Ignorer la navigation
Irlande

Améliorer la transparence des fournisseurs de services gouvernementaux (IE0041)

Présentation

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national irlandais 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution directrice: Département des dépenses publiques et de la réforme

Institution (s) de soutien: ministère de la Santé, ministère de l'Éducation, ministère de la Défense, secteur des administrations locales. Tous les ministères qui, directement ou indirectement, accordent des subventions à des organisations pour qu'elles fournissent des services en leur nom.

Domaines politiques

Transparence fiscale, Open Contracting et Procurement, Open Data

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Irlande Rapport de fin de trimestre 2016-2018, Irlande Rapport à mi-parcours 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Conception i

Vérifiable: oui

Relatives aux valeurs OGP: Accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Le gouvernement améliorera la transparence des organisations fournissant des services en son nom, qu'elles soient financées par une subvention ou par un contrat de service. Objectif: augmenter la diffusion de données, de préférence lisibles à la machine, sur les organisations fournissant des services pour le compte du gouvernement. Cela inclura des données financières vérifiées, des données de conformité et des données sur la performance en cours. Statu quo: le gouvernement a créé le Bureau des marchés publics en 2013 afin de permettre aux contribuables de réaliser des économies plus durables et plus rentables, d'intégrer la politique, la stratégie et les opérations en matière de passation des marchés, d'assurer la cohérence et de normaliser l'approche en matière de marchés publics, d'atteindre des objectifs plus généraux en matière de politique. cohérente et renforcer l’analyse des dépenses d’achat et la gestion des données. Les dispositions législatives des directives européennes sur les marchés publics prévoient la publication des avis de marché et d'attribution des marchés pour les marchés dépassant les seuils applicables de l'UE. Cependant, le Bureau des marchés publics est allé plus loin dans la promotion d'une plus grande ouverture et transparence et a pour politique d'obliger les acheteurs à publier des avis de marché et d'attribution pour les marchés d'un montant supérieur à 25k € pour les biens et services et de 50k € pour les travaux sur eTenders. En Irlande, le gouvernement distribue chaque année des milliards d'euros à des organismes à but non lucratif afin de fournir des services qui, dans d'autres juridictions, sont souvent fournis directement par l'État. En ce qui concerne les services financés par des subventions, chaque financeur recueille des données détaillées sur la conformité et les performances, mais celles-ci ne sont généralement pas publiées au niveau de chaque organisation bénéficiaire. Dans 2014, le Département des dépenses publiques et de la réforme a publié une circulaire (13 / 2014) visant à améliorer la gestion et la responsabilisation des subventions provenant des fonds du Trésor. Dans 2015, le gouvernement a cofinancé Benefacts.ie pour centraliser, numériser et publier toutes les données réglementaires sur toutes les organisations à but non lucratif en Irlande. Bien que Benefacts ait considérablement amélioré la transparence, elle repose uniquement sur les dépôts réglementaires vérifiés et n’inclut pas les données de conformité ou de performance collectées par les mandants. Ambition: Nous évaluerons la pertinence des clauses de transparence standard pour tous les grands contrats de service et accords de subvention dans un contexte irlandais. Nous identifierons les améliorations requises dans l'infrastructure de données et les pratiques de conformité afin de faciliter la diffusion proactive des données dans tous les grands contrats de service et accords de subvention, le cas échéant. Principales organisations chargées de la mise en œuvre: Département des dépenses publiques et de la réforme 26 Calendrier: juin 2018.
Engagement 8: Améliorer la transparence des prestataires de services gouvernementaux. Valeurs OGP Accès à l'information, Responsabilité publique, Technologie et innovation Engagement nouveau ou en cours Nouvel organisme responsable de la mise en œuvre Département des dépenses publiques et de la réforme Autres acteurs impliqués - ministère de la Santé, ministère de l'Éducation, ministère de la Défense, secteur des administrations locales. Tous les ministères qui, directement ou indirectement, accordent des subventions à des organisations pour qu'elles fournissent des services en leur nom. Jalons vérifiables et mesurables pour remplir l'engagement. Nouveau ou en cours, Date de début Date de fin. Entreprendre une évaluation stratégique de l'infrastructure de données des contrats et des pratiques de conformité en matière de transparence des contrats afin d'identifier les modifications nécessaires pour: - transmettre les données au niveau intermédiaire de Open Contracting Data Standard de Open Contracting Partnership, et - être en mesure de respecter les exigences d'une clause de transparence standard dans tous grands contrats de services si une telle clause devait être appliquée Nouveau Jan 2017 Juin 2018 Évaluer l’impact des clauses de transparence dans d’autres juridictions et consulter des organismes publics et des représentants de l’industrie sur l’introduction d’une clause de transparence standard afin de prendre une décision finale concernant mise en œuvre d'une clause de transparence standard dans les contrats de service. Nouveau janvier 2017 Juin 2018 Réaliser une évaluation stratégique de l'infrastructure de données sur le financement et des pratiques de conformité pour le financement afin d'identifier les modifications nécessaires pour: Nouveau janvier 2017 Sept 2017 27 - Fournir des données équivalentes au niveau de base Open Contracting Data Standard de Open Contracting Partnership - pouvoir Répondre aux exigences d'une clause de transparence standard dans toutes les principales conventions de subvention. Consulter les organismes publics et les organisations financées par subvention sur l'introduction d'un modèle de clause de transparence afin d'informer d'une décision finale sur la mise en œuvre d'une clause de transparence standard dans les conventions de subvention. Nouveau Jan 2017 June 2018.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

