Ignorer la navigation
Paris, France

Un budget participatif plus inclusif (PAR0001)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Paris, France Plan d'action

Cycle du plan d'action: 2017

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution principale: DDCT

Institution (s) de soutien: Direction générale des systèmes d'information Direction de la politique de la Ville Service de la participation citoyenne Mairies d'arrondissement Associations: 4D, CO-VILLE, CAUE, SYNLAB Université: Paris Sorbonne Atelier parisien d'urbanisme

Domaines politiques

Ouverture fiscale, Communautés marginalisées, Participation du public, Participation du public au budget / à la politique budgétaire, Sous-national

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport final IRM Paris 2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs du PGO: la participation citoyenne

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Problème couvert par l'engagement: La participation de toutes les catégories d'habitants parisiens au budget participatif peut être renforcée, afin de renforcer la représentativité de ce système et de consolider les chances de succès électoral des projets soumis par les habitants les plus éloignés de la participation citoyenne; OBJECTIF PRINCIPAL: 1. Mieux comprendre le rôle des habitants, des collectifs et des quartiers ouvriers dans le budget participatif (soumission de propositions, participation au vote, etc.) 2. Renforcer la participation des districts ouvriers et des groupes prioritaires, en particulier des plus précaires, au budget participatif; DESCRIPTION DE L’ENGAGEMENT: Répondre à l’objectif 1: L’Atelier Parisien d’Urbanisme (APUR) a réalisé une étude sur le budget participatif 2015 de Paris en 2016. Leurs travaux ont porté sur la nature des propositions soumises, leur localisation, les thèmes prédominants ... Une étude complémentaire pourrait être réalisée dans 2017, en se concentrant sur la sociologie du budget participatif: qui participe (âge, lieu, etc.), quels ensembles d'acteurs il révèle (rôle des conseils de quartier, lieu des associations, etc.), qui plébiscite quoi (croisement entre les électeurs numériques et les projets pour lesquels ils ont voté ...). Pour répondre à Objective 2, la Ville qui souhaite: • mobiliser les associations et les étudiants en ingénierie conseil pour toucher les habitants des quartiers populaires et les impliquer dans l’émergence de quartiers à propositions et les impliquer dans l’émergence de propositions du 2017 participatif budget • donner de la visibilité aux propositions des quartiers populaires du budget participatif parisien et augmenter leurs chances de succès; PERTINENCE: Cet engagement est susceptible de renforcer la participation de tous les citoyens au développement des politiques publiques de la Ville de Paris, en renforçant la diversité des perspectives et en consolidant la capacité de tous à participer à son budget participatif ("empowerment" ") ; AMBITION: Par une approche combinant l’étude des dynamiques sociologiques existantes et la mise en œuvre d’actions visant à accompagner les habitants dans le budget participatif, l’ambition est de renforcer la place de toutes les catégories d’habitants dans ce système, de proposer aux les habitants les plus éloignés de la participation citoyenne ont les moyens de s’impliquer et de renforcer les solidarités entre tous les quartiers de Paris. ÉTAPES DE LA MISE EN ŒUVRE: 1. APPEL DE PROPOSITIONS AUX ASSOCIATIONS 2. DÉVELOPPEMENT DU PARTENARIAT AVEC L’UNIVERSITÉ DE SORBONNE 3. ATELIERS DE CO-CONSTRUCTION AVEC DES HABITANTS 4. RÉALISATION DE L'ÉTUDE SUR LA SOCIOLOGIE DU BUDGET PARTICIPATIF 5. VOTE DU BUDGET PARTICIPATIF 6. RESTITUTION DE L’ETUDE SUR LA SOCIOLOGIE DU BUDGET PARTICIPATIF 1. JUIN 2016 2. NOVEMBRE 2016 3. DÉCEMBRE 2016 4. JANVIER 2017 5. SEPTEMBRE 2017 6. NOVEMBRE 2017 1. SEPTEMBRE 2016 2. NOVEMBRE 2016 3. PEUT 2017 4. OCTOBRE 2017 5. OCTOBRE 2017 6.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

1. Un budget participatif plus inclusif

Texte d'engagement:

Objectifs:

  1. Mieux comprendre le rôle des habitants, des collectifs et des quartiers populaires dans le budget participatif (soumission de propositions, participation au vote, etc.)
  2. Renforcer la participation des districts ouvriers et des groupes prioritaires, en particulier les plus précaires, au budget participatif

Pour rencontrer Objective 1:

L'Atelier Parisien d'Urbanisme (APUR) a réalisé une étude sur le budget participatif 2015 de Paris en 2016. Leurs travaux ont porté sur la nature des propositions soumises, leur localisation, les thèmes prédominants…

Une étude complémentaire pourrait être réalisée dans 2017, en se concentrant sur la sociologie du budget participatif: qui participe (âge, lieu, etc.), quels ensembles d'acteurs il révèle (rôle des conseils de quartier, lieu des associations, etc.), qui plébiscite quoi (croisement entre les électeurs numériques et les projets pour lesquels ils ont voté ...).

Pour répondre à Objective 2, la Ville souhaite:

 mobiliser des associations et des étudiants en ingénierie conseil pour toucher les habitants des quartiers populaires et les impliquer dans l'émergence de propositions de budget participatif 2017

 donner de la visibilité aux propositions des quartiers populaires du budget participatif parisien et augmenter leurs chances de succès

Milestones

1. Appel à propositions aux associations

2. Développement du partenariat avec l'Université Sorbonne

3. Ateliers de co-construction avec les habitants

4. Réalisation de l'étude sur la sociologie du budget participatif

5. Vote du budget participatif

6. Restitution [debriefing] de l'étude de sociologie du budget participatif

Aperçu de l'engagement

 

 

 

But de l'engagement

Objectif général et pertinence

La Ville de Paris a tiré les enseignements des recherches menées par letelier parisien d'urbanisme (APUR) que, bien qu’il existe une pratique de budgétisation participative, il existe un «biais social» parmi les participants au processus de budgétisation. http://www.apur.org/sites/default/files/documents/budget_participatif_paris_analyse_projets_2015.pdf (P 22) Par conséquent, il a été constaté que les projets de budgétisation ignoraient les besoins spécifiques des quartiers populaires de Paris, tels que les problèmes de pauvreté et de sécurité. L'objectif de cet engagement est d'accroître la sensibilisation et la participation au processus de budgétisation parmi les parisiens de la classe ouvrière. Ce faisant, l'engagement vise à garantir que les futures propositions budgétaires tiennent mieux compte des intérêts et des besoins de ces communautés.

En 2017, le budget alloué au financement de projets proposés par les citoyens dans le budget participatif de Paris s’élève à plus de EUR 100 (environ 5% du budget de la Ville), à ​​partir desquels 30% est destiné à financer des projets dans les quartiers populaires. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/le-budget-participatif-.html Bien que Paris ait constaté une augmentation de la participation des communautés ouvrières à 2016 par rapport à 2015 (de 5% à 7%), l'administration parisienne continue de donner la priorité à la promotion de la participation des communautés sous-représentées et à la participation des citoyens à l'exécution du budget. http://www.lemonde.fr/politique/article/2016/10/05/budget-participatif-la-capitale-fait-le-pari-des-projets-citoyens_5008490_823448.html

Le gouvernement parisien entend y parvenir en mettant en œuvre des initiatives publiques spécifiques, telles que des ateliers municipaux organisés dans des quartiers défavorisés, pour aider les habitants à concevoir des propositions qui correspondent à leurs priorités et à améliorer les chances d’adoption de leurs propositions. Cet engagement concerne une participation civique plus large afin d’assurer une contribution significative des membres intéressés du public aux décisions du gouvernement. Cela augmente également les chances des Parisiens de la classe ouvrière de se faire entendre. Cet engagement est donc pertinent pour la participation civique.

Spécificité et impact potentiel

Le niveau de spécificité de cet engagement est considéré moyen. En effet, les activités prévues, telles que l'appel à propositions aux associations et aux ateliers, et la réalisation de l'étude sociologique sur le budget participatif sont objectivement vérifiables. Cependant, comme écrit, chaque activité n'explique pas clairement comment elles contribueront à la réalisation de l'objectif global de l'engagement ni comment elles se dérouleront. L’engagement, tel qu’il est écrit, nécessite une certaine interprétation de la part du lecteur pour comprendre l’impact des activités sur le problème politique identifié, en raison de l’absence d’indicateurs ou de procédures mesurables pour orienter l’évaluation.

Si cet engagement était pleinement mis en œuvre tel que rédigé, il pourrait avoir une mineur impact sur l'amélioration de la capacité des citoyens de la classe ouvrière d'influencer la planification du budget de la ville et ainsi changer les conditions de vie de leur quartier. La Ville de Paris a déjà mené des efforts pour promouvoir la participation des communautés de la classe ouvrière au budget participatif ces dernières années. Cet engagement constitue un pas positif vers la poursuite de tels efforts impliquant d'autres segments de la société, tels que la population étudiante. Cependant, étant donné le manque de précision sur la mesure dans laquelle cet engagement pourrait atteindre les communautés de la classe ouvrière et le manque de détails sur sa différence par rapport aux mesures existantes, le chercheur de l'IRM estime qu'il pourrait représenter une étape positive, mais progressive, vers la réalisation des objectifs suivants: l'objectif identifié. De plus, cet engagement a une portée limitée. L'allocation de fonds pour financer les propositions votées n'est qu'un aspect de la budgétisation participative, que Paris a développée ces dernières années. Cependant, le gouvernement pourrait viser à mener un exercice plus large de consultation et de budgétisation participative au cours des différentes étapes du processus de budgétisation afin de renforcer la participation des différentes parties prenantes (y compris les parisiens de la classe ouvrière et les autres communautés) dans les stratégies budgétaires, les priorités et la prise de décision. processus.

Aboutissement
Substantiel

Le premier jalon - l'appel à propositions aux associations - a été achevé. Il a été lancé en mars 2017 et s'est terminé en mai 2017. Le gouvernement a donné 100,000 € à six associations (Co-City, ICI, CAUE, 4D / Petits Debrouillards, La Fabrik coopérative / Traverses, La Maison des Fougères / Khiasma) pour les aider à organiser des ateliers dans lesquels les citoyens, en particulier dans les quartiers populaires , a reçu de l'aide pour concevoir des propositions retenues, comme détaillé ci-dessous https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3212&portlet_id=165 .

Deuxième étape, un partenariat a été établi avec le programme principal 2, spécialisé dans la consultation publique («sous-parcours Ingénierie de la concertation ») à l'Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne. Concrètement, les étudiants ont aidé un collège (Collège Guillaume Budé) d'un quartier ouvrier dans le développement de leur projet. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp//jsp/site/Portal.jsp?page=idee&campagne=D&idee=1755 pour le budget participatif, bien qu'il ait finalement été rejeté par les citoyens lors du vote ouvert afin de déterminer les propositions gagnantes https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3749&portlet_id=158 .

La troisième étape - les ateliers avec les habitants - a conduit à une série d’actions menées par les associations financées dans le cadre de l’appel à propositions (première étape). Par exemple, le CAUE a organisé des marches avec les habitants des quartiers populaires pour identifier les projets prioritaires conçus par la suite lors d'ateliers participatifs. 4D / les Petits Débrouillards a organisé des ateliers pour aider les enfants du district de 19th à développer leurs projets. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3222&portlet_id=159 . Les agents en charge du budget participatif ont énuméré des projets 76 soutenus par les six associations financées dans l’appel à propositions: 37 ont été sélectionnés, 24 n’a pas été sélectionné car ils ne respectaient pas les critères d’éligibilité (en tant que projet d’intérêt général, la compétence de la ville de Paris) et 15 ont été associés à d’autres projets Les agents en charge du budget participatif ont fourni au chercheur IRM un fichier tableur répertoriant tous les projets tutorés par les associations 6. La feuille de calcul peut être trouvée dans le référentiel en ligne: https://goo.gl/hWCTQ7. .

La quatrième étape - l'étude complémentaire sur la sociologie du budget participatif - devrait être publiée en janvier 2018, selon Ari Brodach, responsable du budget participatif à la ville de Paris, lors d'une conversation par courrier électronique avec le chercheur IRM sur 22 novembre 2018 .

À la cinquième étape, les résultats du budget participatif ont été annoncés sur 5 Octobre 2017 https://www.paris.fr/resultatsbudgetparticipatif . Selon Pauline Véron, adjointe au maire chargée de la participation citoyenne, 66 des projets 196 est dédié aux quartiers populaires avec plus de millions d'euros de financement https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/plugins/download/BP2017-DossierDePresse.pdf .

La sixième étape restait en suspens car le Atelier parisien d'urbanisme (APUR) n’avait pas été publiée à la fin du plan d’action.

Étant donné que la plupart des étapes ont été franchies, le chercheur de l'IRM estime que la réalisation de cet engagement est dans l'ensemble substantielle.

Premiers résultats: a-t-il ouvert le gouvernement?
Participation civique: marginale

Selon les recherches de l'Atelier parisien d'urbanisme (APUR), il existe un «biais social» dans les efforts de budgétisation participative, qui tendent à négliger les besoins des quartiers populaires à Paris. Pour remédier à ce problème, le gouvernement avait pour objectif de mobiliser les associations et les étudiants afin qu'ils atteignent les quartiers populaires et les impliquent davantage dans le processus de budgétisation participative.

En ce qui concerne la valeur de la participation civique de l'OGP, le chercheur en IRM n'a pu trouver que des preuves marginales de changements dans les pratiques gouvernementales. D'une part, comme expliqué dans la section Statut ci-dessus, le gouvernement a financé plusieurs organisations travaillant directement avec les habitants des quartiers populaires afin de sensibiliser à la budgétisation participative et de soutenir la conception de propositions. Les organisations ont utilisé des méthodes telles que des ateliers, des jeux et des marches pour engager les communautés locales et développer des idées. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3222&portlet_id=159 Cette assistance a abouti à des propositions 76 (sur un total de 484), parmi lesquelles 37 ont finalement été sélectionnées.

D'autre part, une action concrète auprès des communautés de la classe ouvrière dans le cadre du budget participatif n'est pas entièrement nouvelle. Le gouvernement municipal a commencé par allouer une partie du budget participatif aux districts de la classe ouvrière de 2016, lorsque des millions d'euros ont été consacrés à ces districts. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/plugins/download/BP2016-DossierDePresse.pdf Au cours de cette année, les 6,370 des quartiers populaires (ou 14.1 pour cent de la population totale de la ville) ont voté pour des projets. https://www.apur.org/fr/nos-travaux/budget-participatif-paris-participe Ceci est significatif si l’on considère que globalement, les habitants des quartiers populaires constituent 16% de la population parisienne. Ibid. En ce sens, le gouvernement avait déjà fait de grands progrès au début du plan d'action.

De plus, les résultats 2017 ne diffèrent pas beaucoup de ceux de 2016. Alors qu'un tiers des projets récompensés (66 sur 196) et plus d'un tiers du budget participatif (millions d'euros 33,4 sur un total de millions d'euros 92) étaient consacrés aux quartiers populaires de 2017 Dans cette édition du budget participatif, la ville de Paris a utilisé un label spécifique sur son site internet pour distinguer les projets dédiés aux quartiers populaires. Ces chiffres sont tirés de la , il ne s’agit que d’une légère augmentation par rapport à 2016, lorsque des projets 58 et un million d’euros 30 ont été alloués à des quartiers populaires https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/plugins/download/BP2016-DossierDePresse.pdf . En conséquence, alors que la Ville de Paris déploie des efforts considérables pour assurer la diversité de son budget participatif, il est impossible de conclure à un changement majeur résultant de cet engagement.

Néanmoins, il est difficile d'évaluer les premiers résultats de cet engagement sans la publication de l'étude APUR, qui pourrait fournir une évaluation scientifique de la participation des districts de la classe ouvrière au budget participatif. Par exemple, on ne sait pas combien de résidents de quartiers populaires ont participé au processus 2017 ni combien ont voté par rapport au processus 2016. Le chercheur de l'IRM a demandé la première version de l'étude, mais cette demande a été refusée par le service chargé du budget participatif, qui a plutôt envoyé des cartes. Ari Brodach, responsable du budget participatif, a utilisé une carte choroplète du nombre d'électeurs pour chaque IRIS, la plus petite entité statistique pour les zones urbaines en France, afin de démontrer la mobilisation des électeurs dans les quartiers populaires. Cependant, cette carte n’est pas directement interprétable car la population d’IRIS varie de 1600 à 3300 à Paris. http://opendata.apur.org/datasets/iris-demographie?geometry=1.985%2C48.828%2C2.504%2C48.907&selectedAttribute=P12_POP .

En fin de compte, le rayonnement dans les districts ouvriers est notable, mais il existe peu de preuves permettant de penser que cet engagement a considérablement amélioré les chances des habitants des districts ouvriers dans le budget participatif.

Recommandations

La nouvelle étude sociologique menée par APUR fournira des informations intéressantes pour comprendre comment un budget participatif peut devenir un outil permettant aux habitants des quartiers populaires de réformer leur environnement urbain. Le chercheur de l'IRM suggère de partager ces résultats avec les réseaux d'OSC dès qu'ils seront disponibles, la budgétisation participative étant l'une des actions clés menées dans les plans d'action infranationaux.

Par ailleurs, pour permettre aux chercheurs au-delà de l'APUR de mener des études sur la sociologie du budget participatif, la ville de Paris peut améliorer la transparence du processus en publiant des données ouvertes anonymisées sur les électeurs et les projets. Au cours d'un atelier de l'Ecole des Données, https://ecoledesdonnees.org/le-projet/ un projet de la société civile qui propose des cours et des ateliers, les participants ont énuméré une série de suggestions visant à aider les citoyens à mieux comprendre le budget participatif avec des données ouvertes. Par exemple, ils ont suggéré de publier des ensembles de données sur l'avancement des projets sélectionnés, les statistiques du site Web sur le budget participatif, les votes anonymes et la liste complète des projets, y compris ceux qui n'ont pas été sélectionnés. https://fr.okfn.org/2017/11/13/atelier-citoyen-budget-participatif-quelles-donnees-pour-quelles-analyses/ .

 

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Paris, France

A More Inclusive Participatory Budget (PAR0001)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Paris, France Action Plan

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: DDCT

Support Institution(s): Secrétariat général Direction des systèmes d’information Direction de la Politique de la Ville Service de la participation citoyenne Mairies d’arrondissement Associations : 4D, CO-CITY, CAUE, SYNLAB Université : Paris Sorbonne Atelier parisien d’urbanisme

Policy Areas

Marginalized Communities, Participation in Budget Processes, Public Participation, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Paris Final IRM Report 2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

PROBLEM COVERED BY THE COMMITMENT: The participation of all categories of Parisian inhabitants in the participatory budget can be strengthened, in order to reinforce the representativeness of this system and to consolidate the chances of electoral success of projects submitted by the inhabitants furthest from citizen participation; PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: 1. To better understand the role of inhabitants, collectives and working class districts in the participatory budget (submission of proposals, participation in voting, etc.) 2. Strengthen the involvement of working-class districts and priority groups, particularly the most precarious, in the participatory budget; DESCRIPTION OF THE COMMITMENT: To meet Objective 1: The Atelier Parisien d'Urbanisme (APUR) carried out a study on the Paris 2015 participative budget in 2016. Their work focused on the nature of the proposals submitted, their location, the predominant themes ... A complementary study could be carried out in 2017, focusing on the sociology of the participatory budget: who participates (age, location ...), which sets of actors it reveals (role of neighborhood councils, place of associations, etc.), who plebiscite what (crossing between the digital voters and the projects for which they voted ...). To meet Objective 2, the City that wants : • to mobilize associations and students specializing in consulting engineering to reach the inhabitants of working-class neighborhoods and involve them in the emergence of proposals neighborhoods and involve them in the emergence of proposals for the 2017 participatory budget • to give visibility to proposals from working-class neighborhoods in the Parisian participatory budget and enhance their chances of success; RELEVANCE: This commitment is likely to strengthen the participation of all citizens in the development of public policies of the City of Paris, by reinforcing the diversity of perspectives and by consolidating the capacity of all to participate in its participatory budget ("empowerment" "); AMBITION: Through an approach combining the study of existing sociological dynamics and the implementation of actions to accompany the inhabitants to get involved in the participatory budget, the ambition is to strengthen the place of all categories of inhabitants in this system, to propose to the inhabitants furthest away from citizen participation the means to get involved and to reinforce the solidarities between all the districts of Paris. STEPS IN IMPLEMENTATION: 1. CALL FOR PROPOSALS TO ASSOCIATIONS 2. DEVELOPMENT OF THE PARTNERSHIP WITH THE UNIVERSITY OF SORBONNE 3. CO-CONSTRUCTION WORKSHOPS WITH INHABITANTS 4. REALIZATION OF THE STUDY ON THE SOCIOLOGY OF THE PARTICIPATORY BUDGET 5. VOTING OF THE PARTICIPATORY BUDGET 6. RESTITUTION OF THE STUDY ON THE SOCIOLOGY OF THE PARTICIPATORY BUDGET 1. JUNE 2016 2. NOVEMBER 2016 3. DECEMBER 2016 4. JANUARY 2017 5. SEPTEMBER 2017 6. NOVEMBER 2017 1. SEPTEMBER 2016 2. NOVEMBER 2016 3. MAY 2017 4. OCTOBER 2017 5. OCTOBER 2017 6. NOVEMBER 2017

IRM End of Term Status Summary

1. A more inclusive participatory budget

Commitment text:

Objectives:

  1. To better understand the role of inhabitants, collectives and working class districts in the participatory budget (submission of proposals, participation in voting, etc.)
  2. Strengthen the involvement of working-class districts and priority groups, particularly the most precarious, in the participatory budget

To meet Objective 1:

The Atelier Parisien d'Urbanisme (APUR) carried out a study on the Paris 2015 participative budget in 2016. Their work focused on the nature of the proposals submitted, their location, the predominant themes …

A complementary study could be carried out in 2017, focusing on the sociology of the participatory budget: who participates (age, location ...), which sets of actors it reveals (role of neighborhood councils, place of associations, etc.), who plebiscite what (crossing between the digital voters and the projects for which they voted ...).

To meet Objective 2, the City wants:

 to mobilize associations and students specializing in consulting engineering to reach the inhabitants of working-class neighborhoods and involve them in the emergence of proposals for the 2017 participatory budget

 to give visibility to proposals from working-class neighborhoods in the Parisian participatory budget and enhance their chances of success

Milestones

1. Call for Proposals to Associations

2. Development of the Partnership with the University Sorbonne

3. Co-construction Workshops with Inhabitants

4. Realization of the Study on the Sociology of the Participatory Budget

5. Voting of the Participatory Budget

6. Restitution [debriefing] of the Study on the Sociology of the Participatory Budget

Commitment Overview

 

 

 

Commitment Aim

Overall Objective & Relevance

The City of Paris has learned from research conducted by the Atelier Parisien d'Urbanisme (APUR) that, although there is a participatory budgeting practice in place, there is a “social bias” among the participants in the budgeting process. http://www.apur.org/sites/default/files/documents/budget_participatif_paris_analyse_projets_2015.pdf (P 22) Consequently, budgeting projects have been found to ignore the specific needs of working class neighborhoods of Paris, such as poverty and safety issues. The objective of this commitment is to increase awareness-raising and participation in the budgeting process among working-class Parisians. In doing so, the commitment seeks to ensure that future budgetary proposals better address the interests and needs of these communities.

In 2017, the budget allocated to fund projects proposed by citizens through the Paris Participatory Budget amounts to over EUR 100 million (approximately 5% of the City’s budget), from which 30% are earmarked to fund projects in working-class neighborhoods. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/le-budget-participatif-.html Although Paris saw an increase in participation of working class communities in 2016 compared to 2015 (from 5% to 7%), the Parisian administration continues to prioritize the promotion of participation of underrepresented communities and general citizen involvement in the implementation of the budget. http://www.lemonde.fr/politique/article/2016/10/05/budget-participatif-la-capitale-fait-le-pari-des-projets-citoyens_5008490_823448.html

The Paris government aims to do it by implementing dedicated public initiatives, such as municipal workshops organized in underprivileged areas to help inhabitants design proposals that match their priorities and improve the chances of their proposals being adopted. This commitment pertains to broader civic participation to ensure meaningful input of interested members of the public into government decisions. It also increases the opportunities of working-class Parisians to have their voice heard. This commitment, therefore, is relevant to civic participation.

Specificity and Potential Impact

The level of specificity of this commitment is considered medium. Indeed, foreseen activities, such as the call for proposals to associations and workshops, and conducting the sociological study on the participatory budget are objectively verifiable. However, as written, each activity does not clearly explain how they will contribute to achieving the overall commitment’s objective nor how they will unfold. The commitment, as written, requires some interpretation from the reader to understand how activities will impact the policy issue identified, because of the lack of measurable indicators or procedures to guide the assessment.

If this commitment were fully implemented as written, it could have a minor impact on improving working-class citizens’ ability to influence planning of the city budget and thus changing the living conditions of their district. The City of Paris has already led efforts to promote the involvement of working-class communities in the participatory budget in the past few years. This commitment constitutes a positive step towards the continuation of such efforts involving other segments of society like the student population. However, given the lack of specificity about the extent to which this commitment could reach the working-class communities, and the lack of details on how it differs from existing measures, the IRM researcher considers it could represent a positive, yet incremental step towards achieving the objective identified. Furthermore, this commitment is limited in scale. The allocation of funds for financing voted-upon proposals is only one feature of participatory budgeting, which Paris has been developing in the past years. However, the Government could aim to run a wider exercise of consultation and participatory budgeting over the different stages of the budgeting process to strengthen the involvement of different stakeholders (including working-class Parisians and other communities) in budget strategies, priorities and decision-making processes.

Completion
Substantial

The first milestone—the call for proposals to associations—was completed. It was launched on March 2017 and ended in May 2017. The government gave 100,000€ to six associations (Co-City, ICI, CAUE, 4D/Petits Debrouillards, La Fabrik coopérative/Traverses, La Maison des Fougères/Khiasma) to help them host workshops in which citizens, particularly in working-class neighborhoods, received assistance in designing successful proposals, as detailed further below https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3212&portlet_id=165 .

On the second milestone, a partnership has been established with the master 2 program specialised in public consultation (“sous-parcours Ingénierie de la concertation) at Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University. Concretely, students helped a middle school (Collège Guillaume Budé) in a working-class area in the development of their project https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp//jsp/site/Portal.jsp?page=idee&campagne=D&idee=1755 for the participatory budget, though it was eventually rejected by citizens in the open vote to determine the winning proposals https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3749&portlet_id=158 .

The third milestone—the workshops with inhabitants—led to a series of actions conducted by the associations financed in the call for proposals (first milestone). For instance, CAUE organised walks with the inhabitants of working-class neighborhoods to identify priority projects that were later designed during participatory workshops. 4D/les Petits Débrouillards hosted workshops to help children from the 19th district in the development of their projects https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3222&portlet_id=159 . The agents in charge of the participatory budget listed 76 projects supported by the six associations financed in the call for proposals: 37 were selected, 24 were not selected as they did not follow the eligibility criteria (as an investment project for the general interest, within the competence of the city of Paris) and 15 were combined with other projects The agents in charge of the participatory budget provided the IRM researcher a spreadsheet file listing all the projects tutored by the 6 associations. The spreadsheet can be found in the online repository: https://goo.gl/hWCTQ7. .

The fourth milestone—the complementary study on the sociology of the Participatory Budget—was expected to be released in January 2018 according to Ari Brodach, head of the participatory budget at the city of Paris in an email conversation with the IRM researcher on 22 November 2018.

On the fifth milestone, the results of the participatory budget were announced on 5 October 2017 https://www.paris.fr/resultatsbudgetparticipatif . According to Pauline Véron, Deputy Mayor for citizen participation, 66 of the 196 projects are dedicated to working-class neighborhoods with more than 33 million euros of funding https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/plugins/download/BP2017-DossierDePresse.pdf .

The sixth milestone remained pending as the Atelier Parisien d'Urbanisme (APUR) study had not been released by the close of the action plan.

Given the completion of most of the milestones, the IRM researcher considers the overall completion of this commitment to be substantial.

Early results: did it open government?
Civic Participation: Marginal

According to research by the Atelier Parisien d'Urbanisme (APUR), there is a “social bias” in participatory budgeting efforts, which tend to neglect the needs of working-class neighborhoods in Paris. To address this issue, the government aimed to mobilize associations and students to reach working-class neighborhoods and better involve them in the participatory budgeting process.

Regarding the OGP value of civic participation, the IRM researcher could only find marginal evidence of changes in government practices. On the one hand, as explained in the Status section above, the government funded several organizations that worked directly with the residents of working-class neighborhoods to raise awareness of participatory budgeting and support the design of proposals. The organizations used methods such as workshops, games, and walks to engage local communities and develop ideas. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/jsp/site/Portal.jsp?document_id=3222&portlet_id=159 This support resulted in 76 proposals (out of a total of 484), of which 37 were eventually selected.

On the other hand, concrete outreach to working-class communities as part of the participatory budget is not entirely new. The municipal government first began allocating a dedicated portion of the participatory budget to working-class districts in 2016, when €30 million were dedicated to these districts. https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/plugins/download/BP2016-DossierDePresse.pdf During this year, 6,370 people from working-class districts—or 14.1 percent of the total population of the city—voted for projects. https://www.apur.org/fr/nos-travaux/budget-participatif-paris-participe This is significant considering that overall, residents in working-class districts make up 16% of the population of Paris. Ibid. In this sense, the government had already made great strides at the outset of the action plan.

Moreover, the 2017 results do not differ greatly from those in 2016. While a third of the awarded projects (66 out of 196) and more than a third of the participatory budget (€33,4 million out of €92 million totally) was dedicated to working-class districts in 2017 In this edition of the participatory budget, the city of Paris used a special label on the website to distinguish projects dedicated to working-class neighborhoods. These figures are taken from the , this is only a slight increase compared to 2016, when 58 projects and €30 million were allocated to working-class districts https://budgetparticipatif.paris.fr/bp/plugins/download/BP2016-DossierDePresse.pdf . As a result, while the City of Paris is making a strong effort to ensure diversity in its participatory budget, it is not possible to conclude that there has been a major change as a result of this commitment.

Nonetheless, assessing the early results of this commitment is difficult without the release of the APUR study which could give a scientific assessment of the participation of working-class districts in the participatory budget. For example, it is not clear how many residents of working-class neighborhoods participated in the 2017 process, or how many voted as compared to the 2016 process. The IRM researcher asked for the first draft of the study, but this request was declined by the service in charge of the participatory budget, which sent maps instead. Ari Brodach, head of the participatory budget, used a choropleth map of the number of voters for each IRIS, the smallest statistical entity for urban areas in France, to demonstrate the mobilisation of voters in working-class districts. However, this map is not directly interpretable as IRIS vary in population from 1600 to 3300 inhabitants in Paris http://opendata.apur.org/datasets/iris-demographie?geometry=1.985%2C48.828%2C2.504%2C48.907&selectedAttribute=P12_POP .

Ultimately, the outreach to working-class districts is notable, but there is little evidence available confirming that this commitment significantly improved the opportunities of working-class district inhabitants in the participatory budget.

Recommendations

The updated sociological study conducted by APUR will provide interesting insights to understand how a participatory budget can become a tool to empower working-class districts inhabitants in reshaping their urban environment. The IRM researcher suggests sharing these results with CSO networks once they are available, as participatory budgeting is one of the key actions conducted in sub-national action plans.

Besides, to allow researchers beyond APUR to conduct studies on the sociology of the participatory budget, the city of Paris can improve the transparency of the process by publishing anonymised open data on voters and projects. During a workshop of l’Ecole des Données, https://ecoledesdonnees.org/le-projet/ a civil society project that offers courses and workshops, participants listed a series of suggestions in order to help citizens have a better understanding of the participatory budget with open data. For instance, they suggested publishing datasets on the advancement of selected projects, statistics of the participatory budget website, anonymised votes and the complete list of projects including those that were not selected https://fr.okfn.org/2017/11/13/atelier-citoyen-budget-participatif-quelles-donnees-pour-quelles-analyses/ .