Ignorer la navigation
Philippines

Programme participatif de santé et de nutrition des enfants (PH0064)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action des Philippines 2019-2022

Cycle du plan d'action : 2019

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Département de la protection sociale et du développement (DSWD)

Institution(s) de soutien : Fondation Unang Hakbang, Save the Children, Social Watch, World Vision, E-Net, UNICEF

Domaines politiques

Genre, Santé, Engagements locaux, Communautés marginalisées, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception des Philippines 2019-2021

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Détails

Quel est l'engagement?

Les préoccupations émergentes (malnutrition et grossesse infantile) dans le contexte du programme Pantawid n'ont pas été entièrement explorées par les chercheurs et doivent être étudiées plus avant. Pour ce faire, cependant, nous devons mieux comprendre le contexte des expériences vécues par les familles cibles.
● L'engagement de l'agence est la conduite de deux Recherches Action Participative (PAR). Le PAR est une approche de la recherche qui met l'accent sur la participation des membres de la communauté à la définition du problème, à la collecte et à l'analyse des données et à la recherche collective de solutions au problème. Il est préférable de planifier pour émaner des familles elles-mêmes car elles seules connaissent les situations auxquelles elles sont réellement confrontées et les options qui s'offrent à elles. Lorsqu'elles expriment comment elles choisissent parmi les options disponibles et potentielles, les solutions peuvent être adaptées à leurs besoins spécifiques et aux capacités de la communauté à agir ou à absorber un programme. Le processus d'engagement de la communauté et des parties prenantes à travers toutes les phases du PAR sera documenté.
● Grâce au PAR, la communauté sera en mesure d'examiner en profondeur les problèmes et de traiter certains des facteurs identifiés ayant un impact sur la nutrition, en particulier les croyances et les perceptions socioculturelles qui contribuent à ce que le problème de la nutrition ne soit pas perçu comme «urgent» et les problèmes liés à l'accès à des établissements de santé de qualité, tels que les frais de transport et l'indisponibilité de médicaments gratuits. Bien que des plans d'action municipaux pour la nutrition existent et soient décrits comme «complets», la participation et les contributions de la communauté, en particulier des familles qui ont le plus besoin d'aide, dans son élaboration doivent être centrales et leur implication dans l'évaluation et l'évaluation de l'impact des plans. rendu plus visible. Les résultats de la recherche devraient également être pris en compte dans l'élaboration de politiques locales dans les domaines prioritaires.
● Le premier PAR se concentrera sur l'état nutritionnel des enfants dans les familles 4P et sera dirigé par des parents chefs et bénévoles de 4P. Le deuxième PAR sur le problème des grossesses chez les adolescentes sera dirigé par des dirigeants et des bénévoles de groupes de jeunes 4P. Dans les deux recherches, la composante du programme de 4P - la session de développement familial et la session de développement des jeunes - sera utilisée pour promouvoir une conversation ouverte avec les bénéficiaires, adultes et jeunes.
● Pour diriger cette conversation, DSWD tirera parti de son accès aux familles et aux enfants dans 4P et d'autres programmes, ainsi que de son rôle de chef du Groupe ministériel sur le développement humain et la réduction de la pauvreté et de son réseau de partenaires ONG / OSC. La conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes, des projets et des activités (AAE) devraient être fondées sur ce que veulent et ont besoin les bénéficiaires cibles et exécutées de manière à répondre de manière globale aux besoins articulés. L'approbation et le soutien des unités du gouvernement local sur le processus et les résultats seront sollicités pour faciliter l'intégration dans les plans de développement local et la durabilité des initiatives.
● Enfin, l'engagement espère faire en sorte que les objectifs et les processus impliqués dans les AAE soient compréhensibles pour les bénéficiaires eux-mêmes de sorte qu'ils deviennent intéressés, suivent la formation requise et participent avec enthousiasme au processus de responsabilisation qui sera mis en place pour surveiller et évaluer la valeur et l'impact des AAE.
 L'inclusion de ceux qui seront directement affectés par les initiatives politiques devrait aider à affiner le contexte dans lequel les problèmes sont compris et abordés pour révéler des problèmes qui sont autrement négligés, tels que les barrières «invisibles» qui entravent ou limitent la demande et l'accès aux services gouvernementaux en ceux qui en ont le plus besoin. De même, en permettant aux voix locales et marginalisées de se faire entendre, les gens sont responsabilisés et, espérons-le, encouragés à s'engager dans le processus politique afin qu'ils soient moins isolés et en mesure de partager leurs succès en matière de politique publique avec d'autres communautés pour faire partie d'un cycle vertueux de participation active. l'engagement des citoyens.
 L'objectif le plus élevé est de communiquer les résultats de ces conversations aux décideurs politiques et aux gestionnaires de programme aux plus hauts niveaux afin qu'ils entendent ce que les personnes à qui les politiques, les programmes et les projets sont destinés ont à dire. En leur permettant d'examiner et d'exprimer leurs propres besoins, les personnes que le gouvernement dit servir seront en mesure d'influencer la façon dont les programmes sont conçus et mis en œuvre afin que ceux-ci soient contextualisés et que les obstacles comportementaux qui n'apparaissent normalement pas aux décideurs soient abordés.
 Le poids et la puissance de l'ensemble du gouvernement se répercutent sur la protection des enfants et la nécessité corollaire de subvenir aux besoins de leur famille. Il s'agit de l'approche de convergence mentionnée dans le Plan de développement des Philippines 2017-2022 qui nécessite la mise en œuvre d'une feuille de route multisectorielle pour les enfants afin de «créer un environnement propice qui respecte, protège et réalise les droits de tous les enfants dans le pays. . . [afin qu'ils] atteignent leur plein potentiel tel que consacré par la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant (CNUDE). »

