Ignorer la navigation
Nigeria

Mettre en œuvre une stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption (NG0022)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action du Nigéria 2019-2022

Cycle du plan d'action : 2019

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : Ministère fédéral de la justice

Institution(s) de soutien : Ministère de la justice, Bureau du juge en chef du Nigéria, Ministère de l'information et de la culture, Agence nationale d'orientation, Commission des crimes économiques et financiers (EFCC), Bureau du code de conduite, Nigeria Bar Association, MSME-ASI, Commission indépendante sur les pratiques de corruption et autres infractions connexes (ICPC), dirige les MDA au sein des comités du NAP et de l'Assemblée nationale sur la lutte contre la corruption, les crimes financiers et les comptes publics Publiez ce que vous payez (PCQVP), Centre africain pour le leadership, la stratégie et le développement (Centre LSD), ANEEJ, Congrès du travail du Nigéria (NLC), Réseau africain pour la justice environnementale (ANEEJ), Coalition pour la liberté de l'information, Réseau mondial pour les solutions cybernétiques, Nigeria Bar Association, WANGONet, Nigeria Labour Congress, Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria, MSME-ASI, Association of National Accountants of Nigeria, Open Judiciary Institute, Youths in Africa Anti-corruption Network, , Inter-Religious Bodies/Conseil, l'Association chrétienne du Nigeria, Conseil des Oulamahs. Partenaires Afrique de l'Ouest Nigeria (PWAN), Initiative for Leadership Foundation (ILF), Center for Health Equity and Justice (CEHEJ)

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Institutions anti-corruption

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception du Nigéria 2019-2021

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Détails

Brève description:
Cet engagement prendra des mesures délibérées qui mèneront à la mise en œuvre de la stratégie anti-corruption pour le Nigéria.

Problème général:
Il existe au Nigeria une culture de corruption qui alimente les pratiques de corruption, en toute impunité. Les mécanismes, systèmes et institutions sont trop faibles pour faire face au niveau d'impunité associé aux pratiques de corruption. Dans le premier PAN, il y avait entre autres un engagement à développer une stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption. Cet engagement est un suivi pour prendre les mesures appropriées pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption.

Problème OGP spécifique:
Cet engagement vise à relever le défi de la transparence et de la responsabilité

Justification de l'engagement:
Au fil des ans, la corruption s'est répandue dans les gouvernements, le secteur privé et la société civile. Cela a eu un impact négatif sur tous les aspects de la vie au Nigéria. Il est donc nécessaire de prendre une série de mesures pour réduire l'impact négatif de la corruption et promouvoir la transparence et la responsabilité dans la gouvernance.

Objectif principal:
Prendre les mesures appropriées pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption et modifier la culture de la corruption et promouvoir la transparence et la responsabilité au Nigéria.

Impact prévu:
Réduction de la corruption au Nigéria

Voir le plan d'action pour les activités marquantes

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

8. Mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption

Objectif principal

«Prendre les mesures appropriées pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption et modifier la culture de la corruption et promouvoir la transparence et la responsabilité au Nigéria.»

Milestones

  1. Mener une évaluation des risques de corruption (CRA) pour les MDA principaux du PGO et mettre en place un mécanisme d'intégrité
  2. Le ministère de la Justice publiera un rapport semestriel sur l'état d'avancement de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption
  3. Le bureau du CJN publiera un rapport semestriel sur l'état des affaires de lutte contre la corruption au Nigéria
  4. Promouvoir l'orientation éthique pour une meilleure éthique personnelle par la communication stratégique, le théâtre, les arts, la musique et la récompense de l'intégrité en honorant les organisations méritantes
  5. TUGAR va déployer un cadre de suivi et de signalement continus des cas de lutte contre la corruption par les OSC et les MDA

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, veuillez consulter le plan d'action du Nigéria à l'adresse https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/nigeria-action-plan-2019-2021/

Analyse des engagements

L'engagement vise à mettre en œuvre la stratégie nationale de lutte contre la corruption (NACS) du Nigéria. Dans le cadre de l'engagement 9 du plan d'action national du Nigéria pour 2017-2019, le Conseil exécutif fédéral a adopté le NACS en 2017, après 18 ans d'efforts. En 2018, M. Abubakar Malami, procureur général et ministre de la Justice du Nigéria, a lancé un comité interinstitutionnel de suivi et d'évaluation de la mise en œuvre des NACS, (121) supervisant plus de 800 MDA. (122) L'adoption du projet de loi sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte, qui est toujours à l'Assemblée nationale, est une activité essentielle qui n'a pas été achevée dans le cadre du plan d'action précédent. (123)

Dans le cadre du plan d'action actuel, cet engagement comprend plusieurs jalons décrivant les étapes de consolidation de la mise en œuvre du NACS. Ces activités prévoient de publier des rapports sur l'état de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie et le nombre d'affaires de corruption. Le Bureau du procureur général et les organismes d'application de la loi seront les principaux organismes responsables des sanctions. (124) Ils cherchent également à développer un cadre de suivi par les OSC et les agences gouvernementales, à mener des évaluations des risques de corruption pour les agences chefs de file de l'OGP, à mettre en place des mécanismes d'intégrité et à encourager la sensibilisation du public à l'éthique. Cet engagement est pertinent pour la valeur OGP de l'accès à l'information, car il cherche à publier des informations sur l'état des affaires de lutte contre la corruption au Nigéria et la mise en œuvre du NACS.

La mise en œuvre de cet engagement pourrait avoir un impact potentiel mineur sur les efforts de lutte contre la corruption, compte tenu de ses jalons et des objectifs attendus. Le NACS entend renforcer la coordination entre le gouvernement, le secteur privé et les acteurs de la société civile dans la lutte contre la corruption. Les agences anti-corruption devraient mettre à jour les plans stratégiques et élaborer des plans de mise en œuvre. Le NACS comprend également une composante de suivi et d'évaluation avec des rapports mensuels, trimestriels et annuels des agences gouvernementales et des comités centraux. Cependant, la stratégie n'inclut pas de plan de mise en œuvre concret au niveau macro et représente la continuation des efforts préexistants en matière de prévention de la corruption, de sanctions punitives, d'éthique et de recouvrement d'avoirs. (125)

À l'heure actuelle, il n'y a pas d'informations accessibles au public sur le nombre d'affaires de corruption ouvertes ou sur l'état des enquêtes. Le site Web du Conseil national de la magistrature ne propose aucune information pertinente. (126) La publication de ces données comme prévu par cet engagement pourrait faire la lumière sur la prévalence de certains types d'infractions liées à la corruption. Cela pourrait contribuer à surveiller le travail des forces de l'ordre et à détecter, enquêter et poursuivre les affaires de corruption. Cependant, le plan d'action ne précise pas quels détails seront publiés et si le format de publication permettra une analyse nuancée et systématique. De plus, les jalons pour encourager l'éthique et impliquer les OSC sont formulés de manière vague et ne sont pas mesurables.

L'IRM recommande d'impliquer toutes les parties prenantes, en particulier la société civile, dans la mise en œuvre et le suivi des NACS. Une autre priorité importante est l'adoption du projet de loi sur la protection des lanceurs d'alerte, un élément en suspens du plan d'action précédent du Nigéria.

(121) «STRATÉGIE NATIONALE ANTI-CORRUPTION - ANEEJ ATAKPU FAIT PARTIE DU S&E», ANEEJ, 5 septembre 2018, dans http://www.aneej.org/national-anti-corruption-strategy-aneej-atakpu-is-part-of-me/
(122) «Nigeria: Perspectives du NaCS comme arme de lutte contre la corruption», Allafrica / The Guardian, 15 novembre 2018, dans https://allafrica.com/stories/201811150521.html
(123) «Plan d'action national du Nigéria 2019-2021», Open Government Partnership, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/nigeria-action-plan-2019-2021/, p.11; Nigéria - Législation pertinente - Résumé, PPLAAF, en https://www.pplaaf.org/country/nigeria.html; Nigéria - Whistleblowing, UUBO, in  https://www.uubo.org/media/1774/nigeria-whistleblowing-_-dataguidance.pdf, P.4; «7 CHOSES À SAVOIR SUR LA POLITIQUE DE SOUFFLAGE D'ALERTE DU NIGERIA», Portail d'alerte du ministère fédéral des Finances, République fédérale du Nigeria, en https://lawpadi.com/7-things-know-nigerias-whistle-blower-policy/.
(124) Fatima Waziri - Azi, «UNE ÉVALUATION DE LA STRATÉGIE NATIONALE NIGÉRIENNE ANTI CORRUPTION», Journal européen de recherche en sciences sociales Vol. 5 n ° 5, 2017, dans  https://www.idpublications.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Full-Paper-AN-EVALUATION-OF-THE-NIGERIAN-NATIONAL-ANTI-CORRUPTION-STRATEGY.pdf
(125) Fatima Waziri - Azi, «UNE ÉVALUATION DE LA STRATÉGIE NATIONALE NIGÉRIENNE ANTI CORRUPTION», Journal européen de recherche en sciences sociales Vol. 5 n ° 5, 2017, dans  https://www.idpublications.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Full-Paper-AN-EVALUATION-OF-THE-NIGERIAN-NATIONAL-ANTI-CORRUPTION-STRATEGY.pdf
(126) Conseil national de la magistrature https://njc.gov.ng

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Nigeria

Implement National Anti-Corruption Strategy (NG0022)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Nigeria Action Plan 2019-2021

Action Plan Cycle: 2019

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Federal Ministry of Justice

Support Institution(s): Ministry of Justice, Office of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Ministry of Information and Culture, National Orientation Agency, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Code of Conduct Bureau, Nigeria Bar Association, MSME-ASI, Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC), lead MDAs in the NAP and National Assembly Committees on Anti-Corruption, Financial Crimes and Public Accounts. Publish What You Pay (PWYP), African Centre for Leadership, Strategy & Development (Centre LSD), ANEEJ, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), African Network for Environmental Justice (ANEEJ), Freedom of Information Coalition, Global Network for Cyber Solutions, Nigeria Bar Association, WANGONeT, Nigeria Labour Congress, Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria, MSME-ASI, Association of National Accountants of Nigeria, Open Judiciary Institute, Youths in Africa Anti-corruption Network, , Inter-Religious Bodies/Council, the Christian Association of Nigeria, Council of Ulamahs. Partners West Africa Nigeria (PWAN), Initiative for Leadership Foundation (ILF), Centre for Health Equity and Justice (CEHEJ)

Policy Areas

Anti-Corruption, Anti-Corruption Institutions

IRM Review

IRM Report: Nigeria Design Report 2019-2021

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

Brief description:
This commitment will take deliberate actions that will lead to the implementation of the anti-corruption strategy for Nigeria.

General problem:
There is a culture of corruption in Nigeria that fuels corrupt practices, with impunity. The mechanisms, systems and institutions are too weak to tackle the level of impunity associated with corrupt practices. In the first NAP, there was a commitment to among other things develop a National Anti-Corruption strategy. This commitment is a follow up to take appropriate actions to implement the national anti-corruption strategy.

Specific OGP issue:
This commitment is meant to address the challenge of transparency and accountability

Rationale for the commitment:
Over the years, corruption has become widespread across governments, private sector and the civil society. This has impacted negatively on all aspects of life in Nigeria. There is therefore the need to take a range of actions to reduce the negative impact of corruption and promote transparency and accountability in governance.

Main objective:
To take appropriate actions to implement the national anti-corruption strategy and alter the culture of corruption and promote transparency and accountability in Nigeria.

Anticipated impact:
Reduction of corruption in Nigeria

See action plan for milestone activities

IRM Midterm Status Summary

8. Implementation of the National Anti-Corruption Strategy

Main Objective

“To take appropriate actions to implement the national anti-corruption strategy and alter the culture of corruption and promote transparency and accountability in Nigeria.”

Milestones

  1. Conduct Corruption Risk Assessment (CRA) for OGP lead MDAs and put in place integrity mechanism
  2. Ministry of Justice to Publish Half-yearly report on the status of the implementation of the National Anti-Corruption Strategy
  3. CJN office to publish Half-yearly report the state of anti-corruption cases in Nigeria
  4. Promote ethical orientation for improved personal ethics through strategic communication, drama, arts, music and reward for integrity by honoring deserving organizations
  5. TUGAR to deploy a framework for the continuous monitoring and reporting of anti-corruption cases by CSOs and MDAs

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, please see Nigeria’s action plan at https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/nigeria-action-plan-2019-2021/

Commitment Analysis

The commitment aims to implement Nigeria’s National Anti-Corruption Strategy (NACS). Under Commitment 9 of Nigeria’s 2017–2019 national action plan, the Federal Executive Council adopted NACS in 2017, after 18 years of effort. In 2018, Mr. Abubakar Malami, Nigeria’s attorney general and minister of Justice, launched an inter-institutional monitoring and evaluation committee on NACS implementation, [121] providing oversight to more than 800 MDAs. [122] A critical activity that was not completed under the previous action plan was passage of the Whistleblower Protection Bill, which is still at the National Assembly. [123]

Under the current action plan, this commitment includes several milestones outlining steps to consolidate implementation of NACS. These activities plan to release reports on the status of implementation of the strategy and the number of corruption cases. The Office of the Attorney General and law enforcement agencies will be the main agencies responsible for penalties. [124] They also seek to develop a monitoring framework by CSOs and government agencies, conduct corruption risk assessments for OGP lead agencies, set up integrity mechanisms, and encourage public awareness of ethics. This commitment is relevant to the OGP value of access to information, as it seeks to publish information on the status of anti-corruption cases in Nigeria and NACS implementation.

Implementation of this commitment could lead to minor potential impact on anti-corruption efforts given its milestones and expected goals. NACS intends to increase coordination between government, private sector, and civil society stakeholders in the fight against corruption. Anti-corruption agencies are expected to update strategic plans and develop implementation plans. NACS also includes a monitoring and evaluation component with monthly, quarterly, and annual reports by government agencies and central committees. However, the strategy does not include a concrete macro-level implementation plan and represents a continuation of preexisting efforts on corruption prevention, punitive sanctions, ethics, and asset recovery. [125]

Currently there is no publicly available information on the number of corruption cases initiated or the status of investigations. The National Judicial Council’s website does not offer any relevant information. [126] Publication of these data as foreseen by this commitment could shed light on the prevalence of certain types of corruption-related offences. This could contribute to monitoring the work of law enforcement agencies and detection, investigation, and prosecution of corruption cases. However, the action plan does not specify which details will be published and whether the format of publication will allow for nuanced and systematic analysis. Additionally, the milestones on encouraging ethics and engaging CSOs are vaguely formulated and are not measurable.

The IRM recommends engaging all stakeholders, particularly civil society, in implementation and monitoring of NACS. Another important priority is passage of the Whistleblower Protection Bill, a pending item from Nigeria’s previous action plan.

[121] “NATIONAL ANTI-CORRUPTION STRATEGY -ANEEJ ATAKPU IS PART OF M&E,” ANEEJ, 5 September 2018, in http://www.aneej.org/national-anti-corruption-strategy-aneej-atakpu-is-part-of-me/
[122] “Nigeria: Prospects of NaCS As Weapon of Anti-Corruption Fight,” Allafrica/The Guardian, 15 November 2018, in https://allafrica.com/stories/201811150521.html
[123] “Nigeria 2019-2021 National Action Plan”, Open Government Partnership, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/nigeria-action-plan-2019-2021/, p.11; Nigeria – Relevant Legislation – Summary, PPLAAF, in https://www.pplaaf.org/country/nigeria.html; Nigeria – Whistleblowing, UUBO, in  https://www.uubo.org/media/1774/nigeria-whistleblowing-_-dataguidance.pdf, P.4; “7 THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT NIGERIA’S WHISTLE BLOWER POLICY,” Federal Ministry of Finance Whistleblowing  Portal, Federal Republic of Nigeria, in https://lawpadi.com/7-things-know-nigerias-whistle-blower-policy/.
[124] Fatima Waziri – Azi, “AN EVALUATION OF THE NIGERIAN NATIONAL ANTI CORRUPTION STRATEGY,”  European Journal of Research in Social Sciences Vol. 5 No. 5, 2017, in  https://www.idpublications.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Full-Paper-AN-EVALUATION-OF-THE-NIGERIAN-NATIONAL-ANTI-CORRUPTION-STRATEGY.pdf
[125] Fatima Waziri – Azi, “AN EVALUATION OF THE NIGERIAN NATIONAL ANTI CORRUPTION STRATEGY,”  European Journal of Research in Social Sciences Vol. 5 No. 5, 2017, in  https://www.idpublications.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Full-Paper-AN-EVALUATION-OF-THE-NIGERIAN-NATIONAL-ANTI-CORRUPTION-STRATEGY.pdf
[126] National Judicial Council https://njc.gov.ng

Commitments

  1. Participatory Budgeting

    NG0015, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  2. Implement Open Contracting and the Open Contracting Data Standard

    NG0016, 2019, Access to Information

  3. Transparent Tax Revenue Reporting

    NG0017, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  4. Open Contracting and Licensing in Extractives

    NG0018, 2019, Access to Information

  5. Implement EITI Standard

    NG0019, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  6. Establish Beneficial Ownership Registry

    NG0020, 2019, Access to Information

  7. Strengthen Asset Recovery Legislation

    NG0021, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  8. Implement National Anti-Corruption Strategy

    NG0022, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  9. Improve Compliance with Freedom of Information Act with Focus on Records Management

    NG0023, 2019, Access to Information

  10. Improved Compliance with Mandatory Publication Provisions Requirement (FOIA)

    NG0024, 2019, Access to Information

  11. Implement Permanent Dialogue Mechanism

    NG0025, 2019, Dispute Resolution & Legal Assistance

  12. Aggregate Citizens' Feedback on Programs

    NG0026, 2019, E-Government

  13. Freedom of Association, Assembly, and Expression

    NG0027, 2019, Civic Space

  14. Enhance Participation of the Vulnerable

    NG0028, 2019, Capacity Building

  15. Implement New Computer Program in 6 Government Ministries to Improve Service Delivery

    NG0029, 2019, Capacity Building

  16. Legal Instrument to Strengthen SERVICOM

    NG0030, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  17. Citizen Participation in Budget Cycle

    NG0001, 2017, Access to Information

  18. Open Contracting

    NG0002, 2017, Access to Information

  19. Extractive Sector Transparency

    NG0003, 2017, Access to Information

  20. Tax Reporting Standards

    NG0004, 2017, Fiscal Openness

  21. World Bank Doing Business Index

    NG0005, 2017, Infrastructure & Transport

  22. Beneficial Ownership Register

    NG0006, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  23. Anti-Corruption Informationi Sharing

    NG0007, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  24. Asset Recovery Legislation

    NG0008, 2017, Capacity Building

  25. Anti-Corruption Activity Coordination

    NG0009, 2017, Anti-Corruption

  26. FOIA Compliance for Annual Reporting

    NG0010, 2017, Access to Information

  27. FOIA Compliance for Disclosure

    NG0011, 2017, Access to Information

  28. Permanent Dialogue Mechanism

    NG0012, 2017, Fiscal Openness

  29. Joint Governmnet-Civil Society Legislation Review

    NG0013, 2017, Fiscal Openness

  30. Technology-Based Citizens' Feedback

    NG0014, 2017, E-Government

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!