Ignorer la navigation
République slovaque

Analyse participative des affaires du procureur (SK0117)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national de la République slovaque 2017-2019

Cycle du plan d'action : 2017

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : vice-Premier ministre et ministre de la Justice en coopération avec le procureur général

Institution(s) de soutien : NA

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Justice, Législation et réglementation, Justice ouverte, Participation du public, Gouvernance réglementaire

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de mise en œuvre de la Slovaquie 2017-2019, Rapport de conception de la République slovaque 2017 – 2019

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : participation civique, responsabilité publique

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement:

Détails

Conformément à la législation en vigueur, les procédures disciplinaires relatives aux affaires des procureurs sont conduites par la commission disciplinaire établie au bureau du procureur général.44 Seuls les procureurs peuvent être membres et présidents des commissions disciplinaires. Le mandat des commissions disciplinaires est de trois ans et la même personne peut être nommée à plusieurs reprises à la commission disciplinaire. Le procureur général décide de toutes les questions relatives à la nomination des commissions disciplinaires - y compris la nomination des membres des commissions disciplinaires, des présidents et des suppléants (première et deuxième instance), prend des décisions relatives au remplacement des présidents / suppléants et à l'exclusion d'un suppléant Membre de la commission disciplinaire d’audience et ayant statué sur un parti pris. Le Conseil des procureurs décide des principes de la constitution des commissions de discipline et crée une liste de suppléants, propose les présidents, les membres et les suppléants des commissions de discipline. Les organisations doivent assurer une influence équilibrée des organes représentant les autorités de poursuite, des représentants représentant la protection des droits et des intérêts des procureurs et des entités représentant le contrôle externe ou public ".
Engagement n ° 60: De manière participative, analyser les procédures disciplinaires engagées dans les affaires des procureurs et créer des projets de modification de la législation afin d'accroître la transparence de ces procédures disciplinaires.
Le procureur général (contre tout procureur), le défenseur public des droits, le procureur général adjoint et le procureur régional ou le procureur de district concerné peuvent présenter une requête en ouverture de procédure disciplinaire. La décision de la commission disciplinaire de première instance est susceptible de recours. L’appel est traité par une commission disciplinaire de deuxième instance composée de cinq membres. La décision finale rendue dans une procédure disciplinaire est susceptible de révision par un tribunal.
Le cadre juridique existant a plusieurs conséquences:
 Le Procureur général a une position particulièrement forte et a le pouvoir de décider de la nomination, du remplacement, ainsi que de la partialité des membres des commissions disciplinaires. Il est également habilité à présenter une requête pour engager une procédure disciplinaire. Il est donc à la fois l'auteur de la proposition et le créateur de l'organisme qui décide de la proposition.
 Bien que le Conseil des procureurs propose les membres des commissions disciplinaires, il ne précise que les principes régissant l'effectif des commissions disciplinaires, l'utilisation de suppléants et la constitution de la base de données de candidats aux postes des membres des commissions disciplinaires, ainsi que la procédure à suivre. l'attribution des affaires à des commissions individuelles.
 Les procédures disciplinaires sont officiellement publiques, mais comme les membres de la Commission de discipline ne comprennent que des procureurs, il s'agit d'un système fermé sans véritable contrôle public. Une telle situation peut non seulement être utilisée à mauvais escient pour harceler les procureurs, mais aussi conduire à une imputabilité insuffisante (ou non objective) du fait que la culpabilité est décidée par des collègues.
 Les lois sur les poursuites n'indiquent pas non plus explicitement qui peut engager une action disciplinaire à l'encontre du Procureur général.
Il ressort clairement de la conclusion de la Cour constitutionnelle 45 que le bureau du procureur est un organe constitutionnel spécial de protection juridique pour lequel il est légitime de prévoir une telle réglementation juridique qui permettra au public de contrôler les activités du bureau du procureur ainsi degré d’influence des différents mandants de l’autorité de l’État vis-à-vis du bureau du procureur afin d’assurer la bonne exécution de sa mission, qui consiste en une procédure active, équitable et impartiale en matière de protection de l’intérêt public, de droits et libertés, ainsi que d'autres droits et intérêts légitimement protégés. " Selon la Cour constitutionnelle, la responsabilité disciplinaire des procureurs est un institut dont le but principal est de diriger les travaux du ministère public - ce qui relève de la compétence du Procureur général. Dans le même temps, cependant, la Cour constitutionnelle a également jugé qu'une législation autorisant le Conseil national ou les organes constitutionnels représentant le pouvoir exécutif à désigner des candidats à la Commission de discipline "repose sur une base rationnelle, poursuit des objectifs légitimes et ne peut donc être considérée manifestation de la volonté du législateur ". La Cour constitutionnelle souligne que "les normes juridiques régissant la création et la composition des commissions de discipline

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

THEME - Améliorer les procureurs  
Comm 58, 59, 60, 61

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action[Note: Le Bureau du plénipotentiaire, “Open Government Partnership Plan d'action national de la République slovaque 2017 - 2019 », http://bit.ly/2QYIlHV ]:

Engagement 58: «Préparer et soumettre au gouvernement un projet de loi modifiant la loi n ° 154 / 2001 Coll. sur les procureurs et les avocats du procureur général, qui assurera la publication du siège de chaque procureur ».

Engagement 59: «Créer un projet de loi pour étendre le droit de recommander des candidats au poste de procureur général».

Engagement 60: «De manière participative, analysez les procédures disciplinaires engagées dans les affaires des procureurs et créez des projets de modification de la législation afin d'accroître la transparence de ces procédures disciplinaires.»

Engagement 61: «Analyser de manière participative les procédures de sélection du bureau du procureur, y compris les projets de modification de la législation, afin d'accroître leur transparence.»

Date de début: non spécifié                

Date de fin: 31 Juillet 2018

 

Contexte et objectifs

Selon les informations communiquées par l'Office européen de lutte antifraude (OLAF), le taux d'accusation était de 18% en Slovaquie 2017[Note: Office européen de lutte antifraude, «The OLAF report 2017», http://bit.ly/2Kw2EKQ ]. Le taux moyen d'accusation dans l'UE était de 42% sur 2017. Transparency International Slovaquie a indiqué que, même si des progrès ont été réalisés dans la lutte contre la corruption et, par exemple, que le nombre de cas résolus de corruption dépassant un millier d'euros a augmenté, le nombre de cas de grande corruption liés à des hauts fonctionnaires a continuellement très faible et jouissait de l'impunité[Remarque: Transparency International Slovaquie, „Napriek zlepšeniu„ veľké ryby “stále nechytáme“ (nous n'attrapons toujours pas les «gros poissons») http://bit.ly/2Tcb7d0 (en slovaque)]. Les procureurs, de même que la police, jouent un rôle crucial dans les enquêtes et les poursuites dans les affaires de corruption, dans la mesure où ils déposent les actes d’accusation devant les tribunaux. Le bureau du procureur spécial, responsable du «programme de lutte contre la corruption», a accusé le plus petit nombre de personnes depuis 2009. Alors que Transparency International conclut, cela pourrait indiquer que les procureurs négligent les affaires de corruption[Note: Transparency International Slovaquie, http://bit.ly/2BPtH0E (en slovaque)]