Voir le plan d'action pour plus d'informations

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

8. Recherche-action participative sur la nutrition et la santé de la reproduction

"L'engagement de l'agence (DSWD) est la conduite de deux recherches d'action participative (PAR). La PAR est une approche de la recherche qui met l'accent sur la participation des membres de la communauté dans la définition du problème, la collecte et l'analyse des données et la recherche de solutions au problème collectivement.

Grâce à la RAP, la communauté sera en mesure d'examiner en profondeur les problèmes et d'aborder certains des facteurs identifiés ayant un impact sur la nutrition, en particulier les croyances et perceptions socioculturelles qui contribuent au problème de la nutrition qui n'est pas perçu comme « urgent » et les problèmes liés à l'accès à des établissements de santé de qualité, tels que les frais de transport et l'indisponibilité de médicaments gratuits. »

Objectif principal

  1. « L'inclusion de ceux qui seront directement touchés par les initiatives politiques devrait aider à affiner le contexte dans lequel les problèmes sont compris et abordés pour révéler des problèmes qui sont autrement négligés, tels que les obstacles « invisibles » qui entravent ou limitent la demande et l'accès aux services gouvernementaux en De même, en permettant aux voix locales et marginalisées de se faire entendre, les gens sont responsabilisés et, espérons-le, encouragés à s'engager dans le processus politique afin qu'ils soient moins isolés et capables de partager leurs succès en matière de politique publique avec d'autres communautés pour faire partie d'un cercle vertueux d'engagement citoyen actif ;
  2. L'objectif le plus élevé est d'apporter les résultats de ces conversations aux décideurs et aux gestionnaires de programmes aux plus hauts niveaux afin qu'ils entendent ce que les personnes auxquelles les politiques, les programmes et les projets sont destinés ont à dire. En leur permettant d'examiner et d'articuler leurs propres besoins, les personnes que le gouvernement dit servir seront en mesure d'influencer la façon dont les programmes sont conçus et exécutés afin que ceux-ci soient contextualisés et que les obstacles comportementaux normalement non apparents pour les décideurs soient éliminés ; et
  3. Le poids et la puissance de l'ensemble du gouvernement s'exercent sur la protection des enfants et le besoin corollaire de soutenir leurs familles. Il s'agit de l'approche de convergence mentionnée dans le Plan de développement des Philippines 2017-2022 qui nécessite la mise en œuvre d'une feuille de route multisectorielle pour les enfants afin de « construire un environnement favorable qui respecte, protège et réalise les droits de tous les enfants dans le pays [en afin qu'ils] réalisent leur plein potentiel tel qu'inscrit dans la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant (CNUDE).

