Ignorer la navigation
Lituanie

Encourager la participation publique (LT0009)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Lituanie, deuxième plan d'action pour 2014-16

Cycle du plan d'action: 2014

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère de l'intérieur

Institution (s) de soutien: NA

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Règlements ouverts, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics, Sous-national

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin de programme pour la Lituanie 2014-2016, Rapport d'avancement sur la Lituanie 2014-2015, Rapport d'étape IRM Lituanie 2014-2015

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs de l'OGP: accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Assurer des consultations publiques et faciliter la participation du public aux processus de gouvernance publique. une. La réglementation juridique des consultations publiques a été améliorée - les principes, modalités et normes de la consultation principale ont été établis. b. Les propositions reçues et mises en œuvre lors de consultations publiques sont rendues publiques, de nouvelles technologies sont utilisées pour les consultations. c. Afin de renforcer la participation du public à l'administration publique, des informations sont déjà fournies au niveau de l'école et sont étendues à d'autres niveaux du système éducatif, sur les possibilités d'accès à l'information détenue par l'État et sur la participation du public au processus de gouvernance publique ( Ministère de l'éducation et des sciences). ré. Afin de permettre au public d’exprimer son opinion sur la qualité des services fournis, des efforts sont déployés pour assurer la plus grande participation possible du public à la gestion des institutions fournissant des services d’éducation, de santé, de sécurité sociale et de sécurité publique, renforçant ainsi le rôle des conseils dans ces institutions (ministère de l’éducation et des sciences). e. Le Conseil des organisations non gouvernementales (et une institution consultative) a été créé pour assurer la participation des ONG à l’élaboration, à la définition et à la mise en œuvre de la politique de développement des ONG (ministère de la Sécurité sociale et du Travail).
2. Mettre en œuvre une mesure visant à promouvoir la participation active des communautés locales et des individus à la prise de décision en ce qui concerne la réponse aux besoins du public dans les domaines intéressant les communautés locales. une. En 2014, au moins 90 pour cent du total des activités approuvées par les décisions du Conseil de la communauté locale, impliquant toutes les municipalités, ont été mises en œuvre. b. Les capacités des personnes, des responsables des organisations communautaires et des membres les plus actifs de la communauté pour représenter les intérêts de la communauté et trouver les meilleures solutions aux problèmes ont été renforcées. Gouvernance communautaire accrue. Afin d’évaluer l’efficacité de la participation des communautés aux processus de l’administration publique, on a observé des développements dans leur implication dans ces processus, partagé les meilleures pratiques de coopération entre les autorités de l’administration publique et les communautés, ainsi que l’efficacité des décisions adoptées avec le public. été analysé.
3. Développer et mettre en œuvre des mesures encourageant les populations et les communautés locales à participer à la prise de décision locale. Une publication informative et méthodologique a été développée pour les représentants des communautés locales (seniūnaičiai), qui fournit des informations sur les droits des populations et les possibilités de participer prise de décision locale, autres informations d’intérêt local (par exemple, voisinage sécurisé, numéro de téléphone d’urgence 112, etc.); les informations juridiques pertinentes sont fournies sous une forme simple et conviviale. Tous les représentants des communautés locales (seniūnaičiai) recevront les informations nécessaires de la manière qu'ils jugeront acceptable. Les résultats du suivi des enquêtes populaires seront rendus publics.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Engagement 3. Participation du public

Texte d'engagement:

Initiative 2: Participation du public à la gouvernance publique

Domaine: encourager les autorités de l'administration publique à consulter les citoyens

Actes:

  1. Assurer des consultations publiques et faciliter la participation du public dans les processus de gouvernance publique.
    1. La réglementation juridique des consultations publiques a été améliorée - les principes, modalités et normes de la consultation principale ont été établis.
    2. Les propositions reçues et mises en œuvre lors de consultations publiques sont rendues publiques, de nouvelles technologies sont utilisées pour les consultations.
    3. Afin de renforcer la participation du public à l'administration publique, des informations sont déjà fournies au niveau de l'école et sont étendues à d'autres niveaux du système éducatif, sur les possibilités d'accès à l'information détenue par l'État et sur la participation du public au processus de gouvernance publique ( Ministère de l'éducation et des sciences).
    4. Afin de permettre au public d’exprimer son opinion sur la qualité des services fournis, des efforts sont déployés pour assurer la plus grande participation possible du public à la gestion des institutions fournissant des services d’éducation, de santé, de sécurité sociale et de sécurité publique, renforçant ainsi le rôle des conseils dans ces institutions (ministère de l’éducation et des sciences).
    5. Le Conseil des organisations non gouvernementales (et une institution consultative) a été créé pour assurer la participation des ONG à l’élaboration, à la définition et à la mise en œuvre de la politique de développement des ONG (ministère de la Sécurité sociale et du Travail).

Institution responsable: Ministère de l'éducation et des sciences, ministère de la Sécurité sociale et du Travail

Institutions d'appui: non précisé

Date de début: 2014 ............... Date de fin: 2016

  1. Mettre en place un mesure favorisant la participation active par les communautés locales et les individus dans la prise de décision s’agissant de répondre aux besoins du public dans les domaines intéressant les communautés locales.

a.     En 2014, au moins 90 pour cent du total des activités approuvées par les décisions du Conseil de la communauté locale, impliquant toutes les municipalités, ont été mises en œuvre.

b.     Les capacités des personnes, des responsables des organisations communautaires et des membres les plus actifs de la communauté pour représenter les intérêts de la communauté et trouver les meilleures solutions aux problèmes ont été renforcées. L'autonomie de la communauté s'est accrue. Afin d’évaluer l’efficacité de la participation des communautés aux processus de l’administration publique, on a observé des développements dans leur implication dans ces processus, partagé les meilleures pratiques de coopération entre les autorités de l’administration publique et les communautés, ainsi que l’efficacité des décisions adoptées avec le public. été analysé.

Institution responsable: Ministère de la sécurité sociale et du travail

Institutions d'appui: non précisé

Date de début: non précisée ......... Date de fin: 2015

  1. Développer et mettre en œuvre des mesures encourageant les populations et les communautés locales à  participer à la prise de décision locale

Une publication informative et méthodologique a été mise au point à l'intention des représentants des communautés locales (seniūnaičiai). Elle fournit des informations sur les droits de la population et les possibilités de participer à la prise de décision locale, ainsi que d'autres informations présentant un intérêt local (par exemple, un quartier sûr, un numéro d'urgence 112, etc.); les informations juridiques pertinentes sont fournies sous une forme simple et conviviale. Tous les représentants des communautés locales (seniūnaičiai) recevront les informations nécessaires de la manière qu'ils jugeront acceptable. Les résultats du suivi des enquêtes populaires seront rendus publics.

Institution responsable: Ministère de l'Intérieur

Institutions d'appui: non précisé

Date de début: 2014 ..................... ...................... Date de fin: 2016

[soulignons]

 

But de l'engagement:

L'engagement contient trois produits livrables qui contribuent tous à l'engagement des membres de la communauté dans la gouvernance publique et la prise de décision. Chaque étape concerne les principales parties prenantes: institutions publiques; représentants de la communauté locale, y compris les gestionnaires et les leaders de la communauté; et les communautés elles-mêmes. 

Les niveaux de participation civique et d’autonomisation restent faibles. Le chercheur de l'IRM a identifié un certain nombre d'indicateurs attestant du niveau de participation du public aux consultations au début de la période du plan d'action: (1), seuls 5% des Lituaniens ont participé à un type quelconque de consultation publique municipale dans 2014[Remarque: 9: l’enquête Transparency International en Lituanie est disponible ici: http://bit.ly/1PPIZFu.] et près de 80 pour cent des répondants ont déclaré ne pas vouloir participer à des consultations publiques;[Remarque: 10: l’enquête Transparency International en Lituanie est disponible ici: http://bit.ly/1SOtVYT.] (2) les niveaux de confiance du public dans les institutions publiques restent faibles (seul le 41 pour cent des Lituaniens faisant confiance aux institutions publiques dans 2013)[Note 11: Le document peut être téléchargé ici: http://bit.ly/2f1veEG.

]) et (3) 64, pour cent des habitants n’ont reçu aucun type d’information concernant des problèmes publics dans leurs municipalités et Seniūnijos (plus petite unité administrative en Lituanie).[Note 12: Le document peut être téléchargé ici: http://bit.ly/2eXgw3t. ]

 
Statut

Mi-parcours: substantiel

Selon le rapport à mi-parcours, les trois jalons étaient en cours et à des stades d’achèvement différents, bien que deux d’entre eux aient été en grande partie achevés. Alors que le gouvernement avait pris des mesures pour réformer le cadre juridique et mis au point des outils Internet pour la tenue de consultations publiques, seuls huit des quatorze ministères avaient intégré http://www.lrt.lt comme plate-forme de consultations. Pour cette raison, le chercheur IRM n'a pas accordé le statut d'achèvement complet à cette étape. 

En ce qui concerne le jalon visant à promouvoir la participation active des communautés locales, aucun document public n'indiquait un niveau accru d'autogouvernance et le libellé d'engagement ne fournissait aucune information sur la manière dont ces changements seraient observés et contrôlés. Cependant, 90% du total des activités approuvées par les décisions des conseils des communautés locales (voir rapport de mi-parcours) ont été mis en œuvre, ce qui montre que les conseils nouvellement créés ont fonctionné. L'action visant à renforcer la capacité des parties prenantes à représenter les intérêts de la communauté n'a pas été réalisée.

Le gouvernement a publié des brochures à l’intention des représentants des communautés locales, qui soutiennent le jalon encourageant la participation à la prise de décisions locale. Cependant, le gouvernement n'a pas réussi à rendre publics les résultats des enquêtes populaires.

Pour une analyse détaillée de l'engagement, voir rapport de mi-parcours.

Fin du mandat: substantiel

Bien que le gouvernement ait progressé dans la mise en œuvre de certains des jalons de l'engagement, certains jalons n'ont pas été atteints. Par conséquent, le niveau d'achèvement global reste substantiel.

Depuis le rapport de mi-parcours, les recherches n’ont révélé aucun produit visible susceptible de faire progresser les consultations publiques, la participation des jeunes à la formulation des politiques publiques ou la participation des citoyens à l’administration des institutions publiques. Il convient de noter qu’en juillet le gouvernement a annoncé l’avis de marché public relatif aux marchés publics.[Note 13: L’avis de marché peut être trouvé ici: https://lrvk.lrv.lt/uploads/lrvk/documents/files/advertisement-119369.pdf.] pour l'amélioration du mécanisme de consultation publique en Lituanie, indiquant qu'elle avait besoin de l'aide d'experts externes pour identifier les principaux défis et développer des mécanismes qui impliqueraient davantage de citoyens dans la gouvernance publique. Un représentant de Transparency International Lituanie a salué cette étape, qu’il considérait comme une avancée notable dans le domaine qui, selon le représentant, n’a généralement pas été beaucoup améliorée dans l’ensemble de 2016.[Note 14: Entretien avec Rugilė Trumpytė, Transparency International Lituanie, 30 November 2016.] Une activité supplémentaire a été réalisée qui complète le jalon pour promouvoir la participation active des communautés locales. Le ministère de la Sécurité sociale et du Travail a notamment mis en ligne l'analyse du programme de son conseil de communauté local et a obtenu une évaluation globalement positive.[Note 15: L’évaluation peut être trouvée ici: http://www.socmin.lt/lt/nevyriausybiniu-organizaciju-sektorius/igyvendintos-programos.html.]

Le chercheur de l'IRM a constaté que le jalon de la participation de la communauté locale à la prise de décision était complet. Le ministère de l'Intérieur a publié les résultats de trois enquêtes populaires.[Remarque 16: les enquêtes peuvent être trouvées ici: https://epilietis.lrv.lt/lt/konsultacijos-su-visuomene/apklausos.] Bien que le point de contact au sein du ministère n'ait pas fourni d'informations sur le nombre total d'enquêtes menées, le chercheur en IRM a constaté que l'action atteignait le jalon selon lequel les enquêtes "seront rendues publiques".

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal

Participation civique: marginale

Le fait que le gouvernement ait publié l'analyse de son programme de conseil communautaire local contribue marginalement à une augmentation de la quantité d'informations mises à la disposition du public. Toutefois, aucune des initiatives relevant de cet engagement n’a permis d’améliorer sensiblement l’accès à l’information.

Cet engagement n'a pas entraîné de changement substantiel par rapport au nombre de consultations en ligne. Par exemple, le nombre de consultations publiques tenues dans la nouvelle région http://www.lrv.lt plate-forme n’a augmenté que légèrement depuis la mi-2015, avec sept consultations publiques tenues et les réactions du public à 10 (comparé à cinq consultations et une contribution rapportées dans le rapport de mi-parcours).[Note 17: Les consultations publiques menées peuvent être consultées à https://epilietis.lrv.lt/lt/konsultacijos/.] Un représentant interviewé[Note 18: Rūta Mrazauskaitė, Chapitre lituanien de Transparency International.] L’une des principales ONG de politique publique en Lituanie a fait remarquer que le modèle de consultation publique en Lituanie est en grande partie non fonctionnel. Les efforts des institutions nationales et municipales pour impliquer les communautés locales dans la prise de décision restent fragmentés et rares. De plus, les institutions ne sont pas mandatées pour mener des consultations publiques et lorsqu'elles le font, aucune règle ne régit le format de ces consultations. En outre, les niveaux d’autonomisation des citoyens en Lituanie restent faibles (selon l’Institut de la société civile, l’indice correspond aux points 33.4 sur des valeurs 100 possibles).[Note 19: L’enquête peut être téléchargée ici: http://www.civitas.lt/time-line/pilietines-galios-indeksas-2015-m/.]).[Note 20: Ibid.]

Bien que le nombre de consultations publiques tenues reste faible, le gouvernement investit du temps et des ressources pour développer la nouvelle plate-forme de consultation et entreprend des réformes juridiques, ce qui indique que la question de la participation du public est à l'ordre du jour du gouvernement.

Reportés?

Le troisième plan d’action national (2016 – 2018) contient un vaste engagement visant à accroître la participation citoyenne et la participation à la gouvernance publique avec quatre étapes clés, notamment la mise en place d’un mécanisme de consultation publique, l’introduction des valeurs OGP, la promotion d’une culture de gouvernance publique ouverte dans le secteur public, et créer une base de données sur les ONG et un fonds pour les ONG.


Engagements

  1. Open Data

    LT0024, 2018, Accès à l'information

  2. Base de données des ONG, Fonds des ONG

    LT0025, 2018, Espace civique

  3. Publier des informations fiscales

    LT0026, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  4. Services publics par les ONG

    LT0027, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  5. Surveillance et diffusion de la participation publique

    LT0028, 2018, Participation publique

  6. Évaluation du processus législatif

    LT0029, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  7. Construisez un portail de données ouvert et intégrez-vous au marché numérique unique européen.

    LT0015, 2016, Accès à l'information

  8. Publier des informations sur les activités du gouvernement et la participation citoyenne à la gouvernance.

    LT0016, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  9. Publier des informations en ligne sur les revenus et les dépenses des institutions nationales et municipales

    LT0017, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  10. Créer et diffuser des publicités sociales ciblant la corruption dans le système de santé

    LT0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  11. Créer des outils juridiques, organisationnels et techniques pour accéder facilement à des informations détaillées sur les procédures d'élection et de vote

    LT0019, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  12. Créer un mécanisme de consultation publique

    LT0020, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Favoriser une culture de gouvernance publique ouverte dans le secteur public

    LT0021, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  14. Création de la base de données des ONG.

    LT0022, 2016, Espace civique

  15. Création du fonds des ONG.

    LT0023, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  16. Amélioration de la qualité de la fonction publique

    LT0007, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  17. Développer et promouvoir les services électroniques

    LT0008, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  18. Encourager la participation du public

    LT0009, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  19. Sensibilisation civique

    LT0010, 2014, Éducation

  20. Développement d'un modèle de fonds de la société civile nationale

    LT0011, 2014, Espace civique

  21. Accessibilité de l'information publique

    LT0012, 2014, Accès à l'information

  22. Transparence de la prise de décision publique

    LT0013, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  23. Promotion de l'éducation anti-corruption

    LT0014, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  24. Augmentation de l'accessibilité des informations détenues par les autorités de l'administration publique.

    LT0001, 2012,

  25. Publication centralisée d'informations sur les activités du gouvernement

    LT0002, 2012,

  26. Consultations publiques plus approfondies

    LT0003, 2012, Participation publique

  27. Promotion de la participation publique aux processus de l'administration publique

    LT0004, 2012, législatif

  28. Augmenter l'accessibilité des services fournis au public.

    LT0005, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  29. Promotion de la participation du public au processus d'amélioration de la fourniture de services

    LT0006, 2012, Participation publique

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Lithuania

Encouraging Public Participation (LT0009)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Lithuania, Second Action Plan for 2014-16

Action Plan Cycle: 2014

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of the Interior

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

E-Government, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Lithuania End-of-Term Report 2014-2016

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

To ensure public consultations and facilitate public involvement in public governance processes. a. Legal regulation of public consultations has been improved –main consultation principles, terms and standards have been established. b. Proposals received and implemented through public consultations are made public, new technologies are employed for consultations. c. With a view to enhancing public involvement in public administration, information is provided, already at the school level and extending to other levels of the education system, about opportunities for accessing information held by the State, and public involvement in the processes of public governance (Ministry of Education and Science). d. To enable the public to express its opinion on the quality of provided services, efforts are made to ensure the greatest possible public involvement in the administration of institutions providing education, health, social security and public security services, thus enhancing the role of the councils in these institutions (Ministry of Education and Science). e. The Council of Non-governmental Organisations (and advisory institution) has been set up to ensure the participation of NGOs in establishing, shaping and implementing NGO development policy (Ministry of Social security and Labour).
2. To implement a measure promoting active involvement by local communities and individuals in decision-making as regards responding to public needs in the fields of local community relevance. a. In 2014 at least 90 per cent of the total activities approved by the decisions of the Local Community Council, involving all municipalities, have been implemented. b. Capacities of the people, community organisation managers and the most active community members to represent community interests in finding best solutions to the problems have been enhanced. Community selfgovernance increased. In order to evaluate the efficiency of communal participation in public administration processes, developments in their involvement in these processes have been observed, best practices of cooperation between public administration authorities and communities have been shared, and the effectiveness of decisions adopted together with the public has been analysed.
3. To develop and implement measures encouraging people and local communities to participate in local decision-making An informational-methodological publication has been developed for the representatives of local communities (seniūnaičiai), which provides information about the rights of the people and the possibilities of participating in local decision making, other information of local relevance (e.g. safe neighbourhood, emergency telephone number 112 etc); relevant legal information is provided in a simple, reader-friendly form. All the representatives of local communities (seniūnaičiai) will receive necessary information in the manner acceptable to them. The results of the monitoring of popular surveys will be made public.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Commitment 3. Public Participation

Commitment Text:

Initiative 2: Public participation in public governance

Area: to encourage public administration authorities to have consultations with people

Actions:

  1. To ensure public consultations and facilitate public involvement in public governance processes.
    1. Legal regulation of public consultations has been improved –main consultation principles, terms and standards have been established.
    2. Proposals received and implemented through public consultations are made public, new technologies are employed for consultations.
    3. With a view to enhancing public involvement in public administration, information is provided, already at the school level and extending to other levels of the education system, about opportunities for accessing information held by the State, and public involvement in the processes of public governance (Ministry of Education and Science).
    4. To enable the public to express its opinion on the quality of provided services, efforts are made to ensure the greatest possible public involvement in the administration of institutions providing education, health, social security and public security services, thus enhancing the role of the councils in these institutions (Ministry of Education and Science).
    5. The Council of Non-governmental Organisations (and advisory institution) has been set up to ensure the participation of NGOs in establishing, shaping and implementing NGO development policy (Ministry of Social security and Labour).

Responsible institution: Ministry of Education and Science, Ministry of Social Security and Labour

Supporting institutions: Not specified

Start date: 2014...............   End date: 2016

  1. To implement a measure promoting active involvement by local communities and individuals in decision-making as regards responding to public needs in the fields of local community relevance.

a.     In 2014 at least 90 per cent of the total activities approved by the decisions of the Local Community Council, involving all municipalities, have been implemented.

b.     Capacities of the people, community organisation managers and the most active community members to represent community interests in finding best solutions to the problems have been enhanced. Community self-governance increased. In order to evaluate the efficiency of communal participation in public administration processes, developments in their involvement in these processes have been observed, best practices of cooperation between public administration authorities and communities have been shared, and the effectiveness of decisions adopted together with the public has been analysed.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Social Security and Labour

Supporting institutions: Not specified

Start date: not specified.........   End date: 2015

  1. To develop and implement measures encouraging people and local communities to  participate in local decision-making

An informational-methodological publication has been developed for the representatives of local communities (seniūnaičiai), which provides information about the rights of the people and the possibilities of participating in local decision making, other information of local relevance (e.g. safe neighbourhood, emergency telephone number 112 etc); relevant legal information is provided in a simple, reader-friendly form. All the representatives of local communities (seniūnaičiai) will receive necessary information in the manner acceptable to them. The results of the monitoring of popular surveys will be made public.

Responsible institution: Ministry of the Interior

Supporting institutions: Not specified

Start date: 2014.....................   ...................... End date: 2016

[emphasis added]

 

Commitment aim:

The commitment contains three deliverables that all contribute to the engagement of community members in public governance and decision making. Each milestone addresses key stakeholders: public institutions; local community representatives, including community managers and leaders; and communities themselves. 

Levels of civic participation and empowerment remain low. The IRM researcher identified a number of indicators attesting to the level of public participation in consultations in the beginning of the action plan period: (1) only five percent of Lithuanians participated in any type of municipal public consultation in 2014[Note 9: Transparency International Lithuania survey can be found here: http://bit.ly/1PPIZFu.] and almost 80 percent of respondents reported an unwillingness to participate in public consultations at all;[Note 10: Transparency International Lithuania survey can be found here: http://bit.ly/1SOtVYT.] (2) levels of public trust in public institutions remain low (only 41 percent of Lithuanians trusted public institutions in 2013[Note 11: The document can be downloaded here: http://bit.ly/2f1veEG.

]); and (3) 64 percent of residents did not receive any type of information concerning public issues in their municipalities and Seniūnijos (smallest administrative unit in Lithuania).[Note 12: The document can be downloaded here: http://bit.ly/2eXgw3t. ]

 
Status

Midterm: Substantial

According to the midterm report, all three milestones were ongoing and in varying stages of completion, although two of them were substantially completed. While the government took steps to reform the legal environment and initiated internet tools for holding public consultations, only eight of fourteen ministries had integrated http://www.lrt.lt as a platform for consultations. For this reason, the IRM researcher did not grant full completion status to this milestone. 

Regarding the milestone to promote active involvement by local communities, no public records indicated an increased level of self-governance, and the commitment language did not provide any information on how these changes were going to be observed and monitored. However, 90 percent of the total activities approved by the decisions of the local community councils (see midterm report) were implemented, which shows that the newly established councils functioned. The action to enhance capacity of stakeholders to represent community interest remained unfulfilled.

The government published booklets for local community representatives, which supported the milestone encouraging participation in local decision making. However, the government fell short in making public the results of popular surveys.

For a detailed analysis of the commitment, refer to midterm report.

End of term: Substantial

Although the government made progress in implementing some of the commitment’s milestones, some milestones remained unfulfilled. Therefore, the overall completion level remains substantial.

Since the midterm report, research did not reveal any visible outputs that would advance public consultations, youth engagement into public policy formation, or citizen engagement in the administration of public institutions. It is worth noting that in July the government announced the public procurement tender notice[Note 13: The tender notice can be found here: https://lrvk.lrv.lt/uploads/lrvk/documents/files/advertisement-119369.pdf.] for improving the public consultation mechanism in Lithuania, indicating that it needed external expert help in identifying key challenges and developing mechanisms that would involve more citizens in public governance. This step was welcomed by a representative of Transparency International Lithuania as a notable development in the field, which, according to the representative, generally did not see much improvement throughout 2016.[Note 14: Interview with Rugilė Trumpytė, Transparency International Lithuania, 30 November 2016.] An additional activity took place that completes the milestone to promote active involvement by local communities. Notably, the Ministry of Social Security and Labour posted the analysis of its local community council programme online, and it had an overall positive evaluation.[Note 15: The evaluation can be found here: http://www.socmin.lt/lt/nevyriausybiniu-organizaciju-sektorius/igyvendintos-programos.html.]

The IRM researcher found the milestone on local community participation in decision making to be complete. The Ministry of the Interior published results of three popular surveys.[Note 16: Surveys can be found here: https://epilietis.lrv.lt/lt/konsultacijos-su-visuomene/apklausos.] Although the contact point within the ministry did not provide information about the total number of surveys conducted, the IRM researcher found the action fulfilled the milestone that surveys “will be made public.”

Did it open government?

Access to information: Marginal

Civic participation: Marginal

The fact that the government published the analysis of its local community council programme does marginally contribute to an increased amount of information made available to the public.  However, none of the initiatives under this commitment resulted in substantial improvement to access to information.

This commitment did not result in substantial change over the number of consultations held online. For example, the number of public consultations held at the newly developed http://www.lrv.lt platform increased only slightly since mid-2015, with seven public consultations held and with 10 reactions received from the public (compared to five consultations and one contribution reported in the midterm report).[Note 17: Public consultations conducted can be found at https://epilietis.lrv.lt/lt/konsultacijos/.] An interviewed representative[Note 18: Rūta Mrazauskaitė, Transparency International Lithuanian Chapter.] of one of the leading public policy NGOs in Lithuania remarked that the public consultation model in Lithuania is largely nonfunctional. Efforts of both national and municipal institutions to involve local communities in decision making remain fragmented and scarce. Additionally, institutions are not mandated to conduct public consultations, and when they do there are no rules governing the format of those consultations. In addition, levels of civic empowerment in Lithuania remain low (according to the Civil Society Institute, the index amounts to 33.4 points out of possible 100[Note 19: The survey can be downloaded here: http://www.civitas.lt/time-line/pilietines-galios-indeksas-2015-m/.]).[Note 20: Ibid.]

While the number of public consultations held remains low, the government is investing time and resources to develop the new consultation platform and is undertaking legal reforms, which indicates that the issue of public involvement is on the government’s agenda.

Carried forward?

The third national action plan (2016–2018) contains a broad commitment to increase civic participation and engagement in public governance with four milestones, including developing a public consultation mechanism, introducing OGP values, fostering an open public governance culture in the public sector, and creating an NGO database and an NGO fund.


Commitments

  1. Open Data

    LT0024, 2018, E-Government

  2. NGO Database, NGO Fund

    LT0025, 2018, Civic Space

  3. Publish Fiscal Information

    LT0026, 2018, E-Government

  4. Public Services by NGOs

    LT0027, 2018, Capacity Building

  5. Monitoring and Evlauation for Public Participation

    LT0028, 2018, Public Participation

  6. Legislative Process Evaluation

    LT0029, 2018, Capacity Building

  7. Build Open Data Portal, and Integrate Into the European Single Digital Market.

    LT0015, 2016, Capacity Building

  8. Publicize Information About Government Activities and Civic Participation in Governance.

    LT0016, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Publish Online Information About Revenues and Spending of National and Municipal Institutions

    LT0017, 2016, E-Government

  10. Create and Broadcast Social Advertisements That Target Corruption in the Healthcare System

    LT0018, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  11. Create Legal, Organizational and Technical Tools to Easily Access Detailed Information About Election and Voting Procedures

    LT0019, 2016, E-Government

  12. Create Public Consultation Mechanism

    LT0020, 2016, Capacity Building

  13. Foster Open Public Governance Culture in Public Sector

    LT0021, 2016, Capacity Building

  14. Creation of NGO Database.

    LT0022, 2016, Civic Space

  15. Creation of NGO Fund.

    LT0023, 2016, Capacity Building

  16. Public Service Quality Improvements

    LT0007, 2014, Capacity Building

  17. Developing and Promoting E-Services

    LT0008, 2014, E-Government

  18. Encouraging Public Participation

    LT0009, 2014, E-Government

  19. Raising Civic Awareness

    LT0010, 2014, Education

  20. National Civil Society Fund Model Development

    LT0011, 2014, Civic Space

  21. Accessibility of Public Information

    LT0012, 2014, E-Government

  22. Public Decision-Making Transparency

    LT0013, 2014, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  23. Promoting Anti-Corruption Education

    LT0014, 2014, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  24. Increase of the Accessibility of the Information Held by Public Administration Authorities.

    LT0001, 2012, Records Management

  25. Centralised Publishing of Information on Government Activities

    LT0002, 2012, Records Management

  26. More Extensive Public Consultations

    LT0003, 2012, Public Participation

  27. Promotion of Public Participation in Public Administration Processes

    LT0004, 2012, Legislature

  28. Increasing the Accessibility of Services Provided to the Public.

    LT0005, 2012, E-Government

  29. Promotion of Public Participation in the Process for the Improvement of Service Provision

    LT0006, 2012, Public Participation