Ignorer la navigation
Kenya

Publication de contrats pétroliers et gaziers (KE0013)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national du Kenya 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution directrice: ministère des Mines

Institution (s) de soutien: ministère des Mines, bureau du procureur général et département d'État à la justice; Transparency International (TI - Kenya), Société pour le développement international (SID), Fondation kenyane pour le pétrole et le gaz Fondation Hivos Institut pour le droit et la gouvernance environnementale (ILEG)

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Industries d'extraction, Ouverture fiscale, Participation du public, Publication des informations budgétaires / fiscales

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport à mi-parcours sur le Kenya 2016- 2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Pertinent avec les valeurs du PGO: accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Statu quo ou problème abordé par l'engagement Les entreprises exerçant des activités extractives (principalement étrangères) ont eu tendance à ne pas divulguer leurs informations et revenus de prospection, apparemment responsables devant leurs actionnaires. Étant donné que les ressources naturelles doivent profiter à l'ensemble des écosystèmes et à la chaîne de valeur, de nouveaux partenariats sont nécessaires entre le gouvernement et l'industrie des ressources naturelles afin de garantir que les contribuables reçoivent tous les shillings dus à l'extraction de nos ressources naturelles. Une telle conformité garantira également une répartition équitable des produits d'extraction et une réduction des conflits potentiels. La divulgation proactive d'informations aux autorités locales et aux citoyens est également nécessaire pour assurer une meilleure gestion des ressources naturelles. Objectif principal Améliorer les systèmes de gouvernance des ressources naturelles afin d’assurer la transparence et la responsabilité du secteur extractif. Brève description de l'engagement Divulguer des informations contractuelles et des revenus provenant de l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

4. Publication de contrats pétroliers et gaziers

Texte d'engagement:

Titre: 4. Publier des contrats de pétrole et de gaz, y compris des informations sur les revenus, afin de garantir la transparence et la responsabilité du secteur extractif

Statu quo ou problème: Les entreprises du secteur extractif (essentiellement étrangères) ont eu tendance à ne pas divulguer leurs informations et leurs revenus de prospection, apparemment responsables devant leurs actionnaires. Étant donné que les ressources naturelles doivent profiter à l'ensemble des écosystèmes et à la chaîne de valeur, de nouveaux partenariats sont nécessaires entre le gouvernement et l'industrie des ressources naturelles afin de garantir que les contribuables reçoivent tous les shillings dus à l'extraction de nos ressources naturelles. Une telle conformité garantira également une répartition équitable des produits d'extraction et une réduction des conflits potentiels. La divulgation proactive d'informations aux autorités locales et aux citoyens est également nécessaire pour assurer une meilleure gestion des ressources naturelles.

Objectif principal: Améliorer les systèmes de gouvernance des ressources naturelles afin d’assurer la transparence et la responsabilité du secteur extractif.

Brève description de l'engagement: Divulguer des informations contractuelles et des revenus provenant de l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz

Jalons:

4.1. Adopter et mettre en œuvre un cadre politique et législatif progressif et transparent pour les activités extractives en amont, à mi-parcours et en aval: notamment la publication des contrats dans l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz

4.2. Rendre les informations sur les processus décisionnels et les flux financiers liés aux industries extractives accessibles au public et utilisables.

4.3. Organisez des réunions régulières avec la société civile, le secteur privé et les gouvernements de comté afin de renforcer leur compréhension de l'ITIE.

4.4. Organiser des revues trimestrielles au niveau local et avec d'autres grands champions de l'ITIE afin d'évaluer les progrès et l'état de préparation en vue de la signature de l'ITIE.