Milestones

  1. Émission de politique sur la conduite de la PAR.
  2. Choisir des zones pilotes en fonction de l'incidence élevée de malnutrition et de grossesse chez les adolescentes (zones cibles : Camarines Sur, Negros Oriental, Negros Occidental, Zamboangao del Norte, Bukidnon, South Cotabato, Manille {Welfareville, Baseco, Bagbag}, Maguindanao et Lanao del Sur, Régions II, VIII).
  3. Cartographie des OSC partenaires.
  4. Renforcer la construction de partenariats par la signature d'un protocole d'accord entre DSWD, DBM, DILG, CSO, LGU.
  5. Développement de la conception de la recherche et du lieu de travail.
  6. Développement et pré-test du module sur PAR.
  7. Formation des équipes PAR.
  8. Formations pour les parents-leaders/bénévoles du groupe PAR (pour inclure la formation sur la sensibilité au genre).
  9. Conduite de la recherche-action participative : Mise en œuvre du plan d'action communautaire ; Attribution des tâches et attribution des rôles ; Mécanisme de rapport et d'évaluation en place.
  10. Présentation des résultats de la recherche avec des recommandations sur les améliorations du programme Pantawid.
  11. Développement d'un plan de communication pour aborder les problèmes identifiés sur la malnutrition et les grossesses chez les adolescentes sur la base des résultats de la recherche.

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, ainsi que la version mise à jour soumise dans le plan d'action révisé, veuillez consulter le plan d'action des Philippines à l'adresse https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/philippines-action-plan-2019-2022/.

Analyse des engagements

Cet engagement introduit la recherche-action participative (RAP) pour créer une approche holistique et intégrée pour lutter contre la malnutrition infantile et les grossesses précoces aux Philippines. Les familles faisant partie du programme Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino (4Ps), le programme philippin de transferts monétaires conditionnels du Département de la protection sociale et du développement, utiliseront le PAR et engageront leurs unités gouvernementales locales (LGU) pour mettre en œuvre des solutions en collaboration avec des partenaires de la société civile. Grâce à la PAR, les familles peuvent identifier et mettre en œuvre des solutions aux problèmes de nutrition et de santé reproductive des enfants dans les communautés identifiées.

Le programme 4Ps est le plus grand programme de protection sociale des Philippines. Le gouvernement fournit des transferts en espèces aux ménages pauvres en échange du respect des conditions de santé et d'éducation pour aider à briser la pauvreté intergénérationnelle. Il a été introduit en 2008 pendant le mandat de Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, alors présidente, et a connu une croissance exponentielle en termes de couverture, passant de 376,000 2010 ménages en XNUMX (100) à 5,066,892 2019 144 ménages en décembre 1,483, ce qui en fait la pierre angulaire des politiques de protection sociale du gouvernement. Les ménages bénéficiaires se trouvent dans 80 villes et XNUMX XNUMX municipalités dans XNUMX provinces. (101) Cet engagement permet aux familles de façonner les conditions pour recevoir des paiements afin qu'elles s'attaquent aux facteurs sous-jacents de la malnutrition et des grossesses chez les adolescentes. Par conséquent, cet engagement a le potentiel d'étendre les avantages du programme au-delà du soutien financier, de l'éducation et de la santé pour inclure les avantages de la participation civique.

Bien que la PAR ait été appliquée au secteur des enfants, cet engagement représente un nouvel effort pour appliquer la PAR à un programme gouvernemental formel. Grâce à cet engagement, DSWD s'associera aux OSC pour former les membres de la communauté à la PAR sur la malnutrition et les grossesses chez les adolescentes. Les citoyens ont proposé cette approche au DSWD, qui s'est rendu compte qu'il y avait des problèmes de malnutrition élevée et de grossesse chez les adolescentes parmi les ménages 4P. (102) Le DSWD note que la malnutrition et les grossesses chez les adolescentes sont des préoccupations nationales qui ne sont pas propres aux ménages 4P. Cependant, 4Ps est bien placé pour mettre en œuvre cet engagement car la prévention de la malnutrition infantile et des grossesses précoces nécessite des améliorations des compétences parentales et un changement de comportement, ce qui a toujours été l'objectif ultime des sessions de développement de la famille/des jeunes menées dans le cadre du programme. (103) Grâce au PAR, les communautés seront impliquées dans l'identification et l'analyse des problèmes et l'élaboration de plans d'action pour répondre à leurs propres problèmes. Ceci est important car les communautés peuvent souffrir de problèmes similaires mais nécessitent des solutions différentes en fonction des causes profondes et des facteurs sous-jacents. Les sites prioritaires seront choisis en fonction de l'incidence élevée des grossesses chez les adolescentes, de la faim et de la malnutrition, ainsi que de l'emplacement des OSC. (104) Cependant, la pandémie de COVID-19 a obligé le programme à réduire sa portée à environ sept sites de recherche dans quatre régions (NCR, Région 5, Région 6 et Région 9). (105) Les résultats du PAR seront ensuite utilisés pour plaider en faveur d'une action des LGU concernées et d'autres membres de la communauté. Le PAR sera synchronisé avec le processus budgétaire des LGU pour faciliter la réponse des LGU aux recommandations des citoyens. Les efforts de chaque emplacement seront analysés et documentés pour déterminer les meilleures pratiques. (106)

