Ignorer la navigation
Burkina Faso

Dialogue communautaire sur le budget local (EDIC) (BF0013)

Présentation

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action du Burkina Faso 2017-2019

Cycle du plan d'action: 2017

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution principale:

Institution (s) de soutien:

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, Transparence fiscale, Surveillance des politiques budgétaires / fiscales, Participation du public, Sous-national

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception du Burkina Faso 2017-2019

En vedette: en attente de révision IRM

Premiers résultats: examen IRM en attente

Conception i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs du PGO: la participation citoyenne

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement: examen IRM en attente

Description

Quel est le problème public sur lequel l’engagement est pris de s’attaquer: faible responsabilisation en matière de gestion budgétaire au sein des municipalités; Quel est l'engagement? Le défi consiste à permettre aux communautés de s'informer et de s'associer à l'élaboration du budget, à la présentation du compte et à la mise en œuvre du budget. La plupart des municipalités sont confrontées à des problèmes de transparence lors de la présentation des comptes et aux demandes de participation de la communauté au processus budgétaire. Objectif global: accroître la transparence dans la présentation des comptes aux communautés Résultats attendus: • Les communautés des municipalités 20 sont mieux informées sur la mise en œuvre du budget; • La gouvernance locale et la confiance entre les représentants élus et les communautés locales sont améliorées; • Les points de dialogue et d’interrogation contribuent à la pacification de l’environnement social et à la consolidation de la paix. Comment cet engagement contribuera-t-il à résoudre le problème public ?: La mise en œuvre de cet engagement consistera à aider les municipalités de 20 qui connaissent un taux de conflit élevé et qui ont subi des violences avant et après les élections à aménager des espaces de dialogue et de questionnement au sein de la communauté. Ces zones serviront de cadres où les citoyens pourront dialoguer directement avec leurs représentants élus sur la gestion du budget local. Cela contribuera à assurer la transparence et la responsabilité entre les représentants élus et les communautés locales. Cet engagement repose sur l'hypothèse que la culture et la promotion du dialogue, de la responsabilité et de la transparence budgétaire entre les représentants élus et les communautés locales réduisent les protestations et les conflits entre les deux parties. Ce dialogue se fera en consultation avec les représentants élus, les communautés, les organisations de la société civile et les services techniques décentralisés du gouvernement. Pourquoi un tel engagement est-il pertinent en termes de valeurs PGO ?: L'engagement est pertinent pour les valeurs PGO, car il contribue à accroître la transparence, la participation des citoyens et la responsabilité publique. Dans la mesure où l'engagement établit un dialogue direct entre les communautés et les élus sur la gestion budgétaire locale, il contribue à la transparence, à l'amélioration de l'accès à l'information publique et même au droit des citoyens à accéder à l'information budgétaire. En permettant aux citoyens de participer à un dialogue direct avec les élus sur la vie de la commune en général et sur la gestion budgétaire en particulier, l’engagement crée et accroît les possibilités ou les capacités des citoyens de s’informer et de donner leur avis sur la gestion des biens de l’État. En tant que tel, il augmente la participation des citoyens. Lorsque les élus locaux rendent compte de la gestion de leur budget aux communautés via un cadre de dialogue et de questionnement, cela contribue à améliorer la responsabilité publique. C’est l’objet même de cet engagement .; Informations complémentaires: Liens avec d'autres programmes de la société civile: Association monde rural (AMR); Diaconie; Association les principaux un sahel (AMUS); Aide de l'eau; Association Noddenooto (A2N) Liens avec le plan de développement national Liens avec d'autres plans d'action nationaux pertinents, tels que la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption; Activités importantes dont les résultats attendus peuvent être facilement vérifiées: Organisation de visites de mobilisation et de sensibilisation sur les populations des municipalités de 20: février 2018 - mars 2018, coût de l’activité (en FCFA): 60 000 000; Formation des membres du conseil municipal aux techniques de dialogue et de responsabilisation: Février 2018 - Février 2018, Coût de l’activité (en FCFA): 40 000 000; Mise en place d’un ou plusieurs comités de suivi et d’organisation du dialogue / décisions: février 2018 - février 2018, coût de l’activité (en FCFA): 15 000 000; Organiser un espace de dialogue avec la présence obligatoire du maire: mars 2018 - avril 2018, coût de l’activité (en FCFA): 15 000 000; Suivi des actions / décisions du comité: avril 2018 - mai 2018, coût de l’activité (en FCFA): 5 000 000.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