8. Améliorer la transparence des fournisseurs de services gouvernementaux

Texte d'engagement:

Objectif: Accroître la diffusion de données, de préférence lisibles à la machine, sur les organisations fournissant des services pour le compte du gouvernement. Cela inclura des données financières vérifiées, des données de conformité et des données sur la performance en cours.

Milestones

8.1. Entreprendre une évaluation stratégique de l'infrastructure de données des contrats et des pratiques de conformité en matière de transparence des contrats afin d'identifier les changements nécessaires pour:

· transmettre les données au niveau intermédiaire Open Contract Data Standard de l'Open Contracting Partnership, et

· être en mesure de respecter les exigences d'une clause de transparence standard dans tous les grands contrats de services si une telle clause devait être mise en œuvre

8.2. Évaluer l'impact des clauses de transparence dans d'autres juridictions et consulter les organismes publics et les représentants de l'industrie sur l'introduction d'une clause de transparence standard afin d'informer une décision finale sur la mise en œuvre d'une clause de transparence standard dans les contrats de service.

8.3. Entreprendre une évaluation stratégique de l'infrastructure de données sur le financement des subventions et des pratiques de conformité du financement des subventions afin de déterminer les changements nécessaires pour:

· fournir des données équivalentes au niveau de base du contrat Open Contracting Data Standard de Open Contracting Partnership

· être en mesure de respecter les exigences d'une clause de transparence standard dans toutes les principales conventions de subvention

8.4. Consulter les organismes publics et les organismes financés par des subventions sur l'introduction d'un modèle de clause de transparence afin d'informer d'une décision finale sur la mise en œuvre d'une clause de transparence standard dans les accords de subvention.

Institution responsable: Département des dépenses publiques et de la réforme

Institutions d'appui: Département de la santé, Département de l'éducation, Département de la défense, secteur des administrations locales. Tous les ministères qui, directement ou indirectement, accordent des subventions à des organisations pour qu'elles fournissent des services en leur nom.

Date de début: Janvier 2017

Date de fin: Juin 2018

Note éditoriale: Le texte de l'engagement a été abrégé pour des raisons de mise en forme. Pour un texte d'engagement complet, visitez: https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Ireland_NAP_2016-2018.pdf.