Cet engagement est pertinent pour l'OGP de la participation civique. Impliquer les bénéficiaires des 4P et les membres de la communauté dans la recherche aidera non seulement le gouvernement à identifier les causes plus larges et plus profondes de la grossesse et de la malnutrition chez les adolescentes, mais aussi d'informer les bénéficiaires sur leurs rôles et responsabilités liés à ces problèmes. (107) Il est également important de noter que la conception de l'engagement comprend une programmation sensible au genre, telle que la garantie de la représentation des femmes dans le processus de RAP et le développement d'outils de plaidoyer sensibles au genre basés sur les résultats de la RAP.

Cet engagement a un potentiel modéré pour améliorer la participation civique dans le renforcement du programme Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino. Cette réforme peut établir les politiques, les processus, les capacités et les relations entre la société civile, les agences gouvernementales concernées et les LGU nécessaires à la PAR. Cependant, l'impact de l'engagement dépendra largement de deux facteurs. Premièrement, cela dépendra du nombre de communautés couvertes par cette réforme, car COVID-19 a amené DSWD à réduire le nombre de communautés impliquées. Deuxièmement, il est essentiel pour cette réforme de savoir si les conclusions de la RAP sont reflétées dans les budgets des LGU. Le protocole d'accord entre DSWD, DBM, DILG, la société civile et les LGU fournira, espérons-le, une base pour garantir que les LGU agissent sur les recommandations du PAR. Si les efforts de PAR sont couronnés de succès et étendus à l'ensemble du programme, cet engagement peut produire des résultats transformationnels à long terme, car le programme Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino est l'un des plus grands programmes de transfert d'argent au monde.

Prochaines étapes

L'aspect le plus critique de cette réforme est de savoir si les conclusions de la RAP sont incorporées dans les budgets des 4P et des LGU. Les activités potentielles pour s'assurer que le gouvernement répond aux commentaires des citoyens comprennent :

  • Former les bénévoles de la communauté et des OSC à plaider auprès de leur LGU et des agences gouvernementales sur la base des conclusions de leur PAR ;
  • Rechercher des garanties que les LGU organiseront des consultations publiques pour examiner les conclusions de la PAR dès le départ ;
  • Mettre en place des incitations pour que les LGU intègrent les conclusions de la RAP dans leurs budgets ;
  • Saisir et partager des histoires de réussite dans lesquelles les changements de programme et de budget en réponse aux conclusions de la RAP ont conduit à une amélioration de la santé dans une communauté ; et
  • Suivi avec un rapport sur les endroits où les conclusions de la RAP ont entraîné des changements de programme et de budget avec des recommandations pour d'autres domaines.
(100) L'Unité du secteur du développement humain de la Banque mondiale pour la région de l'Asie de l'Est et du Pacifique, Philippines Conditional Cash Transfer Program: Impact Evaluation 2012 (avril 2014), http://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/537391468144882935/pdf/755330REVISED000Revised0June0402014.pdf.
(101) Département philippin du bien-être social et du développement, « Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program Implementation Status Report » (31 décembre 2018), https://pantawid.dswd.gov.ph/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Pantawid-Pamilya-4th-Quarter-Report-2018.pdf.
(102) Olie Lucas (Unang Hakbang Foundation), entretien par un chercheur de l'IRM, 12 juin 2020.
(103) Gouvernement des Philippines, entretien par un chercheur de l'IRM, 3 mai 2021.
(104) Lucas, entretien.
(105) DSWD rapporte que les nouveaux domaines d'intérêt sont : Addition Hills, Mandaluyong (NCR), Brgy. Longos, Malabon (NCR), Cabusao, Camarines Sur (1 barangay) (Luzon), Silayan, Zamboanga del Norte (2 barangays ; pour clarification avec les OSC) (Visayas). Gouvernement des Philippines, entretien ; Luzviminda Ilagan (Département de la protection sociale et du développement (DSWD) de la République des Philippines), entretien par un chercheur de l'IRM, 26 juin 2020.
(106) Lucas, entretien.
(107) Id.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Philippines

