Ignorer la navigation
Nigeria

Indice Doing Business de la Banque mondiale (NG0005)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national du Nigeria 2017-2019

Cycle du plan d'action : 2017

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Ministère fédéral de l'industrie, du commerce et de l'investissement

Institution(s) de soutien : Commission des affaires commerciales, Conseil nigérian pour la promotion des investissements, Service fédéral des impôts, Bank of Industry, Conseil nigérian pour la promotion des exportations, Administration et contrôle nationaux des aliments et drogues, Ministère fédéral de l'électricité, des travaux publics et du logement, Société de transmission du Nigéria , Nigerian Energy Regulatory Commission, Standard Organization of Nigeria, Nigerian Information Technology Development Agency, Nigerian Communication Commission, Central Bank of Nigeria, Nigerian Customs Service, Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Federal Ministry of Transportation. Alliance ouverte, Institutions financières, Association nigériane des chambres de commerce, de l'industrie, des mines et de l'agriculture, Association nationale des petites et moyennes entreprises, Association nationale des petits industriels, Sociétés de distribution d'électricité, Groupe du Sommet économique nigérian, Association des fabricants du Nigéria, Comité des banquiers

Domaines politiques

Ouverture fiscale, Infrastructure et transport, Droits fonciers et aménagement du territoire, Législation et réglementation, Secteur privé, Prestation de services publics, Droit fiscal

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de mise en œuvre du Nigéria 2017-2019, Rapport de conception du Nigéria 2017-2019

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable : Non

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement:

Description

Cet engagement vise à lancer et à mettre en œuvre des réformes qui faciliteront la collaboration du secteur privé avec les agences gouvernementales impliquées dans les services liés aux processus métiers en rationalisant les processus existants au moyen de technologies innovantes. Cet engagement encouragera les améliorations d’infrastructure essentielles au succès des entreprises et encouragera une prestation de services rapide et efficace dans tous les services liés aux processus d’entreprise, notamment l’enregistrement des entreprises, la gestion des licences, la fiscalité, les demandes de crédit, l’extension de facilités de crédit, etc.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

5. Améliorer la facilité de faire des affaires et le classement du Nigéria sur l'indice Doing Business de la Banque mondiale.

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

«Cet engagement vise à initier et à mettre en œuvre des réformes qui permettront au secteur privé de s'engager plus facilement avec les agences gouvernementales impliquées dans les services liés aux processus métier en rationalisant les processus existants en utilisant une technologie innovante. L'engagement encouragera les améliorations des infrastructures essentielles au succès des entreprises et encouragera la fourniture de services rapides et efficaces dans tous les services liés aux processus commerciaux, y compris l'enregistrement des entreprises, l'octroi de licences, la fiscalité, la demande de crédit, l'extension des facilités de crédit, etc. »

Jalons:

5.1 Faire progresser le Nigeria d'au moins 20 points sur l'indice de facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale

5.2: Faciliter le processus de documentation foncière / obtenir des titres

5.3: Amélioration de la coordination et de la collaboration entre les organismes gouvernementaux impliqués dans les services liés aux processus opérationnels

5.4: Examen à la baisse de l'enregistrement des entreprises et des frais

5.5: Améliorer les infrastructures essentielles, y compris le transport et la distribution d'électricité, en établissant davantage de réseaux de transport et de distribution d'énergie et de redevances, de lignes ferroviaires, de voies navigables intérieures, etc.

5.6: Établir un registre d'informations sur le crédit accessible aux institutions financières

5.7: Adopter des lois permettant aux prêteurs d'accéder aux données des emprunteurs dans le bureau de crédit ou le registre de crédit

5.8: Élaborer une feuille de route pour améliorer les chaînes de valeur sectorielles pour les MPME

Date de début: January 2017 Date de fin: Juin 2019

Le plan d'action est disponible ici:

Contexte et objectifs

Cet engagement vise à améliorer la facilité de création et d'exploitation d'une entreprise au Nigéria.

«La facilité de faire des affaires» indique à quel point une économie est favorable aux opérations commerciales. Dans le passé, les investisseurs ont été facilement repoussés par le difficile processus d'enregistrement d'une entreprise, de production de déclarations et d'autres questions d'administration des affaires au Nigéria. En témoigne le mauvais classement du Nigéria; Le Nigéria s'est classé 169e selon l'indice de facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale en 2017 et 170 en 2016. (61) Avant 2017, les promoteurs d'un nom commercial devaient engager un comptable agréé, un comptable agréé, un secrétaire agréé ou un avocat agréé par la Commission des affaires commerciales (CCC) pour enregistrer cette entreprise en leur nom. (62) Selon le directeur de la conformité du CAC, (63) le coût de création d'une entreprise en termes d'électricité, de terrain ou de loyer est très élevé. Il y a également neuf étapes pour obtenir de nouvelles connexions électriques au réseau national, le tout dans un délai de 198 jours. (64) L'obtention de la documentation foncière dans le délai imparti n'est pas une tâche facile, car la propriété prend généralement environ 77 jours pour s'inscrire, associée à la présentation d'un affidavit sous serment pour effectuer une recherche de titre. (65)

Cet engagement est pertinent pour la valeur OGP de l'accès à l'information. L'engagement soutient l'arrêté présidentiel du 18 mai 2017, exigeant que toutes les agences gouvernementales publient toutes les exigences nécessaires pour conduire des affaires via le format en ligne et papier. (66) Cependant, l'engagement 5 ne semble pas pertinent pour les valeurs OGP de responsabilité publique et de participation civique, car il n'est pas clair comment les jalons affecteront positivement l'ouverture du gouvernement ou amélioreront la responsabilité, la participation ou l'engagement du gouvernement.

Les activités de cet engagement faciliteront la création d'une entreprise au Nigéria en améliorant l'infrastructure nécessaire pour améliorer la performance des entreprises et en rendant la participation du gouvernement aux processus opérationnels plus efficace et transparente. Bien que le jalon 5.1 soit clairement vérifiable, la plupart des jalons de l'autre engagement manquent de spécificité. Par exemple, le jalon 5.2 n'explique pas comment la documentation foncière serait plus facile à obtenir, et il n'était pas clair qui entreprendrait un examen à la baisse de l'enregistrement des entreprises et des frais (jalon 5. 4).

L'engagement devrait avoir un impact potentiel mineur. Selon Ayokunu Ojeniyi (Enabling Business Environment Secretariat), l'engagement a le potentiel de provoquer des changements. L'amélioration du classement Facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale, couplée à des informations de crédit adéquates et transparentes disponibles pour les institutions financières, devrait encourager l'activité climatique globale, ce qui pourrait inciter le gouvernement à être plus transparent. (67) Les jalons ont abordé des facteurs précédemment identifiés comme entravant la conduite des affaires au Nigéria (infrastructures critiques, enregistrement des entreprises, accès au crédit), mais le manque de spécificité (spécification des agences responsables) atténue l'impact potentiel de l'engagement.

Prochaines étapes

Il s'agit d'un objectif politique important qui pourrait faire partie de l'agenda du pays.

Si cela est pris en compte dans les futurs plans d'action, sa mise en œuvre devrait être plus large. Le gouvernement pourrait élaborer des plans de travail qui indiquent clairement les organismes responsables et les stratégies pour éliminer les formalités administratives pendant la mise en œuvre. Le gouvernement pourrait également envisager de fournir aux citoyens une plate-forme pour donner des opinions et faire des requêtes, et pour tenir le gouvernement responsable des divers éléments qui affectent la facilité du pays à faire des affaires.

(61) L'indice de facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale mesure les réglementations qui renforcent l'activité commerciale et celles qui la limitent. Banque mondiale, Doing Business 2017: l'égalité des chances pour tous (2017), https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/bitstream/handle/10986/25592/WP-DB17-PUBLIC-Nigeria.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y.
(62) Damilare Odusanya, «La facilité de faire des affaires au Nigéria», http://saharahub.com/the-ease-of-doing-business-in-nigeria/.
(63) AG Abubakar (Director, Compliance (CAC)), entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 8 mars 2019.
(64) «La NERC réduit le nombre de jours d'accès à l'électricité dans les nouveaux bâtiments», Commission nigériane de réglementation de l'électricité (NERC), https://www.energymixreport.com/nerc-reduces-number-days-access-electricity-new-buildings/, 17 peut 2017.
(66) République fédérale du Nigéria, Open Government Partnership (OGP) Nigéria Auto-évaluation à mi-parcours 2016-2018 (3 oct.2017), 36, opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Nigeria_Mid-Term_Self-Assessment_2016-2018.pdf.
(67) Ayokunnu Ojeniyi (Enabling Business Environment Secretariat (EBES)), entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 20 novembre 2018.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

5. Améliorer la facilité de faire des affaires et le classement du Nigéria dans l'indice Doing Business de la Banque mondiale

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

«Cet engagement vise à initier et à mettre en œuvre des réformes qui permettront au secteur privé de s'engager plus facilement avec les agences gouvernementales impliquées dans les services liés aux processus métier en rationalisant les processus existants en utilisant une technologie innovante. L'engagement encouragera les améliorations des infrastructures essentielles au succès des entreprises et encouragera la fourniture de services rapides et efficaces dans tous les services liés aux processus commerciaux, y compris l'enregistrement des entreprises, l'octroi de licences, la fiscalité, la demande de crédit, l'extension des facilités de crédit, etc. »

Jalons:

5.1 Faire progresser le Nigeria d'au moins 20 points sur l'indice de facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale

5.2 Faciliter le processus de documentation foncière / l'obtention des titres

5.3 Amélioration de la coordination et de la collaboration entre les agences gouvernementales impliquées dans les services liés aux processus opérationnels

5.4 Révision à la baisse de l'enregistrement des entreprises et des frais

5.5 Améliorer les infrastructures essentielles, y compris le transport et la distribution d'électricité, en établissant davantage de transport et de distribution d'électricité et en autorisant les stations, les lignes de chemin de fer, les voies navigables intérieures, etc.

5.6 Établir un registre des informations de crédit accessible aux institutions financières

5.7 Promulguer des lois permettant aux prêteurs d'accéder aux données des emprunteurs dans le bureau de crédit ou le registre du crédit

5.8 Élaborer une feuille de route pour l'amélioration des chaînes de valeur sectorielles pour les MPME

Évaluation du rapport de conception de l'IRM

Évaluation du rapport de mise en œuvre de l'IRM

●        Vérifiable: Oui

●        Pertinent: Oui

o Accès à l'information

●        Impact potentiel: Mineur

●        Achèvement: Substantiel

●        At-il ouvert le gouvernement? N'a pas changé

Cet engagement visait à promulguer des réformes pour améliorer la facilité de création et d'exploitation d'une entreprise au Nigéria. Avant l'engagement, le Nigéria se classait 169th sur l'indice de facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale en 2017 et 170th dès 2016. (62)

La mise en œuvre de l'engagement a été substantielle. En 2018, le Nigéria a progressé de 24 points dans l'indice de la Banque mondiale à la suite des mesures prises par le Secrétariat présidentiel à l'environnement des affaires (PEBEC) entre 2016 et 2017. (63) Par exemple, le PEBEC a piloté des améliorations dans la documentation des titres fonciers à Lagos et à Kano. (64) Les membres du PEBEC comprenaient au moins 10 agences impliquées dans les procédures commerciales. Le PEBEC a bénéficié d'un soutien de haut niveau des bureaux du président et du vice-président. À la suite de la mise en œuvre, le Nigéria a augmenté de 39 points en 2019 pour se classer 131, dépassant l'objectif fixé dans l'engagement. Le Nigéria a depuis été reconnu comme l'une des économies les plus améliorées pour faire des affaires au monde. (65)

Le gouvernement a fait des progrès notables dans le renforcement de la facilité de faire des affaires au-delà des efforts du PEBEC. La Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) et le Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) ont réduit le temps d'enregistrement d'une entreprise et de paiement des impôts. En 2018, CAC a réduit le coût de l'enregistrement des entreprises de 10,000 5,000 N à 90 XNUMX N avec une période de XNUMX jours. (66) Surtout, la Banque centrale du Nigéria a autorisé les bureaux de crédit et a créé un registre des informations de crédit accessible aux institutions financières. (67) Ce registre a été soutenu par deux lois adoptées en 2017, la loi sur les transactions sécurisées sur les actifs mobiliers et la loi sur la déclaration des transactions, qui permettent aux prêteurs d'accéder aux données des emprunteurs. (68)

Cet engagement n'a pas changé les pratiques de gouvernement ouvert en ce qui concerne l'environnement des affaires au Nigéria. L'engagement a simplifié les processus gouvernementaux et ouvert une boucle de rétroaction pour les hommes d'affaires cherchant à obtenir réparation. Il a également créé une structure juridique et institutionnelle pour le partage d'informations entre les institutions financières. Cependant, l'engagement n'est lié que de manière indirecte à un gouvernement ouvert car il n'affecte pas la participation ou la responsabilité du public et sa composante de transparence est limitée au secteur financier. Par conséquent, cet engagement n'a pas amélioré l'accès des citoyens à l'information. Cet engagement aurait été pertinent pour les valeurs du PGO si, par exemple, la mise en œuvre avait conduit à la divulgation publique d'informations sur les titres fonciers, les projets d'infrastructure ou les informations commerciales qui avaient été précédemment refusées.

(62) L'indice de la facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale mesure les réglementations qui améliorent l'activité commerciale et celles qui la limitent. Banque mondiale, «Economy Profile 2017 Nigeria» in Ease of Doing Business 2017 (2017), https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/bitstream/handle/10986/25592/WP-DB17-PUBLIC-Nigeria.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y
(63) Vanguard, «Le Nigéria gagne 24 points sur la facilité de faire des affaires de la Banque mondiale» (31 octobre 2017), https://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/10/nigeria-moves-24-points-world-bank-ease-business/.
(64) Open Alliance, «Behind Closed Books - A Case Study of Nigeria 'OGP Fiscal Transparency Commitment» (2019), https://openalliance.ng/resources/documents/.
(65) Aisha Salaudeen, «Le Nigéria améliore le classement de la Banque mondiale en matière de facilité de faire des affaires, mais est-il plus facile de faire des affaires là-bas?» (CNN, 24 octobre 2019), https://edition.cnn.com/2019/10/24/africa/nigeria-improves-in-world-bank-ranking/index.html
(66) Proshare, «CAC réduit le coût d'enregistrement des noms commerciaux à 5,000 90 N pendant 2018 jours» (XNUMX) https://www.proshareng.com/news/Doing%20Business%20in%20Nigeria/CAC-Reduces-Cost-of-Business-Name-Registration-to-N5-000-for-90-Days/42067
(67) Central Bank of Nigeria Abuja, Guidelines for the Licensing, Operations and Regulation of Credit Bureaus in Nigeria (oct.2008), https://www.cbn.gov.ng/OUT/CIRCULARS/BSD/2008/GUIDELINE POUR LE BUREAU DE CRÉDIT DE LICENCE AU NIGERIA.PDF. 
(68) Alliance ouverte, «Derrière les livres fermés - Une étude de cas de l'engagement de transparence fiscale de l'OGP au Nigéria». https://openalliance.ng/resources/documents/

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Nigeria

World Bank Doing Business Index (NG0005)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Nigeria National Action Plan 2017-2019

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment

Support Institution(s): Corporate Affairs Commission, Nigeria Investment Promotion Council, Federal Inland Revenue Service, Bank of Industry, Nigerian Export Promotion Council, National Food and Drug Administration and Control, Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing, Transmission Company of Nigeria, Nigerian Energy Regulatory Commission, Standard Organization of Nigeria, Nigerian Information Technology Development Agency, Nigerian Communication Commission, Central Bank of Nigeria, Nigerian Customs Service, Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Federal Ministry of Transportation. Open Alliance, Financial Institutions, Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture, National Association of Small and Medium Enterprises, National Association of Small Scale Industrialists, Electricity Distribution Companies, Nigerian Economic Summit Group, Manufacturers Association of Nigeria, Bankers Committee

Policy Areas

Fiscal Openness, Infrastructure & Transport, Land Rights & Spatial Planning, Legislation & Regulation, Private Sector, Public Service Delivery, Tax

IRM Review

IRM Report: Nigeria Implementation Report 2017-2019, Nigeria Design Report 2017-2019

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

This commitment seeks to initiate and implement reforms that will make it easier for the private sector to engage with government agencies involved with business process-related services by streamlining the existing processes using innovative technology. The commitment will encourage improvements in infrastructure that is critical to the success of businesses and promote timely and efficient service delivery in all business process-related services including business registration, licensing, taxation, applying for credit, extending credit facilities etc.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

5. To improve the ease of doing business and Nigeria’s ranking on the World Bank Doing Business Index.

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

“This commitment seeks to initiate and implement reforms which will make it easier for the private sector to engage with government agencies involved with business process-related services by streamlining the existing processes using innovative technology. The commitment will encourage improvements in infrastructure that is critical to the success of businesses and promote timely and efficient service delivery in all business process-related services including business registration, licensing, taxation, applying for credit, extending credit facilities etc.”

Milestones:

5.1 Move Nigeria up by at least 20 points on the World Bank Ease of Doing Business Index

5.2: Make process of Land documentation / obtaining titles easier

5.3: Improved coordination and collaboration between agencies of government involved in business process related services

5.4: Downward review of business registration and fees

5.5: Improve critical infrastructure including power transmission and distribution by establishing more power transmission and distribution and licensing fees stations, rail lines, inland waterways, etc.

5.6: Establish a registry of credit information to be accessible by financial institutions

5.7: Enact laws that allow lenders to access borrowers’ data in the credit bureau or credit registry

5.8: Develop road map for improving sectoral value chains for MSMEs

Start Date: January 2017 End Date: June 2019

Action plan is available here:

Context and Objectives

This commitment aims to improve the ease of establishing and operating a business in Nigeria.

“Ease of doing business” indicates how favorable an economy is for business operations. In the past, investors were easily turned away by the difficult process of registering a business, filing returns, and other business administration matters in Nigeria. This is evidenced by Nigeria’s poor ranking; Nigeria ranked 169 on the World Bank’s Ease of Doing Business Index in 2017 and 170 in 2016. [61] Prior to 2017, promoters of a business name were required to engage a Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) accredited, chartered accountant, chartered secretary or lawyer to register such company on their behalf. [62] According to the director of compliance at the CAC, [63] the cost of setting up a business in terms of getting electricity, land, or rent is very high. There are also nine steps for getting new electricity connections to the national grid, all within a timeline of 198 days. [64] Obtaining land documentation within the time limit is not an easy task, as property usually takes about 77 days to register, coupled with submitting a sworn affidavit for conducting a title search. [65]

This commitment is relevant to the OGP value of access to information. The commitment supports the Presidential Order of May 18, 2017, requiring all government agencies to publish all necessary requirements to conduct businesses via online and paper format. [66] However, Commitment 5 does not seem to be relevant to the OGP values of public accountability and civic participation, as it is unclear how the milestones will positively affect government openness or improve government accountability, participation or engagement.

The Commitment’s activities will better facilitate establishing a business in Nigeria by enhancing the infrastructure required to enhance business performance and making government involvement in business processes more efficient and transparent. Although Milestone 5.1 is clearly verifiable, most of the other commitment’s milestones lack specificity. For example, Milestone 5.2 does not explain how the land documentation would be made easier to obtain, and it was unclear who would undertake a downward review of business registration and fees (Milestone 5. 4).

The commitment should have a minor potential impact. According to Ayokunu Ojeniyi (Enabling Business Environment Secretariat), the commitment has the potential to bring about change. Improvement in the World Bank’s Ease of Doing Business ranking, coupled with adequate, transparent, credit information available to financial institutions are expected to encourage the overall climate business, which in turn may incentivize the government to be more transparent. [67] The milestones addressed factors previously identified as hampering conducting business in Nigeria (critical infrastructure, business registration, access to credit), but the lack of specificity (specifying responsible agencies) mitigates the commitment’s potential impact.

Next Steps

This is an important policy goal which could be part of the country’s agenda.

If this is considered in future action plans it should have broader implementation. The government could form work plans that clearly indicate responsible agencies and the strategies for removing red tape during implementation. The government could also consider providing citizens with a platform to give opinions and make queries, and to hold the government accountable on the various elements that affect the country’s ease of doing business ranking.

[61] The World Bank Ease of Doing Business Index measures the regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it. World Bank, Doing Business 2017: Equal Opportunity for All (2017), https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/bitstream/handle/10986/25592/WP-DB17-PUBLIC-Nigeria.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y.
[62] Damilare Odusanya, “The Ease of Doing Business in Nigeria,” http://saharahub.com/the-ease-of-doing-business-in-nigeria/.
[63] A.G. Abubakar (Director, Compliance (CAC)), interview by IRM researcher, 8 Mar. 2019.
[64] “NERC reduces number of days for access to electricity in new buildings”, Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC), https://www.energymixreport.com/nerc-reduces-number-days-access-electricity-new-buildings/, 17 May 2017.
[66] Federal Republic of Nigeria, Open Government Partnership (OGP) Nigeria Mid-Term Self-Assessment 2016-2018 (3 Oct. 2017), 36, opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Nigeria_Mid-Term_Self-Assessment_2016-2018.pdf.
[67] Ayokunnu Ojeniyi (Enabling Business Environment Secretariat (EBES)), interview by IRM researcher, 20 Nov. 2018.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

5. To improve the ease of doing business and Nigeria’s ranking on the World Bank Doing Business Index

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

“This commitment seeks to initiate and implement reforms which will make it easier for the private sector to engage with government agencies involved with business process-related services by streamlining the existing processes using innovative technology. The commitment will encourage improvements in infrastructure that is critical to the success of businesses and promote timely and efficient service delivery in all business process-related services including business registration, licensing, taxation, applying for credit, extending credit facilities etc.”

Milestones:

5.1 Move Nigeria up by at least 20 points on the World Bank Ease of Doing Business Index

5.2 Make process of Land documentation / obtaining titles easier

5.3 Improved coordination and collaboration between agencies of government involved in business process related services

5.4 Downward review of business registration and fees

5.5 Improve critical infrastructure including power transmission and distribution by establishing more power transmission and distribution and licensing fees stations, rail lines, inland waterways, etc.

5.6 Establish a registry of credit information to be accessible by financial institutions

5.7 Enact laws that allow lenders to access borrowers’ data in the credit bureau or credit registry

5.8 Develop road map for improving sectoral value chains for MSMEs

IRM Design Report Assessment

IRM Implementation Report Assessment

●        Verifiable: Yes

●        Relevant: Yes

o   Access to Information

●        Potential impact: Minor

●        Completion: Substantial

●        Did it Open Government? Did not change

This commitment aimed to enact reforms to improve the ease of establishing and operating a business in Nigeria. Prior to the commitment, Nigeria ranked 169th on the World Bank’s ease of doing business index in 2017 and 170th in 2016. [62]

Implementation of the commitment was substantial. In 2018, Nigeria moved up 24 points in the World Bank index as a result of actions taken by the Presidential Enabling Business Environment Secretariat (PEBEC) between 2016 and 2017. [63] For example, PEBEC piloted improvements in land title documentation in Lagos and Kano. [64] Membership of PEBEC included at least 10 agencies involved in business procedures. The PEBEC benefited from high-level support from the Offices of the President and Vice President. As a result of implementation, Nigeria rose 39 points in 2019 to be ranked 131, surpassing the goal set in the commitment. Nigeria has since been recognized as one of the most improved economies for doing business in the world. [65]

The government made notable progress in strengthening the ease of doing business beyond PEBEC efforts. The Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) and Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) reduced the time to register a business and pay taxes. In 2018, CAC reduced the cost for business registration from N10,000 to N5,000 with a window period of 90 days. [66] Importantly, the Central Bank of Nigeria licensed credit bureaus and created a registry of credit information accessible to financial institutions. [67] This registry was supported through two laws passed in 2017, the Secured Transactions in Moveable Assets Law and the Trading Reporting Act, that allow lenders to access borrowers’ data. [68]

This commitment did not change open government practices in regards to Nigeria’s business environment. The commitment simplified government processes and opened a feedback loop for businesspeople seeking redress. It also created a legal and institutional structure for information sharing among financial institutions. However, the commitment is only tangentially connected to open government as it does not affect public participation or accountability and its transparency component is limited to the financial sector. Therefore, this commitment did not increase citizens’ access to information. This commitment would have been relevant to OGP values if, for example, implementation had led to the public disclosure of information on land titles, infrastructure projects, or business information that had previously been withheld.

[62] The World Bank’s ease of doing business index measures regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it. World Bank, “Economy Profile 2017 Nigeria” in Ease of Doing Business 2017 (2017), https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/bitstream/handle/10986/25592/WP-DB17-PUBLIC-Nigeria.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y
[63] Vanguard, “Nigeria moves up 24 points on World Bank Ease of Doing Business” (31 Oct. 2017), https://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/10/nigeria-moves-24-points-world-bank-ease-business/.
[64] Open Alliance, “Behind Closed Books- A Case Study of Nigeria' OGP Fiscal Transparency Commitment” (2019), https://openalliance.ng/resources/documents/.
[65] Aisha Salaudeen, “Nigeria improves in World Bank ease of doing business ranking, but is it easier to do business there?” (CNN, 24 Oct. 2019), https://edition.cnn.com/2019/10/24/africa/nigeria-improves-in-world-bank-ranking/index.html
[67] Central Bank of Nigeria Abuja, Guidelines for the Licensing, Operations and Regulation of Credit Bureaus in Nigeria (Oct. 2008), https://www.cbn.gov.ng/OUT/CIRCULARS/BSD/2008/GUIDELINE FOR LICENSING CREDIT BUREAU IN NIGERIA.PDF. 
[68] Open Alliance, "Behind Closed Books- A Case Study of Nigeria' OGP Fiscal Transparency Commitment." https://openalliance.ng/resources/documents/

Commitments

Open Government Partnership