Ignorer la navigation
Canada

Transparence financière et responsabilité (CA0065)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action canadien 2018-2020

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Ministère des Finances Canada (FIN); Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC); Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT); d'autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada

Institution(s) de soutien : NA

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, Anti-Corruption, E-gouvernement, Ouverture fiscale, Genre, Communautés marginalisées, Marchés ouverts et marchés publics, Open Data, Marchés publics, Publication des informations budgétaires / fiscales

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport canadien sur le design 2018-2020

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

le design i

Vérifiable : Oui

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Implémentation i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Description

Transparence financière et responsabilité
Problème à traiter
Beaucoup de Canadiens ont du mal à comprendre comment le gouvernement dépense l'argent de leurs impôts.
Les gouvernements peuvent améliorer la transparence financière en fournissant des outils et des informations permettant
leurs dépenses plus faciles à comprendre et en publiant des informations plus détaillées pour permettre
les citoyens à demander des comptes aux gouvernements.
Engagement
Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d’améliorer la transparence de ses dépenses et sa
contrats ouverts pour aider les Canadiens à comprendre les budgets fédéraux, à suivre le financement
prendre des décisions et examiner les processus d’achats et de dépenses du gouvernement. Nous allons:
• faciliter la recherche et la compréhension des informations sur le budget et les dépenses du gouvernement
• publier une analyse des incidences sexospécifiques pour toutes les mesures budgétaires5
• veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient accès aux données ouvertes sur les marchés publics du gouvernement du Canada
• explorer l’adoption de normes communes en matière de données sur les contrats au Canada
Département (s) responsable
Ministère des Finances Canada (FIN); Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC); Trésorerie
Secrétariat du Conseil du Canada (SCT); d’autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada
Canada
Milestones
Qu'allons nous faire? Comment saurons-nous que nous avons réussi? Quel est notre
date limite?
2.1 Make budget du gouvernement
et information sur les dépenses
plus facile pour les Canadiens de trouver et
comprendre
Les parlementaires et les Canadiens sont
engagé dans l'examen du gouvernement
progrès dans l'amélioration de la rapidité d'exécution,
l'exhaustivité et la transparence des
Budget et Budget principal
2019 Octobre

5. Ce type d'analyse est connu au gouvernement du Canada sous le nom d'Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS +). GBA + est un
outil analytique utilisé pour évaluer comment différents groupes de femmes, d'hommes et de sexes
politiques, programmes et initiatives. Le «Plus» de l’ACS + reconnaît que l’ACS dépasse le cadre biologique (sexe) et
différences socioculturelles (genre). Nous avons tous de multiples facteurs d'identité qui s'entrecroisent pour nous faire qui nous sommes
L’ACS + tient également compte de nombreux autres facteurs identitaires, tels que la race, l’appartenance ethnique, la religion, l’âge et les déficiences mentales ou physiques.
19
Qu'allons nous faire? Comment saurons-nous que nous avons réussi? Quel est notre
date limite?
(FIN / SCT) Sur la base des commentaires reçus dans le
engagement ci-dessus, recommandations
sont publiés sur l'approche à la
Budget et Budget principal pour 2020 à
2021 et les années à venir
Février 2020
La description et le détail du budget
les plans de dépenses sont améliorés, y compris
informations plus détaillées sur le budget
allocation par département
Février à
Mars 2019
GC InfoBase est développé pour permettre
Les Canadiens à suivre facilement le financement et
résultats, de l'annonce au
mise en œuvre, pour tous les gouvernements
Programmes du Canada
Mars 2019
Lignes directrices du gouvernement du Canada sur la
Rapport sur les subventions et contributions
Les récompenses sont mises à jour pour assurer proactive
divulgation des subventions et contributions
les données continuent de répondre aux exigences juridiques du Canada
et exigences de la politique
Juin 2020
2.2 Publier le genre
Analyse Plus (GBA +) pour toutes les nouvelles
dépenses budgétaires annoncées
et mesures fiscales à l'avenir
budgets
(FIN)
Les Canadiens et les parlementaires ont
l'accès à l'information sur le genre et
impacts sur la diversité des mesures budgétaires.
Février à
Mars 2019
2.3 Assurez-vous que les Canadiens ont
accès aux données ouvertes sur
Gouvernement du Canada
approvisionnement
(SPAC / SCT)
Données pilotes qui testent la mise en œuvre
de la norme de sous-traitance ouverte
(OCDS) est entreprise, ce qui comprend un
coupe transversale d'au moins le contrat 300
enregistrements pour une variété de contrats,
y compris les grands projets. Les données pilotes seront
inclure toutes les étapes de l'approvisionnement
cycle (planification, appel d'offres, adjudication, contrat,
et mise en œuvre).
Décembre 2019
20
Qu'allons nous faire? Comment saurons-nous que nous avons réussi? Quel est notre
date limite?
Ateliers publics de 3 à 5 sur le
les contrats sont tenus d'analyser ce
types de données sur les contrats sont actuellement
disponible et évaluer les obstacles à la libération
données contractuelles ouvertes.
• Les ateliers prennent en compte les résultats
du pilote de données ouvertes.
• Les ateliers incluent la participation
de la société civile, achats
experts et industrie
représentants.
• Un rapport est élaboré décrivant les entrées
reçu et recommandations
développé au cours des ateliers.
Juin 2020
Alignement des données sur les appels d'offres, les adjudications et les contrats
avec l'Open Contracting Data Standard
(OCDS) est publié pour tous les contrats de
exercices financiers 2016 à 2017 et 2017 à
2018. Les données sont publiées sur
open.canada.ca et est mis à jour sur un
horaire normal.
Août 2020
La nouvelle solution d'approvisionnement électronique (EPS) de SPAC
est conçu pour augmenter la libération de
données sur les contrats ouverts pour tous les SPAC
documents contractuels. Un rapport est publié
sur les progrès dans le développement de l'EPS,
y compris des rapports sur les progrès réalisés dans l'alignement
données contractuelles ouvertes avec le
International Open Contracting Data
Standard (OCDS)
Juin 2020
Lignes directrices du gouvernement du Canada sur
La divulgation proactive des contrats est
mis à jour pour assurer la divulgation proactive des
contrats de données continue de répondre
Exigences légales et politiques du Canada
Juin 2020
21
Qu'allons nous faire? Comment saurons-nous que nous avons réussi? Quel est notre
date limite?
2.4 Explore l'adoption de
données contractuelles communes
normes partout au Canada
(SPAC)
Représentants du gouvernement fédéral
et provincial et territorial
les gouvernements se sont rencontrés pour discuter
adoption potentielle de commun
norme de passation de marché pour appel d'offres
avis
Août 2019
Les responsables gouvernementaux ont en outre
exploré l'adoption de commun
contrats de normes de données à travers le
cycle d'approvisionnement plus large
Juin 2020

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

2. Transparence et responsabilité financières

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d'améliorer la transparence de ses dépenses et ses contrats ouverts pour permettre aux Canadiens de mieux comprendre les budgets fédéraux, de suivre les décisions de financement et d'examiner les processus d'approvisionnement et de dépenses du gouvernement. On le fera:

  • faciliter la recherche et la compréhension des informations sur le budget et les dépenses du gouvernement
  • publier une analyse des impacts sexospécifiques pour toutes les mesures budgétaires
  • veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient accès à des données ouvertes sur les achats du gouvernement du Canada
  • explorer l'adoption de normes communes de données sur les contrats à travers le Canada

Milestones

2.1 Rendre l'information sur le budget et les dépenses du gouvernement plus facile à trouver et à comprendre pour les Canadiens (ministère des Finances Canada / Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada)

2.2 Publier le Analyse comparative entre les sexes Plus (ACS+) pour toutes les nouvelles dépenses budgétaires et mesures fiscales annoncées dans les budgets futurs (ministère des Finances Canada)

2.3 Veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient accès à des données ouvertes sur les achats du gouvernement du Canada (Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada / Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada)

2.4 Explorer l'adoption de normes communes de données sur les marchés à travers le Canada (Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada)

Pour plus de détails sur le texte de l'engagement, les jalons, les critères de réussite auto-identifiés et les dates d'achèvement estimées, voir, https://open.canada.ca/en/content/canadas-2018-2020-national-action-plan-open-government#toc3-4

Date de début: août 2019

Aperçu de l'engagement

Vérifiabilité

Pertinence de la valeur OGP (telle que rédigée)

Impact potentiel

Aboutissement

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Pas assez spécifique pour être vérifiable

Suffisamment spécifique pour être vérifiable

Accès à l'information

Participation civique

Responsabilité publique

Technologie et innovation pour la transparence et la responsabilité

Aucun

Mineur

Moderate

transformatrice

Pas démarré

limité

Substantiel

Complété

Aggravé

N'a pas changé

Marginal

Majeur

Exceptionnel

2. Global

Évalué à la fin du cycle du plan d'action.