Institution responsable: Ministère des mines

Institutions d'appui: Ministère des Mines; Bureau du Procureur général et Département d'État de la justice; Transparency International (TI - Kenya); Société pour le développement international (SID); Kenya Oil & Gas Coalition; Fondation Hivos; et Institut pour le droit et la gouvernance environnementale (ILEG)

Date de début: 30 Juin 2016

Date de fin: 30 mai 2018

Contexte et objectifs

Cet engagement traite de la transparence et de la responsabilité dans le secteur des industries extractives. Le Kenya est un pays riche en ressources et la découverte récente de nouvelles sources de pétrole brut et de gaz naturel accroît l'urgence de la mise en place d'une politique transparente sur les industries extractives.

4.1. Adopter et mettre en œuvre un cadre progressif et transparent pour les activités extractives: en particulier, publication de contrats dans l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz

En l'absence d'un cadre réglementaire approprié garantissant que le pays ne subisse pas la "malédiction des ressources naturelles", l'industrie pétrolière et gazière est un domaine du droit en pleine expansion au Kenya. Le gouvernement a mis en place des lois et des règlements qui régiront les sociétés qui se sont vues attribuer ou ont l'intention de demander des droits de prospection pétrolière au Kenya. L’exploration et la production de pétrole et de gaz sont principalement régies par la loi sur le pétrole (exploration et production), 1986 Cap 308[Note95: Loi sur le pétrole (exploration et production), Cap 308, disponible à l'adresse kenyalaw.org/lex/actview.xql?actid=CAP.%20308.] Et ses règlements. Le gouvernement kenyan n'a pas encore produit de rapport national sur la mise en œuvre des contrats publics. L'absence de tels rapports entrave l'examen du public de la mise en œuvre des contrats. Adopter un cadre légal[Note96: La législation qui est cruciale pour la gouvernance de ce secteur comprend: la loi minière 2016; Constitution du Kenya 2010; Loi sur le pétrole (exploration et production), Cap 308; Loi sur l'énergie; Loi sur la gestion et la coordination de l’environnement (EMCA); Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu; Loi sur la formation industrielle, Cap 237; Loi sur la sécurité et la santé au travail, Cap 514; Acte foncier, Cap 280; et Règlement sur le pétrole (exploration et production) (fonds de formation), 2006.], la publication de contrats de pétrole et de gaz pourrait fournir de meilleurs biens et services, dissuader la fraude et la corruption et faire économiser temps et argent au gouvernement kényan. Le secteur pétrolier et gazier était auparavant soumis au secret et la publication de contrats reviendrait à ouvrir la voie à des informations auparavant non divulguées sur les processus de passation de marché dans les secteurs pétrolier et gazier.

4.2. Rendre les informations sur les processus décisionnels et les flux financiers liés aux industries extractives accessibles au public et utilisables

Depuis la récente découverte de pétrole dans le comté de Turkana, les parties prenantes du secteur des industries extractives réclament un cadre législatif complet et consolidé pour permettre de suivre les recettes du secteur et permettre aux Kenyans de comprendre sa contribution à l’économie. La loi minière 2016[Note97: Supplément n ° 71 de la Gazette kényane (Actes n ° 12) (Nairobi: L'imprimeur gouvernemental, 13 May 2016). ] a été adoptée au début de 12 afin de trouver un équilibre entre l’intérêt des investisseurs, l’intérêt public et les obligations financières des détenteurs de droits miniers. Cette étape vise à publier des informations clés sur les décisions et les flux financiers dans le secteur de l'extraction, informations qui n'étaient pas disponibles auparavant. Par conséquent, si cette étape est franchie, cette étape pourrait constituer une transformation en vue de mettre à disposition de nouvelles informations et de contribuer aux discussions sur la gestion responsable du secteur de l'extraction.