Participatory Children's Health and Nutrition Program (PH0064)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Philippines Action Plan 2019-2022

Action Plan Cycle: 2019

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Department of Social Welfare & Development (DSWD)

Support Institution(s): Unang Hakbang Foundation, Save the Children, Social Watch, World Vision, E-Net, UNICEF

Policy Areas

Gender, Health, Local Commitments, Marginalized Communities, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery

IRM Review

IRM Report: Philippines Design Report 2019-2021

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

What is the commitment?

The emerging concerns (malnutrition and child pregnancy) within the context of the Pantawid Program have not been fully explored by researchers, and need further study. To do so, however, we need to have a better understanding of the context of the target families’ lived experiences.
● The commitment of the agency is the conduct of two Participatory Action Researches (PAR). PAR is an approach to research that emphasizes participation of community members in defining the problem, gathering and analyzing data, and arriving at solutions to the problem collectively. It is best for planning to emanate from the families themselves as only they know the situations they actually face and the options readily available to them. As they express how they choose from among available and potential options, solutions can be tailored to their specific needs and the capacities of the community to act on or absorb a program. The process of engaging the community and stakeholders through all the phases of PAR will be documented.
● Through the PAR, the community will be able to look deeply at the issues and address some of the identified factors impacting nutrition, in particular socio-cultural beliefs and perceptions which contribute to the problem of nutrition not being perceived as ‘urgent’ and issues related to accessing quality health facilities, such as transportation costs and unavailability of free medicines. While Municipal Nutrition Action Plans exist and are described as ‘comprehensive’, the participation and inputs of the community, especially of families who are in most need of assistance, in its crafting must be central and their involvement in the plans’ impact assessment and evaluation made more visible. Results of the research are also expected to be considered in the crafting of local policies on the focus areas.
● The first PAR will focus on the nutritional status of children in 4Ps families and will be led by 4Ps parent leaders and volunteers. The second PAR on the problem of teen-age pregnancies will be led by leaders and volunteers of 4Ps youth groups. In both researches, the program component of 4Ps—the Family Development Session and Youth Development Session—will be utilized to promote open conversation with beneficiaries, both adults and youth.
● In spearheading this conversation, DSWD will leverage its access to the families and children in 4Ps and other programs, as well as its role as head of the Cabinet Cluster on Human Development and Poverty Reduction and its network of NGO/CSO partners. The design and implementation of programs, projects, and activities (PPAs) are expected to be grounded on what its target beneficiaries want and need and delivered in a manner that responds holistically to the articulated needs. The approval and support of the local government units on the process and outputs will be solicited to facilitate integration in local development plans and sustainability of initiatives.
● Finally, the commitment hopes to ensure that the objectives and processes involved in the PPAs are understandable to the recipients themselves such that they become interested, undertake the required training, and enthusiastically participate in the accountability process that will be put in place to monitor and evaluate the value and impact of the PPAs.
 The inclusion of those who will be directly affected by policy initiatives should help refine the context within which problems are understood and approached to reveal issues that are otherwise overlooked, such as ‘invisible’ barriers that impede or limit demand and access to government services by those who most need them. Likewise, by allowing local and marginalized voices to be heard, people are empowered and hopefully encouraged to engage in the political process so that they are less isolated and able to share their public policy successes with other communities to become part of a virtuous cycle of active citizen engagement.
 The highest objective is to bring the results of these conversations to policy-makers and program managers at the highest levels so that they hear what the people for whom policies, programs, and projects are intended have to say. By enabling them to examine and articulate their own needs, the people that government say they serve will be able to influence how programs are designed and delivered so that these are contextualized and behavioral barriers normally not apparent to policy-makers are addressed.
 The weight and might of the whole of government is brought to bear on the protection of children and the corollary need to support their families. This is the convergence approach referred to in the Philippine Development Plan 2017-2022 that requires the implementation of a multi-sectoral roadmap for children to “build an enabling environment that respects, protects, and fulfils the rights of all children in the country . . . [in order for them to] attain their full potentials as enshrined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC).”