13. Aménagement des zones de dialogue communautaire et questionnement sur la gestion du budget local (EDIC)

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

«Aménagement des zones de dialogue communautaire et questionnement sur la gestion du budget local (EDIC)»

Le défi est permettre aux communautés d'être informées et associées à l'élaboration du budget, à la présentation du compte et à l'exécution du budget. La plupart des municipalités sont confrontées à des problèmes de transparence dans la présentation des comptes, des demandes de participation communautaire au processus budgétaire.

Objectif global: Accroître la transparence dans la présentation du compte aux communautés

Résultats attendus:

  • les communautés des 20 municipalités sont mieux informées de l'exécution du budget;
  • la gouvernance locale et la confiance entre les élus et les communautés locales sont améliorées;
  • le dialogue et les points d'interrogation contribuent à pacifier l'environnement social et à consolider la paix.

Jalons / livrables / activités:

Organisation de tournées de mobilisation et de sensibilisation sur les dites populations des 20 communes

Former les membres du conseil municipal aux techniques de dialogue et de redevabilité

Mise en place d'un ou plusieurs comité (s) d'organisation et de suivi du dialogue / décisions

Aménagement d'un espace de dialogue avec présence obligatoire du maire

Suivi des actions / décisions du comité

Date de début: février 2018 Date de fin: juin 2019

Le plan d'action est disponible ici

Contexte et objectifs

Cet engagement répond à la faible responsabilité et transparence des autorités locales dans la gestion du budget municipal. Pour soutenir la décentralisation, le Burkina Faso a approuvé la loi n ° 055-2004. Cette loi définit le cadre juridique régissant la nature, les compétences et les responsabilités des collectivités territoriales au Burkina Faso. L'article deux met l'accent sur le droit des collectivités territoriales à se gouverner de manière indépendante, en vue d'assurer la gouvernance locale. 126 L'article 11 protège le droit des membres de la communauté territoriale de demander des informations concernant la gestion des affaires locales. 127 En outre, l'article deux de la loi n ° 008-2013 dispose que les citoyens peuvent contrôler la gestion des fonds publics de l'administration lors des débats publics.

Conformément à la loi, les fonctionnaires chargés de la gestion du budget doivent respecter leurs obligations d'intégrité et, dans le cas contraire, les sanctions doivent être effectivement appliquées. 128 Malgré la législation existante, les citoyens peinent à tenir les autorités locales responsables de la gestion budgétaire et d'autres affaires communautaires.

De plus, les autorités élues - maires, conseillers - manquent souvent d'expérience et de connaissances techniques sur des concepts tels que la décentralisation, le développement local ou la réglementation de l'exécution et de la gestion du budget. 129 Dans certains cas, cela conduit à des violations de la loi. 130 En raison de la pression politique et de la corruption, les autorités locales modifient les postes budgétaires, ce qui a un impact sur l'exécution. 131 Les autorités locales fournissent rarement aux citoyens des informations sur l'exécution budgétaire, n'impliquent pas les acteurs locaux dans l'élaboration du budget et les évaluations de l'exécution budgétaire sont minimes. 132 L'absence d'instruments juridiques empêche également la bonne gouvernance et la responsabilité. 133

En ce qui concerne la société civile, la culture et la participation sont des domaines clés à aborder. Les individus ne connaissent pas leurs droits à l'information lorsqu'ils s'adressent aux autorités, ce qui conduit à des abus de la part des représentants locaux dans la divulgation des données sur les dépenses budgétaires. 134 Les citoyens n'ont pas correctement internalisé les concepts de participation et de gouvernance locale. Ils ne participent pas aux séances municipales et s'appuient sur les décisions des maires. 135 L'Association du monde rural (AMR en français) a lancé les Espaces de dialogue et d'interrogation communautaires (EDIC en français) en 2008 en vue d'améliorer la gestion des affaires publiques locales en favorisant la décentralisation. 136 Selon le coordinateur de l'AMR, la désinformation sur la gestion locale conduit à la frustration et provoque des conflits permanents dans les communautés. 137 Un rapport d'AMR a révélé que les contraintes financières sont également un défi pour les communautés locales pour héberger des EDIC. 138

Dans ce contexte, cet engagement vise à accroître la transparence budgétaire et la responsabilité dans les communautés locales à travers de nombreuses activités. Ces activités pourraient inclure la formation des membres des conseils municipaux sur la responsabilité budgétaire et le dialogue, le lancement de campagnes de socialisation pour promouvoir le dialogue sur l'exécution du budget au sein des 20 communautés et la création de comités de suivi et d'évaluation pour suivre les décisions adoptées par le dialogue entre les communautés et les autorités.