4.3. Organiser des réunions régulières avec la société civile, le secteur privé et les gouvernements de comté afin de renforcer leur compréhension de l'ITIE

L’Initiative pour la transparence de l’industrie extractive (ITIE) est une norme qui permet de publier des informations sur les industries pétrolière, gazière et minière. La norme ITIE oblige les pays et les entreprises à divulguer des informations sur les principales étapes de la gouvernance des revenus pétroliers, gaziers et miniers, y compris les contrats et licences, la production, la collecte des revenus, l'allocation, les dépenses publiques et les avantages publics. Cela est pertinent pour la valeur de la participation civique du PGO. Son impact est codé mineur car la portée de la participation du public n’est pas claire. Le jalon ne précise pas la fréquence des réunions, le format de discussion, qui sera responsable de les convoquer et qui sera invité.

4.4. Organiser des revues trimestrielles au niveau local et avec d'autres grands champions de l'ITIE afin d'évaluer les progrès et l'état de préparation en vue de la signature de l'ITIE.

Cette étape clé vise à créer un environnement favorable qui conduira au Kenya à adopter les normes ITIE. La signature de l'ITIE montrera l'engagement du gouvernement à renforcer la transparence et la responsabilité dans le secteur extractif. Actuellement, les pays 50 sont conformes à l'ITIE et trois autres se sont engagés à poser leur candidature. À l'heure actuelle, le Kenya n'est ni conforme ni candidat. Cette étape a un impact potentiel mineur, car sa mise en œuvre complète pourrait constituer une étape supplémentaire dans le renforcement de la responsabilité vis-à-vis des parties prenantes, en particulier des communautés touchées par l'exploitation minière. À mesure que le Kenya s'emploie à renforcer l'efficacité et la bonne application des lois pétrolières et minières, un projet pilote de l'ITIE constituerait un grand pas en avant.

Aboutissement

4.1. Adopter et mettre en œuvre une politique progressive et transparente pour les activités extractives: en particulier, publication de contrats dans l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz - limité

Cet engagement a connu des progrès limités. Le processus de présentation du projet de loi 2017 sur le pétrole (exploration, mise en valeur et production) devant le Parlement a été long. Un comité technique relevant du ministère de l'Énergie a préparé ce nouveau projet de loi sur le pétrole après avoir examiné la loi sur l'exploration et la production pétrolière de 1986. Le 23 du 13 septembre, le président Uhuru Kenyatta a fait part à l'Assemblée nationale de son refus d'accepter le projet de loi sur le pétrole (exploration, développement et production).[Note98: https://citizentv.co.ke/news/uhuru-not-genuine-on-petroleum-bill-raila-150572/. ] Ensuite, une version modifiée du projet de loi a de nouveau été proposée et a fait l’objet d’une première lecture à l’Assemblée nationale le 8 November 2017. Il n'a pas avancé et a été retiré en raison de désaccords et d'erreurs dans le projet sur les pourcentages de partage des revenus. Un nouveau projet avec des structures de recettes révisées a été republié et présenté de nouveau à l'Assemblée nationale le 6 de décembre 2017, et une première lecture était prévue pour le mois de février 2018.[Note99: http://kenyalaw.org/kl/fileadmin/pdfdownloads/bills/2017/Petroleum_Exploration_DevelopmentandProductionBill_2017.pdf. ]

Cependant, étant donné que cette étape consiste à adopter et à mettre en œuvre une politique sur les industries extractives, elle reste limitée, car sa mise en œuvre en est encore à ses débuts. En vertu de la loi, le gouvernement créera l'Autorité de réglementation du pétrole en amont (UPRA) et le Comité consultatif national sur le pétrole en amont (NUPAC). Il prévoit également l'attribution de blocs d'exploration par le biais d'appels d'offres concurrentiels. En outre, la loi exige que le secrétaire du Cabinet élabore un cadre pour la production de rapports, la transparence et la responsabilité dans le secteur. Cela nécessite la publication de tous les accords, enregistrements, comptes annuels, rapports sur les revenus, redevances, taxes, redevances et autres charges, paiements correspondants du support de données et d'informations effectué par un contractant et paiements reçus par le gouvernement national, les gouvernements de comté et les communautés locales. Une fois que la société d’exploration a déclaré une découverte commerciale, le secrétaire à l’Energie approuvera le plan de développement du champ, qui doit être ratifié par le Parlement. En ce qui concerne le partage des revenus, le gouvernement national conservera 75 pour cent des bénéfices tirés du pétrole et du gaz commerciaux produits, le gouvernement du pays hôte recevant 20 pour cent et la communauté locale 5 pour cent. Plus tard, les gouvernements des comtés devront légiférer pour former un conseil d'administration et réglementer l'utilisation prudente des fonds reçus.

