Ignorer la navigation
Royaume-Uni

Impliquer les utilisateurs de données dans la définition de l'avenir de l'open data (UK0072)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Royaume-Uni - Troisième plan d'action national 2016-18

Cycle du plan d'action : 2016

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution principale : Cabinet Office (service numérique du gouvernement)

Institution(s) de soutien : Tous les ministères; mySociety, l'institut des données ouvertes

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, Formations, E-gouvernement, Open Data, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Royaume-Uni Rapport de fin de trimestre 2016-2018, Royaume-Uni Rapport à mi-parcours 2016-2018

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : marginaux

Efficace i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement:

Description

Objectif: S'engager largement avec les utilisateurs de données actuels et potentiels dans l'élaboration du programme de données gouvernementales et du programme plus large des données ouvertes du gouvernement, afin de veiller à ce que notre travail réponde aux besoins des utilisateurs et que les ressources limitées soient concentrées sur les domaines les plus prioritaires.

Statu quo: une gestion efficace avec les utilisateurs de données gouvernementales - que ce soit dans le secteur public, le secteur privé ou la société civile - est essentielle pour façonner l'avenir de l'open data. C'est également la clé du succès du programme de gestion des données gouvernementales et de notre capacité à stimuler l'innovation, la réforme du service public et la transparence grâce à une meilleure utilisation des données. Depuis notre premier Plan d’action national OGP, nous avons beaucoup appris grâce à notre engagement auprès des utilisateurs de données. Les commentaires que nous avons reçus ont permis au gouvernement de hiérarchiser ses efforts pour ouvrir davantage de données. Nous avons acquis une compréhension claire des jeux de données de la plus haute valeur qui ne sont pas encore librement et ouvertement disponibles, ce qui nous offre une plate-forme solide sur laquelle continuer de rechercher un meilleur accès ouvert, le cas échéant. Et les parties prenantes ont clairement indiqué que la qualité et la fiabilité des données ouvertes, et pas seulement la quantité, étaient d'une importance cruciale. Cela nous a aidé à élaborer un programme gouvernemental sur les données afin de répondre au besoin d'infrastructure et de capacités de données modernisées à l'échelle du gouvernement, générant ainsi des données de meilleure qualité pour tous les utilisateurs. Nous avons ouvert une vaste gamme d'ensembles de données gouvernementales, tout en renforçant le droit des citoyens de demander des données dans un format ouvert et réutilisable par le biais d'amendements à la loi sur la liberté de l'information et de l'introduction de la réglementation sur la réutilisation des informations du secteur public. Mais nous pouvons être plus clairs et plus proactifs en faisant mieux connaître les voies par lesquelles les demandes d'accès aux données peuvent être mises à disposition et les obligations des organismes publics d'y répondre.

Ambition: nous avons besoin d'un large éventail d'opportunités d'engagement pour les utilisateurs des données ouvertes du gouvernement - et, surtout, pour ceux qui, à l'heure actuelle, n'utilisent pas les données du gouvernement mais en tirent profit. Celles-ci vont des événements publics et des allocutions à la collaboration en ligne et aux groupes de travail thématiques. À mesure que l'utilisation des données par le gouvernement se développe et se développe, cet engagement devra être actif et continu, et impliquer tout le spectre des détenteurs et des utilisateurs des données du gouvernement. Nous devons également être ouverts et transparents sur les discussions que nous avons eues et sur les résultats de ces discussions.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

10. Impliquer les utilisateurs de données dans l'avenir de l'open data

Texte d'engagement:Nous veillerons à ce que le travail du gouvernement visant à moderniser et à améliorer la gestion, l'utilisation et la disponibilité des actifs de données repose sur une collaboration active et étendue avec les utilisateurs de données actuels et potentiels.

Objectif: S'engager largement avec les utilisateurs actuels et potentiels de données dans l'élaboration du programme de données gouvernementales et du programme plus large des données ouvertes du gouvernement, afin de s'assurer que notre travail réponde aux besoins des utilisateurs et que les ressources limitées soient concentrées sur les domaines les plus prioritaires.

Status Quo: Un engagement efficace avec les utilisateurs des données gouvernementales - que ce soit dans le secteur public, le secteur privé ou la société civile - est essentiel pour façonner l'avenir des données ouvertes. Il est également essentiel au succès du programme de données gouvernementales et à notre capacité de stimuler l'innovation, le service public, la réforme et la transparence grâce à une meilleure utilisation des données.

