Ignorer la navigation
Kenya

Mettre en œuvre la législation pour améliorer l'accès à la justice (KE0030)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action du Kenya 2020-2022

Cycle du plan d'action : 2020

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : le pouvoir judiciaire

Institution(s) de soutien : autres acteurs impliqués Katiba Institute, Namati-Kenya, Mzalendo, Conseil national pour l'administration de la justice, gouvernement du comté de Mombasa, Coast Interfaith Council of Clerics, Haki Yetu, gouvernement du comté de Mombasa, Université de Nairobi École de droit et Faculté de droit de Strathmore.

Domaines politiques

Accès à la justice, E-gouvernement, Judiciaire, Justice, Engagements locaux, Communautés marginalisées, Participation du public

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM : En attente d'examen IRM

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Design i

Vérifiable : en attente d'examen IRM

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : en attente d'examen IRM

Impact potentiel : en attente de l'examen du MII

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Détails

Contexte L'accès à la justice pour la majorité des Kenyans reste un défi en raison du financement insuffisant des principales institutions gouvernementales telles que le Service national d'aide juridique et le pouvoir judiciaire, qui sont chargés de la responsabilité principale de la mise en œuvre de la loi de 2016 sur l'aide juridique et de la politique relative aux systèmes de justice alternative. . Par conséquent, il a été difficile de rendre opérationnel le Fonds d'aide juridique qui serait essentiel pour aider les fournisseurs d'aide juridique agréés à mener des programmes d'accès à la justice. Dans le même temps, le Service national d’aide juridique a été gravement en sous-effectif et par conséquent incapable de s’acquitter pleinement de son mandat. La loi sur l'aide juridique et les systèmes de justice alternative sont impératifs car ils mettent en place des cadres juridiques et politiques pour la promotion de l'accès à la justice au Kenya. D'autre part, le pouvoir judiciaire a identifié l'enracinement des systèmes de justice alternative et l'accès à la justice comme un domaine de financement prioritaire pour l'exercice 2021/2022. Si l'exercice précédent est quelque chose à suivre, la dotation budgétaire a été considérablement réduite, limitant ainsi la portée du travail d'accès à la justice par le pouvoir judiciaire. L'engagement des autres institutions gouvernementales concernées impliquées dans le processus budgétaire est essentiel pour garantir qu'un financement adéquat soit alloué aux domaines prioritaires des systèmes de justice alternative et de l'accès à la justice. L'adoption de la politique du système de justice alternative (SJA) par les Kenyans et les parties prenantes nécessite une compréhension claire des systèmes de justice informels et traditionnels, de leur mandat et de la manière dont ils peuvent être utilisés pour améliorer l'accès à la justice. Les systèmes de justice traditionnels ont été utilisés de manière ponctuelle pour résoudre les différends au sein de la communauté. Dans la plupart des cas, les systèmes de justice traditionnels et informels ont été dissociés des systèmes de justice formels. Avant l'élaboration de la politique de la SJA, il n'existait pas de mécanisme normalisé clair pour le co-référencement des affaires du système de justice formel au système de justice informel et vice versa. En tant que telles, des injustices ont été perpétrées car les systèmes de justice informels étaient de nature patriarcale. En outre, les décisions des systèmes judiciaires informels n'avaient pas force de loi et étaient donc inapplicables. Les dialogues entre le gouvernement et les citoyens sur la SJA sont essentiels pour faire connaître la politique et la façon dont les citoyens peuvent utiliser les mécanismes de la SJA pour accéder à la justice pour les cas appropriés. L'Unité d'aide juridique du comté de Mombasa reçoit de nombreux litiges, dont certains ne doivent pas être portés devant les tribunaux et peuvent être résolus à l'aide de mécanismes de justice alternatifs. En conséquence, l'Unité d'aide juridique a de nombreux cas à traiter, ce qui retarde l'accès à la justice et le mécontentement des citoyens à la recherche de recours juridiques. Il s'agit d'une occasion d'établir un mécanisme de co-référence indispensable entre l'unité d'aide juridique et divers mécanismes de la SJA à Mombasa, qui sert non seulement à réduire la dépendance à l'égard de l'unité d'aide juridique, mais fournit un modèle à reproduire dans le cadre de la politique de la SJA. Les actions d'urgence pour contenir la propagation du COVID 19 ont nécessité l'utilisation de stratégies innovantes comprenant l'utilisation de la technologie pour promouvoir l'accès à la justice. COVID 19 est autant une crise de justice qu'une crise de santé car la pandémie menace d'élargir le fossé de la justice, en particulier pour les communautés vulnérables qui ont subi le plus gros de la pandémie. Les données des prestataires d'aide juridique de la société civile révèlent une augmentation des conflits de travail pendant la pandémie. Cela est dû à une perte d'emploi soudaine et / ou à une résiliation abusive ou à un licenciement. En réponse, nous proposons de piloter un centre TIC en partenariat avec le Tribunal de l'emploi et des relations de travail et le Service national d'aide juridique. Grâce à ce centre de TIC, les clients peuvent se présenter au tribunal et être aidés à déposer des documents sans frais. On s'attend à ce que le NLAS et le pouvoir judiciaire utilisent les leçons tirées de ce projet pilote et mettent à l'échelle l'initiative au sein de leurs institutions respectives.