Milestones 4.2., 4.3. Et 4.4.

Ces jalons n'ont pas été démarrés au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre. Aucune mesure n'a été prise pour publier des informations sur les processus décisionnels ou financiers liés aux industries extractives (4.2), le gouvernement n'a pas chargé une agence d'organiser des réunions régulières avec la société civile, le secteur privé et les gouvernements de comté au sujet de l'ITIE (4.3) et Il n'y a aucune preuve publiquement disponible qu'un examen trimestriel de la préparation du Kenya à l'ITIE a eu lieu (4.4).

La Plate-forme de la société civile du Kenya sur le pétrole et le gaz (KCSPOG) a écrit une lettre au président Uhuru Kenyatta sur la transparence et la responsabilité dans le secteur en ce qui concerne l'information et la gestion des contrats.[Note100: Plate-forme de la société civile kényane sur le pétrole et le gaz, 'Kenya s'engage à mettre en œuvre l'ITIE' (KCSPOG, 6 Aug.2015) kcspog.org/kenya-commits-to-implementing-eiti/.] Kenyatta a ensuite référencé la lettre une déclaration officielle. Cependant, à part une mention officielle, il n'y a pas eu d'autres résultats.

Premiers résultats

Il n'y a pas de premiers résultats pour ces engagements. Avant le plan d'action, le gouvernement avait mis en place un cadre juridique et politique exhaustif régissant l'industrie pétrolière et gazière, mais des lacunes législatives subsistaient concernant la publication des contrats publics avec l'industrie pétrolière et gazière. La prochaine étape consiste à assurer une mise en œuvre et une application correctes et efficaces. Compte tenu du manque de progrès sur les autres étapes, il n'y a pas encore de résultats préliminaires disponibles. Cela pourrait être attribué à la transition de personnel au sein du ministère des Mines, qui a entraîné le transfert du champion clé de l'OGP dans un autre ministère.

Prochaines étapes

Les organisations de la société civile interrogées dans le cadre de ce rapport estiment que le gouvernement du Kenya devrait tenir cet engagement dans son prochain plan d'action. Ils recommandent:

Pour s'assurer que les redevances, les revenus miniers et la gestion des rentes minérales sont en place, le gouvernement doit mettre en place un système approprié pour publier ces informations. Cela devrait inclure la désagrégation des montants versés aux gouvernements sous-nationaux de ceux allant au gouvernement national et l'identification des différents types et sources. Plus précisément, indiquez les noms des sociétés dans leur localité, les taxes perçues auprès de chaque société, le type de revenu, la date de paiement, le lieu d’extraction et le calcul de la part infranationale.

Le ministère des Mines doit veiller à ce que les informations sur les contrats soient rendues publiques conformément à la politique gouvernementale par le biais de contrats ouverts. Cela nécessitera la publication des contrats dans la norme Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS).


Engagements

  1. Beneficial ownership

    KE0018, 2018, Accès à l'information

  2. Contrats ouverts

    KE0019, 2018, Accès à l'information

  3. Données géospatiales ouvertes pour le développement

    KE0020, 2018, Accès à l'information

  4. Participation du public

    KE0021, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  5. Indices de gouvernance

    KE0022, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  6. Résilience du gouvernement ouvert

    KE0023, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  7. Développement plus transparent et participatif des politiques sur le climat aux niveaux national et sous-national

    KE0010, 2016, Accès à l'information

  8. Renforcement des mécanismes préventifs et punitifs dans la lutte contre la corruption et les pratiques contraires à l'éthique