Cet engagement est pertinent pour la valeur OGP de la participation civique en ce qu'il créera des opportunités pour la société civile de discuter et de rencontrer les représentants locaux. L'engagement affirme qu'il offrira également des opportunités pour une plus grande transparence budgétaire grâce à un mécanisme de suivi et d'évaluation de la mise en œuvre des recommandations issues de ces dialogues. Il n'est cependant pas clair dans quelle mesure cet engagement permettra aux citoyens de tenir les fonctionnaires responsables de la mauvaise gestion budgétaire.

Tel qu'il est écrit, la plupart des activités sont suffisamment spécifiques pour être objectivement vérifiées. Les activités peuvent être vérifiées en évaluant si un espace de dialogue avec le maire a été créé; si des comités de suivi et d'évaluation ont été créés; et si des campagnes de mobilisation ont été menées dans les 20 communautés.

S'il est mis en œuvre tel qu'écrit, l'engagement contribuera à résoudre le problème, mais pas dans sa pleine mesure. Par conséquent, l'impact potentiel de cet engagement est considéré comme mineur. L'engagement ne détaille pas les sujets de discussion pour les visites de sensibilisation, ce qui rend difficile de savoir si l'engagement cible les bons problèmes. Par conséquent, il est difficile de savoir si cet engagement formera les membres de la société civile aux concepts de décentralisation, de gestion budgétaire et d'exécution. Il n'est pas non plus clair si ces visites permettront de sensibiliser aux droits et responsabilités juridiques des citoyens concernant la participation budgétaire.

L'engagement ne soutient pas les mécanismes de responsabilité juridique que la société civile peut utiliser comme ressource. Donner aux citoyens des outils pour accéder à la justice et aux informations concernant la mauvaise gestion financière, comme indiqué dans le Rapport 2016 sur la transparence au Burkina Faso 139, demeure la clé pour encourager la responsabilité financière.

L'engagement ne fait aucune référence à la mise en œuvre des recommandations du comité. Tel qu'il est écrit, l'engagement reste incertain quant à savoir si les sessions de formation pour les membres du conseil visent à renforcer les compétences techniques sur la gestion budgétaire, la décentralisation et la gouvernance. L'engagement ne fournit aucune information sur l'évaluation des sessions de formation sur la transparence et la responsabilité.