Objectifs Nous cherchons à élargir l'accès à la justice grâce à la mise en œuvre de la loi sur l'aide juridique et de la politique des systèmes de justice alternative en: 1. Augmentant la participation des citoyens à la prestation de la justice tout en promouvant la transparence et la responsabilité dans les structures de justice alternative locales. 2. Élargir la capacité d'aide juridique en aidant les clients indigents à traiter les procédures judiciaires en ligne et plaider en faveur d'un financement accru des services d'aide juridique.

Loi sur l’aide juridique sur le statu quo. Une majorité de Kenyans, pour diverses raisons, y compris des facteurs socio-économiques, juridiques et politiques, ne peuvent accéder à la justice. Les indigents ne connaissent toujours pas leurs droits légaux, ne connaissent pas le système judiciaire ou vivent simplement des frustrations sans fin en cherchant à accéder à la justice. En général, de nombreux Kenyans sont incapables de payer le coût élevé des services juridiques. En 2019, le Hague Institute for Innovation of Law Justice Index a estimé que pour accéder à un tribunal, un Kenyan avait besoin d'au moins 80 USD. Il s'agit d'un coût modeste étant donné que les frais de justice sont évalués au cas par cas et dépendent de la nature et de la valeur de la réclamation. En raison du fait que près de 50% des Kenyans vivent avec moins de 1 USD par jour, le coût d'accès à la justice peut être impossible à atteindre. La Loi sur l'aide juridique a été promulguée en 2016. Il fournit un cadre de collaboration entre les acteurs étatiques et non étatiques dans la fourniture de services d'aide juridique. En outre, il établit un régime national d’aide juridique qui est, entre autres, abordable, accessible, durable, crédible et responsable. Cependant, le Kenya n'a pas encore obtenu les avantages des dispositions de la loi, en particulier l'accès à la justice pour les Kenyans indigents. En raison de l'allocation budgétaire limitée, certaines dispositions de la loi sur l'aide juridique qui n'ont toujours pas été appliquées comprennent: l'opérationnalisation du Fonds d'aide juridique pour le financement, l'accréditation des parajuristes communautaires et des prestataires d'aide juridique et l'expansion du régime d'aide juridique à l'échelle nationale. Le Fonds d'aide juridique soutient l'expansion du régime d'aide juridique en rémunérant les prestataires d'aide juridique, en payant les dépenses engagées par les personnes représentées et en finançant les opérations générales et les activités de développement du NLAS. Sans un fonds d'aide juridique, l'aide juridique financée par l'État est limitée, ce qui ne contribue guère à combler le fossé croissant de la justice. L'accréditation des parajuristes communautaires et des prestataires d'aide juridique est essentielle pour leur supervision et leur supervision par le NLAS ainsi qu'une condition préalable à un soutien financier. Actuellement, le financement public de 540,000 5 USD par an prend principalement en charge les frais administratifs de fonctionnement des XNUMX bureaux NLAS établis dans tout le pays, ce qui laisse très peu de fonds pour la fourniture effective de services d'aide juridique. Le NLAS aurait besoin d'un budget annuel estimé à 3.5 millions USD pour employer du personnel, à la fois des avocats et des parajuristes, pour administrer l'aide juridique dans les 47 comtés du pays. La majorité des activités du NLAS sont soutenues par des partenaires de développement qui sont liés par des délais et des objectifs spécifiques. En principe, le régime d’aide judiciaire devrait être entièrement financé par l’État; le financement gouvernemental serait plus durable. Pour s'adapter aux défis de justice posés par la pandémie, le gouvernement a soutenu la mise en place d'une ligne sans frais utilisée par le NLAS pour administrer les services d'aide juridique. En outre, NLAS a mis en