    KE0011, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  9. Améliorer la transparence dans le processus législatif

    KE0012, 2016, gouvernement électronique

  10. Publier des contrats de pétrole et de gaz

    KE0013, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  11. Engagement étoilé Assurer une plus grande transparence autour des offres et des contrats

    KE0014, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  12. Créer un processus de passation des marchés publics transparent, une supervision publique des dépenses et assurer une utilisation optimale des ressources par rapport aux priorités des citoyens

    KE0015, 2016, Accès à l'information

  13. Améliorer l'accès aux informations budgétaires du gouvernement et créer des structures plus larges et plus inclusives pour la participation du public

    KE0016, 2016, gouvernement électronique

  14. Engagement étoilé Renforcer le droit à l'information

    KE0017, 2016, Accès à l'information

  15. Engagement étoilé Améliorer la transparence des processus électoraux: 1.A. Définition des limites électorales et nom.

    KE0001, 2012, Media & Telecommunications

  16. Améliorer la transparence des processus électoraux: 2.B. Information de vote en ligne

    KE0002, 2012, Accès à l'information

  17. Promotion de la participation publique: 1.B. Portail de prestation de services de bout en bout

    KE0003, 2012, gouvernement électronique

  18. Promouvoir la participation du public: 1.D. Portail public des plaintes

    KE0004, 2012, gouvernement électronique

  19. Promouvoir la participation du public: 2.C. Plan d'action du Kenya en ligne

    KE0005, 2012,

  20. Promouvoir la participation du public: 1.C. Open Data Portal

    KE0006, 2012, Accès à l'information

  21. Engagement étoilé Améliorer la transparence dans le système judiciaire: 2.A. Vérification publique des juges et système de répartition des affaires

    KE0007, 2012, gouvernement électronique

  22. Budgets ouverts: 3.a. Améliorer l'indice OBI du Kenya

    KE0008, 2012, Ouverture fiscale

  23. Budgets ouverts: 3.B. Augmenter la participation du public dans les processus budgétaires

    KE0009, 2012, Accès à l'information

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Kenya

Publish Oil and Gas Contracts (KE0013)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Kenya National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Mining

Support Institution(s): Ministry of Mining, Office of the Attorney General & State Department of Justice; Transparency International (TI - Kenya), Society for International Development (SID), Kenya Oil & Gas Coalition Hivos Foundation Institute for Law and Environmental Governance (ILEG)

Policy Areas

Extractive Industries, Fiscal Transparency, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Kenya Mid-Term Report 2016- 2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Status quo or problem addressed by the commitment Companies engaged in extractives (largely foreign) have had a tendency of nondisclosure of prospecting information and revenues, seemingly accountable only to their shareholders. Since natural resources need to benefit entire ecosystems and value chain, new partnerships are required between government and natural resources industry to ensure that taxpayers receive every shilling they are due from the extraction of our natural resources. Such compliance will also ensure equitable distribution of proceeds from extractives and reduction of potential conflicts. Pro-active disclosure of information to local governments and citizens is also required to ensure better natural resource management. Main objective Improve natural resource governance systems to ensure transparency and accountability of the extractive sector. Brief description of commitment Disclose contractual information and revenues derived from the Oil and Gas Industry

IRM Midterm Status Summary

4. Publication of oil and gas contracts

Commitment Text:

Title: 4. Publish Oil and Gas Contracts, including revenue information to ensure transparency and accountability of the extractive sector

Status quo or problem: Companies engaged in extractives (largely foreign) have had a tendency of nondisclosure of prospecting information and revenues, seemingly accountable only to their shareholders. Since natural resources need to benefit entire ecosystems and value chain, new partnerships are required between government and natural resources industry to ensure that taxpayers receive every shilling they are due from the extraction of our natural resources. Such compliance will also ensure equitable distribution of proceeds from extractives and reduction of potential conflicts. Pro-active disclosure of information to local governments and citizens is also required to ensure better natural resource management.

Main objective: Improve natural resource governance systems to ensure transparency and accountability of the extractive sector.

Brief description of commitment: Disclose contractual information and revenues derived from the Oil and Gas Industry

Milestones:

4.1. Adopt and implement a progressive and transparent policy and legislative framework for upstream, mid-stream, and downstream extractive activities: specifically publication of contracts within the Oil and Gas Industry

4.2. Make information on decision-making and financial flows related to the extractive industries publicly accessible and usable.

4.3. Hold regular meetings with civil society, private sector and County Governments to strengthen their understanding of EITI.

4.4. Hold quarterly reviews local and with other leading EITI champions to review progress and preparedness towards signing of EITI

Responsible institution: Ministry of Mining

Supporting institutions: Ministry of Mining; Office of the Attorney General & State Department of Justice; Transparency International (TI - Kenya); Society for International Development (SID); Kenya Oil & Gas Coalition; Hivos Foundation; and Institute for Law and Environmental Governance (ILEG)

Start date: 30 June 2016

End date: 30 May 2018

Context and Objectives

This commitment addresses transparency and accountability in the extractives sector. Kenya is a resource-rich country and the recent discovery of new sources of crude oil and natural gas increases the urgency for developing a transparent extractives policy.

4.1. Adopt and implement a progressive and transparent framework for extractive activities: specifically, publication of contracts within the Oil and Gas Industry

With the absence of a proper regulatory framework to ensure the country does not experience the 'natural resource curse,' the oil and gas industry is a fast-developing area of law in Kenya. The government has been establishing laws and regulations that will govern companies that have been allocated, or intend to apply for, oil-prospecting rights in Kenya. The exploration and production of oil and gas has been primarily regulated by the Petroleum (Exploration and Production) Act, 1986 Cap 308[Note95: Petroleum (Exploration and Production) Act, Cap 308, available at kenyalaw.org/lex/actview.xql?actid=CAP.%20308.] and its regulations. The Kenyan government has not previously produced national reports monitoring the implementation of public contracts. The absence of such reports hinders public scrutiny of contract implementation. Adopting a legal framework[Note96: Legislation that is crucial for governance of this sector include: Mining Act 2016; Constitution of Kenya 2010; Petroleum (Exploration and Production) Act, Cap 308; Energy Act; Environmental Management and Coordination Act (EMCA); Income Tax Act; Industrial Training Act, Cap 237; Occupational Safety and Health Act, Cap 514; Land Act, Cap 280; and Petroleum (Exploration and Production) (Training Fund) Regulations, 2006.] to publish oil and gas contracts could deliver better goods and services, deterring fraud and corruption and saving the Kenyan government time and money. The oil and gas sector has previously been shrouded in secrecy and publishing contracts would be a transformative move to open previously undisclosed information about contracting processes in oil and gas.

4.2. Make information on decision-making and financial flows related to the extractive industries publicly accessible and usable

With the recent oil discovery in Turkana County, stakeholders in the extractives sector have been calling for a comprehensive and consolidated legislative framework to help track revenue from the sector and enable Kenyans to understand its contribution to the economy. The Mining Act 2016[Note97: Kenya Gazette Supplement No. 71 (Acts No. 12) (Nairobi: The Government Printer, 13 May 2016) kenyalaw.org/kl/fileadmin/pdfdownloads/Acts/MiningAct_No12of2016.pdf. ] was enacted in early 2016 to strike a balance between investor interest, public interest, and financial obligations to mineral rights holders. This milestone seeks to publish key information on decisions and financial flows in extractive sector, information that previously was not available. Therefore, if completed, this milestone could be a transformative move to make new information available and contribute to discussions on the responsible management of the extractive sector.

