Ignorer la navigation
Philippines

Facilité de faire des affaires: compétitivité (PH0044)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Philippines Plan d'action 2017-2019 (Mise à jour)

Cycle du plan d'action : 2017

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Conseil national de la compétitivité (NCC)

Institution(s) de soutien : Département du commerce et de l'industrie, Département de l'intérieur et des collectivités locales, Département des travaux publics et des routes, Département des finances, Département de la justice, Cour suprême, Commission des valeurs mobilières et des changes, Bureau des impôts, Système de sécurité sociale , Home Development Mutual Fund, Philippine Health Insurance Corporation, Bureau of Customs, Land Registration Authority, Credit Information Corporation, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, Bureau of Fire Protection, Landbank of the Philippines, Development Bank of the Philippines, Export Development Council, Quezon City Gouvernement local, Sénat des Philippines, Chambre des représentants., MERALCO, Manila Water, Bourse des Philippines, Autorité des ports des Philippines, ACCRALAW, Association des banquiers des Philippines, Association des actionnaires des Philippines, Chambre de commerce et d'industrie des Philippines, Groupe de travail AO 38 , Groupes de travail de la CCN (composés de groupes gouvernementaux, d'entreprises, d'universitaires et communautaires).

Domaines politiques

Secteur privé, Participation du public, Règlement

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception et de mise en œuvre des Philippines 2017-2019

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : marginaux

Efficace i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement:

Description

Quel est le problème public que l'engagement traitera ?: Retournement inefficace de la prestation des services gouvernementaux en raison de la lourdeur des procédures et des exigences applicables aux transactions commerciales; Quel est l'engagement ?: Améliorer la facilité des affaires aux Philippines; Comment l'engagement contribuera-t-il à résoudre le problème public? Le plan de stratégie pour la compétitivité est une stratégie d'analyse comparative élaborée par le Conseil national de la compétitivité, en consultation avec toutes les principales parties prenantes des secteurs public et privé, afin d'améliorer le commerce. environnement favorable et améliorer le classement des Philippines dans les dix indicateurs (10) et le classement général dans le rapport Doing Business (DB) publié par la Banque mondiale - Société financière internationale (WB-IFC). Plus précisément, cette initiative vise à: • mettre en œuvre, en coordination avec les agences concernées, diverses initiatives de réforme visant à rationaliser les procédures réglementaires et à simplifier les exigences applicables aux transactions commerciales; • accélérer les transactions au sein du gouvernement et le rendre plus efficace aux niveaux national et local; • promouvoir la transparence au sein du gouvernement et réduire les formalités administratives; • inclure des objectifs de réforme annuels dans le système d'incitation à la performance de toutes les agences concernées; et • Faire des Philippines l'un des centres d'investissement prioritaires dans la région Asie-Pacifique. Au fil des ans, le groupe d’étude EODB, créé par l’ordonnance administrative n o 38 a activement participé à l'amélioration de la facilité des affaires dans le pays. Les Philippines ont déjà gagné un total de crans 49, le plus gros gain de l’ASEAN depuis 2011 .; Pourquoi cet engagement est-il pertinent par rapport aux valeurs de l'OGP?: Participation citoyenne - Afin de fournir des services gouvernementaux homogènes et d'améliorer la gouvernance administrative, il est nécessaire de renforcer la fonction publique et d'impliquer et de responsabiliser pleinement les citoyens. Les consultations avec le secteur privé constituent également un aspect essentiel du processus de réforme visant à faciliter les affaires. À cette fin, le CNC a mis en place une plate-forme de communication efficace par le biais du groupe de travail de la BDEO, qui permet des consultations régulières entre les secteurs public et privé, faisant de ce dernier un élément essentiel du processus de réforme. • Responsabilité envers le public - Au cours des cinq dernières années, les Philippines ont obtenu des résultats remarquables dans divers rapports sur la compétitivité mondiale, notamment dans le rapport de la Banque mondiale sur la Banque mondiale (IFC). Le gouvernement, par le biais du CNC et du groupe de travail EODB (un groupe de travail interinstitutions créé pour initier, mettre en œuvre et contrôler les réformes commerciales faciles aux Philippines), a mis en œuvre et institutionnalisé différentes réformes (réglementaires et administratives) dans chaque agence hiérarchique afin d'améliorer la gestion. facilité de démarrage, d'exploitation, de croissance, de fermeture d'une entreprise.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

2A. Améliorer la facilité de faire des affaires

Texte d'engagement du plan d'action :

"Pour améliorer la facilité de faire des affaires aux Philippines."

 

Jalons:

  1. "3 politiques de compétitivité émises dans les délais prescrits
  2. 10 ateliers de validation réalisés
  3. Inventaire des réformes soumis à la BM-IFC
  4. 10 réformes EODB suivies
  5. Amener les Philippines au troisième rang dans l'enquête EODB
  6. 10 réunions de groupes multipartites organisées"

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, veuillez consulter le plan d'action des Philippines sur https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Philippines_-Action-Plan_2017-2019_updated.pdf

Contexte et objectifs (conception de l'engagement)

L'engagement visait à améliorer la position des Philippines dans l'enquête de la Banque mondiale sur la facilité de faire des affaires (EODB) [18] grâce à la rationalisation des processus, des mesures de transparence et des incitations à la performance.

La bureaucratie dans la conduite des affaires et la prestation de services était un problème que les experts considéraient comme un obstacle majeur à l'amélioration de la compétitivité des Philippines. [19] L'objectif d'améliorer la compétitivité du pays, ainsi que de cultiver une culture d'excellence dans le service public et d'améliorer la collaboration entre les secteurs public et privé, a été considéré comme une stratégie visant à propulser la croissance et le développement économique grâce à l'augmentation des investissements du secteur privé et des activités commerciales. [20]

L'amélioration du statut de l'EODB était cruciale pour accroître les investissements du secteur privé grâce à des services de première ligne efficaces, en particulier ceux impliquant des transactions commerciales. Plus précisément, l'engagement visait l'adoption de politiques de compétitivité, la mise en œuvre et le suivi des mesures de réforme et la conduite de dialogues multisectoriels pour poursuivre le « Plan de jeu pour la compétitivité » des Philippines sur la facilité de faire des affaires (EODB), qui est un plan multisectoriel visant à créer un environnement des affaires et à améliorer le classement EODB des Philippines. À partir de juin 2016, l'administration Duterte a poursuivi les réformes dans le cadre du plan de jeu 4.0. [21]  

La pertinence de l'engagement envers les valeurs de l'OGP était généralement faible. Cependant, étant donné l'approche consultative pour réformer les politiques et l'établissement d'un engagement multisectoriel sur les questions commerciales et de compétitivité, l'engagement a été considéré comme pertinent pour la participation civique.

Tel que conçu, il est possible de vérifier dans une certaine mesure les jalons de cet engagement. Par exemple, il est possible d'identifier globalement les politiques de compétitivité adoptées, les ateliers de validation menés, un inventaire des réformes soumis et les réformes de la BPEO suivies. Cependant, la conception de l'engagement ne précisait pas le contenu et la portée particuliers des politiques, des ateliers, des réformes et des inventaires. 

En général, l'amélioration du statut de l'EODB pourrait être considérée comme une évolution positive en termes d'amélioration de la compétitivité économique, en particulier l'amélioration de l'efficacité des services de première ligne qui pourraient attirer davantage d'investissements. Cependant, étant donné que d'autres facteurs entrent en jeu dans la génération de nouveaux investissements, la position de la BDEO n'étant qu'un des nombreux facteurs, l'impact potentiel de cet engagement en général a été évalué comme mineur, une étape positive progressive.

Engagement de mise en œuvre

La mise en œuvre de cet engagement a été substantielle. Le rapport d'auto-évaluation de fin de mandat du gouvernement [22] déclare que le principal résultat de la mise en œuvre a été l'adoption de la « Loi de la République n° 11032 » sur « la loi de 2018 sur la facilité de faire des affaires et la prestation de services gouvernementaux efficaces » (étape 1). La loi a été promulguée le 28 mai 2018. Deux autres politiques – des modifications au Code des sociétés et au projet de loi sur les opérations sur titres – étaient en attente d'approbation à la fin de la période de mise en œuvre.

Le gouvernement a achevé 10 réformes surveillées de l'EODB (étape 4), [23] ateliers de validation (jalon 2) et 10 réunions de groupes multipartites (jalon 6). L'IRM n'a pas trouvé de preuves sur les progrès de l'étape 3. Cet engagement n'a pas permis aux Philippines d'atteindre le troisième rang dans l'enquête EODB (étape 5). En commençant par un classement de 99 sur 190 pays dans l'enquête EODB 2017, les Philippines ont régressé au cours de 2017 et 2018, mais ont reçu un classement de 95 dans l'enquête 2020. [24] Les Philippines ont montré une amélioration dans la réduction des obstacles pour les entreprises nationales, l'assouplissement de l'accès aux permis de construire et le renforcement des protections des investisseurs minoritaires. [25]

Bien que l'engagement ait été en grande partie mis en œuvre, il n'a entraîné que des changements marginaux aux pratiques de gouvernement ouvert. Cela est dû en partie aux lacunes de la conception de l'engagement décrites dans la section sur la conception ci-dessus. La création d'opportunités de participation par le biais d'ateliers de validation et de réunions multipartites a entraîné un changement marginal des pratiques de gouvernement ouvert. Cependant, le gouvernement n'a pas fourni de preuves de la manière dont les OSC ont contribué à la construction de nouvelles politiques ou de la manière dont leurs contributions ont été prises en compte lors des processus décisionnels connexes.

Prochaines étapes

L'IRM a partagé les recommandations suivantes avec les parties prenantes au cours de la période d'examen préalable à la publication pour la section de conception de ce rapport. Ils sont inclus ci-dessous pour les archives publiques. [26]

Le MII ne recommande pas que cet engagement soit reconduit dans les futurs plans d'action sous sa forme actuelle.

S'il est reformulé, le PH-OGP pourrait identifier les défis et les lacunes spécifiques dans l'amélioration de la position des Philippines sur l'EODB et aborder plus explicitement et spécifiquement la manière dont l'engagement est rédigé et conçu. Les promoteurs peuvent choisir de répondre à la question suivante : quelles sont les réformes clés en matière de compétitivité qui sont les plus difficiles et qui peuvent être plus avancées grâce aux valeurs de l'OGP (participation civique, accès à l'information ou responsabilité publique) ? Les jalons doivent donc être liés à la manière dont ces valeurs peuvent être utilisées pour cet objectif stratégique spécifique. Par exemple, l'un des domaines que le gouvernement pourrait envisager est l'amélioration de la transparence et la réduction de la paperasserie dans les processus associés.

[18] Les 10 domaines mesurés par l'enquête EODB sont le démarrage d'une entreprise, la gestion des permis de construire, l'obtention d'électricité, l'enregistrement de la propriété, l'obtention de crédit, la protection des investisseurs minoritaires, le paiement des impôts, le commerce transfrontalier, l'exécution des contrats et la résolution de l'insolvabilité.
[19] Banque mondiale. 2010. Faire des affaires aux Philippines 2011 : comparaison des réglementations commerciales dans 25 villes et 183 économies. Washington DC.
[20] Décret exécutif n° 44, juin 2011.
[21] Banque mondiale. sd « Réformes commerciales aux Philippines ». Disponible à: http://www.doingbusiness.org/reforms/overview/economy/philippines.
[22] Rapport de fin de mandat, p. 45-48
[23] Rapport de fin de mandat, p. 47.
[24] « Doing Business 2017 : Equal Opportunity for All », Washington, DC : Banque mondiale (2017) ; « Doing Business 2018 », Washington, DC : Banque mondiale (2018) ; « Doing Business 2019 », Washington, DC : Banque mondiale (2019) ; « Doing Business 2020 », Washington, DC : Banque mondiale (2020).
[25] Les Philippines se classent au 95e rang mondial, une amélioration par rapport au classement 2019. Vérifier https://www.doingbusiness.org/en/data/exploreeconomies/philippines# 
[26] Voir le rapport de conception IRM 2019-2021 des Philippines pour l'analyse et les recommandations d'engagement les plus récentes.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Philippines

Ease of Doing Business:Competitiveness (PH0044)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Philippines 2017-2019 Action Plan (Updated)

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: National Competitiveness Council (NCC)

Support Institution(s): Department of Trade and Industry, Department of Interior and Local Government, Department of Public Works and Highways, Department of Finance, Department of Justice, Supreme Court, Securities and Exchange Commission, Bureau of Internal Revenue, Social Security System, Home Development Mutual Fund, Philippine Health Insurance Corporation, Bureau of Customs, Land registration Authority, Credit Information Corporation, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, Bureau of Fire Protection, Landbank of the Philippines, Development Bank of the Philippines, Export Development Council, Quezon City Local Government, Senate of the Philippines, House of Representatives., MERALCO, Manila Water, Philippine Stock Exchange, Philippine Ports Authority, ACCRALAW, Bankers Association of the Philippines, Shareholders Association of the Philippines, Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, AO 38 Taskforce, NCC Working Groups (composed of government, business, academics and community groups).

Policy Areas

Legislation & Regulation, Private Sector, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Philippines Design and Implementation Report 2017-2019

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

What is the public problem that the commitment will address?: Inefficient turnaround in the delivery of government services due to the cumbersome procedures and requirements for business related transactions; What is the commitment?: To improve the ease the doing business in the Philippines; How will the commitment contribute to solve the public problem?: The Ease of Doing Business (EODB) Gameplan for Competitiveness is a benchmarking strategy designed by the National Competitiveness Council in consultation with all key stakeholders in both the government and private sector to improve the business enabling environment and improve the Philippines’ ranking in all ten (10) indicators and the overall ranking in the Doing Business (DB) Report published by the World Bank – International Finance Corporation (WB-IFC). Specifically, this initiative aims to: • Implement in coordination with concerned agencies various reform initiatives geared towards the streamlining of regulatory procedures and simplifying the requirements for business related transactions; • Expedite transactions in government and make it more efficient at the national and local levels; • Promote transparency in government and reduce red tape; • Include annual reform targets in the performancebased incentive system of all agencies concerned; and • Make the Philippines as one of the priority investment hub in Asia Pacific Region. Through the years, the EODB Taskforce, created by Administrative Order No. 38, has been actively participating in working towards improving the ease of doing business in the country. The Philippines have already gained a total of 49 notches, the biggest gain in ASEAN since 2011.; Why is this commitment relevant to OGP values?: Civic Participation – In order to achieve seamless government service delivery and enhance administrative governance, it is necessary to strengthen the civil service and fully engage and empower citizens. Consultations with the private sector is also a key aspect in the reform process to ease doing business. To this end, the NCC has provided an effective communication platform through the EODB Taskforce that allows regular consultations between the public and private sector, making the latter a vital part of the reform process. • Public Accountability – For the past five years, the Philippines has performed remarkably in various global competitiveness reports specifically in the DB Report of WB-IFC. The government, through the NCC and the EODB Taskforce (an inter-agency taskforce created to initiate, implement and monitor ease of doing business reforms in the Philippines) have implemented and institutionalized different reforms (regulatory and administrative) in each line agency to improve the ease of starting, operating, growing, to closing a business. • Technology and Innovation - This initiative is also relevant to OGP as it promotes technology and innovation in streamlining processes and implementing doing business reforms in the country.; Additional information: This is in line with Chapter 5 of the Philippine Development Plan 2017-2022 on Ensuring People-Centered, Clean, and Efficient Governance.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

2A. Improve Ease of Doing Business

Commitment text from the action plan:

“To improve the ease the doing business in the Philippines.”

 

Milestones:

  1. "3 competitiveness policies issued within prescribed time
  2. 10 validation workshops conducted
  3. Reform inventory submitted to WB-IFC
  4. 10 monitored EODB reforms
  5. Bring the Philippines to the top third ranking in the EODB Survey
  6. 10 Multi-stakeholders Group Meetings conducted"

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, please see Philippines’ action plan at https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Philippines_-Action-Plan_2017-2019_updated.pdf

Context and Objectives (Commitment Design)

The commitment aimed to improve the standing of the Philippines in the World Bank’s Ease of Doing Business (EODB) survey [18] through streamlining of processes, transparency measures, and performance incentives.

Red tape in the conduct of business and the delivery of services was a problem that experts considered a key hindrance to improving the Philippines’ competitiveness. [19] The goal to improve the country’s competitiveness, along with cultivating a culture of excellence in public service and improved public-private sector collaboration, was considered a strategy to propel growth and economic development through increased private sector investment and business activities. [20]

Improved EODB standing was crucial in increasing private sector investments through efficient frontline services, especially those involving business transactions. Specifically, the commitment targeted passing competitiveness policies, undertaking and monitoring reform measures, and conducting multisectoral dialogues to pursue the Philippines’ Ease of Doing Business (EODB) “Game plan for Competitiveness,” which is a multisectoral plan on enabling a business environment and improving the Philippines’ EODB ranking. Beginning in June 2016, the Duterte administration continued reforms under Game plan 4.0. [21]  

The relevance of the commitment to OGP values was generally weak. However, given the consultative approach to reform the policies and the establishment of multisectoral engagement on business and competitiveness issues, the commitment was considered relevant to civic participation.

