Ignorer la navigation
France

Propriété effective (FR0009)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: France, Premier plan d'action, 2015-2017

Cycle du plan d'action: 2015

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère de la justice; Ministère des finances et des comptes publics; Ministère de l'économie, de l'industrie et du numérique

Institution (s) de soutien: NA

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Beneficial ownership, Secteur privé

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin de période France 2015-2017, France Rapport d'avancement à mi-parcours 2015-2017

Étoilé: oui Suivis

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, responsabilité publique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

ENJEUX La connaissance des clients et des bénéficiaires d’activités financières est l’un des piliers de la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, la corruption et l’évasion fiscale. Il permet de détecter des opérations atypiques pouvant être liées à des transactions criminelles. Les bénéficiaires effectifs des personnes morales, tels que définis à l'article L561-2-2 du code monétaire et financier, sont "les personnes physiques qui, directement ou indirectement, contrôlent le client, ou la personne pour qui une transaction est effectuée ou une activité est réalisée ". La transparence sur les bénéficiaires effectifs peut améliorer la transparence globale des sociétés écrans et des fiducies et lutter contre le blanchiment de capitaux, la corruption et l'évasion fiscale.

CONTEXTE ET OBJECTIF En février, 5th 2013, la Commission européenne a présenté un projet de directive sur la prévention de l'utilisation du système financier pour le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme, connue sous le nom de "4th" directive anti-blanchiment d'argent ". Il a été officiellement publié en juin 5th 2015. Dans le cadre des négociations sur cette directive, un accord a été conclu le 16th 2014 de décembre sur la question des bénéficiaires effectifs. Il spécifie la création d'un registre central par État membre, avec un accès progressif (c'est-à-dire sans aucune restriction pour les autorités compétentes et les organismes de surveillance financière, dans le cadre de leurs compétences en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme pour les entités assujetties, et à la condition d'un intérêt légitime pour des tiers tels que des ONG et des journalistes). Selon l'accord de décembre 16th 2014, le texte ouvre la possibilité à un État membre, dans sa réglementation nationale, de rendre l'accès à ce registre central entièrement ouvert (considérant n ° 15 de la directive, article 30 §3 qui cite un « registre public "à titre d'exemple). Publiée le juin 5th 2015, cette directive devra être transposée dans un délai de deux ans à compter de sa publication, avec un choix de procédures d'accès au registre pour les États membres. Afin d'améliorer cette transparence, il est proposé de rendre obligatoire l'identification des propriétaires véritables de sociétés et d'autres personnes morales enregistrées en France, de centraliser ces informations dans un registre et de les rendre largement accessibles.

ROADMAP
• Utiliser un registre centralisé, composé de diverses données, y compris des données du registre public central français des sociétés appelé Registre du commerce et des sociétés (RCS), afin de conserver et de fournir un accès largement ouvert à des informations adéquates, précises et actualisées sur: aux bénéficiaires effectifs de sociétés et autres entités juridiques, conformément à la nouvelle directive 4 sur la prévention de l'utilisation du système financier aux fins de la prévention du blanchiment de capitaux et du financement du terrorisme

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

7. Identifier les bénéficiaires effectifs des personnes morales enregistrées en France

Texte d'engagement:

Identifiez les bénéficiaires effectifs des personnes morales enregistrées en France.

ROADMAP

Utiliser un registre centralisé, composé de diverses données, y compris des données du registre public central français des sociétés appelé Registre du commerce et des sociétés (RCS), afin de conserver et de fournir un accès largement ouvert à des informations adéquates, précises et actualisées sur les avantages. aux propriétaires de sociétés et autres entités juridiques, conformément à la nouvelle directive 4 sur la prévention de l'utilisation du système financier aux fins du blanchiment de capitaux et du financement du terrorisme

Note éditoriale:Ceci est une version partielle du texte d'engagement. Pour le texte de l'engagement complet, veuillez consulter le plan d'action national de la France: https://bit.ly/2MTYhsR.