4.3. Hold regular meetings with civil society, private sector and county governments to strengthen their understanding of EITI

The Extractives Industry Transparency Initiative (EITI) is a standard by which information on the oil, gas and mining industries is published. The EITI Standard requires countries and companies to disclose information on the key steps in the governance of oil, gas and mining revenues, including contracts and licensing, production, revenue collection, allocation, public spending, and public benefit. It is relevant to the OGP value of civic participation. Its impact is coded minor because the scope of public participation is unclear. The milestone does not specify how often meetings will be held, the format for discussion, who will be responsible for convening them, and who will be invited.

4.4. Hold quarterly reviews local and with other leading EITI champions to review progress and preparedness towards signing of EITI

This milestone seeks to create an enabling environment that will lead to Kenya adopting the EITI Standards. The signing of the EITI will demonstrate the government’s commitment to enhance transparency and accountability in the extractives sector. Currently 50 countries are EITI compliant and a further three have committed to applying as candidates. Presently, Kenya is neither compliant nor a candidate country. This step has minor potential impact as its full implementation could be an incremental step towards strengthening accountability to stakeholders, especially communities affected by mining. As Kenya moves toward enhancing the effectiveness and proper enforcement of the petroleum and mining laws, an EITI pilot would be a major step forward.

Completion

4.1. Adopt and implement a progressive and transparent policy for extractive activities: specifically, publication of contracts within the Oil and Gas Industry – Limited

This commitment has seen some limited progress. The process to bring the Petroleum (Exploration, Development & Production) Bill 2017 before Parliament has been lengthy. A technical committee under the Ministry of Energy prepared this new petroleum Bill after reviewing the Petroleum Exploration and Production Act of 1986. On the 23rd September 2016, President Uhuru Kenyatta communicated to the National Assembly his refusal to assent to The Petroleum (Exploration, Development and Production) Bill.[Note98: https://citizentv.co.ke/news/uhuru-not-genuine-on-petroleum-bill-raila-150572/. ] Then, an amended version of the Bill was again proposed and went through the first reading at the National Assembly on 8 November 2017. It did not advance, and was withdrawn based on disagreement and errors in the draft over revenue sharing percentages. A new draft with revised revenue structures was republished and reintroduced to the National Assembly on 6 December 2017, and a first reading was scheduled for February 2018.[Note99: http://kenyalaw.org/kl/fileadmin/pdfdownloads/bills/2017/Petroleum_Exploration_DevelopmentandProductionBill_2017.pdf. ]

However, as this milestone is to adopt and implement extractives policy, it remains limited given that implementation remains in the early, preliminary stages. According to the Act, the government will establish the Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority (UPRA) and National Upstream Petroleum Advisory Committee (NUPAC). It also provides for awarding exploration blocks through competitive tendering. Additionally, the law requires the Cabinet Secretary to develop a framework for reporting, transparency, and accountability in the sector. This requires publication of all agreements, records, annual accounts, reports of revenues, fees, taxes, royalties and other charges, relevant data and information support payments made by a contractor and payments received by the national government, county governments and local communities. After an exploration company declares a commercial discovery, the Energy Secretary will approve the field development plan, which must be ratified by Parliament. In regard to revenue sharing, the national government will retain 75 percent of the profit from commercial oil and gas produced, with the host county government receiving 20 percent and the local community 5 percent. Later, the county governments will be expected to make laws forming a board of trustees and regulating cautious utilisation of the funds received.

Milestones 4.2., 4.3., and 4.4.

These milestones were not started in the first year of implementation. No measures were taken to publish information on decision-making or financial flows related to the extractive industries (4.2), the government did not assign an agency to organise regular meetings with civil society, private sector and county governments regarding EITI (4.3) and there is no publicly available evidence that quarterly reviews for Kenya’s preparedness towards EITI have taken place (4.4).