Contexte et objectifs

Le gouvernement irlandais alloue Des milliards d’euros de subventions chaque année pour permettre à diverses organisations non gouvernementales de fournir des services à l’État irlandais.[Note: 'Où va votre argent? Le nouveau site Web fournit une ventilation détaillée des dépenses du gouvernement ', TheJournal.ie, 11 April 2017, http://www.thejournal.ie/government-money-website-3333906-Apr2017/.] Cet engagement vise à accroître la transparence pour tous les grands contrats de services et accords de subvention par la diffusion de données sur les fonds publics reçus par des organisations fournissant des services. Cela permettra aux citoyens de mieux savoir qui obtient de l'État des subventions et des contrats pour la fourniture de certains services. Plus spécifiquement, l'engagement appelle à:

Milestone 8.1: Entreprendre une évaluation stratégique de l'infrastructure de données des contrats et des pratiques de conformité en matière de transparence des contrats.

Milestone 8.2: Évaluer l'impact des clauses de transparence d'autres juridictions, en consultation avec des organismes publics et des représentants de l'industrie, sur l'introduction d'une clause de transparence standard,

Milestone 8.3: Entreprendre une évaluation stratégique de l'infrastructure de données sur le financement des subventions et des pratiques de conformité aux subventions,

Milestone 8.4: Consulter les organismes publics et les organismes subventionnés sur l'introduction d'un modèle de clause de transparence.

Étant donné que l'objectif est d'accroître l'information disponible sur les contrats et les subventions du gouvernement et de tenir effectivement l'État responsable des fonds qu'il a affectés à ces fins, cet engagement est pertinent pour la valeur du PGO de l'accès à l'information, ce qui promouvoir la transparence dans l'exercice des fonctions gouvernementales. Les jalons incluent des activités raisonnablement vérifiables, telles que les évaluations stratégiques pour les jalons 8.1 et 8.3 qui nécessitent la transmission de données sur les contrats et les subventions Niveau de base de la base de données Open Contracting de Open Contracting Partnership. Par conséquent, la spécificité globale est codée comme élevé. Toutefois, les «leaders de l'industrie» des consultations dans Milestone 8.2 et avec les «organismes subventionnés» dans Milestone 8.4 sont moins spécifiques, étant donné que les contrats de services sont accordés à une pléthore d'entreprises et d'organisations. De même, il est difficile de savoir à quoi «autres juridictions» se réfère et quels sont les critères de référence théoriques exacts pour l'évaluation des clauses de transparence. Étant donné qu’il n’y aura pas de modification législative, l’impact potentiel est mineur. Par exemple, une consultation sur le l'introduction d'une clause de transparence standard dans les accords de subvention, conformément à l'étape clé 8.4, ne sera pas nécessairement soumise à une loi en résultant, qui en fait une obligation statutaire pour toutes les accords de subvention à venir. Sans de telles procédures garanties par la loi, l'impact potentiel est mineur.

Aboutissement

L’avancement global de cet engagement n’a pas commencé et il est en retard. Selon le gouvernement rapport d'étape, une première réunion a eu lieu entre le bureau de la réforme et de la mise en œuvre, le Bureau des marchés publics et le directeur du Partenariat ouvert pour les marchés publics en janvier, à propos des jalons 2017 et 8.1. Aucun rapport sur les jalons 8.2 et 8.3 dans le rapport d'activité du gouvernement. Aucune partie prenante n’a été consultée au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre, ce qui aurait théoriquement eu lieu lors de la mise en œuvre des jalons 8.4 et 8.2.