Institutions responsables: Ministère de la Justice; Ministère des finances et des comptes publics; Ministère de l'économie, de l'industrie et du numérique

Institution (s) de soutien: N/A

Date de début: Non Précisé 

Date de fin: Non Précisé

But de l'engagement

Cet engagement visait à créer, publier et ouvrir un registre centralisé de la propriété réelle à la fois pour les entreprises et les fiducies.[Note68: Art. L. 561-2-2 du Code monétaire et financier définit le bénéficiaire effectif comme «la personne physique qui contrôle directement ou indirectement le client ou la personne physique pour le compte de laquelle une transaction ou une activité est menée».  La création d'un registre incluant les bénéficiaires effectifs des sociétés découle d'une série d'engagements nationaux et internationaux en matière de blanchiment d'argent, d'évasion fiscale et de corruption, tels que la quatrième directive de l'UE sur la lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent adoptée en octobre 2014. Cet engagement concernait des informations qui n’étaient pas disponibles auparavant dans un référentiel central en France et encore moins rendues publiques.

Un certain nombre d'aspects de cet engagement, ainsi que des accords internationaux pertinents, restent flous, tels que la restriction potentielle de l'UE pour les personnes ayant un «intérêt légitime». De même, l'engagement stipule que l'accès sera «largement ouvert», ce qui n'est toujours pas satisfaisant pour certaines parties prenantes de la société civile qui soulignent l'importance de l'accès de ce registre à un accès public. Néanmoins, étant donné que ces informations n’étaient pas disponibles auparavant dans un référentiel central en France, encore moins disponibles pour une publication externe, si elles sont pleinement mises en œuvre, les données publiées par les deux registres contribueront de manière significative à améliorer la transparence de la propriété effective des sociétés enregistrées en France.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

La réalisation de cet engagement a été considérée comme limitée à moyen terme. En juillet 2016, un registre public des approbations a été créé avec des données sur les approbations 16,000. Le registre a été suspendu par la Cour constitutionnelle en octobre 2016, à la suite d'une plainte judiciaire pour violation de la vie privée. Après une tentative infructueuse de création d’un registre public des bénéficiaires effectifs pour les fiducies, aucun des registres n’était disponible au moment de la rédaction du rapport à mi-parcours (décembre 2016).

Infogreffe, l'entité responsable du registre du commerce et des sociétés, a publié des jeux de données au format Open Data. Les parties prenantes ont noté qu'il manquait des informations importantes telles que le nom du dirigeant de la société et le nombre de sociétés enregistrées en France. Il y a aussi des problèmes avec la qualité des données. Transparency International France a signalé que les données clés n'étaient pas définies. Les données n'étaient disponibles qu'en format PDF ou image et n'étaient pas normalisées.

Fin du terme: substantiel

Au cours de la deuxième année, le gouvernement a pris des mesures pour résoudre les problèmes de confidentialité recensés dans la décision de la Cour constitutionnelle 2016 d'octobre et pour identifier les bénéficiaires effectifs d'entités juridiques enregistrées en France. Les décrets d'application révisés adoptés au cours de la deuxième année fixent des délais et des exigences pour la création de deux registres énumérant les propriétaires véritables des personnes morales et des trusts, respectivement.[Note69: équipe Etalab, communication personnelle avec un chercheur en IRM, 23 Oct. 2017.] Le délai pour se conformer aux nouvelles exigences est en dehors de la période de révision et comme aucun des deux registres ne sera ouvert au public, il est impossible d'évaluer le niveau de conformité. Le décret n ° 2017-1094 répertorie toutefois les personnes et entités ayant accès aux informations contenues dans les registres.[Note70: La liste comprend, sans toutefois s'y limiter, les juges, les fonctionnaires des douanes, les fonctionnaires de la direction générale des finances publiques, les responsables de l'application de la loi] Le chercheur de l'IRM estime donc que cet engagement est en grande partie réalisé.

