Ignorer la navigation
États-Unis

Open Data for Public Health (US0110)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action des États-Unis 2019-2021

Cycle du plan d'action : 2019

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : NA

Institution(s) de soutien : NA

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, E-gouvernement, Santé, Open Data, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics, Technologie scientifique

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception des États-Unis 2019-2021

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Site Web i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Description

Utiliser les données ouvertes pour stimuler l'innovation et améliorer la santé publique Grâce aux nombreuses informations fournies par les intervenants du secteur de la santé et des technologies, le gouvernement fédéral utilisera les données pour promouvoir la prochaine génération d'innovation dans le secteur de la santé. - Innovation axée sur les données pour la crise des opioïdes. Le bureau du responsable en charge de la technologie (CTO) de HHS organisera une série d'événements de co-création pour découvrir les informations d'un ensemble complet de données privées, fédérales et nationales, relatives à la crise des opioïdes. - Innovation axée sur les données pour les maladies de Lyme et les tiques. En réponse aux pétitions en ligne et aux demandes publiques demandant au gouvernement fédéral de donner la priorité aux maladies de Lyme et des tiques, le bureau du HHS du Chief Technology Officer (CTO) lancera un nouveau partenariat public-privé - un accélérateur d'innovation pour les maladies de Lyme et des tiques. La maladie de Lyme rend plus malade que les Américains 300,000 chaque année et est la maladie à transmission vectorielle à la croissance la plus rapide aux États-Unis, qui prélève des dizaines de milliards de dollars de l’économie. Pour relever ce défi aux multiples facettes, HHS organisera une série de séances d'écoute, de tables rondes et d'événements «Innovation Lyme» conçus pour exploiter le pouvoir de la foule et tirer parti des technologies émergentes afin de créer conjointement des solutions avec des patients et des praticiens. . - Innovation axée sur les données pour des soins de santé axés sur la valeur. Le bureau du directeur technique de HHS (CTO) lancera une série de défis de prix «innovation ouverte» visant à améliorer les soins de santé fondés sur la valeur grâce aux données ouvertes fédérales, à la recherche pilotée par le patient, à la science ouverte, au logiciel libre (p. Ex. crowdsourcing, science citoyenne et partenariats public-privé innovants).

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

6. Utiliser les données ouvertes pour alimenter l'innovation afin d'améliorer la santé publique

Objectif principal

«                                                                                                         

Milestones

« Organisez une série d'événements de co-création pour découvrir des informations à partir d'un ensemble complet d'ensembles de données fédéraux, étatiques et privés liés à la crise des opioïdes. »

« Lancer une nouvelle collaboration public-privé – un accélérateur d'innovation pour la maladie de Lyme et les tiques. »

« Lancer une série de défis de prix « open innovation » pour améliorer les soins de santé basés sur la valeur."

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, veuillez consulter le plan d'action des États-Unis à l'adresse : https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf.

Évaluation du rapport de conception de l'IRM

Vérifiable:

Oui

Pertinent:

Oui

Accès à l'information; participation civique; technologie et innovation pour la transparence et la responsabilité

Impact potentiel:

Mineur

Analyse des engagements

Cet engagement utilise de manière innovante les données ouvertes pour améliorer la santé publique via trois étapes : l'organisation d'événements pour examiner les données du gouvernement et du secteur privé sur la crise des opioïdes ; le lancement d'un accélérateur d'innovation public-privé sur la maladie de Lyme et les maladies transmises par les tiques et l'hébergement d'activités connexes ; et lancer des défis d'innovation pour améliorer les soins de santé basés sur la valeur. [65] Ceux-ci seront dirigés par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (HHS).

En ce qui concerne le premier jalon, le HHS a déclaré une urgence de santé publique en octobre 2017 pour faire face au nombre croissant de décès dus aux opioïdes, avec plus de 91 Américains mourant quotidiennement d'overdoses d'opioïdes ; 64,000 2016 Américains sont morts d'overdoses de drogue en 52,404, contre 2015 XNUMX Américains décédés en XNUMX. [66] Le troisième des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention des États-Unis Rapport annuel de surveillance des risques et des résultats liés à la drogue à partir de 2019 note une augmentation continue des décès jusqu'en 2017, avec 70,237 42.5 décès et une augmentation marquée des décès impliquant des opioïdes synthétiques sans méthadone de 2016% de 2017 à XNUMX. [67] La déclaration d'urgence de santé publique par le HHS fait suite à la publication de sa « stratégie sur les opioïdes » en cinq points [68] pour faire face à la crise, le « Point 2 » engageant le HHS à soutenir « des données et des rapports de santé publique plus rapides et spécifiques, notamment en accélérant la communication par les CDC des données sur les surdoses de drogue ». [69]

Les maladies de Lyme et les maladies transmises par les tiques ont également augmenté. La maladie de Lyme « est la maladie à transmission vectorielle à la croissance la plus rapide aux États-Unis », infectant plus de 300,000 XNUMX Américains chaque année. [70] Le HHS' Rapport 2018 du groupe de travail sur les maladies transmises par les tiques au Congrès [71] note que le nombre de comtés à forte incidence de la maladie de Lyme a augmenté de 300 % dans les États du nord-est et de 250 % dans les États du centre-nord, entraînant des coûts médicaux directs de 1.3 milliard de dollars par an et un « problème potentiel de 50 à 100 milliards de dollars pour les États-Unis ” lorsque des coûts plus larges sont pris en compte. Le deuxième jalon réduira l'incidence de la maladie et les coûts associés via l'accélérateur proposé.

Enfin, concernant la troisième étape, les activités d'innovation ouverte de HHS « fournissent au département une connaissance approfondie des outils alternatifs disponibles pour offrir des opportunités aux résolveurs de problèmes partout », notamment via le service d'innovation ouverte du HHS IDEA Lab. [72] Les défis du prix sont l'un de ces outils, dans le but d'accélérer le développement de solutions et d'élargir le nombre d'individus et d'entreprises travaillant sur des solutions aux problèmes de santé et autres. HHS a lancé plus de 170 défis et attribué 35 millions de dollars de prix en espèces depuis 2011. [73] Lors de son entrée en fonction, le secrétaire du HHS, Alex Azar II, "a identifié la transformation fondée sur la valeur de l'ensemble de notre système de santé comme l'une des quatre principales priorités du [HHS]" [74] avec des soins de santé basés sur la valeur définis comme le paiement des prestataires médicaux en fonction des résultats obtenus plutôt que des services fournis. [75] Les défis de prix proposés par l'engagement devraient amener le HHS dans cette direction.

L'engagement est pertinent pour les valeurs OGP d'accès à l'information en raison des événements de co-création, liés aux données et au partage d'informations envisagés dans les premier et deuxième jalons. L'engagement est également pertinent pour la participation civique sur ces motifs, ainsi que via les défis d'innovation ouverte du troisième jalon qui sont ouverts à la participation du public. Tous les jalons sont largement pertinents pour la valeur OGP de la technologie et de l'innovation pour l'accès à l'information.

Le chercheur de l'IRM évalue l'engagement comme ayant un impact potentiel mineur. Les ateliers de co-création du premier jalon sont relativement restreints compte tenu de la stratégie plus large en cinq points sur les opioïdes et de la gamme d'activités en cours liées aux données dans ce domaine. Il s'agit notamment de l'octroi par les Centers for Disease Control and Prevention d'un financement de millions de dollars à 44 États et au District de Columbia pour soutenir la collecte et l'utilisation de données sur la mortalité due aux opioïdes, [76] un Code-a-Thon sur les opioïdes dirigé par le HHS en 2017, [77] et la publication d'outils de cartographie de prescription d'opioïdes par les Centers for Medicare et Medicaid Services. [78] Les ateliers de co-création proposés par l'engagement sont donc une innovation mineure.

L'accélérateur d'innovation proposé pour la maladie de Lyme et les tiques et les activités connexes devraient également avoir un impact mineur. L'initiative, lancée trois mois avant le PAN4, l'empêche d'effectuer une évaluation d'impact potentielle. Les initiatives ayant un impact potentiel clair comprennent : les activités de séance d'écoute ; un sprint technologique de 14 semaines qui exploite des ensembles de données fédérales ouvertes pour développer des outils de santé numériques axés sur les maladies de Lyme et les maladies transmises par les tiques ; et une table ronde sur l'innovation de Lyme précédemment hébergée le 4 décembre 2018 pour « identifier les ensembles de données de grande valeur et les ressources disponibles » et explorer les partenariats public-privé. [79] HHS envisage les sessions d'écoute proposées comme un moyen d'« entendre les commentaires des parties prenantes individuelles », mais ne spécifie pas de résultat clair et mesurable. [80] L'impact potentiel des sessions serait donc évalué comme mineur, si le lancement de l'initiative intervenait après la publication du NAP4. [81]

Enfin, les défis proposés par le HHS pour les soins de santé basés sur la valeur sont une composante relativement mineure des activités en cours beaucoup plus larges du HHS avec des résultats clairement identifiables dans le domaine des soins de santé basés sur la valeur. Ces activités comprennent les nouvelles règles proposées par le HHS pour améliorer l'accès des patients aux informations médicales en exigeant que les informations de santé électroniques soient fournies gratuitement, ce qui est «essentiel pour construire un système de santé qui paie pour la valeur plutôt que pour les procédures». [82] Une autre activité en cours du HHS est le modèle de triage, de traitement et de transport d'urgence qui permet aux « professionnels de la santé qualifiés de fournir un traitement sur place » et propose des « sites de destination alternatifs… pour fournir des soins aux bénéficiaires de Medicare après une [911] urgence médicale », une étape en avant pour des soins de santé fondés sur la valeur. [83] Compte tenu de ces activités, les défis proposés pour le prix, dont la portée et la valeur sont incertaines, n'ont qu'un impact potentiel substantiel.

[65] Gouvernement des États-Unis, La solution Open Government Partnership: Quatrième plan d'action national de gouvernement ouvert pour les États-Unis d'Amérique (OGP, fév. 2019), 4, https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf.
[66] Département américain de la santé et des services sociaux, « HHS Acting Secretary Declares Public Health Emergency to Address National Opioid Crisis » (26 octobre 2017), https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2017/10/26/hhs-acting-secretary-declares-public-health-emergency-address-national-opioid-crisis.html.
[67] Centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies, Centre national de prévention et de contrôle des blessures, Rapport annuel de surveillance des risques et des résultats liés à la drogue (1 novembre 2019), 7−9, https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/pdf/pubs/2019-cdc-drug-surveillance-report.pdf.
[68] Département américain de la santé et des services sociaux, « Stratégie en 5 points pour combattre la crise des opioïdes » (30 août 2020), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/about-the-epidemic/hhs-response/index.html; Département américain de la santé et des services sociaux, Stratégie de lutte contre l'abus, l'abus et les surdoses d'opioïdes (novembre 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/sites/default/files/2018-09/opioid-fivepoint-strategy-20180917-508compliant.pdf.
[69] Département américain de la santé et des services sociaux, « Better Data » (1er septembre 2020), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/about-the-epidemic/hhs-response/better-data/index.html.
[70] Gouvernement des États-Unis, Quatrième plan d'action national pour un gouvernement ouvert chez 4.
[71] Département américain de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Bureau du Secrétaire adjoint à la santé, Groupe de travail sur les maladies transmises par les tiques : rapport 2018 au Congrès (2018), 1, https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/tbdwg-report-to-congress-2018.pdf.
[72] Directeur de la technologie du département américain de la santé et des services sociaux, « About Open Innovation » (27 sept. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/cto/initiatives/open-innovation/about/index.html.
[73] Id.
[74] Alex M. Azar II, « Value-Based Transformation of America's Healthcare System » (Département américain de la Santé et des Services sociaux, 8 mars 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/about/leadership/secretary/speeches/2018-speeches/value-based-transformation-of-americas-healthcare-system.html.
[75] Secrétaire adjoint aux affaires publiques, « Secretary Priorities » (US Dept. of Health and Human Services, 23 juil. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/about/leadership/secretary/priorities/index.html#value-based-healthcare.
[76] Centers for Disease Control and Prevention des États-Unis, « Enhanced State Opioid Overdose Surveillance » (16 juil. 2019), https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/foa/state-opioid-mm.html.
[77] HHS Office of the Chief Technology Officer, « HHS Opioid Code-a-Thon » (3 juillet 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/challenges/code-a-thon/index.html.
[78] Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services des États-Unis, « CMS Opioid Prescription » (1er mai 2019), https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Medicare-Provider-Charge-Data/OpioidMap. Pour une sélection d'activités connexes, lire Département américain de la santé et des services sociaux « Better Data » (1er septembre 2020), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/about-the-epidemic/hhs-response/better-data/index.html.
[79] Kristen Honey et Ed Simcox (HHS Chief Technology Officer), « Le bureau du HHS du CTO annonce une initiative 'Lyme Innovation' » (HHS, 20 nov. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/cto/blog/2018/11/20/the-hhs-office-of-the-cto-announces-a-lyme-innovation-initiative.html.
[80] Id.
[81] Lorraine Johnson (PDG de LymeDisease.org et chercheuse principale de MyLymeData) note une préoccupation connexe des partenariats public-privé : « le simple fait d'ouvrir des données peut soumettre les patients de Lyme en tant que communauté à une plus grande stigmatisation si ces données ne sont pas utilisées en partenariat avec la communauté de Lyme. -penser à la recherche communautaire participative. Elle laisse entendre qu'une attention plus large est nécessaire pour les défis de confidentialité liés à l'utilisation de partenariats public-privé pour faciliter l'accès et la disponibilité des données sur la maladie de Lyme.
[82] Département américain de la santé et des services sociaux, « HHS propose de nouvelles règles pour améliorer l'interopérabilité des informations de santé électroniques » (11 févr. 2019), https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2019/02/11/hhs-proposes-new-rules-improve-interoperability-electronic-health-information.html.
[83] Centers for Medicare & Medical Services, « Emergency Triage, Treat, and Transport Model », (11 octobre 2019), https://innovation.cms.gov/innovation-models/et3

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
United States

Open Data for Public Health (US0110)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: United States Action Plan 2019-2021

Action Plan Cycle: 2019

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: NA

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Access to Information, E-Government, Health, Open Data, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery, Science & Technology

IRM Review

IRM Report: United States Design Report 2019-2021

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

Using Open Data to Fuel Innovation to Improve Public Health Based on extensive feedback from healthcare and technology stakeholders, the Federal Government will leverage data to foster the next generation of healthcare innovation. - Data-Driven Innovation for the Opioid Crisis. The HHS Office of the Chief Technology Officer (CTO) will host a series of co-creation events to discover insights from a comprehensive set of Federal, State, and private datasets related to the opioid crisis. - Data-Driven Innovation for Lyme and Tick-Borne Diseases. In response to online petitions and public demand that the Federal Government prioritize Lyme and tick-borne diseases, the HHS Office of the Chief Technology Officer (CTO) will launch a new public-private collaborative — a Lyme and Tick-Borne Disease Innovation Accelerator. Lyme disease sickens more than 300,000 Americans every year and is the fastest-growing vector-borne disease in the United States, which drains tens of billions of dollars from the economy. To address this multi-faceted challenge, HHS will host a series of “Lyme Innovation” listening sessions, roundtables, and events designed to harness the power of the crowd and leverage emerging technologies in order to co-create solutions with patients and practitioners as partners. - Data-Driven Innovation for Value-Based Healthcare. The HHS Office of the Chief Technology Officer (CTO) will launch a series of “open innovation” prize challenges to improve value-based healthcare with Federal open data, patient-powered research, open science, open source, and open innovation (e.g., crowdsourcing, citizen science, and innovative public-private partnerships).

IRM Midterm Status Summary

6. Using Open Data to Fuel Innovation to Improve Public Health

Main Objective

“Leverage data to foster the next generation of healthcare innovation.”

Milestones

“Host a series of co-creation events to discover insights from a comprehensive set of Federal, State, and private datasets related to the opioid crisis.”

“Launch a new public-private collaborative — a Lyme and Tick-Borne Disease Innovation Accelerator.”

“Launch a series of “open innovation” prize challenges to improve value-based healthcare.”

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, please see the United States’ action plan at: https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf.

IRM Design Report Assessment

Verifiable:

Yes

Relevant:

Yes

Access to information; civic participation; technology and innovation for transparency and accountability

Potential impact:

Minor

Commitment analysis

This commitment innovatively uses open data to improve public health via three milestones: hosting events to examine government- and private-sector data on the opioid crisis; launching a public-private Lyme and Tick-Borne Disease Innovation Accelerator and hosting related activities; and launching innovation challenges to improve value-based healthcare. [65] These will be led by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Regarding the first milestone, HHS declared a public health emergency in October 2017 to address the growing number of deaths from opioids, with more than 91 Americans dying from opioid overdoses daily; 64,000 Americans died from drug overdoses in 2016, up from 52,404 Americans who died in 2015. [66] The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s third Annual Surveillance Report of Drug-Related Risks and Outcomes from 2019 notes an ongoing increase in deaths through 2017, with 70,237 deaths and a marked increase in deaths involving non-methadone synthetic opioids of 42.5% from 2016 to 2017. [67] HHS’ declaration of a public health emergency followed the release of its five-point “Opioid Strategy” [68] to address the crisis, with “Point 2” committing HHS to support “more timely, specific public health data and reporting, including through accelerating CDC’s reporting of drug overdose data.” [69]

Lyme and tick-borne diseases have similarly been increasing. Lyme disease “is the fastest growing vector-borne disease in the United States,” infecting more than 300,000 Americans annually. [70] The HHS’ Tick-Borne Disease Working Group’s 2018 Report to Congress [71] notes the number of counties with high incidence of Lyme disease has increased by 300% in Northeastern states and 250% in North-Central states, entailing $1.3 billion in direct medical costs annually, and a “potential $50−$100 billion problem for the United States” when broader costs are considered. The second milestone will reduce disease incidence and associated costs via the proposed accelerator.

Finally, regarding the third milestone, HHS’ open innovation activities “provide the Department with expert knowledge of alternative tools available to bring opportunities to problem solvers everywhere,” specifically via the HHS IDEA Lab’s Open Innovation service. [72] Prize challenges are one such tool, with the goal of accelerating solution development and broadening the number of individuals and companies working on solutions to health-related problems and others. HHS has launched over 170 challenges and awarded $35 million in cash prizes since 2011. [73] Upon taking office, HHS Secretary Alex Azar II “identified the value-based transformation of our entire healthcare system as one of the top four priorities for [HHS]” [74] with value-based healthcare defined as payment of medical providers based on achieved outcomes rather than services provided. [75] The commitment’s proposed prize challenges should move the HHS in this direction.

The commitment is relevant to the OGP values of access to information due to the co-creation, data-related, and information-sharing events envisioned under the first and second milestones. The commitment is similarly relevant to civic participation on these grounds, as well as via the third milestone’s open innovation challenges which are open to public participation. All milestones are broadly relevant for the OGP value of technology and innovation for access to Information.

The IRM researcher assesses the commitment as having a minor potential impact. The first milestone’s co-creation workshops are relatively narrow given the broader five-point Opioid Strategy, and range of ongoing data-related activities in this area. These include the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s awarding of millions of dollars in funding to 44 states and the District of Columbia to support data collection and usage on opioid mortality, [76] an HHS-led Opioid Code-a-Thon in 2017, [77] and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ release of opioid-prescribing mapping tools. [78] The commitment’s proposed co-creation workshops therefore are a minor innovation.

The proposed Lyme and Tick-Borne Disease Innovation Accelerator and related activities are similarly expected to have a minor impact. The initiative, launched three months prior to NAP4, precludes it from a potential impact assessment. Initiatives with clear potential impact include: listening session activities; a 14-week tech-sprint that leverages open federal datasets to develop digital health tools focused on Lyme and tick-borne diseases; and a previously hosted Lyme Innovation Roundtable held on 4 December 2018 for “identify[ing] high-value datasets and available resources” and exploring public-private partnerships. [79] HHS envisions the proposed listening sessions as a means of “hear[ing] feedback from individual stakeholders,” but does not specify a clear and measurable output. [80] The sessions’ potential impact would therefore be assessed as minor, were the initiative’s launch to have occurred after NAP4’s publication. [81]

Finally, HHS’ proposed prize challenges for value-based healthcare are a relatively minor component of the HHS’s far broader ongoing activities with clearly identifiable outputs in value-based healthcare. These activities include HHS’ proposed new rules to enhance patient access to medical information by mandating that electronic health information be provided at no cost, which is “essential to building a healthcare system that pays for value rather than procedures.” [82] Another ongoing HHS activity is the Emergency Triage, Treat, and Transport Model which allows “qualified healthcare professionals to deliver treatment in place” and offers “alternative destination sites…to provide care for Medicare beneficiaries following a [911] medical emergency,” a step forward for value-based healthcare. [83] Given these activities, the proposed prize challenges, with uncertain scope and value, do not have more than a substantial potential impact.

[65] Government of the United States, The Open Government Partnership: Fourth Open Government National Action Plan for the United States of America (OGP, Feb. 2019), 4, https://open.usa.gov/assets/files/NAP4-fourth-open-government-national-action-plan.pdf.
[66] U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, “HHS Acting Secretary Declares Public Health Emergency to Address National Opioid Crisis” (26 Oct. 2017), https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2017/10/26/hhs-acting-secretary-declares-public-health-emergency-address-national-opioid-crisis.html.
[67] Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Annual Surveillance Report of Drug-Related Risks and Outcomes (1 Nov. 2019), 7−9, https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/pdf/pubs/2019-cdc-drug-surveillance-report.pdf.
[68] U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, “5-Point Strategy To Combat the Opioid Crisis” (30 August 2020), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/about-the-epidemic/hhs-response/index.html; U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Strategy to Combat Opioid Abuse, Misuse, and Overdose (Nov. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/sites/default/files/2018-09/opioid-fivepoint-strategy-20180917-508compliant.pdf.
[69] U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, “Better Data” (1 Sept. 2020), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/about-the-epidemic/hhs-response/better-data/index.html.
[70] Government of the United States, Fourth Open Government National Action Plan at 4.
[71] U.S. Dept. Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Tick-Borne Disease Working Group: 2018 Report to Congress (2018), 1, https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/tbdwg-report-to-congress-2018.pdf.
[72] U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services Chief Technology Officer, “About Open Innovation” (27 Sept. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/cto/initiatives/open-innovation/about/index.html.
[73] Id.
[74] Alex M. Azar II, “Value-Based Transformation of America’s Healthcare System” (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, 8 Mar. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/about/leadership/secretary/speeches/2018-speeches/value-based-transformation-of-americas-healthcare-system.html.
[75] Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs, “Secretary Priorities” (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, 23 Jul. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/about/leadership/secretary/priorities/index.html#value-based-healthcare.
[76] U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, “Enhanced State Opioid Overdose Surveillance” (16 Jul. 2019), https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/foa/state-opioid-mm.html.
[77] HHS Office of the Chief Technology Officer, “HHS Opioid Code-a-Thon” (3 Jul. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/challenges/code-a-thon/index.html.
[78] U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, “CMS Opioid Prescribing” (1 May 2019), https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Medicare-Provider-Charge-Data/OpioidMap. For a selection of related activities, see U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services “Better Data” (1 Sept. 2020), https://www.hhs.gov/opioids/about-the-epidemic/hhs-response/better-data/index.html.
[79] Kristen Honey and Ed Simcox (HHS Chief Technology Officer), “The HHS Office of the CTO announces a ‘Lyme Innovation’ initiative” (HHS, 20 Nov. 2018), https://www.hhs.gov/cto/blog/2018/11/20/the-hhs-office-of-the-cto-announces-a-lyme-innovation-initiative.html.
[80] Id.
[81] Lorraine Johnson (CEO of LymeDisease.org and Principal Investigator of MyLymeData) notes a related concern of public-private partnerships: “simply opening data may subject Lyme patients as a community to greater stigma if that data is not used in partnership with the Lyme community-think community participatory research.” She implies that broader attention is needed for the privacy challenges of leveraging public-private partnerships to facilitate Lyme disease data access and availability.
[82] U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, “HHS Proposes New Rules to Improve the Interoperability of Electronic Health Information” (11 Feb. 2019), https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2019/02/11/hhs-proposes-new-rules-improve-interoperability-electronic-health-information.html.
[83] Centers for Medicare & Medical Services, “Emergency Triage, Treat, and Transport Model,” (11 Oct. 2019), https://innovation.cms.gov/innovation-models/et3

Commitments

Open Government Partnership