place des ordinateurs de bureau avec accès à Internet pour aider les clients qui devaient assister à des audiences en ligne. Cependant, ce n'était que le cas pour Nairobi. Dans les zones en dehors de Nairobi, l'état de la fourniture de l'aide juridique, au-delà de la ligne sans frais, reste incertain. Avec des fonds supplémentaires, le NLAS sera en mesure de mettre en place des cliniques mobiles d'aide juridique à l'échelle nationale, avec un accès Internet géré par des parajuristes pour aider les clients à s'occuper de leurs affaires. Cela est plus que jamais nécessaire, car les audiences en face à face restent très limitées. En outre, dans l'esprit de collaboration de la loi sur l'aide juridique, le NLAS peut collaborer avec des organisations de la société civile qui disposent de systèmes de soutien permettant aux clients d'accéder à la justice grâce à l'utilisation de la technologie. Systèmes de justice alternative. Le Kenya est l'un des 3 pays au monde à avoir officialisé ses mécanismes traditionnels et autres mécanismes informels utilisés pour accéder à la justice. L'une des conséquences des problèmes d'accès à la justice dans le système juridique formel est que de nombreux Kenyans ont recours à des systèmes de justice alternatifs, tels que des processus de médiation facilités par des parajuristes et des systèmes de justice traditionnels communautaires. Une enquête menée par le pouvoir judiciaire, en collaboration avec l'Institut de La Haye pour l'innovation du droit, a révélé que seuls 10% des Kenyans utilisent le système judiciaire formel pour résoudre leurs différends. Les processus de justice alternative contribuent à réduire le fardeau des tribunaux et visent à renforcer les liens entre les systèmes de justice formels et informels plutôt que de remplacer le recours aux tribunaux. Dans certaines régions, comme le nord du Kenya, les systèmes de justice informelle ont presque remplacé le système de justice formel, également en ce qui concerne les infractions pénales. Cependant, il existe un certain nombre d'interactions entre les systèmes de justice formels et informels, ce qui est évident, par exemple, du fait que les dirigeants communautaires qui servent dans des systèmes de justice informels peuvent renvoyer les affaires de crimes graves aux tribunaux ordinaires. Les tribunaux ont également adopté l'interaction avec le système de justice informelle par le biais de la médiation dirigée par les tribunaux, comme celle qui existe dans le tribunal d'Isiolo, où le tribunal tient une liste de conseils d'anciens. Le tribunal renvoie les affaires aux anciens pour décision et enregistrement ultérieur des jugements, ce qui porte ses fruits, améliorant et élargissant ainsi l'accès à la justice au niveau communautaire. La politique du système de justice alternative (AJS) du Kenya propose un cadre juridique qui systématise l'utilisation de divers modèles d'AJS tout en reliant les systèmes de justice informels et formels. Pendant la pandémie, l'inaccessibilité de la justice pour les justiciables indigents a été exacerbée par l'utilisation de la technologie dans les processus judiciaires. AJS présente une plateforme accessible aux clients indigents pour accéder aux recours pour leurs litiges dans un espace informel reconnu par la loi. Le domaine prioritaire de financement du pouvoir judiciaire au cours de l'exercice 2021/22-2023/24 identifie l'enracinement de divers modèles de systèmes de justice alternative et l'amélioration de l'accès à la justice comme des domaines prioritaires clés. Au cours de l'exercice 2018/2019, le pouvoir judiciaire s'était vu allouer 17.3 millions de dollars mais a encore été ramené à 14.5 millions de dollars par le Parlement par le biais de la loi de crédits. Il y a une réelle crainte que cette situation ne se répète étant donné que 2022 est une année électorale avec des intérêts divergents de diverses agences gouvernementales.