Prochaines étapes

Dans le cas probable où l'engagement ne serait pas mis en œuvre, il devrait être reporté dans le prochain plan d'action. Cependant, le chercheur de l'IRM recommande que le texte de l'engagement soit modifié pour deux raisons. Premièrement, le texte doit être rédigé dans un langage simple, identifiant clairement les objectifs. Deuxièmement, il devrait identifier plus explicitement à la fois le changement de pratique à obtenir lorsque l’engagement est rempli avec succès et le obligations légales pour toutes les conventions de subvention pouvant être élaborées à l'avenir afin d'assurer la transparence à l'avenir.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM


Engagements

  1. Promouvoir le développement d'une politique climatique transparente

    IE0031, 2016, Environnement et climat

  2. Soutenir les réseaux de participation publique

    IE0032, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  3. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: réduire les coûts

    IE0033, 2016, pouvoir judiciaire

  4. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: cadre d'aide aux personnes vulnérables

    IE0034, 2016, pouvoir judiciaire

  5. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: surveillance des praticiens du droit

    IE0035, 2016, Justice

  6. Améliorer l'engagement des citoyens dans l'élaboration des politiques: généralités

    IE0036, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  7. Améliorer l'engagement des citoyens dans l'élaboration des politiques: les jeunes

    IE0037, 2016, Communautés marginalisées

  8. Améliorer l'engagement des clients

    IE0038, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  9. Améliorer l'accès aux services gouvernementaux grâce à la technologie

    IE0039, 2016, renforcement des capacités

  10. Budgets participatifs

    IE0040, 2016, Participation aux processus budgétaires

  11. Améliorer la transparence des fournisseurs de services gouvernementaux

    IE0041, 2016, transparence fiscale

  12. Améliorer la transparence fiscale

    IE0042, 2016, transparence fiscale

  13. Introduire des procédures modernes de gestion de documents

    IE0043, 2016, Législation et Réglementation

  14. Développer une stratégie Open Data 2017-2020

    IE0044, 2016, gouvernement électronique

  15. Investissez dans une infrastructure de données qui améliorera les données ouvertes

    IE0045, 2016, Législation et Réglementation

  16. Engagement étoilé Élaborer un code de pratique pour la gouvernance des organismes de bienfaisance

    IE0046, 2016,

  17. Engagement étoilé Projet de loi sur les normes du secteur public

    IE0047, 2016, Institutions anti-corruption

  18. Etablir un registre de propriété effective

    IE0048, 2016, Asset Disclosure

  19. Établissement de normes de meilleures pratiques pour les données ouvertes

    IE0001, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  20. Création de la plateforme de données ouvertes d'Irlande

    IE0002, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  21. Réaliser un audit des ensembles de données clés pour publication

    IE0003, 2014, Open Data

  22. Établir une feuille de route pour les données ouvertes et un cadre d'évaluation permettant d'évaluer les données ouvertes en cours

    IE0004, 2014, Open Data

  23. Création d'un conseil de gouvernance Open Data Ireland (ODIGB) et d'un groupe de pilotage et de mise en œuvre (SIG) pour Open Data Ireland

    IE0005, 2014, Open Data

  24. Inscription à la charte G8 Open Data

    IE0006, 2014, Open Data

  25. Mise en œuvre des données ouvertes

    IE0007, 2014, Open Data

  26. Améliorer les connaissances en informatique grâce à la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle stratégie numérique proposée pour les écoles

    IE0008, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  27. Examiner les pratiques nationales et internationales en vue de l’élaboration de principes / code révisés pour la participation du public / la consultation des citoyens, de la société civile et d’autres par les organismes publics.

    IE0009, 2014, Participation publique

  28. Engagement étoilé Référendums découlant des recommandations de la Convention constitutionnelle

    IE0010, 2014, genre

  29. Engagement étoilé Réforme de l'éthique

    IE0011, 2014, Conflits d’intérêts

  30. Renforcement de la liberté d’information - Mettre en œuvre le Code de pratique pour la liberté d’information (FOI).

    IE0012, 2014, Législation et Réglementation

  31. Réforme de la liberté d'information

    IE0013, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  32. Engagement étoilé Réglementation du lobbying

    IE0014, 2014, Législation et Réglementation

  33. Engagement étoilé Encourager, protéger et sensibiliser sur les devoirs et les protections des dénonciateurs

    IE0015, 2014, Protections des dénonciateurs

  34. Mesures visant à accroître la participation des citoyens à la prise de décision concernant les propositions politiques et législatives. Examen pré-législatif systémique des projets de loi

    IE0016, 2014, Législation et Réglementation

  35. Élaborer et diffuser un module de formation sur l'accès à l'information environnementale (AIE) à l'intention des fonctionnaires

    IE0017, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  36. Augmenter la participation des citoyens au niveau local. Approche pilote pour la mise en place de réseaux de participation publique

    IE0018, 2014, secteur privé

  37. Fournir une base légale pour le cadre de participation du public au gouvernement local

    IE0019, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  38. Entreprendre une étude de faisabilité sur les moyens possibles de renforcer l'engagement des citoyens dans les processus budgétaires des autorités locales

    IE0020, 2014, Participation aux processus budgétaires

  39. Soutenez les enfants et les jeunes en tant que citoyens. Élaborer, finaliser et publier la première stratégie gouvernementale sur la participation des enfants et des jeunes à la prise de décision.

    IE0021, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  40. Maximiser la participation et la compréhension des jeunes dans la vie civique

    IE0022, 2014, renforcement des capacités

  41. Développement d'une stratégie TIC

    IE0023, 2014, Prestation de services publics

  42. Projet de loi sur le partage de données et la gouvernance

    IE0024, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  43. Carte de services publics

    IE0025, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  44. Vue client unique

    IE0026, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  45. Portail des gouvernements locaux

    IE0027, 2014, gouvernement électronique

  46. Nouveaux bureaux d'entreprise locaux

    IE0028, 2014, Prestation de services publics

  47. Examen et amélioration des procédures de traitement des plaintes et utilisation des commentaires pour améliorer les services dans la fonction publique; un examen des procédures de plainte des citoyens sera entrepris.

    IE0029, 2014, Participation publique

  48. Améliorer l'engagement des clients

    IE0030, 2014, Participation publique

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Ireland

Improve Transparency of Government Service Providers (IE0041)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Ireland National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Support Institution(s): Department of Health, Department of Education, Department of Defence, Local Government sector. All government departments that, directly or indirectly, grant fund organisations to deliver services on their behalf.

Policy Areas

Fiscal Transparency, Open Contracting and Procurement, Open Data

IRM Review

IRM Report: Ireland End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Ireland Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Government will improve transparency of organisations delivering services on its behalf, whether they are funded by grant or contract for service. Objective: To increase the release of data, preferably machine readable data, on organisations delivering services on the Government’s behalf. This will include audited financial data, compliance data and on-going performance delivery data. Status quo: The Government established the Office of Government Procurement (OGP) in 2013 to deliver better value and sustainable savings for the taxpayer, integrate procurement policy, strategy and operations, enable consistency and standardise the approach to public procurement, deliver broader policy goals in a consistent fashion and strengthen procurement spend analytics and data management. The legislative provisions of the EU Procurement Directives provide for the publication of tender and award notices for contracts above the applicable EU thresholds. However, the Office of Government Procurement has gone further to promote greater openness and transparency and the policy is that buyers are required to publish tender and award notices for contracts above €25k for goods and services and €50k for works on eTenders. In Ireland, billions of Euro are dispersed every year by the Government to non-profit bodies to deliver services that in other jurisdictions are often delivered directly by the state. In relation to grant funded services, each grantor collects detailed compliance and performance data but it is generally not published at an individual grantee organisation level. In 2014, the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform published a Circular (13/2014) to improve the management of and accountability for grants from exchequer funds. In 2015 the Government co-funded Benefacts.ie to centralise, digitise and publish all regulatory data on all non-profits in Ireland. While Benefacts has greatly improved transparency, it is based solely on audited regulatory filings and does not include compliance or performance data collected by grantors. Ambition: We will assess the appropriateness of standard transparency clauses for all large service contracts and grant agreements in an Irish context. We will identify the improvements required in data infrastructure and compliance practices to facilitate the proactive release of data on all large service contracts and grant agreements, as appropriate. Lead implementing organisations: Department of Public Expenditure and Reform 26 Timeline: June 2018.
Commitment 8: Improve transparency of government service providers OGP values Access to information, Public accountability, Technology and innovation New or ongoing commitment New Lead implementation organisations Department of Public Expenditure and Reform Other actors involved - government Department of Health, Department of Education, Department of Defence, Local Government sector. All government departments that, directly or indirectly, grant fund organisations to deliver services on their behalf. Verifiable and measurable milestones to fulfil the commitment. New or ongoing, Start date End date. Undertake a strategic assessment of contracting data infrastructure and contracting transparency compliance practices to identify changes required to: - deliver data to the Open Contracting Partnership’s Open Contracting Data Standard Intermediate level, and - be able to deliver on the requirements of a standard transparency clause in all large service contracts if such a clause were to be implemented New Jan 2017 June 2018 Assess the impact of transparency clauses in other jurisdictions, and consult with public bodies and industry representatives on the introduction of a standard transparency clause in order to inform a final decision on implementation of a standard transparency clause in service contracts. New Jan 2017 June 2018 Undertake a strategic assessment of grant funding data infrastructure and grant funding compliance practices to identify changes required to: New Jan 2017 Sept 2017 27 - deliver data equivalent to the Open Contracting Partnership’s Open Contracting Data Standard Basic level - be able to deliver on the requirements of a standard transparency clause in all major grant agreements Consult with public bodies and grant funded bodies on the introduction of a model transparency clause in order to inform a final decision on implementation of a standard transparency clause in grant agreements. New Jan 2017 June 2018.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

8. Improve Transparency of Government Service Providers

Commitment Text:

Objective: To increase the release of data, preferably machine readable data, on organisations delivering services on the Government’s behalf. This will include audited financial data, compliance data and on-going performance delivery data.

Milestones

8.1. Undertake a strategic assessment of contracting data infrastructure and contracting transparency compliance practices to identify changes required to:

· deliver data to the Open Contracting Partnership’s Open Contracting Data Standard Intermediate level, and

· be able to deliver on the requirements of a standard transparency clause in all large service contracts if such a clause were to be implemented

8.2. Assess the impact of transparency clauses in other jurisdictions, and consult with public bodies and industry representatives on the introduction of a standard transparency clause in order to inform a final decision on implementation of a standard transparency clause in service contracts.

8.3. Undertake a strategic assessment of grant funding data infrastructure and grant funding compliance practices to identify changes required to:

· deliver data equivalent to the Open Contracting Partnership’s Open Contracting Data Standard Basic level

· be able to deliver on the requirements of a standard transparency clause in all major grant agreements

8.4. Consult with public bodies and grant funded bodies on the introduction of a model transparency clause in order to inform a final decision on implementation of a standard transparency clause in grant agreements.

Responsible institution: Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Supporting institutions: Department of Health, Department of Education, Department of Defence, Local Government sector. All government departments that, directly or indirectly, grant fund organisations to deliver services on their behalf.

Start date: January 2017

End date: June 2018

Editorial Note: The text of the commitment was abridged for formatting reasons. For full commitment text, visit: https://www.opengovpartnership.org/sites/default/files/Ireland_NAP_2016-2018.pdf.