Prochaines étapes

  • Cet engagement pourrait être poursuivi et constituer une priorité.
  • Fournir une formation intensive aux membres de la société civile sur les concepts de décentralisation, encourager la participation, la gestion budgétaire, les droits légaux sur l'accès à l'information et s'adresser aux autorités. Cela guidera les membres à encourager de meilleures pratiques de responsabilisation de la part des représentants locaux.
  • Former les représentants locaux et les candidats à la gestion budgétaire, d'un point de vue technique et juridique, en s'appuyant sur les conclusions du CODESRIA, de la Banque mondiale, du CIFOEB et du gouvernement. Une meilleure éducation réduit les possibilités de conflit. Envisagez d'augmenter les compétences techniques requises pour les personnes qui se présentent en tant que représentants.
  • Inclure des activités obligeant les représentants locaux à impliquer les membres de la société civile dans l'élaboration et la discussion du budget.
  • Veiller à ce que les représentants locaux puissent accéder aux sources budgétaires et que des mécanismes juridiques soient appliqués pour prévenir la corruption et réduire l'influence de la politique locale sur la gestion budgétaire.
126 Loi n ° 055-2004 / AN portant code général des collectivités locales au Burkina Faso, Droit Afrique, http://www.droit-afrique.com/uploads/Burkina-Code-2004-collectivites-territoriales-MAJ-2018.pdf . 127 Id. 128 Assemblée nationale (Burkina Faso), Loi n ° 008-2013 / AN Code de transparence dans la gestion des finances publiques au Burkina Faso (Droit Afrique, 23 avr.2013), http://www.droit-afrique.com/upload/doc/burkina/Burkina-Loi-2013-08-transparence-gestion-finances-publiques.pdf. 129 Rapport 2016 sur l'état de la transparence budgétaire au Burkina Faso (Banque mondiale, Centre de formation, d'information et de formation budgétaires (CIFOEB), Ministère de l'économie, des finances et du développement (Burkina Faso, 2016) P. 38. https://www.veenem.bf/document-importes/5946fdaaa6c96f40b5b0d23c83a2a630.pdf 130 Augustin Loada et Samuel Guitenga, «L'appropriation de la gouvernance budgétaire au niveau des communes rurales du Burkina Faso» Rapport de recherche n ° 4 (Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique, CODESRIA, 2011) 21, https://www.codesria.org/spip.php?article1401&lang=fr. 131 Rapport 2016 sur l'état de la transparence budgétaire au Burkina Faso chez 38. 132 Id. 133 Id. 134 Loada et Samuel Guitenga à 18 ans. 135 Id. à 23. 136 «Bienvenue à AMR Burkina» (Association du monde rural, 13 mai 2008), https://amrburkina.asso-web.com/actualite-1-bienvenue-sur-amr-burkina.html. 137 Amadou Wangré (coordinateur AMR), entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM. 14 février 2019. 138 «Renforcement des capacités des administrations locales des communes de Koudougou, Sigle, Soaw, Imasgo à Boulkiemde sur la responsabilité citoyenne» (AMR, mai 2018) 11. 139 Rapport 2016 sur l'état de la transparence budgétaire au Burkina Faso (Banque mondiale, Centre de formation, d'information et de formation budgétaires (CIFOEB), Ministère de l'économie, des finances et du développement (Burkina Faso, 2016).

Engagements

  1. Mettre en œuvre la police communautaire

    BF0014, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  2. Sensibilisation à la conformité fiscale

    BF0015, 2019, infranational

  3. Transparence du secteur minier

    BF0016, 2019, Propriété véritable

  4. Réforme de la déclaration d'actifs

    BF0017, 2019, Divulgation des actifs

  5. Moderniser le système d'état civil

    BF0018, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  6. Système de traitement des plaintes

    BF0019, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  7. Accès à la justice pour les personnes vulnérables

    BF0020, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Autonomisation socio-économique des femmes et des jeunes

    BF0021, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  9. Accroître la représentation des femmes dans la prise de décision

    BF0022, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Vulgariser le comptoir virtuel de l'administration publique (GVAP)

    BF0023, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  11. Renforcer la communication sur le gouvernement ouvert

    BF0024, 2019, Gouvernement électronique

  12. Signer les protocoles d’opérations où la compétence doit être transférée aux municipalités et aux régions

    BF0001, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Respecter le délai requis pour la promulgation des lois

    BF0002, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  14. Accès des personnes vulnérables aux fonds de l'aide juridique

    BF0003, 2017, Justice

  15. Inscription en ligne aux concours post-baccalauréat et baccalauréat

    BF0004, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  16. Mécanisme d'enregistrement et de traitement des plaintes

    BF0005, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  17. Domaines judiciaires spécialisés dans les délits économiques

    BF0006, 2017, Institutions anti-corruption

  18. Comités de citoyens pour contrôler la concurrence dans l'administration publique

    BF0007, 2017, Institutions anti-corruption

  19. Capacités des comités de discipline

    BF0008, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  20. Fenêtre virtuelle de l'administration publique

    BF0009, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  21. Droit d'accès aux informations publiques et aux documents administratifs

    BF0010, 2017, Législation et Réglementation

  22. Ministère et établissement public Données en format ouvert

    BF0011, 2017, Gouvernement électronique

  23. Informations d’accès et participation des citoyens au budget de l’État

    BF0012, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

  24. Dialogue communautaire sur le budget local (EDIC)

    BF0013, 2017, Renforcement des capacités

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Burkina Faso

Community Dialogue on Local Budget (EDIC) (BF0013)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Burkina Faso Action Plan 2017-2019

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution:

Support Institution(s):

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Fiscal Transparency, Oversight of Budget/Fiscal Policies, Public Participation, Subnational

IRM Review

IRM Report: Burkina Faso Design Report 2017-2019

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

What is the public issue for which the commitment is made to address?: Low accountability on budget management within municipalities; What is the commitment?: The challenge is to allow communities to get informed, and associated in budget development, presentation of account and budget implementation. Most municipalities face transparency issues in presentation of account, claims for community participation in budget process. Global Objective : Increase transparency in presentation of account to communities Expected outcomes : • Communities of the 20 municipalities are better informed about budget implementation ; • Local governance and trust among elected representatives and local communities are improved ; • Dialogue and Questioning points contribute towards pacifying social environment and consolidating peace.; How will such commitment contribute towards addressing the public issue?: The implementation of this commitment will consist in supporting 20 municipalities with high conflict rates and which experienced pre and post electoral violence to arrange areas for community dialogue and questioning. Such areas will serve as frameworks where citizens can have direct dialogue with their elected representatives on local budget management. This will contribute towards ensuring transparency and accountability between elected representatives and local communities. This commitment builds on the assumption that culture and the promotion of dialogue, accountability and budget transparency between elected representatives and local communities reduce protests and conflicts between the two parties. This dialogue will be made in consultation with elected representatives, communities, civil society organization and government decentralized technical services.; Why is such commitment relevant in terms of PGO Values?: The commitment is relevant in PGO values, as it contributes to increase transparency, citizen participation and public accountability. Since the commitment sets a direct dialogue between communities and elected representatives on local budget management, it contributes to transparency, improvement in access to public information, and even the right of citizens to have access to budget information. By allowing citizens to participate in a direct dialogue with elected representatives on the life of the municipality in general, and on budget management especially, the commitment creates and increases opportunities or capacities of citizens to get informed and give their opinion on State goods management. As such, it increases citizen participation. When local elected representatives account for their budget management to communities through a dialogue and questioning framework, it helps to improve public accountability. This is the very purpose of this commitment.; Additional information: Links with other programs of the Civil Society : Association monde rural (AMR) ; Diakonia ; Association les mains unies du sahel (AMUS) ; Water aide ; Association Noddenooto (A2N) Links with the National Development Plan Links with other relevant national Plans of Action, such as the National Corruption Control Strategy; Important activities with deliverable outcomes that can be easily checked: Organizing mobilization and awareness raising tours on said among populations of the 20 municipalities: February 2018 - March 2018, Activity cost (in CFA F): 60 000 000; Training town council members on dialogue and accountability techniques: February 2018 - February 2018, Activity cost (in CFA F): 40 000 000; Putting in place one or more organizing and monitoring committee(s) for dialogue/decisions: February 2018 - February 2018, Activity cost (in CFA F): 15 000 000; Arranging an area for dialogue with compulsory attendance of the Mayor: March 2018 - April 2018, Activity cost (in CFA F): 15 000 000; Monitoring actions /decisions by the committee: April 2018 - May 2018, Activity cost (in CFA F): 5 000 000.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

13. Arranging areas for Community Dialogue and questioning on local budget management (EDIC)

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

“Arranging areas for Community Dialogue and questioning on local budget management (EDIC)”

The challenge is to allow communities to get informed, and associated in budget development, presentation of account and budget implementation. Most municipalities face transparency issues in presentation of account, claims for community participation in budget process.

Global Objective: Increase transparency in presentation of account to communities

Expected Outcomes:

  • communities of the 20 municipalities are better informed about budget implementation;
  • local governance and trust among elected representatives and local communities are improved;
  • dialogue and questioning points contribute towards pacifying social environment and consolidating peace.

Milestones/Deliverables/Activities:

Organizing mobilization and awareness raising tours on said among populations of the 20 municipalities

Training town council members on dialogue and accountability techniques

Putting in place one or more organizing and monitoring committee(s) for dialogue/decisions

Arranging an area for dialogue with compulsory attendance of the Mayor

Monitoring actions /decisions by the committee

Start Date: February 2018                                                                                         End Date:  June 2019

Action Plan is available here

Context and Objectives

This commitment addresses the low accountability and transparency of local authorities in municipal budget management. To support decentralization, Burkina Faso approved Law No. 055-2004. This law sets out the legal framework regulating the nature, competences, and responsibilities of territorial communities in Burkina Faso. Article two emphasizes the right of territorial communities to govern themselves independently, with a view to ensuring local governance. [126] Article 11 protects territorial community members’ right to ask for information regarding the management of local affairs. [127] In addition, article two of Law No. 008-2013 states that citizens can oversee how public funds of the administration are being managed during public debates.

According to the law, civil servants responsible for budget management must abide by their obligations of integrity, and if not, sanctions shall be effectively applied. [128] Despite existing legislation, citizens struggle to hold local authorities accountable on budget management and other community affairs.

Additionally, elected authorities–mayors, counselors−often lack the experience and technical knowledge of concepts like decentralization, local development, or regulation of budget execution and management. [129] In some cases, this leads to legal violations. [130] Due to political pressure and corruption, local authorities modify budget items, which impacts implementation. [131] Local authorities seldom provide citizens with information on budget execution, do not involve local actors in budget development, and evaluations of budget execution are minimal. [132] The absence of legal instruments also prevents good governance and accountability. [133]

Regarding civil society, culture and participation are key areas to tackle. Individuals are unaware of their rights to information in addressing authorities, which leads to abuses by local representatives in disclosing data on budget expenditures. [134] Citizens have not properly internalized the concepts of participation and local governance. They do not participate in municipal sessions and rely on mayoral decisions. [135] The Rural World Association (AMR in French) launched the Areas for Community Dialogue and Questioning (EDIC in French) in 2008 with a view toward improving management of local public affairs by fostering decentralization. [136] According to the AMR’s Coordinator, misinformation about local management leads to frustration and causes permanent conflict in communities. [137] A report from AMR found that financial constraints are also a challenge for local communities to host EDICs. [138]

In this context, this commitment seeks to increase budget transparency and accountability in local communities through many activities. These activities might include training municipal councilmembers on budget accountability and dialogue, launching socialization campaigns to promote dialogue on budget implementation within the 20 communities, and setting up monitoring and evaluation committee(s) to track decisions adopted through dialogue between communities and authorities.

This commitment is relevant to the OGP value of civic participation in that it will create opportunities for civil society to discuss and meet with local representatives. The commitment claims it will also provide opportunities for greater budgetary transparency through a monitoring and evaluation mechanism on the implementation of recommendations arising from these dialogues. It is not clear, however, to what extent this commitment will allow citizens to hold officials accountable for budget mismanagement.

As written, most of the activities are specific enough to be objectively verified. Activities can be verified by assessing whether an area for dialogue with the mayor was created; whether monitoring and evaluation committee(s) were established; and whether mobilization campaigns were conducted in the 20 communities.

If implemented as written, the commitment will contribute to solving the problem, but not to the full extent. Therefore, the potential impact of this commitment is graded as minor. The commitment does not detail discussion topics for the awareness tours, which makes it hard to know if the commitment is targeting the right issues. Therefore, it is unclear whether this commitment will train civil society members on the concepts of decentralization, budget management, and execution. Nor is it clear whether these tours will raise awareness on citizens’ legal rights and responsibilities concerning budget participation.

The commitment does not support legal accountability mechanisms that civil society can use as a resource. Empowering citizens with tools to access justice and information regarding financial mismanagement, as noted in the 2016 Report on Transparency in Burkina Faso [139], remains key to encouraging financial accountability.

The commitment makes no reference to ensuring that committee recommendations will be enforced. As written, the commitment remains unclear whether the training sessions for council members aim to enhance technical skills on budget management, decentralization, and governance. The commitment provides no information on assessing the training sessions on transparency and accountability.

Next steps

  • This commitment could be continued and be a priority.
  • Provide intensive training for civil society members on the concepts of decentralization, encouraging participation, budget management, legal rights on access to information, and addressing authorities. This will guide members to encourage better accountability practices from local representatives.
  • Train local representatives and candidates on budget management, from a technical and legal point of view, drawing on findings from CODESRIA, the World Bank, CIFOEB, and the Government. Better education reduces opportunities for conflict. Consider increasing the technical skills required for individuals running as representatives.
  • Include activities requiring local representatives to engage civil society members on the development and discussion of the budget.
  • Ensure that local representatives can access budget sources, and legal mechanisms are enforced to prevent corruption and reduce the influence of local politics on budget management.
[126] Law No. 055-2004 / AN on the General Code of local authorities in Burkina Faso, Droit Afrique, http://www.droit-afrique.com/uploads/Burkina-Code-2004-collectivites-territoriales-MAJ-2018.pdf . [127] Id. [128] National Assembly (Burkina Faso), Law No. 008-2013 / AN Transparency Code in the management of public finances in Burkina Faso (Droit Afrique, 23 Apr. 2013), http://www.droit-afrique.com/upload/doc/burkina/Burkina-Loi-2013-08-transparence-gestion-finances-publiques.pdf. [129] Report 2016 on the State of Budget Transparency in Burkina Faso (World Bank, Centre on Budget Training, Information and Training (CIFOEB), Ministry of Economy, Finance, and Development (Burkina Faso, 2016).P. 38. https://www.veenem.bf/document-importes/5946fdaaa6c96f40b5b0d23c83a2a630.pdf [130] Augustin Loada and Samuel Guitenga, “The appropriation of budget governance at the level of rural communes in Burkina Faso” Research Report No. 4 (Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa, CODESRIA, 2011) 21, https://www.codesria.org/spip.php?article1401&lang=fr. [131] Report 2016 on the State of Budget Transparency in Burkina Faso at 38. [132] Id. [133] Id. [134] Loada and Samuel Guitenga at 18. [135] Id. at 23. [136] “Welcome to AMR Burkina” (Rural World Association, 13 May 2008), https://amrburkina.asso-web.com/actualite-1-bienvenue-sur-amr-burkina.html. [137] Amadou Wangré (AMR coordinator), interview by IRM researcher. 14 February 2019. [138] “Strengthening the capacities of the local administrations of the communes of Koudougou, Sigle, Soaw, Imasgo in the Boulkiemde on the citizen's accountability” (AMR, May 2018) 11. [139] Report 2016 on the State of Budget Transparency in Burkina Faso (World Bank, Centre on Budget Training, Information and Training (CIFOEB), Ministry of Economy, Finance, and Development (Burkina Faso, 2016).

Commitments

  1. Implement community policing

    BF0014, 2019, Capacity Building

  2. Awareness-raising about tax compliance

    BF0015, 2019, Subnational

  3. Mining sector transparency

    BF0016, 2019, Beneficial Ownership

  4. Asset declaration reform

    BF0017, 2019, Asset Disclosure

  5. Modernize civil status system

    BF0018, 2019, Capacity Building

  6. Complaint Processing System

    BF0019, 2019, Capacity Building

  7. Access to justice for vulnerable people

    BF0020, 2019, Capacity Building

  8. Socio-economic empowerment for women and youth

    BF0021, 2019, Capacity Building

  9. Increase women's representation in decision-making

    BF0022, 2019, Capacity Building

  10. Popularize the Virtual Counter of Public Administration (GVAP)

    BF0023, 2019, E-Government

  11. Strengthen communication about open government

    BF0024, 2019, E-Government

  12. Sign Protocols of Operations Where Competence Shall Be Transferred to Municipalities and Regions

    BF0001, 2017, Capacity Building

  13. Respect Time Limit Required for Issuing Legal Acts

    BF0002, 2017, Capacity Building

  14. Vulnerable Persons Access to Legal Aid Funds

    BF0003, 2017, Justice

  15. Online Registration for Post-Baccalaureate and Baccalaureate Competitions

    BF0004, 2017, Capacity Building

  16. Registration and Complaints Handling Mechanism

    BF0005, 2017, Capacity Building

  17. Specialized Judicial Areas for Conomic Crimes

    BF0006, 2017, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  18. Citizen Committees to Control Racket in Public Administration

    BF0007, 2017, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  19. Capacities of Disciplinary Committees

    BF0008, 2017, Capacity Building

  20. Virtual Window of Public Administration

    BF0009, 2017, Capacity Building

  21. Right of Access to Public Information and to Administrative Documents

    BF0010, 2017, Legislation & Regulation

  22. Ministry and Public Institution Data in Open Format

    BF0011, 2017, E-Government

  23. Access Information and Citizen Involvement in State Budget

    BF0012, 2017, Capacity Building

  24. Community Dialogue on Local Budget (EDIC)

    BF0013, 2017, Capacity Building

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!