Ambition Nous cherchons à piloter la mise en œuvre de la politique du système de justice alternative dans le comté de Mombasa et à partager les leçons apprises avec le système judiciaire au sens large. La politique de la SJA présente un modèle accessible de résolution rapide et efficace des différends pour une majorité de Kenyans qui ne peuvent toujours pas accéder aux tribunaux officiels. De plus, à travers la plate-forme OGP, nous cherchons à tirer parti de l'utilisation de la technologie pour faciliter l'accès à la justice pour les clients qui n'ont pas accès aux services Internet. Nous cherchons à piloter le centre TIC en collaboration avec le NLAS et le Tribunal de l'emploi et du travail et des relations dans le but de partager les leçons apprises pour la reproductibilité dans d'autres tribunaux. Pour tirer pleinement parti des avantages de l'accès à la justice, que ce soit par le biais de la politique de la SJA ou de la loi sur l'aide juridique, nous avons l'intention de plaider en faveur de l'opérationnalisation du Fonds d'aide juridique et de l'augmentation de l'allocation budgétaire pour les domaines prioritaires de la magistrature consistant à enraciner l'utilisation des modèles de la SJA. et l'amélioration de l'accès à la justice.

Non. Jalons vérifiables et mesurables pour remplir l'engagement Statut du jalon Date de début Date de fin 1. Mener des dialogues citoyens-gouvernement sur la SJA Nouveau mars 2021 Décembre 2022 2. Améliorer le co-référencement des affaires entre l'Unité d'aide juridique de Mombasa et les mécanismes de la SJA Nouveau mars 2021 décembre 2022 3. Travailler avec les institutions compétentes pour fournir un financement adéquat pour la mise en œuvre de la politique de la SJA et l'opérationnalisation du Fonds d'aide juridique Nouveau mars 2021 décembre 2022 4. Mettre en place un centre judiciaire virtuel en collaboration avec le centre TIC de Kituo et construire le capacité des clients indigents qui se représentent eux-mêmes à utiliser la technologie pour accéder au tribunal de l'emploi et des relations de travail de Milimani, Nairobi Nouveau mars 2021 décembre 2022 5. Benchmark avec d'autres acteurs de la justice mondiale OGP utilisant la technologie pour promouvoir l'accès à la justice Nouveau mars 2021 décembre 2022


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Kenya

Implement legislation to increase access to justice (KE0030)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Kenya Action Plan 2020-2022

Action Plan Cycle: 2020

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: The Judiciary

Support Institution(s): Other actors involved Katiba Institute, Namati-Kenya, Mzalendo, National Council for Administration of Justice, County Government of Mombasa, Coast Interfaith Council of Clerics, Haki Yetu, County Government of Mombasa, University of NairobiSchool of Law and Strathmore Law School.

Policy Areas

Access to Justice, E-Government, Judiciary, Justice, Local Commitments, Marginalized Communities, Public Participation

IRM Review

IRM Report: Pending IRM Review

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Pending IRM Review

Relevant to OGP Values: Pending IRM Review

Potential Impact: Pending IRM Review

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

Background Access to justice for the majority of Kenyans remains a challenge due to inadequate financing of key government institutions such as the National Legal Aid Service and the Judiciary which are charged with the core responsibility of implementing the Legal Aid Act 2016 and the Alternative Justice Systems Policy. As a result, it has been challenging to operationalize the Legal Aid Fund that would be critical in supporting accredited legal aid providers to conduct access to justice programmes. At the same time, the National Legal Aid Service has been severely understaffed and hence incapacitated to fully fulfil its mandate. Both the Legal Aid Act and Alternative Justice Systems are imperative as they set in place legal and policy frameworks for the promotion of access to justice in Kenya. On the other hand, the Judiciary has identified entrenchment of alternative justice systems and access to justice as a priority area of funding for the financial year 2021/2022. If the previous financial year is anything to go by, budgetary allocation was substantially reduced hence limiting the scope of access to justice work by the Judiciary. Commitment by other relevant Government institutions involved in the budgetary process is essential to ensure that adequate funding is allocated for the priority areas of alternative justice systems and access to justice. The adoption of the Alternative Justice System (AJS) Policy by Kenyans and stakeholders requires a clear understanding of informal and traditional justice systems, their mandate and how they may be used to enhance access to justice. Traditional justice systems have been used in an ad hoc manner to resolve disputes within the community. In most cases, the traditional, informal justice systems have been delinked from the formal justice systems. Before the development of AJS policy, there had been no clear standardized mechanism for co-referencing of cases from the formal to the informal justice system and vice versa. As such, injustices were perpetrated as the informal justice systems were patriarchal in nature. In addition, the decisions from the informal justice systems did not have the force of law and hence were unenforceable. Government-citizen dialogues on AJS are key for purposes of creating awareness on the policy and how citizens may use AJS mechanisms to access justice for appropriate cases. The Mombasa County Legal Aid Unit receives many disputes, some of which do not have to go to court and may be solved using alternative justice mechanisms. As a result, the Legal Aid Unit has many cases to attend to which causes delay in accessing justice and dissatisfaction from citizens looking for legal remedies. This is an opportunity to establish a much needed co-reference mechanism between the Legal Aid Unit and various AJS mechanisms in Mombasa that serves to not only reduce reliance on the Legal Aid Unit but provides a model for replication under the AJS policy. Emergency actions to contain the spread of COVID 19 necessitated the use of innovative strategies which included the use of technology to promote access to justice. COVID 19 is as much a justice crisis as it is a health crisis as the pandemic threatens to widen the justice gap, especially for vulnerable communities who have borne the brunt of the pandemic. Data from civil society legal aid providers reveals an increase in labour related disputes during the pandemic. This is due to sudden loss of employment and/or unfair termination or redundancy. In response, we propose to pilot an ICT centre in partnership with the Employment and Labour Relations Court and the National Legal Aid Service. Through this ICT centre, clients can attend court and be assisted to file documents at no cost. It is expected that both NLAS and the judiciary will use lessons learnt from this pilot and scale the initiative within their respective institutions. In using technology to expand legal aid, this commitment seeks to ensure that people seeking justice are supported to do so and are not left behind due to the digital divide.

Objectives We seek to expand Access to Justice through implementation of Legal Aid Act and Alternative Justice Systems Policy through: 1. Increasing citizen participation in justice delivery while promoting transparency and accountability in the local alternative justice structures. 2. Expanding legal aid capacity by supporting indigent clients to process online court proceedings and advocate for increased financing for legal aid services.

Status quo Legal Aid Act. A majority of Kenyans, due to an array of reasons, including socio-economic, legal and political factors, are unable to access justice. The indigent remains unaware of their legal rights, lack knowledge of the court system, or simply experience unending frustrations while seeking to access justice. Generally, many Kenyans are unable to afford the high cost for legal services. In 2019, the Hague Institute for Innovation of Law Justice Index estimated that to access court, a Kenyan needs at least USD 80. This is a modest cost considering that court fees are assessed on a case to case basis and dependent on the nature and value of the claim. Due to almost 50 percent of Kenyans living below USD1 per day, the cost of accessing justice may be unattainable. The Legal Aid Act was enacted in 2016. It provides a framework for collaboration between state and non-state actors in legal aid service provision. Further, it establishes a national legal aid scheme that is affordable, accessible, sustainable, credible and accountable among others. However, Kenya is yet to achieve the benefits of the provisions in the Act, specifically access to justice for the indigent Kenyans. Due to limited budgetary allocation, some provisions of the Legal Aid Act that remain unrealized include: the operationalization of the Legal Aid Fund for financing, accreditation of community paralegals and legal aid providers and expansion of the legal aid scheme nationwide. The Legal Aid Fund supports the expansion of the legal aid scheme by remunerating legal aid providers, paying expenses incurred by represented persons and financing general operations and development activities of NLAS. Without a Legal Aid Fund, there is limited state funded legal aid which does little to bridge the expanding justice gap. Accreditation of community paralegals and legal aid providers is essential for their supervision and oversight by NLAS as well as a pre-condition for financial support. Currently, state funding at USD 540,000 annually mainly supports administrative running costs of the 5 established NLAS offices nationwide leaving very little funding towards actual delivery of legal aid services. NLAS would require an estimated annual budget of USD 3.5 million to employ staff, both advocates and paralegals, to administer legal aid in all the 47 counties nationwide. A majority of NLAS activities are supported by development partners who are bound by time and specific targets. Principally, the legal aid scheme should be fully state funded; government funding would be more sustainable. To adapt to the justice challenges brought about by the pandemic, the government supported the establishment of a toll free line used by NLAS to administer legal aid services. In addition, NLAS put in place desktop computers with internet access to support clients who needed to attend online hearings. However, this was just the case for Nairobi. In areas outside of Nairobi, status of legal aid delivery, beyond the toll free line remains uncertain. With additional funds, NLAS will be able to put in place nationwide mobile legal aid clinics, with internet access operated by paralegals to support clients attending to their matters. This is needed now more than ever as face to face hearings in court remain very limited. Further, under the collaborative spirit of the Legal Aid Act, NLAS may work together with civil society organisations that have support systems for clients to access justice through the use of technology. Alternative Justice Systems. Kenya is one of 3 countries in the world that has formalised its traditional and other informal mechanisms used in accessing justice. One consequence of access to justice problems in the formal legal system is that many Kenyans resort to alternative systems of justice, such as mediation processes facilitated by paralegals and community-based traditional justice systems. A survey by the Judiciary, together with the Hague Institute for Innovation of Law found that only 10% of Kenyans use the formal justice system to resolve their disputes. Alternative justice processes help to reduce the burden on courts and are meant to strengthen the links between formal and informal justice systems rather than replace the reliance on courts. In some areas, such as Northern Kenya, informal justice systems have almost replaced the formal justice system, also in dealing with criminal offences. However, there is an amount of interplay between the formal and informal justice systems, evident for example from the fact that community leaders who serve in informal justice systems can refer serious crimes cases to the ordinary courts. The courts have also embraced the interplay with the informal justice system through court led mediation such as that which exists in Isiolo court where the court keeps a roster of council of elders. The court refers cases to the elders for determination and later recording of judgments and this is bearing fruit thus enhancing and expanding access to justice at the community level. Kenya’s Alternative Justice System (AJS) Policy proposes a legal framework that systematizes the use of various AJS models whilst linking the informal and formal justice systems. During the pandemic the inaccessibility of justice for indigent litigants has been exacerbated by the use of technology in court processes. AJS presents an accessible platform for indigent clients to access remedies for their disputes within an informal space recognised by law. The judiciary’s priority area for funding in the financial year 2021/22 -2023/24 identifies the entrenchment of various alternative justice systems models and improving access to justice as key priority areas. In the past financial year 2018/2019, Judiciary had been allocated USD17.3 million but was further slashed down to USD14.5 million by Parliament through the Appropriation Act. There is a real fear that this situation may be repeated given that 2022 is an election year with competing interests from various government agencies. This will affect the implementation of the AJS policy and by extension meaningful access to justice for a majority of Kenyans.

Ambition We seek to pilot the implementation of the Alternative Justice System Policy in Mombasa County and share lessons learnt with the broader Judiciary. The AJS policy presents an accessible model for timely and efficient resolution of disputes for a majority of Kenyans who still cannot access the formal courts. Furthermore, through the OGP platform, we seek to leverage the use of technology to facilitate access to justice for clients who do not have access to internet services. We seek to pilot the ICT centre in collaboration with NLAS and the Employment and Labour and Relations Court with the aim of sharing lessons learnt for replicability in other court stations. To fully realize the benefits of access to justice, either through the AJS policy or the Legal Aid Act, we intend to advocate for the operationalization of the Legal Aid Fund and the increase in budgetary allocation for Judiciary’s priority areas of entrenching the use of AJS models and improving access to justice.