Le dernier rapport du Groupe d'Etats contre la corruption (GRECO) et du Conseil de l'Europe (CdE)[Note: Groupe d'Etats contre la corruption et Conseil de l'Europe, “Deuxième rapport de conformité, République slovaque: Prévention de la corruption des parlementaires, des juges et des procureurs”, http://bit.ly/2BwFTDy] a conclu que, en ce qui concerne les procureurs, "plusieurs développements doivent être salués". Ils ont notamment salué l’adoption du code de déontologie, qui introduit l’obligation de déclarer les dons et les engagements au-delà d’un certain seuil. Le GRECO et le CdE se sont également félicités de la modification de la loi sur les procureurs et leurs candidats.[Note: SLOV-LEX (Portail juridique et d'information), Ministère de la justice, «La loi sur les procureurs et les candidats à la fonction de procureur no. 154 / 2001 Coll. ”, http://bit.ly/2b7Pc1P (en slovaque).], qui comprenait l'obligation de divulguer publiquement et de mettre à jour régulièrement une liste de tous les noms des procureurs sur le site Web du bureau du procureur général. Depuis lors, le Bureau du Procureur général a régulièrement mis à jour cette liste avec la dernière mise à jour publiée sur 19 Novembre 2018[Note: la liste des procureurs publiée sur le site Web du Bureau du Procureur général, http://bit.ly/2aYKyk2 (en slovaque).]. Les experts interrogés dans le cadre du précédent rapport IRM ont convenu qu'il s'agissait d'un premier pas important vers une plus grande transparence et d'une réalisation qui ne serait pas possible sans un plan d'action OGP en place.[Note: Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership«Rapport spécial sur la redevabilité en Slovaquie 2014 - 2015»,  http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws]. La disponibilité publique des noms des procureurs a également permis de résoudre le problème de l'accès aux affidavits et aux déclarations de patrimoine. En outre, le Bureau du Procureur général a mis à disposition un outil permettant de rechercher des déclarations de patrimoine par leur nom sur son site Web.[Remarque: l'outil de recherche des déclarations de patrimoine des procureurs est disponible sur le site Web du Bureau du Procureur général, http://bit.ly/2TJpO4s (en slovaque). ].

Les nouveaux engagements visant à une plus grande transparence, tels que l'engagement 58 de divulguer le siège du procureur, sont utiles et suffisamment spécifiques pour pouvoir être vérifiés. Actuellement, la nomination du procureur général est politique, comme le proposent les députés. L’engagement 59 d’étendre le droit de proposer des candidats au poste de procureur général aux professionnels du droit est une mesure positive, ce qui rend la nomination du procureur général moins politique. Cependant, cet engagement ne correspond à aucune des valeurs du PGO telles que l'accès à l'information, la participation civique ou la responsabilité publique.

Les experts interrogés ont déclaré dans le précédent rapport IRM que les pouvoirs exécutifs du procureur général devraient être réduits et que les procédures de sélection et les procédures disciplinaires devraient être rendues plus transparentes.[Note: Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership«Rapport spécial sur la redevabilité en Slovaquie 2014 - 2015», http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws

]. Les engagements 60 et 61 visant à analyser les procédures de sélection et de discipline des procureurs pourraient potentiellement résoudre ces problèmes et contribuer à déclencher des changements. Cependant, les engagements ne précisent pas comment l'analyse pourrait être utilisée et quelles en seraient les conséquences, par conséquent l'impact potentiel de ces engagements est mineur.  

Prochaines étapes

Le chercheur de l'IRM recommande au bureau du procureur général de rendre publiques les analyses sur les procédures de sélection et les procédures disciplinaires et de préciser comment il utilisera plus avant les résultats.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Pour plus de détails sur chaque engagement, voir Rapport de mise en œuvre de la Slovaquie 2017-2019.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Slovak Republic

Participatory Analysis of Prosecutor's Affairs (SK0117)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Slovak Republic National Action Plan 2017-2019

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Justice in cooperation with the Attorney-General

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Democratizing Decision-Making, E-Government, Justice, Legislation, Open Justice, Public Participation, Regulatory Governance

IRM Review

IRM Report: Slovakia Implementation Report 2017-2019, Slovak Republic Design Report 2017–2019

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation , Public Accountability