Depuis notre premier Plan d’action national OGP, nous avons beaucoup appris grâce à notre engagement auprès des utilisateurs de données. Les commentaires que nous avons reçus ont permis au gouvernement de hiérarchiser ses efforts pour ouvrir davantage de données. Nous avons acquis une compréhension claire des ensembles de données de la plus grande valeur qui ne sont pas encore librement et ouvertement disponibles, ce qui nous offre une plate-forme solide sur laquelle continuer de rechercher un meilleur accès ouvert, le cas échéant. Et les parties prenantes ont clairement indiqué que la qualité et la fiabilité des données ouvertes, et pas seulement la quantité, étaient d'une importance cruciale. Cela nous a aidé à élaborer un programme gouvernemental sur les données afin de répondre au besoin d'infrastructure et de capacités de données modernisées à l'échelle du gouvernement, générant ainsi des données de meilleure qualité pour tous les utilisateurs.

Nous avons ouvert une vaste gamme d'ensembles de données gouvernementales, tout en renforçant le droit des citoyens de demander des données dans un format ouvert et réutilisable par le biais d'amendements à la loi sur la liberté de l'information et de l'introduction de la réglementation sur la réutilisation des informations du secteur public. Mais nous pouvons être plus clairs et plus proactifs en faisant mieux connaître les voies par lesquelles les demandes d'accès aux données peuvent être mises à disposition et les obligations des organismes publics d'y répondre.

Ambition: Nous avons besoin d'un large éventail d'opportunités d'engagement pour les utilisateurs des données ouvertes du gouvernement - et, surtout, pour ceux qui n'utilisent pas actuellement les données du gouvernement mais qui en bénéficieront. Celles-ci vont des événements publics et des allocutions à la collaboration en ligne et aux groupes de travail thématiques. À mesure que l'utilisation des données par le gouvernement se développera et se développera, cet engagement devra être actif et continu, et impliquer l'ensemble des détenteurs et utilisateurs des données gouvernementales. Nous devons également être ouverts et transparents au sujet des discussions que nous avons tenues et des résultats de ces discussions.

Jalons:

1. Développer une conversation solide, continue et collaborative avec les utilisateurs de données de tous les secteurs et de toutes les spécialités, notamment par le biais de groupes de travail et de réunions sur des aspects spécifiques du programme de gestion des données du gouvernement, afin d'informer et de remettre en question le programme de gestion des données du gouvernement

2. S'assurer que la politique du gouvernement et le programme de gestion des données du gouvernement sont informés et mis au défi par des penseurs externes au moyen d'un groupe de pilotage des données actif

3. Développer notre partenariat avec l'Open Data Institute pour aider le gouvernement à se connecter avec les entreprises de données, les innovateurs et la société civile

4. Construire un engagement et un leadership pangouvernementaux en matière de gestion des données et de données ouvertes et publier des plans pour un engagement ministériel avec les utilisateurs de données et de nouveaux engagements en matière de données ouvertes, par le biais d'un réseau de leaders de données pangouvernementaux

5. Maintenir un engagement actif et étendu avec les groupes de la société civile pour veiller à ce que le programme gouvernemental sur les données favorise un meilleur accès aux données et leur utilisation par les plus petites organisations de la société civile

6. Tenir des mises à jour régulières sur les politiques du gouvernement en matière de données ouvertes en ligne via les blogs et les médias sociaux, ce qui permet aux utilisateurs d'interagir avec ces politiques à mesure qu'ils se développent et de publier des suggestions d'amélioration.

7. Explorez d'autres canaux avec lesquels engager les utilisateurs sur des questions de données ouvertes, tels que le Forum du gouvernement ouvert, les communautés Google ou Slack - ceux-ci auraient l'avantage de discuter et de résoudre les problèmes en temps réel, ainsi que d'un lien plus direct entre le gouvernement et les utilisateurs de données

8. Collaborer avec les citoyens, la société civile, les secteurs privé et public pour élaborer un cadre éthique pour l'utilisation des techniques de science des données au gouvernement, notamment par le biais d'événements d'engagement du public et d'un outil interactif de participation en ligne.

Institution responsable: Bureau du Cabinet (Service numérique du gouvernement)

Institutions d'appui: tous les ministères, mySociety, l'Open Data Institute

Date de début: Mai 2016

Date de fin: Juin 2018

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait à améliorer et à approfondir la collaboration avec la société civile et les réseaux d’experts en matière de données ouvertes, étant donné la participation parfois limitée des organisations de la société civile et les moyens limités de le faire. Les plans d'action antérieurs avaient mis en évidence la nécessité d'une participation plus large et suggéré d'expérimenter de nouvelles idées. L'engagement comprenait l'utilisation d'une série d'organes préétablis pour surveiller et examiner les activités, ainsi que des activités pour élargir et innover sur la manière dont le gouvernement et la société civile interagissent.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

À la fin de la première année de mise en œuvre, le gouvernement s'est engagé de manière continue auprès des utilisateurs de données de différentes manières.[Remarque 93: Bureau du Cabinet, Plan d'action national pour un gouvernement ouvert 2016-18: Mises à jour sur les progrès de l'engagement de 2017 en juillet (mise à jour de l'engagement pour Juillet 2017), la publication préliminaire a été transmise à l'auteur. ] Celles-ci comprenaient la participation à des événements à l'Open Data Institute de Londres et l'interaction avec les demandes des utilisateurs effectuées via le portail data.gov.uk.[Note 94: «Événements» de l'Open Data Institute, https://theodi.org/events.] Le gouvernement britannique a également co-parrainé le quatrième Open Data Camp à Cardiff en février 2017.[Note 95: Blog sur les données, Gov.uk 'Looking Forward to Open Data Camp 2017, https://data.blog.gov.uk/2017/02/20/looking-forward-to-open-data-camp-2017/ ] Il y avait également eu une interaction informelle continue par le biais du Cabinet Office et d'autres départements.[Note 96: Entretien avec Thom Townsend et William Gerry, Cabinet Office, 14 septembre 2017; Bureau du cabinet 'Open Government Partnership Plan d'action national 2016-18: Rapport d'auto-évaluation à mi-parcours '(rapport du gouvernement britannique, septembre 2017) transmis à l'auteur avant publication. ]

Certaines parties de l'engagement étaient incomplètes ou retardées. Le groupe de pilotage des données s’est réuni tous les trois mois jusqu’en septembre 2016.[Note 97: Gov.uk, 'Data Steering Group', https://www.gov.uk/government/groups/data-steering-group ] Le Data Leaders Network s'est réuni une fois par mois, bien que les réunions ne soient pas répertoriées.[Note 98: Entretien avec Thom Townsend et William Gerry, Bureau du Cabinet, 14 September 2017.] Le gouvernement a expérimenté de nouveaux canaux et a utilisé des «forums de connaissances ouverts pendant l'exercice pour créer l'indice mondial des données ouvertes». Il a également expérimenté avec un canal Slack intergouvernemental et un groupe Google, ainsi que des rencontres internes régulières de sa communauté de données.[Note 99: Blog sur la technologie des services de données du gouvernement, "La technologie chez GDS: rejoignez la conversation", https://gdstechnology.blog.gov.uk/join-the-conversation/et «Slack Channel» numérique du gouvernement britannique, ukg governmentdigital.slack.com; Entretien avec Thom Townsend et William Gerry, Cabinet Office, 14 septembre 2017.] Certaines OSC ont estimé que l'interaction n'était pas aussi complète qu'elle aurait pu être en ligne.[Remarque 100: Bureau du Cabinet, Plan d'action national pour un gouvernement ouvert 2016-18: Mises à jour sur les progrès de l'engagement de 2017 en juillet (mise à jour de l'engagement pour Juillet 2017), la publication préliminaire a été transmise à l'auteur. ]

En juin, 2017 a annoncé que le gouvernement britannique s'opposait à l'utilisation de Slack par les autorités, craignant que les FOI ne les ouvrent ou ne fuient, ce qui pourrait en empêcher l'utilisation.[Note 101: Civil Service World, «Ne pas prendre le relais: la répression de la messagerie instantanée de Whitehall révèle un manque de confiance dans les fonctionnaires», https://www.civilserviceworld.com/articles/opinion/not-picking-slack-whitehall-instant-messaging-clampdown-reveals-lack-trust-civil ] En mai 2016, le gouvernement a lancé la première version de son cadre éthique de la science des données «destiné à donner aux fonctionnaires des conseils sur la conduite de projets de science des données [travailler avec des données en utilisant des approches scientifiques], et la confiance nécessaire pour innover avec les données».[Note 102: Cabinet Office, 'Guidance: Data Science Ethical Framework, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/data-science-ethical-framework, et Cabinet Office, 'Speech Data Science Ethical Framework launch: Matt Hancock speech', https://www.gov.uk/government/speeches/data-science-ethical-framework-launch-matt-hancock-speech ] Il a fait appel à la société civile et à des experts pour contribuer à son développement, mais aucune activité ultérieure n'a été signalée depuis.

Fin du terme: substantiel

Il y a eu un certain nombre de progrès dans plusieurs domaines qui signifient que l'engagement est maintenant largement mis en œuvre. Les activités informelles se sont poursuivies avec une série d'activités liées aux utilisateurs de données, de blogs et de réunions du groupe de pilotage, y compris une réunion conjointe avec les responsables des données et «en travaillant avec des universitaires, la société civile et l'industrie au sens large».[Remarque 103: gouvernement britannique (2018), Plan d’action pour un gouvernement ouvert 2016-18: mises à jour des progrès concernant l’engagement pris par 2018 en avril, https://www.opengovernment.org.uk/resource/2016-18-open-government-action-plan-april-2018-commitment-progress-updates/; Gouvernement britannique (2017), Mise à jour du cadre d'éthique de la science des données, https://gds.blog.gov.uk/2017/11/27/updating-the-data-science-ethical-framework/],[Note 104: Entretien avec Katie Holder et Thom Townsend, DCMS, 8 August 2018.] Plus important encore dans la phase finale, un nouveau cadre d’éthique des données a été publié en juin 2018. Selon le ministre responsable, la nouvelle version mettait l'accent sur la nécessité de la coopération entre spécialités.[Remarque 105: DCMS (2018), Orientations: cadre d’éthique des données, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/data-ethics-framework/data-ethics-framework]

Le nouveau cadre est destiné à «aider les politiques et les praticiens à mieux comprendre les attentes éthiques fondamentales des projets de science des données du secteur public et à adapter leurs offres de manière appropriée». Il vise à définir des «principes éthiques» tout en fournissant des conseils et en servant de «manuel».

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?
Accès à l'information: marginal
Participation civique: marginale

Cet engagement a certainement réussi à accroître l'engagement des OSC et des experts. En termes d'accès à l'information, le travail continu d'amélioration de la qualité et de la cohérence des statistiques, ainsi que la promotion de changements organisationnels tels que le `` pipeline analytique reproductible '' (qui permet une production et une reproduction faciles des statistiques), ont conduit à des données plus ouvertes et systématiques . La publicité du travail du gouvernement avec les données et la conception des deux versions du cadre éthique a peut-être encouragé l'innovation dans l'ensemble du gouvernement, mais l'IRM n'a trouvé aucune preuve de son effet. Étant donné le sentiment parmi les OSC qu'il aurait pu y avoir plus d'engagement, et certaines des limites, il est considéré comme marginal.

Reportés?

Cet engagement se poursuivra en dehors du plan d'action dans 2019 et au-delà.


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
United Kingdom

Involving Data Users in Shaping the Future of Open Data (UK0072)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: United Kingdom – Third National Action Plan 2016-18

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Cabinet Office (Government Digital Service)

Support Institution(s): All government departments; mySociety, The Open Data Institute

Policy Areas

Access to Information, Capacity Building, E-Government, Open Data, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: United Kingdom End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, United Kingdom Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Objective: To engage widely with current and potential data users in the development of the Government Data Programme and government’s broader open data agenda, in order to ensure that our work meets users’ needs and that limited resources are focused on areas of highest priority.

Status quo: Effective menagement with users of government data – whether in the public sector, private sector or civil society – is essential to shaping the future of open data. It is also key to the success of the Government Data Programme and our ability to drive innovation, public service reform and transparency through the better use of data. Since our first OGP National Action Plan we have learned a huge amount through our engagement with data users. The feedback we have received has enabled government to prioritise its efforts to open up more data. We have built a clear understanding of the highestvalue datasets that are not yet freely and openly available, giving us a strong platform on which to continue to pursue greater open access where appropriate. And we have heard clearly from stakeholders that open data quality and reliability, not just quantity, is crucially important. This has helped us to develop a Government Data Programme to address the need for modernized data infrastructure and capability across government, driving better quality data for all users. We have opened up a huge range of government datasets, while strengthening citizens’ rights to request data in open and reusable format through amendments to the Freedom of Information Act and the introduction of the Re-use of Public Sector Information regulations. But we can be clearer and more proactive in raising awareness of the routes by which data access requests can be made available, and public bodies’ duties in responding to them.

Ambition: We need a wide range of engagement opportunities for users of government open data – and, crucially, those who currently do not use government data but stand to benefit from doing so. These will range from public events and speaking engagements, to online collaboration and subject-specific working groups. As government’s use of data develops and expands, this engagement will need to be active and ongoing, and must involve the full spectrum of holders and users of government data. We must also be open and transparent about the discussions we have held and the outcomes of those discussions.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

10. Involving data users in shaping the future of open data

Commitment text:We will ensure government's work to modernise and improve the management, use and availability of data assets is informed by active and wide-ranging collaboration with current and potential data users.

Objective: To engage widely with current and potential data users in the development of the Government Data Programme and government's broader open data agenda, in order to ensure that our work meets users' needs and that limited resources are focused on areas of highest priority.

Status quo: Effective engagement with users of government data – whether in the public sector, private sector or civil society – is essential to shaping the future of open data. It is also key to the success of the Government Data Programme and our ability to drive innovation, public service, reform and transparency through the better use of data.

Since our first OGP National Action Plan we have learned a huge amount through our engagement with data users. The feedback we have received has enabled government to prioritise its efforts to open up more data. We have built a clear understanding of the highest value datasets that are not yet freely and openly available, giving us a strong platform on which to continue to pursue greater open access where appropriate. And we have heard clearly from stakeholders that open data quality and reliability, not just quantity, is crucially important. This has helped us to develop a Government Data Programme to address the need for modernised data infrastructure and capability across government, driving better quality data for all users.

We have opened up a huge range of government datasets, while strengthening citizens' rights to request data in open and reusable format through amendments to the Freedom of Information Act and the introduction of the Re-use of Public Sector Information regulations. But we can be clearer and more proactive in raising awareness of the routes by which data access requests can be made available, and public bodies' duties in responding to them.

Ambition: We need a wide range of engagement opportunities for users of government open data – and, crucially, those who currently do not use government data but stand to benefit from doing so. These will range from public events and speaking engagements, to online collaboration and subject-specific working groups. As government's use of data develops and expands, this engagement will need to be active and on going, and must involve the full spectrum of holders and users of government data. We must also be open and transparent about the discussions we have held and the outcomes of those discussions.

Milestones:

1. Develop a strong, ongoing and collaborative conversation with data users across sectors and specialisms, particularly through working groups and meet-ups on specific aspects of the government data agenda, to inform and challenge the Government Data Programme

2. Ensure government policy and the Government Data Programme is informed and challenged by leading external thinkers through an active Data Steering Group

3. Develop our partnership with the Open Data Institute to help government connect with data businesses, innovators and civil society

4. Build cross-government engagement and leadership on data management and open data, and publish plans for departmental engagement with data users and new open data commitments, through a cross- government Data Leaders Network

5. Maintain active and wide-ranging engagement with civil society groups to ensure the Government Data Programme supports better data access and use for smaller civil society organisations

6. Maintain regular updates on the government's open data policies online through blog posts and social media - allowing users to interact with these policies as they develop and post suggestions for improvements

7. Explore further channels with which to engage users on open data issues, such as the Open Government Forum, Google Communities or Slack – these would have the advantage of real time discussion and problem solving, as well as a more direct link between government and data users

8. Engage with citizens, civil society, private and public sectors to develop an ethical framework for the use of data science techniques in government, including through public engagement events and an interactive online engagement tool

Responsible institution: Cabinet Office (Government Digital Service)

Supporting institutions: all government departments, mySociety, The Open Data Institute

Start date: May 2016

End date: June 2018

Commitment Aim:

This commitment aimed to improve and deepen engagement with civil society and expert networks in open data, given the sometimes-limited involvement by CSOs and limited means of doing so. Previous action plans had highlighted the need for wider involvement and suggested experimenting with new ideas. The commitment included using a series of pre-established bodies to monitor and review activity, as well as activities to extend and innovate on how government and civil society interact.

Status

Midterm: Limited

At the end of the first year of implementation, the government continuously engaged with data users in various ways.[Note 93: Cabinet Office, Open Government National Action Plan 2016-18: July 2017 Commitment Progress Updates (commitment update for July 2017) pre-publication passed to author. ] These included attending events at the London Open Data Institute and interacting with user requests made via the data.gov.uk portal.[Note 94: Open Data Institute ‘Events', https://theodi.org/events.] The UK government also co-sponsored the fourth Open Data Camp in Cardiff in February 2017.[Note 95: Data Blog, Gov.uk ‘Looking Forward to Open Data Camp 2017, https://data.blog.gov.uk/2017/02/20/looking-forward-to-open-data-camp-2017/ ] There had also been continuous informal interaction through the Cabinet Office and through other departments.[Note 96: Interview with Thom Townsend and William Gerry, Cabinet Office, 14 September 2017; Cabinet Office ‘Open Government Partnership National Action Plan 2016-18: Mid-term Self Assessment Report' (UK government report September 2017) passed to author pre-publication. ]

Parts of the commitment were incomplete or delayed. The Data Steering Group met every three months until September 2016.[Note 97: Gov.uk, ‘Data Steering Group', https://www.gov.uk/government/groups/data-steering-group ] The Data Leaders Network met monthly, though meetings were not listed.[Note 98: Interview with Thom Townsend and William Gerry, Cabinet Office, 14 September 2017.] The government has experimented with new channels and used ‘Open Knowledge Forums during the exercise to create the Global Open Data Index'. It has also experimented with a cross-government Slack channel and Google group, as well as continuing regular internal meet-ups of its data community.[Note 99: Government Data Service Technology Blog, ‘Technology at GDS: Join The Conversation', https://gdstechnology.blog.gov.uk/join-the-conversation/, and UK Government Digital ‘Slack Channel', ukgovernmentdigital.slack.com; Interview with Thom Townsend and William Gerry, Cabinet Office, 14 September 2017.] Some CSOs felt the interaction was not as full as it could have been online.[Note 100: Cabinet Office, Open Government National Action Plan 2016-18: July 2017 Commitment Progress Updates (commitment update for July 2017) pre-publication passed to author. ]

In June 2017, it was reported the UK government was clamping down on Slack use by officials over fear of FOIs opening them up or leaks, which may inhibit use.[Note 101: Civil Service World, ‘Not picking up the Slack: Whitehall instant messaging clampdown reveals lack of trust in civil servants', https://www.civilserviceworld.com/articles/opinion/not-picking-slack-whitehall-instant-messaging-clampdown-reveals-lack-trust-civil ] In May 2016, the government launched the first version of its Data Science Ethical Framework “intended to give civil servants guidance on conducting data science projects [work with data using scientific approaches], and the confidence to innovate with data”.[Note 102: Cabinet Office, ‘Guidance: Data Science Ethical Framework, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/data-science-ethical-framework, and Cabinet Office, ‘Speech Data Science Ethical Framework launch: Matt Hancock speech', https://www.gov.uk/government/speeches/data-science-ethical-framework-launch-matt-hancock-speech ] It called on civil society and experts to help develop it but there has been no sign of any further activity since.

End of Term: Substantial

There have been a number of moves forward in several areas that mean the commitment is now substantially implemented. Informal activities continued with a series of data user related activities, blogs and steering group meetings, including one joint meeting with data leaders and ‘working with academics, civil society and the wider industry'.[Note 103: UK government (2018), 2016-18 Open Government Action Plan: April 2018 Commitment Progress Updates, https://www.opengovernment.org.uk/resource/2016-18-open-government-action-plan-april-2018-commitment-progress-updates/; UK government (2017), Updating the data science ethics framework, https://gds.blog.gov.uk/2017/11/27/updating-the-data-science-ethical-framework/],[Note 104: Interview with Katie Holder and Thom Townsend, DCMS, 8 August 2018.] Most importantly in the final phase, a new data ethics framework was published in June 2018. According to the Minister responsible, the new version focused on the need for co-operation across specialisms.[Note 105: DCMS (2018), Guidance: Data Ethics Framework, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/data-ethics-framework/data-ethics-framework]

The new framework is intended to ‘help policy and practitioners better understand the core ethical expectations for public sector data science projects, and to tailor their offerings appropriately'. It is intended to set out ‘ethical principles' while providing guidance and acting as ‘a workbook'.

Did It Open Government?
Access to Information: Marginal
Civic Participation: Marginal

The commitment has certainly succeeded in increasing CSO and expert engagement. In terms of access to information, the continued work improving the quality and consistency of statistics, as well as pushing organisational changes such as ‘Reproducible Analytical Pipeline'(which allows for easy production and reproduction of statistics), made for more open and systematic data. The publicising of the government work with data and design of the two versions of the ethical framework may have encouraged innovation across government but the IRM found no evidence of its effect. Given some feeling among CSOs that there could have been more engagement, and some of the limitations, it is listed as marginal.

Carried Forward?

This commitment will continue outside of action plan into 2019 and beyond.


Commitments

Open Government Partnership