See Action Plan for additional information

IRM Midterm Status Summary

8. Nutrition and Reproductive Health Participatory Action Research

"The commitment of the agency (DSWD) is the conduct of two Participatory Action Researches (PAR). PAR is an approach to research that emphasizes participation of community members in defining the problem, gathering and analyzing data, and arriving at solutions to the problem collectively.

Through the PAR, the community will be able to look deeply at the issues and address some of the identified factors impacting nutrition, in particular socio-cultural beliefs and perceptions which contribute to the problem of nutrition not being perceived as ‘urgent’ and issues related to accessing quality health facilities, such as transportation costs and unavailability of free medicines."

Main Objective

  1. "The inclusion of those who will be directly affected by policy initiatives should help refine the context within which problems are understood and approached to reveal issues that are otherwise overlooked, such as ‘invisible’ barriers that impede or limit demand and access to government services by those who most need them. Likewise, by allowing local and marginalized voices to be heard, people are empowered and hopefully encouraged to engage in the political process so that they are less isolated and able to share their public policy successes with other communities to become part of a virtuous cycle of active citizen engagement;
  2. The highest objective is to bring the results of these conversations to policymakers and program managers at the highest levels so that they hear what the people for whom policies, programs, and projects are intended have to say. By enabling them to examine and articulate their own needs, the people that government say they serve will be able to influence how programs are designed and delivered so that these are contextualized and behavioral barriers normally not apparent to policymakers are addressed; and
  3. The weight and might of the whole of government is brought to bear on the protection of children and the corollary need to support their families. This is the convergence approach referred to in the Philippine Development Plan 2017-2022 that requires the implementation of a multi-sectoral roadmap for children to “build an enabling environment that respects, protects, and fulfils the rights of all children in the country [in order for them to] attain their full potentials as enshrined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC)."

Milestones

  1. Policy Issuance on the conduct of PAR.
  2. Choose pilot areas based on high incidence of malnutrition and teenage pregnancy (target areas: Camarines Sur, Negros Oriental, Negros Occidental, Zamboangao del Norte, Bukidnon, South Cotabato, Manila {Welfareville, Baseco, Bagbag}, Maguindanao, and Lanao del Sur, Regions II, VIII).
  3. Mapping of CSO partners.
  4. Strengthen partnership building through signing of MOU between DSWD, DBM, DILG, CSOs, LGUs.
  5. Development of research design and workplace.
  6. Development and pre-test of module on PAR.
  7. Formation of PAR teams.
  8. Trainings for parent-leaders/volunteers of the PAR group (to include Gender Sensitivity Training).
  9. Conduct of participatory action research: Implementation of the community action plan; Tasking and assignment of roles; Reporting and evaluation mechanism in place.
  10. Submission of research results with recommendations on Pantawid program enhancements.
  11. Development of a communication plan towards addressing issues identified on malnutrition and teenage pregnancies based on the research findings.

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, along with the updated version submitted in the revised action plan, please see the Philippine action plan at https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/philippines-action-plan-2019-2022/.

Commitment analysis

This commitment introduces participatory action research (PAR) to create a holistic and integrated approach to address child malnutrition and early pregnancy in the Philippines. Families part of the Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program (4Ps), the Philippine Conditional Cash Transfer program of the Department of Social Welfare and Development, will use PAR and engage their local government units (LGUs) to implement solutions in collaboration with civil society partners. Through PAR, families can identify and implement solutions for the nutrition and reproductive health concerns of children in the identified communities.

The 4Ps program is the biggest social protection program in the Philippines. The government provides cash transfers to poor households in exchange for compliance to health and education conditions to help break intergenerational poverty. It was introduced in 2008 during the term of then-president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo and has grown exponentially in terms of coverage—from 376,000 households in 2010 [100] to 5,066,892 households in December 2019, making it the cornerstone of the government’s social protection policies. Beneficiary households are found in 144 cities and 1,483 municipalities across 80 provinces. [101] This commitment empowers families to shape the conditions to receive payments so that they address the underlying drivers of malnutrition and teen pregnancy. Therefore, this commitment has the potential to expand the program’s benefits beyond financial, education, and health support to include the benefits of civic participation.