Évalué à la fin du cycle du plan d'action.

Date de fin : varie en fonction du jalon

Contexte et objectifs

Cet engagement s'appuie sur les engagements 9 et 10 du troisième plan d'action du Canada. (7) Son objectif est double. Premièrement, pour permettre aux Canadiens de trouver plus facilement de l'information sur les dépenses gouvernementales, de comprendre les budgets fédéraux, de suivre les décisions de financement et d'examiner les processus d'approvisionnement du gouvernement. Deuxièmement, améliorer la transparence des dépenses publiques et des contrats ouverts. Tel qu'il est rédigé, l'engagement n'offre aucune indication sur l'état actuel des choses en ce qui concerne la transparence et la responsabilité fiscales du gouvernement canadien, le changement censé émerger de sa mise en œuvre ou le public cible (p. ex. journalistes, chercheurs, universitaires, industrie). ? personnes moyennes ?) pour ces ressources d'information.

Cet engagement s'aligne sur la valeur OGP de l'accès à l'information. Cependant, la mesure dans laquelle les jalons s'alignent sur les valeurs OGP est mitigée. Les jalons 2.1, 2.2 et 2.3 et les critères qui les accompagnent pour évaluer le succès peuvent contribuer, à des degrés divers, à améliorer la transparence et la responsabilité financières dans la mesure où l'accent est mis sur l'ouverture de l'accès aux informations et données détenues par le gouvernement. Le projet d'élargissement de la InfoBase du GC, la mise à jour de Lignes directrices sur la déclaration des subventions et des contributions accordées et Lignes directrices sur la divulgation proactive des contrats, la mise à disposition d'informations sur les impacts des dépenses budgétaires et des mesures fiscales sur le genre et la diversité, le pilotage et l'examen continu des normes ouvertes et communes de données sur les contrats (OCDS) dans les cycles d'approvisionnement, et la poursuite de l'exploration gouvernementale de normes communes sont autant d'étapes encourageantes . Le jalon 2.4 se concentre sur le dialogue inter et intra-gouvernemental. Sur la base des définitions de valeur fournies dans le Procédures IRM Manual, on ne sait pas comment il s'aligne avec l'une des quatre valeurs OGP.

Jalons 2.2 (8) (9) sont facilement vérifiables (c'est-à-dire que l'activité proposée a eu lieu ou non). Les jalons 2.1 sont vérifiables sous réserve d'exercer un certain degré d'interprétation en termes de mesurabilité. C'est particulièrement le cas pour certains des indicateurs de succès spécifiés et est peut-être mieux résumé dans l'observation d'une personne qui a soumis des commentaires google docs sur la version préliminaire de juillet-août 2018 de l'engagement. En commentant le critère de succès – les parlementaires et les Canadiens sont engagés dans l'examen des progrès du gouvernement dans l'amélioration de l'opportunité, de l'exhaustivité et de la transparence du budget et du Budget principal des dépenses – cette personne a simplement écrit : «Comment comptez-vous mesurer cela ? » (10) Le point ici est que même si chacun des cinq critères de réussite de l'étape 2.1 est réalisé, il n'est pas clair comment on peut conclure que les Canadiens auraient désormais plus de facilité à identifier et à comprendre les informations sur le budget et les dépenses du gouvernement.

L'étape 2.4 comprend une activité à la fois complémentaire et nécessaire à l'amélioration de la transparence financière du gouvernement. Dans ce cas, le but du jalon est « d'explorer » et un indicateur de succès est « d'avoir exploré davantage ». L'imprécision à la fois du jalon et des indicateurs de succès proposés rend sa vérifiabilité sujette à des paramètres d'interprétation extrêmement larges.

Dans l'ensemble, cet engagement et ses jalons reflètent une reconnaissance continue de l'importance toujours croissante de la transparence des marchés publics. C'est, selon les mots de Lindsey Marchessault, directrice de l'Open Contracting Partnership (11) et membre de la société civile de MSF, «Un pas dans la bonne direction" cette "reflète une série de compromis» et qui dans son ensemble est «pas un engagement particulièrement ambitieux.» Ce point de vue est repris dans les commentaires reçus dans google docs au sujet du projet d'engagement de juillet-août 2018. Comme l'a écrit un contributeur anonyme, (12)

Plus loin [Sic] explorer - ne serait-il pas préférable de voir ce déploiement [adoption de normes de données communes tout au long du cycle d'approvisionnement] à la fin de notre présidence passée pour l'OGP ? Ce serait une énorme victoire !

Gardant à l'esprit qu'il s'agit du troisième plan d'action consécutif à inclure des engagements visant à améliorer la transparence des dépenses budgétaires et des marchés publics du gouvernement, l'engagement 2 et ses jalons constituent néanmoins une autre étape positive et progressive vers l'amélioration de la transparence et de la responsabilité financières. À ce titre, il est évalué comme ayant un impact potentiel mineur sur le gouvernement ouvert au Canada.

Prochaines étapes

À la fin du troisième plan d'action du Canada, le GC a été informé de la « absence de progrès significatifs dans l'élargissement de la publication d'informations sur la planification et la mise en œuvre» et a été alerté de l'importance «de repenser l'usage des identifiants organisationnels" et ainsi "améliorer[e] la qualité des données en standardisant la façon dont elles sont identifiées et étiquetées à travers les départements. » (13) Le jalon 2.3 engage apparemment le gouvernement à traiter ce problème dans la mesure où il implique l'utilisation de données pilotes pour tester la mise en œuvre de l'Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS), la tenue d'ateliers avec des représentants du secteur privé et de la société civile pour évaluer les résultats du pilote, et publier des données d'appel d'offres, d'attribution et de contrat alignées sur l'OCDS. S'engager à déployer l'OCDS dans ce quatrième plan d'action aurait constitué un engagement plus ambitieux et axé sur l'impact/les résultats qu'actuellement. Pour aller de l'avant, il est important de reconnaître :

  • que les activités énoncées dans cet engagement ne constituent qu'une partie de la réponse à l'amélioration de la transparence des marchés publics. Il existe un besoin concomitant d'investir pour catalyser l'implication des parties prenantes dans les processus de passation des marchés ; et
  • le succès de l'amélioration de la transparence des marchés publics et de l'éducation des Canadiens repose sur la publication régulière et rapide de l'information sur les marchés publics. Les informations qui ne sont pas opportunes ont une valeur réduite à des fins de responsabilité, commerciales, éducatives et journalistiques.
(7) Gouvernement du Canada. Troisième plan biennal à la Open Government Partnership (2016-18). http://www.opengovpartnership.org/sites/default/files/Canada_AP3.pdf
(8) Il faut faire preuve de prudence en assimilant la publication de l'Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) pour toutes les nouvelles dépenses budgétaires et mesures fiscales annoncées, et la publication de données ouvertes sur l'approvisionnement du GC d'une part, les Canadiens pouvant accéder et faire l'utilisation de ces informations d'autre part. En termes simples, la mise à disposition des données et des informations ne garantit pas l'accès ou l'utilisation. Voir, par exemple, Ruimy, Dan (2018). Connectivité à large bande dans les régions rurales du Canada : surmonter la fracture numérique. Rapport du Comité permanent de l'industrie, des sciences et de la technologie. Avril. https://www.ourcommons.ca/Content/Committee/421/INDU/Reports/RP9711342/indurp11/indurp11-e.pdf. Voir aussi, Huynh, Annalise, et Malli, Nisa (2018). Mise à niveau : la quête de la littératie numérique. Institut Brookfield. juin https://brookfieldinstitute.ca/wp-content/uploads/Level-Up-report-FINAL-online.pdf
(9) Bien que le jalon 2.3 soit « vérifiable », il faut garder à l'esprit qu'en vérifiant ce jalon, il existe une différence entre la publication d'un test pilote en tant qu'exercice de conformité et qui contient des informations très limitées sur des contraintes simples et la publication d'un test pilote qui offre une couverture étendue de divers types de projets orientés vers la génération de leçons pour éclairer les futures réformes.
(12) Ibid.,
(13) Mécanisme de rapport indépendant (IRM) : Rapport de fin de mandat du Canada 2016-2018. p. 31. https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Canada_End-Term_Report_2016-2018_EN.pdf

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Canada

Financial Transparency and Accountability (CA0065)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Canada Action Plan 2018-2020

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Department of Finance Canada (FIN); Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC); Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS); other departments and agencies across the Government of Canada

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Access to Information, Anti-Corruption, E-Government, Fiscal Openness, Gender, Marginalized Communities, Open Contracting and Public Procurement, Open Data, Public Procurement, Publication of Budget/Fiscal Information

IRM Review

IRM Report: Canada Design Report 2018-2020

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

Financial transparency and accountability
Issue to be addressed
Many Canadians find it difficult to understand how the government spends their tax dollars.
Governments can improve financial transparency by providing tools and information to make
their spending easier to understand and by releasing more detailed information to allow
citizens to hold governments to account.
Commitment
The Government of Canada will continue to improve the transparency of its spending and its
open contracting to make it easier for Canadians to understand federal budgets, track funding
decisions, and examine government procurement and spending processes. We will:
• make government budget and spending information easier to find and understand
• publish an analysis of gender-based impacts for all Budget measures5
• ensure Canadians have access to open data on Government of Canada procurement
• explore adoption of common contracting data standards across Canada
Lead department(s)
Department of Finance Canada (FIN); Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC); Treasury
Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS); other departments and agencies across the Government of
Canada
Milestones
What will we do? How we will know we succeeded? What is our
deadline?
2.1 Make government budget
and spending information
easier for Canadians to find and
understand
Parliamentarians and Canadians are
engaged in reviewing the Government’s
progress in improving the timeliness,
completeness, and transparency of the
Budget and Main Estimates
October 2019

5. This type of analysis is known in the Government of Canada as Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+). GBA+ is an
analytical tool used to assess how diverse groups of women, men, and gender-diverse people may experience
policies, programs, and initiatives. The “Plus” in GBA+ acknowledges that GBA goes beyond biological (sex) and
socio-cultural (gender) differences. We all have multiple identity factors that intersect to make us who we are, so
GBA+ also considers many other identity factors, like race, ethnicity, religion, age, and mental or physical disability.
19
What will we do? How we will know we succeeded? What is our
deadline?
(FIN/TBS) Based on feedback received in the
engagement above, recommendations
are published on the approach to the
Budget and Main Estimates for 2020 to
2021 and future years
February 2020
The description and detail of budget
spending plans is improved, including
more detailed information on budget
allocation by department
February to
March 2019
GC InfoBase is expanded to allow
Canadians to easily follow funding and
results, from announcement to
implementation, for all Government of
Canada programs
March 2019
Government of Canada Guidelines on the
Reporting of Grants and Contributions
Awards are updated to ensure proactive
disclosure of grants and contributions
data continues to meet Canada’s legal
and policy requirements
June 2020
2.2 Publish the Gender-based
Analysis Plus (GBA+) for all new
announced budget expenditure
and tax measures in future
budgets
(FIN)
Canadians and Parliamentarians have
access to information on the gender and
diversity impacts of budget measures.
February to
March 2019
2.3 Ensure Canadians have
access to open data on
Government of Canada
procurement
(PSPC/TBS)
Pilot data that tests the implementation
of the Open Contracting Data Standard
(OCDS) is undertaken, which includes a
cross-section of at least 300 contract
records for a variety of contracts,
including major projects. Pilot data will
include all stages of the procurement
cycle (planning, tender, award, contract,
and implementation).
December 2019
20
What will we do? How we will know we succeeded? What is our
deadline?
3 to 5 public workshops on open
contracting are held to analyze what
types of contracting data are currently
available and assess barriers to releasing
open contracting data.
• The workshops consider the results
of the open data pilot.
• Workshops include participation
from civil society, procurement
experts, and industry
representatives.
• A report is developed outlining input
received and recommendations
developed during the workshops.
June 2020
Tender, award, and contract data aligned
with the Open Contracting Data Standard
(OCDS) is published for all contracts for
fiscal years 2016 to 2017 and 2017 to
2018. Data is published on
open.canada.ca and is updated on a
regular schedule.
August 2020
PSPC’s new e Procurement Solution (EPS)
is designed to increase the release of
open contracting data for all PSPC
contracting records. A report is published
on progress in developing the EPS,
including reporting on progress in aligning
open contracting data with the
international Open Contracting Data
Standard (OCDS)
June 2020
Government of Canada Guidelines on
Proactive Disclosure of Contracts are
updated to ensure proactive disclosure of
contracts data continues to meet
Canada’s legal and policy requirements
June 2020
21
What will we do? How we will know we succeeded? What is our
deadline?
2.4 Explore adoption of
common contracting data
standards across Canada
(PSPC)
Representatives of federal government
and provincial and territorial
governments have met to discuss
potential adoption of common
contracting data standard for tender
notices
August 2019
Government officials have further
explored adoption of common
contracting data standards across the
broader procurement cycle
June 2020

IRM Midterm Status Summary

2. Financial transparency and accountability

The Government of Canada will continue to improve the transparency of its spending and its open contracting to make it easier for Canadians to understand federal budgets, track funding decisions, and examine government procurement and spending processes. We will:

  • make government budget and spending information easier to find and understand
  • publish an analysis of gender-based impacts for all Budget measures
  • ensure Canadians have access to open data on Government of Canada procurement
  • explore adoption of common contracting data standards across Canada

Milestones

2.1 Make government budget and spending information easier for Canadians to find and understand (Department of Finance Canada / Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat)

2.2 Publish the Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) for all new announced budget expenditure and tax measures in future budgets (Department of Finance Canada)

2.3 Ensure Canadians have access to open data on Government of Canada procurement (Public Services and Procurement Canada / Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat)

2.4 Explore adoption of common contracting data standards across Canada (Public Services and Procurement Canada)

For more details about the commitment text, milestones, self-identified success criteria, and estimated completion dates see, https://open.canada.ca/en/content/canadas-2018-2020-national-action-plan-open-government#toc3-4

Start Date: August 2019

Commitment Overview

Verifiability

OGP Value Relevance (as written)

Potential Impact

Completion

Did It Open Government?

Not specific enough to be verifiable

Specific enough to be verifiable

Access to Information

Civic Participation

Public Accountability

Technology & Innovation for Transparency & Accountability

None

Minor

Moderate

Transformative

Not Started

Limited

Substantial

Completed

Worsened

Did Not Change

Marginal

Major

Outstanding

2. Overall

Assessed at the end of action plan cycle.

Assessed at the end of action plan cycle.

End Date: Varies according to milestone

Context and Objectives

This commitment builds on Commitments 9 and 10 from Canada’s third action plan. [7] Its aim is twofold. First, to make it easier for Canadians to find information about government spending, to understand federal budgets, to track funding decisions, and to examine government procurement processes. Second, to improve the transparency of government spending and open contracting. As written, the commitment offers no indication of the current state of affairs regarding the fiscal transparency and accountability of the Canadian government, the change that is meant to emerge from its implementation, or the target audience (e.g., journalists? researchers? academics? industry? average persons?) for these information resources.

This commitment aligns with the OGP value of Access to Information. However, the extent to which the milestones align with OGP values is mixed. Milestones 2.1, 2.2, and 2.3 and their accompanying criteria for assessing success may contribute, in varying degrees, to improving financial transparency and accountability insofar as emphasis is placed on opening access to government-held information and data. The proposed expanding of the GC InfoBase, the updating of Guidelines on the Reporting of Grants and Contributions Awards and Guidelines on Proactive Disclosure of Contracts, the making available of information about the impacts of budget expenditures and tax measures on gender and diversity, the piloting and continued examination of open and common contracting data standards (OCDS) in procurement cycles, and continuing government exploration of common standards are all encouraging steps. Milestone 2.4 focuses on inter- and intra-governmental dialogue. Based on the value definitions provided in the IRM Procedures Manual, it is unclear how it aligns with any of the four OGP values.

Milestones 2.2 [8] and 2.3 [9] are easily verifiable (i.e., either the proposed activity has taken place, or it has not). Milestones 2.1 is verifiable subject to exercising some degree of interpretation in terms of measurability. This is particularly so for some of the specified success indicators and is perhaps best summed up in the observation of an individual who submitted google docs comments about the July-August 2018 draft version of the commitment. In commenting to the success criterion – Parliamentarians and Canadians are engaged in reviewing the Government’s progress in improving the timeliness, completeness, and transparency of the Budget and Main Estimates – this individual simply wrote “How do you plan to measure this?[10] The point here is that even if each of the five success criteria for milestone 2.1 are realised, it is not clear how one can conclude that Canadians would henceforth find it easier to identify and understand government budget and spending information.

Milestone 2.4 comprises an activity that is both complementary to and necessary for improving government financial transparency. In this instance, the purpose of the milestone is ‘to explore’ and an indicator of success is ‘to have further explored.’ The vagueness of both the milestone and the proposed indicators of success renders its verifiability subject to exceedingly broad parameters of interpretation.

Overall, this commitment and its milestones reflect a continued recognition of the ever-increasing importance of public procurement transparency. It is, in the words of Lindsey Marchessault, a Director of the Open Contracting Partnership [11] and civil society member of the MSF, “a step in the right direction” that “reflects a series of compromises” and which as a whole is “not a particularly ambitious commitment.” This view is echoed in comments received in google docs about the July-August 2018 draft commitment. As one anonymous contributor wrote, [12]

Futher [sic] explore - wouldn't it be better to see this rolled [adoption of common data standards across the procurement cycle] out at the end of our past-presidency for the OGP? That would be a huge win!

Bearing in mind this is the third consecutive action plan to include commitments aimed at enhancing the transparency of government budget spending and procurement, Commitment 2 and its milestones do nevertheless constitute another incremental, positive step in working toward enhancing financial transparency and accountability. As such, it is assessed as having a minor potential impact on open government in Canada.

Next steps

At the end of Canada’s third action plan the GoC was informed of the “lack of meaningful progress on expanding the publication of planning and implementation information” and was alerted to the importance “of revamping the use of organisational identifiers” and thereby “improve[ing] the quality of data by standardising the way it is identified and tagged across departments.” [13] Milestone 2.3 seemingly commits the government to dealing with this issue insofar as it entails using pilot data to test the implementation of the Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS), conducting workshops with private sector and civil society representatives to assess the results of the pilot, and publishing tender, award, and contract data aligned with the OCDS. Committing to rolling out the OCDS in this fourth action plan would have comprised a more ambitious and impact/result centred commitment than currently is the case. In moving forward, it is important to recognize:

  • that the activities set out in this commitment comprise only one part of the answer to improving public procurement transparency. There is a concomitant need to invest in catalyzing stakeholder involvement in procurement processes; and
  • the success of improving public procurement transparency and educating Canadians hinges on regular and prompt publication of government procurement information. Information that is not timely is of diminished value for accountability, commercial, educational, and journalistic purposes.
[7] Government of Canada. Third Biennial Plan to the Open Government Partnership (2016-18). http://www.opengovpartnership.org/sites/default/files/Canada_AP3.pdf
[8] There is need for caution in equating the publication of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) for all new announced budget expenditures and tax measures, and the release of open data about GoC procurement on the one hand, with Canadians being able to access and make use of such information on the other hand. Put simply, making data and information available does not ensure access or use. See, for example, Ruimy, Dan (2018). Broadband Connectivity in Rural Canada: Overcoming the Digital Divide. Report of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology. April. https://www.ourcommons.ca/Content/Committee/421/INDU/Reports/RP9711342/indurp11/indurp11-e.pdf. See also, Huynh, Annalise, and Malli, Nisa (2018). Levelling Up: The quest for digital literacy. Brookfield Institute. June https://brookfieldinstitute.ca/wp-content/uploads/Level-Up-report-FINAL-online.pdf
[9] Although milestone 2.3 is ‘verifiable’, it must be borne in mind that in verifying this milestone there is a difference between publishing a pilot test as a compliance exercise and which has very limited information about simple constraints versus publishing a pilot test that offers extensive coverage of various types of projects that is oriented toward generating lessons to inform future reforms.
[12] Ibid.,
[13] Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM): Canada End-of-Term Report 2016-2018. p. 31. https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Canada_End-Term_Report_2016-2018_EN.pdf

Commitments

Open Government Partnership