Suite à la décision de la Cour constitutionnelle d'octobre 2016, déclarant inconstitutionnel le deuxième paragraphe de l'article 1649 AB, l'article a été remplacé par l'article 10 du décret no. 2016-1635 du 1er décembre 2016, qui transpose et met en œuvre les dispositions de la quatrième directive anti-blanchiment de l'UE (Directive UE 2015/849, 20 mai 2015) en droit interne français. Le décret crée un registre des bénéficiaires effectifs pour les établissements de crédit, les établissements de monnaie électronique et les intermédiaires bancaires. La liste complète des entités se trouve dans le décret no. 2016-1635, article 2. Le décret impose aux sociétés et groupes de sociétés français et étrangers d'identifier et d'enregistrer leurs bénéficiaires effectifs ultimes avant le 1er août 2017 pour les nouvelles sociétés et le 1er avril 2018 pour les sociétés existantes.

Le décret résout également le problème de la protection de la vie privée identifié par la décision de la Cour constitutionnelle en précisant que les registres des bénéficiaires effectifs ne seront pas ouverts au public, mais seront accessibles aux personnes et entités énumérées dans le décret n ° 2017-1094 du 12 de juin 2017 lorsque agissant conformément à leurs pouvoirs autorisés. Les citoyens justifiant d'un intérêt légitime dans l'information peuvent demander l'accès au registre par le biais d'une ordonnance judiciaire.[Note71: Infogreffe, Registre des bénéficiaires effectifs (Infogreffe, 25 Jul 2017), https://www.infogreffe.com/registre-des-beneficiaires-effectifs (consulté sur 28 September 2017).] Au cours d'un entretien, l'équipe d'Etalab a indiqué que la jurisprudence clarifierait ce que l'on entend par «justifier l'intérêt légitime».

Deux textes traitent actuellement de la question de la propriété effective: la loi n ° 2016-1691, appelée loi Sapin II, a adopté le 9 décembre 2016 et le décret n ° 2016-1635 a adopté le 1 décembre 2016. Il existe donc deux lois qui fournissent des indications sur la propriété effective et peuvent créer de la confusion. Etalab a précisé que le décret n ° 2016-1635 et le décret correspondant n ° 2017-1094 du 12 de juin 2017 étaient la norme à appliquer.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal

Les informations sur les bénéficiaires effectifs n'étaient pas disponibles dans un référentiel central en France. Cet engagement représente donc une amélioration significative dans l'identification des bénéficiaires effectifs. L'engagement stipule que le registre devrait fournir un «accès largement ouvert». La déclaration initiale est ambiguë et il est donc difficile d'évaluer le système sélectionné par rapport à l'objectif initial du plan d'action national. Cependant, il est clair que le registre de propriété effective envisagé serait largement ouvert au public. Malgré les préoccupations légitimes soulevées par la Cour constitutionnelle en matière de protection de la vie privée, le fait que le public n’a pas accès à des informations centralisées fait qu’il est difficile de considérer que ces activités ont considérablement ouvert la pratique gouvernementale dans ce domaine politique. En tant que tel, cet engagement a ouvert marginalement le gouvernement en matière d'accès à l'information.

Ordonnance no. 2016-1635 et la loi n ° 2016-1691 imposent aux sociétés et aux trusts de communiquer des informations sur leurs bénéficiaires effectifs au tribunal de commerce. C'est un progrès dans la lutte de la France contre le blanchiment d'argent et l'évasion fiscale. La directive européenne 2015 / 849 / UE encourage les États membres à fournir un large accès aux informations contenues dans le registre, mais le cadre juridique en France ne permet l'accès qu'à un groupe restreint d'entités. Les citoyens ayant un intérêt légitime dans l'information sont tenus de demander l'accès à cette information par le biais d'une ordonnance judiciaire. L'ambiguïté du terme «intérêt légitime» rend difficile de comprendre qui est autorisé à faire une demande d'accès.

Reportés?

Cet engagement n'a pas été reporté dans le prochain plan d'action.


Engagements

  1. Transparence des services publics

    FR0030, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Transparence des marchés publics

    FR0031, 2018, Accès à l'information

  3. Transparence de l'aide au développement

    FR0032, 2018, Accès à l'information

  4. Développer les données ouvertes

    FR0033, 2018, Accès à l'information

  5. Politiques et administration améliorées des données

    FR0034, 2018, Accès à l'information

  6. Transparence des algorithmes publics

    FR0035, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  7. Open Data au niveau sous-national

    FR0036, 2018, Accès à l'information

  8. State AI Lab

    FR0037, 2018, Prise de décision automatisée

  9. Renforcement des capacités administratives

    FR0038, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Incubateurs de service public

    FR0039, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  11. Rationaliser les flux de données

    FR0040, 2018, Accès à l'information

  12. Open Etat Forum

    FR0041, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  13. Tableau de bord des procédures en ligne

    FR0042, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Sommet Govtech

    FR0043, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  15. Mécanismes de consultation publique imrove

    FR0044, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  16. Transparence internationale et participation citoyenne

    FR0045, 2018, Aide

  17. Participation publique au développement durable

    FR0046, 2018, Accès à l'information

  18. Science ouverte

    FR0047, 2018, Accès à l'information

  19. Participation citoyenne à la Cour des comptes

    FR0048, 2018, Accès à l'information

  20. Transparence des représentants d'intérêts

    FR0049, 2018, Accès à l'information

  21. Accès à l'information sur les agents publics

    FR0050, 2018, Accès à l'information

  22. Données ouvertes sur les autorités régionales et locales

    FR0001, 2015, Accès à l'information

  23. Publication en ligne des décisions et des rapports du conseil municipal

    FR0002, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  24. Publier des permis de construire en format Open Data

    FR0003, 2015, Accès à l'information

  25. Engagement étoilé Augmenter la transparence des marchés publics

    FR0004, 2015, Accès à l'information

  26. Améliorer la transparence de l'aide internationale au développement

    FR0005, 2015, Accès à l'information

  27. Accès ouvert aux évaluations des politiques publiques

    FR0006, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  28. Impliquer les citoyens dans les travaux des comptes

    FR0007, 2015, Accès à l'information

  29. Accès aux obligations de transparence des agents publics

    FR0008, 2015, Accès à l'information

  30. Engagement étoilé Beneficial ownership

    FR0009, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  31. Transparence dans les industries extractives

    FR0010, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  32. Transparence dans les négociations commerciales internationales

    FR0011, 2015, Accès à l'information

  33. Réparer mon quartier

    FR0012, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  34. Fix-It numérique

    FR0013, 2015, Accès à l'information

  35. Coproduire l'infrastructure de données avec la société civile

    FR0014, 2015, Accès à l'information

  36. Engagement étoilé Ressources juridiques ouvertes

    FR0015, 2015, Accès à l'information

  37. Mécanismes participatifs de réforme

    FR0016, 2015, Règlement ouvert

  38. Médiation et justice

    FR0017, 2015, Accès à la justice

  39. Engagement étoilé Ouvrir et diffuser des données

    FR0018, 2015, Accès à l'information

  40. Modèles de calcul ouverts et simulateurs

    FR0019, 2015, Accès à l'information

  41. Plateforme ouverte pour les ressources gouvernementales

    FR0020, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  42. Améliorer les services publics grâce au e-gouvernement et à l'interaction des utilisateurs

    FR0021, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  43. Habiliter la société civile à soutenir les écoles

    FR0022, 2015, Gouvernement électronique

  44. Diversifier les recrutements au sein des institutions publiques

    FR0023, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  45. Changement de culture

    FR0024, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  46. Diffuser l'innovation publique

    FR0025, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  47. Engagement étoilé Protéger contre les conflits d'intérêts

    FR0026, 2015, Anti-Corruption

  48. Société civile et transparence dans la planification des conférences COP21

    FR0027, 2015, Environnement et climat

  49. Données ouvertes et climat / développement durable

    FR0028, 2015, Accès à l'information

  50. Collaborer avec la société civile sur le climat et le développement durable

    FR0029, 2015, Environnement et climat

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
France

Beneficial Ownership (FR0009)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: France, First Action Plan, 2015-17

Action Plan Cycle: 2015

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Justice; Ministry of Finance and Public Accounts; Ministry of the Economy, Industry and the Digital Sector

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Beneficial Ownership, Private Sector

IRM Review

IRM Report: France End-of-Term Report 2015-2017, France Mid-Term Progress Report 2015-2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Public Accountability , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

STAKES Knowing clients and beneficiaries of financial activities is one of the pillars of the fight against money laundering, corruption and tax evasion. It enables to detect atypical operations that may be related to criminal transactions. The beneficial owners of legal entities, as defined in Article L561-2-2 of the French monetary and financial code are "the individuals who, directly or indirectly, control the client, or the individual for whom a transaction is executed or an activity is carried out". Transparency on beneficial owners can improve the overall transparency of shell companies and trusts and fight against money laundering, corruption and tax evasion.

CONTEXT & AIM On February 5th 2013, the European Commission presented a draft directive on preventing the use of the financial system for money laundering and terror financing, known as the “4th anti-money laundering directive”. It was officially published on June 5th 2015. In the context of negotiating this directive, an agreement was reached on December 16th 2014 on the question of beneficial owners. It specifies the creation of a central register per Member State, with a gradual access (i.e. with no restrictions for competent authorities and financial surveillance bodies, in the context of their competencies relating to the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing for the obliged entities, and with the condition of a legitimate interest for third-parties such as NGOs and journalists). According to the agreement of December 16th 2014, the text opens the possibility for a Member State, in its national regulation, to make the access to this central register fully open (recital #15 of the Directive, article 30 §3 which quotes a “public register” as an example). Published on June 5th 2015, this Directive will have to be transposed within two years from its publication, with a choice of procedures for accessing the register for Member States. In order to improve this transparency, it is proposed to make the identification of beneficial owners of companies and other legal entities registered in France mandatory, to centralize this information in a register and to make this information widely open.

ROADMAP
• Use a centralized registry, composed of various data, including data from the French central public registry for companies called Registre du Commerce et des Sociétés (RCS), in order to keep and provide a widely open access to adequate, accurate and timely information on beneficial owners of companies and other legal entities, consistently with the new 4th Directive on the prevention of the use of the financial system for the purpose of money laundering and terrorist financing provisions

IRM End of Term Status Summary

7. Identify beneficial owners of legal entities registered in France

Commitment Text:

Identify the beneficial owners of legal entities registered in France.

ROADMAP

Use a centralized registry, composed of various data, including data from the French central public registry for companies called Registre du Commerce et des Sociétés (RCS), in order to keep and provide a widely open access to adequate, accurate and timely information on beneficial owners of companies and other legal entities, consistently with the new 4th Directive on the prevention of the use of the financial system for the purpose of money laundering and terrorist financing provisions

Editorial Note:This is a partial version of the commitment text. For the full commitment text please see France's national action plan: https://bit.ly/2MTYhsR.

Responsible Institutions: Ministry of Justice; Ministry of Finance and Public Accounts; Ministry of the Economy, Industry and the Digital Sector

Supporting Institution(s): N/A

Start Date: Not Specified 

End Date: Not Specified

Commitment Aim

This commitment aimed to create, publish, and open a centralised beneficial ownership register for both companies and trusts.[Note68: Art. L. 561-2-2 of the Monetary and Financial Code defines a beneficial owner as “the natural person who directly or indirectly controls the client or the natural person on whose behalf a transaction or activity is being conducted.”  The creation of a registry including company beneficial ownership stemmed from a series of national and international commitments on money laundering, tax evasion, and corruption, such as the EU's fourth Anti-Money Laundering Directive (AMLD) adopted in October 2014. This commitment addressed information not been previously available in a central repository in France, much less made publicly available.

A number of aspects of this commitment, as well as relevant international agreements, remain unclear, such as the EU's potential restriction on people with a ‘legitimate interest.' Similarly, the commitment states that access will be “widely open,” which is still not satisfactory for some civil society stakeholders who underline the importance of this register being fully publicly accessible. Nonetheless, since this information has not been available previously in a central repository in France, let alone available for external publication, if fully implemented the data released by the two registers will significantly contribute to improving transparency of beneficial ownership by companies registered in France.

Status

Midterm: Limited

Completion of this commitment was considered limited by the midterm. In July 2016, a public register of trusts was created with data on 16,000 trusts. The register was suspended by the Constitutional Court in October 2016, following a judicial complaint on the grounds of privacy violation. After a failed attempt to create a public register of beneficial ownership for trusts, none of the registers were available at the time of writing the midterm report (December 2016).