Context and Objectives

The government of Ireland allocates billions of euros in grants every year to various nongovernmental organisations to deliver services to the Irish state.[Note: ‘Where does your money go? New website gives detailed breakdown of government spending’, TheJournal.ie, 11 April 2017, http://www.thejournal.ie/government-money-website-3333906-Apr2017/.] This commitment seeks to increase transparency to all large service contracts and grant agreements by way of releasing data regarding public funds received by organisations delivering services. This in turn will afford citizens with better knowledge of who is attaining grants and contracts from the state for the delivery of certain services. More specifically, the commitment calls for:

Milestone 8.1: Undertaking a strategic assessment of contracting data infrastructure and contracting transparency compliance practices.

Milestone 8.2: Assessing the impact of transparency clauses in other jurisdictions, in consultation with public bodies and industry representatives on the introduction of a standard transparency clause,

Milestone 8.3: Undertaking a strategic assessment of grant funding data infrastructure and grant funding compliance practices,

Milestone 8.4: Consulting with public bodies and grant funded bodies on the introduction of a model transparency clause.

Given that the goal is to increase information available on government contracts and grants, effectively holding the state accountable for the funds they have earmarked for these ends, the commitment is relevant to the OGP value of access to information, which will promote transparency in the carrying out of government functions. The milestones include activities that are reasonably verifiable, such as the strategic assessments for milestones 8.1 and 8.3 which call for the delivery of contracting and grant funding data to the Open Contracting Partnership’s Open Contracting Data Standard Basic level. Therefore, the overall specificity is coded as high. However, the consultations ‘industry leaders’ in Milestone 8.2 and with ‘grant funded bodies’ in Milestone 8.4 are less specific given that that service contracts are given to a plethora of firms and organisations. Similarly, it is unclear what ‘other jurisdictions’ refers to and which exact theoretical benchmarks will the assessment of transparency clauses. Given that there is no legislative change that will result, the potential impact is minor. For example, consultation on the introduction of a standard transparency clause in grant agreements, as per Milestone 8.4, is not necessarily going to be met with a resultant law that makes this a statutory obligation for all grant agreements going forward. Without such procedures which are guaranteed by law, this makes the potential impact minor.

Completion

The overall progress of this commitment has not begun and it is behind schedule. According to the government’s progress report, one initial meeting took place between the Reform and Delivery Office, Office of Government Procurement, and the Director of Open Contracting Partnership in January 2017 regarding milestones 8.1 and 8.2. There is no reporting on milestones 8.3 and 8.4 in the government’s progress report. No stakeholders have been consulted in the first year of implementation, which would have theoretically taken place in the implementation of milestones 8.2 and 8.4.

Next Steps

In the likely event that the commitment is not implemented, it should be carried forward into the next action plan. However, the IRM researcher recommends that the text of the commitment be modified on two grounds. First, the text should be written in plain language, clearly identifying the objectives. Second, it should more explicitly identify both the change in practice that is to be obtained upon successful completion of the commitment, and the legal obligations for all grant agreements that may be developed in the future in order to ensure transparency going forward.

IRM End of Term Status Summary


Ireland's Commitments

  1. Promote Transparent Climate Policy Development

    IE0031, 2016, Environment and Climate

  2. Support Public Participation Networks

    IE0032, 2016, Capacity Building

  3. Improve Access to Justice: Reducing Costs

    IE0033, 2016, Judiciary

  4. Improve Access to Justice: Framework to Assist Vulnerable Persons

    IE0034, 2016, Judiciary

  5. Improve Access to Justice: Oversight of Legal Practitioners

    IE0035, 2016, Justice

  6. Enhance Citizen Engagement in Policy Making: General

    IE0036, 2016, Capacity Building

  7. Enhance Citizen Engagement in Policy Making: Youth

    IE0037, 2016, Marginalized Communities

  8. Enhance Customer Engagement

    IE0038, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Improve Access To Government Services Through Technology

    IE0039, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. Participatory Budgeting

    IE0040, 2016, Participation in Budget Processes

  11. Improve Transparency of Government Service Providers

    IE0041, 2016, Fiscal Transparency

  12. Enhance Fiscal Transparency

    IE0042, 2016, Fiscal Transparency

  13. Introduce Modern Document Management Procedures

    IE0043, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  14. Develop an Open Data Strategy 2017-2020

    IE0044, 2016, E-Government

  15. Invest in Data Infrastructure that will result in better Open Data

    IE0045, 2016, Legislation & Regulation

  16. Starred commitment Develop a Code of Practice for the Governance of Charities

    IE0046, 2016,

  17. Starred commitment Public Sector Standards Bill

    IE0047, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  18. Establish a Register of Beneficial Ownership

    IE0048, 2016, Asset Disclosure

  19. Establishment of best practice standards for Open Data

    IE0001, 2014, Capacity Building

  20. Establishment of Ireland’s Open Data Platform

    IE0002, 2014, E-Government

  21. Undertake an audit of key datasets for publication

    IE0003, 2014, Open Data

  22. Establish a roadmap for the Open Data and an evaluation framework to provide assessment of the ongoing Open Data

    IE0004, 2014, Open Data

  23. Establishment of an Open Data Ireland Governance Board (ODIGB) and Steering and Implementation Group (SIG) for Open Data Ireland

    IE0005, 2014, Open Data

  24. Signing up to the G8 Open Data Charter

    IE0006, 2014, Open Data

  25. Implementing Open Data

    IE0007, 2014, Open Data

  26. Improve computer literacy through implementation of proposed new Digital Strategy for Schools

    IE0008, 2014, Capacity Building

  27. Review national and international practice to develop revised principles / code for public engagement/consultation with citizens, civil society and others by public bodies.

    IE0009, 2014, Public Participation

  28. Starred commitment Hold referenda arising from the recommendations of the Constitutional Convention

    IE0010, 2014, Gender

  29. Starred commitment Ethics Reform

    IE0011, 2014, Conflicts of Interest

  30. Strengthening Freedom of Information - Implement the Code of Practice for Freedom of Information (FOI).

    IE0012, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  31. Reform of FOI

    IE0013, 2014, Capacity Building

  32. Starred commitment Regulation of Lobbying

    IE0014, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  33. Starred commitment Encourage, Protect and Raise Awareness of Whistleblower Duties and Protections

    IE0015, 2014, Whistleblower Protections

  34. MEASURES TO INCREASE CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN DECISION MAKING ON POLICY AND LEGISLATIVE PROPOSALS. Systemic pre-legislative scrutiny of draft bills

    IE0016, 2014, Legislation & Regulation

  35. Develop and deliver access to environmental information (AIE) training module for public officials

    IE0017, 2014, Capacity Building

  36. INCREASE CITIZEN PARTICIPATION AT LOCAL LEVEL. Pilot approach to implementation of Public Participation Networks

    IE0018, 2014, Private Sector

  37. Provide legal base for public participation framework in local government

    IE0019, 2014, Capacity Building

  38. Undertake a feasibility study on possible means of enabling further citizen engagement in local authority budgetary processes

    IE0020, 2014, Participation in Budget Processes

  39. SUPPORT CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE AS CITIZENS. Develop, finalise and publish the first Government Strategy on children and young people's participation in decision-making.

    IE0021, 2014, Capacity Building

  40. Maximise participation and understanding of young people in civic life

    IE0022, 2014, Capacity Building

  41. Development of an ICT Strategy

    IE0023, 2014, Public Service Delivery

  42. Data sharing and governance bill

    IE0024, 2014, E-Government

  43. Public Services Card

    IE0025, 2014, E-Government

  44. Single Customer View

    IE0026, 2014, E-Government

  45. Local Government Portal

    IE0027, 2014, E-Government

  46. New Local Enterprise Offices

    IE0028, 2014, Public Service Delivery

  47. Review and enhancement of complaints procedures and using feedback to improve services across the public service; A review of citizen complaints procedures will be undertaken.

    IE0029, 2014, Public Participation

  48. Enhance customer engagement

    IE0030, 2014, Public Participation