As designed, it is possible to verify the milestones under this commitment to some extent. For example, it is possible to broadly identify competitiveness policies passed, validation workshops conducted, a reform inventory submitted, and EODB reforms monitored. However, the commitment’s design did not specify the particular content and scope of the policies, workshops, reforms, and inventories. 

In general, an improved EODB standing could be viewed as a positive development in terms of improved economic competitiveness, specifically improvement of efficiency in frontline services that could attract more investment. However, because other factors come into play in generating new investments, with the EODB standing being just one of many factors, the potential impact of this commitment in general was assessed as minor, an incremental positive step.

Commitment Implementation

This commitment’s implementation was substantial. The government’s end-of-term self-assessment report [22] states that the main result of implementation was the passage of the “Republic Act No. 11032” about “the Ease of Doing Business and Efficient Government Service Delivery Act of 2018” (milestone 1). The Act was signed into law on 28 May 2018. Two other policies – amendments to the Corporation Code and the Security Transaction Bill – were  pending approval at the end of the implementation period.

The government completed 10 monitored EODB reforms (milestone 4), [23] validation workshops (milestone 2), and 10 multi-stakeholder group meetings (milestone 6). The IRM did not find evidence on the progress of milestone 3. This commitment did not bring the Philippines to the top-third ranking in the EODB Survey (milestone 5). Beginning with a ranking of 99 out of 190 countries in the 2017 EODB Survey, the Philippines regressed over the course of 2017 and 2018, but received a ranking of 95 in the 2020 Survey. [24] The Philippines showed improvement in reducing barriers for domestic companies, easing access to construction permits, and strengthening minority investor protections. [25]

Although the commitment was substantially implemented, it only resulted in marginal changes to open government practices. This is in part due to shortcomings in commitment design outlined in the design section above. The creation of opportunities for participation through validation workshops and the multistakeholder meetings resulted in a marginal change to open government practices. However, the government has not provided evidence of how CSOs helped in the construction of new policies or how their inputs were taken into consideration during related decision-making processes.

Next steps

The IRM shared the following recommendations with stakeholders during the prepublication review period for the design section of this report. They are included below for public record. [26]

The IRM does not recommend that this commitment be carried forward into future action plans in its current form.

If reformulated, PH-OGP could identify specific challenges and gaps in improving the Philippines’ standing on EODB and address more explicitly and specifically how the commitment is written and designed. The proponents may opt to address the following question: What are the key reforms on competitiveness that are most challenging and that can be more advanced through OGP values (civic participation, access to information or public accountability)? Milestones, hence, should be tied to how these values can be used for this specific strategic goal. For example, one of the areas the government could consider is improved transparency and red tape reduction in associated processes.

[18] The 10 areas measured by the EODB survey are starting a business, dealing with construction permits, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting minority investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts, and resolving insolvency.
[19] World Bank. 2010. Doing Business in the Philippines 2011: Comparing Business Regulations in 25 Cities and 183 Economies. Washington, DC.
[20] Executive Order No. 44, June 2011.
[21] World Bank. n.d. “Business Reforms in Philippines.” Available at: http://www.doingbusiness.org/reforms/overview/economy/philippines.
[22] End-of-Term report, p. 45-48
[23] End-of-Term report, p. 47.
[24] “Doing Business 2017: Equal Opportunity for All,” Washington, DC: World Bank (2017); “Doing Business 2018,” Washington, DC: World Bank (2018); “Doing Business 2019,” Washington, DC: World Bank (2019); “Doing Business 2020,” Washington, DC: World Bank (2020).
[25] The Philippines ranks 95th globally, an improvement in comparison with the 2019 ranking. Check https://www.doingbusiness.org/en/data/exploreeconomies/philippines# 
[26] See the Philippines 2019-2021 IRM Design Report for the most recent commitment analysis and recommendations.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership