Ignorer la navigation
Irlande

Améliorer l'accès à la justice: cadre d'aide aux personnes vulnérables (IE0034)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national irlandais 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action : 2016

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : ministère de la Justice et de l'Égalité

Institution(s) d'appui : Ministère de la Santé, Service d'aide à la décision

Domaines politiques

Accès à la justice, Judiciaire, Justice, Législation et réglementation, Communautés marginalisées, Gouvernance réglementaire

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Irlande Rapport de fin de trimestre 2016-2018, Irlande Rapport à mi-parcours 2016-2018

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable : Non

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : non pertinent

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Texte d'engagement:
Introduire un nouveau cadre réglementaire pour aider les personnes vulnérables et les individus
capacité décisionnelle à exercer leur capacité juridique. Le nouveau
Ce cadre remplacera le système obsolète de "pupilles de la Cour" et instaurera un
cadre réglementaire pour soutenir la prise de décision par les adultes ayant des difficultés de capacité.
L’objectif est de préserver autant que possible l’autonomie de la personne en
offrant un continuum d'options d'aide à la décision le plus approprié à la personne
Besoins.
étape importante
3B. Introduire un nouveau cadre pour aider les personnes vulnérables et les individus avec
capacité décisionnelle limitée
Institution responsable: ministère de la justice et de l'égalité
Institution d'appui: ministère de la Santé, Service d'aide à la décision
Date de début: janvier 2017
Date de fin: June 2018

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

3B. Améliorer l'accès à la justice: cadre d'aide aux personnes vulnérables

Texte d'engagement:

Introduire un nouveau cadre statutaire pour aider les personnes vulnérables et les personnes en difficulté décisionnelle à exercer leur capacité juridique. Le nouveau cadre remplacera le système obsolète de «pupilles de la cour» et établira un cadre statutaire moderne pour soutenir la prise de décision par des adultes ayant des difficultés de capacité. L'objectif est de préserver l'autonomie de la personne dans toute la mesure du possible en offrant un continuum d'options d'aide à la décision qui répondent le mieux aux besoins de la personne.

étape importante

3B. Introduire un nouveau cadre pour aider les personnes vulnérables et les individus ayant une capacité décisionnelle limitée

Institution responsable: Département de la justice et de l'égalité

Institution de soutien: Département de la santé, Service d'aide à la décision

Date de début: January 2017

Date de fin: Juin 2018

Note éditoriale: Pour le reste de ce texte d'engagement, veuillez vous reporter à l'engagement 3A.

Contexte et objectifs

Dans le système actuel, le cadre réglementaire est faible pour faciliter la prise de décision par des adultes ayant des difficultés de capacité. À cet égard, des réglementations doivent être mises en place pour garantir l'indépendance et l'autonomie de la personne, en fonction de leurs besoins les plus appropriés. Le principal objectif des nouvelles propositions, comme indiqué dans Temps irlandais, est-ce

… Les adultes ne pourront plus être nommés par les tribunaux, mais un assistant décisionnel, un codécideur ou un avocat sera nommé en fonction des capacités de la personne. La loi permettra au tribunal d'intervenir lorsqu'il jugera qu'une personne n'a pas la capacité de prendre des décisions. Les tribunaux auront le pouvoir de nommer un représentant décisionnel pour aider la personne. En vertu de la législation en vigueur, les services de garde se voient refuser la possibilité de prendre des décisions sur des questions fondamentales, notamment le mariage.[Note: Sarah Bardon, «Le projet de loi mettrait fin aux tribunaux pour adultes», Irish Times, 10 June 2015, https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/proposed-law-would-end-adult-wards-of-court-1.2243417. ]

Il est certes louable d’accorder un accès aux options d’aide à la prise de décision et à l’autodétermination des personnes ayant des difficultés de capacité, mais l’engagement tel qu’il est écrit n’est pas pertinent pour les valeurs OGP, car il met l’accent sur le renforcement de l’autonomie plutôt que sur la participation ou la responsabilité. La spécificité est faible car le texte n'indique pas clairement ce que le "nouveau cadre" inclura et comment la mise en œuvre de ce cadre aura lieu. L'impact potentiel est mineur. Bien que cela puisse potentiellement changer le statu quo et aider une partie importante de la population avec une capacité de prise de décision limitée, son manque de spécificité signifie qu'il est difficile de voir comment il va changer les choses comme si de rien n'était.

Aboutissement

La mise en œuvre du jalon n'a pas encore commencé, mais se déroule comme prévu. Cette évaluation est basée sur les preuves présentées dans le rapport d'activité du gouvernement sur cette étape et sur des entretiens avec des représentants du gouvernement menés par l'équipe de chercheurs du IRM. Il ressort clairement du rapport d’avancement que si la législation connue sous le nom de loi 2015 sur la prise de décision assistée fournit un cadre d’aide à la prise de décision pour les adultes ayant des difficultés de capacité, cette étape clé a pour objectif principal d’assurer sa pleine mise en œuvre en ce qui concerne la prise de décision. faire des options de soutien prévues dans la Loi. Sur la base d’entretiens avec des fonctionnaires du ministère de la Justice et de l’Égalité,[Note: Entretien tenu en décembre 2017.] Le chercheur de l'IRM a appris que la loi de 2015 sur l'aide à la décision est une loi conjointe entre le ministère de la Santé et le ministère de la Justice et de l'Égalité, le premier dirigeant la mise en œuvre de ce nouveau cadre. Très peu de progrès ont été réalisés au cours de la première année du plan d'action, bien qu'en octobre 2017, le nouveau directeur du service d'aide à la décision, qui est une nouvelle partie de la Commission de la santé mentale, a été nommé.[Remarque: "Un avocat de Dublin a été nommé directeur inaugural du service d’aide à la décision", "Irish Legal News, 4 October 2017, http://www.irishlegal.com/8798/dublin-solicitor-appointed-inaugural-director-of-the-decision-support-service/#. ] Ce directeur mettra en œuvre cet engagement au cours de la deuxième année du plan d'action, avec des progrès importants attendus début 2018 au cours de la deuxième année du plan. Il n'y a pas eu d'implication de la société civile dans la mise en œuvre de cette étape importante.

Prochaines étapes

Si elle est pleinement mise en œuvre au cours de la deuxième année du plan d'action, cette étape n'a pas besoin d'être reportée dans le prochain plan d'action.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Ireland

Improve Access to Justice: Framework to Assist Vulnerable Persons (IE0034)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Ireland National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Department of Justice and Equality

Support Institution(s): Department of Health, Decision Support Service

Policy Areas

Access to Justice, Judiciary, Justice, Legislation & Regulation, Marginalized Communities, Regulatory Governance

IRM Review

IRM Report: Ireland End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Ireland Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Not Relevant

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Commitment Text:
Introduce a new statutory framework to assist vulnerable persons and individuals
with decision-making capacity difficulties to exercise their legal capacity. The new
framework will replace the outdated "Wards of Court" system and establish a modern
statutory framework to support decision-making by adults with capacity difficulties.
The aim is to safeguard the person’s autonomy to the greatest extent possible by
offering a continuum of decision support options most appropriate to the person's
needs.
Milestone
3B. Introduce a new framework to assist vulnerable persons and individuals with
limited decision-making capacity
Responsible institution: Department of Justice and Equality
Supporting institution: Department of Health, Decision Support Service
Start date: January 2017
End date: June 2018

IRM Midterm Status Summary

3B. Improve Access to Justice: Framework to Assist Vulnerable Persons

Commitment Text:

Introduce a new statutory framework to assist vulnerable persons and individuals with decision-making capacity difficulties to exercise their legal capacity. The new framework will replace the outdated 'Wards of Court' system and establish a modern statutory framework to support decision-making by adults with capacity difficulties. The aim is to safeguard the person’s autonomy to the greatest extent possible by offering a continuum of decision support options most appropriate to the person's needs.

Milestone

3B. Introduce a new framework to assist vulnerable persons and individuals with limited decision-making capacity

Responsible institution: Department of Justice and Equality

Supporting institution: Department of Health, Decision Support Service

Start date: January 2017

End date: June 2018

Editorial Note: For the remainder of this commitment text, please see Commitment 3A.

Context and Objectives

Under the present system there is a weak statutory framework to support decision making by adults with capacity difficulties. In this regard, regulations needed to be put in place to safeguard the person’s independence and autonomy, as a function of their most appropriate needs. The main objective of the new proposals, as stated the Irish Times, is that

…adults will no longer be able to be made wards of court and instead a decision-making assistant, a co-decision- maker or an attorney will be appointed based on the capacity of the person. The legislation will allow for the court to intervene when it rules a person lacks the capacity to make decisions. The courts will have the power to appoint a decision-making representative to help the person. Under the current legislation wards are denied the possibility of making decisions on fundamental matters including getting married.[Note: Sarah Bardon, ‘Proposed law would end adult wards of court,’ Irish Times, 10 June 2015, https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/proposed-law-would-end-adult-wards-of-court-1.2243417. ]

While granting access to decision making and self-determination support options for those with capacity difficulties is laudable, the commitment as written is not relevant to OGP values because it focuses on enhancing autonomy rather than participation or accountability. The specificity is low because the text does not clearly indicate what the ‘new framework’ will include and how the implementation of this framework will take place. The potential impact is minor. While it may potentially change the status quo, and assist an important part of the population with limited decision-making capacity, its lack of specificity means that it is hard to see how it will change business as usual in a transformative way.

Completion

The milestone’s implementation has not started, but is on schedule. This assessment is based on the evidence raised in the government’s progress report on this milestone and interviews with government officials conducted by the IRM researcher’s team. From the progress report, it became clear that while the legislation known as the Assisted Decision-Making Act 2015 provides a framework to support decision making by adults with capacity difficulties, this milestone has as its main goals to ensure its full implementation regarding the decision-making support options provided in the Act. Based on interviews with officials in the Department of Justice and Equality,[Note: Interview held December 2017.] the IRM researcher learned that the Assisted Decision-Making Act 2015 is a joint legislation between the Department of Health and the Department of Justice and Equality, with the former leading the implementation of this new framework. Very little progress has been made in the first year of the action plan, although in October 2017 the new director of the Decision Support Service, which is a new part of the Mental Health Commission, was appointed.[Note: ‘Dublin solicitor appointed inaugural director of the Decision Support Service,’ Irish Legal News, 4 October 2017, http://www.irishlegal.com/8798/dublin-solicitor-appointed-inaugural-director-of-the-decision-support-service/#. ] This director will implement this commitment over the second year of the action plan, with significant progress expected in early 2018 during the second year of the plan. There has been no civil society involvement in the implementation of this milestone.

Next Steps

If fully implemented during the second year of the action plan, this milestone does not need to be carried forward into the next action plan.

IRM End of Term Status Summary


Commitments

Open Government Partnership