While PAR has been applied to the childrens’ sector, this commitment represents a novel effort to apply PAR to a formal government program. Through this commitment, DSWD will partner with CSOs to train community members for PAR on malnutrition and teenage pregnancy. Citizens proposed this approach to DSWD, who realized there were concerns of high malnutrition and teenage pregnancy among 4Ps households. [102] DSWD notes that malnutrition and teenage pregnancy are national concerns not particular to 4Ps households. However, 4Ps is well placed to implement this commitment as preventing child malnutrition and early pregnancy requires improvements in parenting skills and behavior change, which has always been the ultimate goal of Family/Youth Development Sessions conducted within the program. [103] Through the PAR, communities will be involved in identifying and analyzing problems and developing action plans to respond to their own problems. This is important as communities may suffer from similar problems but require different solutions depending on the root causes and underlying factors. Priority sites will be chosen based on high incidences of teenage pregnancy, hunger, and malnutrition as well as where CSOs are located. [104] However, the COVID-19 pandemic required the program to reduce its scope to around seven research sites in four regions (NCR, Region 5, Region 6, and Region 9). [105] Results of the PAR will then be used to advocate for action from the relevant LGUs and other members of the community. The PAR will be timed with LGUs’ budget process to facilitate LGUs’ response to citizens’ recommendations. Each location’s efforts will be analyzed and documented to determine best practices. [106]

This commitment is relevant to the OGP of civic participation. Involving the 4Ps beneficiaries and community members in the research will not only help the government identify wider and deeper causes of teenage pregnancy and malnutrition, but also educate beneficiaries about their roles and responsibilities relating to these issues. [107] It is also important to note that the commitment’s design includes gender-sensitive programming such as ensuring women’s representation in the PAR process and developing gender-sensitive advocacy tools based on the PAR results.

This commitment has a moderate potential to improve civic participation in strengthening the Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program. This reform can establish the policies, process, capacity, and relationships between the civil society, relevant government agencies, and LGUs needed for PAR. However, the commitment’s impact will largely depend on two factors. First, it will depend on the number of communities covered by this reform, as COVID-19 has caused DSWD to lower the number of communities involved. Second, vital to this reform is whether PAR findings are reflected in LGU budgets. Memorandum of understanding between DSWD, DBM, DILG, civil society, and LGUs will hopefully provide a basis to ensure LGUs act on PAR recommendations. If PAR efforts are successful and expanded across the program, this commitment can achieve transformational long-term results, as the Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program is one of the largest cash transfer programs in the world.

Next Steps

The most critical aspect of this reform is whether PAR findings are incorporated into 4Ps and LGU budgets. Potential activities to ensure that the government responds to citizen feedback include:

  • Training community and CSO volunteers to advocate to their LGU and government agencies based on their PAR findings;
  • Seeking guarantees that LGUs will hold public consultations to consider PAR findings from the outset;
  • Establishing incentives for LGUs to incorporate PAR findings into their budgets;
  • Capturing and sharing success stories in which program and budget changes in response to PAR findings led to improved health in a community; and
  • Following up with a report on where PAR findings resulted in program and budget changes with recommendations for other areas.
[100] The World Bank Human Development Sector Unit East Asia and Pacific Region, Philippines Conditional Cash Transfer Program: Impact Evaluation 2012 (Apr. 2014), http://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/537391468144882935/pdf/755330REVISED000Revised0June0402014.pdf.
[101] Philippine Dept. of Social Welfare and Dev’t, “Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program Implementation Status Report” (31 Dec. 2018), https://pantawid.dswd.gov.ph/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/Pantawid-Pamilya-4th-Quarter-Report-2018.pdf.
[102] Olie Lucas (Unang Hakbang Foundation), interview by IRM researcher, 12 Jun. 2020.
[103] Government of the Philippines, interview by IRM researcher, 3 May 2021.
[104] Lucas, interview.
[105] DSWD reports that the new areas of focus are: Addition Hills, Mandaluyong (NCR), Brgy. Longos, Malabon (NCR), Cabusao, Camarines Sur (1 barangay) (Luzon), Silayan, Zamboanga del Norte (2 barangays; for clarification with CSOs) (Visayas). Government of the Philippines, interview; Luzviminda Ilagan (Dept. of Social Welfare and Dev’t (DSWD) of the Republic of the Philippines), interview by IRM researcher, 26 Jun. 2020.
[106] Lucas, interview.
[107] Id.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership