Ignorer la navigation
Macédoine du Nord

Adoption d'amendements à la loi sur la prévention de la corruption dans la direction de: (MK0063)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Macédoine, deuxième plan d'action, 2014-2016

Cycle du plan d'action : 2014

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption

Institution(s) d'appui : Ministère de la Justice ; Unités d'autonomie locale; Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD); ECOS ; Organisations civiques

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Institutions anti-corruption, Législation et réglementation, Protections des dénonciateurs

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Macédoine Rapport de fin de trimestre 2014-2016, Rapport d'avancement sur la Macédoine 2014-2015

Étoilé : Oui Suivis

Premiers résultats : marginaux

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : la responsabilité publique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Adoption d'amendements à la loi sur la prévention de la corruption en ce qui concerne:

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

XI. Lutte contre la corruption: lois, systèmes et dénonciation

Engagement 4.1: Systèmes d’intégrité et protections des lanceurs d’alerte () ()

Texte d'engagement: .. 4.1. Adoption d'amendements à la loi sur la prévention de la corruption afin d'inclure un système d'intégrité et de protéger les dénonciateurs.

Engagement 4.2: Sensibilisation à la lutte contre la corruption

Texte d'engagement: 4.2. Mise en œuvre d'activités de sensibilisation de l'administration publique et des citoyens afin de signaler les actes de corruption et autres actes illégaux et interdits.

Engagement 4.7: outils informatiques pour la responsabilité sociale  

Texte d'engagement: .. 4.7. Promouvoir continuellement l'utilisation des outils informatiques pour la responsabilité sociale dans les municipalités et autres institutions.

Engagement 4.9: Portée de la déclaration de patrimoine

Texte d'engagement: 4.9. Définir le champ des personnes élues et nommées qui sont obligées de soumettre une déclaration de patrimoine et d’intérêts - Préparation du registre.

Institution (s) responsable (s): Commission d'État pour la prévention de la corruption

Institution (s) de soutien: Ministère de la Justice, Unités de l'autonomie locale, du PNUD et de l'OSCE, des OSC[Note 87: La liste complète des OSC répertoriées comme institutions de soutien est la suivante: Centre de recherche et d'élaboration des politiques, Association des citoyens pour le développement local et rural ‚Bujrum-Tetovo, Green Force, Centre pour le développement et l'intégration européenne‚ Agence de développement local-Struga , Organisation caritative éducative-Shtip, Centre macédonien pour la coopération internationale, Coalition - All for fair Trials, TI Macédoine, IDSCS, Institut pour les stratégies économiques et les affaires internationales Ohrid-Skopje, Institut pour la démocratie - Societas Civilis.]

Date de début: 1/1/2014   Date de fin: 31/12/2016

Note éditoriale: Engagement 4.1 est un engagement étoilé, car il est mesurable, clairement pertinent pour les valeurs OGP telles qu’elles ont été écrites, d’impact potentiel de transformation et a été mis en œuvre de manière substantielle ou complète.
Objectif de l'engagement

Ces quatre engagements visaient à resserrer les cadres juridique et institutionnel de lutte contre la corruption. Ils l'ont fait par:

       Mettre en place des systèmes d’intégrité pour garantir l’évaluation des risques, concevoir des mesures juridiques pour les atténuer et mettre en place un système de protection des lanceurs d’alerte;

       Mener des activités de sensibilisation;

       Développer des outils pour la participation des citoyens (responsabilité sociale); et

       Définir le champ d'application des déclarations de patrimoine pour les fonctionnaires (nommés et élus).

Statut

Mi-parcours

Engagement 4.1: Pas commencé

Engagement 4.2: Limité

Engagement 4.7: Limité

Engagement 4.9: Terminé

Le gouvernement n'a commencé à mettre en œuvre l'engagement 4.1 qu'en juillet 2015, lorsqu'il a entamé le processus d'adoption de la nouvelle loi.

L'examen à mi-parcours de l'IRM a révélé des progrès limités sur les engagements 4.2 et 4.7. Le rapport d'auto-évaluation du gouvernement faisait référence à un événement survenu en avril, 2015, et à deux articles de presse.[Remarque 88: voir, par exemple, un article concernant les systèmes d’intégrité au niveau local: http://bit.ly/1luCF8A.] Il a également rendu compte de la mise au point d’un outil informatique permettant de recueillir les réactions des citoyens.[Note 89: http://www.moja-opstina.mk.] L'examen du chercheur de l'IRM a révélé que les municipalités 15 étaient incluses jusqu'à présent, mais que la plate-forme ne fonctionnait pas.

La Commission a complété l'engagement 4.9 en adoptant un règlement concernant la divulgation des avoirs aux fins de la prévention de la corruption en juillet 2015.

Pour plus d'informations, consultez le rapport de mi-parcours IRM 2014-2016.

Fin du mandat

Engagement 4.1: substantiel

Engagement 4.2: Limité

Engagement 4.7: Limité

En novembre 2015, le gouvernement a adopté une nouvelle loi sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte et ses règlements respectifs en mars 2016. La loi est entrée en vigueur sur 18 March 2016. Le chercheur de l'IRM a appris qu'aucun autre progrès n'avait été accompli pour introduire les systèmes d'intégrité en tant qu'exigence légale.

Aucun progrès significatif sur les engagements restants n'a été fait ou rapporté par le gouvernement. Un examen de la plate-forme informatique a montré qu’elle permettait actuellement aux citoyens de voter sur les trois priorités les plus importantes au sein de leur municipalité. Cependant, aucune information n’a été fournie sur l’influence de ces votes sur le travail municipal, et aucune option de suivi n’était disponible. Des entretiens de suivi avec sept municipalités ont confirmé que la plate-forme n'était jamais opérationnelle.[Note 90: Aerodrom, Strumica, Veles, Gorce Petrov, Shtip, Bogovinje, Kumanovo.] Par conséquent, le chercheur de l'IRM considère ces progrès limités.

La Commission pour la prévention de la corruption a publié le registre des divulgations d'actifs et l'a mis à la disposition du public et en ligne.[Note 91: Disponible chez: http://bit.ly/2cGz6HM [en macédonien].]

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal

Responsabilité publique: marginale

La déclaration de patrimoine et la protection des lanceurs d'alerte ont été reconnues par la société civile comme des instruments essentiels dans la lutte contre la corruption.[Note 92: http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Macedonia2014-2015_FinalEnglish_0.pdf.] Avant l'adoption du deuxième plan d'action, il n'existait aucune base légale pour protéger les lanceurs d'alerte, et aucun registre des agents publics nommés et élus relevant du régime de déclaration de patrimoine. Ce groupe d'engagements visait à combler cette lacune et à transformer le système.[Note 93: Misa Popovikj, Les défis de l’utilisation des mécanismes de signalement de la corruption dans le contrôle de gestion

Corruption in Macedonia, (Skopje: IDSCS, 2016), disponible à l'adresse: http://bit.ly/2dforrC.]

En ce qui concerne l’accès à l’information, l’un des engagements visait une divulgation efficace des actifs des agents publics. Un registre contenant des informations sur le type de biens possédés, la propriété, la valeur, la description et les motifs d’acquisition a été mis à disposition. Toutefois, l’absence de liste publique des responsables assujettis à la déclaration de patrimoine continue de faire obstacle au contrôle des actifs dans le pays.[Note 94: Département d'État américain, Rapport de pays sur les pratiques en matière de droits de l'homme 2015 (Washington: 2016), 19-20, disponible à l'adresse: http://bit.ly/2dwrjhn.] Il est impossible de suivre qui devrait soumettre - mais n'a pas soumis - une déclaration de patrimoine. De plus, le registre ne contenant que la déclaration de actuel actif, il est difficile de suivre les changements d’actif au fil du temps en cours d’exercice. Une plate-forme de la société civile en Macédoine a soulevé des préoccupations sur le fait que la divulgation des actifs n'est pas nécessaire une fois que les élus ont quitté leurs fonctions, pas même les données historiques. Selon la Commission, il n’existe aucune base légale pour publier les actifs d’anciens fonctionnaires élus et nommés. Les groupes de transparence ont toutefois fait valoir qu'il n'y avait pas de limite à la réutilisation des informations une fois publiées. En outre, bien que les anciens fonctionnaires n’aient aucune raison de mettre à jour leurs informations sur les actifs, le public devrait avoir le droit d’inspecter les actifs qu’ils avaient au cours de leur mandat.

Les médias d'investigation Balkan Investigative Reporting Netwrok (BIRN) ont demandé à avoir accès aux déclarations de patrimoine des anciens ministres. Cependant, la Commission pour la prévention et la corruption a rejeté la demande et, par la suite, la Commission pour la protection du droit à l'accès gratuit a rejeté l'appel, déclarant que le droit à la vie privée prenait le pas sur l'intérêt public de la transparence.[Note 95: Meri Jordanova, La Commission a décidé, la protection de la vie privée avant l’intérêt public.], Article de presse, 10 May 2016, disponible à la vente: http://bit.ly/2jQrB5b.] En ce sens, le registre existant, établi en raison de l'engagement, ne fournit des informations que sur les actifs actuels du public actuel et des responsables nommés. Le logiciel utilisé ne permet pas de connaître et de consulter l'historique de tous les changements d'actifs signalés, à partir du moment où un responsable est élu ou nommé, jusqu'à sa démission, en dépit du fait que ces changements ont déjà été divulgués par des particuliers. Cela rend difficile le suivi des modifications des actifs. Les universitaires ont fait valoir que la rétention partielle d'informations n'était pas de la transparence.[Remarque 96: voir, par exemple, Mateo Turili et Luciano Floridi, L’éthique de la transparence de l’information, 2009, disponible à l’adresse: http://bit.ly/2itUSX3.] Le gouvernement doit ouvrir l'accès à toutes les déclarations d'actifs et créer un registre de tous les représentants élus et nommés. Le registre constituerait un premier pas vers l’octroi de l’accès à tous les citoyens du pays. 

Pour le chercheur de l'IRM, les protections des lanceurs d'alerte de la Macédoine sont inefficaces et limitent la capacité du gouvernement à promouvoir une responsabilisation publique adéquate. Si la promulgation de la nouvelle loi sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte est une étape positive, la Commission européenne (CE) et la Commission de Venise du Conseil de l'Europe ont émis des doutes sur le champ d'application de la loi, les critères permettant d'autoriser la divulgation au public, les descriptions vagues d'exemptions. de protection, et la divulgation de l'identité des lanceurs d'alerte.[Note 97: Commission européenne pour la démocratie par le droit, Avis sur la loi sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte en Macédoine, (Strasbourg: Conseil de l'Europe, 2016, disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://bit.ly/1RjIPk7. ] Les organisations de la société civile ont également exprimé des préoccupations quant à l'indépendance des voies de signalement internes et ont critiqué les institutions pour ne pas avoir nommé de personnes responsables, bloquant ainsi l'application de la loi.[Remarque 98: voir, par exemple, la conférence Transparency Macedonia sur ce sujet, disponible à l'adresse: http://bit.ly/2cGwD04 [en macédonien].] Le gouvernement a indiqué qu'en décembre 2016, les institutions du secteur public 62 avaient nommé de telles personnes. Les CE ont en outre noté que des préparatifs juridiques, institutionnels et pratiques substantiels sont encore nécessaires pour une mise en œuvre efficace de la loi.[Note 99: EC, Rapport d’avancement annuel pour 2016, 17.] Une réflexion sur des cas passés a révélé que la culture institutionnelle est plus punitive que protectrice des lanceurs d'alerte.[Note 100: Petar Todorovski, La situation des lanceurs d’alerte en Macédoine, (Skopje, MCIC, 2016), disponible à l’adresse: http://bit.ly/2diVrOq [en macédonien].]

Reportés?

Soutenir la mise en œuvre de la loi sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte est l'un des engagements du nouveau plan d'action national. Il met l'accent sur le renforcement des canaux internes de compte rendu, le renforcement des capacités des fonctionnaires, la sensibilisation et l'accès aux informations sur la mise en œuvre des politiques. 

Le nouveau plan s'engage à renforcer la divulgation d'actifs en fournissant des données dans des formats ouverts ainsi que des analyses historiques et des analyses de tendances. Il ne mentionne pas l'établissement d'une liste de tous les représentants élus et nommés afin que le public puisse demander des comptes à ceux qui ne divulguent pas les avoirs.  

Le troisième plan d'action comporte également un nouveau groupe d'engagements visant à renforcer la transparence au niveau local et se concentre sur différents services et priorités. Puisque le gouvernement considère que l'engagement 4.7 est terminé, il ne donne pas suite aux nouveaux engagements dans le prochain plan d'action. L’examen réalisé par IRM a révélé que le développement de différentes plates-formes en tant qu’interventions autonomes risquait de ne pas faire l’objet d’un suivi adéquat et de détourner l’attention des citoyens. Des efforts sérieux sont nécessaires pour consolider les efforts des différentes institutions, de la société civile et des organisations internationales au niveau local.


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
North Macedonia

Adoption of Amendments to the Law on Prevention of Corruption in the Direction Of: (MK0063)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Macedonia, Second Action Plan, 2014-2016

Action Plan Cycle: 2014

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: State Commission for Preventions of Corruption

Support Institution(s): Ministry of Justice; Units of local self-government; United Nations Development Program (UNDP); OSCE; Civic organizations

Policy Areas

Anti Corruption and Integrity, Anti-Corruption Institutions, Legislation, Whistleblower Protections

IRM Review

IRM Report: Macedonia End-of-Term Report 2014-2016, Macedonia Progress Report 2014-2015

Starred: Yes Starred

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Public Accountability

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Adoption of amendments to the Law on Prevention of Corruption in the direction of:

IRM End of Term Status Summary

XI. Anti-Corruption: Laws, Systems, and Whistleblowing

Commitment 4.1: Integrity Systems and Whistleblower Protections () ()

Commitment Text: .. 4.1. Adoption of amendments to the Law on Prevention of Corruption to include integrity system and provide wistleblowers protection.

Commitment 4.2: Anti-Corruption Awareness-Raising

Commitment Text: 4.2. Implementation of activities to raise awareness of public administration and citizens to report corruption and other unlawful and impermissible actions.

Commitment 4.7: IT Tools for Social Responsibility  

Commitment Text: .. 4.7. Continuously promote the use of IT tools for social responsibility in the municipalities and other institutions.

Commitment 4.9: Scope of Asset Declaration

Commitment Text: 4.9. Defining the scope of the elected and appointed persons who are obliged to submit declarations of assets and interests statement - Preparation of the Register.

Responsible institution(s): State Commission for Prevention of Corruption

Supporting institution(s): Ministry of Justice, Units of Local self-government, UNDP and OSCE, CSOs[Note 87: The full list of CSOs listed as supporting institutions is: Center for Research and Policy Making, Association of Citizens for Local and Rural Development ‚ Bujrum-Tetovo , Green Force, Center for Development and European Integration‚ Local Development Agency-Struga, Educational-charity organization-Shtip, Macedonian Center for International cooperation, Coalition - All for fair Trials, TI Macedonia,  IDSCS, Institute for Economic Strategies and International Affairs Ohrid-Skopje, Institute for Democracy - Societas Civilis.]

Start Date: 1/1/2014   End Date: 31/12/2016

Editorial Note: Commitment 4.1 is a starred commitment, because it is measurable, clearly relevant to OGP values as written, of transformative potential impact, and was substantially or completely implemented.
Commitment aim

These four commitments attempted to tighten the legal and institutional frameworks for the fight against corruption. They did this by:

       Introducing integrity systems to ensure risk assessments took place, designing legal measures to mitigate them, and introducing a system to protect whistleblowers;

       Conducting awareness-raising activities;

       Developing tools for citizens’ participation (social accountability); and

       Defining the scope for assets declarations for officials (appointed and elected).

Status

Midterm

Commitment 4.1: Not started

Commitment 4.2: Limited

Commitment 4.7: Limited

Commitment 4.9: Complete

The government did not begin implementing commitment 4.1 until July 2015, when it began the process of adopting the new law.

The IRM midterm review found limited progress on commitments 4.2 and 4.7. The government’s self-assessment report referred to one event in April 2015, and two media articles.[Note 88: See, for example, news article regarding integrity systems on local level: http://bit.ly/1luCF8A.] It also reported on the development of an ICT tool to gather feedback from citizens.[Note 89: http://www.moja-opstina.mk.] The IRM researcher’s review found that 15 municipalities were included thus far, but that the platform was not working.

The Commission completed commitment 4.9 by adopting a bylaw for asset disclosure for the prevention of corruption in July 2015.

For more information, please see the 2014-2016 IRM midterm report.

End of term

Commitment 4.1: Substantial

Commitment 4.2: Limited

Commitment 4.7: Limited

In November 2015, the government adopted a new Law on Whistleblowers’ Protection, and respective bylaws in March 2016. The law went into effect on 18 March 2016. The IRM researcher learnt that no further progress had been made to introduce the integrity systems as a legal requirement.

No significant progress on the remaining commitments was made or reported by the government. A review of the IT platform showed that it currently allows citizens to vote on the three biggest priorities within their municipality. However, there was no information about how those votes influence municipal work, nor was there was an option for follow-up. Follow-up interviews with seven municipalities confirmed that the platform was never operational.[Note 90: Aerodrom, Strumica, Veles, Gorce Petrov, Shtip, Bogovinje, Kumanovo.] Therefore, the IRM researcher considers this limited progress.

The Commission for Prevention of Corruption published the register of asset disclosures, and made it available to the public and online.[Note 91: Available at: http://bit.ly/2cGz6HM [in Macedonian].]

Did it open government?

Access to Information: Marginal

Public Accountability: Marginal

Asset declaration and whistleblowers’ protection were recognized by civil society as key instruments in the fight against corruption.[Note 92: http://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Macedonia2014-2015_FinalEnglish_0.pdf.] Before the second action plan was adopted, there was no legal basis for protecting whistleblowers, and no register of appointed and elected public officials subject to the asset declaration regime. This cluster of commitments aimed to address that gap and potentially transform the system.[Note 93: Misa Popovikj, The Challenges with Using Corruption Reporting Mechanisms in Controlling

Corruption in Macedonia, (Skopje: IDSCS, 2016), available at: http://bit.ly/2dforrC.]

Regarding access to information, one of the commitments aimed at effective asset disclosure for public officials. A register, with information on type of assets owned, ownership, value, description, and grounds for acquiring, has been made available. However, the lack of a publicly available list of officials subject to asset declaration continues to be an obstacle to asset control in the country.[Note 94: US State Department, Country Report on Human Rights Practices 2015 (Washington: 2016), 19-20, available at: http://bit.ly/2dwrjhn.] It makes it impossible to track who should submit – but has not submitted – an asset declaration. Moreover, as the register holds only declaration of current assets, it is difficult to track asset changes over time while in office. A civil society platform in Macedonia has raised concerns that asset disclosure is not required once elected officials leave office, not even historical data. According to the Commission, there is no legal basis for publishing assets of former elected and appointed officials. Transparency groups have argued, however, that there is no limit on the re-use of once published information. Also, while there is no reason for former officials to update their asset disclosures, the public should have the right to inspect the assets they had during their term in office.

The investigative media Balkan Investigative Reporting Netwrok (BIRN) requested access to the asset declarations of former ministers. However, the Commission for Prevention and Corruption denied the request and, later, the Commission for the Protection of the Right to Free Access rejected the appeal, stating that the right to privacy overruled the public interest in transparency.[Note 95: Meri Jordanova, The Commission has decided, privacy over public interest [Комисијата пресечеЧ приватноста пред јавниот интерес], media article, 10 May 2016, available at: http://bit.ly/2jQrB5b.] In that sense, the existing register, established because of the commitment, provides information on only the current assets of current public and appointed officials. The software used does not allow for insight and historical review of all reported changes in assets from the moment an official is elected or appointed until they step down, despite the fact that these changes were already disclosed by individuals. This makes tracking changes in assets difficult. Academics have argued that the partial withholding of information is not transparency.[Note 96: See, for example, Mateo Turili and Luciano Floridi, The Ethics of Information Transparency, 2009, available at: http://bit.ly/2itUSX3.] The government must open access to all asset disclosures, and establish a register of all elected and appointed officials. The register would constitute a first step toward granting access to all citizens in the country. 

For the IRM researcher, Macedonia’s whistleblower protections are ineffective, and limit the government’s ability to promote proper public accountability. While the enactment of the new Law on Whistleblowers’ Protection is a positive step, the European Commission (EC) and Council of Europe’s Venice Commission have cast doubts upon the scope of the law, the criteria for permitting public disclosures, the vague descriptions of exemptions from protection, and the disclosure of the identity of whistleblowers.[Note 97: European Commission for Democracy through Law, Opinion on the Law on Whistleblowers’ Protection in Macedonia, (Strasbourg: Council of Europe, 2016, available at: http://bit.ly/1RjIPk7. ] Civil society organisations also raised concerns about the independence of the internal channels for reporting, and criticised institutions for not appointing responsible persons, effectively blocking the implementation of the law.[Note 98: See, for example, Transparency Macedonia conference on this topic, available at: http://bit.ly/2cGwD04 [in Macedonian].] The government reported that, by December 2016, 62 public sector institutions had appointed such persons. The EC further noted that substantial legal, institutional, and practical preparations are still needed for effective implementation of the law.[Note 99: EC, Annual Progress Report for 2016, 17.] A reflection on past cases revealed that the institutional culture is more punitive toward, than protective of, whistleblowers.[Note 100: Petar Todorovski, The Situation of Whistleblowers in Macedonia, (Skopje, MCIC, 2016), available at: http://bit.ly/2diVrOq [in Macedonian].]

Carried forward?

Supporting the implementation of the Law on Whistleblowers’ Protection is one of the commitments in the new national action plan. It focuses on strengthening internal channels for reporting, capacity building among officials, raising awareness, and accessing information about policy implementation. 

The new plan commits to strengthening asset disclosure by providing data in open formats as well as historical reviews and trends analyses. It does not mention establishing a list of all elected and appointed officials so the public can hold to account those who do not disclose assets.  

The third action plan also has a new cluster of commitments for enhancing openness at the local level, and focuses on different services and priorities. Since the government considers commitment 4.7 to be completed, it does not follow up with new commitments in the next action plan. The review by IRM found that developing different platforms as stand-alone interventions runs the risk of not receiving proper follow-up and diverting attention away from citizens. Serious efforts are needed to consolidate the efforts of different institutions, civil society, and international organisations at the local level.


Commitments

Open Government Partnership