Infogreffe, the entity responsible for the company register (“Registre du commerce et des sociétés”), has released datasets in open data format. Stakeholders have noted that important information such as the name of the company director and the number of companies registered in France is missing. There are also issues with the quality of the data. Transparency International France has signalled that key data are not defined. Data was only available in PDF or image format and was not standardised.

End of Term: Substantial

In the second year, the government took steps to resolve the privacy concerns identified in the October 2016 Constitutional Court decision and identify beneficial owners of legal entities registered in France. Revised implementation decrees enacted during the second year set timelines and requirements for the creation of two registers to list the beneficial owners of legal persons and trusts respectively.[Note69: Etalab team, personal communication with IRM researcher, 23 Oct. 2017.] The deadline for complying with the new requirements is outside of the review period and since neither register will be open for public access, it is not possible to assess the level of compliance. Decree n° 2017-1094, however, lists the people and entities with access to the information contained in the registers.[Note70: The list includes, but is not limited to, judges, customs officials, officials from the Public finance general directorate, law enforcement officials] The IRM researcher, therefore, finds this commitment to be substantially completed.

Following the Constitutional Court's decision of October 2016, declaring the second paragraph of Article 1649 AB unconstitutional, the article was replaced by Article 10 of Decree no. 2016-1635 dated 1 December 2016, which transposes and implements provisions from the EU fourth anti-money laundering directive (EU Directive 2015/849, 20 May 2015) into French domestic law. The decree creates a register of beneficial owners for credit institutions, electronic currency institutions, and banking intermediaries. The full list of entities can be found in of Decree no. 2016-1635, Article 2. The decree requires French and foreign companies and corporate groups to identify and register their ultimate beneficial owners by 1 August 2017 for new companies and 1 April 2018 for existing companies.

The decree also resolves the privacy issue identified by the Constitutional Court decision by specifying that registers of beneficial owners will not be open to the public, but will be accessible to the persons and entities listed in Decree n° 2017-1094 dated 12 June 2017 when acting in accordance with their authorised powers. Citizens justifying a legitimate interest in the information can request access to the register through a judicial ordinance.[Note71: Infogreffe, Registre des bénéficiaires effectifs (Infogreffe, 25 Jul 2017), https://www.infogreffe.com/registre-des-beneficiaires-effectifs (accessed on 28 September 2017).] During an interview, the Etalab team indicated that case law would clarify what is meant by “justifying legitimate interest.”

Two texts currently cover the issue of beneficial ownership: Law n° 2016-1691, referred to as “loi Sapin II,” adopted 9 December 2016 and decree n° 2016-1635 adopted 1 December 2016. There are thus two laws that provide guidance on beneficial ownership and can create confusion. Etalab clarified that decree n° 2016-1635 and its related decree, n° 2017-1094 dated 12 June 2017, were the standard which would be implemented.

Did It Open Government?

Access to Information: Marginal

Information on beneficial owners was not previously available in a central repository in France. This commitment thus represents a significant improvement in identifying beneficial owners. The commitment states that the register should provide “widely open access.” The initial statement is ambiguous and it is thus difficult to assess the selected system against the initial goal of the national action plan. However, it is clear that the envisioned beneficial ownership register would be widely open to the public. Despite the valid privacy concerns raised by the Constitutional Court, the lack of public access to centralised information makes it difficult to consider that these activities significantly opened government practice in this policy area. As such, this commitment marginally opened government regarding access to information.

Ordinance no. 2016-1635 and Law n° 2016-1691 require companies and trusts to communicate information about their beneficial owners to the Commercial Court. This is progress in France's struggle against money-laundering and tax evasion. The EU Directive 2015/849/UE encourages member states to provide wide access to information contained in the register but the legal framework in France only provides access to a select group of entities. Citizens with a legitimate interest in the information are required to make a request to access this information through a judicial ordinance. The ambiguity of the term “legitimate interest” makes it hard to understand who is allowed to make an access request.

Carried Forward?

This commitment was not carried over to the next action plan.


France's Commitments

  1. Transparency of Public Services

    FR0030, 2018, E-Government

  2. Transparency of Public Procurement

    FR0031, 2018, E-Government

  3. Transparency of Development Aid

    FR0032, 2018, Aid

  4. Expand open data

    FR0033, 2018, E-Government

  5. Improved data policies and administration

    FR0034, 2018, Capacity Building

  6. Transparency of Public Algorithms

    FR0035, 2018, E-Government

  7. Open data at sub-national level

    FR0036, 2018, Capacity Building

  8. State AI lab

    FR0037, 2018, Capacity Building

  9. Administrative capacity-building

    FR0038, 2018, Capacity Building

  10. Public Service Incubators

    FR0039, 2018, Capacity Building

  11. Streamline data flows

    FR0040, 2018, E-Government

  12. Open Etat forum

    FR0041, 2018, E-Government

  13. Online procedures dashboard

    FR0042, 2018, E-Government

  14. GovTech summit

    FR0043, 2018, Capacity Building

  15. Imrove public consultation mechanisms

    FR0044, 2018, E-Government

  16. International transparency and citizen participation

    FR0045, 2018, Aid

  17. Public pariticipation in sustainable development

    FR0046, 2018, Capacity Building

  18. Open Science

    FR0047, 2018, E-Government

  19. Citizen involvement in Cour des Comptes

    FR0048, 2018, Capacity Building

  20. Private sector transparency

    FR0049, 2018, Asset Disclosure

  21. Access to information on public officials

    FR0050, 2018, Asset Disclosure

  22. Open Regional and Local Authorities' Data

    FR0001, 2015, Fiscal Transparency

  23. Publish municipal council decisions and reports online

    FR0002, 2015, E-Government

  24. Publish building permits in open data format

    FR0003, 2015, Open Data

  25. Starred commitment Increase Transparency in Public Procurement

    FR0004, 2015, Open Contracting and Procurement

  26. Improve Transparency in International Development Aid

    FR0005, 2015, Aid

  27. Open Access to Public Policy Evaluations

    FR0006, 2015, E-Government

  28. Involve Citizens in Cour des Comptes Work

    FR0007, 2015, Fiscal Transparency

  29. Access to Public Officials Transparency Obligations

    FR0008, 2015, E-Government

  30. Starred commitment Beneficial Ownership

    FR0009, 2015, Beneficial Ownership

  31. Transparency in Extractive Industries

    FR0010, 2015, Extractive Industries

  32. Transparency in International Trade Commercial Negotiations

    FR0011, 2015, Labor

  33. Fix My Neighborhood

    FR0012, 2015, E-Government

  34. Digital Fix-it

    FR0013, 2015, Open Data

  35. Co-produce Data Infrastructure with Civil Society

    FR0014, 2015, Open Data

  36. Starred commitment Open Legal Resources

    FR0015, 2015, Legislation & Regulation

  37. Reform Participatory Mechanisms

    FR0016, 2015, Public Participation

  38. Mediation and Justice

    FR0017, 2015, Judiciary

  39. Starred commitment Open and Circulate Data

    FR0018, 2015, Land & Spatial Planning

  40. Open Calculation Models and Simulators

    FR0019, 2015, Open Data

  41. Open Platform for Government Resources

    FR0020, 2015, E-Government

  42. Improve Public Services through E-Government and User Interaction

    FR0021, 2015, E-Government

  43. Empower Civil Society to Support Schools

    FR0022, 2015, E-Government

  44. Diversify Recruitment within Public Institutions

    FR0023, 2015, Capacity Building

  45. Culture Change

    FR0024, 2015, Capacity Building

  46. Spread Public Innovation

    FR0025, 2015, Capacity Building

  47. Starred commitment Protect Against Conflicts of Interest

    FR0026, 2015, Conflicts of Interest

  48. Civil Society & Transparency in COP21 Conference Planning

    FR0027, 2015, Environment and Climate

  49. Open data and Climate/Sustainable Development

    FR0028, 2015, Open Data

  50. Collaborate with Civil Society on Climate and Sustainable Development

    FR0029, 2015, Environment and Climate