunities for engagement by the public in law making. At the pre-legislative stage, the Committee can consult with citizens, civic society groups and other interested groups;

Action 2.2.2 (A) and (B) –  Build capacity of public bodies to provide Access to Information on the Environment under the Aarhus Convention – Development and delivery of a training module to train staff in public bodies on access to environmental information as provided for in the Aarhus Convention. This module will cover both responding to AIE requests and proactive dissemination of environmental information. It will also provide information on the requirements of both European and national implementing legislation and on case law. In parallel it is proposed to create a database which will record requests for information under AIE regulations, including statistics on number of requests granted, refused or partially refused. This database will provide a basis for analysis of requests similar to that which is in place for FoI;

Action 2.3 – Hold Referenda arising from the recommendation of the Constitutional Convention: Arising from the recommendations of the Constitutional Convention, the Government has so far committed to holding three referenda in 2015 in relation to: reduce the age of candidacy for Presidential elections, reducing voting age, same sex marriage.

Responsible institution:

Action 2.2.1: Houses of the Oireachtas

Action 2.2.2: DEC&LG Department of Environment, Community and Local Government (DEC&LG)

Action 2.3: Department of Environment, Community and Local Government (DEC&LG) and DJ&E Department of Justice and Equality (DJ&E)

Supporting institution(s): Action 2.2.2: Environment Pillar, Environmental Law Implementation Group (ELIG)

Start date: 1 July 2014                                                   End date: December 2015

 

 

Editorial note: Commitment 2.3 is clearly relevant to OGP values as written, has transformative potential impact, and is substantially or completely implemented and therefore qualifies as a starred commitment. 

Commitment Aim

The broad theme of these actions related to fostering citizen participation in legislative decision making, increasing public integrity, and promoting the culture of transparency and accountability. These objectives were to be achieved in three ways. First, Action 2.2.1 introduced the procedure of pre-legislative scrutiny, which allows individuals, CSOs, and interest groups to participate via consultation in decision making early in the legislative process, something that was not possible before the action plan. Second, under the Aarhus Convention, Action 2.2.2 implements a database to record the requests for information on the environment. This commitment represents a new fundamental step towards the access to information for citizens, interest groups, and public bodies at all levels of government. Third, Action 2.3 committed to hold referenda on the recommendations of the Constitutional Convention. As recommended by the Convention, the government committed to holding three referenda in 2015 in relation to marriage equality, reducing the age of candidacy for presidential elections, and reducing the voting age.

Status

Midterm

2.2.1: Complete

2.2.2 (A&B): Substantial

2.3 (): Substantial

As discussed in the IRM midterm report, before the action plan, the actions were pre-existing policies on the government’s agenda. For example, Parliament expanded and formalized the pre-legislative consultation phase of legislation in November 2013. After the action plan was adopted, it opened the debate around active citizenship. From the development of the action plan in 2014 several goals were achieved in the first year of the action plan including, inter alia as discussed in the midterm report which is available online,

  • Fourty eight bills in total were considered under the pre-legislative consultation, resulting in 43 committee reports. Under this form of consultation, Ministers can have the Heads of a Bill (i.e. the outline of the Bill) reviewed by the appropriate Oireachtas (i.e. parliamentary) committee before the drafting process is completed and the bill published. The review process in the committee can involve hearings with stakeholders or invitations to send submissions. The use of pre-legislative scrutiny via committees is expected to continue on an ongoing basis.
  • Collaboration with CSOs (e.g., Environmental Pillar, Environmental Law Implementation Group) in bilateral meetings to discuss the implementation of the Access to Information on the Environmental (AIE) policy. There was also collection of environmental data for 2013. By July 2015, the delivery of training sessions to over 120 civil servants in public bodies at the local and national level of government on the use and relevance of environmental data took place.
  • The organization of two referenda were held in May 2015. Action 2.3 has been praised for its deliberative nature, particularly the marriage equality referendum, which gained international media exposure.

As such, Action 2.2.1 was considered complete after the midterm.

End of term

2.2.1: Complete

2.2.2 (A&B): Substantial

2.3 (): Substantial

With Action 2.2.1 (establishment of a procedure of systematic pre-legislative scrutiny of draft Bills) completed by the end of year one, attention is now focused on the other two remaining actions. Regarding the training on Access to Environmental Information, incomplete implementation may be due in part to the delays of forming government after elections in February 2016. For example, as seen in the government end of term self-assessment report, 2015 statistics on AEI information requests are still being compiled and will be published soon, and a third training event is being planned for Q4 (i.e. at the end of) 2016. Regarding Action 2.3, at the start of year two, only two of the three referenda outlined in the original action plan have been held. Based on the government’s end of term self-assessment report, as well as desk research, this is still the case at the end of year two. Given these observations, both 2.2.2 and 2.3 Actions’ progress may be deemed substantial, but not complete.

Did it open government?

Access to information: Major (2.2.1 & 2.2.2)

Civic participation: Marginal (2.2.1), Major (2.3)

Public accountability: Did not change (2.2.2)

 Regarding opening government: 

  1. On Action 2.2.1, the procedure of pre-legislative scrutiny is expected to have strong effects on the use of forms of participatory democracy. Although it is difficult to gauge if this will continue to be conducted in the same sustainable manner as it had been up to the change in government, there has been a change to the initial status quo (when pre-legislative scrutiny was absent) as information on 48 bills were considered under pre-legislative consultation. If this trend continues, this may create avenues for increased public participation in the legislative process if all bills go through pre-legislative scrutiny.
  2. On Action 2.2.2, the AIE training module is ongoing, and it remains difficult to assess the effects of the policy on public accountability, where one civil society leader said that the training sessions of public bodies could have been more fully promoted to include a larger audience of civil servants. However, the record of information requests has been updated annually and is available online.[Note 13: http://www.housing.gov.ie/search/archived/current/sub-type/aie-logs/type/statistics?query=%5D
  3. Finally, on Action 2.3, the effect of the action has been transformative. As a form of deliberative democracy, the Constitutional Convention and the referenda have promoted the participation of citizens on constitutional matters. Although no other referenda have taken place, this practice fundementally changed the precedent of citizen participation in national debates.

Carried forward?

These actions have not been carried forward in the next action plan. The IRM researcher concludes that the main challenge of this cluster has been achieving completion of the AIE training modules and information request database. It is recommended that the state ensure the availability of resources (staff and funding) for these tasks to be done.

Additionally, the IRM researcher recommends, that the government hold the remaining referendum that was outlined in the action plan, and consider which other issues may be opened for a referendum in the future.


Ireland's Commitments

  1. Promote Transparent Climate Policy Development

    IE0031, 2016, Environment and Climate

  2. Support Public Participation Networks

    IE0032, 2016, Capacity Building

  3. Improve Access to Justice: Reducing Costs

    IE0033, 2016, Judiciary

  4. Improve Access to Justice: Framework to Assist Vulnerable Persons

    IE0034, 2016, Judiciary

  5. Improve Access to Justice: Oversight of Legal Practitioners

    IE0035, 2016, Justice

  6. Enhance Citizen Engagement in Policy Making: General

    IE0036, 2016, Capacity Building

  7. Enhance Citizen Engagement in Policy Making: Youth

    IE0037, 2016, Marginalized Communities

  8. Enhance Customer Engagement

    IE0038, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Improve Access to Government Services Through Technology

    IE0039, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. Participatory Budgeting

    IE0040, 2016, Participation in Budget Processes

  11. Improve Transparency of Government Service Providers

    IE0041, 2016, Fiscal Transparency

  12. Enhance Fiscal Transparency

    IE0042, 2016, Fiscal Transparency

  13. Introduce Modern Document Management Procedures

    IE0043, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  14. Develop an Open Data Strategy 2017-2020

    IE0044, 2016, E-Government

  15. Invest in Data Infrastructure That Will Result in Better Open Data

    IE0045, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  16. Starred commitment Develop a Code of Practice for the Governance of Charities

    IE0046, 2016,

  17. Starred commitment Public Sector Standards Bill

    IE0047, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  18. Establish a Register of Beneficial Ownership

    IE0048, 2016, Asset Disclosure

  19. Establishment of Best Practice Standards for Open Data

    IE0001, 2014, Capacity Building

  20. Establishment of Ireland’S Open Data Platform

    IE0002, 2014, E-Government

  21. Undertake an Audit of Key Datasets for Publication

    IE0003, 2014, Open Data

  22. Establish a Roadmap for the Open Data and an Evaluation Framework to Provide Assessment of the Ongoing Open Data

    IE0004, 2014, Open Data

  23. Establishment of an Open Data Ireland Governance Board (ODIGB) and Steering and Implementation Group (SIG) for Open Data Ireland

    IE0005, 2014, Open Data

  24. Signing up to the G8 Open Data Charter

    IE0006, 2014, Open Data

  25. Implementing Open Data

    IE0007, 2014, Open Data

  26. Improve Computer Literacy Through Implementation of Proposed New Digital Strategy for Schools

    IE0008, 2014, Capacity Building

  27. Review National and International Practice to Develop Revised Principles / Code for Public Engagement/Consultation with Citizens, Civil Society and Others by Public Bodies.

    IE0009, 2014, Public Participation

  28. Starred commitment Hold Referenda Arising from the Recommendations of the Constitutional Convention

    IE0010, 2014, Gender

  29. Starred commitment Ethics Reform

    IE0011, 2014, Conflicts of Interest

  30. Strengthening Freedom of Information - Implement the Code of Practice for Freedom of Information (FOI).

    IE0012, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  31. Reform of FOI

    IE0013, 2014, Capacity Building

  32. Starred commitment Regulation of Lobbying

    IE0014, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  33. Starred commitment Encourage, Protect and Raise Awareness of Whistleblower Duties and Protections

    IE0015, 2014, Whistleblower Protections

  34. Measures to Increase Citizen Participation in Decision Making on Policy and Legislative Proposals. Systemic Pre-Legislative Scrutiny of Draft Bills

    IE0016, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  35. Develop and Deliver Access to Environmental Information (AIE) Training Module for Public Officials

    IE0017, 2014, Capacity Building

  36. Increase Citizen Participation at Local Level. Pilot Approach to Implementation of Public Participation Networks

    IE0018, 2014, Private Sector

  37. Provide Legal Base for Public Participation Framework in Local Government

    IE0019, 2014, Capacity Building

  38. Undertake a Feasibility Study on Possible Means of Enabling Further Citizen Engagement in Local Authority Budgetary Processes

    IE0020, 2014, Participation in Budget Processes

  39. Support Children and Young People as Citizens. Develop, Finalise and Publish the First Government Strategy on Children and Young People's Participation in Decision-Making.

    IE0021, 2014, Capacity Building

  40. Maximise Participation and Understanding of Young People in Civic Life

    IE0022, 2014, Capacity Building

  41. Development of an ICT Strategy

    IE0023, 2014, Public Service Delivery

  42. Data Sharing and Governance Bill

    IE0024, 2014, E-Government

  43. Public Services Card

    IE0025, 2014, E-Government

  44. Single Customer View

    IE0026, 2014, E-Government

  45. Local Government Portal

    IE0027, 2014, E-Government

  46. New Local Enterprise Offices

    IE0028, 2014, Public Service Delivery

  47. Review and Enhancement of Complaints Procedures and Using Feedback to Improve Services Across the Public Service; a Review of Citizen Complaints Procedures Will Be Undertaken.

    IE0029, 2014, Public Participation

  48. Enhance Customer Engagement

    IE0030, 2014, Public Participation