Ignorer la navigation
Sierra Leone

Transparence budgétaire et budget ouvert (SL0015)

Présentation

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national de Sierra Leone 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère des finances et du développement économique

Institution (s) de soutien: Ministère des finances et du développement économique. Autorité nationale des recettes. Commission anti-corruption. Partenariat budgétaire international; Citizen Budget Watch, Réseau pour la promotion du budget, Transparency International

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Transparence fiscale, Open Data, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport à la fin du Sierra Leone 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours pour la Sierra Leone 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Conception i

Vérifiable: oui

Relatives aux valeurs OGP: Accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Statu quo ou problème à résoudre

Si vous voulez lutter contre la pauvreté, vous devez vous soucier de votre budget. Ils constituent l'outil le plus puissant du gouvernement pour répondre aux besoins et aux priorités d'un pays et de ses habitants. Les budgets publics définissent la manière dont le gouvernement réunira et dépensera les fonds publics nécessaires aux politiques et programmes qui traduiront ses priorités en actions. Le processus de discussion budgétaire ne prévoit aucun mécanisme de retour d'information permettant de savoir dans quelle mesure les contributions des citoyens sont incorporées ou non dans le budget, et des améliorations doivent être apportées dans la communication des états du budget et d'autres informations connexes par le biais de médias accessibles.

Les exonérations fiscales accordées par le gouvernement expliquent en grande partie les faibles recettes fiscales de la Sierra Leone. Certaines des exemptions fiscales accordées ne sont pas utilisées aux fins pour lesquelles elles ont été accordées et, à ce titre, le pays perd deux fois. Aucune information concernant l'exonération fiscale n'est publiée, ce qui aurait aidé les citoyens à contrôler l'utilisation de ces exemptions.
Objectif principal
Rendre les données budgétaires (déclaration pré-budgétaire et rapport semestriel), les rapports des comités d'audit du Parlement et les exonérations fiscales accessibles au public et accroître la participation des citoyens au processus budgétaire.

Brève description de l'engagement (limite de caractères 140)
Cet engagement vise à ce que le gouvernement publie les budgets prébudgétaire et à mi-parcours et publie également toutes les exonérations fiscales dans un format de données ouvertes. En outre, il fournira un mécanisme de retour d'information aux citoyens sur leurs contributions au budget.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Engagement 4. Transparence fiscale et budget ouvert

Texte d'engagement:

Cet engagement vise à ce que le gouvernement publie les budgets prébudgétaire et à mi-parcours et publie également toutes les exonérations fiscales dans un format de données ouvertes. En outre, il offrira aux citoyens un mécanisme de retour d'information sur leurs contributions au budget.

Jalons:

  1. Publier en temps voulu les rapports budgétaires de chaque exercice budgétaire: le MTEF et un examen semestriel, ces deux rapports n'ayant toujours pas été publiés par le gouvernement de la Sierra Leone. (Pré-budget pour 2017 et 2018 et budget de révision à mi-parcours pour 2016, 2017 et 2018)
  2. Conformément à la loi 2016 sur la gestion des finances publiques, publie toutes les exemptions fiscales tous les six mois à partir de 2016 sur le site Web du gouvernement.
  3. Publier des données budgétaires (un état prébudgétaire, le projet de budget de l'exécutif, le budget adopté, un budget pour les citoyens, des rapports en cours d'année sur les recettes perçues, les dépenses engagées et la dette contractée, un examen à mi-parcours, un rapport de fin d'année, et rapports d'audit) en ligne, dans des formats lisibles par machine
  4. Fournir et publier des commentaires détaillés sur la manière dont les perceptions du public ont été capturées et prises en compte dans le processus de discussion budgétaire au cours de la phase de formation.

Institution responsable: Ministère des finances et du développement économique.

Institution (s) de soutien: Autorité nationale des recettes, Commission anti-corruption, Partenariat budgétaire international, Transparency International, Citizen Budget Watch, Réseau pour la promotion du budget.