No. Verifiable and measurable milestones to fulfill the commitment Status of milestone Start Date End Date 1. Conduct citizen-government dialogues on AJS New March 2021 December 2022 2. Enhance co-referencing of cases between the Mombasa Legal Aid Unit and AJS Mechanisms New March 2021 December 2022 3. Work with relevant institutions to provide adequate funding for the implementation of the AJS Policy and the operationalization of the Legal Aid Fund New March 2021 December 2022 4. Set up one Virtual Court Centre in collaboration with Kituo’s ICT Centre and build the capacity of indigent self-representing clients to use technology in accessing the Employment and Labour Relations Court in Milimani, Nairobi New March 2021 December 2022 5. Benchmark with other OGP global justice actors using technology to promote access to justice New March 2021 December 2022


Commitments

  1. Create public beneficial ownership register

    KE0024, 2020, Access to Information

  2. Implement e-government system adopting Open Contracting Data Standard

    KE0025, 2020, Access to Information

  3. Publish open data to spur innovation in public service delivery and development

    KE0026, 2020, Access to Information

  4. Increase efforts to promote public participation in the legislative process

    KE0027, 2020, Civic Space

  5. Apply County Peer Review Mechanism to improve public service delivery

    KE0028, 2020, E-Government

  6. Implement Access to Information Act

    KE0029, 2020, Access to Information

  7. Implement legislation to increase access to justice

    KE0030, 2020, Access to Justice

  8. Build institutional support of OGP

    KE0031, 2020, Capacity Building

  9. Beneficial Ownership

    KE0018, 2018, Access to Information

  10. Open Contracting

    KE0019, 2018, Access to Information

  11. Open Geo-Spatial Data for Development

    KE0020, 2018, Access to Information

  12. Public Participation

    KE0021, 2018, Capacity Building

  13. Governance Indices

    KE0022, 2018, Capacity Building

  14. Open Government Resiliency

    KE0023, 2018, Capacity Building

  15. More Transparent and Participatory Development of Climate Polices at the National and Subnational Level

    KE0010, 2016, Access to Information

  16. Enhancing Preventive and Punitive Mechanisms in the Fight Against Corruption and Unethical Practices

    KE0011, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  17. Enhance Transparency in the Legislative Process

    KE0012, 2016, E-Government

  18. Publish Oil and Gas Contracts

    KE0013, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  19. Starred commitment Ensure Greater Transparency Around Bids and Contracts

    KE0014, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  20. Create Transparent Public Procurement Process, Public Oversight of Expenditure and Ensure Value-For-Money Towards Citizen Priorities

    KE0015, 2016, Access to Information

  21. Improving Access to Government Budget Information and Creating Wider and More Inclusive Structures for Public Participation

    KE0016, 2016, E-Government

  22. Starred commitment Enhance Right to Information

    KE0017, 2016, Access to Information

  23. Starred commitment Improving Transparency in Electoral Processes: 1.A. Definition of Electoral Boundaries and Name.

    KE0001, 2012, Media & Telecommunications

  24. Improving Transparency in Electoral Processes: 2.B. Voting Information Online

    KE0002, 2012, Access to Information

  25. Promoting Public Participation: 1.B. End-To-End Service Delivery Portal

    KE0003, 2012, E-Government

  26. Promoting Public Participation: 1.D. Public Complaints Portal

    KE0004, 2012, E-Government

  27. Promoting Public Participation: 2.C. Kenya Action Plan Online

    KE0005, 2012, Public Participation

  28. Promoting Public Participation: 1.C. Open Data Portal

    KE0006, 2012, Access to Information

  29. Starred commitment Improving Transparency in the Judiciary: 2.A. Public Vetting of Judges and Case Allocation System

    KE0007, 2012, E-Government

  30. Open Budgets: 3.a. Improve Kenya's OBI Index

    KE0008, 2012, Fiscal Openness

  31. Open Budgets: 3.B. Increase Public Participation in Budgetary Processes

    KE0009, 2012, Access to Information

Open Government Partnership