Ignorer la navigation
Géorgie

Participation des citoyens au budget (GE0090)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action : Non attaché

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Parlement de Géorgie

Institution(s) de soutien : Initiateur : Programme GIZ « Gestion des finances publiques dans le Caucase du Sud » ; GGI

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Ouverture fiscale, Parlements ouverts, Participation à l'élaboration des lois, Participation du public, Participation du public au budget / à la politique budgétaire, Publication des informations budgétaires / fiscales, Gouvernance réglementaire

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport sur les résultats de la transition de la Géorgie 2018-2019

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : aucune donnée IRM

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

2. Participation croissante des citoyens à l’élaboration et à l’approbation du budget

Agence chef de file Parlement de Géorgie

Partenaires Institution publique Initiateur: Parlement de Géorgie
Initiateur du secteur civil / international / privé: programme GIZ «Gestion des finances publiques dans le Caucase du Sud»; GGI

Situation actuelle et défis Pour établir un système budgétaire efficace, efficient et responsable, il est essentiel de garantir la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires.
Selon l'enquête sur le budget ouvert réalisée dans le cadre du Partenariat budgétaire international (IBP) à 2017, la Géorgie a pris la cinquième place. Bien qu'il ait reçu une note élevée conformément à un certain nombre de critères (points 80 / OBI 2017), le pays reste confronté à une note basse (points 22 / OBI 2017) pour le critère de participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires.
La nature du processus budgétaire exige que certaines activités impliquent un effort conjoint des organisations clés participant au processus, y compris la coordination et la mise en œuvre du contrôle parlementaire sur les activités réalisées.

Objectif principal

Assurer la transparence et une implication accrue des citoyens dans le processus d'élaboration et d'approbation du budget de l'État.

OGP Challenge Améliorer les services publics

Principes OGP Responsabilité en matière d'accès à l'information
Engagement citoyen
Technologies et innovation

√ √ √
Objectif de développement durable (ODD), les engagements pris
Objectif 16
Jalons Nouvel / Ancien Engagement Date de début: Date de fin:
1. Élaboration de documents de politique et d’orientation (conformément aux recommandations OBS et GIFT) sur la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires par le Parlement, le ministère des Finances et le Bureau de contrôle des comptes de l’État, avec la participation de la société civile, d’organisations internationales et de donateurs. 09 / 2018 07 / 2019
2. Garantir l'accessibilité d'informations simples, faciles et traitées de manière visuelle sur le budget de l'État / projet de budget sur le site Web du Parlement (GGI) 10 / 2018 04 / 2019
3. Examen du rapport annuel sur les activités menées pour garantir la transparence du budget de l'État et la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires soumises par le ministère des Finances au Comité des finances et du budget du Parlement 02 / 2019 10 / 2019
4. Tenue de consultations de la société civile avec la participation des commissions parlementaires, du bureau du budget, du bureau d'audit de l'État et des organisations de la société civile, à compter du jour de la communication des informations sur les principales prévisions macroéconomiques et les principales orientations des ministères de la Géorgie au Parlement géorgien jusqu'à l'audience finale du Comité des finances et du budget 01 / 2019 07 / 2019
5. Tenue de consultations de la société civile avec la participation des commissions parlementaires, du bureau du budget et du contrôle des finances publiques à compter du jour de la présentation du projet de loi sur le budget de l'État au Parlement jusqu'à l'audition finale par le Comité des finances et du budget. 09 / 2019 11 / 2019
6. Élaboration et divulgation proactive du rapport du Comité des finances et du budget sur la participation de la société civile à la séance du Comité consacrée aux principaux documents sur les prévisions macroéconomiques clés, les grandes orientations des ministères de la Géorgie et le projet de loi sur le budget de l’État 02 / 2019 12 / 2019
7. Élaboration et divulgation proactive du document de recommandations du Parlement par la Commission des finances et du budget du Parlement de Géorgie 07 / 2018 07 / 2019
Indicateurs
Activité 1 (GIZ et Parlement de Géorgie) Documents de politique et d'orientation concernant les citoyens La participation aux processus budgétaires est élaborée et communiquée aux représentants de la société civile.
Activité 2 (GGI) Des informations simples, faciles et traitées visuellement sur le budget de l’État / le projet de budget sont publiées de manière proactive sur le site Web du Parlement.
Activité 3 (GIZ et Parlement de Géorgie) Le Comité a examiné le rapport au moins une fois et a divulgué de manière proactive le procès-verbal de l'audience.
Activité 4 (GIZ et Parlement de Géorgie) Le Comité des finances et du budget a organisé au moins une réunion avec des représentants de la société civile et a divulgué de manière proactive un rapport.
Activité 5 (GIZ et Parlement de Géorgie) Le Comité des finances et du budget a organisé au moins une réunion avec des représentants de la société civile et a divulgué de manière proactive un rapport.
Activité 6 (GIZ et Parlement de Géorgie) Le rapport a été divulgué de manière proactive sur le site Web du Parlement.
Activité 7 (GIZ et Parlement de Géorgie) • Les amendements pertinents ont été appliqués au Règlement du Parlement;
• Les recommandations ont été divulguées de manière proactive sur le site Web du Parlement.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Engagement 25: Participation accrue à l'élaboration et à l'approbation du budget

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

«Afin de mettre en place un système budgétaire efficient, efficace et responsable, il est essentiel de garantir la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires.

Selon l'enquête sur le budget ouvert réalisée dans le cadre du Partenariat budgétaire international (IBP) en 2017, la Géorgie a pris la cinquième place. Malgré l'obtention d'une note élevée conformément à un certain nombre de critères (80 points / OBI 2017), le pays est toujours confronté à une note faible (22 points / OBI 2017) pour le critère de la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires.

La nature du processus budgétaire exige que certaines activités impliquent un effort conjoint des principales organisations qui participent au processus, y compris la coordination et la mise en œuvre du contrôle parlementaire sur les activités réalisées. »

Jalons: 

  1. Élaboration de politiques et de documents d'orientation (conformément aux recommandations OBS et GIFT) sur la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires par le Parlement, le ministère des Finances et le State Audit Office avec la participation de la société civile, d'organisations internationales et d'organisations donatrices.
  2. Assurer l'accessibilité des informations simples, faciles et visuellement traitées sur le budget de l'État / le projet de budget sur le site Internet du Parlement (GGI)
  3. Examen du rapport annuel sur les activités menées afin d'assurer la transparence du budget de l'État et la participation des citoyens aux processus budgétaires soumis par le ministère des Finances à la commission des finances et du budget du Parlement
  4. Tenir des consultations avec la société civile avec la participation des commissions parlementaires, du Bureau du budget, de la Cour des comptes et des OSC depuis le jour de la présentation des informations sur les principales prévisions macroéconomiques et les principales orientations des ministères de la Géorgie au Parlement de la Géorgie jusqu'à l'audience finale par la commission des finances et du budget
  5. Tenue de consultations avec la société civile avec la participation des commissions parlementaires, du bureau du budget et de la Cour des comptes de l'Etat du jour de la présentation du projet de loi sur le budget de l'Etat au Parlement jusqu'à son audition finale par la commission des finances et du budget
  6. Élaboration et divulgation proactive du rapport du Comité des finances et du budget sur la participation de la société civile à l'audition par la Commission des principaux documents sur les principales prévisions macroéconomiques, des principales orientations des ministères de la Géorgie et du projet de loi sur le budget de l'État
  7. Élaboration et divulgation proactive du document de recommandations parlementaires par la commission des finances et du budget du Parlement de Géorgie

Date de début: Septembre 2018

Date de fin: Décembre 2019

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte intégral de cet engagement, veuillez consulter https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/georgia-action-plan-2018-2019/.

Contexte et objectifs

Dans son enquête sur le budget ouvert de 2017, l'International Budget Partnership a recommandé que le gouvernement géorgien offre davantage de possibilités au public de participer aux processus de conception et d'exécution du budget. Il a également recommandé la tenue d'auditions législatives sur la formulation du budget annuel, au cours desquelles tout membre de l'organisation publique ou de la société civile pourrait témoigner. (131)

Dans le cadre de ces efforts, le Parlement de Géorgie prévoit d'élaborer un document de politique et des lignes directrices sur la participation du public. Il travaillera avec des partenaires au développement et avec le ministère des Finances, la Cour des comptes et les organisations de la société civile (OSC). Le document suivra les recommandations de l'Enquête sur le budget ouvert et de l'Initiative mondiale pour la transparence budgétaire. (132) Il vise également à institutionnaliser les mécanismes pour accroître la participation du public aux processus budgétaires.

L'engagement appelle également au développement d'un module en ligne qui sera intégré à la nouvelle page Web parlementaire. (133) Cette page Web présentera des informations relatives au budget d'une manière facile à comprendre, par rapport à la pratique actuelle de publier le projet de loi de finances dans sa forme originale. Selon les parties prenantes, ce module sera différent du budgetmonitor.ge existant. Il fournira des informations sur le projet de loi budgétaire et non sur le budget national réel. (134)

Enfin, cet engagement vise également à introduire plusieurs mécanismes de participation civique au processus budgétaire. Il s'agit notamment de tenir des consultations avec les OSC sur les prévisions macroéconomiques clés pour les ministères, de tenir des auditions de commissions et des consultations avec les OSC sur le projet de loi de finances publiques, et d'élaborer et de publier des rapports et recommandations de commissions. Les activités susmentionnées sont pertinentes pour les valeurs OGP d'accès à l'information et de participation civique. L'engagement fournit des jalons et des indicateurs spécifiques et est donc vérifiable.

Selon un représentant du National Democratic Institute interviewé, (135) la participation du public dépend en grande partie du soutien des organisations donatrices au Parlement dans la sensibilisation par le biais de campagnes de sensibilisation du public, tant dans la capitale que dans les régions. Le Parlement s'est à présent engagé à diffuser des informations sur le budget prévisionnel, ce qui constitue une avancée opportune et positive. Les participants au groupe de discussion du chercheur IRM ont noté que cet engagement comprend des activités importantes pour accroître la transparence et informer le public, (136) Ils étaient sceptiques quant à la composante participation citoyenne. Impliquer les citoyens dans le processus de budgétisation pourrait être difficile, car ils n'ont souvent pas une compréhension spécifique de ce processus.

Dans l'ensemble, cet engagement comprend des étapes positives pour accroître la participation des OSC à l'ensemble du processus, y compris des consultations avec les OSC depuis la soumission du budget jusqu'à l'audience finale. Cet engagement accroît également la responsabilité du gouvernement devant le Parlement. Cependant, les mécanismes pour impliquer les citoyens dans les processus de budgétisation ne sont pas explicitement définis, ce qui limite quelque peu l'impact potentiel de l'engagement. Compte tenu de l'effet cumulatif de toutes les activités, cet engagement pourrait représenter une amélioration modérée en ce qui concerne la participation à l'élaboration et à l'approbation du budget national.

Prochaines étapes

Le Parlement pourrait améliorer l'ampleur et la portée de l'engagement. Cela pourrait se faire en augmentant le nombre et en élargissant les consultations sur les principales prévisions macroéconomiques et les principales orientations du projet de loi de finances publiques pour les régions (jalons 25.4 et 25.5). En élargissant ses consultations, le Parlement pourrait étendre la participation limitée et éventuellement accroître l'impact de l'engagement.

Pour stimuler l'intérêt du public et sa participation aux processus budgétaires, la commission du budget et des finances pourrait promouvoir et tenir une audition publique du rapport annuel du ministère et des Finances sur les activités menées afin d'assurer la transparence du budget de l'État et l'implication des citoyens dans le budget processus »(étape 25.3). Cette audience irait au-delà de l'examen régulier du comité, créant des liens de responsabilité publique plus solides et élargissant la portée de l'engagement.

Le Comité du budget et des finances devrait élaborer un mécanisme de surveillance pour veiller à ce que le gouvernement suive les recommandations élaborées au titre de l'étape 25.7 pour le prochain cycle de projets de loi de finances.

(131) International Budget Partnership, Open Budget Survey 2017, «Georgia», https://bit.ly/2E1hNTE.

(132) Initiative mondiale pour la transparence fiscale, «Mécanismes de participation publique», https://bit.ly/2LW7yU5.

(133) Le lancement de la nouvelle page Web du Parlement géorgien est envisagé dans le cadre de l'engagement 26 du plan d'action national du PGO 2018-2019.

(134) Tamar Sartania, chef de parti adjoint, National Democratic Institute, entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 11 juillet 2019.

(135) Entretien avec Sartania, 11 juillet 2019.

(136) Groupe de discussion de chercheurs de l'IRM avec des experts, des chercheurs et des étudiants de maîtrise en administration publique, 18 juin 2018.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

25. Increase involvement in the elaboration and approval of the budget

Parlement ouvert

limité

With the support of GIZ, parliament drafted the public participation policy document and guidelines. However, according to parliament’s self-assessment report, the document was not finalized or shared with CSOs within the action plan timeframe. (87) Parliament also developed an online infographic to be integrated on its new webpage (once the webpage is ready), which will present budget-related information in a user-friendly interactive interface (in English and in Georgian). (88)  

The Budget and Finance Committee reviewed the Ministry of Finance’s report on the ministry’s activities on civic participation in budgetary processes. While parliament aimed to conduct public consultations on the Basic Data and Directions (BDD) document and the Budget Bill, it only organized informational meetings with students on budgetary processes and committee function. (89) (90) These information meetings, however, cannot be assessed as fulfilling this activity according to the OGP action plan, which called for broad consultation with CSOs.

According to parliament’s self-assessment report, the Budget and Finance Committee also prepared a report on civic participation in the budgetary processes. (91) The report was published on parliament’s webpage after the end date of the action plan implementation period.   

 
(87) Parlement de Géorgie, Rapport de mise en œuvre du plan d'action pour un parlement ouvert 2018-2019, 2020, disponible ici  
(88) “Learn more about the budget of your country” available at ici  
(89) Meeting of Committee Chairman with the students from Kornard Adenaur Foundation, April 2019; available ici. Meeting of Committee with the representatives of Youth Parliament, April 2019; available ici
(90) Inga Sanjikashvili, former representative of GIZ South Caucasus, interview with IRM researcher, 12 January 2021.
(91) Parlement de Géorgie, Rapport de mise en œuvre du plan d'action pour un parlement ouvert 2018-2019, 2020, disponible ici

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Georgia

Citizen Involvement in Budget (GE0090)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Not Attached

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Parliament of Georgia

Support Institution(s): Initiator: GIZ Programme “Public Financial Management in the South Caucasus”; GGI

Policy Areas

E-Government, Fiscal Openness, Open Parliaments, Participation in Lawmaking, Public Participation, Public Participation in Budget/Fiscal Policy, Publication of Budget/Fiscal Information, Regulatory Governance

IRM Review

IRM Report: Georgia Transitional Results Report 2018-2019

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: No IRM Data

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

2. Increasing Citizen Involvement in the Elaboration and Approval of the Budget

Lead Agency Parliament of Georgia

Partners Public Institution Initiator: Parliament of Georgia
Civil/International/Private Sector Initiator: GIZ Programme “Public Financial Management in the South Caucasus”; GGI

Current Situation and Challenges In order to establish efficient, effective and accountable budget system, it is crucial to ensure citizen involvement in budgetary processes.
According to the Open Budget Survey conducted within the framework of International Budget Partnership (IBP) in 2017, Georgia took the fifth place. Despite receiving high rating in accordance with a number of criterions (80 Points/OBI 2017), the country is still challenged with a low rating (22 Points/OBI 2017) for the criterion of Citizen Involvement in Budgetary Processes.
The nature of the budget process requires that certain activities involve joint effort of key organizations that participate in the process, including coordination and implementation of Parliamentary control on performed activities.

Main Objective

Ensure transparency and increased citizen involvement in elaboration and approval process of the state budget.

OGP Challenge Improving Public Services

OGP Principles Access to Information Accountability
Citizen Engagement
Technologies and Innovation

√ √ √
Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) the Commitment addresses
Goal 16
Milestones New/Old Commitment Start Date: End Date:
1. Elaboration of Policy and Guidance Documents (in accordance with OBS and GIFT Recommendations) on Citizen Involvement in the budgetary processes by the Parliament, the Ministry of Finance and the State Audit Office with the participation of civil society, international and donor organizations. 09/2018 07/2019
2. Ensuring accessibility of simple, easy and visually processed information about the state budget / draft budget on the website of the Parliament (GGI) 10/2018 04/2019
3. Review of the Annual Report on activities carried out in order to ensure the transparency of the state budget and citizen involvement in budgetary processes submitted by the Ministry of Finance to the Finance and Budget Committee of the Parliament 02/2019 10/2019
4. Holding civil society consultations with the participation of Parliamentary Committees, the Budget Office, the State Audit Office and CSOs from the day of submission of information on key macroeconomic forecasts and main directions of the Ministries of Georgia to the Parliament of Georgia until the final hearing by the Finance and Budget Committee 01/2019 07/2019
5. Holding civil society consultations with the participation of Parliamentary Committees, the Budget Office, and the State Audit Office from the day of submission of the draft law on state budget to the Parliament until its final hearing by the Finance and Budget Committee 09/2019 11/2019
6. Elaboration and proactive disclosure of the Finance and Budget Committee Report on civil society involvement in the Committee hearing of the main documents on key macroeconomic forecasts, main directions of the Ministries of Georgia and the State Budget Draft Law 02/2019 12/2019
7. Elaboration and proactive disclosure of the Parliamentary Recommendations document by the Finance and Budget Committee of the Parliament of Georgia 07/2018 07/2019
Indicators
Activity 1 (GIZ and the Parliament of Georgia) Policy and guidance documents on citizen Involvement in budgetary processes are elaborated and shared with civil society representatives
Activity 2 (GGI) Simple, easy and visually processed information about the state budget / draft budget is proactively disclosed on the website of the Parliament
Activity 3 (GIZ and the Parliament of Georgia) The Committee has reviewed the report at least once and has proactively disclosed the minutes of the hearing
Activity 4 (GIZ and the Parliament of Georgia) The Finance and Budget Committee has conducted at least one meeting with civil society representatives and has proactively disclosed a report
Activity 5 (GIZ and the Parliament of Georgia) The Finance and Budget Committee has conducted at least one meeting with civil society representatives and has proactively disclosed a report
Activity 6 (GIZ and the Parliament of Georgia) The report has been proactively disclosed on the website of the Parliament
Activity 7 (GIZ and the Parliament of Georgia) • Relevant amendments have been applied to the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament;
• Recommendations have been proactively disclosed on the website of the Parliament

IRM Midterm Status Summary

Commitment 25: Increasing Involvement in the Elaboration and Approval of the Budget

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

“In order to establish efficient, effective and accountable budget system, it is crucial to ensure citizen involvement in budgetary processes.

According to the Open Budget Survey conducted within the framework of International Budget Partnership (IBP) in 2017, Georgia took the fifth place. Despite receiving high rating in accordance with a number of criteria (80 Points/OBI 2017), the country is still challenged with a low rating (22 Points/OBI 2017) for the criterion of Citizen Involvement in Budgetary Processes.

The nature of the budget process requires that certain activities involve joint effort of key organizations that participate in the process, including coordination and implementation of Parliamentary control on performed activities.”

Milestones: 

  1. Elaboration of Policy and Guidance Documents (in accordance with OBS and GIFT Recommendations) on Citizen Involvement in the budgetary processes by the Parliament, the Ministry of Finance and the State Audit Office with the participation of civil society, international and donor organizations.
  2. Ensuring accessibility of simple, easy and visually processed information about the state budget / draft budget on the website of the Parliament (GGI)
  3. Review of the Annual Report on activities carried out in order to ensure the transparency of the state budget and citizen involvement in budgetary processes submitted by the Ministry of Finance to the Finance and Budget Committee of the Parliament
  4. Holding civil society consultations with the participation of Parliamentary Committees, the Budget Office, the State Audit Office and CSOs from the day of submission of information on key macroeconomic forecasts and main directions of the Ministries of Georgia to the Parliament of Georgia until the final hearing by the Finance and Budget Committee
  5. Holding civil society consultations with the participation of Parliamentary Committees, the Budget Office, and the State Audit Office from the day of submission of the draft law on state budget to the Parliament until its final hearing by the Finance and Budget Committee
  6. Elaboration and proactive disclosure of the Finance and Budget Committee Report on civil society involvement in the Committee hearing of the main documents on key macroeconomic forecasts, main directions of the Ministries of Georgia and the State Budget Draft Law
  7. Elaboration and proactive disclosure of the Parliamentary Recommendations document by the Finance and Budget Committee of the Parliament of Georgia

Start Date: September 2018

End Date: December 2019

Editorial note: For the full text of this commitment, please see https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/georgia-action-plan-2018-2019/.

Context and Objectives

In its 2017 Open Budget Survey, the International Budget Partnership recommended that the Government of Georgia provide more opportunities for the public to participate in budget design and implementation processes. It also recommended holding legislative hearings on the formulation of the annual budget, during which any member of the public or civil society organization could testify. [131]

As part of these efforts, the Parliament of Georgia, plans to develop a public participation policy document and guidelines. It will work with development partners and with the Ministry of Finance, the State Audit Office, and civil society organizations (CSOs). The document will follow the Open Budget Survey and the Global Initiative for Fiscal Transparency recommendations. [132] It also aims to institutionalize mechanisms for increasing public participation in budgetary processes.

The commitment also calls for the development of an online module that will be integrated into the new parliamentary webpage. [133] That webpage will present budget-related information in an easy-to-understand manner, compared to the current practice of publishing the budget draft-law in its original form. According to stakeholders, this module will differ from the existing budgetmonitor.ge. It will provide information about the budget draft-law and not the actual national budget. [134]

Lastly, this commitment also aims to introduce several mechanisms regarding civic participation in the budget process. These include holding consultations with CSOs on key macroeconomic forecasts for ministries, holding committee hearings and consultations with CSOs on the state budget bill, and elaborating and publishing committee reports and recommendations. The aforementioned activities are relevant to the OGP values of access to information and civic participation. The commitment provides specific milestones and indicators and is thus verifiable.

According to an interviewed National Democratic Institute representative, [135] public participation largely depends on the support of donor organizations to Parliament in raising awareness through public outreach campaigns, both in the capital and the regions. Parliament has now committed to disseminate information about the prospective budget, which is a timely and positive step forward. Participants in the IRM researcher’s focus group noted that this commitment includes important activities for increasing transparency and informing the public, [136] Though they were skeptical regarding the citizen participation component. Involving citizens in the budgeting process could be challenging, because they often do not possess specific understanding of this process.

Overall, this commitment includes positive steps for increasing the participation of CSOs in the entire process, including consultations with CSOs from budget submission to the final hearing. The commitment also increases the accountability of the government to the Parliament. However, the mechanisms for engaging citizens in budgeting processes are not explicitly defined, which somewhat limits the potential impact of the commitment. Considering the cumulative effect of all the activities, this commitment could represent a moderate improvement regarding involvement in elaboration and approval of the national budget.

Next steps

The Parliament could improve the scale and the scope of the commitment. This could be done by increasing the number of and expanding consultations about the key macroeconomic forecasts and main directions of the state budget bill to the regions (Milestones 25.4 and 25.5). By widening its consultations, the Parliament could expand limited participation and possibly increase the impact of the commitment.

To stimulate public interest and participation in budgetary processes, the Budget and Finance Committee could promote and hold a public hearing of the Ministry and Finance “annual report about the activities carried out in order to ensure the transparency of the state budget and citizen involvement in budgetary processes” (Milestone 25.3). This hearing would go beyond the regular committee review, creating stronger public accountability links and extending the scope of the commitment.

The Budget and Finance Committee should elaborate a monitoring mechanism to ensure that the government follows the recommendations developed under Milestone 25.7 for the next budget bill cycle.

[131] International Budget Partnership, Open Budget Survey 2017, “Georgia,” https://bit.ly/2E1hNTE.

[132] Global Initiative for Fiscal Transparency, “Mechanisms of Public Participation,” https://bit.ly/2LW7yU5.

[133] The launch of the new webpage of the Parliament of Georgia is envisaged as part of Commitment 26 of the 2018–2019 OGP national action plan.

[134] Tamar Sartania, Deputy Chief of Party, National Democratic Institute, interview with IRM researcher, 11 July 2019.

[135] Sartania interview, 11 July 2019.

[136] IRM researcher’s focus group discussion with experts, researchers, and master’s students of public administration, 18 June 2018.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

25. Increase involvement in the elaboration and approval of the budget

Open Parliament

Limited

With the support of GIZ, parliament drafted the public participation policy document and guidelines. However, according to parliament’s self-assessment report, the document was not finalized or shared with CSOs within the action plan timeframe. [87] Parliament also developed an online infographic to be integrated on its new webpage (once the webpage is ready), which will present budget-related information in a user-friendly interactive interface (in English and in Georgian). [88]  

The Budget and Finance Committee reviewed the Ministry of Finance’s report on the ministry’s activities on civic participation in budgetary processes. While parliament aimed to conduct public consultations on the Basic Data and Directions (BDD) document and the Budget Bill, it only organized informational meetings with students on budgetary processes and committee function. [89] [90] These information meetings, however, cannot be assessed as fulfilling this activity according to the OGP action plan, which called for broad consultation with CSOs.

According to parliament’s self-assessment report, the Budget and Finance Committee also prepared a report on civic participation in the budgetary processes. [91] The report was published on parliament’s webpage after the end date of the action plan implementation period.   

 
[87] Parliament of Georgia, Implementation report of Open Parliament Action Plan 2018-2019, 2020, available here  
[88] “Learn more about the budget of your country” available at here  
[89] Meeting of Committee Chairman with the students from Kornard Adenaur Foundation, April 2019; available here. Meeting of Committee with the representatives of Youth Parliament, April 2019; available here
[90] Inga Sanjikashvili, former representative of GIZ South Caucasus, interview with IRM researcher, 12 January 2021.
[91] Parliament of Georgia, Implementation report of Open Parliament Action Plan 2018-2019, 2020, available here

Commitments

Open Government Partnership