Date de début: juillet 2016 Date de fin: juin 2018

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait à améliorer la transparence budgétaire en publiant davantage d'informations budgétaires dans le cadre d'une stratégie gouvernementale visant à promouvoir la gestion des finances publiques. Des efforts spécifiques pour promouvoir la transparence dans tous les budgets ont été décrits dans la stratégie triennale de gestion des finances publiques publiée par le ministère des Finances dans le 2014.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

L’engagement pris à mi-parcours a peu progressé. Les états budgétaires annuels du gouvernement pour 2016 et 2017 contenaient le projet de budget de l'exécutif, le budget adopté et les états des recettes et de la dette contractée (Milestone 3). Le gouvernement a produit et distribué le budget des citoyens 2016 (Milestone 3). Les activités restantes n'ont pas été effectuées; Il s’agit notamment de publier des relevés prébudgétaires, de publier toutes les exonérations fiscales sur un site Web gouvernemental et de publier des commentaires sur la manière dont les perceptions du public ont été saisies et prises en compte dans les discussions sur l’établissement du budget. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez vous reporter au rapport de mi-parcours de 2016 − 2018. 33

Fin du mandat: Limité

Jalon 1: À la fin du semestre, le gouvernement a publié le budget de l'exercice 2017 de novembre 2016 et celui de l'exercice 2018 d'octobre 2017. 34 Le ministère des Finances a également publié des rapports d'examen du budget dans le cadre de 2016 − 2017 et de 2018.

Jalon 2: sur la base du recoupement du site Web du ministère des Finances par le chercheur, le ministère des Finances n'a pas publié d'exemptions fiscales lors de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action.

Jalon 3: Les états pré-budgétaires n’ont pas été publiés pour les budgets 2017 et 2018. Les états budgétaires annuels du gouvernement pour les deux années contenaient le projet de budget de l'exécutif, le budget adopté et les états des revenus collectés et de la dette contractée. Le ministère des Finances a produit des rapports financiers détaillant les recettes de l'exercice, les dépenses engagées et la dette contractée. 35

Jalon 4: Selon le recoupement des recherches du site Web du ministère des Finances par le chercheur, le gouvernement n'a pas publié de commentaires détaillés sur la manière dont les perceptions du public ont été prises en compte ou prises en compte dans l'établissement du budget des budgets gouvernementaux 2017 et 2018.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Les citoyens n'ont pas accès aux informations budgétaires adéquates en Sierra Leone, comme le montre le faible classement du pays dans l'indice de budget ouvert. 36 Les exonérations fiscales constituent un grave problème en Sierra Leone, les ONG réclamant une plus grande transparence. 37 L'engagement n'a pas accru la transparence concernant les exonérations fiscales, car il n'y a pas eu de nouvelle divulgation d'informations. Le gouvernement n'a pas publié de commentaires détaillés sur la manière dont il rend compte de l'opinion publique dans l'établissement du budget, ce qui rend difficile l'identification du fait que les citoyens ont influencé les budgets gouvernementaux 2017 et 2018.

Reportés?

Le gouvernement n'avait pas publié le troisième plan d'action au moment de la rédaction de ce rapport. Cet engagement devrait être poursuivi en mettant l'accent sur les problèmes liés au faible score de l'Indice du budget ouvert de la Sierra Leone, comme indiqué dans le rapport 2017. 38

33 Charlie Hughes, Rapport à mi-parcours pour la Sierra Leone 2016-2018 (OGP, 9 Jul. 2018), https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/sierra-leone-mid-term-report-2016-2018-year-1/.

34 Gouvernement sierra-léonais, ministère des finances: http://www.mofed.gov.sl.

35 https://mof.gov.sl/fiscal-publication/

36 Partenariat budgétaire international, «Sierra Leone» (2017), https://www.internationalbudget.org/open-budget-survey/results-by-country/country-info/?country=sl.

37 Voir Mark Curtis, Losing Out: les énormes pertes de recettes générées par les incitations fiscales en Sierra Leone (Réseau de défense des budgets, Coalition nationale de défense des droits des industries extractives et Tax Justice Network-Africa, avril 2014), http://curtisresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/Losing-Out.-Final-report.-April-2014.pdf.

38 Partenariat budgétaire international, «Sierra Leone» (2017).


Engagements

  1. Expansion des services de justice communautaire

    SL0022, 2019, Justice

  2. Améliorer l'accès à l'école secondaire

    SL0023, 2019, Éducation

  3. Transparence du système fiscal

    SL0024, 2019, Transparence fiscale

  4. Registre de la propriété bénéficiaire

    SL0025, 2019, Propriété effective

  5. Améliorer la mise en œuvre du droit d'accès à l'information

    SL0026, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  6. Faire progresser l'égalité des sexes

    SL0027, 2019, genre

  7. Parlement ouvert

    SL0028, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Gestion des documents et des archives

    SL0029, 2019, Législation et Réglementation

  9. Sexe

    SL0012, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Transparence de l'aide étrangère

    SL0013, 2016, Aide

  11. Gestion des déchets

    SL0014, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  12. Transparence fiscale et budget ouvert

    SL0015, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  13. Rapport de vérification

    SL0016, 2016, audits et contrôles

  14. Changement climatique

    SL0017, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  15. Élections

    SL0018, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  16. Record Archive Management

    SL0019, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  17. Accès à la justice

    SL0020, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  18. Marchés publics ouverts

    SL0021, 2016, Institutions anti-corruption

  19. Publier et réviser 70% des contrats de location miniers et agricoles

    SL0009, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  20. Engagement étoilé Droit d'accès à la loi sur l'information

    SL0010, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  21. Portail de données ouvert pour la transparence dans les transactions fiscales et extractives

    SL0011, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  22. Pacte d'intégrité publique avec les ministères, agences et départements 5

    SL0001, 2014, Conflits d’intérêts

  23. Loi sur les archives et les documents

    SL0002, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  24. Renforcer la direction de la gestion du rendement et de la prestation de services

    SL0003, 2014, Participation publique

  25. Conformité aux mesures de vérification

    SL0004, 2014, audits et contrôles

  26. Engagement étoilé Compte de trésor unique

    SL0005, 2014, Industries extractives

  27. Loi sur les revenus de l'industrie extractive

    SL0006, 2014, Industries extractives

  28. Intensification des initiatives de transparence des industries extractives

    SL0007, 2014, Industries extractives

  29. Liens entre la politique de contenu local (LCP) et les MDA

    SL0008, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Sierra Leone

Fiscal Transparency and Open Budget (SL0015)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Sierra Leone National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Finance and Economic Development

Support Institution(s): Ministry of Finance and Economic Development National Revenue Authority Anti-Corruption Commission International Budget Partnership; Transparency International, Citizen Budget Watch, Budget Advocacy Network

Policy Areas

E-Government, Fiscal Transparency, Open Data, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Sierra Leone End-of-Term Report 2016−2018, Sierra Leone Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Status quo or problem/ issue to be addressed

If you want to fight poverty, you need to care about budgets. They are the government’s most powerful tool to meet the needs and priorities of a country and its people. Public budgets are the blueprints on how the government will raise and spend the public funds needed for the policies and programs that will translate its priorities into action. There is no feedback mechanism from the budget discussion process to know the extent to which citizen inputs are incorporated or not in the budget, and improvements must be made in communicating the budget statements and other related information through accessible media.

Tax exemption granted by the government are a major reason for Sierra Leone’s low tax revenues. Some of the tax exemptions granted are not utilized for the purpose they are granted and as such the country loses twice. Information around tax exemption is not published which would have helped citizens to monitor the use of these exemptions.
Main objective
To make budget data (Pre-budget statement and Mid-year report), Parliament audit committee reports and tax exemptions publicly available and increase citizen participation in the budget process.

Brief Description of Commitment (140 character limit)
This commitment is geared towards the government publishing the pre-budget and mid review budget and also publish all tax exemptions in an open data format. In addition it will provide feedback mechanism to citizens on their inputs into the budget.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Commitment 4. Fiscal Transparency and Open Budget

Commitment Text:

This commitment is geared towards the government publishing the pre-budget and mid review budget and also publish all tax exemptions in an open data format. In addition, it will provide feedback mechanism to citizens on their inputs into the budget.

Milestones:

  1. Publish, in a timely manner, the budget reports each budget year: the MTEF and a mid-year review as these two reports are still not yet published by the Government of Sierra Leone. (Pre- budget for 2017 and 2018 and mid-year review budget for 2016, 2017 and 2018)
  2. In line with the Public Financial Management Act 2016, publish all tax exemptions, on a half yearly basis starting 2016 in government website
  3. Publish Budget data (a pre-budget statement; the executive’s budget proposal; the enacted budget; a citizens’ budget; in-year reports on revenues collected, expenditures made and debt incurred; a mid-year review; year-end report; and audit reports) online, in machine-readable formats
  4. Provide and publish the detailed feedback on how public perceptions have been captured and taken into account on the budget discussion process during the formation stage.

Responsible institution: Ministry of Finance and Economic Development.

Supporting institution(s): National Revenue Authority, Anti-Corruption Commission, International Budget Partnership, Transparency International, Citizen Budget Watch, Budget Advocacy Network.

Start date: July 2016                                                                                  End date: June 2018

Commitment Aim:

This commitment aimed to improve budget transparency by publishing more budget information as part of a government strategy to promote public financial management. Specific efforts to promote transparency in all budgets were outlined in the three-year public financial management strategy published by the Ministry of Finance (MoF) in 2014.

Status

Midterm: Limited

There was limited progress on the commitment by the midterm. The government’s annual budget statements for 2016 and 2017 contained the executive’s budget proposal, the enacted budget, and statements of revenue collected and debt incurred (Milestone 3). The government produced and distributed the 2016 Citizens’ Budget (Milestone 3). The remaining activities were not performed; these included publishing pre-budget statements, publishing all tax exemptions on a government website, and publishing feedback on how public perceptions have been captured and accounted for in budget formation discussions. For more information, please see the 2016−2018 midterm report. [33]

End of term: Limited

Milestone 1: After the midterm, the government published the budget for financial year 2017 in November 2016 and for financial year 2018 in October 2017. [34] The MoF also published budget review reports in the course of 2016−2017, and 2018.

Milestone 2: From the researcher’s crosscheck of the MoF’s website, the MoF did not publish tax exemptions during implementation of the action plan.

Milestone 3: Pre-budget statements were not published for the 2017 and 2018 budgets. The government’s annual budget statements for the two years contained the executive’s budget proposal, the enacted budget, and statements of revenues collected and debt incurred. MoF produced fiscal reports detailing in-year revenues collected, expenditures made, and debt incurred. [35]

Milestone 4: According to the researcher’s crosscheck of the MoF’s website, the government did not publish detailed feedback on how public perceptions were captured or accounted for in the budget formation for the 2017 and 2018 government budgets.

Did it open government?

Access to information: Did not change

Citizens do not have access to adequate budget information in Sierra Leone, as shown by the country’s low ranking in the Open Budget Index. [36] Tax exemptions have been a serious concern in Sierra Leone, with NGOs pressing for greater transparency. [37] The commitment did not increase transparency around tax exemptions, as there was no new disclosure of information. The government did not publish detailed feedback on how they account for public opinion in budget formation, making it difficult to identify whether citizens influenced the 2017 and 2018 government budgets.

Carried forward?

The government had not released the third action plan at the time of this report. The commitment should be carried forward with a focus on addressing the issues responsible for Sierra Leone’s low Open Budget Index score, as highlighted in the 2017 report. [38]

[33] Charlie Hughes, Sierra Leone Mid-Term Report 2016-2018 (OGP, 9 Jul. 2018), https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/sierra-leone-mid-term-report-2016-2018-year-1/.

[34] Government of Sierra Leone, Ministry of Finance: http://www.mofed.gov.sl.

[35] https://mof.gov.sl/fiscal-publication/

[36] International Budget Partnership, “Sierra Leone” (2017), https://www.internationalbudget.org/open-budget-survey/results-by-country/country-info/?country=sl.

[37] See Mark Curtis, Losing Out: Sierra Leone's massive revenue losses from tax incentives (Budget Advocacy Network,  National Advocacy Coalition on Extractives, and Tax Justice Network-Africa, Apr. 2014), http://curtisresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/Losing-Out.-Final-report.-April-2014.pdf.

[38] International Budget Partnership, 'Sierra Leone' (2017).


Sierra Leone's Commitments

  1. Gender

    SL0012, 2016, Capacity Building

  2. Foriegn Aid Transparency

    SL0013, 2016, Aid

  3. Waste Management

    SL0014, 2016, Capacity Building

  4. Fiscal Transparency and Open Budget

    SL0015, 2016, E-Government

  5. Audit Report

    SL0016, 2016, Audits and Controls

  6. Climate Change

    SL0017, 2016, Capacity Building

  7. Elections

    SL0018, 2016, E-Government

  8. Record Archive Management

    SL0019, 2016, E-Government

  9. Access to Justice

    SL0020, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. Open Public Procurement Contracting

    SL0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  11. Publish and Revise 70% of Mining and Agricultural Lease Agreements and Contracts

    SL0009, 2014, E-Government

  12. Starred commitment Right to Access Information Law

    SL0010, 2014, Capacity Building

  13. Open Data Portal for Transparency in Fiscal and Extractive Transactions

    SL0011, 2014, E-Government

  14. Public Integrity Pact with 5 Ministries, Departments, and Agencies

    SL0001, 2014, Conflicts of Interest

  15. Archives and Records Management Act

    SL0002, 2014, E-Government

  16. Scale up Performance Management and Service Delivery Directorate

    SL0003, 2014, Public Participation

  17. Compliance with Audit Measures

    SL0004, 2014, Audits and Controls

  18. Starred commitment Single Treasure Account

    SL0005, 2014, Extractive Industries

  19. Extractive Industry Revenue Act

    SL0006, 2014, Extractive Industries

  20. Scaling up Extractive Industry Transparency Initiatives

    SL0007, 2014, Extractive Industries

  21. Local Content Policy (LCP) Linkages with MDAs

    SL0008, 2014, Capacity Building