The Kenya Civil Society Platform on Oil and Gas (KCSPOG) wrote a letter to President Uhuru Kenyatta on transparency and accountability in the sector regarding contract information and management.[Note100: The Kenya Civil Society Platform on Oil & Gas, 'Kenya commits to implementing EITI' (KCSPOG, 6 Aug. 2015) kcspog.org/kenya-commits-to-implementing-eiti/.] Kenyatta then referenced the letter in an official statement. However, aside from an official mention, there have been no further outcomes.

Early Results

There are no early results for these commitments. Prior to the action plan, the government implemented a comprehensive legal and policy framework to govern the oil and gas industry, but legislative gaps exist regarding the publication of public contracts with the oil and gas industry. The next step is to ensure proper and effective implementation and enforcement. Given the lack of progress on the other milestones, there are no early results available yet. This could be attributed to the transition of personnel within the Ministry of Mining, which has resulted in the key OGP champion being moved to another ministry.

Next Steps

CSOs respondents interviewed for this report believe that the Kenyan government should carry this commitment forward in its next action plan. They recommend:

To ensure that that royalties, mining revenue, and mineral rent management are in place, the government needs to establish an appropriate system to publish this information. This should include desegregating amounts going to subnational governments from those going to the national government and identifying the different types and sources. Specifically, list the names of the companies in their locality, the tax collections from each company, type of revenue, date of payment, place of extraction and computation of the subnational share.

The Ministry of Mining needs to ensure that information on contracts is made public in accordance with government policy through open contracting. This will require publication of contracts in the Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS).


Commitments

  1. Beneficial Ownership

    KE0018, 2018, Beneficial Ownership

  2. Open Contracting

    KE0019, 2018, Capacity Building

  3. Open Geo-Spatial Data for Development

    KE0020, 2018, E-Government

  4. Public Participation

    KE0021, 2018, Capacity Building

  5. Governance Indices

    KE0022, 2018, Capacity Building

  6. Open Government Resiliency

    KE0023, 2018, Capacity Building

  7. More Transparent and Participatory Development of Climate Polices at the National and Subnational Level

    KE0010, 2016, E-Government

  8. Enhancing Preventive and Punitive Mechanisms in the Fight Against Corruption and Unethical Practices

    KE0011, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  9. Enhance Transparency in the Legislative Process

    KE0012, 2016, E-Government

  10. Publish Oil and Gas Contracts

    KE0013, 2016, Extractive Industries

  11. Starred commitment Ensure Greater Transparency Around Bids and Contracts

    KE0014, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  12. Create Transparent Public Procurement Process, Public Oversight of Expenditure and Ensure Value-For-Money Towards Citizen Priorities

    KE0015, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  13. Improving Access to Government Budget Information and Creating Wider and More Inclusive Structures for Public Participation

    KE0016, 2016, E-Government

  14. Starred commitment Enhance Right to Information

    KE0017, 2016, Capacity Building

  15. Starred commitment Improving Transparency in Electoral Processes: 1.A. Definition of Electoral Boundaries and Name.

    KE0001, 2012, Media & Telecommunications

  16. Improving Transparency in Electoral Processes: 2.B. Voting Information Online

    KE0002, 2012, E-Government

  17. Promoting Public Participation: 1.B. End-To-End Service Delivery Portal

    KE0003, 2012, E-Government

  18. Promoting Public Participation: 1.D. Public Complaints Portal

    KE0004, 2012, E-Government

  19. Promoting Public Participation: 2.C. Kenya Action Plan Online

    KE0005, 2012, OGP

  20. Promoting Public Participation: 1.C. Open Data Portal

    KE0006, 2012, Education

  21. Starred commitment Improving Transparency in the Judiciary: 2.A. Public Vetting of Judges and Case Allocation System

    KE0007, 2012, E-Government

  22. Open Budgets: 3.a. Improve Kenya's OBI Index

    KE0008, 2012, Fiscal Transparency

  23. Open Budgets: 3.B. Increase Public Participation in Budgetary Processes

    KE0009, 2012, Fiscal Transparency