Ignorer la navigation
Liberia

Information du public sur la réforme des terres et des ressources naturelles (LR0010)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Libéria, deuxième plan d'action national, 2015-2017

Cycle du plan d'action: 2015

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: MIA, Commission du territoire (ou future autorité foncière), Institut du développement durable, Commission de la gouvernance, Commission de la réforme du droit

Institution (s) de soutien: LMC, TGCI, CENTAL, sociétés concessionnaires concernées

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Industries d'extraction, Aménagement du territoire et de l'espace, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d'année du Liberia 2015-2017, Rapport d'avancement du Liberia 2015-2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: majeur Majeur

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Relatives aux valeurs OGP: Accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Mener de larges consultations des parties prenantes dans le (s) comté (s) concerné (s) pour améliorer la compréhension des citoyens sur les questions de
terres et ressources naturelles. Indicateurs de performance: Nombre de personnes, sociétés ou agences dont les points de vue ont été recueillis à la suite de la consultation.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Pour plus de détails sur l'engagement, voir Rapport d'avancement du Liberia 2015-2017.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Cluster: Informations accessibles sur la réforme agraire / l'utilisation commerciale du sol

1.4 Rendre accessible au public des informations sur les réformes proposées dans les secteurs des terres et des ressources naturelles

Ministère des affaires intérieures, Commission foncière (ou future autorité foncière), Institut du développement durable, Commission de la gouvernance, Commission de la réforme du droit. Soutien supplémentaire du Liberia Media Center, The Global Citizen's Initiative, CENTAL, des sociétés de concession concernées, 20 August 2015 - 20 March 2016).

Jalons:

· 1.4.1 Mener de larges consultations des parties prenantes dans le (s) comté (s) concerné (s) pour améliorer la compréhension des citoyens sur les questions relatives à la terre et aux ressources naturelles.

1.5 Veiller à ce que les informations importantes sur les droits d’utilisation des terres commerciales soient rendues publiques

Ministère de l'intérieur, Initiative libérienne pour la transparence des industries extractives (LEITI), Commission foncière (ou future autorité foncière), Ministère de l'agriculture, Autorité de développement forestier, Ministère des mines et de l'énergie, Commission nationale de l'investissement, Ministère de la justice, Bureau national de la concession, Conseil national traditionnel. Soutien supplémentaire du Liberia Media Center, Initiative des citoyens du monde, CENTAL, CEMESP, sociétés de concession concernées, 20 August 2015 - 20 May 2016).

Jalons:

· 1.5.I Publier des informations sur les acres (hectares) de chaque droit d'utilisation du sol à des fins commerciales

· 1.5.2 Publier une carte précise de l'emplacement de chaque droit d'utilisation du sol commercial via une plate-forme Web basée sur une carte, en plus de fournir des copies papier des attributions d'utilisation du sol proposées aux populations touchées qui n'ont pas accès à Internet.

But de l'engagement:

Au Libéria, la réforme agraire est une question urgente dans deux domaines clés. Le premier est le statut juridique des droits fonciers coutumiers; le second est la propriété des arbres et autres ressources forestières sur les terres forestières communautaires. Cet engagement vise à informer le public des réformes proposées dans les secteurs des terres et des ressources naturelles et à faire en sorte que les informations sur les droits commerciaux d'utilisation des terres soient mises à la disposition du public.

Engagement 1.4 Cet engagement décrit les activités visant à fournir au public des informations sur l'utilisation des terres et des ressources naturelles et sur la manière dont les communautés peuvent être affectées. Avant la mise en œuvre du plan d'action, il y avait peu ou pas d'information publique sur l'utilisation des terres. Les parties prenantes signalent que Global Forest Watch fournit certaines données sur le couvert forestier, mais que des informations spécifiques sur les droits aux ressources naturelles, les concessions et les terres communautaires étaient inexistantes. La mise en œuvre de cet engagement pourrait responsabiliser les parties prenantes en améliorant leur compréhension de la terre et des ressources naturelles.

Engagement 1.5 vise à accroître la connaissance des citoyens sur les revenus générés par le secteur extractif. La mise en œuvre traitera du manque d'informations sur le fait de savoir si les concessionnaires du secteur extractif paient leur juste part d'impôt et s'ils n'utilisent que des terres délimitées non soumises à des revendications de propriété ou de tenure concurrentes, comme le reconnaît la Politique sur les droits fonciers. Rendre publiques les informations sur l'utilisation des terres à des fins commerciales pourrait transformer l'accès des citoyens à l'information sur la propriété des terres et résoudre des conflits sur des zones spécifiques dans lesquelles des citoyens et des entreprises ont des revendications concurrentes en matière de propriété des terres.

Statut

À mi-parcours:

Engagement 1.4: substantiel

L'autoévaluation du gouvernement indique que la mise en œuvre de cet engagement a été considérable. À mi-parcours, un rapport sur les recettes et les recettes, la divulgation de la propriété effective (BOD), une étude exploratoire dans le secteur minier et une matrice simplifiée des contrats dans le secteur de l'extraction ont été rendus publics. En février, 2016, le Bureau national des concessions (NBC) a lancé une plate-forme publique contenant des données provenant de tous les secteurs de concession concernés (foresterie, agriculture, mines, pétrole et gaz et partenariats public-privé). Pour plus d'informations, consultez le rapport de mi-parcours IRM 2015 – 2016.

Engagement 1.5: substantiel

Cet engagement est en grande partie réalisé. Les informations sur les acres (hectares) de terres à usage commercial et les contrats et accords affiliés ont toutes été téléchargées sur le site Web de Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency (LEITI). [Note21: Initiative pour la transparence des industries extractives du Liberia (LEITI), http://www.leiti.org.lr] Un système de gestion des informations de concession (CIMS) a également été mis au point et lancé. Cet outil permet aux utilisateurs de visualiser chaque utilisation du sol à des fins commerciales via une plate-forme Web basée sur une carte. Cependant, le chercheur de l'IRM note que les emplacements cartographiés pour les droits miniers commerciaux chevauchent les zones protégées sur la carte et qu'il existe peu d'informations disponibles sur les actes privés, la propriété de la communauté ou la manière dont les conflits doivent être résolus. Pour plus d'informations, consultez le rapport de mi-parcours IRM 2015 – 2016.

Fin du mandat:

Engagement 1.4: Terminé

L'engagement vise à s'assurer que le public est informé des réformes proposées dans les secteurs des terres et des ressources naturelles par le biais de consultations élargies des parties prenantes dans les comtés afin d'accroître la compréhension des citoyens sur les questions relatives aux terres et aux ressources naturelles.

Dans le cadre d'une initiative financée par l'Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international (USAID) dans le cadre de la Liberia Accountability and Voice Initiative (LAVI), la LEITI a mené de vastes consultations auprès des parties prenantes dans les six comtés et dans les concessions pour diffuser la matrice des contrats abrégés. [Note22: Entretien avec des représentants LEITI, chercheur IRM, December 2017, https://www.dai.com/our-work/projects/liberia-accountability-and-voice-initiative-lavi] Selon les procès-verbaux des réunions et le chef adjoint du secrétariat, Myer W. Saye, le LEITI a organisé des assemblées publiques qui ont permis d'informer les membres de la communauté et de créer un forum interactif sur les accords de concession, les caractéristiques économiques, les responsabilités sociales et les contrôles environnementaux pertinents, ainsi que sur la divulgation des Paiements au Fonds de développement social reçus par le gouvernement des entreprises concernées du secteur extractif. [Note23: compte rendu de la réunion de LEITI, http://www.leiti.org.lr/uploads/2/1/5/6/21569928/draft_msg_regular_meeting__minutes__december_2017.pdf Cette initiative vise à promouvoir la transparence des ressources naturelles par le partage d'informations.

L'Autorité foncière a établi des bureaux auxiliaires dans les comtés afin de fournir des directives et des procédures pour la vente de terres publiques, la politique en matière de droits fonciers, la loi contre le transfert de propriété à des fins criminelles et le projet de loi sur les droits fonciers. En outre, dans le cadre de cet engagement, le Centre pour la transparence et la responsabilité au Libéria (CENTAL) a engagé des citoyens des comtés de Nimba, Bong et Grand Bassa dans le cadre de son projet «Resource and You». [Note24: Resource and You, https://spark.adobe.com/page/xCYRC/] Dans ces lieux, le CENTAL a organisé des forums de dialogue où les autorités de la société, des responsables publics et des membres de la communauté ont débattu de questions pertinentes relatives aux terres, aux accords sociaux, à la gestion et à l’utilisation des ressources naturelles.

Engagement 1.5: substantiel

CENTAL et LEITI ont mené diverses activités de sensibilisation auprès de membres de la communauté n'ayant pas accès à Internet et fournissant des informations à des publics alphabètes. [Note25: M. Thomas Doe Nah, directeur exécutif CENTAL, entretien réalisé par le chercheur IRM, December 2017.] Cela a été fait par le biais d'assemblées publiques et de médias audio et écrits utilisant des groupes et des stations de radio locaux. Le ministère de l'Intérieur s'est également associé au CENTAL pour organiser des forums interactifs publics dans les villes et les villages où les problèmes et les préoccupations concernant les actes de propriété privés et les accords de concession de propriété communautaires ont été traités.

En outre, le Sustainable Development Institute et Platypus Productions ont développé une application de reporting mobile sécurisée pour améliorer le reporting citoyen sur l'évolution de la situation des ressources naturelles dans les zones rurales du Libéria. L'application simple et sécurisée - C'est ma cour arrière (TIMBY) [Note26: C'est ma cour arrière (TIMBY), http://www.makingallvoicescount.org/project/involving-citizens-in-decision-making-processes-in-liberia/] - alimente une plate-forme de cartographie et fournit des informations qui créent un récit autour des conflits liés à la terre et des accords de concession. Ces récits courts, associés à des animations créatives, permettent de faire participer les décideurs et les publics de tout le pays à des activités liées à la terre.

Selon les informations fournies par le gouvernement à Accountability Lab, [Note27: Antony Selmah (Accountability Lab), contacté par le personnel d'IRM, 28 May 2018. un cadastre interne basé sur une carte Web [Note28: Portail national des concessions du Libéria, http://portals.flexicadastre.com/liberia/] a été mis au point par le Bureau national des concessions pour accueillir toutes les informations relatives à la terre. Toutefois, les informations n'ont pas été téléchargées sur le site Web en raison du retard dans l'adoption de la loi sur les droits fonciers par la législature nationale. Le gouvernement a informé les représentants de Accountability Lab qu'avec l'adoption de la loi sur les droits fonciers, les informations sur la carte des terres et d'autres questions clés, telles que les actes privés et la propriété de la communauté, seraient rendues publiques.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Engagement 1.4

Accès à l'information: majeur

Les consultations élargies des parties prenantes ont eu un impact majeur sur la fourniture d'informations, en créant un espace pour des sessions interactives avec les autorités locales, les entreprises et le grand public. Selon les informations fournies au chercheur de l'IRM par CENTAL et LEITI, des leaders communautaires, des jeunes, des femmes, des personnes âgées et des citoyens à mobilité réduite étaient représentés dans les forums. Initialement, les autorités de l'entreprise ont rarement tenu des réunions avec la communauté locale. Ces réunions se sont tenues dans la capitale, Monrovia, avec les plus hauts responsables du gouvernement. Selon CENTAL et LEITI, les membres de la communauté sont mieux informés de leurs droits à la terre et de leurs revendications à la suite de campagnes d'information du public et de réunions de résolution de conflits pour les revendications faisant double emploi.

Engagement 1.5

Accès à l'information: marginal

Les activités de sensibilisation organisées dans les villes et les villages ont permis de mieux informer les membres de la communauté sur l’utilisation des sols et le régime foncier. Les membres de la communauté ont déclaré qu'avant les activités de sensibilisation organisées par CENTAL et LEITI, ils étaient mal informés et qu'ils ont désormais une compréhension beaucoup plus large qui peut les aider à protéger et à faire valoir leurs droits. [Note29: Marvin Tokpah, directeur exécutif, MPARD, comté de Nimba , entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM.] Cependant, la plate-forme Web basée sur la carte n'a pas encore été mise en œuvre, limitant l'accès à l'information sur l'utilisation commerciale des terres.

Reportés?

L'engagement 1.4 n'a ​​pas été reporté.

L'engagement 1.5 est reporté dans le prochain plan d'action (engagement 7). Cet engagement vise à mettre davantage d'informations sur la propriété et les droits fonciers à la disposition du public. Il propose également la création d'un mécanisme permanent permettant aux citoyens de résoudre les conflits fonciers par l'intermédiaire de l'autorité foncière.

Un projet quinquennal (septembre 2017-2022) financé par la Banque mondiale (en millions de 7 USD) apportera un soutien à la Liberia Land Authority (LLA) pour renforcer ses capacités institutionnelles grâce à la mise en œuvre de quatre composantes. Le projet traitera notamment de la propriété des terres tribales et créera un mécanisme de responsabilité pour les membres de la communauté qui demandent réparation pour les violations illégales commises sur leurs terres.


Engagements

  1. Base de données de surveillance législative

    LR0027, 2017, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Publication des documents budgétaires

    LR0028, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  3. Loi sur la liberté d'information

    LR0029, 2017, Accès à l'information

  4. Surveillance citoyenne pour le système de justice

    LR0030, 2017, Accès à la justice

  5. Mécanisme de rétroaction pour renforcer la responsabilisation de la TNL

    LR0031, 2017, Accès à l'information

  6. Renforcement des capacités pour l'intégrité du gouvernement

    LR0032, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  7. Transparence dans l'autorité foncière

    LR0033, 2017, Gouvernement électronique

  8. Responsabilité et optimisation des ressources par le biais de contrats ouverts

    LR0034, 2017, Accès à l'information

  9. Registre de la propriété bénéficiaire

    LR0035, 2017, Accès à l'information

  10. Portail de navigation Open Data / Citizen

    LR0036, 2017, Accès à l'information

  11. Engagement étoilé Information sur les droits commerciaux d'utilisation des terres

    LR0011, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  12. Portail d'aide ouvert et publication des données sur l'aide

    LR0012, 2015, Accès à l'information

  13. Lien système de gestion financière à la plate-forme de gestion de l'aide

    LR0013, 2015, Aide

  14. Faciliter le suivi des fonds EVD

    LR0014, 2015, Accès à l'information

  15. Engagement étoilé Mise en œuvre de la nouvelle loi sur les jurés

    LR0015, 2015,

  16. Citzen Surveillance du système de justice

    LR0016, 2015,

  17. Education civique et engagement citoyen autour des outils hors ligne

    LR0017, 2015,

  18. Initiative Connaissez vos droits

    LR0018, 2015, Justice

  19. Loi sur la protection des dénonciateurs

    LR0019, 2015,

  20. Hubs de transparence

    LR0020, 2015, Participation publique

  21. Intégrité de la fonction publique

    LR0021, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  22. Plate-forme de commentaires des citoyens.

    LR0022, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  23. Gouvernement électronique

    LR0023, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Systèmes de gestion des dépenses publiques

    LR0024, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  25. Sécurité publique / Réforme de la loi

    LR0025, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  26. Open Data Portal

    LR0026, 2015, Accès à l'information

  27. Nommer des officiers d'information publique (PIO)

    LR0007, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  28. Populariser la loi sur la liberté de l'information

    LR0008, 2015, Accès à l'information

  29. Élargir l'Initiative sur le budget ouvert

    LR0009, 2015, Accès à l'information

  30. Information du public sur la réforme des terres et des ressources naturelles

    LR0010, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  31. Augmenter l'accès à l'information publique

    LR0001, 2013, Accès à l'information

  32. Initiative de budget ouvert

    LR0002, 2013, Gouvernement électronique

  33. Transparence des industries extractives

    LR0003, 2013, Anti-Corruption

  34. Participation citoyenne et dialogue

    LR0004, 2013, Participation publique

  35. Engagement étoilé Responsabilité et intégrité

    LR0005, 2013, Anti-Corruption

  36. Technologie et Innovation

    LR0006, 2013, Accès à l'information

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Liberia

Public Information on Land and Natural Resource Reform (LR0010)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Liberia, Second National Action Plan, 2015-17

Action Plan Cycle: 2015

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: MIA, Land Commision (or future Land Authority), Sustainable Developent Institute, Governance Commission, Law Reform Commission

Support Institution(s): LMC, TGCI, CENTAL, concerned concession companies

Policy Areas

Extractive Industries, Land & Spatial Planning, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Liberia End-of-Term Report 2015-2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Carry out a broad stakeholders consultations in the county(ies) concerned to increase citizens’ understanding about issues of
land and natural resources. Performance Indicators: Number of people, companies or agencies whose views were gathered as a result of the consultation

IRM Midterm Status Summary

For Commitment details, see Liberia Progress Report 2015-2017.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Cluster: Accessible Information on Land Reform/Commercial Land Use

1.4 Make accessible to the public information on proposed reforms in the Land and Natural Resources sectors

Ministry of Internal Affairs, Land Commission (or future Land Authority) Sustainable Development Institute, Governance Commission, Law Reform Commission. Additional support from Liberia Media Center, The Global Citizen’s Initiative, CENTAL, concerned concession companies, 20 August 2015 – 20 March 2016).

Milestones:

· 1.4.1 Carry out a broad stakeholders consultations in the county(ies) concerned to increase citizens’ understanding about issues of land and natural resources

1.5 Ensure that material information on commercial land use rights is made publicly available

Ministry of Internal Affairs, Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (LEITI), Land Commission (or future Land Authority), Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry Development Authority, Ministry of Mines & Energy, National Investment Commission, Ministry of Justice, National Bureau of Concessions, National Traditional Council. Additional support from Liberia Media Center, The Global Citizen’s Initiative, CENTAL, CEMESP, concerned concession companies, 20 August 2015 – 20 May 2016).

Milestones:

· 1.5.I Publish information on acres (hectares) for each commercial land use right

· 1.5.2 Publish accurate map of location of each commercial land use right via a map-based web platform, in addition to providing hard copies of proposed land-use allocations to affected populations who don’t have access to the internet.

Commitment Aim:

In Liberia, land reform is a pressing issue in two key areas. The first is the legal status of customary land rights; the second is the ownership of trees and other forest resources on community forest lands. This commitment aims to provide information to the public on proposed reforms in the land and natural resources sectors, and to ensure material on commercial land use rights is available to the public.

Commitment 1.4 This commitment outlines activities for providing information to the public about land and natural resource use and how communities may be affected. Prior to implementation of the action plan, there was little to no publicly available information on land use. Stakeholders report that some data on forest cover were available from Global Forest Watch, but specific information on natural resource rights, concessions and community lands was non-existent. Implementation of this commitment could empower stakeholders by increasing their understanding of land and natural resources.

Commitment 1.5 aims to increase citizens’ knowledge of revenue generated from the extractive sector. Implementation will address the lack of information as to whether concessionaires in the extractive sector are paying their fair share of taxes, and whether they are using only demarcated land not subject to competing claims of ownership or tenure, as recognized in the Land Rights Policy. Making information on commercial land use publicly available could transform citizens’ access to information on land ownership and mediate conflicts over specific areas in which citizens and companies have competing land ownership claims.

Status

Midterm:

Commitment 1.4: Substantial

The government’s self-assessment reports that the implementation of this commitment has been substantial. At the midterm, a report on revenue receipts and payments, Beneficial Ownership Disclosure (BOD), a scoping study in the mining sector, and a Simplified Contract Matrix in the extractive sectors have been made publicly available. In February 2016, the National Bureau of Concessions (NBC) launched a public platform with data from all relevant concessions sectors (forestry, agriculture, mining, oil and gas, and public-private partnerships). For more information, please see the 2015–2016 IRM midterm report.

Commitment 1.5: Substantial

This commitment has been substantially completed. Information on acres (hectares) of land for commercial use and the affiliated contracts and agreements have all been uploaded on Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency’s (LEITI) website.[Note21: Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative(LEITI), http://www.leiti.org.lr] A Concession Information Management System (CIMS) has also been developed and launched. This tool allows users to view each commercial land use right via a map-based web platform. However, the IRM researcher notes that locations mapped for commercial mining rights overlap with protected areas on the map, and there is limited information available on private deeds, community ownership, or how conflicts are to be mediated. For more information, please see the 2015–2016 IRM midterm report.

End-of-Term:

Commitment 1.4: Completed

The commitment seeks to ensure the public is informed on proposed reforms in the Land and Natural Resources sectors through broad based stakeholders’ consultations in the counties to increase citizens’ understanding of land and natural resources issues.

LEITI has conducted broad based stakeholders’ consultations in the six counties and in concession areas to disseminate the abridged contract matrix in an initiative which is funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) through the Liberia Accountability and Voice Initiative (LAVI).[Note22: Interview with LEITI representatives, IRM researcher, December 2017, https://www.dai.com/our-work/projects/liberia-accountability-and-voice-initiative-lavi] According to meeting minutes and the Deputy Head of Secretariat, Myer W. Saye, LEITI conducted town hall meetings which informed community members and created an interactive forum about relevant concession agreements, economic features, social responsibilities and environmental controls, as well as disclosure of Social Development Funds payments received by the government from relevant companies in the extractive sector.[Note23: LEITI meeting minutes, http://www.leiti.org.lr/uploads/2/1/5/6/21569928/draft_msg_regular_meeting__minutes__december_2017.pdf This initiative is intended to promote natural resource transparency through information sharing.

The Land Authority has established sub offices in the counties to provide guidelines and procedures for the Sale of Public Land, the Land Rights Policy, the Act against Criminal Conveyance of Land, and the draft Land Rights Act. Also, as part of this commitment, the Center for Transparency and Accountability in Liberia (CENTAL) has engaged citizens in Nimba, Bong and Grand Bassa counties as part of its 'Resource and You' project.[Note24: Resource and You, https://spark.adobe.com/page/xCYRC/] In these locations CENTAL conducted dialogue forums where company authorities, public officials and community members discussed pertinent issues relating to land, social agreements, and management and use of natural resources.

Commitment 1.5: Substantial

CENTAL and LEITI have conducted various community outreach activities to target community members who do not have internet access and provide information to audiences that are literate.[Note25: Mr. Thomas Doe Nah, Executive Director CENTAL, interview by IRM researcher, December 2017.] This has been done through town hall meetings, and audio and print media using local groups and radio stations. The Ministry of Internal Affairs also partnered with CENTAL to organize public interactive forums in towns and villages where issues and concerns on private deeds and community ownership concession agreements were addressed.

Furthermore, the Sustainable Development Institute and Platypus Productions have developed a secure mobile reporting application to improve citizen reporting on what is happening to natural resources in rural Liberia. The simple and secure app – This Is My Backyard (TIMBY)[Note26: This is My Back Yard (TIMBY), http://www.makingallvoicescount.org/project/involving-citizens-in-decision-making-processes-in-liberia/] – feeds into a mapping platform and provides information that creates narrative around land-related conflicts and concession agreements. These short narratives, combined with creative animations, help engage policymakers and audiences across the country on land-related activities.

According to the information provided by the government to Accountability Lab,[Note27: Antony Selmah (Accountability Lab), contacted by IRM staff, 28 May 2018. an internal map-web-based cadastre[Note28: Liberia National Concession Portal, http://portals.flexicadastre.com/liberia/] has been developed by the National Bureau of Concessions to host all land-related information. However, the information has not been uploaded to the website due to the delay in the passage of the Land Rights Act by the National Legislature. The government informed the representatives from Accountability Lab that with the passage of the Land Rights Act, the information on land map and other key issues, such as private deeds and community ownership, will be made public.

Did it Open Government?

Commitment 1.4

Access to Information: Major

The broad-based stakeholders’ consultations have had a major impact on providing information, creating a space for interactive sessions with local authorities, companies and the general public. According to the information provided to the IRM researcher by CENTAL and LEITI, community leaders, youths, women, elderly and physically challenged citizens were represented in the fora. Initially, company authorities seldom held meetings with the local community. Such meetings were held in the capital city, Monrovia, with top government officials. According to CENTAL and LEITI, community members are better informed about their land rights and claims as a result of public information campaigns and dispute resolution meetings for overlapping claims.

Commitment 1.5

Access to Information: Marginal

Community outreach activities organized in towns and villages provided more information about land use and tenure to community members. Community members expressed that prior to the outreach activities organized by CENTAL and LEITI, they were misinformed and that now they have a much broader understanding that can help them to protect and claim their rights.[Note29: Marvin Tokpah, Executive Director, MPARD Nimba County, interview by IRM researcher.] However, the map web-based platform has not been implemented yet, limiting access to information on commercial land use.

Carried Forward?

Commitment 1.4 was not carried forward.

Commitment 1.5 is carried forward into the next action plan (Commitment 7). This commitment aims to make more information on land ownership and rights available to the public. It also proposes the creation of a standing mechanism for citizens to resolve land disputes through the Land Authority.

A five-year (September 2017–2022) World Bank-funded project (US$7 million) will be providing support to the Liberia Land Authority (LLA) to strengthen its institution capacity through the implementation of four components. The project will, inter alia, address tribal land ownership and create an accountability mechanism for community members seeking redress on unlawful violations on their land.


Liberia's Commitments

  1. Legislative Monitoring Database

    LR0027, 2017, E-Government

  2. Publication of Budget Documents

    LR0028, 2017, Audits and Controls

  3. Freedom of Information (FoI) Act

    LR0029, 2017, Capacity Building

  4. Citizen Monitoring for the Justice System

    LR0030, 2017, Capacity Building

  5. Feedback Mechanism to Build Accountability of the LNP

    LR0031, 2017, E-Government

  6. Capacity Building for Integrity in Government

    LR0032, 2017, Capacity Building

  7. Transparency in the Land Authority

    LR0033, 2017, E-Government

  8. Accountability and Value for Money through Open Contracting

    LR0034, 2017, E-Government

  9. Beneficial Ownership Registry

    LR0035, 2017, Beneficial Ownership

  10. Open Data/citizen Navigation Portal

    LR0036, 2017, Audits and Controls

  11. Starred commitment Commercial Land Use Rights Information

    LR0011, 2015, Capacity Building

  12. Open Aid Portal and Publication of Aid Data

    LR0012, 2015, Aid

  13. Link Financial Management System to Aid Management Platform

    LR0013, 2015, Aid

  14. Facilitate tracking of EVD funds

    LR0014, 2015, Aid

  15. Starred commitment Implementation of the new jury law

    LR0015, 2015,

  16. Citzen Monitoring of Justice System

    LR0016, 2015,

  17. Civic education and citizen engagement around offline tools

    LR0017, 2015,

  18. Know Your Rights' Initiative

    LR0018, 2015,

  19. Passage of Whistleblower Protection Act

    LR0019, 2015,

  20. Transparency hubs

    LR0020, 2015, Public Participation

  21. Public service integrity

    LR0021, 2015, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  22. Citizen feedback platform.

    LR0022, 2015, E-Government

  23. e-Government

    LR0023, 2015, Capacity Building

  24. Public expenditure management systems

    LR0024, 2015, Capacity Building

  25. Public safety/ Law enforecement reform

    LR0025, 2015, E-Government

  26. Open data portal

    LR0026, 2015, Open Data

  27. Appoint Public Information Officers (PIOs)

    LR0007, 2015, Capacity Building

  28. Popularize Freedom of Information (FoI) Law

    LR0008, 2015, Capacity Building

  29. Expand Open Budget Initiative

    LR0009, 2015, Capacity Building

  30. Public Information on Land and Natural Resource Reform

    LR0010, 2015, Extractive Industries

  31. Increase Access to Public Information

    LR0001, 2013, Capacity Building

  32. Open Budget Initiative

    LR0002, 2013, E-Government

  33. Extractive Industries Transparency

    LR0003, 2013, Audits and Controls

  34. Citizens’ Participation and Dialogue

    LR0004, 2013, Public Participation

  35. Starred commitment Accountability and Integrity

    LR0005, 2013, Conflicts of Interest

  36. Technology and Innovation

    LR0006, 2013, E-Government