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

According to the current law, the Disciplinary Proceedings in Prosecutors' Matters are conducted by the Disciplinary Commission set up at the General Prosecutor's Office.44 Only Prosecutors can be members and chairs of Disciplinary Commissions. The term of office of Disciplinary Commissions is three years, and the same person may be appointed to the Disciplinary Commission repeatedly. The Attorney-General decides on all issues concerning the appointment of Disciplinary Commissions - including the appointment of mem-bers of Disciplinary Commissions, chairs and substitutes (both first and second instance), makes decisions about replacing chairs / substitutes, and about excluding an individual Disciplinary Commission member from a hearing and from ruling on the basis of bias. The Prosecutors' Council decides on the principles of filling disciplinary commissions and creating a list of alternates, proposes the chairs, members and alter-nates of disciplinary commissions. sions should ensure balanced influence of the bodies representing the prosecution authorities, representa-tives representing the protection of rights and the interests of prosecutors and entities representing the external or Public control".
Commitment No. 60: In a participatory manner, conduct an analysis of disciplinary proceedings in prose-cutors' affairs and create draft legislative changes in order to increase the transparency of these discipli-nary proceedings.
The motion to initiate disciplinary proceedings may be filed by the Attorney-General (against any prosecu-tor), the Public Defender of Rights, the Deputy Attorney-General and the respective Regional Prosecutor or District Prosecutor. The decision of the first-instance Disciplinary Commission may be appealed. The appeal is addressed by a five-member second-instance Disciplinary Commission. The final decision issued in disci-plinary proceedings is reviewable by a court.
There are several consequences of the existing legal framework:
 Attorney-General has a particularly strong position and has the power to decide about the ap-pointment, replacement, as well as bias of the members of the Disciplinary Commissions, and is al-so entitled to make a motion to initiate disciplinary proceedings. He is therefore both the proposer and the creator of the body that decides on the proposal.
 Although the Prosecutors' Council proposes the members of the disciplinary commissions, it de-cides only on the principles of filling the disciplinary commissions, the use of substitutes and filling in the database of candidates for the members of the disciplinary commissions and the procedure for the allocation of cases to individual commissions.
 Disciplinary proceedings are formally public, but since the members of the Disciplinary Commis-sions include only prosecutors, this is a closed system without real public control. Such a situation can not only be abused to harass prosecutors but also lead to insufficient (or nonobjective) ac-countability because the guilt is decided by colleagues.
 Laws on prosecution also do not explicitly address who can initiate disciplinary action against the Attorney-General.
It is clear from the Constitutional Court's finding45 that the Prosecutor's Office is a special constitutional body of legal protection for which there is a legitimate requirement for such a legal regulation that will allow public control over the activities of the Prosecutor's Office as well as "an adequate degree of influ-ence of individual constituents of the state authority in relation to the Prosecutor's Office whose purpose is to ensure the proper realization of its mission consisting of an active, fair and impartial procedure in the protection of the public interest, the protection of fundamental rights and freedoms, as well as other rights and legitimately protected interests." According to the Constitutional Court, the disciplinary liability (re-sponsibility) of prosecutors is an institute whose purpose is mainly to direct the work of the prosecution - which is the competence of the Attorney-General. At the same time, however, the Constitutional Court also found that legislation that allows the National Council or constitutional bodies representing the executive branch to nominate candidates to the Disciplinary Commission "has a rational basis, pursues legitimate aims, and therefore cannot be regarded as a manifestation of the legislator's willfulness." The Constitution-al Court stresses that "the legal standards governing the creation and composition of disciplinary commis

IRM Midterm Status Summary

THEME - Improve prosecutors  
Comm 58, 59, 60, 61

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan[Note : The Office of the Plenipotentiary, “Open Government Partnership National Action Plan of the Slovak Republic 2017 – 2019”, http://bit.ly/2QYIlHV ]:

Commitment 58: “Prepare and submit to the Government a draft of the Act amending Act No. 154/2001 Coll. on prosecutors and Lawyers of the Public Prosecutor's, that will ensure the publication of the seat of office of individual prosecutors”.

Commitment 59: “Create draft legislation to extend the right to recommend candidates for the post of Attorney-General”.

Commitment 60: “In a participatory manner, conduct an analysis of disciplinary proceedings in prosecutors' affairs and create draft legislative changes in order to increase the transparency of these disciplinary proceedings.”

Commitment 61: “In a participatory manner, analyze the selection procedures for the prosecutor's office, including draft legislative changes, in order to increase their transparency.”

Start Date: Not specified                

End Date: 31 July 2018

 

Context and Objectives

According to the reports from the European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF) the indictment rate was 18% in Slovakia 2017[Note : European Anti-Fraud Office, “The OLAF report 2017,” http://bit.ly/2Kw2EKQ ]. The EU average indictment rate was 42% in 2017. The Transparency International Slovakia informed that although there have been some improvements in punishing corruption, and for instance, the number of solved cases of bribery above a thousand euro has increased, the number of cases of grand corruption linked to high-level public officials has been continuously very low and enjoyed impunity[Note : Transparency International Slovakia, „Napriek zlepšeniu „veľké ryby“ stále nechytáme“ (Despite improvements we still do not catch ‘big fish’) http://bit.ly/2Tcb7d0 (in Slovak)]. Prosecutors, along with the police, play a crucial role in investigating and prosecuting cases of corruption, as they file indictments to courts. The Office of Special Prosecutor, which is responsible for ‘corruption agenda’, has accused the lowest number of people since 2009. As Transparency International concludes it might signalize that prosecutors overlook corruption cases[Note : Transparency International Slovakia, http://bit.ly/2BPtH0E (in Slovak)]

The latest report by the Group of States Against Corruption (GRECO) and Council of Europe (CoE)[Note : Group of states against corruption and Council of Europe, “Second compliance report Slovak republic: Corruption prevention in respect of members of parliament, judges and prosecutors”, http://bit.ly/2BwFTDy] concluded that as regards prosecutors, “several developments are to be welcomed”. In particular, they praised the adoption of the Code of Ethics, an introduction of the obligation to declare gifts and liabilities above a certain threshold. GRECO and CoE also welcomed the amendment of the Act on prosecutors and prosecutors’ candidates[Note : SLOV-LEX (Legal and information portal), The Ministry of Justice, “The Act on prosecutors and prosecutor candidates no. 154/2001 Coll.”, http://bit.ly/2b7Pc1P (in Slovak).], which included an obligation to disclose publicly and regularly update a list of all prosecutors’ names on the website of the Prosecutor General’s Office. Since then the Prosecutor General’s Office has updated this list regularly with the latest update being made on 19 November 2018[Note : The list of prosecutors published on the website of the Prosecutor General’s Office, http://bit.ly/2aYKyk2 (in Slovak).]. The experts interviewed for the previous IRM report agreed that this was an important first step towards greater transparency and an achievement that would not be possible without OGP action plan in place[Note : Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership, “Slovakia Special Accountability Report 2014 - 2015”,  http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws]. The public availability of prosecutors’ names also addressed the problem with access to affidavits and asset declarations. In addition to that, the Prosecutor General’s Office made available a tool for searching asset declarations by name on its website[Note : The tool for searching prosecutors’ asset declarations is available on the website of the Prosecutor General’s Office, http://bit.ly/2TJpO4s (in Slovak). ].

New commitments aimed at greater transparency, such as Commitment 58 to disclose the seat of prosecutors is useful and specific enough to be verified. Currently, the appointment of the Attorney General is political, as MPs propose the nominees. Commitment 59 to extend the right to propose nominees for the post of the Attorney General to legal professionals is a positive measure, which makes the appointment of the Attorney General less political. However, this commitment is not relevant to any of the OGP values of access to information, civic participation or public accountability.

The interviewed experts stated in the previous IRM report that the executive powers of the Attorney General should be reduced, and both selection and disciplinary procedures should be made more transparent[Note : Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership, “Slovakia Special Accountability Report 2014 - 2015”, http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws

]. Commitments 60 and 61 to analyze selection and disciplinary procedures for prosecutors could potentially address these issues and help to trigger changes.  However, commitments do not specify how the analysis could be used and what the consequences of it would be, therefore the potential impact of these commitments is minor.  

Next steps

The IRM researcher recommends that the Prosecutor General’s Office makes the analyses on selection and disciplinary procedures publicly available and clarify how it will further use the findings.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

For details on each commitment, see Slovakia Implementation Report 2017-2019.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership